Manuscripts by Subjects
Manuscripts -> PoliticsTotal manuscripts: 58
Trudell, Harriet
Coll #: MS-00540
Date: 1949-2006
Extent: 1.08 linear feet (1 box)
The Harriet Trudell Papers span 1949-2006. The collection consists of personal items such as items from Trudell's high school, personal correspondence, holiday cards and photos of family, friends, trips and gatherings. Harriet Trudell was a Democratic Party advocate, feminist, Civil Rights activist, campaign advisor, and precinct organizer. The bulk of the collection contains documents from Trudell's various political activities. These items include correspondence from political entities, election memorabilia in the form of buttons and bumper stickers, information on political campaigns, and documents concerning the National Organization of Women (NOW).
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV Libraries Collection of Political Ephemera
Coll #: MS-00995
Date: 1913-1974
Extent: 1 oversized box, 2 flat files (0.29 cubic feet, 2.71 linear feet)
The UNLV Libraries Collection of Political Ephemera (1913-1974) contains political material collected by the University of Nevada, Las Vegas University Libraries, Special Collections and Archives.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV University Libraries Collection of Posters
Coll #: MS-00852
Date: 1891-2002 (bulk 1940-2002)
Extent: 47 flat files, 1 unboxed items (10.58 cubic feet, 27.83 linear feet)
The UNLV University Libraries Collection of Posters is comprised of posters featuring Southern Nevada with a focus on Las Vegas, Nevada, collected by the University Libraries Special Collections and Archives. The material dates between 1891 and 2002, with the bulk of the material dating between 1940 and 2002. The collection includes posters of movies filmed in Las Vegas, casino marketing and advertisement posters, newspaper clippings, political rallies and campaign advertisement posters, and event promotions.
Link to Collection Guide
Van (Garwood and Joan) family papers
Coll #: MS-00825
Date: 1920-2003 (bulk 1930s-1970s)
Extent: 15 boxes (7.27 cubic feet, 14.88 linear feet)
The Garwood and Joan Van Family Papers (1920-2003) contain scrapbooks, photographs, newsletters, correspondence, and newspaper clippings collected by Garwood Van and his wife Joan Van.The collection includes material on Garwood's music career as a popular band leader in New York, California, and Las Vegas, Nevada as well as material about Joan's early life as a model and dancing career.
Link to Collection Guide
van Betten, Herman Papers
Coll #: MS-00805
Date: 1973-1984
Extent: 1.2 linear feet (1 box)
The Herman van Betten Papers contain correspondence, campaign fliers, photographs, conference papers, and newspaper articles regarding his involvement in education, mental health matters, regional planning, and political issues in Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
van Betten, Herman Papers
Coll #: MS-00805
Date: 1973-1984
Extent: 1.2 linear feet (1 box)
The Herman van Betten Papers contain correspondence, campaign fliers, photographs, conference papers, and newspaper articles regarding his involvement in education, mental health matters, regional planning, and political issues in Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Vergiels (John) Political Papers
Coll #: MS-00283
Date: 1964-1997 (inclusive), 1977-1991 (bulk)
Extent: 123 boxes (79.17 cubic feet, 66.79 linear feet)
The John Vergiels Political Papers (1964-1997) contain the professional files from John Vergiels’ career as a Nevada State Assemblyman and Senator. The papers cover a broad range of his activities in office, including committee work and dedication to issues such as education, finance, transportation, government affairs, commerce, labor, and care for people with disabilities. Materials include meeting agendas and minutes, bill drafts and summaries, supporting materials for bills and voting issues, and correspondence from individual and organizational constituents.
Link to Collection Guide
Williams (Aaron) paper
Coll #: MS-00276
Date: 1965-1981 (bulk 1966-1976)
Extent: 2 boxes (0.92 cubic feet, 0.83 linear feet)
Related Materials: 0234
Aaron Williams Papers (1965-1981) consist of scrapbooks, newspaper clippings, scrapbooks, certificates, newspaper clippings, reports, and programs. Many of the clippings and some of the correspondence contain references that give insight into the role of women in North Las Vegas and Clark County, Nevada during the late 1960s and early 1970s. The scrapbooks and newspaper clippings document Williams' career as well as issues he dealt with as councilman and commissioner. These issues include those related to community and infrastructure development, such as airports, sewage treatment plants, senior citizens, health, and urban planning as well as North Las Vegas and Clark county political activities during the late 1960s and early 1970s.
Link to Collection Guide
