Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Oral History Interviews

Total records in this collection: 3203

Print version of all records

Page 9 of 65

|<<   Previous   5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  Next   >>|
Narrator Collection # Date Project Content Transcript Tapes
Buxton, Eddie Ernest OH-00311 03/30/1976 Local Oral History Project-Roske Law enforcement, personal life history. no 1
Cadwaller, Ralph OH-00147 10/15/2001 yes 0
Cadwaller, Ralph OH-00147 10/15/2001 Principalship School management in Las Vegas yes 2
Caesar, Jimmy 06/23/1994 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Joe Delaney no 1
Cahill, Robbins E. OH-00313 06/02/1972 Local Oral History Project-Roske General Nevada history, recollections of work in state politics, government, taxation, gaming control, Clark County administration, and The Nevada Resort Association. (Received at UNR by Mary Ellen Glass) no 3
Cahill, Robins 01/31/1976 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 1
Cahlan, Florence Lee Jones OH-00148 02/10/1973 Local Oral History Project-Roske No Tape - Hand Written Interview. General history of Southern Nevada between 1933 and 1973. Migration to Las Vegas. Journalism in Las Vegas, female writer, Las Vegas Review Journal. Activism in local politics. Reminisces of Boulder (Hoover) Dam including the dam�s construction and dedication by President Roosevelt. Brief remarks concerning living in Las Vegas during the Second World War, the atomic testing era, the city�s economic development, and the city�s evolving demographics, notably the influx of �Negroes� during the 1940s. Social and interest groups. yes 0
Cahlan, John Francis OH-00149 02/18/1975 Local Oral History Project-Roske Las Vegas Review Journal, Journalism in Las Vegas, Development of gambling and tourism in Las Vegas, Prostitution, Modes of transportation in the 1940s, How WWII affected Southern Nevada. Interviewed by Lester Wisbrod. no 2
Cahlan, John Francis OH-00150 1977/03/30 Local Oral History Project-Roske Early Las Vegas entertainment. Interviewed by Gordon R. Brusso. yes 1
Cahlan, John Francis OH-00151 1978/04/10 Local Oral History Project-Roske Las Vegas from 1920-1950, Early Aviation. Interviewed by James W. Weslowski. no 2
Cahlan, John Francis OH-00152 1980/02/27 Local Oral History Project-Roske Journalism in Nevada and Las Vegas, Las Vegas Review Journal, Water, Railroads, Native Americans and Spanish Padres in Southern Nevada, Buliding of Boulder Dam, Nellis Air Force Base. Interviewed by Radmila Radovich. no 1
Cahlan, John Francis OH-00153 circa 1975 Local Oral History Project-Roske Journalism in Nevada and Las Vegas, Las Vegas Review Journal.Interviewed by Perry Kaufman. no 1
Cahlan, John Francis OH-00154 1975/07/02 Local Oral History Project-Roske Nellis A.F.B., Nevada Test Site, Prohibition in Las Vegas, Las Vegas Review Journal, Las Vegas history. Interviewed by Larry J. DuRussel no 1
Calas, Charlie Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 2
Caldwell, Richard OH-00321 03/06/1980 Local Oral History Project-Roske Las Vegas history 1953-1980. Migration to Las Vegas from Louisiana. Personal history: family, occupation(s), and education. Westside. Development of race relations in Las Vegas. Residential segregation. Discrimination of blacks: �no better than the South.� Inequality of employment opportunities. Development of the �Strip.� Black entertainers. no 1
Caldwell, Richard F. Sr. OH-00322 03/11/1981 Local Oral History Project-Roske General history of Las Vegas between 1931 and 1980, particularly in relation to the city�s development. Comparisons between pre- and post-casino Las Vegas. Migration from the South (Louisiana). Labor at and construction of Boulder (Hoover) Dam [interviewee worked on the dam project]. Atomic test site [interviewee worked at the test site between 1952 and 1978]. Women�s contribution to the test site and Boulder Dam. Las Vegas Casinos. Opinion on prostitution in Las Vegas. Hunting in Las Vegas. Wild horses and other wildlife in southern Nevada. Mining. Westside. Black entertainers. no 1
Calhoon, Dinah OH-00323 10/27/1971 Local Oral History Project-Roske Personal history of Las Vegas, 1945-1971. Highlighting: reason for relocating to Las Vegas; K-12 education; UNLV in 1959; recreational activities; Helldorado festival; family life; television in the 1950s; occupations; swamp coolers; changes in Las Vegas; El Rancho; penny stores; growth of UNLV. no 1
Callas, Charlie Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 1
Callas, Charlie 12/23/1975 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 1
Cameron, Judy K. OH-00324 04/19/2004 Principleship Education OHP Interviewee was a Clark County School District teacher, administrator, and principal. Reminiscences and personal opinions concerning education in Clark County between 1963 and 2000. Topics discussed: motivations; typical workday; principal effectiveness; teacher evaluation; number of students in schools; special needs students. [The transcript is virtually a verbatim record of the oral interview stored on cassette]. no 1
Campagna, Bob (Bobby) OH-00325 03/18/1978 Local Oral History Project-Roske General Las Vegas history, Sahara and Charleston, when UNLV was first built, personal awards, Lorenzi Park, Newspapers. City Sanitation, power, and telephone. Church and religion, personal and family history.(Interview on tape inaudible). no 1
Campbell, Felicia OH-00155 6/28/12 Boyer Early Las Vegas OHP Career in the educational arena including UNLV yes 0
Campbell, Glen Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 1
Campbell, Jesse (J.W.) OH-00327 02/19/1979 Local Oral History-Roske Pioche history-including: historical data; personal and family history; benefit of Hoover Dam; decline of mining post-1945; migration to Las Vegas. Las Vegas history- growth of universities in Nevada; Atomic Testing site- personal experience of the first test and fears of residents; Howard Hughes and Las Vegas; air crash involving Carol Lombard; Democratic Party in Nevada; Key Pittman, Pat McCarran, Ed Clark anf federal projects; impact of on Las Vegas; development of Nellis Air Force Base; construction of Hoover Dam; Old Mormon Fort; Basic Magnesium plant; Comstock Lode; old west folktales of life in mining camps/towns; Mormon migrants and settlements; Native Americans. [A helpful "tape summary" of the interview is held on file]. no 1
Campbell, Mary Ellen OH-00328 03/06/1977 Local Oral History Project-Roske Interviewee b. 1886. History of Pioche (Lincoln County) during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Family history. Migration to the West. Life in Pioche. Transportation (horse and mule). Housing. Mining. Description of undeveloped Las Vegas. Recreational activities. Northern Nevada and the 1918 global flu epidemic. [A helpful summary of the oral interview is held on file]. no 1
Campton, Dennis OH-02316 2013 History of Emergency Medical Services in Nevada After graduating from Ohio State Medical School, Campton moved to Las Vegas, Nevada in 1963 and worked at Southern Nevada Memorial Hospital. He worked at a private practice until 1970 before moving to Pahrump in 1980 no 0
Canfield, Ralph L. OH-00329 03/20/1976 Local Oral History Project-Roske History of Las Vegas, 1940-1960. Housing: Carver Park, Victory Village, Townsite, Fisher Addition, Four Mile. Tents houses on the eastside. Mining. Development of Las Vegas from 1950s: hotel-casinos on the �Strip� and Downtown. Blue Diamond Company. BMI plant and water. Railroad. Class stratification. McCarran Airport. Nellis Air Force Base. Air quality. Water. Lake Mead: water supply and recreation. Prostitution: Roxy�s Motel. Atomic testing: radiation. [Summary of oral interview held on file].[Low quality recording]. no 1
Cannon, Beverlee & Ivan OH-00156 4/12/2011 Boyer Early Las Vegas OHP Work at the Nevada Test Site yes 0
Cannon, Bob OH-00331 04/07/1972 Local Oral History Project-Roske Las Vegas history, 1941-1960. Promotion of Las Vegas. Early development of the Chamber of Commerce. The North West Tour of 1949 by Las Vegas boosters: the "Tour" included stops at Seattle, Tacoma, Portland, and San Francisco. Gambling and the community. no 1
Cannon, Howard OH-00332 08/28/1998 Local Oral History Project-Roske Interviewee was a former Senator for Nevada. Family history. Pre-Senatorial career. John Milner. Military career during WWII. Normandy landings. Senate career. Deregulation of the airline industry. Lockheed Martin and the F-117 stealth fighter. Foundation of Nellis Air Force Base. General Zach Taylor. Defense projects: MX missile and nuclear rocket engine. Vietnam War. Lyndon Johnson. Civil Rights. Alan Bible. Walter Baring. Appointment of President Ford and V-P Rockefeller. Southern Nevada Water project. James Santini. 1982 Senatorial Election. (No file) no 2
Cannon, Robert O. OH-00333 03/11/1973 Local Oral History Project-Roske Las Vegas history from 1941 until the 1960s. El Rancho Hotel and Casino. Thomas Hull. Nick the Greek. Carol Lombard accident. Las Vegas and Boulder Dam during World War II. Change in the business model of Las Vegas hotels. Segregation of African Americans (a white perspective). 1960s: shortage of qualified personnel to manage hotels; creation of a course in hotel administration at the University of Southern Nevada (UNLV): Dr. Johnson, Dr. Valen, Dr. Meek. yes 1
Canty Hayes, Dellene J OH-02041 3/13/2015 AfAm Growing up in the church, influence of Culinary Union, life in Pahrump yes 0
Canty, Hattie OH-00334 02/27/1998; 06/17/1998 Boyer Early Las Vegas Oral History Project CT247 .C35 2007 Las Vegas history, particularly in regard to labor relations, 1970-1998. Personal history of an African American woman in Las Vegas during the last three decades of the twentieth century. Local 226 Culinary Union: organization, recruitment, activism, relationship with the black community and NCAAP. Civil rights and race relations. Interviewee was president of Local 226 between 1990 and 1999 and oversaw the creation of the Culinary Training School. yes 3
Capel, Sigrid Oas OH-00335 02/10/1980 Local Oral History Project-Roske (Folder contains very good photos) Family and personal history focusing on growing up in Ely, NV, including leisure activities. Living through the Depression: banks closing; unemployment. Agricultural Extension Service. Cattle and drought in northern Nevada during the 1930s. Witness to the 1936 Berlin Olympic Games. Description of journey from Ely to Norway. Employment history. Gaming Control Board and the �Black Book.� Occupations whilst in Las Vegas. [File includes personal photographs and news clippings][A helpful summary of the oral interview is held on file]. no 1
Caples, Vernon S. OH-00336 02/25/1979 Local Oral History Project-Roske Narrator b.1891. Las Vegas history from 1942 to 1979. Las Vegas airfield (Nellis). Prostitution. Hoover (Boulder) Dam: two anecdotes. Effect of WWII on Las Vegas. Hotel/casinos during the 1940s and 1950s. Leisure activities. Eldorado Festival. Lorenzi Park. BMI Plant. Retirement in Las Vegas. no 1
Cappadonna, Evelyn OH-02228 2008-08-01, 2008-08-15 Gaming; Interviewer: David Schwartz yes 0
Cardle, James OH-00337 04/25/2006 UNLV @ Fifty Oral History Project LD3745.C32 2007 James Cardle taught engineering at UNLV and worked on earning accreditation for the engineering program. He also did research on the Yucca Mountain Project and on the removal of arsenic from drinking water. He is now a patent attorney in Minneapolis and works part-time as intellectual property counsel to UNLV. Impressions of UNLV, students, engineering program. Preparing for accreditation of engineering program. Research projects whilst at UNLV. New career. Writing, reading, remedial classes at UNLV. Diversification of students in engineering. yes 2
Carl, Kay P. OH-00338 11/22/2001 Education - Principalship School management strategies in Clark County School District yes 0
Carlini, Tod OH-02317 2013 February 15 History of Emergency Medical Services in Nevada A native of Yerington, Carlini received EMS training at Utah State before working for the Yerington Fire Department. He became chief in 1990. In 2000 he became chief of the East Fork Fire and Paramedic Districts. no 0
Carlson, Joe A. OH-00339 10/11/1972 Local Oral History Project-Roske History of Las Vegas, 1921 to 1960. Businesses on Freemont Street in the 1920s and 1930s. Recreation. North Las Vegas and Indian Reservation. Atomic testing. Gaming. Transportation. Demographic change. no 1
Carlson, Kurt OH-02318 2013 June 05 History of Emergency Medical Services in Nevada Carlson graduated from Queens University Medical School in Kingston, Ontario in 1974. He established a practice in Fallon, Nevada in 1977. In the 1980s, Carlson pushed for advanced ER training for physicians in Nevada and ER services in rural hospitals. no 0
Carlson, William D. Dr. OH-00340 03/19/1980 Local Oral History Project-Roske Early history of UNLV (Nevada Southern University) libraries, 1957-1960s. Narrator was the first dean. Maude Frazier Hall. Grant Hall. Collecting of books. Jerry Dye (Head Librarian, 1958-1964). Budget and funding. no 1
Carmody, Sandra E. OH-00157 8/3/2001 Education - Prinicpalship School management in Las Vegas yes 0
Carnell. Margaret OH-02260 4/30/2014 Ward 1 In 1905 Edward "Ed" Von Tobel left Los Angeles with his friend Jake Beckley for Lincoln County, Nevada. They purchased a parcel in the new town of Las Vegas and established the Von Tobel Lumber Company. The company served Las Vegas until it closed in 1976. Von Tobel met and married Mary Hameril, and they had four children, Jake, Katherine Elizabeth, Ed Jr., and George. This is an interview with three of Ed's granddaughters. Margaret Carnell is the oldest of three daughters of Elizabeth Von Tobel and Kenneth Zahn. She manages the Von Tobel family properties. Patricia "Patsy" Brinton is the second daughter of Elizabeth Von Tobel and Kenneth Zahn. She does volunteer work with the Assistance League of Las Vegas and the Junior League of Las Vegas. Sharon Schmitt is the second of four daughters of Edward Von Toble Jr. and Evelyne Leonard. She also does volunteer work with the Assistance League and the Junior League and with Saint Elizabeth Ann Seton Catholic Church yes 0
Carpenter, Marianne OH-00342 03/02/1977 Local Oral History Project-Roske Personal reminiscences of living on Las Vegas. Helen Jane Stewart. Development of Las Vegas. Nixon visit. Clarke Gable. Observations of atomic testing. Brief career history. no 1
Carpi, Elizabeth, Leonard & William OH-00158 1/14/2009 Heart to Heart: A History of Las Vegas Health Care Leonard was the premier contact lense fitter in LV. yes 0
Carr, Vicki 10/10/1990 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Bill Willard no 1
Carratelli, Susan and Holly OH-00344 06/24/1999 Las Vegas Gay Archives-Dennis McBride yes 10
Carrigan, Chet OH-00345 02/17/1981 Local Oral History Project-Roske Las Vegas history. Working for the Sherrif. Population in Clark County. Lake Mead. Key roads. Effect of WWII on Las Vegas. The Depression. Floods. Tourism. Animal life. Mount Charleston. Hoover (Boulder Dam). Court House. McCarran Airport. Pioche. John Wayne. Fire and Police Department. El Rancho. Boulder City. Movie Theaters. Cashman Field. Underground lake. Railroad. no 1
Carroll, Diahann Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 1

Page 9 of 65

|<<   Previous   5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  Next   >>|