Research Links: List of Databases, Course Reserves

Quick Search: Articles, newspapers, books and ebooks, videos and more. Results primarily available online but may also include books available in the library or articles that can be requested for email delivery from ILLiad.

Catalog: Books (including ebooks) and other items in UNLV Libraries. Does not search journal articles.

Library Information: Pages on library web site, for example research guides, library policies and procedures, hours and events.

UNLV Libraries News Blog

APA Training Set for June 21

By skennedy on July 19, 2017 3:10 PM | Permalink

The UNLV University Libraries will host training for two resources offered to students and faculty from the American Psychological Association (APA) on Friday, June 21 at 11 a.m. in the Pioche Room at Lied Library.

APA Documentation/Training Specialist Michael Miyazaki will introduce attendees to PsycINFO and APA Style CENTRAL, APA’s latest new product, which provides an online environment for teaching, writing, and publishing in APA Style.

The training is free and open to all graduate students and faculty. For more information, contact Education Librarian Samantha Godbey

Two University Libraries Employees Present during San Diego Comic-Con

By skennedy on July 19, 2017 2:38 PM | Permalink

Katherine Keller, Library Technician II at the Teacher Development and Resources Library, and Matthew Murray, Library Fellow, will be featured on panelists during “Talking Comics with America’s Educators: The Comic Conference for Educators and Librarians” hosted at the San Diego Central Library in conjunction with San Diego Comic Con on July 20.

Keller, a Comic Book Legal Defense Fund board member, is a panelist on “Library Cons: Welcoming Deadpool into Your Library.” The discussion will center on best practices from libraries that have developed library conventions within their communities.

Murray will be a speaker on two panels, “Picture Books for Grown-ups: Why Graphic Novels Matter to Adults”, and “Read-alikes: What to Suggest When Patrons Already Read Smile and The Walking Dead. The first panel will focus on why libraries should invest in an adult graphic novel collections, while the second will feature discussion on new and popular graphic novels to suggest to readers.

UNLV University Libraries names Mary "Maggie" Farrell as new dean

By skennedy on June 12, 2017 2:57 PM | Permalink

The University of Nevada, Las Vegas is pleased to announce the appointment of Mary “Maggie” Farrell as Dean of University Libraries, effective August 2017.

“Maggie has extensive experience in library science with an impressive list of accomplishments, including having served as dean of libraries at two nationally recognized universities,” said Diane Chase, UNLV executive vice president and provost. “We are eager to bring her innovative leadership to UNLV.”

Farrell comes to UNLV with nearly 30 years of experience. She most recently served as dean of libraries at Clemson University, overseeing a $17 million budget with five facilities since 2015. Prior to Clemson, Farrell was dean of libraries at the University of Wyoming for 13 years, and was associate dean of libraries at Montana State University for six years before that.

University Libraries ranked 15th most productive in U.S. for academic research

By Michael Yunkin on May 30, 2017 12:44 PM | Permalink

The UNLV University Libraries is ranked the 15th most productive academic library for academic research in the nation according to a new study published in the May issue of College and Research Libraries.

“UNLV University Libraries faculty are continually searching for and conducting new and innovative research that impacts student learning and the library profession,” said Patricia Iannuzzi, dean of the UNLV University Libraries. “As the university pushes for Top Tier status, our librarians are already serving as practitioner-researchers, conducting scholarship that will shape the future of academic research libraries while helping students and faculty at UNLV conduct their own research.”

The ranking is based on the total number of peer-reviewed academic research articles published by library faculty between 2003 and 2012.

Extra computers

By Michael Yunkin on April 20, 2017 2:10 PM | Permalink

info commons

Stressed out looking for a computer? Drop by the Rhyolite Room for a quiet place to finish your paper or project.

Extra computers will be available:

  • 11a-5p | Tuesday, 5/2 – Thursday, 5/4 – Rhyolite Room, 1st floor, Lied Library
  •  11a-5p | Monday, 5/8 – Tuesday, 5/9 – Rhyolite Room, 1st floor, Lied Library

Study Week Stress Relief Activities

By Michael Yunkin on April 20, 2017 2:03 PM | Permalink

Yoga image

Study Week is stressful, but the library is here to help you de-stress for finals success! Stop by one or more events in Lied Library during study and finals week. Spend a few minutes with a certified therapy dog, do yoga and a guided meditation, or get creative and unwind with art therapy.
   
“Paws” for a Study Break – relieve stress with a therapy dog from Love Dog Adventures.

  •    11a-1p | Tuesday, 5/2 – Amargosa Room, 1st floor, Lied Library
  •    1p-3p | Wednesday, 5/3 – Amargosa Room, 1st floor, Lied Library

   
Yoga for Stress Relief, sponsored by Fitness4Finals – improve your cognitive function before your exams with a 45-minute yoga session. Mats will be provided.

Emotional Architecture: Las Vegas design leaders to discuss impact of interior design on customer loyalty

By Michael Yunkin on April 10, 2017 3:18 PM | Permalink

Resort design has evolved over time to evoke an emotional response from guests and inspire customer loyalty from guests. A group of leading Las Vegas design professionals will discuss this evolution during a special panel presentation on Sunday, April 23, at UNLV’s Lied Library.

Emotional Architecture and Hospitality Design, hosted by the UNLV University Libraries and the Cass Business School at City, University of London, will feature five experts who have created some of the most memorable architectural designs featured on the Las Vegas Strip.

Panelists include John Acres, founder of Acres 4.0; Leonard Bergman, CEO of Bergman Walls & Associates; Don Brinkerhoff, founder and CEO of Lifescapes International, LLC; Paul Steelman, CEO of Steelman Partners; and Alex Woogmaster, creative director for Wynn Design and Development.

Presidential Power Workshop: Understanding the Issues from a Social Justice Perspective

By Michael Yunkin on April 6, 2017 1:35 PM | Permalink


President Donald Trump has taken action using executive orders on issues ranging from climate change and travel restrictions to education and bathroom use by transgender students in elementary schools. How do you understand executive orders and presidential power, including what the president can and cannot do according to the US Constitution? Join us for a workshop focused on library resources that explore how presidential power and the use of executive orders has changed since 2001.

Applications Open for Faculty Institute on Creative Research Assignments

By Michael Yunkin on March 23, 2017 12:10 PM | Permalink

The University Libraries will be offering a new Faculty Institute entitled Creative Research Assignments: Looking Beyond the Research Paper. Applications are now being accepted from UNLV faculty for the institute, which runs May 15 and 16 from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Selected faculty who participate are eligible for a $1,000 - $1,500 stipend.

Lecture: Sin City Apocalypse: Writing and Editing Las Vegas Dystopian Futures

By Michael Yunkin on March 14, 2017 7:46 AM | Permalink

Sin City Apocalypse
The UNLV University Libraries will host Sin City Apocalypse: Writing and Editing Las Vegas Dystopian Futures on Tuesday, March 28, at 4 p.m. in the Goldfield Room at Lied Library.
   
Dr. Jarret Keene, assistant professor in residence of English at UNLV, will survey memorable fictional and cinematic images of the neon heartland in this colloquium hosted in conjunction with Writers Image Las Vegas: Our City in Fiction, an exhibit on display at Lied Library through June.
   
The lecture will examine shattering representations fashioned by artists anxious over social and political collapse. From the menacing supernatural paramilitary cult in Stephen King’s The Stand to the breathless Doom Town refrigerator sequence in Indiana Jones and the Crystal Skull, Sin City continues to serve as a locus for catastrophe.