Research Links: List of Databases, Course Reserves

Quick Search: Articles, newspapers, books and ebooks, videos and more. Results primarily available online but may also include books available in the library or articles that can be requested for email delivery from ILLiad.
Books: Print and online books available from UNLV Libraries or by ILLiad request.
Articles: Articles from academic journals, magazines and newspapers.

Library Information: Pages on library web site, for example research guides, library policies and procedures, hours and events.

RefWorks Web-based Seminars (Webinars)

By Deborah Millett on October 28, 2009 9:15 AM | Permalink
We are pleased to announce the RefWorks Webinar schedule for November 2009. 1) RefWorks Fundamentals (60 minutes) 2) RefWorks Advanced Functions (60 minutes) 3) RefWorks Administration Functions (75 minutes) 4) RefShare (60 minutes) 5) RefAware (50 minutes) 6) The Six ways to Import Information into RefWorks (60 minutes) 7) Four Ways to Create Bibliographies in RW (60 minutes) This month we're continuing to offer sessions in Spanish, German and French; and sessions in English by our Melbourne, Australia-based trainer Our Stockholm-based trainer will conduct a session in English on RefAware. Registration is limited to 50 people per class and enrollment is required at RefWorks.com. Webinars in English by North America-based trainers: RefWorks Fundamentals This 60-minute session covers all the basics - creating a RefWorks account, importing data, organizing your database and generating a bibliography. This session is great for new users or even existing users who would like a refresher. Tuesday, November 3 2:00 pm GMT Time (London, GMT) 9:00 am Eastern Standard Time (New York, GMT-05:00) 4:00 pm South Africa Time (Pretoria, GMT+02:00) Enroll Now! https://refworks.webex.com/refworks/onstage/g.php?t=a&d=715129517 Password: Learnrw12 Wednesday, November 11, 2009 2:00 pm Eastern Standard Time (New York, GMT-05:00) 7:00 pm GMT Time (London, GMT) Enroll Now! https://refworks.webex.com/refworks/onstage/g.php?t=a&d=716342003 Password: Learnrw12 Thursday, November 19, 2! 009 12:00 pm Eastern Standard Time (New York, GMT-0 5:00) 5:00 pm GMT Time (London, GMT) 7:00 pm South Africa Time (Pretoria, GMT+02:00) Enroll Now! https://refworks.webex.com/refworks/onstage/g.php?t=a&d=717065552 Password: Thebasics12 RefWorks Advanced Features This 60-minute session covers topics such as advanced searching, editing multiple references, viewing, printing and sorting references and more. Attendees should have a working knowledge of RefWorks' basic features. Wednesday, November 4, 2009 2:00 pm Eastern Standard Time (New York, GMT-05:00) 11:00 am Pacific Standard Time (San Francisco, GMT-08:00) Enroll Now! https://refworks.webex.com/refworks/onstage/g.php?t=a&d=712115456 Password: Learnrw12 Thursday, November 12, 2009 2:00 pm GMT Time (London, GMT) 9:00 am Eastern Standard Time (New York, GMT-05:00) Enroll Now! https://refworks.webex.com/refworks/onstage/g.php?t=a&d=716968675 Password: Experts13 RefShare This 60-minute session covers how to share your database or a folder of references, how to turn your shared folder or database into an RSS feed, how to view, search, print and export references from a shared folder or database and how to access and view a shared folder or database from a central web page. Attendees should have a basic knowledge of RefWorks functionality. Tuesday, November 17, 2009 10:00 am Eastern Standard Time (New York, GMT-05:00) 3:00 pm GMT Time (London, GMT) Enroll Now! https://refworks.webex.com/refworks/onstage/g.php?t=a&d=715583041 Password Learnrs14 RefWorks Administration Topics covered during this 75-minute webinar include: viewing account usage; deleting account and resetting passwords; customizing your RefWorks subscription; setting up and managing the attachments feature and RefShare; adding site-wide output Styles and Z39.50 Sites; creating a custom List of import filters; and modifying the user type, focus area and new account email. This session is only for librarians and other professionals who administer RefWorks. Tuesday, November 10, 2009 10:00 am Eastern Standard Time (New York, GMT-05:00) 3:00 pm GMT Time (London, GMT) 5:00 pm South Africa Time (Pretoria, GMT+02:00) Enroll Now! https://refworks.webex.com/refworks/onstage/g.php?t=a&d=716958009 Password: Learnrw12 Four Ways to Create Bibliographies in RW In this session you'll learn the four ways to create bibliographies in RefWorks: 1) Write-N-Cite utility (for use with Microsoft Word only): We will discuss what's new in Write-N-Cite, how to install it, and how to use it to insert citations and create bibliographies in your documents - including while working offline. 2) One Line/Cite View: This method does not require downloading a plug-in, as does Write-N-Cite. This method can be used to create bibliographies with in-text citations in just about any word processing program. 3) Manual: This also does not require downloading a plug-in, and it too works with just about any word processing program. You can also insert in-text citations in a manuscript offline with this method. 4) Format a Bibliography from a List of References: Any folder or list of citations can be quickly formatted into any of the 1,300-plus bibliographic styles in RefWorks. Attendees should have a basic knowledge of RefWorks functionality. Thursday, November 5, 2009 10:00 am Eastern Standard Time (New York, GMT-05:00) 3:00 pm GMT Time (London, GMT) 5:00 pm South Africa Time (Pretoria, GMT+02:00) Enroll Now! https://refworks.webex.com/refworks/onstage/g.php?t=a&d=715829692 Password: Learnrw12 The Six ways to Import Information into RefWorks All six possible ways to put information into RefWorks will be covered in this 60-minute session: A. Direct Export B. Importing as a .txt file C. Manually D. Online database (z39.50) E. RefGrab-It F. RSS feeds Wednesday, November 11, 2009 10:00 am Eastern Standard Time (New York, GMT-05:00) 3:00 pm GMT Time (London, GMT) Enroll Now! https://refworks.webex.com/refworks/onstage/g.php?t=a&d=712356922 Password: Learnrw12

Add new comment