Manuscripts by Subjects
Manuscripts -> WomenTotal manuscripts: 229
Southern Nevada Coalition of Concerned Women, Inc. Records
Coll #: MS-00859
Date: 1996-2018
Extent: 3 boxes, 1 oversized box, 992 digital files (1.54 cubic feet, 2.54 linear feet, 0.99 GB)
The Southern Nevada Coalition of Concerned Women, Inc. Records (1996-2018) contains photographs, charity event programs, operational records, correspondence, and newspaper clippings. The majority of the collection consists of photographs and other materials documenting SNCCW's annual fundraising luncheons. Also included are the SNCCW's Articles of Incorporation, a brochure, awards, and certificates.
Link to Collection Guide
Southern Nevada Daughters of the American Revolution Records
Coll #: MS-00292
Date: 1950-2019
Extent: 19 boxes, 8 oversize boxes (24.34 cubic feet, 27.27 linear feet)
The Southern Nevada Daughters of the American Revolution Records primarily document the activities of three Southern Nevada chapters of the National Society Daughters of the American Revolution from 1950 to 2019. The materials center around the records of three chapters from Southern Nevada: Old Spanish Trail, Francisco Garces, and Valley of Fire. Materials include administrative records, scrapbooks, photographs, news clippings, and correspondence about the activities of the Daughters of the American Revolution chapters. Mateirals also include some records and scrapbooks from the Nevada State Society of DAR.
Link to Collection Guide
Southern Nevada Historical Society
Coll #: MS-00205
Date: 1948-1983
Extent: 2.10 Linear Feet (5 boxes)
The Southern Nevada Historical Society Records document the management and development of the Southern Nevada Historical Society (SNHS) as well as various historical projects in Las Vegas and Southern Nevada that the society sponsored from 1948 to 1983. The records include SNHS correspondence (1951-1978), meeting minutes(1958-1983), and accounting information (1959-1980). It also contains copies of the SNHS Backtrails Newsletter, promotional material for events, membership lists, and research materials for various projects related to the history of southern Nevada and Las Vegas.
Link to Collection Guide
Southern Nevada Women's Political Caucus
Coll #: MS-00344
Date: 1983 - 1984
Extent: 0.92 cubic feet, 0.83 linear feet (2 boxes)
The Southern Nevada Women's Political Caucus Records (1981-1992) document a chapter of the National Women's Political Caucus. It was active in child care issues and in aiding women who aspired to be elected to public office. Included are chapter bylaws, minutes, newsletters, and information on local child care and the Act for Better Child Care Services of 1987. Also included are records of forums, conferences, dinners, newspaper advertisements, financial records, and membership information. There is national information, including a bumper sticker, and a poster.
Link to Collection Guide
St. Denis (Ruth) collection
Coll #: MS-00249
Date: 1916-1986
Extent: 1 box and 3 oversized boxes (3.78 cubic feet, 5.9 linear feet)
The Ruth St. Denis Collection (1916-1986) contains materials relating to the St. Denis School of Dance in Los Angeles, California. Included are scrapbooks containing magazine cutouts from early 20th century performers and celebrities and programs featuring St. Denis or performances honoring her memory.
Link to Collection Guide
Stern (Belle Tyktin) Papers
Coll #: MS-00296
Date: 1939-1997
Extent: 0.42 Linear Feet, 0.46 Cubic Feet (1 box)
The Bella Tyktin Stern papers (1939-1997) document the life and travels of Bella Tyktin Stern. The collection focuses on the trips she took within the state of Nevada as a guide for Nevada Discovery Tours, featuring travel itineraries and travel brochures. The collection also includes biographical materials, such as personal correspondence, legal documents, and an untranslated copy of Stern's unpublished autobiography written in German, Unser Kampf.
Link to Collection Guide
Stewart, Helen J.
Coll #: MS-00171
Date: 1869-1978
Extent: 4 boxes, 1 oversized folder (1.84 cubic feet, 2.67 linear feet)
Related Materials: 0104
The Helen J. Stewart Papers (1869-1978) document the life of Las Vegas, Nevada pioneer, Helen J. Stewart. It includes correspondence between Stewart and her children as well as various family legal papers and certificates. The collection also contains Helen J. Stewart's 70th birthday scrapbook, a ledger, and a day book from 1904-1919, as well as several photo albums and information related to the family burial plot.
Link to Collection Guide
Stuckey, Evelyn papers
Coll #: MS-00265
Date: 1940-1972
Extent: 10 boxes and 2 oversize boxes (5.92 cubic feet, 7.21 linear feet)
Related Materials: 0284
The Evelyn Stuckey Papers date from 1940 to 1972 and document Stuckey's experience as a physical education teacher at Las Vegas High School (LVHS) in Las Vegas, Nevada and founder of the LVHS Rhythmettes dance group. The collection contains personal and educational materials from Stuckey’s college years, personal correspondence, and photographs. It also contains materials documenting the Rhythmettes' activities including travel plans, posters and fliers, news clippings, and group rosters.
Link to Collection Guide
Swift, Joan papers
Coll #: MS-00804
Date: 1989-1994
Extent: 1.0 Linear Feet (1 box)
The Joan Swift Papers include photos, speeches, congratulatory letters, candidate night invitations, county elected official bios, campaign materials, Clark County newsletters, and news clippings. Photographs and a draft of Swift’s memoirs to her grandchildren are also included in this collection.
Link to Collection Guide
Swift, Joan papers
Coll #: MS-00804
Date: 1989-1994
Extent: 1.0 Linear Feet (1 box)
The Joan Swift Papers include photos, speeches, congratulatory letters, candidate night invitations, county elected official bios, campaign materials, Clark County newsletters, and news clippings. Photographs and a draft of Swift’s memoirs to her grandchildren are also included in this collection.
Link to Collection Guide
Trudell, Harriet
Coll #: MS-00540
Date: 1949-2006
Extent: 1.08 linear feet (1 box)
The Harriet Trudell Papers span 1949-2006. The collection consists of personal items such as items from Trudell's high school, personal correspondence, holiday cards and photos of family, friends, trips and gatherings. Harriet Trudell was a Democratic Party advocate, feminist, Civil Rights activist, campaign advisor, and precinct organizer. The bulk of the collection contains documents from Trudell's various political activities. These items include correspondence from political entities, election memorabilia in the form of buttons and bumper stickers, information on political campaigns, and documents concerning the National Organization of Women (NOW).
Link to Collection Guide
U - Wah - Un Study Club Collection
Coll #: MS-00198
Date: 1919-1987
Extent: 2 boxes (0.69 cubic feet, 0.63 linear feet)
U-Wah-Un Study Club Records (1919-1987) include a complete set of the organization's yearbooks from 1919 to 1977, a club scrapbook, meeting minutes, and financial records.
Link to Collection Guide
Ullom - Brockman Family Papers
Coll #: MS-00211
Date: 1889 -1943
Extent: 0.46 cubic feet, 0.42 linear feet (1 box)
Ullom - Brockman Family Papers (1889-1943) contain correspondence, newspaper clippings, cards, announcements, invitations, and a photographic copy of a family album. There are also employment records for George Brockman from the Las Vegas and Tonopah Railroad Company and a copy of "The Desert Breeze" newspaper.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV Libraries Collection on Goldfield, Nevada
Coll #: MS-00010
Date: 1906-1958, 2009 (bulk 1906-1917)
Extent: 3 boxes (1.15 cubic feet, 1.04 linear feet)
The UNLV University Libraries Collection on Goldfield, Nevada Collection dates from 1906 to 2009, with the bulk dating from 1906 to 1917 and documents the mining, business, and civic history of Goldfield, Nevada. Items in the collection include a program from the Nelson-Gans boxing match, a letter from H.M. Yerington describing the miners' strike, mine prospectuses, and minutes from the Goldfield Woman's Club.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV University Libraries Collection on Las Vegas Show Costume Design
Coll #: MS-00422
Date: 1940s-1970s
Extent: 1 box, 4 oversized boxes (3.41 cubic feet, 6.37 linear feet)
The UNLV University Libraries Collection on Las Vegas Show Costume Design is comprised of work from several desginers who created costumes for various Las Vegas, Nevada shows. The designs are undated but appear to date from the 1940s to 1970s. The collection includes works from the following designers: Jean Devlyn, Anne Guertin, Larry Merritt, Ladd, Josephine Spinedi, Corrado Colabucci, and also includes unsigned designs from unknown artists. The collection also designs for Matt Gregory Productions. Most of the designs do not include show information.
Link to Collection Guide
Valder, Ann
Coll #: MS-00319
Date: 1963-1984
Extent: 4 boxes (1.61 cubic feet, 1.46 linear feet)
Ann Valder Papers (1963-1984) include agendas and minutes, programs, invitations, events, and newspaper clippings. The papers are limited to the time Valder spent working for the Review Journal and the Valley Times in Las Vegas, Nevada. The activities covered are her work with Southern Nevada Memorial Hospital and the American Cancer Society.
Link to Collection Guide
Van Betten, Patricia Healthcare and Nursing Papers
Coll #: MS-00098
Date: 1985-2009
Extent: 2.65 Linear Feet (4 boxes)
The Patricia van Betten Healthcare and Nursing Papers (1985-2009) are comprised of personal correspondence, memoranda, newsletters, and reports of Patricia van Betten, who worked with the League of Women Voters and the Nevada Nurses Association from 1985 to 2011. The collection details several Nevada organizations including the Nevada Chapter of the Health Care Reform Project (HCRP), the League of Women Voters, and the Nevada Nurses Association. Also of interest, the collection contains written material, video recordings, and compact discs pertaining to health curriculum for the Clark County School District.
Link to Collection Guide
Viñas, José Luis papers
Coll #: MS-00468
Date: 1960-2000
Extent: 1 box and 1 flat file (0.63 cubic feet, 2.09 linear feet)
Collection consists of the costume designs, news clippings, and photographs of noted Las Vegas costume designer, Jose Luis Vinas, who designed for producer Frederic Apcar in shows such as Vive Les Girls and Casino de Paris. Includes original costume designs done for Vive Les Girls, Casino de Paris and Siegfried and Roy.
Link to Collection Guide
Virginia James Papers
Coll #: MS-00523
Date: 1949-1982
Extent: 0.2 Linear Feet (1 box)
The Virginia James Papers (1949-1982) consist of the correspondence and contracts of Las Vegas, Nevada performer Virginia James. The materials document James' employment history at the Tropicana, Flamingo, and Sands hotels and her involvement in the famous "Les Folies Bergere" show, which debuted in Las Vegas in 1959.
Link to Collection Guide
Wengert Family Papers
Coll #: MS-00192
Date: 1900-2000 (bulk 1910-1965)
Extent: 4 boxes, 1 flat file (2.21 cubic feet, 4.75 linear feet)
The Wengert Family Papers (approximately 1900-2000) consist of scrapbooks, newspaper clippings, correspondence, postcards, photographs, and other documents from members of the Wengert family. The Wengert family were members of the Las Vegas, Nevada community since 1907. The collection contains items detailing Lottie Ward Wengert’s life in Iowa before she moved to Las Vegas, Nevada, such as high school and college documents and diplomas, as well as programs and invitations for events in Iowa, Las Vegas, and other cities. The materials regarding Cyril S. Wengert are mostly newspaper clippings about his accomplishments and articles and cards expressing sympathy after his death. Other items include documents from the U-Wah-Un Study Club, of which Shirley Wengert was a member.
Link to Collection Guide
Wheeler (Maria Burston) papers
Coll #: MS-00062
Date: 1850s -1933
Extent: 1 box (shared); 0.1 linear feet
The Maria Burston Wheeler Papers date from approximately the 1850s to 1933 and record Maria Walker's childhood and voyage from Liverpool, England to Salt Lake City, Utah in the United States through her manuscript "My History." The manuscript details her and her family's trans-Atlantic journey as well as her own journey as a married woman, Maria Burston Wheeler, to Las Vegas, Nevada to establish the Mormon Fort located there. Her manuscript details daily life at the fort.
Link to Collection Guide
White, Jaunita Greer
Coll #: MS-00254
Date: 1927-1980
Extent: 22 boxes and one oversize envelope (9.65 cubic feet, 8.76 linear feet)
The collection is comprised of the personal, professional and business papers of Dr. Juanita Greer White from 1927 to 1980. Included are correspondence, booklets, dissertations, minutes, newsletters, newspaper clippings, and various other materials linked to women's organizations and Nevada organizations relating to education, health, and aging. Other material includes documents from her work in the Nevada State Legislature, books, catalogs, chemistry papers, plaques, and campaign materials.
Link to Collection Guide
Williams (Aaron) paper
Coll #: MS-00276
Date: 1965-1981 (bulk 1966-1976)
Extent: 2 boxes (0.92 cubic feet, 0.83 linear feet)
Related Materials: 0234
Aaron Williams Papers (1965-1981) consist of scrapbooks, newspaper clippings, scrapbooks, certificates, newspaper clippings, reports, and programs. Many of the clippings and some of the correspondence contain references that give insight into the role of women in North Las Vegas and Clark County, Nevada during the late 1960s and early 1970s. The scrapbooks and newspaper clippings document Williams' career as well as issues he dealt with as councilman and commissioner. These issues include those related to community and infrastructure development, such as airports, sewage treatment plants, senior citizens, health, and urban planning as well as North Las Vegas and Clark county political activities during the late 1960s and early 1970s.
Link to Collection Guide
Williams (Amie) video footage for "Stripped and Teased: Tales from Las Vegas Women"
Coll #: MS-00879
Date: 1995-1998
Extent: 3 boxes (2.8 cubic feet, 2.38 linear feet)
The collection is comprised of shooting logs and raw video footage created for the documentary, Stripped and Teased: Tales from Las Vegas Women (1998). The collection includes video interviews and transcripts from approximately 1995 to 1998 of women working in Las Vegas, Nevada from a variety of backgrounds. Subjects include individuals such as Mayor Jan Jones, Representative Shelley Berkeley, Claudine Williams, Thalia Dondero, Joyce Marshall, Hattie Canty, Sister Rosemary, Fluff LeCoque, and others. The collection includes footage of Las Vegas events and street scenes from a variety of periods.
Link to Collection Guide
Williams (Claudine) Papers
Coll #: MS-00094
Date: 1956-2009 (bulk 1970-2007)
Extent: 25 boxes, 3 oversized boxes, 1 flat file, and 1 shared box (15.2 cubic feet, 19.09 linear feet)
The Claudine Williams Papers (1956-2009) contain awards, contracts, personal and business correspondence, newspaper clippings, and photographs pertaining to Las Vegas, Nevada businesswoman and philanthropist, Claudine Williams. The collection also includes extensive information on her hotel and gaming properties, including the Silver Slipper Gambling Hall, Holiday Casino, and Harrah's Hotel and Casino, as well as her honorary doctoral degree, medals, and audiovisual materials of interviews, news reports, and events.
Link to Collection Guide
Williams, Nancy Ellen Webb Papers
Coll #: MS-00391
Date: 1983-1996
Extent: 0.21 linear feet, 0.23 cubic feet (1 box)
The Nancy Ellen Webb Williams Papers span 1983 to 1996. This collection is about William's career as a writer. The papers include newspaper clippings, photos, fliers, and correspondence. The collection also contains one of Williams' books of poetry, "The Soul Side: Big Mama Remembers."
Link to Collection Guide
Wilson Family Papers
Coll #: MS-00125
Date: 1875-1918
Extent: 2 boxes (1.35 cubic feet, 1.62 linear feet)
Related Materials: 0011
The Wilson Family Papers (1875-1918) document the personal and professional lives of James B. Wilson Sr., James B. Wilson Jr., and George Twison "Tweed" Wilson, early pioneers in Southern Nevada. The collection is comprised of personal correspondence, invoices and advertisements from the Wilson family business, the Sandstone Ranch, and photographs of the extended Wilson family.
Link to Collection Guide
Woods, Vivian
Coll #: MS-00351
Date: 1960-1989
Extent: 1 box (0.64 Cubic Feet, 0.58 Linear Feet)
Vivian Woods Papers (1960-1989) document the activities of Nevada artist Vivian Woods. The papers contain scrapbooks, correspondence, Las Vegas Artists' Co-Op history and rosters, a poem, and photographs. There are also three watercolors painted by Vivian Woods.
Link to Collection Guide
Zucker-Bozarth, Blanche
Coll #: MS-00372
Date: 1963-2005
Extent: 15.5 Linear Feet (30 boxes and 1 oversize folder)
The Blanche Zucker-Bozarth Papers document education advocate Blanche Zucker-Bozarth's volunteer work and activism in libraries, children's advocacy, and women's clubs in Las Vegas, Nevada from 1963 to 2005. The collection includes records, newspaper clippings, and photographs from her political activism and fundraising initiatives in Southern Nevada. The collection also includes buttons, video tapes, and journal articles on child abuse prevention, as well as records from Zucker-Bozarth's term as president of the Mesquite Club in the 1980s.
Link to Collection Guide
