Manuscripts by Subjects
Manuscripts -> WomenTotal manuscripts: 229
Dondich, Josie Papers
Coll #: MS-00261
Date: 1935-1974
Extent: 0.4 linear feet (1 box)
The Josie Dondich Papers (1935-1974) document the Dondich family in Las Vegas, Nevada. The collection contains correspondence to Senator Patrick McCarran, documents about Alex Dondich's military service and death, and photographs. It also includes documents of Mrs. L.G. Johnson, the sister of Josie Dondich.
Link to Collection Guide
Dorothy Dorothy Papers
Coll #: MS-00352
Date: 1934-1986
Extent: 4.89 cubic feet (14 boxes)
Related Materials: 0131
The Dorothy Dorothy papers (1783-1986) document the life of singer, songwriter, columnist, pilot, and Pahrump, Nevada alfalfa farmer Dorothy (Richardson Varnum McAdam) Dorothy. Materials contain genealogy records, correspondence, business and organizational records, local history, sheet music, artifacts, and two boxes of photographs. Also included are materials relating to her active involvement with animal rights.
Link to Collection Guide
Dottie Dee Dancers
Coll #: MS-00544
Date: 1940s-2002
Extent: .21 linear feet (1 box)
The Dottie Dee Dancers Collection (1940s-2002) is comprised of newspaper clippings and photographs documenting the career of Dorothy (Dalton) Tomlin, who led a line of dancers known as the Dottie Dee Dancers in the 1940s and 1950s. The dancers performed in nightclubs in Las Vegas, Los Angeles, San Francisco and other cities in the western United States. Other items in the collection include original costume drawings by Hollywood costume designer Lloyd Lambert for costumes that were created for the Dottie Dee Dancers, and the transcript of an oral history interview with Dottie and her husband, Donald Tomlin.
Link to Collection Guide
Doughty (Nan) family collection
Coll #: MS-00021
Date: 1845 -1993
Extent: 38 boxes and 1 flat file (24.34 cubic feet, 22.46 linear feet)
Related Materials: 0240
The Nan Doughty Family Collection dates from 1845 to 1993 and documents Doughty's personal and professional life. She collected correspondence and papers related to her extended family members including Sallie Bradford, Seymour Kimball Bradford, William Hillman Shockley, and May Bradford Shockley. The collection also includes papers from her father, Thorwald A. Siegfriedt, and her mother, Lou-vee Bradford Siegfried. Doughty used her family histories to write historical essays about early Nevada. The collection includes her professional papers as well as drafts and correspondence related to her writings.
Link to Collection Guide
Duncan, Ruby
Coll #: MS-00367
Date: 1972-1992
Extent: 25.34 Cubic Feet, 28.73 Linear Feet (45 boxes, 1 oversized box, 3 oversized folders)
The Ruby Duncan Papers consists of the organizational records of Operation Life Community Development Corporation (1972-1992), a non-profit organization that worked to improve living conditions in West Las Vegas, Nevada by providing a variety of community development services. Included are correspondence, agreements, accounting records, lease agreements, meeting materials, reports, speeches.
Link to Collection Guide
Dunes Hotel and Casino Records
Coll #: MS-00328
Date: 1954-1992
Extent: 30 boxes, 1 oversized box, 1 unboxed item (15.33 cubic feet, 20.05 linear feet)
The Dunes Hotel and Casino Records are comprised of administrative, publicity, and entertainment materials documenting the history of the Dunes Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada from the years 1954 to 1992. Included are correspondence, contracts, photographs, hotel budgets, and an early aerial photograph of the property. The material provides a significant amount of historical documentation of the hotel that was long known to tourists and residents as the "the Miracle in the Desert."
Link to Collection Guide
Dungan, Flora
Coll #: MS-00193
Date: 1929 - 1973
Extent: 3.5 Linear Feet (7 boxes, 1 oversized box)
Related Materials: 0293
Flora Dungan Papers (1929-1974) contain high school and university records, certificates, newspaper clippings, press releases, notes, correspondence, and booklets about her life and political activism in Nevada. Also included are Legislative materials, an audio cassette tape, a copy of the Nevada Constitution, and an oil painting of Flora Dungan.
Link to Collection Guide
Edythe and Lloyd Katz Papers
Coll #: MS-00376
Date: 1934-2002
Extent: 5.50 Linear Feet (5 boxes, 2 oversize boxes, and one flat file)
The Edythe and Lloyd Katz papers (1934-2002) provide a glimpse of the social, religious, and educational contributions that they made to the community of Las Vegas, Nevada. Materials include photographs, correspondence, newspaper clippings, and awards dating from 1934 to 2002.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online
Eisenberg, Dorothy Papers
Coll #: MS-00528
Date: early 1900s-2009
Extent: 2 Linear Feet (4 boxes), 8 Digital Files transferred electronically; no physical carrier.
The Dorothy Eisenberg Papers (early 1900s-2009, bulk 1970-2000) are comprised of organizational records, photographs, newspaper clippings, and scrapbooks reflecting her activism and volunteer work related to education, the Bullfrog County Commission, Las Vegas Clark County consolidation, League of Women Voters (LWV), Las Vegas Jewish Federation, Equal Rights Amendment (ERA), and Silver State Political Action Committee.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online
El Cortez Hotel Scrapbook
Coll #: MS-00636
Date: 1963
Extent: 1.67 cubic feet (1 box)
The El Cortez Hotel and Casino Scrapbook (1963) contains a scrapbook of newspaper clippings, promotional event notifications, information on performers, and other events held at the El Cortez Hotel.
Link to Collection Guide
Eliot, Valerie Chapman
Coll #: MS-00598
Date: 1954-1970
Extent: 0.23 cubic feet, 1.88 linear feet (1 box, 1 flat file)
Materials include photographs, programs, newspaper and magazine clippings, and collages of Valerie Chapman Eliot's time as a Bluebell girl in the Lido de Paris in France, Argentina, and Las Vegas, Nevada from 1954 to 1970, as well as photographs of her time as dancer in the show "Hello America" at the Desert Inn Hotel in Las Vegas in the mid-1960s.
Link to Collection Guide
Ellen Burke Rawls Papers
Coll #: MS-00451
Date: 1987-1996
Extent: 2.4 Linear Feet (1 box, 1 oversize folder)
The Ellen Burke Rawls Papers comprise the professional writings of Ellen Burke Rawls from 1987 to 1996. The papers document her work as a reviewer in the entertainment industry of Atlantic City, New Jersey and as a publicist for the other professional businesses in and around New Jersey. The material comprise of her personal correspondence, columns from a number of newspapers, correspondence of her participation in The Morning Show program and photographs that were used in her newspaper columns.
Link to Collection Guide
Esau (Valda and Esper) Collection on Lido de Paris
Coll #: MS-00520
Date: 1958-1991
Extent: 1 box, 1 flat file (shared box), 4 digital files (0.50 cubic feet, 2.09 linear feet, 0.385 GB)
The Valda and Esper Esau Collection on Lido de Paris (1954-2014) mainly consists of newspaper clippings, ephemera, and programs documenting the career of entertainer Valda Esau, who danced in the Lido de Paris show at the Stardust Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada in the late 1950s. Other materials in this collection include show programs for other shows held in France featuring the Bluebell Girls dance troupe such as the original Lido de Paris. The collection also includes invitation and photographs featuring Esper Esau from Pzazz! '70, a show that was produced by Donn Arden at the Desert Inn Hotel.
Link to Collection Guide
Felicia F. Campbell Collection on the Governor's Commission on Status of People Records
Coll #: MS-00226
Date: 1970-1977 (bulk 1975-1977)
Extent: 1 box (1.28 cubic feet, 1.08 linear feet)
The Felicia F. Campbell Collection on the Governor’s Commission on Status of People Records (1970-1977) is comprised primarily of meeting minutes, agendas, reports, and memorandums from the Nevada Commission. The collection also contains women’s rights commission handbooks from various states and correspondence and newspaper clippings pertaining to Campbell's professional life.
Link to Collection Guide
Flamingo Hilton Hotel Records
Coll #: MS-00239
Date: 1946-1983
Extent: 4 boxes, 1 flat file (1.84 cubic feet, 3.67 linear feet)
The Flamingo Hilton Hotel Records date from 1946 to 1983, with the bulk of the collection dating from 1968 to 1983 and contain promotional materials and administrative records of the Flamingo Hilton located in Las Vegas, Nevada. The collection primarily consists of materials related to the promotion of the Flamingo Hilton including advertising copy and plans, press releases, and meeting minutes. Also included are drawings and plans for neon signs for the casino.
Link to Collection Guide
Fong (Lilly) papers
Coll #: MS-00210
Date: 1964-1992
Extent: 58 boxes and 2 oversize folders (69.13 cubic feet, 61.79 linear feet)
The Lilly Fong Papers are comprised of the professional and personal papers of Lilly Fong, the first woman and first Asian-American member of the University and Community College System of Nevada (UCCSN), now known as the Nevada System of Higher Education (NSHE) Board of Regents. The papers date from 1964 to 1992 and document Fong's community activities in various Las Vegas and Southern Nevada organizations in addition to her work on the UCCSN Board of Regents. Materials include correspondence, meeting minutes, letters, and press releases from various organizations, including the Board of Regents, the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV), the American Association of University Women (AAUW), and the First Presbyterian Church in Las Vegas.
Link to Collection Guide
Ford, Jean papers
Coll #: MS-00025
Date: 1958 -1996
Extent: 39 boxes, 1 oversized box (17.93 cubic feet)
Related Materials: 0295
The Jean Ford Papers (1958-1996) include political documents, campaign materials for Jean Ford's political campaigns, and materials pertaining to campaign issues such as health services, general improvement districts, and parks and recreation. There is extensive material on Red Rock National Conservation Area, Lake Mead National Recreation Area, and the National Issues Forum. Women's issues cover the years 1964-1981 and contain information relating to the League of Women Voters, Equal Rights Amendment (ERA), and International Women's Year (IWY), as well as Anti-ERA and Anti-IWY materials.
Link to Collection Guide
Fraternal Order of Eagles, Las Vegas Chapter Records
Coll #: MS-00449
Date: 1950-2001
Extent: 3.7 linear feet (3 boxes)
The Fraternal Order of Eagles (F.O.E.) Las Vegas Chapter Records consist of scrapbooks, photo albums, and attendance record journals from the Women’s Auxiliary #1213 and Retired Eagles Activities Club (REAC) #1213 from 1950 to 2001. The scrapbooks contain newspaper articles, photographs, memos, and state and national F.O.E. convention information pertaining to the Las Vegas chapter of the F.O.E. The REAC folder contains information about the founding of the REAC chapter in 1984, the constitution, bylaws, charter, and founding members. The REAC attendance record journals contain listings of members as well as meeting minutes.
Link to Collection Guide
Frazier (Maude) professional papers
Coll #: MS-00050
Date: 1955 - 1962
Extent: 3 folders (1 shared box) and 1 flat file; 0.03 cubic feet, 0.16 linear feet
The Maude Frazier Professional Papers (1955-1962) contain programs honoring Frazier, a University of Nevada, Reno commencement program, and a groundbreaking ceremony for the Nevada Southern Second Building. Also included are awards of appreciation and certificates for her dedicated service to the Las Vegas, Nevada community. The materials focus on her later career with the University of Nevada, Las Vegas.
Link to Collection Guide
Frontier Girl Scouts Records
Coll #: MS-00421
Date: 1944-1999 (bulk 1990-1999)
Extent: 40 boxes (40.83 Linear Feet, 45.05 Cubic Feet)
The collection consists of records of the Frontier Girl Scouts Council (FGSC) dating from 1944 until 1999. The majority of the collection dates from 1990 to 1999. It contains annual reports and publications of the FGSC, committee minutes and agenda, troop financial records, membership data, and leader training records. It also includes correspondence and publications of the Girl Scouts of the USA (GSUSA).
Link to Collection Guide
Frontier Hotel and Casino Collection
Coll #: MS-00297
Date: 1942-1988
Extent: 35 boxes and 4 oversized boxes (19.34 cubic feet, 20.72 linear feet)
The Frontier Hotel and Casino Collection documents the history, entertainers, and events at the Frontier Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada from 1942 to 1988. The collection includes promotional material, photographs, correspondence, invoices, legal documents, and newspaper clippings.
Link to Collection Guide
George (Sadie and Hampton) papers
Coll #: MS-00434
Date: 1874-1944 (bulk 1900-1920)
Extent: 5 boxes (1.61 cubic feet, 1.46 linear feet)
The Sadie and Hampton George Papers (1874-1944) consist primarily of the incoming and outgoing correspondence of Sadie Kiel George and her husband, Hampton George, regarding proposed land and mineral rights sales. The collection also includes some personal correspondence, and two of the most significant letters in the collection deal with the deaths of brothers William and Edward Kiel, Sadie's uncles, who were found dead at the Kiel Ranch in October 1900. Also included in the collection are receipts, cancelled checks, tax notices, mining claims, and land deeds.
Link to Collection Guide
Gillhouse, Eva papers
Coll #: MS-00148
Date: 1951 - 1967
Extent: .45 cubic feet (1 box)
Related Materials: 0032
The Eva Gillhouse Papers (1951-1967) consist of correspondence, Mesquite Club newsletters, and an original foreword from the book on Frank "Pistol Pete" Eaton by Gillhouse. Also included are documented speeches presented to local clubs in Southern Nevada, periodicals, miscellaneous publications, and newspaper clippings.
Link to Collection Guide
Giunchigliani (Chris) Political Papers
Coll #: MS-01035
Date: 1986-2019
Extent: 12 boxes, 1 flat file (7.99 cubic feet, 8.50 linear feet); 19 digital files (2.470 GB)
The Chris Giunchigliani Political Papers (1986-2019) document Giunchigliani's career as a member of the Nevada Assembly as well as her involvement as a Clark County Commissioner. The majority of the collection is a "newspaper and document archive" which consists of media articles and newspaper clippings collected by Giunchigliani's office that mention Giunchigliani throughout her political career. The collection also includes campaign materials such as mailers and photographs. Interviews Giunchigliani did with local news networks in Las Vegas, Nevada as well as televised campaign advertisements for the Clark County Commission election are represented in the collection. Other materials include legislative research files for bills on gypsum reclamation, development near Red Rock Canyon, education reform, and funding to build an NFL stadium in Las Vegas. The collection also includes a certificate of commendation from Senator Harry Reid and thank you cards from schoolchildren.
Link to Collection Guide
Governor's Conference on Women
Coll #: MS-00349
Date: 1989
Extent: 1 box (0.23 cubic feet, 0.21 linear feet)
The collection contains programs, organizational records and reports relating to the Governor's Conference on Women held in March 1989 in Carson City, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Grace Clement Papers on the Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR)
Coll #: MS-00746
Date: 1950-1986
Extent: 1.65 Linear Feet, 1.80 Cubic Feet (2 boxes)
Papers are comprised of information on the National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR), Nevada State Society of DAR, Children of the American Revolution (CAR), and the Francisco Garces Chapter of the DAR, of which Grace Clement was a founding member. Papers date from 1950 to 1986 and include correspondence, bulletins, conference programs, booklets, newspaper clippings, and yearbooks. Also included are correspondence and reports from the Friends of the Museum organization, bylaws of the Nevada Society, and DAR ritual books.
Link to Collection Guide
Gragson, Oran K. papers
Coll #: MS-00170
Date: 1955 - 1998 (bulk 1960-1974)
Extent: 35 boxes and 8 oversize boxes (21.36 cubic feet, 25.41 linear feet)
The Oran K. Gragson Papers (1955-1998) contain former Las Vegas, Nevada Mayor Oran K. Gragson's professional and personal papers, and include correspondence, files concerning Gragson's tenure as Mayor of Las Vegas, Nevada, arbitration documents from disputes between labor unions and Las Vegas casinos, committee notes, financial plans, and documents from Clark County and Las Vegas government departments. The collection also contains city development plans, environmental reports, political party documents, memorabilia, ephemera, photographs, awards, newspaper clippings, and scrapbooks.
Link to Collection Guide
Grant (Archie and Zora) papers
Coll #: MS-00137
Date: approximately 1918-1973
Extent: 3 boxes (2.54 cubic feet, 6.45 linear feet)
The Archie and Zora Grant Papers document the lives of Archie and Zora Grant from 1918 to 1973. Materials include scrapbooks, clippings, correspondence, records, certificates, and awards pertaining to Archie’s career in the Nevada Legislature, the State Board of Education, Las Vegas Housing Authority, and Las Vegas Chamber of Commerce.
Link to Collection Guide
Gregory (Matt) entertainment papers
Coll #: MS-00381
Date: 1959-1986
Extent: 3 boxes, 1 roll (4.04 cubic feet, 3.5 linear feet)
Related Materials: 0308
Collection is comprised of the papers of Las Vegas producer, manager, and agent Matt Gregory from 1959 to 1986. Included are contracts, costume sketches, press releases, videos, show reviews, and advertisements. Also included are correspondence, public relations material, business related material, costume and set design drawings and sketches, slides, negatives, photographs, transparencies, and videos, mostly from the 1960s through the 1980s.
Link to Collection Guide
Ham (Artemus) Family Papers
Coll #: MS-00056
Date: 1857-1970 (bulk 1906-1970)
Extent: 4 folders (1 shared box) and 1 flat file (0.02 cubic feet; 1.68 linear feet)
Related Materials: 0012
The Artemus W. Ham Family Papers (1857-1970) contain postcards written by family members, newspaper clippings about the Ham family, and a Nevada Senate Concurrent Resolution memorializing Artemus W. Ham, Sr. Also included are genealogy notes, a commencement program from Michigan Law School, and membership cards of Artemus W. Ham, Sr.
Link to Collection Guide
Ham (Jane) Legislative papers
Coll #: MS-00221
Date: 1980 -1981
Extent: 6 boxes (2.76 cubic feet, 2.5 linear feet)
The Jane Ham Legislative Papers (1980-1981) document the legislative activities of Nevada Republican Assemblywoman Jane Ham during the 1981 legislative session. The collection consists of Legislative Bureau correspondence, memos, pamphlets, and draft legislative bills. Also included are reports, studies, and informal polls from private individuals and lobby groups expressing response to pending legislation.
Link to Collection Guide
Hammond, Lena
Coll #: MS-00635
Date: 1910-1920s
Extent: 1 linear foot (1 oversize box)
Collection contains a scrapbook and photo album of miscellaneous family photos of picnics, posing in Sunday best, etc. circa 1920's. Also included are newspaper articles from the Tonopah Times Bonanza about the history of and behind the local school, local mines, the railroad etc. and a legal document declaring the executor of the estate of Teresa M. Kendall.
Hansen, Tom Collection on Jubilee!
Coll #: MS-00106
Date: 1995-2012
Extent: 2.42 linear feet, 0.46 cubic feet (1 box, 1 flat file)
The Tom Hansen Collection on the Jubliee! stage show documents his work with this Las Vegas production from 1995 to 2012. The files include programs, set designs, lyrics, programs, badges, business cards, photographs, costume drawings, and video/audio tapes of the Jubilee! auditions and rehearsals.
Link to Collection Guide
Harrington, Elizabeth
Coll #: MS-00220
Date: 1975 - 1979
Extent: 0.21 linear feet, 0.23 cubic feet (1 box)
Related Materials: 0291
This collection contains the original drafts of the thirteen essays that Elizabeth Harrington wrote about her life in early Las Vegas, Nevada. These articles were written from her memory and experiences of life in Las Vegas beginning in the early 1900s, and were published in the Nevadan section of the Las Vegas Review-Journal from 1975-1979.
Link to Collection Guide
Hayes, Grace Papers
Coll #: MS-00271
Date: 1900-1989
Extent: 5 boxes and 1 oversized box (2.62 cubic feet, 3.91 linear feet)
Related Materials: 0292
The Grace Hayes Papers (1957-1962) include the personal and financial papers of actress and singer Grace Hayes, who owned the Red Rooster, a nightclub on the Las Vegas Strip. The papers include financial documents, newspaper clippings about Grace Hayes and her family, personal correspondence, career mementos, legal documents, and photo albums.
Link to Collection Guide
Hazel Baker Denton Papers
Coll #: MS-00387
Date: 1907-1957 (bulk 1937-1955)
Extent: 4 linear feet (7 boxes)
Related Materials: 0312
Collection is comprised of the personal papers and writings of Hazel Baker Denton, educator and writer. In addition to her work with the Lincoln Co. Board of Education, National Education Association of Nevada, and the Nevada Federation of Women's Clubs, Denton was also elected to the Nevada State Assembly twice. Collection consists of correspondence, personal diaries, news clippings and speeches. Other materials include drafts and published versions of her writing including the columns "Caliente All the Time" and "While the Toast Burns" and the book Ironing Day. Personal items such as baby books and scrapbooks also form part of the collection.
Link to Collection Guide
Henderson, Betty Professional Papers
Coll #: MS-00253
Date: 1963-1985
Extent: 3 boxes (3.14 cubic feet, 2.59 linear feet)
The Betty Henderson Professional Papers (1963-1985) are comprised of materials produced by Betty Henderson in her capacity as a private music teacher in Las Vegas, Nevada and as a member of the Nevada Music Teachers Association (NMTA). The collection includes scrapbooks of concert programs and NMTA events, materials from Henderson's experiences in Europe as a People-to-People ambassador with the Music Teachers National Association, and recordings on reel-to-reel tapes of concerts Henderson performed in or judged.
Link to Collection Guide
Hill, Charlotte papers
Coll #: MS-00379
Date: 1978-1992
Extent: 10 linear feet (10 boxes)
The Charlotte Hill Papers (1975-1996) document Charlotte Hill’s commitment to the Las Vegas, Nevada community and especially to the local PBS affiliate, KLVX Channel 10. The majority of the collection relates to KLVX Channel 10 and the work of the Friends of Channel 10 on behalf of the station, in particular information about fundraising events and volunteers. It also contains material related to Hill's membership in national organizations associated with public broadcasting. The collection includes some material about her work with the American Camping Association and the Las Vegas Sun Summer Camp Fund.
Link to Collection Guide
History of Nursing in Southern Nevada Oral History Project Records
Coll #: MS-00784
Date: 1965-2014
Extent: 3 boxes (1.3 Linear Feet, 0.985 Cubic Feet), 674 Digital Files (4.14 GB)
The History of Nursing in Southern Nevada Oral History Project Records (1965-2014) are comprised of material related to a volunteer project initiative at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas School of Nursing to conduct oral history interviews with nurses who have practiced in Southern Nevada. The collection contains subject files related to the project, as well as audio, video, and transcript files for the interviews. The collection also includes general information on nursing in Southern Nevada such as research papers and documents from the Nevada Nurses Association.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online
Houssels, Nancy Collection on the Nevada Dance Theatre
Coll #: MS-00392
Date: 1972-1997
Extent: 1 box, 1 flat file (0.67 cubic feet, 2.42 linear feet)
The Nancy Houssels Collection on the Nevada Dance Theatre (1972-1997) consists of programs, posters, photographs, newsletters, magazine articles, and newspaper clippings related to the Nevada Dance Theatre (now Nevada Ballet Theatre) in Las Vegas, Nevada. Nancy Houssels co-founded the Nevada Dance Theatre in 1972 with Vassili Sulich.
Link to Collection Guide
Howell (Kathryn) Papers on Civic Engagement in Nevada
Coll #: MS-00481
Date: 1960-2002
Extent: 2 boxes (1.12 cubic feet, 1.77 linear feet)
The Kathryn Howell Papers on Civic Engagement in Nevada (1960-2002) contain newspaper articles, correspondence, newsletters, photographs, and personal writings of Kathryn Howell, a teacher, activist, and lobbyist in Southern Nevada. The collection also includes memorabilia from the election of President John F. Kennedy and the 1964 Nevada Centennial celebration, as well as a photograph and letter from former Nevada governor and U.S. senator, Richard H. Bryan.
Link to Collection Guide
Iaconis, Stella Champo Papers
Coll #: MS-00122
Date: 1927-1928
Extent: 0.1 linear feet (1 folder, shared box)
Related Materials: 0190
The Stella Champo Iaconis Papers consist of a certificate for proficiency in Rapid Legible Business Writing from the Palmer Method of Business Writing given on May 11, 1927; a certificate of promotion to high school in Clark County, Nevada dated May 25, 1927; and an autograph book signed by classmates at Las Vegas High School in Las Vegas, Nevada in 1928.
Link to Collection Guide
International Training in Communication, Vegas Valley Chapter Records
Coll #: MS-00423
Date: 1965 -1994
Extent: 1.91 Linear Feet, 2.4 Cubic Feet (3 Boxes)
The International Training in Communication, Vegas Valley Club Chapter Records document the history of the organization in Las Vegas, Nevada from 1965 to 1994. The organizational records include meeting minutes, treasurer's reports, bylaws, and scrapbooks of photos, newspaper clippings, newsletters, and ephemera.
Link to Collection Guide
International Training in Communication, Vegas Valley Chapter Records
Coll #: MS-00423
Date: 1965 -1994
Extent: 1.91 Linear Feet, 2.4 Cubic Feet (3 Boxes)
The International Training in Communication, Vegas Valley Club Chapter Records document the history of the organization in Las Vegas, Nevada from 1965 to 1994. The organizational records include meeting minutes, treasurer's reports, bylaws, and scrapbooks of photos, newspaper clippings, newsletters, and ephemera.
Link to Collection Guide
Jacques, Marge Papers
Coll #: MS-00438
Date: 1960-1990
Extent: 1.2 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
The Marge Jacques Papers (1960-1990) comprise the personal papers of Marge Jacques, a prominent member of the Las Vegas, Nevada gay and lesbian community, and owner of the gay bar, Le Cafe. The papers contain correspondence, licensing records, financial statements, and artifacts from clubs that Jacques owned or managed. Also included are photographs, videotapes, audiotapes, newspaper clippings, and Gipsy Nightclub promotional material.
Link to Collection Guide
Janish, Jeanne Russell Papers
Coll #: MS-00355
Date: 1833-1994 (bulk 1894-1994)
Extent: 15 boxes, 3 oversized boxes, 1 flat file (11.45 cubic feet, 15.54 linear feet)
Related Materials: 0296
The Jeanne Russell Janish Papers span the years 1833 through 1994 with an emphasis on 1894 to 1994. The materials of the illustrator and watercolorist include her school records, research papers, diaries, and personal correspondence. There are two original book manuscripts, dried flowers, hand-woven rugs, a variety of art supplies and tools, and approximately 140 watercolor paintings and pencil sketches of various scenes and subjects, created in China, Florida, and the American Southwest.
Link to Collection Guide
Jensen, Ellen B.
Coll #: MS-00133
Date: 1966-1969
Extent: 0.25 Linear Feet (1 box)
The Ellen B. Jensen papers comprise the research notes, drafts with edits, carbons, and articles written by the Las Vegas, Nevada journalist Ellen Jensen who was the editor of and writer for the monthly Las Vegas Review Journal Jr. and writer for the Las Vegas Sun ("Sunday Scene") and Las Vegas Review Journal ("The Nevadan") from 1966 to 1969. Jensen wrote about many topics of interest to Las Vegans, including travel and recreation in southern Nevada, hotel and casino administration and construction, and local nightlife and entertainment.
Link to Collection Guide
Jewish Family Service Agency Records
Coll #: MS-00386
Date: 1954, 1977-2013
Extent: 0.6 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
The Jewish Family Service Agency (JFSA) records (1954, 1979-1993) contain organizational records, minutes, committee information, planning documents, newspaper clippings, newsletters, photographs, and volunteer information collected by Bea Levinson. There are also two folders of material about Bea Levinson, who was chairperson of the JFSA Long Range Planning Committee.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online
Joan Snyder Meadows Playhouse Collection
Coll #: MS-00219
Date: 1968-1981
Extent: 6 boxes (2.95 cubic feet, 2.83 linear feet)
The Joan Snyder Meadows Playhouse Collection (1968-1981) consists of materials from the Meadows Playhouse, a University of Nevada, Las Vegas playhouse that was located on Maryland Parkway, south of the university campus. It includes architectural plans, interdepartmental and external correspondence and memos about designing a theater major program, examples of other university theater major requirements, press releases, copies of plays with set design and director’s notes, notes on student actors, photographs, production playbills, and newspaper clippings regarding various productions.
Link to Collection Guide
Jones (Clifford) family papers
Coll #: MS-00596
Date: 1900-2005
Extent: 13 boxes (5.27 cubic feet, 7.5 linear feet)
The Clifford Jones Family Papers (1900-2005) consist of awards for community service, newspaper clippings, correspondence sent to family members by Cliff Jones when he was in the military, and photograph albums of the Jones family. Clifford Jones was the 20th Lieutenant Governor for Nevada from 1947 to 1954.
Link to Collection Guide
