Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

PH-00100
L. F. Manis Photographs

Extent: 9.9 Linear Feet (82 hanging folders, 8 boxes, 1 flat file, and 1 shared album of slides)
Location: PC 04:B, PC 04:C, PC 04:D, MC MS 01:C, PC Slides Binder 03, Photo Collections Negatives, MS 1.12.4

Link to Collection Guide
View select materials online

Related Materials:
The following resources may provide additional information related to the materials in this collection:

L. F. Manis Collection, 1910-1955. MS-00285. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Elbert Edwards Photograph Collection, 1852-1991. PH-00214. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Jamey Stillings Photographs of the Mike O’Callaghan-Pat Tillman Memorial Bridge and the Hoover Dam, 2009-2012. PH-00380. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Virginia "Teddy" Fenton Photograph Collection on the Hoover Dam and Boulder City, Nevada, 1920-1985. PH-00022. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Burrell Lawton Photograph Collection on the Hoover Dam, 1931-1934. PH-00120. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

John Chatfield Page Collection, 1930-1947. MS-00023. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.


Collection Contents:
The L. F. Manis Photographs contain photographic prints, photographic slides, and photographic negatives depicting Southern Nevada from approximately 1900 to 1969, with a bulk of the materials dating from 1930 to 1940. The photographs primarily depict the construction, dedication, and various parts of the Hoover (Boulder) Dam, including the dam's upstream and downstream faces, intake towers, spillways, bridges, crest, outlet works, visitors' accommodations, and powerhouse. The photographs also depict Lake Mead, the reservoir created by the Hoover Dam, and the Colorado River, which is dammed by the Hoover Dam. The photographs also include views of desert landscapes in the Southwestern United States, including in Nevada, Arizona, and Southern California. Also depicted in the photographs are the cities of Las Vegas, Nevada and Boulder City, Nevada, including prominent buildings like hotels, casinos, government buildings, and train depots.