Search Special Collections & Archives
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Real Estate/Land Development


Total manuscripts: 35

12 + 7: Artists and Architects of CityCenter Exhibit Panels from Bellagio Gallery of Fine Art
Coll #: MS-00844
Date: 2009
Extent: 5.38 linear feet, 0.47 cubic feet (12 items)

Buck, Gilbert
Coll #: MS-00281
Date: 1930-1986
Extent: 14 linear feet (14 record storage boxes)
The Gilbert Buck Papers (1930-1986) primarily focus on Buck's work as a surveyor and real estate broker in southern and central Nevada. Included are master reports, designs, standards, flood and drainage reports, and land specifications on water, sewer, and public lands. Papers regarding real estate include reports, housing and mobile home development plans, newsletters, surveys, and Buck Realty negotiations. There are books and information on seminars Gilbert Buck hosted in Las Vegas, Nevada on investing in raw land. Also included are awards, correspondence, newsletters, a scrapbook of Buck's early life, and information on his campaign for governor of the state of Nevada in 1974. Materials also include some documentation of Buck's real estate and mining interests in South America.
Link to Collection Guide

Cambeiro (Dominique) Corporation Architectural Records
Coll #: MS-00864
Date: 1979-2010
Extent: 14 rolls, 22 boxes (17.18 cubic feet, 47.58 linear feet)
The Domingo Cambeiro Corporation Architectural Records contain renderings and presentation boards depicting schools, commercial properties, public facilities, and government buildings throughout Las Vegas, Nevada between 1979 to 2010. The collection also includes architectural drawings of the Thomas & Mack Center on the campus of the University of Nevada, Las Vegas.
Link to Collection Guide

Company Mobility Histories Papers
Coll #: MS-00763
Date: 1972-1977
Extent: 2 boxes (1.11 cubic feet, 0.96 linear feet)
The Company Mobility Histories Papers (1972-1977) includes surveys completed by students for Nevada History 117, a course taught by Professor Ralph Roske at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV). Students followed locations, phone numbers, ownership, and name changes of various businesses over their time of operation. Included were hotels, convenience stores, automotive shops, construction companies, and markets, etc.
Link to Collection Guide

Elaine McNamara Papers
Coll #: MS-00819
Date: 1960s-1990s
Extent: 1 box (0.23 cubic feet, 0.21 linear feet), 1 digital file
The Elaine McNamara Papers span from approximately the 1960s to the 1990s and include brochures, photographs, clippings, and other information detailing McNamara's modeling and real estate careers. Collection includes information about the Las Vegas-Clark County board of trustees, which McNamara served on, and materials documenting the library bond issue from the mid-1980s.
Link to Collection Guide

Elaine McNamara Papers
Coll #: MS-00819
Date: 1960s-1990s
Extent: 1 box (0.23 cubic feet, 0.21 linear feet), 1 digital file
The Elaine McNamara Papers span from approximately the 1960s to the 1990s and include brochures, photographs, clippings, and other information detailing McNamara's modeling and real estate careers. Collection includes information about the Las Vegas-Clark County board of trustees, which McNamara served on, and materials documenting the library bond issue from the mid-1980s.
Link to Collection Guide

Hazard (H.E.) Real Estate Maps and Photographs
Coll #: MS-00876
Date: 1960-1980
Extent: 2 flat files, loose materials (5.68 cubic feet, 6.42 linear feet)
H.E. Hazard Real Estate Maps and Photographs date from 1960 to 1980 and contain maps and aerial photographs, primarily of Las Vegas and Clark County, Nevada. Compiled by former Nevada legislator and realtor Harry Edward "Hap" Hazard (1894-1971), the collection includes more than sixty plat, topographic, engineering, sales, utility, zoning, and real estate maps, as well as twenty-two black-and-white aerial photographs.
Link to Collection Guide

Howard Hughes Public Relations Reference Files
Coll #: MS-00380
Date: 1931-1997 (bulk 1946-1976)
Extent: 116 boxes (120.08 cubic feet, 106.89 linear feet)
The Howard Hughes Public Relations Reference Files (1931-1997) were compiled by Richard "Dick" Hannah, vice-president of the Los Angeles public relations firm Carl Byoir & Associates, which was hired to direct public relations for Hughes’ companies. The collection is primarily composed of newspaper clippings organized into reference files. A significant number of the files contain articles about Howard Hughes’ personal life, the operations of his companies, and legal and political disputes involving Hughes and his companies. The files also document a range of other subjects related to his business ventures, including aviation, aerospace, defense industries, motion picture studios, film stars, communism in Hollywood, and the House on Un-American Activities Committee (HUAC). Later in life Hughes became obsessed with how he was being portrayed in the media. In addition to collecting magazine articles, newspaper clippings, transcripts, screenplays, and books that referenced him. He also collected newspaper clippings about the activities of print media outlets, columnists, radio-television stations, current and former employees, and competitors. The collection also contains newspaper clippings about Watergate, organized crime, gambling, and Las Vegas and contains press releases, correspondence and records generated by Carl Byoir & Associates as well as Rosemont Enterprise, Inc.
Link to Collection Guide

Irwin and Susan Molasky Papers
Coll #: MS-00661
Date: early 1900s - 2012
Extent: 1.9 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
The Irwin and Susan Molasky Papers (early 1900s-2012, bulk 1970-2012) primarily contain materials related to real estate development work by Irwin Molasky with his company, the Molasky Group of Companies, in Las Vegas, Nevada. In addition, the collection includes personal photographs (early 1900s-2011, bulk 1970-2011) of family members, friends, and events, as well as a Proclamation from Clark County, Nevada to establish the Molasky Family Park.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online

Jensen (Alton Dean) Architectural Records
Coll #: MS-00843
Date: 1943-2009
Extent: 299 rolls, 10 boxes (81.93 cubic feet)
The collection is comprised of architectural records (1943-2009) completed by American architect, Alton Dean Jensen and/or his architectural firm, Alton Dean Jensen Architect, AIA, and contains 263 sets of drawings and 95 sets of project records from over 200 different projects. Primarily focusing on the Nevada area and Utah area with some projects also located in Arizona, California, Wyoming, Colorado, South Dakota, Montana, and Idaho, the materials feature hand-drawn architectural drawings, ranging from preliminary sketches to construction documents, and project records, like structural calculations and project specifications. The drawings also contain work from consultants, engineers, and other architects who collaborated on the development of the various projects. The drawings include: commercial, industrial, professional, civic, residential, and religious buildings of varying scales, such as convenience stores, hotels, casinos, shopping centers, warehouses, office developments, schools, military buildings, churches, and custom single-family homes located throughout the Southwest (United States). The drawings also include a number of additions, remodels, and renovations. The drawings contain work from the Miles E. Miller Architecture firm, where Alton Dean Jensen first worked in Salt Lake City, Utah in the 1950s. The records include: structural calculations and drawings, project manuals and specifications, bid documents, and professional correspondence.
Link to Collection Guide

Kearns, Ardis
Coll #: MS-00348
Date: 1956-1987, 1960-1978 (bulk)
Extent: 4.45 Cubic Feet, 5.0 Linear Feet (12 boxes)
The Ardis Kearns Papers (1957-1987) contain correspondence, planning and zoning ordinances, committee reports, newspaper clippings, newsletters, and publications.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas Airfield (Robert B. Griffith)
Coll #: MS-00028
Date: 1941
Extent: 0.1 linear feet (1 shared box)
The Robert B. Griffith papers date to 1941 and contain the escrow holder papers of Robert B. Griffith and A. Corradetti recording their purchase of 40 acres of federal land located in Southern Nevada. The collection also contains receipts from the United States Department of War confirming the cost and deposit of the fee for the land. The land eventually became Nellis Air Force Base Airfield.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas Housing Developments and Apartment Complex Brochures
Coll #: MS-00337
Date: 1980-1999
Extent: 2 boxes and 1 oversize folder (1.85 cubic feet, 3.17 linear feet)
The Las Vegas Housing Developments and Apartment Complex collection contains sales brochures for Las Vegas, Nevada housing developments and apartment complexes from 1980 to 1999. Most of the brochures include prices, floor plans, and artistic renderings of the various models being offered, as well as a map showing the location of the complex within the greater Las Vegas area.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas Real Estate Brochures Collection
Coll #: MS-00574
Date: 1990-2010
Extent: 8 boxes and 1 oversized box (10.11 cubic feet, 9.35 linear feet)
The Las Vegas Real Estate Brochures Collection (1990-2010) is comprised of real estate brochures, pamphlets, folders, and fliers on housing developments in Las Vegas, Nevada. Materials include price sheets, photographs, and newspaper clippings related to the development of communities throughout the city.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas Valley Land Ownership Collection
Coll #: MS-00755
Date: 1962-1965
Extent: 12 boxes (7.36 cubic feet, 6.17 linear feet)
The Las Vegas Valley Land Ownership Collection contains lists of property owners in the Las Vegas Valley from 1962 to 1965. Materials are organized by Section and Township, all located in Ranges 60 to 63. Some files also contain plat maps.
Link to Collection Guide

Leavitt (Jack) Collection on Las Vegas Lands and Real Estate
Coll #: MS-00356
Date: 1968 - 1981 (bulk 1973-1981)
Extent: 9.60 cubic feet, 6.17 linear feet (1 box and 31 unboxed volumes)
The Jack Leavitt Collection on Las Vegas Lands and Real Estate (1968-1981) contains real estate property indexes for Clark County, Nevada, as well as an aerial survey of the city of Las Vegas, Nevada. The thirty-one indexes include alphabetical lists of home owners, their addresses, and maps of urban and private land parcels focusing on the cities of Las Vegas and Henderson, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

Lois Sagel Papers on Nevada Wilderness Preservation
Coll #: MS-00571
Date: 1989-1995
Extent: 0.4 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
The Lois Sagel Papers on Nevada Wilderness Preservation (1989-1995) consist of the papers of Lois Sagel, an environmentalist and advocate for the preservation of Nevada's wilderness. The collection primarily documents the campaigns surrounding the efforts to expand Red Rock Canyon National Conservation Area (1994) as well as to designate the Spring Mountains National Recreation Area (1993). Additionally, it contains information on minor land exchanges and the Question 5/S.B. 189 bond issue to fund state parks (considered in 1989 and 1990). Most of the collection is comprised of newspaper clippings, correspondence, memoranda, photographs, and photo slides.
Link to Collection Guide

MacDonald Ranch Architectural Records
Coll #: MS-00892
Date: 1972-2007
Extent: 45 rolls (11.71 cubic feet, 12.5 linear feet)
The MacDonald Ranch Architectural Records contain master plans, architectural drawings, civil drawings, and landscape drawings primarily detailing the community development process of MacDonald Ranch, one of the oldest and most affluent master-planned communities in Clark County, Nevada between 1972 to 2007. Included are also drawings for MacDonald Highlands and Green Valley Ranch.
Link to Collection Guide

Mark L. Fine Papers
Coll #: MS-00696
Date: 1920-2014
Extent: 7.5 linear feet (7 boxes) ; 813 digital files
The collection dates from 1920 to 2014 and is primarily comprised of business and organizational records, press, photographs, scrapbooks, audiovisual materials, awards, and ephemera documenting Mark L. Fine’s career as a real estate developer in Southern Nevada and his work with various government and community organizations. The bulk of the material dates from 1980 to 2005.
Link to Collection Guide

McLaughlin, Thomas Papers
Coll #: MS-00247
Date: 1937-1985
Extent: 0.4 Linear Feet (1 box)
The Thomas McLaughlin Papers (1937-1985) are comprised of newspaper clippings and other papers about real estate, the Clark County Democratic Party, and local fraternal organizations, especially the Knights of Columbus and the Friendly Sons of Saint Patrick in Las Vegas, Nevada. Materials also include some clippings on McLaughlin's appointment as trustee of the Las Vegas Park Racetrack in 1955.
Link to Collection Guide

McWilliams (John Thomas and Iona) Family Papers
Coll #: MS-00153
Date: approximately 1900-1968
Extent: 4 boxes (1.25 cubic feet, 3.17 linear feet)
Related Materials: 025
The collection consists of letters, greeting cards, survey maps, newspaper clippings, legal papers, photographs, collected recipes, land sales and expense journals, and survey reference books. The material was created or collected by pioneering Nevada surveyor, engineer, and real estate entrepreneur J. T. (John Thomas) McWilliams and his wife, Iona, between 1900 and 1968.
Link to Collection Guide

Moser, John R. Real Estate Appraisal Records
Coll #: MS-00803
Date: 1957-1972
Extent: 2 boxes (0.65 cubic feet, 0.88linear feet)
Collection contains nineteen real estate appraisal reports created by John R. Moser from Las Vegas and rural Southern Nevada (Lincoln and Nye counties) from approximately 1957 to 1972. The reports contain information on the market values of the properties and contextual information explaining the appraisals. This collection also contains photographs and photographic negatives depicting properties, and photographic slides of desert flora and landscapes around Nevada and Idaho such as Groom Mountain Range, White Bird Canyon, Salmon River Valley, Clover Valley, and Ruby Mountains.
Link to Collection Guide

Patent for South Goldfield, Nevada Townsite
Coll #: MS-00026
Date: 1907 November 20
Extent: 1 folder (in shared box); (0.03 cubic feet, 0.04 linear feet)
The Patent for South Goldfield, Nevada Townsite Collection (1907) is a copy of a response to a townsite application for the area south of Goldfield. The application explains that the area can be an official townsite if the correct materials are collected and return to the County Clerk of Esmeralda County, Nevada by January 7, 1908.
Link to Collection Guide

Patrick Egger Southern Nevada Real Estate Records
Coll #: MS-00878
Date: 1969-2012
Extent: 35 boxes and 1 flat file (22.68 cubic feet, 20.96 linear feet)
The Patrick Egger Las Vegas Real Estate Records (1969-2012) contain new housing development brochures, proposed and preliminary plans for housing, apartment, and mobile home developments, and building companies market studies. Also included are bulletins, maps, reports of property and home price increases, surveys of commercial space availability, and analyses of general growth patterns in the Southern Nevada area.
Link to Collection Guide

Pichot, Mary Kozlowski
Coll #: MS-00375
Date: 1969-1991
Extent: 1.3 Linear Feet (3 boxes)
The Mary Kozlowski Pichot Papers document the environmental activism of Mary Kozlowski Pichot from 1969 to 1991. The collection focuses on the environmental groups and planning committees that Pichot belonged to, including Aquavision, the Citizens' Advisory Committee, and Las Vegas 2000 and Beyond. The materials address water conservation plans, pollution alleviation efforts, and strategies to clean the Las Vegas Wash and Las Vegas Bay in Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

San Pedro, Los Angeles and Salt Lake City Railroad
Coll #: MS-00007
Date: 1901-1976 (bulk 1907-1917)
Extent: 24 boxes and 8 oversized boxes (15.67 cubic feet, 20.63 linear feet)
The collection is comprised of records of the San Pedro, Los Angeles & Salt Lake Railroad Company (1901-1976). The construction of this railroad led to the founding of Las Vegas, Nevada and the creation of the Empire Construction Company and Las Vegas Land and Water Company. The records document the company's operations and include correspondence and contracts relating to lots in the Las Vegas townsite, payments and accounts, invoices and other audit materials from 1905 to 1923. The collection also includes the records of the railroad agent at Arden Station, located ten miles south of the Las Vegas Station, which contain correspondence, ledgers, freight and way bills, shipping orders, and telegrams.
Link to Collection Guide

Schwartz (Gilbert) papers
Coll #: MS-00861
Date: 1960s-2008
Extent: 2 boxes, 1 oversized folder (shared box), and 1 unboxed item (1.21 cubic feet, 4.25 linear feet)
The collection documents Gilbert Shwartz's early involvement with the Clark County Sheriff's Mounted Posse and the Elks Club in the early 1960s as well as the growth of his real estate company, Sahara Realty, from 1963 to 2008. The collection includes photographs and programs of the Clark County Sheriff's Mounted Posse Rodeo and programs for the Elks Club Helldorado Days Rodeo from the early 1960s. The collection also includes photographs of Schwartz and his home, slides of Sahara Realty/Realtors advertising around Las Vegas, and autographed team photographs of the Central Little League teams sponsored by Sahara Realty. Also included is a program for the National Association of Real Estate Brokers annual conference held in Las Vegas in 1974.
Link to Collection Guide

Sligar (J.W. ) Land Surveying Notebooks
Coll #: MS-00782
Date: 1973-2002
Extent: 9 boxes (11.55 cubic feet, 9,75 linear feet)
The J.W. Sligar Land Surveying Notebooks (1973-2002) consist of notebooks with measurements, boundaries, construction calculations, and mapping for land surveys of Southern Nevada, principally the Las Vegas Valley. Projects concern both public and private entities. The notebooks were created as a part of J.W. Sligar's work with ALCA Engineering and and Surveying, Inc, as well as for his own company, J.W. Sligar Surveying.
Link to Collection Guide

Southern Nevada Homebuilders Association Records
Coll #: MS-00894
Date: 1974-2015
Extent: 16 boxes (6.58 cubic feet, 7.16 linear feet); 16,735 digital files (5.83 GB)
The Southern Nevada Home Builders Association (SNHBA) records represent the residential construction industry organization's activities from 1974 to 2015. The collection is primarily comprised of copies of SNHBA's newsletter, The Silver Spike, member directories, and event working files and photographs. The collection also includes working files for the awards presented by SNHBA to local home builders on excellence and design in home building: the Homer Awards and Silver Nugget Awards. Working files of SNHBA staff are also found in this collection for committee work, event planning, legislative issues, correspondence, and membership files.
Link to Collection Guide

Taylor (Richard B.) papers
Coll #: MS-00341
Date: 1920-1993 (bulk 1956-1993)
Extent: 9 boxes (3.73 linear feet, 5.46 cubic feet)
The Richard B. Taylor Papers (1920-1993) document Richard Taylor's career and interests as a longtime Las Vegas, Nevada businessman and local historian, including his work as an executive at the Hacienda Hotel and Casino. The materials also include maps, development plans, and local publications for the Nevada communities of Laughlin and Mount Charleston, as well as publicity and promotional materials for these projects. As an amateur historian, Taylor also collected information on Las Vegas, Laughlin, and Mount Charleston.
Link to Collection Guide

Taylor Construction Company Collection
Coll #: MS-00664
Date: 1954-1973
Related Materials: The Stuart Mason Photographs PH-00370 document Taylor Construction projects. View this related collection here: http://d.library.unlv.edu/cdm/search/searchterm/Stuart%20Mason%20Collection/mode/exact
The Taylor Construction Company Collection (1954-1973) consists primarily of publicly distributed information and provides a glimpse of some of the hotels, housing, public buildings, and remodeling projects handled by the company. It contains two booklets on the construction projects of the company from 1954 to 1972. It also includes Las Vegas International Hotel's projected revenues from 1969 to 1973, a newspaper article on Taylor Construction Company projects in Florida, and an invitation to the groundbreaking ceremony for the MGM Grand Hotel. The company was owned and operated successively by Morry Mason, his son Stuart Mason, and Stuart's sons Jim and Bill Mason.
Link to Collection Guide

The Farnsworth Collection on Housing in Clark County, Nevada
Coll #: MS-00497
Date: 1950s-1980s
Extent: 1.67 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
The Farnsworth Collection on Housing in Clark County, Nevada is comprised of Clark County housing development brochures gathered by Las Vegas real estate appraiser Robert Lee Farnsworth Sr. dating from the 1950s-1980s. The collection includes housing developments located in Boulder City, Las Vegas, North Las Vegas, Pahrump, Lake Mead, Henderson, Summerlin, and Downtown Las Vegas. Brochures include price lists, appraisals, and descriptions of various housing developments and communities in Southern Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

Underground House of Las Vegas Collection
Coll #: MS-00594
Date: 1964-2004
Extent: 2 boxes (1.3 cubic feet, 1.08 linear feet); 4 digital files (0.00103 GB)
The Underground House of Las Vegas Collection (1964-2004) consists of newspaper clippings, magazine articles, books, photographic prints, and digital images detailing the construction and history of Girard "Jerry" B. Henderson’s "Underground House," a Las Vegas underground dwelling completed in 1978.
Link to Collection Guide

Wilner Family Collection
Coll #: MS-00810
Date: 1983-2008
Extent: 1 box (1.0 Linear Feet, 1.1 Cubic Feet), 2 Digital Files (2.61 GB)
The Wilner Family Collection is comprised of audiovisual material on real estate in Las Vegas, Nevada collected by Las Vegas real estate agent, Linda C. Wilner. The collection includes informational videos for real estate agents and promotional showcase materials on various real estate developments around Las Vegas including Summerlin, Lake Las Vegas, Turnberry Place, Park Towers, Sun City Anthem, Sun City MacDonald Ranch, and Christopher Homes. This collection also contains a digital surrogate of a scrapbook commemorating Linda Wilner's uncle, Leo Wilner, and his retirement as executive director of Temple Beth Sholom in 1984.
Link to Collection Guide

Wilner Family Collection
Coll #: MS-00810
Date: 1983-2008
Extent: 1 box (1.0 Linear Feet, 1.1 Cubic Feet), 2 Digital Files (2.61 GB)
The Wilner Family Collection is comprised of audiovisual material on real estate in Las Vegas, Nevada collected by Las Vegas real estate agent, Linda C. Wilner. The collection includes informational videos for real estate agents and promotional showcase materials on various real estate developments around Las Vegas including Summerlin, Lake Las Vegas, Turnberry Place, Park Towers, Sun City Anthem, Sun City MacDonald Ranch, and Christopher Homes. This collection also contains a digital surrogate of a scrapbook commemorating Linda Wilner's uncle, Leo Wilner, and his retirement as executive director of Temple Beth Sholom in 1984.
Link to Collection Guide


Ask Us