Oral History Interviews
Total records in this collection: 4056Print version of all records
| Narrator | Collection # | Date | Project | Content | Transcript | Tapes |
| Rankin, Katherine L. | OH-02090 | 6/16/2014 | BELVOHP | Special Collections cataloger at UNLV Libraries since July 2006. Catalogs maps and is active in he Western Association of Map Libraries and in ALA Map and Geospatial Information Roundtable. Discusses contributions of early members of library staff. | yes | 0 |
| Rarick, M. Jeri | OH-01536 | 03/06/1975 | Local Oral History Project-Roske | Las Vegas history | no | 1 |
| Rarish, Mitchell | 8/24/87 | Arnold Shaw | Entertainment | no | 1 | |
| Rasco, Chuck | OH-02385 | 2013 | History of Emergency Medical Services in Nevada | Rasco joined the volunteer fire department in Lovelock, Nevada in 1976 and was enlisted into the ambulance service. Later that year he started EMT classes. In 1994 he became chief of the department. | no | 0 |
| Rascon, Aracely | OH-03493 | 2018 October 02 | Remembering 1 October Oral History Project | Aracely Rascon was born in Chihuahua, Mexico and lived there until 9 years of age when her father brought the family to Las Vegas. She learned interior design at UNLV and joined the firm of Simpson Coulter where she specializes in decorating the interiors of businesses and schools. Two weeks after the October 1 shooting, her skills were called upon by those across the city who were preparing the Resiliency Center for survivors of the mass shooting. This proposed Resiliency Center needed carpet, paint, furniture, art work, and everything else to make it into a place where people could seek assistance in a peaceful atmosphere where they could tell their stories and ask for help. Rascon began contacting all her resources. Each company bent over backwards to offer deals, advice, referrals, and directions. One company at the World Market Center said, "pay for this one item and take all of others free of charge." When carpet was not available at one location, they referred her to a competitor who had exactly what she needed in stock. The kindness never ended. Aracely learned that she could use her talents and skills for decorating to help others be at peace and to dialogue and perform in comfort. She will never forget and will be forever grateful to the sense of community displayed by her city. Subjects: Chihuahua, Mexico, Resiliency Center, World Market Center, Simpson Coulter Studio, Interior Decorating | no | 0 |
| Ratner, Marc | OH-02807 | August 23, 2016 | Southern Nevada Jewish Heritage Project | F850.J5 R37 2014 Current Sr. VP of Government & Regulatory Affairs for UFC. Talks about MMA fighting and joining the UFC organization after a long career with professional boxing. Ratner is a non-fighter inductee into Boxing Hall of Fame; has a long high school officiating career and was raised Jewish in Las Vegas. | yes | 0 |
| Ravanipur, Moniru | OH-01538 | 2/13/2013 | Boyer Early Las Vegas OHP | Writer from Iran. Life in Iran and now in Las Vegas as a writer in asylum. Moniru's story is from another world - intriguing, tragic, entertaining, inspriting and thought provoking. | yes | 0 |
| Ravenholt | OH-01537 | Local Oral History Project-Roske | no | 1 | ||
| Ravetti, Joanne | OH-00117 | 3/28/2014 | Boyer Early Las Vegas OHP | Worked as a cocktail waitress and formed friendships that last until the present. Group interview at one of those gathering with Cynthia Cisero, Betty Brown, and Tina Boag. Video and audio | yes | 0 |
| Ravetti, Joanne | OH-00117 | 4/28/2014 | West Charleston OHP | Four women who have remained friends since their 1960s migration to Las Vegas tell stories of the way it was - jobs for women, safety, entertainment, and family life. | yes | 0 |
| Rawls, Lou | 01/29/1991 | Arnold Shaw | Entertainment. Interviewer: Bill Willard | no | 1 | |
| Rawson, Raymond D. | OH-01540 | 11/13/2009 | Boyer Early Las Vegas Oral History Project | CT247 .R38 2007 Raymond Rawson was born in the rural Utah community of Sandy in 1940, and his family had moved to Las Vegas by the time he was 10. He was a mmber of UNLV's first grauating class and became a dentist. He also served in the Nevada State Legislature and on the Board of Regents | yes | 0 |
| Rawson, Raymond D. | OH-01540 | 10/30/2009 | Boyer Early LV OHP | Raymond Rawson was born in the rural Utah community of Sandy in 1940, and his family had moved to Las Vegas by the time he was 10. He was a mmber of UNLV's first grauating class and became a dentist. He also served in the Nevada State Legislature and on the Board of Regents Includes an appendix with an obituary of Raymond Rawson's wife Linda, a transcription of an interview with Linda Rawson with her husband Ray, and Ray Rawson's legislative biography. Includes index | yes | 0 |
| Ray, Clarence | OH-02431 | 1991 | Documenting the African American Experience in Las Vegas | HV 6721 L3 R39x 1991; The narrative of Clarence Ray -- who first visited Las Vegas in 1922, came to stay in 1925, and has lived there for most of the time since then. The main source of employment for the relatively small black population during the 1920s and early 1930s was the railroad, but a number were also in business. Blacks lived and operated their businesses in downtown Las Vegas, formerly the Clark Townsite, not in the present Westside, formerly the McWiliiams Townsite. Mr. Ray provides thumbnail sketches of many of the early residents, and is particularly informative about "Mammy" Pinkston, Mary Nettles, the Stevens family, and the Ensley family. Systematic racial discrimination against blacks developed in southern Nevada during the 1930s, and Mr. Ray providessome useful details on this | yes | 0 |
| Ray, Johnnie | 07/27/1972 | Arnold Shaw | Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw | no | 1 | |
| Rayford, Billie | OH-03429 | 2018 May 01 | African Americans in Las Vegas: a Collaborative Oral History Project | Billie Rayford grew up in Jefferson, Texas and moved to Las Vegas in 1979 with a teaching contract when the Clark County School District was led by its only black superintendent, Claude Perkins. During her 33+ years with the school system, Billie worked as a teacher, principal, supervisor of student teachers, Assistant Superintendent, Dean, Curriculum Consultant, Compliance Officer, and many other assignments. Her interview covers desegregation plans, technical training schools, magnet schools, charter schools, Rainbow Dreams Academy, the partnership with Zion National Park's Concrete to Canyons program, and the high school/community college combined program that allows students to graduate from high school and earn an AA degree simultaneously. Her social and civil engagements cover community activities in Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Les Femmes Douze, 20 Pears Foundation, Zion Nation Park Forever Project, a charter member of 100 Black Women, and a charter member of The Society, Inc. - Las Vegas Chapter. Subjects: juke joint, Freedom of Choice Plan, Sunset High School, Rainbow Dreams Academy, Families in Nature Program, Zion National Park's Concrete to Canyon, The Society, Les Femme Douze, 100 Black Women, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Claude Perkins | no | 0 |
| Rayford, Celese | OH-02514 | 11/14/2015 | AfAm - Dr. Celeste | CCSD Educator | no | 0 |
| Rayford, Yolanda | OH-02440 | 8/11/2015 | AfAm | Father served in the US Air Force; tells of life as a family living outside of the Westside community but enjoying the entertainment and food in Jackson Street establishments. Family life reflective of a middle class lifestyle. Employed at NTS, classes at UNLV, and future goals. | no | 0 |
| Razmick, Charles F. | OH-01541 | 03/12/1978 | Local Oral History Project-Roske | Las Vegas history | no | 1 |
| Razy, H. Joy | OH-01542 | 03/11/1978 or 03/17/1978 | Local Oral History Project-Roske | Nevada history | no | 1 |
| Re-opening of F Street | OH-02268 | 12/11/2014 | AfAm | Program that marked the Re-Opening of F Street; $13 million project that could have been avoided. | no | 0 |
| Rebollal, Margarita | OH-03568 | 2019 February 28 | Latinx Voices of Southern Nevada Oral History Project | Margarita Rebollal is a lifelong community organizer and advocate for Latinx civic engagement and rights. She was born in Ponce, Puerto Rico and shares her fondest childhood memories growing up on the island with her siblings. At a young age, Margarita's father passed away and her mother was forced to leave for New York to earn money for her family. After a period of separation, Margarita would be reunited with her mother in New York and begin going to school in the Bronx. She would go on to serve as a secretary and eventually move up to supervisory roles and executive positions. As a single mother, Margarita worked tirelessly to support her family and go to school to complete her bachelors degree. Later, she would move to california, and eventually find her way to Las Vegas through her ex-husband. In Las Vegas, she has spent the last 24 years serving the community, and is most well-known for her role in founding the Puerto Rican Association and the Hispanic International Day Parade of Nevada. Currently, Margarita is running for City Council for Ward 1. Subjects: Puerto Rican Association, New York, Civic Engagement, Latina | no | 0 |
| Rechel, Darrell | OH-02386 | 2013 | History of Emergency Medical Services in Nevada | Rechel joined the Fallon, Nevada fire department in 1964 and became active in the ambulance service in 1970. | no | 0 |
| Recker, Marilynne | OH-01543 | 03/10/1981 | Local Oral History Project-Roske | Las Vegas history 62' | no | 1 |
| Red, Hot and Blue | 06/25/1976 | Arnold Shaw | Entertainment | no | 1 | |
| Reddy, Helen | 03/11/1984 | Arnold Shaw | Entertainment | no | 1 | |
| Reddy, Helen | 08/23/1982 | Arnold Shaw | Entertainment | no | 1 | |
| Reddy, Helen | Arnold Shaw | Entertainment | no | 1 | ||
| Redmond, Guadalupe Meza | OH-03536 | 2018 December 07 | Latinx Voices of Southern Nevada Oral History Project | Guadalupe Redmond lived a wonderful life in Mexico with close families ties, trips to the beach, and monthly festivals. That changed when her mother decided it was time for the entire family to live with their father who worked in the US and came home on weekends. They chose Las Vegas as the place where everyone would live. Guadalupe was 17 and did not want to move but reluctantly did so and eventually fell in love with her new city. She taught herself English my watching TV. She would watch the same program each day and mouth the words. Then she decided she wanted to work and became a guest room attendant working downtown and on the Strip - Sundance (Fitzgerald's, now the D), Stratosphere, Aladdin, Planet Hollywood, Riviera, Hacienda - to name a few. As she moved about, she began to understand the importance of the Culinary Union Local 226. At first she saw the benefits of health insurance, then, that of the pension plan and began to share this understanding with fellow workers as a shop steward. She is now an organizer who in 1989 participated in a 10-month Work and Walk strategy that was successful. She spoke of the delicious fresh food that was never the same in the US as it had been in Mexico. Even celebrating the Christmas holidays changed and the monthly festivals never returned. However, on a vacation back to Mexico after living in Las Vegas for about a decade, she discovered that she could not go home; Las Vegas had become home. Subjects: Sundance, festivals, MGM fight, Work & Walk, MGM fight | no | 0 |
| Reedom, Carolyn | OH-01544 | 11/22/2006 | Oral History of the Public school Principalship | Education, Principal, African American, Clark County School District; Dr. Carol Reedom is a retired school principal from the Clark County School District in Nevada. Dr. Reedom's last position held before retiring was the Southeast Region Assistant Superintendent; however Dr. Reedom's work experience is highly diverse which includes elementary and high school principal, assistant principal, dean of students, graduate assistant, and elementary school teacher. | yes | 0 |
| Reese, Della | 06/24/1972 | Arnold Shaw | Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw | no | 1 | |
| Reese, Kaye V. | OH-01545 | January 12, 2010 | Blue Diamond Oral History Project | This is the history of Blue Diamond Village. Blue Diamond is located 26 miles southwest of Las Vegas. The village, originally known as Cottonwood Springs, changed its name when the Blue Diamond Company took ownership of the Gypsum mine and built corporate housing for the workers in the early '20s. Near the base of the Red Rock canyon, Blue Diamond Village was originally a stop on the Old Spanish Trail for traders from Santa Fe, N.M., to California between 1830 and 1848, according to the history committee's findings. road for the The Blue Diamond School opened in 1929. The company built bunk housing and homes for the workers that it started selling to the public in 1965. | yes | 1 |
| Reese, Linda R. | OH-01546 | 12/10/2008 | Oral History of the Public School Principalship | Linda Reese is a retired elementary school principal from Nevada's Clark County school district. Ms. Reese received her bachelor's degree in elementary education from the University of Nevada, Las Vegas in 1978 and in 1992 received an Indorc. in administration. Ms. Reese then received her master's degree in 1985 from NOVA in curricular practical training. | yes | 0 |
| Reese, Michael | OH-01547 | 02/27/1979 | Local Oral History Project-Roske | Education | no | 1 |
| Reeves, James E. | OH-01548 | 03/10/1981 | Local Oral History Project-Roske | Nevada history, Atomic testing | no | 1 |
| Regan, Henry L., Jr | OH-01549 | October 12, 2012 | African American Collaborative | F850.N4 R43 2012 | no | 0 |
| Rehn, William | OH-01550 | 01/15/1979 | Local Oral History Project-Roske | Attitude of people towards blacks in Las Vegas | no | 1 |
| Reid, Bernice | OH-01551 | 03/12/1975 | Local Oral History Project-Roske | Southern Nevada history | no | 1 |
| Reid, Harry M. | OH-01552 | 03/09/1978 | Local Oral History Project-Roske | History of Searchlight, Nevada | no | 1 |
| Reid, Laverne A. | OH-01553 | 03/13/1978 | Local Oral History Project-Roske | Bunkerville; Las Vegas in the 1950s. | no | 1 |
| Reid, Rory | OH-03200 | 2017 July 13 | Building Las Vegas Oral History Project | F849.L35 R453 2017 Recalls Las Vegas childhood and schooling; Utah college and law school, and religious mission to Argentina. Speaks of legal career with Lionel Sawyer and Collins and also for Andy Tompkins's Lady Luck Casino. In discussing political roles as Chair of Nevada Democratic Party, two-term Clark County Commissioner for District G (2002-2010), and Clark County Commission Chair emphasizes long-term damage Operation G-Sting inflicted on public trust in local government. Particularly highlights the work of The Rogers Foundation, of which he is president. Subjects: Las Vegas, NV; Lionel Sawyer Collins; Nevada Democratic Party; Clark County Commission; District G; Operation G-Sting; public trust; The Rogers Foundation | yes | 0 |
| Reisner, Sonny | OH-01554 | Local Oral History Project-Roske | no | 1 | ||
| Remembering 1 October: A Night Of Healing And Community panelist event | OH-03500 | 2018 October 05 | Remembering 1 October Oral History Project | Panelist event to observe the anniversary of 1 October. Panelists included David Becker, John Fudenberg, Dr. Deborah A. Kuhls, Jay Pleggenkuhle, and Joy Rineer. Claytee White was the moderator of the event held in the Goldfield Room at UNLV Lied Library. | no | 0 |
| Renaud, Line | OH-02224 | 1/8/2015 | BELVOHP | Dancer, actress, singer, writer. Performed at the Dunes and Bonanza. Christened Dunes' iconic sign and Paris Hotel Casino. Speaks of associations with Bob Hope, Sammy Davis, Nat King Cole and many others in Las Vegas, Paris, and Los Angeles. | no | 0 |
| Rene, Henri | Arnold Shaw | Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw | no | 1 | ||
| Reno, Gordon | OH-01555 | 03/01/1981 | Local Oral History Project-Roske | Henderson/Las Vegas history 1940's - , Basque life | no | 1 |
| Renteria, Mrs. Vera | OH-01556 | 02/11/1972 | Local Oral History Project-Roske | Westside | no | 1 |
| Resabek, Milon | 08/12/2004 | Arnold Shaw | Entertainment. Interviewer: Cork Proctor | no | 1 | |
| Resnick, Rick | OH-02387 | 2013 March 14 | History of Emergency Medical Services in Nevada | Resnick worked for Mercy Ambulance in Las Vegas, Nevada before moving to Mesquite, Nevada in 2000. | no | 0 |
| Reynolds, Debbie | Arnold Shaw | Entertainment | no | 2 |
