Manuscripts by Subjects
Manuscripts -> Social ActionTotal manuscripts: 61
Shade Tree Shelter Records
Coll #: MS-00365
Date: 1990-1996
Extent: 3 boxes (2.76 cubic feet, 2.38 linear feet)
The Shade Tree Shelter Records date from 1990 to 1996 and consist primarily of logbooks and journals compiled by the staff of the Shade Tree, a shelter for homeless and abused women and children in Las Vegas, Nevada, documenting daily activities, incidents, and residents at the shelter. The collection also includes summaries of the staff's telephone conversations, a newspaper article about Shade Tree, and fliers and brochures about social services available in Southern Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Sierra Club Toiyabe Chapter Records
Coll #: MS-00289
Date: 1951-2012
Extent: 20 linear feet (21 boxes)
The Sierra Club Toiyabe Chapter Records (1951 to 2012) are composed of files from Sierra Club officers and activists in the Southern Nevada (formerly Las Vegas) Group of the Toiyabe Chapter. The collection documents the involvement of the Southern Nevada group in a variety of environmental concerns, such as air quality, uranization, and nuclear issues, in which the chapter has expressed interest. The records are comprised of correspondence, memoranda, meeting minutes and agendas, newspapers, magazines, newsletters, pamphlets, press releases, legislation, recommendations, resolutions, and general information. Due to the group’s location in the heart of the Mojave Desert, the collection provides excellent case studies of significant changes in the post-World War II American environmental movement, notably the increased recognition of the worth of desert lands.
Link to Collection Guide
Sin Sity Sisters of Perpetual Indulgence Records
Coll #: MS-00873
Date: 2005-2018
Extent: 2 boxes, 1 flat file (shared box) (0.78 cubic feet, 2.50 linear feet)
The Sin Sity Sisters of Perpetual Indulgence Records (2005-2018) contain organizational records of the Sin Sity Sisters of Perpetual Indulgence, an LGBTQIA+ charity and advocacy organization in Las Vegas, Nevada. The records include agendas and meeting minutes, financial records, press material, awards, and certificates of appreciation for the organization. Also included are financial records for the organization's annual Red Dress charity fundraiser and the Sisters AIDS Drug Assistance Program (SADAP), the grant fund that provides financial assistance to AIDS/HIV patients.
Link to Collection Guide
Stand OUT for Equality Records
Coll #: MS-00585
Date: 2008-2011
Extent: 3 boxes, 1 shared box (0.95 cubic feet, 2.71 linear feet)
The Stand OUT for Equality Records (2008-2011) contain correspondence, lobbying materials, press kits, promotional materials, expense reports, meeting agendas and minutes, certificates, and notes pertaining to the 2009 and 2011 lobbying efforts by Stand OUT for Equality for gay and straight domestic partnership benefits and transgender rights held in Carson City, Nevada. The collection also contains photographic prints of the 2009 and 2011 Equality Days in Carson City, copies of legislation related to domestic partnerships in Nevada, event invitations, newspaper clippings, and CDs with digital copies of fliers, posters, logos, manuals, training videos, and photographs, as well as templates and budgeting information.
Link to Collection Guide
Strutt Hurley Collection on the Southern Nevada Association of Pride, Inc. (SNAPI) and Las Vegas Gay Pride
Coll #: MS-00466
Date: 1989-2000
Extent: 1 box, 2 oversize flat boxes, 1 flat file (2.4 cubic feet, 5 linear feet)
The Strutt Hurley Collection on the Southern Nevada Pride Association, Inc. (SNAPI) and Las Vegas Pride (1989-2000) contains materials collected and produced by Strutt Hurley during her tenure as Director of Entertainment of SNAPI. Materials include meeting minutes, advertising contracts, Las Vegas Pride programs, and ephemera collected from Pride celebrations in Las Vegas, Nevada and other parts of the United States and the world.
Link to Collection Guide
The Wolf of Pace e Bene Newsletters
Coll #: MS-00562
Date: 1991-2004
Extent: 0.42 linear feet, 0.37 cubic feet (1 box)
This collection is comprised of newsletters of The Wolf of Pace e Bene from 1991 to 2004. Published in Las Vegas, Nevada by Franciscan Friars, the newsletter is dedicated to the service of nonviolence.
Link to Collection Guide
Trudell, Harriet
Coll #: MS-00540
Date: 1949-2006
Extent: 1.08 linear feet (1 box)
The Harriet Trudell Papers span 1949-2006. The collection consists of personal items such as items from Trudell's high school, personal correspondence, holiday cards and photos of family, friends, trips and gatherings. Harriet Trudell was a Democratic Party advocate, feminist, Civil Rights activist, campaign advisor, and precinct organizer. The bulk of the collection contains documents from Trudell's various political activities. These items include correspondence from political entities, election memorabilia in the form of buttons and bumper stickers, information on political campaigns, and documents concerning the National Organization of Women (NOW).
Link to Collection Guide
Van Ee (Jeff) papers
Coll #: MS-00470
Date: 1974-2012 (bulk 1982-2005)
Extent: 24 boxes, 2 flat files (26.1 cubic feet, 22.25 linear feet)
The Jeff Van Ee Papers consist of the papers of environmentalist John Jeffrey Van Ee from 1974 to 2012 that document a portion of Van Ee’s environmental activity, notably his participation on environmental committees in the Las Vegas, Nevada area for water conservation and wildlife protection. The papers are comprised of correspondence, memoranda, reports, studies, newspaper clippings and meeting agendas and minutes.
Link to Collection Guide
White, Jaunita Greer
Coll #: MS-00254
Date: 1927-1980
Extent: 22 boxes and one oversize envelope (9.65 cubic feet, 8.76 linear feet)
The collection is comprised of the personal, professional and business papers of Dr. Juanita Greer White from 1927 to 1980. Included are correspondence, booklets, dissertations, minutes, newsletters, newspaper clippings, and various other materials linked to women's organizations and Nevada organizations relating to education, health, and aging. Other material includes documents from her work in the Nevada State Legislature, books, catalogs, chemistry papers, plaques, and campaign materials.
Link to Collection Guide
Williams (Amie) video footage for "Stripped and Teased: Tales from Las Vegas Women"
Coll #: MS-00879
Date: 1995-1998
Extent: 3 boxes (2.8 cubic feet, 2.38 linear feet)
The collection is comprised of shooting logs and raw video footage created for the documentary, Stripped and Teased: Tales from Las Vegas Women (1998). The collection includes video interviews and transcripts from approximately 1995 to 1998 of women working in Las Vegas, Nevada from a variety of backgrounds. Subjects include individuals such as Mayor Jan Jones, Representative Shelley Berkeley, Claudine Williams, Thalia Dondero, Joyce Marshall, Hattie Canty, Sister Rosemary, Fluff LeCoque, and others. The collection includes footage of Las Vegas events and street scenes from a variety of periods.
Link to Collection Guide
Zucker-Bozarth, Blanche
Coll #: MS-00372
Date: 1963-2005
Extent: 15.5 Linear Feet (30 boxes and 1 oversize folder)
The Blanche Zucker-Bozarth Papers document education advocate Blanche Zucker-Bozarth's volunteer work and activism in libraries, children's advocacy, and women's clubs in Las Vegas, Nevada from 1963 to 2005. The collection includes records, newspaper clippings, and photographs from her political activism and fundraising initiatives in Southern Nevada. The collection also includes buttons, video tapes, and journal articles on child abuse prevention, as well as records from Zucker-Bozarth's term as president of the Mesquite Club in the 1980s.
Link to Collection Guide
