| Title |
Dates |
Contents |
| Graduate Student Association (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) photographs |
1980-1983 |
The University of Nevada, Las Vegas Graduate Student Association Photographs consist of photographs documenting the Graduate Student Association's elections, activities, and events from approximately 1980 to 1983. The collection includes color prints and polaroid photographs from art auctions, award ceremonies, picnic activities, and holiday events. |
| Housing and Residential Life (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) records |
1959-2020 |
The University of Nevada, Las Vegas Housing and Residential Life Records (1959-2020) is comprised of photographs and records from the Office of Housing and Residential Life (HRL) for the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV). The majority of the collection is comprised of photographs, negatives, videos, and scrapbooks documenting various residential life events sponsored by the Residence Hall Association (RHA). Also included are informational booklets on housing and residential life at UNLV and issues of Living UNLV, the newsletter for UNLV residents. Residential life leadership and orientation training materials for HRL staff members are also represented in the collection. |
| Howard R. Hughes College of Engineering Records |
1968-1970; 1984-1989; 2015-2017 |
The collection is comprised of records dating from approximately 1968 to 2017 that document the establishment of the School of Engineering and later the Howard R. Hughes Engineering School at UNLV. Collection includes records of the Nevada Development Authority Partners for Industry through Engineering and Education (PiE2) program during the 1980s that was headed by Bob Gore of Summa Corporation (formerly known as the Howard Hughes Corporation). Collection records also include samples of class listings and information fact sheets and brochures from the 1960s for different engineering degree programs at UNLV. Copies of the 1989 and 1990 Self-Study Questionnaire for Review of Engineering Programs to the Engineering Accreditation Commission and promotional brochures and pamphlets for the school from 2015 to 2017 are also represented in this collection. |
| Institute for Security Studies Training Video on Terrorism (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) |
2008 |
University of Nevada, Las Vegas Institute for Security Studies Training Video on Terrorism includes copies of the institute's training video for resort employees called "7 Signs of Terrorism" that was produced in 2008. The collection includes English language and Spanish language versions of the video. |
| Jean Nidetch Women's Center (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) records |
1990-2008 |
Records are comprised of the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) Jean Nidetch Women's Center (JNWC) brochures, committee minutes, and planning strategies from 1990 to 2008. The records include information about events and programs held by the JNWC. The materials also include the proposal for the Women's Center as well as early planning information. |
| John S. Wright Faculty Papers |
1951-1975 |
The John S. Wright Faculty Papers (1951-1975) are comprised of faculty papers from and about Dr. John S. Wright who was considered one of the founding faculty members at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV). The collection documents Wright's involvement in establishing UNLV as a separate university from the University of Nevada, Reno. The collection includes memoranda, correspondence, meeting minutes, and reports from different committees Wright was a part of including Academic Council, Faculty Senate, and other ad hoc committees. |
| Kepper (John C.) faculty papers |
1966-1977 |
The John C. Kepper Faculty Papers (approximately 1966-1977) are comprised of articles and research on geology written by University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) faculty member, John C. Kepper. The collection also includes drafts and notes of the manuscripts, Paleoenvironmental Patterns in a Middle to Early Upper Cambrian Interval in the Easter Great Basin and Origin of Massive Banded Carbonates with "Bluebird Structures" in the Cambrian of the Eastern Great Basin. |
| Lee and Thomas Beam Music Center Architectural Records |
1998-1999 |
The Lee and Thomas Beam Music Center Architectural Records (1998-1999) contain architectural drawing sets for the Lee and Thomas Beam Music Center's design and construction. Located on the University of Nevada, Las Vegas campus, the Lee and Thomas Beam Music Center provides professional and liberal arts education to students seeking a career in the study and creation of music. The school enrolls more than 400 music majors and attracts students throughout America and internationally. |
| Lied Library (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) architectural records |
1965-2010 inclusive, 1996-2000 bulk |
The University of Nevada, Las Vegas Lied Library Architectural Records (1965-2010) are comprised of drawings and documents created by the American architecture firms of Welles Pugsley Architects and Leo A Daly Architects, as well as their associated consultants, engineers, and other professional collaborators. This collection documents the design and construction of Lied Library at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV). The materials feature both hand-drawn and computer generated architectural drawings, ranging from preliminary sketches and artist renderings to schematic drawings and construction documents. |
| Lists of Authorized Positions (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) |
1964-1996 |
The University of Nevada, Las Vegas Lists of Authorized Positions (1964-1996) include lists of professional and faculty positions at UNLV, including name, salary, tenure status, and the position's corresponding division and department. |
| Marjorie Barrick Museum of Natural History records |
approximately 1939-1995 |
The Marjorie Barrick Museum of Natural History Records (approximately 1939-1995) detail the creation of the Marjorie Barrick Museum of Natural History in Las Vegas, Nevada founded by Richard H. Brooks, a professor of anthropology at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas. The records are comprised primarily of correspondence between Brooks and members of the Southwestern Anthropological Association (SWAA), the Society for California Archaeology (SCA), and the meetings and exhibitions of the Nevada State Museum. The collection also contains financial statements that describe expenses for supplies, research, and excursions. Also included are anthropological, archaeological, and historical publications, as well as administrative files and Richard Brooks' correspondence with the Nevada Archaeological Survey (NAS). |
| Mathematical Sciences Department (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) records |
2007-2010 |
Records are comprised of the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) Mathematical Sciences Department graduate student essays from 2007 to 2010. The essays were compiled for a work called, "A History of the Mathematical Sciences Department." The essays cover multiple topics ranging from classes taught to the percentage of women professors in the department. |
| Meacham (Paul E.) faculty papers |
1977-1998 |
The Paul E. Meacham Faculty Papers (approximately 1977-1998) are comprised of articles and reports relating to the development of community colleges as well as organization and administration in higher education throughout the United States. The collection also includes course readers for EDA 731 Organization and Administration in Higher Education taught at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas. |
| Nevada Southern University Land Foundation Collection |
1961-1972 |
The Nevada Southern University Land Foundation Collection (1961-1972) contains documents relating to the planning and expansion of the University of Nevada, Southern Regional Division (now University of Nevada, Las Vegas) campus in Las Vegas, Nevada. The collection contains development studies, reports, city maps, and correspondence. |
| Nevada Women's Archives Records |
1994-1999 |
Records (1994-1999) are comprised of planning documents, newspaper clippings, external communication, and memoranda documenting the establishment and operations of the Nevada Women's Archives at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas. The records primarily document collection materials from the first exhibit created using the Nevada Women's Archive. |
| Office of Community Engagement (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) records |
1966-2007 |
The University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) Office of Community Engagement Records (1966-2007) contain informational files pertaining to UNLV's 50th Anniversary planning, the conception and construction of the Thomas & Mack Center, and UNLV's involvement with the Las Vegas, Nevada centennial celebration in 2005. Contained within the collection are photographs, newspaper clippings, and correspondence from University administration. |
| Office of Continuing Education (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) records |
1960-2009 |
The University of Nevada, Las Vegas Office of Continuing Education Records (approximately 1960-2009) contain correspondence related to the Office of Continuing Education's various educational programs, events, and projects. The collection also contains documents pertaining to the Committee for the Center for Continuing Education and Special Events, the University College, and the Architectural Committee, as well as Title I grant information, Educational Outreach course catalogs, and an architectural drawing of a planned Continuing Education conference facility. |
| Office of Decision Support (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) records |
1960s-2003 (1975-2003) |
The University of Nevada, Las Vegas Office of Decision Support Records (1960s-2003) consist primarily of financial documents, correspondence, projections, budgets, and audit reports pertaining to the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) Board of Regents, the UNLV Faculty Senate, and the University and Community College System of Nevada (UCCSN). The collection also includes information relating to accreditation, affirmative action, gender equality, and other initiatives at UNLV. |
| Office of Media Relations (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) records |
1969-2003 |
The University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) Office of Media Relations Records (1969-2003) primarily contain copies of UNLV faculty, staff, and alumni newsletters including Inside Out and Update. Also included in the collection are contact sheets, photographic prints, articles, and other editorial documents used in the creation of the Inside Out newsletter, as well as documents pertaining to various UNLV events, committees, programs, and policies. Additional materials include photographic slides and negatives, magazines, and audiocassettes. |
| Office of News and Publications (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) records |
1967-1990s |
The University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) Office of News and Publications Records (approximately 1964-1995) primarily contain press releases, marketing materials, and supporting documents pertaining to UNLV departments, events, people, and organizations. The collection also includes print orders for fliers, posters, brochures, reports, and invitations for assorted departments and events, as well as photographic prints, slides, negatives, color transparencies, and contact sheets of people, events, and campus buildings. This collection also includes a digitized copy of Nevada Southern University's first commencement in 1964 that was originally broadcast on KSHO TV 13. Additional materials include audiocassettes, reel-to-reel audio recording tapes, quadruplex video recording reels, U-Matic tapes, 16mm film reels, and an 8-track tape. |
| Office of the President (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) records |
1950-2007 (inclusive); 1950-1993 (bulk) |
The University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) Office of the President Records is comprised of documents used in daily matters of the Office of the President from approximately 1950 to 2007. The records in the collection document the expansion of the UNLV campus, and the academic and athletics programs offered by the university. |
| Office of the Registrar (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) records |
1951-1999 |
The University of Nevada, Las Vegas Office of the Registrar Records (1951-1999) contain enrollment lists, annual reports, and Dean's honors lists, and scholastic averages for the University of Nevada, Las Vegas. The collection also contains memoranda, blank registration forms, and assorted documents from the Office of the Registrar. |
| Office of the Vice President for Academic Affairs (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) records |
1952-2009 |
Records are comprised of the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) Office of the Vice President for Academic Affairs records from 1952 to 2009. The collection contains information about UNLV's academic affairs including information about the development and growth of departments, as well as what type of classes were offered. The collection also includes faculty schedule cards from 1955 to 1978. |
| Office of the Vice President for Business Affairs (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) records |
1954-1988 |
The records are comprised of budgetary and financial information dating from 1954 to 1988 created by the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) Office of the Vice President for Business Affairs. The records include information about UNLV budgets, physical plant information, work programs, and correspondence sent to and from Herman Westfall, Vice President of Business Affairs from 1962 to 1987. The collection also includes Herman Westfall’s correspondence files which contain information such as estimative budgets, correspondence with UNLV presidents and colleges, contracts, memoranda, and committee information. |
| Office of the Vice President for Research (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) Records |
1990-1992 |
The University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) Office of the Vice President for Research Records (1990-1992) mainly contains researcher grant proposal files kept by Dr. David McNelis who was the Associate Vice President for Research at UNLV from 1990 to 1994. Materials include applications, reports, and correspondence related to the Cray Research, Inc. and National Supercomputing Center for Energy and the Environment as well as applications for various UNLV research support grants. Nomination letters and applications for the first annual Nevada Regents' Researcher Award are also included in this collection. The collection also includes correspondence, reports, and research materials from UNLV's Academic Master Planning committee which was tasked with developing a long range development plan for the university in the early 1990s. |
| Office of University Marketing and Communications (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) records |
1980-2007 |
The University of Nevada, Las Vegas Office of University Marketing and Communications Records (1980-2007) is comprised of budgets and promotional materials developed by the university's marketing and communications department. The collection includes information about developing strategies for growing the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) campus and student body, invoices and purchase orders, contract bids, campus photographs, and advertising workbooks. |
| Performing Arts Center (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) records |
approximately 1976-1995 |
The University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) Performing Arts Center Records (approximately 1976-1995) contain materials from various events organized by the Performing Arts Center in the Artemus W. Ham Concert Hall, such as the Charles Vanda Master Series and the Las Vegas Chamber Players program. Materials include event programs, promotional fliers, and informational brochures. |
| Phi Kappa Phi (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) records |
1960-2019 |
The University of Nevada, Las Vegas Phi Kappa Phi Records (approximately 1960-2019) consist of meeting minutes, correspondence, financial documents, member lists, programs, newspaper clippings, and photographic prints pertaining to the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi Chapter 100 at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV). The collection also includes memorabilia from the organization's fiftieth induction ceremony, as well as a framed copy of its charter. |
| Phi Lambda Alpha (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) records |
1968-1984 |
The University of Nevada, Las Vegas Phi Lambda Alpha Records (1968-1984) include memorabilia documenting and describing the organization's activities and procedural operations. |
| Physical Plant Planning and Development Committee (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) records |
1958-1985 (bulk 1971-1981) |
The University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) Physical Plant Planning and Development Committee Records (1958-1985) contain meeting minutes, correspondence, reports, and budgets from the UNLV Physical Plant Planning and Development Committee. There are also proposals, project descriptions, architectural floor plan drafts, and reports for the creation of various campus buildings including Tonopah Residence Complex, Performing Arts Center, Chemistry Building, Archie C. Grant Hall, and Maude Frazier Hall. |
| Professional Staff Council (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) records |
1983-1984 |
The University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) Professional Staff Council Records (1983-1984) contains meeting agendas and minutes of the Professional Staff Council. Council members were elected representatives who shared professional staff opinions with campus administrators on matters such as pay, benefits, and general working conditions. |
| Public Safety and Campus Police (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) records |
1968-1969, 2002-2006 |
The University of Nevada, Las Vegas Public Safety and Campus Police Records (1968-1969, 2002-2006) consists of annual campus safety reports and documentation regarding community relations with local Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department and Nevada Southern Police (now University Police ServiceS). It also contains documentation about the law enforcement program on campus. |
| Rebel Intelligencer Records |
1982-1985 |
The Rebel Intelligencer Records (1982-1985) contain published issues of the Rebel Intelligencer, a publication of the Department of Communication Students at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas. The collection contains newspaper issues, drafts, as well as photographs and negatives used within the newspapers. The newspaper was designed to provide an outlet for stories written by students in journalism classes and to provide experience in editing and producing a publication. |
| ROTC (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) records |
1980-1991 |
The University of Nevada, Las Vegas ROTC Records are comprised of administrative files and photographic prints from the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) Army Reserve Officers Training Corps (ROTC) from its inception in 1980 to 1991. The collection includes photographs of cadet activities as well as Army ROTC recruitment materials. |
| Rothman (Hal) faculty papers |
1930-2006 |
The Hal Rothman Faculty Papers (approximately 1930-2006) are comprised primarily of research, teaching, and professional papers of Hal Rothman, professor of history at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV). The papers include Rothman's research notes, manuscript drafts, conference articles, lecture notes, audiovisual material for his book "LBJ's Texas White House", newspaper clippings, and book draft. Material in this collection represents Rothman's time as a UNLV professor and as a graduate student at Wichita State University in Wichita, Kansas. |
| School of Architecture (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) records |
1980-2011 |
The University of Nevada, Las Vegas School of Architecture Records (1980-2011) include marketing material, curriculum development material, student letters to the Nevada legislative counsel, journals, newspaper clippings, and architectural drawing sets for the school building's construction. |
| School of Medicine (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) press clippings and publicity collection |
2011, 2013-2015 |
The University of Nevada, Las Vegas School of Medicine Press Clippings and Publicity Collection is comprised primarily of newspaper clippings and magazine articles from 2013 to 2015 covering the development of a medical school at UNLV. The collection materials include op-eds on UNLV's School of Medicine and articles discussing funding, development, and administration for the school. This collection also includes a copy of the Nevada Kids Count data book from 2011 which disseminates research on demographics, health factors, economics, education, safety, and welfare for the juvenile population in Nevada. |
| School of Medicine (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) records |
2011-2016 |
The UNLV School of Medicine Records (2011-2016) are comprised primarily of planning files that document the establishment of the School of Medicine (SOM) at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas. The materials include agendas and reports from various committees, advisory boards, and the Legislative Counsel Bureau assessing and researching issues such as economic impact, medical education in the State of Nevada, research strategies, and the development of the Las Vegas Medical District. The records also contain materials from Dr. Barbara Atkinson, the founding dean of the SOM, such as letters of congratulations on her appointment and biographical information. Also included are event files and marketing materials such as fliers and buttons produced to promote the SOM and the student handbook. |
| School of Nursing (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) records |
1950-2019 |
The University of Nevada, Las Vegas School of Nursing Records
(1950-2019) contain records documenting the history of the UNLV
School of Nursing. The materials include records from the nursing
school's Alumni Association, including financial reports, bylaws,
correspondence, and membership information; recruitment materials
from the School of Nursing, including brochures, photographs, and
program requirements; history of the School of Nursing, including
photographs, newspaper clippings, a short summary of the program,
and a short documentary film comprised of digital video files; and
accreditation information, including newspaper articles, accreditation
reports, and evaluations of the program from the Nevada State Board.
The materials also include nursing student uniforms, caps, and nursing
capes from the 1950s and 1960s. |
| Schoolmaster's Club of Las Vegas, Nevada Records |
1955-1976 |
The Schoolmaster's Club of Las Vegas, Nevada Records (1955-1976) contain the club bylaws and fliers, newspaper clippings about the club's activities, and planning documents for the University of Nevada, Las Vegas site and the Maude Frazier building dedication. The collection focuses on the club's role in planning for and establishing the Southern Regional Division of the University of Nevada campus (now known as University of Nevada, Las Vegas). |
| Solar Decathlon (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) records |
2013-2021 |
The University of Nevada, Las Vegas Solar Decathlon Records (2013-2021) are comprised of records documenting the University of Nevada, Las Vegas's participation in the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Solar Decathlon collegiate competition. The collection includes records created by the 2013, 2017, and 2020 UNLV teams (Team Las Vegas) in designing and building their respective competition entries: DesertSol, Sinatra Living, and Mojave Bloom. Records include competition application files, working project files, As-Built submittal packets, and promotional and marketing files for the competition. The majority of records in this collection represent the 2017 competition. Archived websites and social media accounts associated with Team Las Vegas and the Solar Decathlon competition are also included in the collection. The records document Team Las Vegas's efforts in designing and building energy efficient homes for the Solar Decathlon competition. |
| Staff Council (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) meeting minutes |
1968 June 10 |
The University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) Staff Council Meeting Minutes contains a single sheet of with UNLV Staff Council meeting minutes from June 10, 1968. |
| Stan Fulton Building Construction Records |
1996-1999 |
Records are comprised of project proposals, planning guides, and brochures relating to the construction of the Stan Fulton Building for the William F. Harrah College of Hotel Administration dating from 1996 to 1999. The records contain project proposals for the Stan Fulton Building from three different architectural firms. The brochures advertise the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) International Gaming Institute, which is housed in the Stan Fulton Building. |
| Strate (Larry A.) faculty papers |
1985-2004 |
The Larry A. Strate Faculty Papers are comprised of scholarly journal publications and conference proceedings written by Strate during his time as a business law professor at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) that date from approximately 1985 to 2004. |
| Student Engagement and Diversity (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) records |
1989, 1993-2009 |
The records (1989-2009) document activities related to the University
of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) Student Engagement and Diversity
office and its predecessors. Materials include documents and
photographs about activities and events such as Premier UNLV,
homecoming, Rebels After Dark, and the Rebel Variety Show. |
| Task Force for a Just and Inclusive Campus Environment Records |
1997-1999 |
The Task Force for a Just and Inclusive Campus Environment Records (1997-1999) contains self-published reports by the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) organization, as well as inter-organizational correspondence, meeting agenda, and meeting minutes. These records contain materials used to study and raise awareness of equality issues at the UNLV campus. |
| Theses, Dissertations, and Honors (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) papers |
1967-2021 (inclusive); 1980-2015 (bulk) |
The University of Nevada, Las Vegas Theses, Dissertations, and Honors Papers (approximately 1967-2021) contain the physical copies of the theses, dissertations, and honors papers filed by students of the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) from 1967 to 2021. There are approximately 5,756 titles that originate from a wide variety of departments across the UNLV campus, including (but not limited to): history, criminal justice, fine arts, engineering, and the sciences. Electronic theses and dissertations (2017-2020) were transferred to UNLV University Archives for preservation purposes and are not accessible through Special Collections. Specific instructions for viewing those items can be found in the inventory. |
| Thomas & Mack Center Records |
1980-1995 |
The Thomas & Mack Center Records (1980-1995) contain materials relating to the final planning, advertisement, and promotion of the Thomas & Mack event center on the University of Nevada, Las Vegas campus. Documents include seating charts and ticket prices, event and informational packets, flyers for the 1985 AT&T Challenge of Champions, and the final building report from 1980. The collection also includes copies of Backstage, the Thomas & Mack employee publication. Some of the material includes information about Sam Boyd Stadium (formerly the Las Vegas Silver Bowl). |
| Thomas T. Beam Engineering Complex Photograph Collection |
1986, 2006 |
The Thomas T. Beam Engineering Complex Photographs (1988, 2006) mainly contains photographs and negatives of Building B of the Thomas T. Beam Engineering Complex construction in 2006. Photographs were taken by David Emerson who served positions within the University of Nevada, Las Vegas as Dean of the College of Science, Math, and Engineering; Dean of the College of Sciences; and as emeritus professor. Other materials in this collection include photographs of Lied Library and a photograph of Building A of the Thomas T. Beam Engineering Complex from 1988. The photograph includes a personal note to Emerson by Tate Snyder/Kittrell Garlock Architects, the architectural firm responsible for designing and building the Thomas T. Beam Engineering Complex. |
| University Libraries (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) records |
1959-2015 |
The University of Nevada, Las Vegas University Libraries Records include reports, subject files, administrative files, communication, and planning records from the James R. Dickinson Library and Lied Library from 1959 to 2015. |
