Search Special Collections & Archives
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Ethnic Groups


Total manuscripts: 42

(Amie-Pilot) Ruby Papers
Coll #: MS-00102
Date: 1930-2002
Extent: 1 box (0.19 cubic feet, 0.21 linear feet)
The Ruby Amie-Pilot Papers (approximately 1930s-2002) contains newspaper clippings about events in West Las Vegas, Nevada, family photographs, and a memorial program from Robbie Tyler's memorial service. Also included in the collection are newspaper clippings containing a portion of the cartoon series her son Ronald Terry Amie published in the Las Vegas Voice and articles about public commissions of his art work for North Las Vegas.
Link to Collection Guide

Arnold (George W.) Letter
Coll #: MS-00037
Date: 1870
Extent: 0.1 linear feet (1 shared box)
The George Arnold Letter, Pioche City, Nevada is dated 1870 and contains a handwritten letter from Arnold to his uncle Gideon. The letter is a brief review of Arnold's life in Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

Bass, Burt and Wilma Photographs and Programs
Coll #: MS-00716
Date: 1976-1987 and undated
Extent: 28 Digital Files
The Burt and Wilma Bass photographs and programs mainly document the Bass' involvement in the Jewish community of Las Vegas, Nevada, as well as their personal and professional lives. Images date from 1976 to 1987 and are entirely digital.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online

Bracken (J. K. W.) correspondence
Coll #: MS-00082
Date: 1927-1928
Extent: 1 folder (shared box); 0.02 cubic/linear feet
The J. K. W. Bracken Correspondence (1927-1928) consists of correspondence between J. K. W. Bracken as buyer for the Bruce M. Barnard Co. and seller Bingham Mercantile Company for the purchase of Native American (Navajo) rugs and blankets. It also contains invoices and descriptions of the design significance of the individual rugs. J. K. W. Bracken was the brother of Walter Bracken and they both worked for the Union Pacific Railroad.
Link to Collection Guide

Brown (Dora Lee) papers
Coll #: MS-00045
Date: 1904-1950
Extent: 1 folder (shared box); 0.02 cubic/linear feet
The Dora Lee Brown Papers (1904-1950) contain correspondence, notes, certificates of awards, report cards, birth announcements, wedding announcements, a sample ballot from 1936, and copies of photographs. The Brown family were American Indians who lived in Pahrump and Las Vegas, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

Chung (Sue Fawn) Collection on Asians in Nevada
Coll #: MS-00332
Date: 1963-2005
Extent: 2.76 cubic feet, 2.5 linear feet (6 boxes)
The Sue Fawn Chung Collection on Asians in Nevada (1963-2015) consists of materials collected by Dr. Sue Fawn Chung in the course of her research on the history of Asians in Nevada. The collection contains interviews, correspondence, and biographical materials primarily focusing on Chinese and Japanese residents in Nevada, but also includes other communities such as Filipinos and Koreans. Some materials are photocopies of originals dating between 1913 and 1960.
Link to Collection Guide

Clark (Reverend Donald) papers
Coll #: MS-00158
Date: 1953 - 1976
Extent: 2 boxes (0.92 cubic feet, 0.83 linear feet)
The Reverend Donald M. Clark Papers (1953-1976) contain correspondence, meeting minutes, organizational plans, newspaper clippings, and personal memorabilia related Clark's work with the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) and the Economic Opportunity Board (EOB) in Las Vegas, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online

Clement, Mary Edna Brown
Coll #: MS-00059
Date: 1955
Extent: 0.1 linear feet (1 shared box)
Collection consists of correspondence, poetry manuscript and musical score. Two letters dated 19 January 1956 and 26 February 1956 from Zoe A. Tilghman, Oklahoma City to Mary Brown Clement, Las Vegas. Correspondence refers to "Pistol Pete" by Eva Gillhouse. "Black and Silver" poetry manuscript draft that was published by Henry Harrison, poetry publisher, in New York, 1944, written by Mary Edna Brown. Musical score and verse "Neshabe" (Dark Water) from Cheyenne Indian melody, words by Zoe A. Tilghman, music arranged by Ruth F. McNaughton, dedicated to Mary B. Clement.
Link to Collection Guide

Duncan, Ruby
Coll #: MS-00367
Date: 1972-1992
Extent: 25.34 Cubic Feet (47 boxes, 1 oversized box, 3 oversized folders)
The Ruby Duncan Papers consists of the organizational records of Operation Life Community Development Corporation (1972-1992), a non-profit organization that worked to improve living conditions in West Las Vegas, Nevada by providing a variety of community development services. Included are correspondence, agreements, accounting records, lease agreements, meeting materials, reports, speeches.
Link to Collection Guide

Edythe and Lloyd Katz Papers
Coll #: MS-00376
Date: 1934-2002
Extent: 5.50 Linear Feet (5 boxes, 2 oversize boxes, and one flat file)
The Edythe and Lloyd Katz papers (1934-2002) provide a glimpse of the social, religious, and educational contributions that they made to the community of Las Vegas, Nevada. Materials include photographs, correspondence, newspaper clippings, and awards dating from 1934 to 2002.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online

Fong (Lilly) papers
Coll #: MS-00210
Date: 1964-1992
Extent: 58 boxes and 2 oversize folders (69.13 cubic feet, 61.79 linear feet)
The Lilly Fong Papers are comprised of the professional and personal papers of Lilly Fong, the first woman and first Asian-American member of the University and Community College System of Nevada (UCCSN), now known as the Nevada System of Higher Education (NSHE) Board of Regents. The papers date from 1964 to 1992 and document Fong's community activities in various Las Vegas and Southern Nevada organizations in addition to her work on the UCCSN Board of Regents. Materials include correspondence, meeting minutes, letters, and press releases from various organizations, including the Board of Regents, the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV), the American Association of University Women (AAUW), and the First Presbyterian Church in Las Vegas.
Link to Collection Guide

Fort Mojave Indian School Records
Coll #: MS-00034
Date: 1890-1923
Extent: 0.42 linear feet (1 box)
The Fort Mojave Indian School Records (1890-1923) consist of correspondence, finance and administrative records, pump station blueprints, and policy implementation and fact finding records. The school served the Hualapai and Mojave Indians at a site near present-day Kingman, Arizona. The information is contained in two bound volumes.
Link to Collection Guide

Henry and Anita Schuster Papers
Coll #: MS-00580
Extent: 5 Linear Feet (3 boxes and 2 oversize boxes)
Collection is comprised of correspondence, speeches, essays, meeting minutes, photographs, research materials, publications, press clippings, awards, and event programs (1941-2011) that document the life of Henry Schuster, and his work with his wife Anita. Materials are mainly related to the Holocaust and to Holocaust memory and survivor organizations (especially the Holocaust Survivor's Group of Southern Nevada, which the couple founded, and L'(Euvre de Secours aux Enfants). Genealogical information is also included, as well as records of Henry Schuster's time in the U.S. Army and his studies at the Manhattan Technical Institute.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online

Hoggard (Mabel) papers
Coll #: MS-00565
Date: 1903-2011
Extent: 6 boxes (2.48 cubic feet, 3.06 linear feet)
The Mabel Hoggard Papers (1903-2011) contain materials related to Hoggard's career as a Las Vegas, Nevada elementary school teacher, her research and civic interests in Las Vegas's predominantly African American Westside communities, and her engagement with civil rights issues. The collection also contains materials about Hoggard's life, including biographical newspaper articles about her childhood, education, work, and family. The collection includes lesson plans, scrapbooks, awards, correspondence, photographs, and physical objects such as a vinyl record and political pins. The bulk of the collection focuses on her life in Las Vegas from approximately 1946-1989.
Link to Collection Guide

Jewish Family Service Agency Records
Coll #: MS-00386
Date: 1954, 1977-2013
Extent: 0.6 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
The Jewish Family Service Agency (JFSA) records (1954, 1979-1993) contain organizational records, minutes, committee information, planning documents, newspaper clippings, newsletters, photographs, and volunteer information collected by Bea Levinson. There are also two folders of material about Bea Levinson, who was chairperson of the JFSA Long Range Planning Committee.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online

Katherine A. Spilde Papers on Native American Gaming
Coll #: MS-00092
Date: 1789, 1793, 1823-1832, 1851, 1859, 1883, 1886, 1903, 1908-1909, 1970-2015, (bulk 1990-2015)
Extent: 59.64 cubic feet (77 boxes, 8 oversize boxes, 3 flat files, 1 item)
The Katherine A. Spilde Papers on Native American Gaming include materials collected by anthropologist Katherine Spilde about Native American gaming and the greater gaming industry. The materials date from 1789 to 2015, with the bulk of materials dating from 1995 to 2010. Materials dating from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries are reproductions of key court opinions and treaties concerning Native American rights and sovereignty. The majority of the materials document Native American gaming following the passage of the 1988 Indian Gaming Regulatory Act (IGRA). The papers detail Native American gaming enterprises both on and off reservations, the socioeconomic impact of gaming, and the legislative history of Native American gaming in the United States. The papers include research and subject files created by Dr. Spilde during her employment with the National Gambling Impact Study Commission (NGISC), the National Indian Gaming Association (NIGA), and the Harvard Project on American Indian Economic Development (HPAIED). The collection includes socioeconomic reports; testimonies; correspondence; memos; press releases; photographs; audiovisual materials; promotional materials from casinos and tourist attractions; brochures; fact sheets; summaries; booklets; pamphlets; advertisements; tourism materials; journal articles; legal briefs; legislative documents; court opinions; Dr. Spilde’s notes; presentations; packets, agenda, schedules, and itineraries from conferences; magazines; Native American and community newspapers; and newspaper articles. The collection includes materials about over one hundred federally recognized Native American nations. Also included are materials that document the socioeconomic impact of gaming, the international gaming industry, criminal activities related to gaming, advertising about gaming and casinos, lotteries, internet gaming, compulsive gaming, and bankruptcy as a result of gaming.
Link to Collection Guide

Key, Alice papers
Coll #: MS-00095
Date: 1936-2004
Extent: 1 box (0.46 cubic feet, 0.42 linear feet)
The Alice Key Papers (1936-2004) consist of documents detailing Alice Key’s life and work in the African American community, historic preservation, and labor relations in Las Vegas, Nevada. Included in the collection are awards and certificates documenting Key’s achievements, invitations and programs to events, political and civic correspondence, and magazine and newspaper articles both about Key and written by her. The collection also contains photographs.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online

Kim Sisters Scrapbooks and Clippings
Coll #: MS-00633
Date: 1959-1966, 1983
Extent: 1.5 linear feet (1 box)
The Kim Sisters material date from 1959 to 1966 and 1983. It consists of two scrapbooks and one folder of photocopied materials containing newspaper clippings about the appearances of the Kim Sisters musical group throughout the United States as well as Italy, Germany, and Spain. It also includes two record album sleeves.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas Black Historical Society Records
Coll #: MS-00101
Date: 2005-2009
Extent: 0.37 cubic feet (1 box)
The Las Vegas Black Historical Society Records (2005-2009) document the organization's history including correspondence, meeting agendas and minutes, bylaws, articles, a corporate charter, and use agreements. Also included is a Proclamation from Nevada State Senator Steven Horsford regarding the Second Annual Gathering of the Las Vegas Black Historical Society on January 27, 2007.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas Paiute Tribal Archives
Coll #: E 99 P2 L37x 1911
Date: 1911-1976
Extent: 1 doc box (legal)
Includes government documents from such agencies as the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Most of the documents concern the Las Vegas Indian Colony, which was made up of Paiute and Chemehuevi Indians. Also includes material on the Moapa River (Paiute) Reservation. Some of the documents are from other groups such as the Citizens' Committee for Community Improvement of Las Vegas, Nev. Also includes transcriptions of oral history interviews conducted in the 1970s with Maureen Frank, Daisy Mike, Nellie Sanchez, Herbert Myers, Juanita Lee, and Lee Castillo.

Latino Youth Leadership Conference Publications
Coll #: MS-00914
Date: 1994-2018
Extent: 27 digital files (0.0365 GB)
The Latino Youth Leadership Conference publications (1994-2018) is comprised of digitized copies of conference programs for the Latino Youth Leadership Conference (LYLC) that is held annually in Las Vegas, Nevada. LYLC is a three-day annual conference that is aimed towards increasing college attendance rates and leadership skills among Latinx high school seniors in Clark County, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

Mack, Joyce Papers
Coll #: MS-00732
Date: 1970s - 2014
Extent: 21 Digital Files transferred electronically; no physical carrier
The Joyce Mack Papers are mainly comprised of photographs and ephemera documenting Joyce Mack and her family from the 1970s to 2014. Photographs in the collection depict political and community events, the Mack family, and their interaction with politicians. An invitation, newspaper clipping, and transcript of a speech by Joyce Mack document various honors that were bestowed upon Joyce Mack and her husband, Jerome D. "Jerry" Mack.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online

Mason, Flora and Stuart Photographs and Event Programs
Coll #: MS-00694
Date: approximately 1965-2010
Extent: 78 Digital Files transferred electronically; no physical carrier
Collection is comprised of photographs of Las Vegas, Nevada community leaders Flora and Stuart Mason and three event programs from Temple Beth Sholom (Las Vegas, Nevada). Materials date from approximately 1965 to 2010.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online

McMillan (Marie and James B.) papers
Coll #: MS-00482
Date: 1928-2010
Extent: 25 boxes (10.38 cubic feet, 12.76 linear feet)
The Marie and James B. McMillan Papers (1928-2010) primarily contain documents pertaining to the families and careers of Marie and James B. McMillan. Included in the collection are photographs, biographical materials, newspaper clippings, award certificates, programs, obituaries, scrapbooks, trophies, legal and military documents, and political campaign documents. Marie McMillan is a former Las Vegas, Nevada flight instructor and one of the first women to work at the Nevada Test Site in Nye County, Nevada. James B. McMillan was the first African-American dentist to practice in Nevada, as well as a Nevada civil rights leader.
Link to Collection Guide

Mercer, L. Paul papers
Coll #: MS-00066
Date: 1939-1979
Extent: 0.9 linear feet (6 folders)
Related Materials: 0062
The L. Paul Mercer Papers date from 1939-1970 and consist of personal correspondence, newspaper clippings, photographs, and textile samples dyed in the Native American tradition.
Link to Collection Guide

MGM Mirage Corporation Records
Coll #: MS-00096
Date: 1970-2009 (bulk 1989-2003)
Extent: 40 boxes, 3 oversized boxes (25.90 cubic feet, 25.35 linear feet)
The MGM Mirage Corporation Records date from 1970 to 2009 and consist of the records of the Las Vegas, Nevada based global entertainment company. The collection contains organizational records, employee newsletters, files about the MGM Mirage diversity and inclusion initiative, correspondence, reports on gambling addiction, gambling statistics, press clippings, and audiovisual materials. There are also photographs, photographic slides, and photographic negatives of performers, corporate executives, and MGM Mirage properties.
Link to Collection Guide

Mollie Gregory Collection of Oral Histories
Coll #: MS-00516
Date: 1970-1974
Extent: 7.8 Linear Feet (13 boxes)
The Mollie Gregory Collection of Oral Histories contains audio interviews and transcripts that focus on welfare, family, and women's issues in Nevada from 1970 to 1974. Gregory interviewed people who described their lives during the anti-poverty and women's rights campaigns in the early 1970s. The collection documents views on welfare, the Equal Rights Amendment, political campaigns, race, discrimination, civil rights, youth, and political music.
Link to Collection Guide

Professional Black Women's Alliance Records
Coll #: MS-00498
Date: 1997-2003
Extent: 1.88 linear feet, 0.23 cubic feet (1 box)
The Professional Black Women’s Alliance Records (1997-2003) consist of correspondence, photographs, and programs from the Professional Black Women’s Alliance. Most programs pertain to the organization’s annual Rose Awards, which celebrate black female role models from the Las Vegas, Nevada community. The collection also contains a large poster from the 1999 Rose Awards ceremony.
Link to Collection Guide

Quinn (Kathy) Papers on the Paiute Indians
Coll #: MS-00088
Date: 1969-1971
Extent: 1 folder (shared box); 0.02 cubic/linear feet
The Kathy Quinn Papers on the Paiute Indians (1969-1971) consists of photograph negatives, a kinship chart, an audio tape of Paiute vocabulary, family history, a paper listing Paiute words and their meanings. Also included are the uses of various herbs and plants and a brief autobiography of Stella Smith of the Las Vegas Indian Village.
Link to Collection Guide

Raben, Barbara Collection on the Las Vegas Jewish Community
Coll #: MS-00655
Date: 1976-2015
Extent: 2 boxes and 2 oversized boxes (2.45 cubic feet, 3.89 linear feet)
Related Materials: MS-00386, MS-00426, OH-02278
The Barbara Raben Collection on the Las Vegas Jewish Community (1976-2015) is comprised of materials collected by Barbara Raben that document her personal life and her involvement with the Las Vegas, Nevada Jewish community, specifically Hadassah Southern Nevada Chapter and the Jewish Family Service Agency (JFSA) of Clark County, Nevada. Hadassah and JFSA records consist of photographs and programs from events held by the organizations. Materials also document Raben's business, The Candy Factory, and her connections to the Florence Melton School of Adult Jewish Learning.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online

Rathbun (Frank D.) Archaeology Papers
Coll #: MS-00209
Date: 1918 - 1983 (bulk 1931-1941)
Extent: 3 boxes and 1 oversize box (1.27 cubic feet, 3 linear feet)
The Frank D. Rathbun Archaeology Papers (1918-1983) consist of photographs, field note books and sketchbooks reflecting Rathbun's interest in petroglyphs throughout Nevada, Arizona, and California. The materials also include high school yearbooks, school term papers, scrapbooks, postcards, and memos pertaining to Native American history, water projects, and engineering topics. Additionally included is an unpublished report of an archaeological survey of the petroglyph sites identified by Rathbun, conducted in 1968 by Michael Moen.
Link to Collection Guide

Rusco (Elmer R.) Collection on Ethnicity and Race in Nevada
Coll #: MS-00196
Date: 1964 - 1972
Extent: 1 box (0.46 cubic feet, 0.42 linear feet)
The Elmer R. Rusco Collection on Ethnicity and Race in Nevada (1964-1972) contains correspondence, court cases, employment information, and research materials compiled by Rusco for a book he was writing on race relations in Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

Sabbath, Dennis and Roberta Papers
Coll #: MS-00731
Date: 1970s-1991
Extent: 17 Digital Files
The Dennis and Roberta Sabbath papers are comprised of photographs, newspaper clippings, and ephemera created and collected by Dennis and Roberta Sabbath. Photographs and ephemera document the Sabbaths' personal and social lives and their involvement in the Jewish community in Las Vegas, Nevada. Newspaper clippings document the law career of Dennis Sabbath and his campaign for Nevada State Senate in 1986.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online

Sadovich, Maryellen Vallier
Coll #: MS-00065
Date: 1852 -1934
Extent: 0.5 linear feet (9 folders) (shared box)
The Maryellen Vallier Sadovich Papers include transcripts and handwritten and photocopied documents pertaining to early Nevada history from 1852 to 1934. Documents include information about the boundaries of Nevada; mail service contracts between Utah and California; documents from the Department of the Interior, Office of Indian Affairs concerning reservations in Southern Nevada; a copy of Gibb's Phonetic alphabet of Southern Nevada Native American languages; maps of tributaries in Southern Nevada; notes about the National Archives photographic holdings of Nevada; and documents from mining reports.
Link to Collection Guide

Sperling Kronberg Mack Holocaust Resource Center Records
Coll #: MS-00733
Date: 1971-2015
Extent: 18.51 linear feet, 8.36 cubic feet (10 boxes, 2 oversize boxes, and 2 oversize flat files)
The collection mainly consists of correspondence, event planning documents, financial records, subject files,and newspaper clippings from 1971 to 2014 created by or related to the Sperling Kronberg Mack Holocaust Resource Center and the Nevada Governor's Advisory Council on Education Relating to the Holocaust. Materials document educational conferences, remembrance events, and student field trips; curriculum planning, involvement with the Clark County School District, and educational materials about the Holocaust and other related historical events; and grant and fundraising activities. The collection also includes some photographs and proclamations.
Link to Collection Guide

Sternberg, Gary Papers
Coll #: MS-00717
Date: 1983-2015
Extent: 12 Digital Files transferred electronically; no physical carrier
The Gary Sternberg Papers are comprised of correspondence, publications, and videos documenting Sternberg's involvement with the Las Vegas Jewish community from 1983 to 2015. Organizations represented in the collection include Congregation Ner Tamid and the Holocaust Survivors Group of Southern Nevada. Also included are digital photographs of Sternberg in 2015 wearing his Caesars Palace dealer's uniform.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online

Stewart - Knack Collection on Nevada Indians
Coll #: MS-00274
Date: 1831 - 1975
Extent: 3 Linear Feet (3 boxes)
The Omer C. Stewart and Martha C. Knack Collection on the Pyramid Lake Northern Paiute People and Reservation contains materials from 1831 to 1975 collected for Stewart's and Knack's book, As Long as the River Shall Run: An Ethnohistory of Pyramid Lake Indian Reservation. Materials include legal documents, correspondence, newspaper articles, maps, and ethnohistorical data.
Link to Collection Guide

Stewart, William M.
Coll #: MS-00071
Date: 1854 - 1872
Extent: 0.1 Linear Feet (1 folder), (shared box)
William M. Stewart Correspondence is primarily comprised of handwritten letters addressed to U.S. Senator William Morris Stewart, between 1854 and 1872. Many of the letters were written during his first term in office. Also included is one document about the reappointment of a postmaster of Sutro, Nevada, and a manuscript telegram from Frances P. Hayes about the territorial organization and judicate district in Indian Territory.
Link to Collection Guide

Union of Black Episcopalians Las Vegas Chapter Records
Coll #: MS-00739
Date: 1993-2015
Extent: 0.25 Linear Feet (1 box)
The Union of Black Episcopalians Las Vegas Chapter Records, dating from 1993 to 2014, contain the organization's charter, bylaws, constitution, awards, Kwanzaa activities, the teachings of Absalom Jones, photographs, and sponsored activities.
Link to Collection Guide

Union of Black Episcopalians Las Vegas Chapter Records
Coll #: MS-00739
Date: 1993-2015
Extent: 0.25 Linear Feet (1 box)
The Union of Black Episcopalians Las Vegas Chapter Records, dating from 1993 to 2014, contain the organization's charter, bylaws, constitution, awards, Kwanzaa activities, the teachings of Absalom Jones, photographs, and sponsored activities.
Link to Collection Guide

Williams (Aaron) paper
Coll #: MS-00276
Date: 1965-1981 (bulk 1966-1976)
Extent: 2 boxes (0.92 cubic feet, 0.83 linear feet)
Related Materials: 0234
Aaron Williams Papers (1965-1981) consist of scrapbooks, newspaper clippings, scrapbooks, certificates, newspaper clippings, reports, and programs. Many of the clippings and some of the correspondence contain references that give insight into the role of women in North Las Vegas and Clark County, Nevada during the late 1960s and early 1970s. The scrapbooks and newspaper clippings document Williams' career as well as issues he dealt with as councilman and commissioner. These issues include those related to community and infrastructure development, such as airports, sewage treatment plants, senior citizens, health, and urban planning as well as North Las Vegas and Clark county political activities during the late 1960s and early 1970s.
Link to Collection Guide

Williams, Nancy Ellen Webb Papers
Coll #: MS-00391
Date: 1983-1996
Extent: 0.21 linear feet, 0.23 cubic feet (1 box)
The Nancy Ellen Webb Williams Papers span 1983 to 1996. This collection is about William's career as a writer. The papers include newspaper clippings, photos, fliers, and correspondence. The collection also contains one of Williams' books of poetry, "The Soul Side: Big Mama Remembers."
Link to Collection Guide


Ask Us