Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections & Archives
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Henderson


Total manuscripts: 8

Basic Magnesium, Inc. (BMI) Records
Coll #: MS-00126
Date: 1933-1965
Extent: 3.5 Linear Feet (8 boxes)
The Basic Magnesium Inc. (BMI) Records document the planning, constructing, and managing of the BMI magnesium manufacturing plants near Las Vegas (now Henderson) in Clark County and a magnesium mining operation in Gabbs, Nye County, Nevada from 1933 to 1965. It contains chronological reports, official statements, photographs, telegrams, budgets, and building diagrams. The records document employee housing and infrastructure projects, magnesium production statistics, and employee data.
Link to Collection Guide

Buck, Gilbert
Coll #: MS-00281
Date: 1930-1986
Extent: 14 linear feet (14 record storage boxes)
The Gilbert Buck Papers (1930-1986) primarily focus on Buck's work as a surveyor and real estate broker in southern and central Nevada. Included are master reports, designs, standards, flood and drainage reports, and land specifications on water, sewer, and public lands. Papers regarding real estate include reports, housing and mobile home development plans, newsletters, surveys, and Buck Realty negotiations. There are books and information on seminars Gilbert Buck hosted in Las Vegas, Nevada on investing in raw land. Also included are awards, correspondence, newsletters, a scrapbook of Buck's early life, and information on his campaign for governor of the state of Nevada in 1974. Materials also include some documentation of Buck's real estate and mining interests in South America.
Link to Collection Guide

Dow Metals - BMI
Coll #: MS-00242
Date: 1940s-1950s
Extent: 1 linear foot (1 record storage box)
Related Materials: 0260
The Dow Metals, Incorporated Records on Basic Magnesium, Incorporated (1940-1951) contains reports and photographs pertaining to the Colorado River Commission of the Nevada Basic Magnesium Project, Las Vegas, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

Ilene Bittle Collection on Basic High School
Coll #: MS-00331
Date: 1942-1982
Extent: 4 boxes (1.56 cubic feet, 2.64 linear feet)
The Ilene Bittle Collection on Basic High School (1942-1982) is comprised of assorted memorabilia and visual materials from Basic High School in Henderson, Nevada. Materials includes scrapbooks, newspaper clippings, event programs and invitations, newsletters, and other school mementos. Black-and-white negatives, photographs, and transparencies of various school events, faculty and staff, and student life are also included in the collection.
Link to Collection Guide

MacDonald Ranch Architectural Records
Coll #: MS-00892
Date: 1972-2007
Extent: 45 rolls (11.71 cubic feet, 12.5 linear feet)
The MacDonald Ranch Architectural Records contain master plans, architectural drawings, civil drawings, and landscape drawings primarily detailing the community development process of MacDonald Ranch, one of the oldest and most affluent master-planned communities in Clark County, Nevada between 1972 to 2007. Included are also drawings for MacDonald Highlands and Green Valley Ranch.
Link to Collection Guide

Pacific Engineering and Production Company of Nevada (PEPCON) Records
Coll #: MS-00004
Date: 1986-1989
Extent: 0.42 linear feet, 0.30 cubic feet (1 box)
The Pacific Engineering and Production Company of Nevada Records (1986-1989) are comprised of magazine articles, newspaper clippings, official reports, a profile of Jim Gibson, and a prospectus for a park named after Gibbons.
Link to Collection Guide

Soroptimist International of Henderson/Green Valley Chapter Records
Coll #: MS-00359
Date: 1980-2004
Extent: 1.25 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
Soroptimist International Henderson / Green Valley Chapter Records from 1980 to 2004 include meeting minutes, programs, photographs, conference materials, promotional material for various fund raisers, awards, and a gavel.
Link to Collection Guide

Woodruff (Robert) Papers
Coll #: MS-00455
Date: 1927-2001 (bulk 1937-1989)
Extent: 16 boxes and 1 oversized box (6.12 cubic feet, 8.83 linear feet)
The Robert Woodruff Papers (1927-2001) are comprised of materials documenting Woodruff’s career and family life in Las Vegas and Henderson, Nevada, as well as his travels around the United States and abroad. Materials include newspaper clippings, photographic prints and transparencies, personal correspondence, and publications such as Las Vegas tourist brochures and pamphlets dating from the 1930s and 1940s. Visual materials include portraits, city scenes, and landscapes throughout Nevada and the United States, as well as some photographs of international travels.
Link to Collection Guide