Search Special Collections & Archives
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Social Action


Total manuscripts: 58

Page 1 of 2

1  2  Next  
"LGBTQ Las Vegas" Records
Coll #: MS-00965
Date: 2016-2017
Extent: 1 box (0.23 cubic feet, 0.21 linear feet)
The "LGBTQ Las Vegas" records are comprised of Dennis McBride's official papers and correspondence from 2016 to 2017 about his pictorial history book, "LGBTQ Las Vegas", on the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) community in Las Vegas, Nevada. The records consist of correspondence on the acceptance of McBride's book proposal as well as a memorandum agreement. The records also contain printed copies of electronic correspondence between McBride and Arcadia Publishing as well as correspondence from McBride requesting photographer's permission to include their work in his book. The records also include a proof copy of the book with McBride's annotations.
Link to Collection Guide

American Association of University Women, Las Vegas Branch Records
Coll #: MS-00368
Date: 1934-2016 (bulk 1960-1999)
Extent: 11 boxes (5.58 cubic feet, 4.88 linear feet)
The American Association of University Women, Las Vegas Branch Records (1934-2016) is comprised of organizational records including member directories, bylaws, charters, meeting minutes, financial records, guest registers, and newsletters. The collection also includes reports and fundraising information published by AAUW. Also included is a script for a play about the founding of the national organization, bulletin board cut-outs, programming materials, and a significant amount of Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) material.
Link to Collection Guide

American Red Cross Southern Nevada Chapter Records
Coll #: MS-00600
Date: 1917-2015
Extent: 10 boxes (4.94 cubic feet, 9.75 Linear Feet), 433 Digital Files (4.96 Gigabytes)
The American Red Cross Southern Nevada Chapter Records (1917-2015) include business records, legal and property documents, scrapbooks, photographs, awards and event programs. Also included is documentation of training events in Southern Nevada and disaster relief efforts throughout the country.
Link to Collection Guide

Anderson (Eddie) papers
Coll #: MS-00457
Date: 1965-2000
Extent: 4 boxes (3.64 cubic feet, 3.25 linear feet)
The Eddie Anderson Papers date from 1965 to 2000. The collection contains material from Eddie Anderson’s work as a political and social activist, as well as his radio career in Reno, Nevada. Included are newspaper articles, research notes, correspondence, speeches on political activism and gay rights, video recordings, audio recordings, memorabilia, black-and-white photographs, and color photographs. There is a photograph of Eddie Anderson with President Richard Nixon from 1969.
Link to Collection Guide

Anti Defamation League Nevada Region Office Photographs and Sign
Coll #: MS-00076
Date: 2003-2012
Extent: 0.1 linear feet (1 folder and 1 flat file)
Collection is comprised of photographs from 2003 to 2012 depicting Anti Defamation League (ADL) Nevada Region Office events. The collection also includes a sign advertising ADL's "No Place For Hate" program.
Link to Collection Guide

Berkley, Shelley papers
Coll #: MS-00599
Date: 1987-2012 (bulk 1999-2012)
Extent: 46 boxes, 7 oversized boxes, and 1 flat file (31.78 cubic feet, 36.61 linear feet); 5,977 Digital Files (16.36 GB)
The Shelley Berkley Papers (1987-2012) consist primarily of correspondence and other documents pertaining to Shelley Berkley's tenure as United States Representative for Nevada 1st congressional district. Topics include nuclear waste storage at Yucca Mountain, education, women's rights, health care, foreign affairs, veterans, economics, and homeland security. The collection also includes photographs, interviews, and awards. Shelley Berkley served as a member of Congress between 1999 and 2013.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online

Bristol (Shelley) papers
Coll #: MS-00398
Date: 1993 - 1998
Extent: 1 box (0.23 cubic feet, 0.21 linear feet)
The Shelley Bristol Papers date from 1993 to 1998 and consists of the personal testimony of Bristol and her experience with AIDS and AIDS activism, her correspondence with the "Nevadans Against Prostitution," and a newsletter from WORLD (Women Organized to Respond to Life-Threatening Diseases).
Link to Collection Guide

Carratelli Family Collection on Gay Rights in Nevada
Coll #: MS-00536
Date: 1992-2002
Extent: 3.4 Linear Feet (2 boxes, 1 oversize folder)
The Carratelli Family Collection on Gay Rights in Nevada (1992-2002) consists of documents and ephemera from various gay rights organizations and events in Las Vegas, Nevada. In addition to documents, fliers, and meeting minutes, the collection houses a box of t-shirts from various gay events and campaigns. The collection is especially focused on issues of Gay Pride organizing.
Link to Collection Guide

Clark (Reverend Donald) papers
Coll #: MS-00158
Date: 1953 - 1976
Extent: 2 boxes (0.92 cubic feet, 0.83 linear feet)
The Reverend Donald M. Clark Papers (1953-1976) contain correspondence, meeting minutes, organizational plans, newspaper clippings, and personal memorabilia related Clark's work with the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) and the Economic Opportunity Board (EOB) in Las Vegas, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online

Cunningham (Cynthia) Papers
Coll #: MS-00277
Date: 1970-1979
Extent: 1.48 cubic feet (4 boxes)
The Cynthia Cunningham Papers date from 1970 to 1979 and document Cunningham's career as an English instructor at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) and as a member of the Nevada State of Board of Education. Included are Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) materials, audio tapes, posters, newspaper clippings, survey results, and reports that explore the issue of gender bias in schools. Materials on the Health Systems Agency contain organization by-laws, memberships, agendas, minutes, correspondence, and publications.
Link to Collection Guide

Dorothy Dorothy Papers
Coll #: MS-00352
Date: 1934-1986
Extent: 4.89 cubic feet (14 boxes)
Related Materials: 0131
The Dorothy Dorothy papers (1783-1986) document the life of singer, songwriter, columnist, pilot, and Pahrump, Nevada alfalfa farmer Dorothy (Richardson Varnum McAdam) Dorothy. Materials contain genealogy records, correspondence, business and organizational records, local history, sheet music, artifacts, and two boxes of photographs. Also included are materials relating to her active involvement with animal rights.
Link to Collection Guide

Duncan, Ruby
Coll #: MS-00367
Date: 1972-1992
Extent: 25.34 Cubic Feet (47 boxes, 1 oversized box, 3 oversized folders)
The Ruby Duncan Papers consists of the organizational records of Operation Life Community Development Corporation (1972-1992), a non-profit organization that worked to improve living conditions in West Las Vegas, Nevada by providing a variety of community development services. Included are correspondence, agreements, accounting records, lease agreements, meeting materials, reports, speeches.
Link to Collection Guide

Eisenberg, Dorothy Papers
Coll #: MS-00528
Date: early 1900s-2009
Extent: 2 Linear Feet (4 boxes), 8 Digital Files transferred electronically; no physical carrier.
The Dorothy Eisenberg Papers (early 1900s-2009, bulk 1970-2000) are comprised of organizational records, photographs, newspaper clippings, and scrapbooks reflecting her activism and volunteer work related to education, the Bullfrog County Commission, Las Vegas Clark County consolidation, League of Women Voters (LWV), Las Vegas Jewish Federation, Equal Rights Amendment (ERA), and Silver State Political Action Committee.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online

Equal Rights Nevada
Coll #: MS-00607
Date: 2000-2002
Extent: 2 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
The Equal Rights Nevada (2000-2002) collection is comprised of organizational records documenting the group's unsuccessful fight against Question 2, a referendum voted upon in 2000 and 2002 to amend Nevada's state constitution to forbid same-sex marriage. It includes campaign files, financial records, publicity, correspondence, ephemera, and other supporting documentation from national and regional marriage equality organizations.
Link to Collection Guide

Ford, Jean papers
Coll #: MS-00025
Date: 1958 -1996
Extent: 39 boxes, 1 oversized box (17.93 cubic feet)
Related Materials: 0295
The Jean Ford Papers (1958-1996) include political documents, campaign materials for Jean Ford's political campaigns, and materials pertaining to campaign issues such as health services, general improvement districts, and parks and recreation. There is extensive material on Red Rock National Conservation Area, Lake Mead National Recreation Area, and the National Issues Forum. Women's issues cover the years 1964-1981 and contain information relating to the League of Women Voters, Equal Rights Amendment (ERA), and International Women's Year (IWY), as well as Anti-ERA and Anti-IWY materials.
Link to Collection Guide

Generations of the Shoah – Nevada Records
Coll #: MS-00720
Date: 2001-2015
Extent: 0.2 linear feet (1 box)
The Generations of the Shoah - Nevada (GS-N) records (2001-2015) are mainly comprised of meeting notes, correspondence, fliers, event programs, speeches, planning documents, and educational materials created by GS-N president Esther Finder and collaborators in the local Jewish community and the international Holocaust education and remembrance community. The collection also includes personal stories of Holocaust survivors and their families, which are recorded in virtual books, publications, videotaped interviews, and Las Vegas, Nevada filmmaker Brett Levner's videos: Holocaust Survivors Reflect and Passing the Torch.
Link to Collection Guide

Greenpeace Pacific Southwest Records
Coll #: MS-00363
Date: 1962-1994
Extent: 5 linear feet (5 record storage boxes)
The Greenpeace Pacific Southwest Records are comprised of files and documents pertaining to environmental activism in Southern Nevada from 1962 to 1994, primarily addressing the organization of protests at the Nevada Test Site. The collection contains newspaper articles, newsletters, publications, financial records, protest information, correspondence, meeting minutes, articles of incorporation, Freedom of Information Act requests, and Nevada Test Site information. Also contained in the collection are maps and documents related to various environmental issues such as nuclear waste, land use, wildlife protection, and international environmental activism.
Link to Collection Guide

Hazard, H. E. and Ruth Political Papers
Coll #: MS-00135
Date: 1937-1977
Extent: 0.4 Linear Feet (1 box)
The H.E. and Ruth Hazard Collection on Politics in Nevada (1937-1977) consists of papers and memorabilia related to Nevada and national Democratic politics. It includes materials about the Nevada legislature, clippings and information about the Nevada Tax Commission, political memorabilia including invitations and programs related to the presidential inaugurations of Lyndon Johnson and Jimmy Carter, documents about the purchase of Basic Magnesium Inc. by the state of Nevada, and newspaper clippings.
Link to Collection Guide

Hill, Charlotte papers
Coll #: MS-00379
Date: 1978-1992
Extent: 10 linear feet (10 boxes)
The Charlotte Hill Papers (1975-1996) document Charlotte Hill’s commitment to the Las Vegas, Nevada community and especially to the local PBS affiliate, KLVX Channel 10. The majority of the collection relates to KLVX Channel 10 and the work of the Friends of Channel 10 on behalf of the station, in particular information about fundraising events and volunteers. It also contains material related to Hill's membership in national organizations associated with public broadcasting. The collection includes some material about her work with the American Camping Association and the Las Vegas Sun Summer Camp Fund.
Link to Collection Guide

Hinkley (Daniel) Papers
Coll #: MS-00525
Date: 1999-2016
Extent: 5 boxes, 1 flat file (3.04 cubic feet, 4.26 linear feet)
The Daniel Hinkley papers are comprised of material documenting Hinkley's work on behalf of the gay community in Las Vegas, Nevada between the years of 1991 to 2016. It includes Hinkley's files on the Progressive Leadership Alliance of Nevada, the campaign against Question 2, and various subjects related to the gay community in Las Vegas.
Link to Collection Guide

Hoggard (Mabel) papers
Coll #: MS-00565
Date: 1903-2011
Extent: 6 boxes (2.48 cubic feet, 3.06 linear feet)
The Mabel Hoggard Papers (1903-2011) contain materials related to Hoggard's career as a Las Vegas, Nevada elementary school teacher, her research and civic interests in Las Vegas's predominantly African American Westside communities, and her engagement with civil rights issues. The collection also contains materials about Hoggard's life, including biographical newspaper articles about her childhood, education, work, and family. The collection includes lesson plans, scrapbooks, awards, correspondence, photographs, and physical objects such as a vinyl record and political pins. The bulk of the collection focuses on her life in Las Vegas from approximately 1946-1989.
Link to Collection Guide

Howard Booth Papers
Coll #: MS-00868
Date: 1964-2017
Extent: 7 boxes (2.59 cubic feet, 3.72 linear feet)
The collection is comprised of the personal papers of environmental activist, Howard Booth from 1964 to 2017. The collection includes information about Booth's efforts to help turn Red Rock Canyon into a National Conservation Area. The collection also includes multiple slides that Booth took of Red Rock and the surrounding areas during the 1980s and early 1990s.
Link to Collection Guide

Howell (Kathryn) Papers on Civic Engagement in Nevada
Coll #: MS-00481
Date: 1960-2002
Extent: 2 boxes (1.12 cubic feet, 1.77 linear feet)
The Kathryn Howell Papers on Civic Engagement in Nevada (1960-2002) contain newspaper articles, correspondence, newsletters, photographs, and personal writings of Kathryn Howell, a teacher, activist, and lobbyist in Southern Nevada. The collection also includes memorabilia from the election of President John F. Kennedy and the 1964 Nevada Centennial celebration, as well as a photograph and letter from former Nevada governor and U.S. senator, Richard H. Bryan.
Link to Collection Guide

Junior League of Las Vegas Records
Coll #: MS-00179
Date: 1946-2010
Extent: 52 Linear Feet (44 boxes, 1 oversize folder)
The Junior League of Las Vegas Records were compiled from 1946 through 2010, and are comprised of materials that include annual reports, training manuals, articles, minutes, photographs, scrapbooks, cookbooks, placards and framed photographs. Also included are materials on advocacy projects and fundraising efforts.
Link to Collection Guide

Key, Alice papers
Coll #: MS-00095
Date: 1936-2004
Extent: 1 box (0.46 cubic feet, 0.42 linear feet)
The Alice Key Papers (1936-2004) consist of documents detailing Alice Key’s life and work in the African American community, historic preservation, and labor relations in Las Vegas, Nevada. Included in the collection are awards and certificates documenting Key’s achievements, invitations and programs to events, political and civic correspondence, and magazine and newspaper articles both about Key and written by her. The collection also contains photographs.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online

Las Vegas , Nevada LGBTQ Collection
Coll #: MS-00251
Date: 1955-2016 (bulk 1980-2012)
Extent: 14 boxes and 2 oversized boxes (11.78 cubic feet, 11.42 linear feet)
The Las Vegas, Nevada Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer/Questioning (LGBTQ) Collection documents the social and political activities of Las Vegas, Nevada's LGBTQ community from 1955 to 2016. The collection includes hundreds of newspaper articles about LGBTQ issues, ranging from AIDS to Nevada legislation. The collection also documents the presence of the LGBTQ community in Las Vegas, including material from gay bars, nightclubs, social clubs, advocacy and political organizations, entertainers, and student groups. Previously known as the Las Vegas Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Collection.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas-Clark County Urban Action Committee Task Force Records
Coll #: MS-00321
Date: 1973 - 1974
Extent: 1 box (0.46 cubic feet, 0.42 linear feet)
The Las Vegas-Clark County Urban Action Committee Task Force Records (1973-1974) was created by the Nevada legislature in 1973 to consider the future organization of Clark County. The Committee formed five task forces to examine judicious ways to incorporate county areas into the city: budget and finance; fire and police; planning, zoning, building codes, and related elements; water, streets, sewerage, sewers solid waste, and flood control; and boards and commissions. There is a file of minutes from each task force. Also included are contracts and questionnaires sent to home and property owners.
Link to Collection Guide

Lee Plotkin Papers
Coll #: MS-00518
Date: 1955-2006
Extent: 1 Linear Feet (1 box)
The Lee Plotkin papers document Plotkin's political work and associations as an LGBT activist and spokesman for the Las Vegas gay community, and include correspondence, press releases, copies of his columns, institutional and legislative documents, brochures, fliers and other ephemera from 1955 to 2006.
Link to Collection Guide

Lewis, Marzette
Coll #: MS-00621
Date: 1970-2011
Extent: 8.76 Cubic Feet (24 boxes)
The Marzette Lewis Papers (1970-2011) reflect Lewis' extensive history of activism in the Las Vegas, Nevada community regarding the education standards of the Clark County School District (CCSD), and her work to fight discrimination within the district. The bulk of material dates from 1988 to 2009. It contains correspondence, Clark County School District (CCSD) zoning information, CCSD agendas, information on Lewis' two organizations, Westside Action Alliance Korps (W.A.A.K- U.P.) and Concerned Citizens, and video and audio recordings.
Link to Collection Guide

MacEachern, Jan papers
Coll #: MS-00395
Date: 1960-1988
Extent: 7.5 Linear Feet (8 boxes)
The Janet MacEachern Papers (1960-1988) consist of programs, correspondence, financial reports, rosters, clippings, scrapbooks, and photographs relating to her work on various Las Vegas, Nevada, Boulder City, Nevada, and State legislative and political advisory boards.
Link to Collection Guide

McCaffrey (Bob) Collection on the Save the Hughes Flying Boat Campaign
Coll #: MS-00693
Date: 1980-1983
Extent: 0.42 Linear Feet, 0.37 Cubic Feet (1 box)
The Bob McCaffery Collection on the Save the Hughes Flying Boat Campaign (1980-1983) documents efforts by activists to preserve the plane from destruction and its subsequent acquisition by the Aero Club of Southern California in 1980. The collection contains photographs and newspaper clippings about the Hughes H-4 Hercules flying boat nicknamed the "Spruce Goose" from the 1980s.
Link to Collection Guide

McClure, Florence papers
Coll #: MS-00477
Date: 1969-2007
Extent: 10 boxes (9.31 cubic feet, 7.96 linear feet)
The Florence McClure Papers (1969-2007) are comprised of writings, correspondence, newspaper clippings, handwritten notes, and assorted publications that focus on McClure's work with women's organizations, her efforts on behalf of the Southern Nevada Women's Correctional Facility, and her political advocacy work. It also contains a large number of reference clippings McClure collected on women's issues from local, national, and international publications.
Link to Collection Guide

MGM Mirage Corporation Records
Coll #: MS-00096
Date: 1970-2009 (bulk 1989-2003)
Extent: 40 boxes, 3 oversized boxes (25.90 cubic feet, 25.35 linear feet)
The MGM Mirage Corporation Records date from 1970 to 2009 and consist of the records of the Las Vegas, Nevada based global entertainment company. The collection contains organizational records, employee newsletters, files about the MGM Mirage diversity and inclusion initiative, correspondence, reports on gambling addiction, gambling statistics, press clippings, and audiovisual materials. There are also photographs, photographic slides, and photographic negatives of performers, corporate executives, and MGM Mirage properties.
Link to Collection Guide

Mollie Gregory Collection of Oral Histories
Coll #: MS-00516
Date: 1970-1974
Extent: 7.8 Linear Feet (13 boxes)
The Mollie Gregory Collection of Oral Histories contains audio interviews and transcripts that focus on welfare, family, and women's issues in Nevada from 1970 to 1974. Gregory interviewed people who described their lives during the anti-poverty and women's rights campaigns in the early 1970s. The collection documents views on welfare, the Equal Rights Amendment, political campaigns, race, discrimination, civil rights, youth, and political music.
Link to Collection Guide

National Organization for Women, Las Vegas Chapter Records
Coll #: MS-00354
Date: 1966-2009
Extent: 4.65 Linear Feet (9 boxes)
The National Organization for Women, Las Vegas Chapter Records document the philosophy, activities, and politics of the National Organization for Women (NOW) from 1966 to 2005 with most materials covering the period of 1971 to 1974. The records demonstrate the activities and political positions of NOW and they include correspondence, policies, memoranda, files, publications, and ephemera from the Las Vegas, Nevada chapter.
Link to Collection Guide

Nelson (Lorelle) Collection on Atomic Testing
Coll #: MS-00998
Date: 1980-2009
Extent: 3 boxes (1.38 Cubic Feet, 1.25 Linear Feet)
The Lorelle Nelson Collection on Atomic Testing is comprised of newspaper clippings, magazine and journal articles, correspondence, press releases, fact sheets, fliers, informational handouts and booklets, and newsletters from approximately 1980 to 2009 concerning nuclear weapons testing at the Nevada Test Site, throughout the United States, and internationally. The collection includes information about anti-nuclear groups, committees, and associations, as well as information on the effects of radiation, nuclear fallout, lawsuits and court cases, events and protests, conferences, and local news coverage.
Link to Collection Guide

Nevada Campaign for Choice
Coll #: MS-00347
Date: 1987-1990
Extent: 1.2 linear feet (2 boxes)
The Nevada Campaign for Choice Records (1987-1990) address the 1989-1990 pro-choice campaign regarding the legality of abortion and codifying Roe v. Wade in Nevada. Records include material on the campaign structure, finances, steering committee, minutes, campaign literature, correspondence, campaign buttons and stickers, mailing lists, clippings, two video tapes, and one audio tape.
Link to Collection Guide

Nevada Campaign for Choice
Coll #: MS-00347
Date: 1987-1990
Extent: 1.2 linear feet (2 boxes)
The Nevada Campaign for Choice Records (1987-1990) address the 1989-1990 pro-choice campaign regarding the legality of abortion and codifying Roe v. Wade in Nevada. Records include material on the campaign structure, finances, steering committee, minutes, campaign literature, correspondence, campaign buttons and stickers, mailing lists, clippings, two video tapes, and one audio tape.
Link to Collection Guide

Nevada Council on Compulsive Gambling Records
Coll #: MS-00494
Date: 1978-1995
Extent: 1 box (0.46 Cubic Feet, 0.42 Linear Feet)
The Nevada Council on Compulsive Gambling Records (1978-1995) contains organizational records, correspondence, programs, services, and outreach publications.
Link to Collection Guide

Nevada CURE Records
Coll #: MS-00799
Date: 1998-2009
Extent: 19.0 Linear Feet, 16.0 Cubic Feet (29 boxes)
NOTE: Contents in this collection are closed for seventy-two years from the latest date found on an individual record to protect privacy and confidentiality. Access is restricted under provisions of state or federal law. This collection is open for research use in 2081. The Nevada CURE Records are comprised of correspondence, administrative records, case files, and research files created and collected by Mercedes Maharis from 1998 to 2009. Maharis was the founding director of Nevada CURE and co-author of the Spartacus Project Report. The collection also includes correspondence from inmates to Maharis expressing their grievances with prison personnel and the Nevada Department of Corrections as well as correspondence between Maharis and attorneys representing inmates in legal cases. This collection also contains copies of articles from Las Vegas Tribune that describe issues surrounding the treatment of inmates within the Nevada prison system.
Link to Collection Guide

Nevada Desert Experience Records
Coll #: MS-00524
Date: 1951-2009 (bulk 1982-2006)
Extent: 27 boxes, 2 oversized boxes (29.20 cubic feet, 26.87 linear feet)
The Nevada Desert Experience Records (1951-2009) are comprised of files from the anti-nuclear organization, the Nevada Desert Experience (NDE), as well as its predecessor, the Sagebrush Alliance, and those of earlier unincorporated protests at the Nevada Test Site (NTS). Materials include board of directors meeting minutes, financial records, scrapbooks, personnel records, event speeches, correspondence, newspaper clippings, cartoons and other artwork, newsletters, brochures, fliers, research files on nuclear issues and other anti-nuclear organizations, and congressional testimony. The records also contain audiovisual materials, photographic prints and slides, screenplays, manuscripts, and newspapers related to the NDE's media efforts.
Link to Collection Guide

Nevada Empowered Women's Project Records
Coll #: MS-00517
Date: 1996-2001
Extent: 1.25 Linear Feet (3 boxes)
The Nevada Empowered Women's Project (NEW Project) Collection (1996-2001) consists of brochures, newsclippings, federal and state agency reports, and manuals about poverty and welfare rights pertaining to the activism of NEW Project, headquartered in Reno, Nevada. The material chronicles the battles over welfare reform in the 1990s and also includes the full agenda and report for the 1999 Welfare Reform Conference held in Washington, D.C.
Link to Collection Guide

Planned Parenthood of Southern Nevada Records
Coll #: MS-00364
Date: 1980-1995 (bulk 1990-1992)
Extent: 7.82 cubic feet (17 boxes)
The Planned Parenthood of Southern Nevada Records (1980-1995) contain materials related to the internal administration and structure of the organization such as reports, strategic plans, and statistics. In addition, the collection contains materials pertaining to fund-raising activities such as fund-raising guides, ideas, and resources. Also included are brochures, articles, fact sheets, and clippings regarding various subjects including abortion, birth control, family planning, sexual education, sexually transmitted diseases, and teen pregnancy.
Link to Collection Guide

Progressive Leadership Alliance of Nevada Records
Coll #: MS-00526
Date: 1994-2002
Extent: 0.2 linear (1 box)
The Progressive Leadership Alliance of Nevada (PLAN) records span the years 1994 to 2002 and are comprised of material documenting the organization's involvment in gay issues in Las Vegas, Nevada. PLAN was founded in 1994 as the umbrella organization for Nevada's progressive groups and institutions. This collection is comprised of material documenting the Minority Status and Child Protection Act of 1994 and the Coalition for Unity and Equal Rights Nevada, and contains a number of files from that effort, including opinion surveys, meeting agendas and campaign plans.
Link to Collection Guide

Ranney (Robert) Collection on the Children's Service Guild of Southern Nevada
Coll #: MS-00334
Date: 1947-1990, 1971-1975 (bulk)
Extent: 2.67 Cubic Feet (5 boxes)
The Robert Ranney Collection on the Children's Service Guild of Southern Nevada (1947-1990) contain primarily newspaper clippings pertaining to juvenile crime, and other juvenile-related issues in Las Vegas, Nevada. Also included are materials chronicling the operation of the Clark County Juvenile Court Services, including photographs, and two scrapbooks.
Link to Collection Guide

Rusco (Elmer R.) Collection on Ethnicity and Race in Nevada
Coll #: MS-00196
Date: 1964 - 1972
Extent: 1 box (0.46 cubic feet, 0.42 linear feet)
The Elmer R. Rusco Collection on Ethnicity and Race in Nevada (1964-1972) contains correspondence, court cases, employment information, and research materials compiled by Rusco for a book he was writing on race relations in Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

Service League [Las Vegas]
Coll #: MS-00631
Date: 1948-1970
Extent: 4 oversize boxes, 4 double oversize boxes (6.68 linear feet)
Collection consists of the Las Vegas Service League scrapbooks containing newspaper articles about the members, various charitable acts performed by the league and league gatherings. (see also Junior League of Las Vegas collection 97-12 and the Junior Service League of Las Vegas on the roller shelf)

Shade Tree Shelter Records
Coll #: MS-00365
Date: 1990-1996
Extent: 3 boxes (2.76 cubic feet, 2.38 linear feet)
The Shade Tree Shelter Records date from 1990 to 1996 and consist primarily of logbooks and journals compiled by the staff of the Shade Tree, a shelter for homeless and abused women and children in Las Vegas, Nevada, documenting daily activities, incidents, and residents at the shelter. The collection also includes summaries of the staff's telephone conversations, a newspaper article about Shade Tree, and fliers and brochures about social services available in Southern Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

Sierra Club Toiyabe Chapter Records
Coll #: MS-00289
Date: 1951-2012
Extent: 20 linear feet (21 boxes)
The Sierra Club Toiyabe Chapter Records (1951 to 2012) are composed of files from Sierra Club officers and activists in the Southern Nevada (formerly Las Vegas) Group of the Toiyabe Chapter. The collection documents the involvement of the Southern Nevada group in a variety of environmental concerns, such as air quality, uranization, and nuclear issues, in which the chapter has expressed interest. The records are comprised of correspondence, memoranda, meeting minutes and agendas, newspapers, magazines, newsletters, pamphlets, press releases, legislation, recommendations, resolutions, and general information. Due to the group’s location in the heart of the Mojave Desert, the collection provides excellent case studies of significant changes in the post-World War II American environmental movement, notably the increased recognition of the worth of desert lands.
Link to Collection Guide

Sin Sity Sisters of Perpetual Indulgence Records
Coll #: MS-00873
Date: 2005-2012
Extent: 2 boxes (0.74 cubic feet, 0.83 linear feet)
The collection contains organizational records (2005-2012) of the Sin Sity Sisters of Perpetual Indulgence, an LGBTQ charity and advocacy organization in Las Vegas, Nevada. The records include agendas and meeting minutes, financial records, press material, awards, and certificates of appreciation for the organization. Also included are financial records for the organization's annual Red Dress charity fundraiser and the Sisters AIDS Drug Assistance Program (SADAP), the grant fund that provides financial assistance to AIDS/HIV patients.
Link to Collection Guide

Page 1 of 2

1  2  Next  

Ask Us