Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections & Archives
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Hoover Dam


Total manuscripts: 15

Blood, Leonard
Coll #: MS-00161
Date: 1888-1962, bulk 1930-1950
Extent: 2.75 linear feet, 1.27 cubic feet (1 box, 1 flat folder)
The Leonard Blood Papers consist of Leonard Blood's photographs and personal documents from his work in the United States Navy, Las Vegas Labor Commission, and on the Boulder (Hoover) Dam in Nevada, ranging from the years of 1888 to 1962. The bulk of the papers date between 1930 to 1950. The collection's contents include correspondence, telegrams, newspaper clippings, a scrapbook, family photographs and various ephemera.
Link to Collection Guide

Boulder Dam Postage Stamp
Coll #: MS-00052
Date: 1935
Extent: 1 folder (shared box); 0.02 cubic/linear feet
The collection consists of one three-cent United States (U.S.) postage stamp from 1935 featuring Boulder Dam, located on the Arizona-Nevada border.
Link to Collection Guide

Clark County Central Labor Council Records
Coll #: MS-00027
Date: 1938-1968
Extent: 1 folder (in shared box); (0.10 cubic feet, 0.10 linear feet)
The Clark County Central Labor Council Records date from 1938 to 1968 and represent Ragnald Fyhen's written account of how the Clark County Central Labor Council union was formed. The work includes the activities and meetings of the labor union and Fyhen's work (1933-1947) while Secretary-Treasurer of the Central Labor Council. This work is entitled "Labor Notes." Additionally the collection contains a resolution submitted to the Central Labor Council in 1938 in regards to proposing new legislation to regulate the Clark County hospital.
Link to Collection Guide

Colorado River Commission of Nevada Reference Library Collection
Coll #: MS-00427
Date: 1922-2000
Extent: 22 boxes (59.21 cubic feet, 61.42 linear feet)
The Colorado River Commission of Nevada Reference Library Collection (1922-2000) documents the history of the Colorado River Commission (CRC) and is predominately comprised of books, briefs, memoranda, motions, exhibits, and other documents pertaining to the Arizona v. California litigation occurring between 1931 and 2000. The collection also contains meeting minutes, correspondence, budgets, reports, and other work files relating to the CRC. The CRC, located in Las Vegas, Nevada, is responsible for managing and protecting Nevada’s Colorado River water and power resources.
Link to Collection Guide

Fraley Family Collection of Las Vegas, Nevada Films and Photographs
Coll #: MS-00660
Date: 1956-1995
Extent: 1 box (1.23 linear feet, 0.15 cubic feet); 1 digital file (0.117 GB)
The Fraley Family Collection of Las Vegas, Nevada Films and Photographs (1956-1995) include 8mm photographic films of the Helldorado Parade and Hoover (Boulder) Dam in 1956, color photographic prints of the construction of the Fremont Street Experience in 1995, and one color photographic print of the Tower Casino at the State Line in 1976. The 8mm film footage was taken during a family vacation and also includes exterior shots of casinos on the Las Vegas Strip.
Link to Collection Guide

Frehner (Merle) Map of St. Thomas, Nevada
Coll #: MS-00047
Date: 1981
Extent: 1 folder (shared box); 0.02 cubic/linear feet
The Merle Frehner Map of St. Thomas, Nevada (1981) consists of a hand-drawn map by Frehner of St. Thomas, Nevada who lived there from 1914 to 1932. The town was abandoned in 1933 due to the construction of Hoover Dam and is now beneath the waters of Lake Mead. Also included are instructions to the Geography 135 class at University of Nevada, Las Vegas to reproduce the map, which became a student project.
Link to Collection Guide

Jensen, Frank C. "Doc"
Coll #: MS15
Date: 1926 - 1952
Extent: 1 box
Collection consists of the digital facsimile of the personal diary of Frank C. "Doc" Jensen, Hoover Dam medic, covering the years of the Dams construction. The original of this volume and the others reside in the Boulder City Museum and Historical Association. Click on Jensen's name above to access digitized version of the diary.
View Select Materials Online

Keeler, Dorothy Papers
Coll #: MS-00195
Date: 1811-1977
Extent: 1.9 linear feet (2 boxes)
The Dorothy Keeler Papers (1811-1977) document early Las Vegas history, the life and career of former US Mint director Eva Adams, and contain images of the Western United States and Southern Nevada in the 1930s. The collection contains clippings on the history of Las Vegas and early Las Vegas weddings as well as photographs documenting the Keelers' travels throughout the Western United States and the construction and dedication of Hoover Dam.
Link to Collection Guide

L. F. Manis Collection
Coll #: MS-00288
Date: 1936-1957
Extent: 3 boxes; photo albums
Related Materials: 0100
The L. F. Manis collection, 1936-1957, contains material and publications relating to Boulder (Hoover) Dam and the Boulder Canyon Project. Included are brochures, pamphlets, postcards, a scrapbook and newspaper clippings.
Link to Collection Guide

Malone (George W.) papers
Coll #: MS-00057
Date: 1928 -1933
Extent: 1 folder (1 shared box); 0.02 cubic/linear feet
The George W. Malone Papers (1928-1933) consist of one bound volume of letters, documents, speeches, reports, and maps pertaining to Malone's positions as: Nevada State Engineer; National Executive Committeeman for the American Legion; President, Association of Western Engineers; Secretary, Colorado River Commission; member, Nevada State Range Commission.
Link to Collection Guide

Page, John Chatfield
Coll #: MS23
Date: 1930 - 1947
Extent: 1 box; 1 large folder
Collection consists of the diaries of John Chatfield Page, who served as Construction Engineer on Boulder (Hoover) Dam from 1931-35. There is also a small amount of ephemera and biographical material on Page which provide information on his career with the Bureau of Reclamation. The original diaries have transferred to the Boulder City Museum and Historical Association, but the library holds complete digital facsimiles. Click on Page's name above to access digitized version of the diary.
View Select Materials Online

Shaver, A. J.
Coll #: MS-00155
Date: 1925 - 1964
Extent: 1.47 cubic feet, 1.29 linear feet (2 boxes)
A. J. Shaver Papers (1925-1964) include hearings, reports, Senate bills, bulletins, and surveys regarding the Boulder Canyon Project/ Colorado River Development. There are also papers about Marienne Shaver's involvement in the Las Vegas High School Parent Teacher's Association (PTA) and the Girl Scouts of America (GSA), including minutes, correspondence, notes, and brochures.
Link to Collection Guide

UNLV University Libraries Collection of Boulder City, Hoover Dam, and Lake Mead National Recreation Area Maps and Brochures
Coll #: MS-00955
Date: 1927-1988 (bulk 1930-1985)
Extent: 8 flat files (0.61 cubic feet, 19.9 linear feet)
The UNLV University Libraries Collection of Boulder City, Hoover Dam, and Lake Mead National Recreation Area Maps and Brochures (1927-1998) primarily contains regional maps, brochures for local points of interest, and subdivision plat maps of Boulder City, Lake Mead, and Hoover (Boulder) Dam.
Link to Collection Guide

UNLV University Libraries Collection on Hoover Dam
Coll #: MS-00713
Date: 1935-1937
Extent: 1 folder (shared box); 0.1 cubic feet, 0.1 linear feet
The UNLV University Libraries Collection on Hoover Dam dates from 1935 to 1937 and consists of black-and-white photographs of the construction of Hoover Dam in Nevada. The collection is an artificial collection created by UNLV Special Collections and Archives staff. The photographs document early construction of the Hoover Dam to images of the dam at completion. The collection also contains photographs of construction workers.
Link to Collection Guide

Wieking, Henry C.
Coll #: MS-00117
Date: 1932-1935
Extent: 0.01 linear feet (1 folder in shared box)
Related Materials: 0009
The Henry Wieking Papers (1932-1935) contain personal recollections, daily journal pages, newspaper clippings, and a Bureau of Land Management (BLM) memorandum.
Link to Collection Guide