Manuscripts by Subjects
Manuscripts -> PioneersTotal manuscripts: 61
Ullom - Brockman Family Papers
Coll #: MS-00211
Date: 1889 -1943
Extent: 0.46 cubic feet, 0.42 linear feet (1 box)
Ullom - Brockman Family Papers (1889-1943) contain correspondence, newspaper clippings, cards, announcements, invitations, and a photographic copy of a family album. There are also employment records for George Brockman from the Las Vegas and Tonopah Railroad Company and a copy of "The Desert Breeze" newspaper.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV Libraries Collection of Biographical Files
Coll #: MS-01049
Date: approximately 1837-2018
Extent: 8 boxes (30.87 cubic feet, 3.00 linear feet)
The UNLV Libraries Collection of Biographical Files (approximately 1837-2018) contains newspaper clippings, ephemera, correspondence, and other relevant biographical information on prominent figures in Southern Nevada history and many individuals and families found in UNLV Special Collections and Archives archival collections.
Link to Collection Guide
Von Tobel Family Papers
Coll #: MS-00589
Date: 1905-1997
Extent: 9 boxes, 1 flat file, 1 roll (7.06 cubic feet, 9.86 linear feet)
The Von Tobel Family Papers (1905-1997) consist of photographs, correspondence, and financial reports pertaining to the early Las Vegas Von Tobel family and their businesses, which they operated in Las Vegas, Nevada. The collection also contains newspaper clippings covering the life of Edward Von Tobel Sr. and some of the operational business records of the Von Tobel Hardware Store No. 301.
Link to Collection Guide
Wengert Family Papers
Coll #: MS-00192
Date: 1900-2000 (bulk 1910-1965)
Extent: 4 boxes, 1 flat file (2.21 cubic feet, 4.75 linear feet)
The Wengert Family Papers (approximately 1900-2000) consist of scrapbooks, newspaper clippings, correspondence, postcards, photographs, and other documents from members of the Wengert family. The Wengert family were members of the Las Vegas, Nevada community since 1907. The collection contains items detailing Lottie Ward Wengert’s life in Iowa before she moved to Las Vegas, Nevada, such as high school and college documents and diplomas, as well as programs and invitations for events in Iowa, Las Vegas, and other cities. The materials regarding Cyril S. Wengert are mostly newspaper clippings about his accomplishments and articles and cards expressing sympathy after his death. Other items include documents from the U-Wah-Un Study Club, of which Shirley Wengert was a member.
Link to Collection Guide
Wheeler (Maria Burston) papers
Coll #: MS-00062
Date: 1850s -1933
Extent: 1 box (shared); 0.1 linear feet
The Maria Burston Wheeler Papers date from approximately the 1850s to 1933 and record Maria Walker's childhood and voyage from Liverpool, England to Salt Lake City, Utah in the United States through her manuscript "My History." The manuscript details her and her family's trans-Atlantic journey as well as her own journey as a married woman, Maria Burston Wheeler, to Las Vegas, Nevada to establish the Mormon Fort located there. Her manuscript details daily life at the fort.
Link to Collection Guide
White Cross Drug Store
Coll #: MS-00628
Date: 1950-1964
Extent: 1.56 cubic feet (1 box)
The White Cross Drug Store Scrapbook (1950-1964) contains photographs, employee training materials, newspaper clippings, advertisements, displays, and some historical narrative and press release material on the history and mission of the White Cross Drug Store. It also includes advertising ephemera and brochures on cosmetic products and perfumes of the early 1950s.
Link to Collection Guide
Willard (George H.) Furrier, Ltd. Scrapbooks
Coll #: MS-00538
Date: 1920s-1955
Extent: 3 oversized boxes (2.65 cubic feet, 4.77 linear feet)
The Willard H. George Furrier, Ltd. Scrapbooks are comprised primarily of three leatherbound scrapbooks containing black-and-white and sepia toned photographs taken from the 1920s through 1955. The scrapbooks feature actresses from Hollywood, California wearing furs designed and created by furrier Willard H. George. Actresses of note include Lucille Ball, Rita Hayworth, and Greta Garbo.
Link to Collection Guide
Wilson (Maurine and Fred) and Park (William S.) audiovisual collection
Coll #: MS-00927
Date: 1900-1979 (bulk 1900-1939)
Extent: 2 boxes, 3 oversized boxes, 6 unboxed items (7.75 cubic feet, 8.93 linear feet)
The Maurine and Fred Wilson and Dr. William S. Park Audiovisual Collection (approximately 1900s-1970s) consist of audiovisual material created by the Wilson and Park families. The materials depict the Park homes in Las Vegas, Nevada; Park and Wilson family members; outdoor activities and vacation trips to California, Colorado, and Mexico. The collection also documents early views of the Kiel Ranch in Las Vegas, Nevada, community parades and events, and early views of Las Vegas in the 1920s.
Link to Collection Guide
Wilson Family Papers
Coll #: MS-00125
Date: 1875-1918
Extent: 2 boxes (1.35 cubic feet, 1.62 linear feet)
Related Materials: 0011
The Wilson Family Papers (1875-1918) document the personal and professional lives of James B. Wilson Sr., James B. Wilson Jr., and George Twison "Tweed" Wilson, early pioneers in Southern Nevada. The collection is comprised of personal correspondence, invoices and advertisements from the Wilson family business, the Sandstone Ranch, and photographs of the extended Wilson family.
Link to Collection Guide
Woodruff (Robert) Papers
Coll #: MS-00455
Date: 1927-2001 (bulk 1937-1989)
Extent: 16 boxes and 1 oversized box (6.12 cubic feet, 8.83 linear feet)
The Robert Woodruff Papers (1927-2001) are comprised of materials documenting Woodruff’s career and family life in Las Vegas and Henderson, Nevada, as well as his travels around the United States and abroad. Materials include newspaper clippings, photographic prints and transparencies, personal correspondence, and publications such as Las Vegas tourist brochures and pamphlets dating from the 1930s and 1940s. Visual materials include portraits, city scenes, and landscapes throughout Nevada and the United States, as well as some photographs of international travels.
Link to Collection Guide
Yount Family Papers
Coll #: MS-00033
Date: 1976, undated
Extent: 0.1 cubic ft (1 shared box)
The Yount Family Papers date to 1976 and document the history of the Yount family. The collection is comprised of a letter from Leonard Fayle to John L. Yount and a brief handwritten history about the Younts. The collection also contains a transcript of an interview with an unknown Yount family member. The Yount family is a pioneer family that helped develop Pahrump, a town in the Southern Nevada area, in the late 1800s.
Link to Collection Guide
