Research Links: List of Databases, Course Reserves

Quick Search: Articles, newspapers, books and ebooks, videos and more. Results primarily available online but may also include books available in the library or articles that can be requested for email delivery from ILLiad.

Catalog: Books (including ebooks) and other items in UNLV Libraries. Does not search journal articles.

Library Information: Pages on library web site, for example research guides, library policies and procedures, hours and events.

UNLV Libraries News Blog

Exhibit Celebrates 60 Years of UNLV History

By skennedy on September 12, 2017 1:37 PM | Permalink

A new exhibit celebrating the 60th anniversary of the University of Nevada, Las Vegas is now open in Special Collections and Archives in Lied Library at UNLV. “UNLV @ 60: From Tumbleweed Tech to Top Tier,” curated by Tammi Kim, Special Collections Technical Services Librarian, shows the development of the physical UNLV campus and highlights student activities and engagement, as well as popular athletics programs.

Showcase Your Research in the Image of Research Competition

By skennedy on September 6, 2017 4:32 PM | Permalink

Take a photo or create an inspiring image that captures the essence of your research and enter it in the Image of Research Contest. Sponsored by the UNLV University Libraries and hosted in conjunction with UNLV Research Week, the Image of Research Contest showcases the different, daring, and diverse research taking place at UNLV and in the Las Vegas community.

Lapworth earns DAS certification

By skennedy on September 6, 2017 10:58 AM | Permalink

Emily Lapworth

Emily Lapworth, Digital Special Collections Librarian, was recently certified as a Digital Archives Specialist (DAS) by the Society of American Archivists.

Claytee White Honored with Humanitarian Award

By skennedy on August 22, 2017 3:46 PM | Permalink

Claytee White

Claytee White, Director of the Oral History Research Center in Special Collections and Archives, has been selected to receive the Humanitarian Award at TMG Entertainment Network's 21st Silver State Awards - Women Awards on Saturday, Nov. 18.

A Woman's Place Is...

By skennedy on August 2, 2017 11:05 AM | Permalink

Sharon Hwang’s family has worked on the development of the Chinatown District in Las Vegas since they arrived in Las Vegas in the 1990s. Her father, Henry Hwang, was one of three founders Chinatown Plaza, which opened in 1995, and the family continues to manage the themed plaza today.

Sharon, who graduated from UNLV in 1999 with a degree in business administration, serves an vice president of the JHK Investment Group and Chinatown Plaza. Sharon is a panelist for “A Woman’s Place Is…”, part of the Building Las Vegas Summer Speaker Series from the University Libraries Special Collections and Archives. The event will be at 5:30 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 3 at the Historic Fifth Street School, 401 S. Fourth St., Las Vegas. RSVP here. The panel will also include Clark County Commissioner Chris Giunchigliani, Jen Lewis, and Laura Jane Spina.

APA Training Set for June 21

By skennedy on July 19, 2017 3:10 PM | Permalink

The UNLV University Libraries will host training for two resources offered to students and faculty from the American Psychological Association (APA) on Friday, June 21 at 11 a.m. in the Pioche Room at Lied Library.

APA Documentation/Training Specialist Michael Miyazaki will introduce attendees to PsycINFO and APA Style CENTRAL, APA’s latest new product, which provides an online environment for teaching, writing, and publishing in APA Style.

The training is free and open to all graduate students and faculty. For more information, contact Education Librarian Samantha Godbey

Two University Libraries Employees Present during San Diego Comic-Con

By skennedy on July 19, 2017 2:38 PM | Permalink

Katherine Keller, Library Technician II at the Teacher Development and Resources Library, and Matthew Murray, Library Fellow, will be featured on panelists during “Talking Comics with America’s Educators: The Comic Conference for Educators and Librarians” hosted at the San Diego Central Library in conjunction with San Diego Comic Con on July 20.

Keller, a Comic Book Legal Defense Fund board member, is a panelist on “Library Cons: Welcoming Deadpool into Your Library.” The discussion will center on best practices from libraries that have developed library conventions within their communities.

Murray will be a speaker on two panels, “Picture Books for Grown-ups: Why Graphic Novels Matter to Adults”, and “Read-alikes: What to Suggest When Patrons Already Read Smile and The Walking Dead. The first panel will focus on why libraries should invest in an adult graphic novel collections, while the second will feature discussion on new and popular graphic novels to suggest to readers.