Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Government - City and County


Total manuscripts: 45

Baker, C.D. Engineering Field Notebooks
Coll #: MS-00272
Date: 1909-1966
Extent: 2 Linear Feet (4 boxes)
Location: 3:3:6 - 3:4:1
The C.D. Baker Engineering Field Notebooks are comprised of the notebooks and informational texts Charles Duncan "C.D." Baker created and used between 1909 and 1966 while he served as the County Surveyor for Clark County, Nevada and the City Engineer for Las Vegas, Nevada. The field notebooks contain survey coordinates and elevation data for much of early Las Vegas and provide important information on early property boundaries, historical elevations, and lengths of existing streets from the 1920s to the 1960s.
Link to Collection Guide

Baker, C.D. Engineering Field Notebooks
Coll #: MS-00272
Date: 1909-1966
Extent: 2 Linear Feet (4 boxes)
Location: 3:3:6 - 3:4:1
The C.D. Baker Engineering Field Notebooks are comprised of the notebooks and informational texts Charles Duncan "C.D." Baker created and used between 1909 and 1966 while he served as the County Surveyor for Clark County, Nevada and the City Engineer for Las Vegas, Nevada. The field notebooks contain survey coordinates and elevation data for much of early Las Vegas and provide important information on early property boundaries, historical elevations, and lengths of existing streets from the 1920s to the 1960s.
Link to Collection Guide

Baker, Charles Duncan (C.D.)
Coll #: MS-00141
Date: 1951-1972
Extent: 1.8 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: 1:10:5
Related Materials: 0099
The Charles Duncan (C.D.) Baker Papers (1951-1972) consist of clippings, correspondence, and political brochures related to the life and career of Las Vegas, Nevada Mayor Charles Duncan (C.D.) Baker. The collection also houses several scrapbooks of clippings and a mayoral plaque of appreciation from the City of Las Vegas.
Link to Collection Guide

Berkley, Shelley papers
Coll #: MS-00599
Date: 1999-2012
Extent: 13.25 linear feet (16 boxes)
Location: MS Map Case 11:H, A IS 1.1.2, A IS 1.1.3, A 2.1.1 - A 2.1.7, A 2.2.1
The Shelley Berkley papers chronicle the political career of Congresswoman Berkley from the years 1999 to 2012 and are comprised of correspondence, files on the nuclear waste controversy at Yucca Mountain, Nevada, education, women's rights, health care, foreign affairs, and homeland security.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online

Boulder City, Nevada Financial Reports and Budgets
Coll #: MS-00695
Date: 1976-1989
Extent: 0.8 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
Location: B 1.5.1
Collection is comprised of annual budgets, financial statements, and auditor's reports dating from 1976 to 1989 created for the city of Boulder City, Nevada and adopted by the City Council.
Link to Collection Guide

Brown, Harlan
Coll #: 1023-1
Date: 1943-1956
Extent: 2 folders
Location: 1:1:2
Collection consists of mimeographed copy of the Index to Las Vegas City Charter (1943), Chicago Tribune newspaper (8/12/52) focusing on engineers and their achievements, and official drawings of lots and additions with Harlan Brown's signature of approval as a registered professional engineer in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Carol Corbett Papers
Coll #: MS-00521
Date: 1981-2006
Extent: 8.5 Linear Feet (14 boxes)
Location: B 2.3.1 - B 2.3.3
The Carol Corbett Papers, 1981-2006, contain papers from Nevada organizations, Clark County offices, and general biographical and geographical information. Included are Corbett Recorder Scholarship and Hoggard Memorial Scholarship data, files for the Clark County Recorder's Office, Clark County Credit Union, Records Management Policies and Procedures, a District Attorney Opinion Project, Nevada Women's History Project, Nevada History Archives, and the State Historical Records Advisory Board (SHRAB) files. There is also information on gay issues. Materials also include slides and photographs.
Link to Collection Guide

City of Las Vegas, Nevada Records
Coll #: MS-00674
Date: 1927-1982
Extent: 1.25 Linear Feet 4 boxes
Location: B 2.2.4
The City of Las Vegas, Nevada records contain petitions, reports, civil service rules, a municipal court system proposal, management studies for fiscal policies and arrangements, a law enforcement joint venture program, an area study for a new post office, infrastructure plans, the 1935 City Charter, Board of Commissioners reports, elected official records, and recall petitions for Mayor J. F. Hesse. Records date from 1927 to 1982.
Link to Collection Guide

Clark County Economic Opportunity Board
Coll #: MS16
Date: 1962 - 1973
Extent: 4.41 linear feet (10 document boxes, 1 slim document box)
Location: 1:5:1 - 1:5:2
Collection is comprised of the administrative and program records of the Clark County Economic Opportunity Board from 1963 - 1973. The CCEOB was responsible for administering and disbursing funds allocated from the federal government's Economic Opportunity Act. The collection includes minutes, reports, budget and financial reports, correspondence, news clippings, press releases, and numerous files on programs funded by the CCEOB such as Operation Independence and Head Start.
Link to Collection Guide

Clark County Museum Guild Records
Coll #: MS-00462
Date: 1983-1996
Extent: 0.25 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: MS 10:8:5
The Southern Nevada, Clark County Museum Guild records consist of news clippings, meeting minutes, programs and other historical materials from 1983-1996.
Link to Collection Guide

Clark County, Nevada Financial Reports
Coll #: MS-00670
Date: 1974-1980, 1982
Extent: 0.4 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: B 1.3.2
The Clark County, Nevada Financial Reports (1974-1980, 1982) include yearly financial reports prepared by the Office of the Comptroller.
Link to Collection Guide

Clark County, Nevada Jail Consent Decree Implementation Plan
Coll #: MS-00675
Date: 1979
Extent: 0.6 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
Location: B 1.3.3
The Clark County, Nevada Jail Consent Decree Implementation Plan contains original and revised versions of the plan from 1979, which was created by the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department Consent Decree Committee.
Link to Collection Guide

Cornwall, Beda
Coll #: MS-00001
Date: 1941-1973
Extent: 3.6 Linear Feet (2 boxes and 2 oversized boxes)
Location: 1:1:2 and ROLLER SHELF 1:6:8
The Beda Cornwall Collection on the Citizens' Library Association of Las Vegas consists of material gathered by Beda Brennecke Cornwall that documents the activities of the Citizens' Library Association of Las Vegas during the years 1941 to 1973. Most of the materials document the efforts by the citizens group to raise money in the community to build and sustain a new public library in Las Vegas, Nevada. The remaining part of the collection relates to local and statewide libraries and biographical materials on Beda Cornwall and her husband through various documents and scrapbooks of newspaper clippings.
Link to Collection Guide

Dondero, Thalia M.
Coll #: 94-48
Date: 1966 - 1994
Extent: 28.3 linear feet (57 document boxes, 11 slim document boxes)
Location: MS 4:5:4 - 4:3:2
Collection is comprised of the political papers of Thalia Dondero during her last four years as a Clark County Commissioner from 1990 - 1994. Dondero, a long-time political and community activist in Las Vegas, currently serves on the Nevada Board of Regents. The collection consists of a variety of documents, brochures, reports and statements pertaining to Clark County, Las Vegas and Nevada. Issues covered in the collection include: environment, liquor, gambling, public works, water management and nuclear waste.
Link to Collection Guide

Down, James H. Scrapbook Collection
Coll #: MS-00236
Date: 1933-1979
Extent: 1.3 linear feet (1 box)
Location: RS 1.5.5
The James H. Down, Sr. Scrapbook Collection (1933-1979) contains two scrapbooks about James H. Down, Sr. The scrapbooks contain newspaper clippings and political advertisements about his political and civic involvement in Las Vegas, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

Ferron, William E.
Coll #: MS-00061
Date: 1917-1976
Extent: 0.2 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: 1:1:1
Related Materials: 0001
The William E. Ferron Family Papers (1917-1976) are comprised of materials that document the lives of the Ferrons, one of the pioneer families of early Las Vegas, Nevada. It includes biographical material, speeches, and ephemera on patriarch William E. Ferron and his wife, Mary Ruth Cooper Ferron, as well as their two daughters, Barbara Ferron Doyle and Shirley Elizabeth Ferron Swanson.
Link to Collection Guide

Gragson, Oran
Coll #: T86
Date: 1959 - 1974
Extent: 33.25 linear feet (15 record storage boxes ; 2 document boxes and 13 oversize boxes)
Location: 1:12:5 - 2:12:5 (Boxes 1-35) and ROLLER SHELF 1:7:4 -1:7:5 (Boxes 36-43)
Collection is comprised of the political papers of Oran Gragson, Las Vegas mayor from 1959-1974. Collection includes news clippings, city documents, memos, daily planners and correspondence. The bulk of the collection consists of Gragson's mayoral files which are arranged alphabetically . Subjects include crime, labor union arbitration, race relations, pollution abatement, and there is much information concerning the city's involvement with county and federal agencies regarding law enforcement, economic opportunity projects and planning. The collection also documents Gragson's failed bid to win the 1962 Nevada gubernatorial election. In 2005, there was an additional donation of materials from Gragon's family that consisted primarily of scrapbooks kept during his various campaigns and his time in office.
Link to Collection Guide

Gregory, Leila (Walker) Collection
Coll #: T162
Date: 1920 - 197(?)
Extent: 1 slim doc box
Location: 2:3:2
Collection consists of news clippings and handwritten notes regarding the murder of Reed Walker (Leila's second husband) who was Chief Building Inspector for Las Vegas (includes his identification card and inspector badge). There are also notes and Mormon genealogy information on Leila and her third husband, Arthur Gregory, Gregory's diplomas, and Leila's correspondence with Anna Dean Kepper regarding her donation.

Harmon Family Papers
Coll #: MS-00301
Date: 1910-1961
Extent: 3.3 Linear Feet (5 boxes)
Location: MS 4:12:1 - 4:12:2
The Harmon Family Papers mainly consist of the political and personal correspondence of Las Vegas, Nevada pioneer Harley A. Harmon from 1910-1934, and his son Harley E. Harmon from 1940-1961. Also included are family scrapbooks with wedding announcements, birthday cards, children's honors, and other ephemera.
Link to Collection Guide

Henderson, A.S.
Coll #: T113
Date: 1898 - 1960
Extent: .42 linear feet (1 document box; 1 oversize folder)
Location: 2:8:5
This collection is comprised of the papers of A. S. Henderson, a native Nevadan who served on the Eighth Judicial District Court of the State of Nevada from 1946 to 1960. The collection focuses primarily on his prominent career as a district court judge in Las Vegas. Little is mentioned about his service as an educator, district attorney, or legislator. Types of documents in the collection include Henderson’s correspondence, campaign statements, certificates and proclamations, his memorial book, newspaper clippings, an 1879 edition of Eureka and Its Resources, and ephemera.
Link to Collection Guide

Inspector of Election (Griffith, Robert)
Coll #: Mss4
Date: 1911
Extent: 1 folder (containing 4 slim volumes, bound)
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists of tally list, poll list, challenge list, and rejected ballots tally list, and cover envelope for the first election of mayor and commissioners in Las Vegas. Records of a precinct in the election for adoption of the charter of the City of Las Vegas. The poll list provides the names of each individual voting in this first election, including pioneers such as "Pop" Squires, A.S. Henderson, and Harley Harmon.

James H. Down, Sr. Scrapbook Collection
Coll #: 79-209
Date: 1918-1979
Extent: 1.5 linear feet (1 box)
Location: RS 1.5.5
This collection contains two scrapbooks of family memorabilia. This includes photocopies of photos of Down's early days in Las Vegas along with newspaper clippings about his run for mayor and his time in office as County Commissioner.

Keeler, Dorothy Papers
Coll #: MS-00195
Date: 1811-1977
Extent: 1.9 linear feet (2 boxes)
Location: 2:7:2, RS 1:6:5
The Dorothy Keeler Papers (1811-1977) document early Las Vegas history, the life and career of former US Mint director Eva Adams, and contain images of the Western United States and Southern Nevada in the 1930s. The collection contains clippings on the history of Las Vegas and early Las Vegas weddings as well as photographs documenting the Keelers' travels throughout the Western United States and the construction and dedication of Hoover Dam.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas (Nev.) Board of Commissioners Records
Coll #: MS-00245
Date: 1921-1946
Extent: 0.25 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: Ms 2:1:3
The City of Las Vegas, Nevada Board of Commissioners Records comprises documents produced by the City of Las Vegas Board of Commissioners from 1921 to 1946. The records document the transition of the Las Vegas municipal government from a commission form of government (1911-1944) to a council-manager form of government (1944-present). Materials include meeting minutes,resolutions, budgets, petitions, leases, reports, and correspondence. Subjects include the Las Vegas Land and Water Company, a World War One Memorial Building, city elections, the Las Vegas drainage channel, the Las Vegas city library, and the Department of Recreation.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas Chamber of Commerce
Coll #: MS-00366
Date: 1911-2013
Extent: 14 linear feet (23 boxes)
Location: MS 13.5.5 - 13.5.6, MS 13.6.4 - 13.6.6, RS 2.5.5, A 3.10.5
Collection is comprised of organizational records of the Las Vegas Chamber of Commerce. Materials include Board of Directors' meetings - minutes (incomplete); financial records, news clippings, photographs, correspondence, reports, publications and scrapbooks. There are a series of files on the history of the Las Vegas Chamber of Commerce and Las Vegas News Bureau. Includes some Chamber of Commerce publications. Additional material added in 2012-13.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas City Commission Minutes
Coll #: MS 80-188
Date: 1911-1960
Extent: 18 oversize volumes
Location: Special vertical shelves next to MS stacks
Related Materials: pdf
Collection is comprised of twelve volumes of original City of Las Vegas Commission Minutes that served as the official record of the proceedings of all Las Vegas City Commission meetings from 1911-1960. They are accompanied by three volumes of City of Las Vegas ordinances dating from 1911 to 1958, one volume of legal documents from 1944-1945 and two large volumes containing an alphabetical subject index to the topics covered in the minutes. They provide a valuable historical record of a wide variety of business and community activities in Las Vegas in the first fifty years of its incorporation.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas City, Engineering and Planning Department
Coll #: 86-69
Date: 1949 - 1975
Extent: 2 linear feet (2 record storage boxes)
Location: 3:3:5
Collection contains various published studies and reports dealing with transportation in the Las Vegas Valley. Documents include environmental action plans, reports, evaluations of parking, highway projects and budgets for projects; includes some publications of codes and standards. Also contains a significant amount of information on Interstate 15. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Las Vegas Land and Water Co.
Coll #: Mss35
Date: 1927 -1940
Extent: 1 folder (containing 15 items)
Location: 1:1:1
Collection concerns water shortages in the City of Las Vegas due in part to wasteful water usage; refers to City Ordinance No. 247. Includes correspondence, resolutions, petitions, application for permit and newspaper clippings. Several items signed by Walter R. Bracken, Vice President and Agent of the Company, and A.M. Folger, Assistant Agent.

Las Vegas, Nevada Personal Rapid Transit System Project Records
Coll #: MS-00676
Date: 1972-1975
Extent: 0.8 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
Location: B 1.3.3
The Las Vegas, Nevada Personal Rapid Transit System Project Records (1972-1975) contain monorail proposals compiled by A.J. Kavanaugh and Associates, Inc. for the City of Las Vegas and the County Commission of Clark County. Material includes Specifications for Design and Construction, technical evaluations, feasibility studies, contractor agreements, proposals/plans, publicity, financing plans, executive summaries, and patronage studies.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas/Clark County Consolidation
Coll #: 93-17
Date: 1977 - 1992
Extent: 1 document box
Location: 4:7:2
Las Vegas City/Clark County Consolidation collection is comprised of newspaper articles and legislative notes used in a research paper titled "Blurred Boundaries and Business Licenses" by Jim Azar. This consolidation movement focused on government entities not included in the consolidation of county and city law enforcement in the early and mid-seventies. Refer to collection 90-84 for that earlier consolidation move.

Las Vegas/Clark County Urban Action Committee.....
Coll #: 90-84
Date: 1972 - 1974
Extent: 1 document box
Location: 4:9:1
The Las Vegas/Clark County Urban Action Committee Task Forces were formed to study and report findings for consolidation of Clark County and Las Vegas government entities. Collection is comprised of the reports, meeting minutes and recommendations of this task force.

Lowman, Zelvin Papers
Coll #: MS-00184
Date: 1966-1976
Extent: 8 boxes (7.2 linear feet)
Location: MS 2:9:5 - 2:8:2
The collection is comprised of the papers of Assemblyman Zelvin "Zel" Lowman who served in the Nevada State Legislature from 1967 to 1977. Included are court records, publications, correspondence, reports, and newspaper clippings pertaining to his time in office. Subjects include the Clark County School District, school busing, water and air quality issues, capital punishment, medical malpractice, mental health legislation, and the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA).
Link to Collection Guide

Maggi Coleman Papers
Coll #: MS-00499
Date: 1956-1988
Extent: 0.2 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: MS 10:2:5
The Maggi Coleman Papers (1956-1988) consist of clippings, correspondence, and photographs pertaining to the career of former Las Vegas, Nevada singer and social activist Maggi Coleman (née Phelan).
Link to Collection Guide

Mark L. Fine Papers
Coll #: MS-00696
Date: 1920-2014
Extent: 7.5 linear feet (7 boxes) ; 813 digital files
Location: B 1.5.2 - 1.5.3, B IS 1.5.4
The collection dates from 1920 to 2014 and is primarily comprised of business and organizational records, press, photographs, scrapbooks, audiovisual materials, awards, and ephemera documenting Mark L. Fine’s career as a real estate developer in Southern Nevada and his work with various government and community organizations. The bulk of the material dates from 1980 to 2005.
Link to Collection Guide

Neonis, Delores
Coll #: T102
Date: 197(?)
Extent: 7 record storage boxes
Location: 2:10:5 - 2:9:2
Collection contains the personal and professional records of Delores Neonis, secretary for the Committee for Effective Mass Transportation. Included in these records are correspondence and reports from the Board of County Commissioners and the District Attorney’s Office regarding the feasibility of mass transportation, specifically the monorail, and possible location sites. Ms. Neonis’ personal records contain copies of plays, miscellaneous photos of people, daytimers, receipt books and personal “chit-chat” correspondence.

North Las Vegas Library District Collection on Nevada
Coll #: MS-00651
Date: 1940-2007
Extent: 6.6 linear feet (8 boxes)
Location: B 1.3.6 - 1.3.7, B 1.4.1 - 1.4.2
The North Las Vegas Library Collection on Nevada (1940-2007) is comprised of subject files created and collected by the North Las Vegas Library to provide patrons with reference and research materials on the subject of Nevada. The materials include subject files on Nevada, North Las Vegas, arts and humanities throughout Nevada, and Las Vegas construction photographs.
Link to Collection Guide

O'Donnell, Tom (Judge)
Coll #: 85-61
Date: approximately 1960-1990
Extent: 2.7 linear feet (1 box)
Location: Roller Shelf 1:7:8
Collection contains the scrapbooks and news clippings of Judge O'Donnell's campaign for district judge, events/court cases while he was on the bench and general personal ephemera.

Ortiz Consolidation Collection
Coll #: Mss38
Date: 1976 - 1977
Extent: 10 folders (containing 208 items)
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists of material relating to issue of consolidation/annexation of local governments in Clark County. Primarily concerns limits of the City of Las Vegas, Nevada in clippings from the newspapers, Las Vegas Review-Journal and Las Vegas Sun, 9 July 1975 through 13 November 1977. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Petitions from Residents and Business Owners to City Officials of Las Vegas, Nevada
Coll #: MS-00049
Date: 1940, undated
Extent: 0.2 linear feet (2 folders)
Location: 1:1:1
The Petitions from Residents and Business Owners to City Officials of Las Vegas, Nevada consist of formal requests from residents and business owners in Las Vegas, Nevada dating from February 1, 1940 to December 4, 1940 which were filed with the City of Las Vegas clerk. Some petitions in the collection were submitted by residents of the Westside neighborhood which was historically the African-American section of Las Vegas. The Westside petitions (including one from the Westside Improvement Association) requested infrastructure improvements and zoning restrictions, while others criticized city government actions related to maintenance of public areas, complained about inaction on previous petitions, and questioned the behavior of city officials. Other petitions in the collection are from residents and business owners requesting commercial and residential zoning enforcement, clarification regarding new construction, and other miscellaneous business.
Link to Collection Guide

Poll tax [receipt] (State of Nevada)
Coll #: Mss13
Date: 1915
Extent: 1 folder (containing 1 item)
Location: 1:1:1
Consists of the poll tax receipt of Oscar Ikonen [Enonen?] from Esmeralda County, Nevada. The Poll Tax Collector is the Goldfield Consolidated Mines Co., and Clyde P. Johnson is listed as County Auditor. It is dated April 1, 1915.

Rhodine, George
Coll #: T95
Date: 1974 -1976
Extent: 2 record storage boxes (2 linear feet)
Location: 2:11:4
The George Rhodine collection focuses primarily on the US Bicentennial celebrations, both nationally and locally. It contains a variety of news clippings, correspondence, publications and articles. A portion of the collection includes items on juvenile delinquency, ERA, parenthood and community service.

Ron Lurie Papers
Coll #: MS-00326
Date: 1972-1990
Extent: 3.7 Linear Feet (5 boxes)
Location: 4:8:6 and 4:9:6
The Ron Lurie Papers are primarily comprised of photographs, newspaper clippings, and daily planners from 1972 to 1990 that document Ron Lurie's political career as a city councilman and a mayor of Las Vegas, Nevada. The collection also includes a small amount of correspondence and ephemera, mainly letters that were mailed to Lurie along with photographs. The photographs in the collection depict events and activities that Lurie participated in, and the newspaper clippings document city and state politics in addition to Lurie's political career.
Link to Collection Guide

Ronzone Family Papers
Coll #: 2005-27
Date: 1900-1991
Extent: 1.4 linear feet (3 boxes)
Location: MS 11.2.2
Collection consists of correspondence, newspaper clippings, programs, and photographs documenting the life of the Richard "Dick" Ronzone, County Commissioner, and former owner of Ronzone's Department Stores in Las Vegas. Some campaign materials are included. Also includes information on his mother, Bertha Ronzone (founder of Ronzone's Department Store) , and his wife, Anne Ronzone.
Link to Collection Guide

Wile, Albert E. Papers
Coll #: MS-00146
Date: 1941-1973
Extent: 0.2 linear feet (1 box)
Location: 1:11:5
The Albert E. Wile Papers (1941-1973) contain the papers of Albert Wile, who served as a police captain in Las Vegas, Nevada in the 1940s. Wile oversaw the city jail; his papers include correspondence from and about inmates and inventories and records of the Las Vegas City Jail. It also includes personal correspondence of Wile and some newspaper clippings about law enforcement in Las Vegas and North Las Vegas, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

Williams, Nancy Ellen Webb Papers
Coll #: MS-00391
Date: 1983-1996
Extent: 1 box (0.2 linear feet)
Location: MS 6:6:2
The Nancy Ellen Webb Williams Papers span 1983 to 1996. This collection is about William's career as a writer. The papers include newspaper clippings, photos, fliers, and correspondence. The collection also contains one of Williams' books of poetry, "The Soul Side: Big Mama Remembers."
Link to Collection Guide