Search Special Collections & Archives
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Water


Total manuscripts: 28

Aquavision Records
Coll #: MS-00410
Date: 1986-1997
Extent: 1.1 Linear Feet (3 boxes)
The Aquavision Records include bylaws, correspondence, and publications by Aquavision, a community action group concerned with water conservation in Southern Nevada's Las Vegas Valley. The collection spans 1986 to 1997. The records show Aquavision's activities, including its public information campaigns, awards for water conservation, and newsletters.
Link to Collection Guide

Buck, Gilbert
Coll #: MS-00281
Date: 1930-1986
Extent: 14 linear feet (14 record storage boxes)
The Gilbert Buck Papers (1930-1986) primarily focus on Buck's work as a surveyor and real estate broker in southern and central Nevada. Included are master reports, designs, standards, flood and drainage reports, and land specifications on water, sewer, and public lands. Papers regarding real estate include reports, housing and mobile home development plans, newsletters, surveys, and Buck Realty negotiations. There are books and information on seminars Gilbert Buck hosted in Las Vegas, Nevada on investing in raw land. Also included are awards, correspondence, newsletters, a scrapbook of Buck's early life, and information on his campaign for governor of the state of Nevada in 1974. Materials also include some documentation of Buck's real estate and mining interests in South America.
Link to Collection Guide

Cahlan, Florence and John papers
Coll #: MS-00200
Date: 1929-1983
Extent: 28 boxes (16.37 cubic feet, 15.79 Linear Feet)
The Florence Lee Jones and John Cahlan Papers (1929-1983) contain material created by the couple related to their work at the Las Vegas Review-Journal, their interest in the history of Las Vegas, Nevada, and the promotion of Southern Nevada for business and industry. The collection includes the Cahlan's correspondence as well as newspaper clippings about Las Vegas. It also contains drafts and manuscripts for their book, Water: a History of Las Vegas, commissioned by the Las Vegas Valley Water District.
Link to Collection Guide

Cahlan, Florence and John papers
Coll #: MS-00200
Date: 1929-1983
Extent: 28 boxes (16.37 cubic feet, 15.79 Linear Feet)
The Florence Lee Jones and John Cahlan Papers (1929-1983) contain material created by the couple related to their work at the Las Vegas Review-Journal, their interest in the history of Las Vegas, Nevada, and the promotion of Southern Nevada for business and industry. The collection includes the Cahlan's correspondence as well as newspaper clippings about Las Vegas. It also contains drafts and manuscripts for their book, Water: a History of Las Vegas, commissioned by the Las Vegas Valley Water District.
Link to Collection Guide

Cannon, Howard W.
Coll #: MS-00002
Date: 1958-1988 (bulk 1959-1983)
Extent: 853 boxes (472.29 Cubic Feet, 419.05 Linear Feet)
Related Materials: PH-000192
The Howard Cannon Papers (1958-1988) contain the personal, administrative, and legislative papers of Howard W. Cannon, U.S. Senator from Nevada between 1959 to 1983. The collection primarily pertains to Cannon's time in office from the 86th Congress in 1959 to the 97th Congress in 1983. Materials include correspondence, speech transcripts and supporting research material, press releases, reports, memoranda, newspaper and magazine clippings, and Senate voting records. The collection also includes constituent correspondence and casework related to legislative issues such as foreign relations, social security, veterans, tax reform, labor, aviation, nuclear testing and waste, civil rights, and environmental protection.
Link to Collection Guide

Clark County 208 Water Quality Management Plan Records
Coll #: MS-00985
Date: 1960-1990
Extent: 1 box (0.37 cubic feet, 0.42 linear feet)
The Clark County 208 Water Quality Management Plan Records contain reports produced by consultants and agencies for the Clark County Board of County Commissioners to create the Clark County, Nevada 208 Water Quality Management Plan (1960-1990). The collection also includes amendments and studies about the implementation of the plan.
Link to Collection Guide

Colorado River Commission of Nevada Reference Library Collection
Coll #: MS-00427
Date: 1922-2000
Extent: 22 boxes (59.21 cubic feet, 61.42 linear feet)
The Colorado River Commission of Nevada Reference Library Collection (1922-2000) documents the history of the Colorado River Commission (CRC) and is predominately comprised of books, briefs, memoranda, motions, exhibits, and other documents pertaining to the Arizona v. California litigation occurring between 1931 and 2000. The collection also contains meeting minutes, correspondence, budgets, reports, and other work files relating to the CRC. The CRC, located in Las Vegas, Nevada, is responsible for managing and protecting Nevada’s Colorado River water and power resources.
Link to Collection Guide

Donovan (David) Hydrology and Geology Collection
Coll #: MS-00813
Date: 1911-2011 (bulk 1954-2000)
Extent: 63 boxes (40.4 cubic feet, 33.79 linear feet)
The David Donovan Collection on Hydrology and Geology (1911-2011) is comprised of the research collected by former Las Vegas Valley Water District employee, David Donovan, about groundwater, hydrology, minerals, and geology in Nevada, as well as the surrounding areas of California, Arizona, and Utah. Included are reports, professional papers, maps, and books.
Link to Collection Guide

Foley, Roger D. Papers on United States v. Cappaert
Coll #: MS-00020
Date: 1972-1992 (bulk 1972-1996)
Extent: 4 boxes (1.8 cubic feet, 1.6 linear feet)
The Roger D. Foley Papers on United States v. Cappaert are comprised of materials collected by District Judge Roger D. Foley while performing his duties as judge in United States v. Francis Leo Cappaert, et al. from 1972 to 1976. The collection includes transcripts of the case, exhibits, and copies of motions filed with the Court in regards to this case, which centered on the protection of the Devils Hole pupfish in Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

Gene Hertzog Papers
Coll #: MS-01015
Extent: 11.92 linear feet
This collection is currently unprocessed. The Gene Hertzog papers consists of materials (approximately 1950-2019) documenting Hertzog's years working with the U.S. Army, Bureau of Reclamation, and as a southern Nevada-based freelance photographer and videographer. The collection materials include photographic prints, negatives, and slides as well as video cassettes and born-digital records. In particular, the materials includes many images created for the Bureau of Reclamation. The collection also includes brochures and correspondence that document Hertzog's work experience. Southern Nevada water system is documented in this collection.

Griffith (Robert B.) collection
Coll #: MS-00315
Date: 1928-1975
Extent: 4 boxes (2.4 cubic feet, 2.05 linear feet)
Related Materials: 0106
The Robert B. Griffith Collection (1928-1975) documents the work of Robert B. Griffith, an instrumental figure in the development of water resources in Las Vegas, Nevada, as well as the creation of McCarran International Airport and Nellis Air Force Base. The collection consists of Colorado River Commission papers, 1928 International Air Race documents, general correspondence, a feasibility study, an airport guide, American Legion papers, the memoirs of Alfred Merritt Smith, and death and burial records belonging to his father. The collection also includes slides from various countries, including the United States, Canada, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East.
Link to Collection Guide

Hickey (Thomas) Political Papers
Coll #: MS-00260
Date: 1964-1996
Extent: 102 boxes, 1 oversized box, 1 shared box (67.19 cubic feet, 56.83 linear feet)
The Thomas Hickey Political Papers (1964-1996) contain the professional files of Hickey’s career as a Nevada State Assemblyman and Senator. Materials include constituent correspondence, voting records, memoranda, newspaper clippings, bills, and research documentation on topics such as the Yucca Mountain Nuclear Waste Repository, the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA), education, health, prisons, finance, and Nevada infrastructure. The collection highlights Hickey’s role on committees including finance, transportation, government affairs, and ways and means.
Link to Collection Guide

Ives, Joseph C. Personal Correspondence
Coll #: MS-00079
Date: 1857-1858
Extent: 0.2 linear feet (1 folder, shared box)
The Joseph C. Ives Personal Correspondence consists of 17 letters (photocopies) between United States Army Corps of Topographic Engineers Lt. Joseph C. Ives and his wife, Cora Semmes Ives, between September 1857 and June 1858. Ives was in command of a U.S. Army expedition whose mission was to explore the region of the Colorado River and the Grand Canyon, and to establish the limit of navigation of the Colorado River. The correspondence is largely personal in nature, however, it is a useful supplement to the official report documenting the voyage, "Report upon the Colorado River of the West; Explored in 1857-1858."
Link to Collection Guide

Jensen, Frank C. "Doc"
Coll #: MS15
Date: 1926 - 1952
Extent: 1 box
Collection consists of the digital facsimile of the personal diary of Frank C. "Doc" Jensen, Hoover Dam medic, covering the years of the Dams construction. The original of this volume and the others reside in the Boulder City Museum and Historical Association. Click on Jensen's name above to access digitized version of the diary.

L. F. Manis Collection
Coll #: MS-00288
Date: 1936-1957
Extent: 3 boxes; photo albums
Related Materials: 0100
The L. F. Manis collection, 1936-1957, contains material and publications relating to Boulder (Hoover) Dam and the Boulder Canyon Project. Included are brochures, pamphlets, postcards, a scrapbook and newspaper clippings.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas Board of City Commissioners Records Regarding Water Supply
Coll #: MS-00055
Date: 1927 -1940
Extent: 1 folder (shared box); (0.2 cubic feet, 0.1 linear feet)
The Las Vegas Board of City Commissioners Records Regarding Water Supply (1927-1940) include correspondence, resolutions, petitions, application for a permit, and newspaper clippings. The records concern water shortages in the City of Las Vegas, Nevada due in part to wasteful water usage and many of the documents refer to City Ordinance No. 247. Several items are signed by Walter R. Bracken, Vice President and Agent of the Company, and A. M. Folger, Assistant Agent.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas Land & Water Company Records from the Las Vegas Valley Water District
Coll #: MS-00912
Date: 1945-1959, 1978, 1989
Extent: 4 boxes, 13 rolls (6.31 cubic feet)
The Las Vegas Land & Water Company Records from the Las Vegas Valley Water District (1945-1959, 1978, 1989) is primarily comprised of contracts, correspondence, and maps that document the establishment of a water distribution system in Las Vegas, Nevada that would provide water using the state's Colorado River allocation. The records include water main extension agreements, correspondence, and bills of sale for water main construction, as well as articles and correspondence documenting the groundwater shortage in Las Vegas. The collection also includes maps for water distribution systems and pipelines throughout the Las Vegas Valley.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online

Las Vegas Land and Water Company Records from the Las Vegas Valley Water District
Coll #: MS-00912
Date: 1945-1959, 1978, 1989
Extent: 4 boxes, 13 rolls (6.31 cubic feet, 5.8 linear feet)
The Las Vegas Land & Water Company Records from the Las Vegas Valley Water District (1945-1959, 1978, 1989) are primarily comprised of contracts, correspondence, and maps that document the establishment of a water distribution system in Las Vegas, Nevada that would provide water using the state's Colorado River allocation. The records include water main extension agreements, correspondence, and bills of sale for water main construction, as well as articles and correspondence documenting the groundwater shortage in Las Vegas. The collection also includes maps for water distribution systems and pipelines throughout the Las Vegas Valley.
Link to Collection Guide

Longwell (Chester R.) Professional Papers
Coll #: MS-00017
Date: 1886-1974 (bulk 1920-1960)
Extent: 32 boxes and 25 flat files (27.19 cubic feet, 67.81 linear feet)
The Chester R. Longwell Professional Papers (1886-1974) document Longwell's professional career as a geologist and his pioneering field work in Clark County, Nevada. Included are Longwell's field notes; manuscripts, articles and speeches related to geology; personal and business correspondence; professional publications; subject and name files; specimen tags; photographic prints, negatives, and slides; and geological and topographical maps, primarily of Nevada, California, Arizona, and Utah.
Link to Collection Guide

Page, John Chatfield
Coll #: MS23
Date: 1930 - 1947
Extent: 1 box; 1 large folder
Collection consists of the diaries of John Chatfield Page, who served as Construction Engineer on Boulder (Hoover) Dam from 1931-35. There is also a small amount of ephemera and biographical material on Page which provide information on his career with the Bureau of Reclamation. The original diaries have transferred to the Boulder City Museum and Historical Association, but the library holds complete digital facsimiles. Click on Page's name above to access digitized version of the diary.

Senator Hecht (Chic) political papers
Coll #: MS-00003
Date: 1943-1988 (bulk 1982-1988)
Extent: 123 boxes (56.54 cubic feet, 51.25 linear feet)
The Senator Chic Hecht Political Papers (1943-1988) contain the political papers of United States Senator and Las Vegas, Nevada businessman Chic Hecht. The bulk of the collection contains legislation, notes, correspondence between Hecht and constituents and other members of Congress, and speeches from Senator Hecht's term in the Senate from 1982 to 1988. Also included are files on civil service, the federal budget, education, labor, transportation, land management, foreign policy, public health, and trade.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online

Shaver, A. J.
Coll #: MS-00155
Date: 1925 - 1964
Extent: 1.47 cubic feet, 1.29 linear feet (2 boxes)
A. J. Shaver Papers (1925-1964) include hearings, reports, Senate bills, bulletins, and surveys regarding the Boulder Canyon Project/ Colorado River Development. There are also papers about Marienne Shaver's involvement in the Las Vegas High School Parent Teacher's Association (PTA) and the Girl Scouts of America (GSA), including minutes, correspondence, notes, and brochures.
Link to Collection Guide

Sierra Club Toiyabe Chapter Records
Coll #: MS-00289
Date: 1951-2012
Extent: 20 linear feet (21 boxes)
The Sierra Club Toiyabe Chapter Records (1951 to 2012) are composed of files from Sierra Club officers and activists in the Southern Nevada (formerly Las Vegas) Group of the Toiyabe Chapter. The collection documents the involvement of the Southern Nevada group in a variety of environmental concerns, such as air quality, uranization, and nuclear issues, in which the chapter has expressed interest. The records are comprised of correspondence, memoranda, meeting minutes and agendas, newspapers, magazines, newsletters, pamphlets, press releases, legislation, recommendations, resolutions, and general information. Due to the group’s location in the heart of the Mojave Desert, the collection provides excellent case studies of significant changes in the post-World War II American environmental movement, notably the increased recognition of the worth of desert lands.
Link to Collection Guide

Steamboats on the Colorado River
Coll #: MS-00201
Date: 1852-1976, bulk 1974-1976
Extent: 1.17 linear feet (2 boxes)
The KLVX Steamboats on the Colorado Records consist of documents related to the production of Las Vegas' Channel 10's KLVX) Steamboats on the Colorado documentary between 1974 and 1976. The collection is comprised of correspondence, promotional materials, scripts, a treatment, a grant application, maps of the Colorado River from 1852 and other materials used as research for the documentary.
Link to Collection Guide

Turner, Bruce Collection on Transportation and Water in Southern Nevada
Coll #: MS-00648
Date: 1986-2013
Extent: 20.6 Linear Feet (17 boxes and 1 flat file)
The Bruce Turner Collection on Transportation and Water in Southern Nevada contains reports, publications, legal files, project proposals, journal articles, financial reports, photographs, and maps concerning transportation policy and water usage in Southern Nevada from 1986 to 2013. The collection contains documents from organizations such as the Regional Transportation Commissions of Clark County and Southern Nevada, the Clark County Department of Air Quality and Environmental Management, Clark County Comprehensive Planning, the Urban Land Institute, the City of Las Vegas Neighborhood Services Department, the Southern Nevada Water Authority, and the Las Vegas Valley Water District.
Link to Collection Guide

UNLV University Libraries Collection of Lake Mead Government Documents
Coll #: MS-00947
Date: 1971-1994
Extent: 2 boxes (0.69 cubic feet, 0.63 linear feet)
The UNLV University Libraries Collection of Lake Mead Government Documents contains reports and studies pertaining to Lake Mead’s water quality, microbe ecology, wildlife, fish, plant life, pollution, soil, and sediment dating between 1971 and 1994. Reports include studies on microbe population growth, water composition, chemical treatment, salinity, temperature monitoring, and hand-written field notes on water and soil conditions. Lake Mead is located in Clark County, Nevada and Mohave County, Arizona.
Link to Collection Guide

Van Ee (Jeff) papers
Coll #: MS-00470
Date: 1974-2012 (bulk 1982-2005)
Extent: 24 boxes, 2 flat files (26.1 cubic feet, 22.25 linear feet)
The Jeff Van Ee Papers consist of the papers of environmentalist John Jeffrey Van Ee from 1974 to 2012 that document a portion of Van Ee’s environmental activity, notably his participation on environmental committees in the Las Vegas, Nevada area for water conservation and wildlife protection. The papers are comprised of correspondence, memoranda, reports, studies, newspaper clippings and meeting agendas and minutes.
Link to Collection Guide

Vergiels (John) Political Papers
Coll #: MS-00283
Date: 1964-1997 (inclusive), 1977-1991 (bulk)
Extent: 123 boxes (79.17 cubic feet, 66.79 linear feet)
The John Vergiels Political Papers (1964-1997) contain the professional files from John Vergiels’ career as a Nevada State Assemblyman and Senator. The papers cover a broad range of his activities in office, including committee work and dedication to issues such as education, finance, transportation, government affairs, commerce, labor, and care for people with disabilities. Materials include meeting agendas and minutes, bill drafts and summaries, supporting materials for bills and voting issues, and correspondence from individual and organizational constituents.
Link to Collection Guide


Ask Us