Search Special Collections & Archives
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Pioneers


Total manuscripts: 59

Page 1 of 2

1  2  Next  
(Amie-Pilot) Ruby Papers
Coll #: MS-00102
Date: 1930-2002
Extent: 1 box (0.19 cubic feet, 0.21 linear feet)
The Ruby Amie-Pilot Papers (approximately 1930s-2002) contains newspaper clippings about events in West Las Vegas, Nevada, family photographs, and a memorial program from Robbie Tyler's memorial service. Also included in the collection are newspaper clippings containing a portion of the cartoon series her son Ronald Terry Amie published in the Las Vegas Voice and articles about public commissions of his art work for North Las Vegas.
Link to Collection Guide

Cahlan, Florence and John papers
Coll #: MS-00200
Date: 1929-1983
Extent: 28 boxes (16.37 cubic feet, 15.79 Linear Feet)
The Florence Lee Jones and John Cahlan Papers (1929-1983) contain material created by the couple related to their work at the Las Vegas Review-Journal, their interest in the history of Las Vegas, Nevada, and the promotion of Southern Nevada for business and industry. The collection includes the Cahlan's correspondence as well as newspaper clippings about Las Vegas. It also contains drafts and manuscripts for their book, Water: a History of Las Vegas, commissioned by the Las Vegas Valley Water District.
Link to Collection Guide

Cashman (James Sr.) Papers
Coll #: MS-00144
Date: 1890-1969
Extent: 4 boxes, 1 flat file (1.48 Cubic Feet, 2.28 Linear Feet)
Related Materials: 0013
The James Cashman Sr. Papers date from approximately 1890 to 1969 and contain correspondence, photographs, insurance records, and bank records related to Cashman and his businesses in Southern Nevada. The collection documents the lives of the Cashman family and their businesses in southern Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

Clark (Ed W.) papers
Coll #: MS-00086
Date: 1936-1945
Extent: 2 folders (shared box); 0.02 cubic/linear feet
The Ed W. Clark Papers (1930-1945) contain photographs, a newspaper clipping, an inaugural invitation, and a memorial address delivered in congress for Key Pittman, a United States Senator from Nevada. Also included are National Democratic Convention materials, a Rotary Club bulletin and souvenir booklet, and brochures for various attractions in the Washington, D. C. area.
Link to Collection Guide

Clark (J. Ross) Scrapbook
Coll #: MS-00637
Date: 1897-1972
Extent: 1 oversized box (0.37 cubic feet, 1.10 linear feet)
Related Materials: 0144
The J. Ross Clark Scrapbook dates from approximately 1897 to 1972 and consists of newspaper clippings collected by his wife, Miriam Evans Clark. The clippings relate to professional events in the lives of J. Ross Clark and his brother, Senator William A. Clark. A small number of the clippings refer to births, marriages, and deaths in Miriam Evans and J. Ross Clark's families. Also included are documents written by J. Ross Clark's grand-niece, Dorothy Murdock Dunkley, that offer additional information about the Clark and associated families.
Link to Collection Guide

Cornwall, Beda
Coll #: MS-00001
Date: 1941-1973
Extent: 3.6 Linear Feet (2 boxes and 2 oversized boxes)
The Beda Cornwall Collection on the Citizens' Library Association of Las Vegas consists of material gathered by Beda Brennecke Cornwall that documents the activities of the Citizens' Library Association of Las Vegas during the years 1941 to 1973. Most of the materials document the efforts by the citizens group to raise money in the community to build and sustain a new public library in Las Vegas, Nevada. The remaining part of the collection relates to local and statewide libraries and biographical materials on Beda Cornwall and her husband through various documents and scrapbooks of newspaper clippings.
Link to Collection Guide

Edwards (Elbert) Papers
Coll #: MS-00311
Date: 1869-1988
Extent: 7 boxes (5.62 linear feet, 5.24 cubic feet)
The Elbert Edwards Papers (1869-1988) consist of manuscripts, newspaper clippings, and audio recordings documenting the history of Southern Nevada. The materials were compiled by Las Vegas, Nevada educator Elbert Edwards and contain a heavy emphasis on Mormon history. Other items of interest include biographies of Southern Nevada officials, Boulder City Cemetery genealogical records, and reports from the Clark County School District.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online

Ellsworth (Elmo and Charlotte) Papers
Coll #: MS-00197
Date: 1948-1977
Extent: 1.28 cubic feet (1 box)
The Elmo and Charlotte Ellsworth Papers (1948-1977) are comprised of business correspondence, room reservation records, promotional materials, and photographs from Elmo's employment at the Flamingo and Riviera Hotels in his work of securing conventions. There is also correspondence and promotional materials from his wife Charlotte Ellsworth, who worked as a reservations manager at the Riviera Hotel and the Frontier Hotel in Las Vegas, Nevada and the MGM Grand Hotel in Reno, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

Fayle Family Papers
Coll #: 98-18, 2009-18
Date: 1895-1998 (bulk 1920-1982)
Extent: 25 boxes and 3 flat files (16.04 cubic feet; 17.06 linear feet)
The Fayle Family Papers (1895-1998) document the family's personal and business interests in Goodsprings, Nevada and Las Vegas, Nevada. The collection contains mining documents, business records, and photographs from Leonard Fayle’s work with the Las Vegas Valley Water District, where he documented reservoirs, dams, and both abandoned and functioning mines. The photographs also include family members, vacations, and Southern Nevada fraternal organization pictures.
Link to Collection Guide

Ferron, William E.
Coll #: MS-00061
Date: 1917-1976
Extent: 0.2 Linear Feet (1 box)
Related Materials: 0001
The William E. Ferron Family Papers (1917-1976) are comprised of materials that document the lives of the Ferrons, one of the pioneer families of early Las Vegas, Nevada. It includes biographical material, speeches, and ephemera on patriarch William E. Ferron and his wife, Mary Ruth Cooper Ferron, as well as their two daughters, Barbara Ferron Doyle and Shirley Elizabeth Ferron Swanson.
Link to Collection Guide

Frederickson Family Papers
Coll #: MS-00448
Date: 1904-1917
Extent: 2 boxes (1.03 cubic feet, 1.77 linear feet)
The Frederickson Family Papers (1904-1917) contain documents and photographs related to Goodsprings, Nevada settlers John C. and Elizabeth Frederickson. Materials include bank statements, mining statements, personal correspondence, and college notes.
Link to Collection Guide

Garside, Sherwin "Scoop" Papers
Coll #: MS-00342
Date: 1930-1983
Extent: 3.54 cubic feet (6 boxes)
Collection is comprised of the papers of Las Vegas journalist Sherwin "Scoop" The Sherwin "Scoop" Garside Papers comprise photographs and documents of Las Vegas Review-Journal writer and photographer Scoop Garside. The collection dates from 1930 to 1983 and includes publicity photos of the Old Spanish Trail, correspondence from the Nevada State Centennial Commission, history of mines (Tonopah, Goldfield, Bullfrog), copies of articles written by Garside, family photos and general photographs of people and places, negatives of Las Vegas, Nevada; Searchlight, Nevada; St. George, Utah; and several unlabeled negatives.
Link to Collection Guide

George (Sadie and Hampton) papers
Coll #: MS-00434
Date: 1874-1944 (bulk 1900-1920)
Extent: 5 boxes (1.61 cubic feet, 1.46 linear feet)
The Sadie and Hampton George Papers (1874-1944) consist primarily of the incoming and outgoing correspondence of Sadie Kiel George and her husband, Hampton George, regarding proposed land and mineral rights sales. The collection also includes some personal correspondence, and two of the most significant letters in the collection deal with the deaths of brothers William and Edward Kiel, Sadie's uncles, who were found dead at the Kiel Ranch in October 1900. Also included in the collection are receipts, cancelled checks, tax notices, mining claims, and land deeds.
Link to Collection Guide

Gillhouse, Eva papers
Coll #: MS-00148
Date: 1951 - 1967
Extent: .45 cubic feet (1 box)
Related Materials: 0032
The Eva Gillhouse Papers (1951-1967) consist of correspondence, Mesquite Club newsletters, and an original foreword from the book on Frank "Pistol Pete" Eaton by Gillhouse. Also included are documented speeches presented to local clubs in Southern Nevada, periodicals, miscellaneous publications, and newspaper clippings.
Link to Collection Guide

Ham (Artemus) Family Papers
Coll #: MS-00056
Date: 1857-1970 (bulk 1906-1970)
Extent: 4 folders (1 shared box) and 1 flat file (0.02 cubic feet; 1.68 linear feet)
Related Materials: 0012
The Artemus W. Ham Family Papers (1857-1970) contain postcards written by family members, newspaper clippings about the Ham family, and a Nevada Senate Concurrent Resolution memorializing Artemus W. Ham, Sr. Also included are genealogy notes, a commencement program from Michigan Law School, and membership cards of Artemus W. Ham, Sr.
Link to Collection Guide

Hammond, Lena
Coll #: MS-00635
Date: 1910-1920s
Extent: 1 linear foot (1 oversize box)
Collection contains a scrapbook and photo album of miscellaneous family photos of picnics, posing in Sunday best, etc. circa 1920's. Also included are newspaper articles from the Tonopah Times Bonanza about the history of and behind the local school, local mines, the railroad etc. and a legal document declaring the executor of the estate of Teresa M. Kendall.

Harmon Family Papers
Coll #: MS-00301
Date: 1910-1999 (bulk 1910-1961)
Extent: 7 boxes, 4 oversized boxes, 1 flat file (5.35 cubic feet, 12.82 linear feet)
The Harmon Family Papers consist of the political and personal correspondence of Las Vegas, Nevada pioneer Harley A. Harmon from 1910-1934, and his son, Harley E. Harmon, from 1950-1966. The collection also includes correspondence, personal papers, and photographs of Harley L. Harmon from approximately 1950 to 1999. Also included are family scrapbooks with wedding announcements, photographs, birthday cards, newspaper clippings, and other ephemera.
Link to Collection Guide

Harrington, Elizabeth
Coll #: MS-00220
Date: 1975 - 1979
Extent: 0.21 linear feet, 0.23 cubic feet (1 box)
Related Materials: 0291
This collection contains the original drafts of the thirteen essays that Elizabeth Harrington wrote about her life in early Las Vegas, Nevada. These articles were written from her memory and experiences of life in Las Vegas beginning in the early 1900s, and were published in the Nevadan section of the Las Vegas Review-Journal from 1975-1979.
Link to Collection Guide

Henderson, Albert S. papers
Coll #: MS-00191
Date: 1879-1962 (bulk 1946-1960)
Extent: 0.37 cubic feet (1 box; 1 oversize folder)
This collection is comprised of the papers of A. S. Henderson, a native Nevadan who served on the Eighth Judicial District Court of the State of Nevada from 1946 to 1960. The collection focuses primarily on his prominent career as a district court judge in Las Vegas. Little is mentioned about his service as an educator, district attorney, or legislator. Types of documents in the collection include Henderson's correspondence, campaign statements, certificates and proclamations, his memorial book, newspaper clippings, an 1879 edition of Eureka and Its Resources, and ephemera.
Link to Collection Guide

Iaconis, Stella Champo Papers
Coll #: MS-00122
Date: 1927-1928
Extent: 0.1 linear feet (1 folder, shared box)
Related Materials: 0190
The Stella Champo Iaconis Papers consist of a certificate for proficiency in Rapid Legible Business Writing from the Palmer Method of Business Writing given on May 11, 1927; a certificate of promotion to high school in Clark County, Nevada dated May 25, 1927; and an autograph book signed by classmates at Las Vegas High School in Las Vegas, Nevada in 1928.
Link to Collection Guide

Kiel Family Photographs
Coll #: MS-00838
Date: 1893-1904
Extent: 1 box and 2 hanging files (0.45 cubic feet, 0.5 linear feet)
The Kiel Family Photographs (1893-1904) consists of 45 glass plate negatives and 43 black-and-white photographic prints of members of the Kiel and George families, as well as neighbors from the Stewart and Wilson ranches and ranch workers. The majority of the photographs were taken at the Kiel Ranch site in North Las Vegas, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

Lake - Eglington Family Papers
Coll #: MS-00142
Date: 1905-1983
Extent: 0.19 Cubic Feet (1 box, 1 flat file)
Related Materials: 0010
The Lake - Eglington Family Papers (1905-1983) consist of correspondence, school records, newsclippings, and ephemera collected by Olive Lake - Eglington, a resident of Las Vegas, Nevada from 1904 until the early 1980s. Materials document the early pioneer history of southern Nevada. Items of unique interest in the collection include a 1907 temperance pledge and World War II ration books from 1943.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas High School Class of 1929 Collection
Coll #: MS-00632
Date: 1921-1979
Extent: 1 oversize box, 1 flat file (0.66 cubic feet, 4.33 linear feet)
The Las Vegas High School Class of 1929 Collection (1921-1979) contains materials relating to the Las Vegas High School graduating class of 1929. Materials include a scrapbook with photographs, pamphlets, fliers, and newspaper clippings from the thirtieth, fortieth, forty-fifth, and fiftieth reunions, as well as poster boards and oversized photographs from the 1920s.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas High School Tales of Las Vegas Collection
Coll #: MS-00030
Date: 1924 - 1925
Extent: 2 folders (in shared box); (0.10 cubic feet, 0.10 linear feet)
Related Materials: Mss6
The Las Vegas High School Tales of Las Vegas Collection consists of two hand-bound books written by the 1924 Class of Modern History and the 1925 Class of United States History at Las Vegas High School. The two books, both entitled "Tales of Las Vegas", chronicle Las Vegas, Nevada history starting in the 17th century with the Spanish Jesuits Franciscan Monks. The books then focus on the 1905 "boom" stage of Las Vegas, discussing topics including Mormons, Native Americans, and mining. The two books are similar in content but not identical, and both contain photographs of early Las Vegas, Nevada life.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas Library Regional History Files Collection
Coll #: MS-00809
Date: 1909-2007
Extent: 33.37 cubic feet, 28.17 linear feet (24 boxes)
Collection is comprised primarily of newspaper clippings on various topics related to Las Vegas, Nevada and Southern Nevada spanning from 1909 to 2007. The files were gathered and organized by the Las Vegas Library and include topics such as ghost towns in the Southwest and Western region of the United States, politics and government, education, gaming, and religious life in Las Vegas and Nevada. The files document topics of interest to the residents of Nevada. The files also contain biographical information on prominent individuals associated with Las Vegas and Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas Township Inspector of Elections Tally Books
Coll #: MS-00029
Date: 1911 June 01
Extent: 1 shared box (0.02 cubic feet, 0.02 linear feet)
The Las Vegas Township Inspector of Elections Tally Books date to 1911 and contain the tally books for the June 1, 1911 Las Vegas, Nevada Township local election, a list of all the eligible voters for the year, as well as the outcome of the elections. Edward W. Griffith and Ernest L. Fenner were the appointed election inspectors.
Link to Collection Guide

Levy Family Papers
Coll #: MS-00814
Date: 1928-1989
Extent: 6 boxes, 2 flat files (9.3 Linear Feet, 3.8 Cubic Feet)
Collection is comprised of scrapbooks, photographs, awards and certificates, and ephemera mainly dating from approximately the 1950s to 1970s gathered by the Levy family of Las Vegas, Nevada. This collection documents the personal and professional lives of three generations in the Levy family: Harry C. Levy, Al Levy, and Andrew “Drew” Levy. Materials in this collection also include photographs and clippings about the Levy Realty Company and about the various public positions held by Harry C. Levy, such as Las Vegas city commissioner.
Link to Collection Guide

Logan, Jackie Boor
Coll #: MS-00582
Date: 1833-2011
Extent: 0.21 linear feet, 0.19 (1 box)
The Jackie Boor Logan Papers (1833-2011) contain articles, correspondence, copies of photographs, newspaper clippings, and other genealogical information on the Logan family. The bulk of the material begins with the shooting death of Tonopah, Nevada Sheriff Tom Logan in 1906.
Link to Collection Guide

Lyman (Marguerite Rice) Papers on Southern Nevada History
Coll #: MS-00081
Date: 1960-1969
Extent: 1 folder (shared box), (0.01 cubic feet, 0.1 linear feet)
The Marguerite Rice Lyman Papers on Southern Nevada History (1960-1969) consists of six typescripts concerning the history of Nevada. The collection includes information about the Muddy Mission, the history of Spring Valley, Mads Jorgensen, and profiles of Rice family pioneers. It also includes information about Mormon church activities within Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

Mack, Joyce Papers
Coll #: MS-00732
Date: 1970s - 2014
Extent: 21 Digital Files transferred electronically; no physical carrier
The Joyce Mack Papers are mainly comprised of photographs and ephemera documenting Joyce Mack and her family from the 1970s to 2014. Photographs in the collection depict political and community events, the Mack family, and their interaction with politicians. An invitation, newspaper clipping, and transcript of a speech by Joyce Mack document various honors that were bestowed upon Joyce Mack and her husband, Jerome D. "Jerry" Mack.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online

Marshall, Gladys Boggs Papers
Coll #: MS-00149
Date: 1907-1974
Extent: 1 box, 1 oversize box (0.85 cubic feet, 1.56 linear feet)
The Gladys Boggs Marshall Papers consist of various artistic works created by Gladys Boggs Marshall, written from 1907 to 1974. The papers include several of her poems, a manuscript draft of an unfinished paper "History and Story of Las Vegas," a scrapbook of family photographs, sheet music, and newspaper clippings.
Link to Collection Guide

McGonagill, Irma
Coll #: MS-00151
Date: 1907-1970
Extent: 0.21 Linear Feet, 0.19 Cubic Feet (1 box)
Related Materials: PH-0246
The Irma McGonagill Papers (1907-1970) document her life in Tonopah, Nevada. The collection includes handwritten notes about her life in Tonopah, a stock certificate from the Silver Bow mine, and correspondence with Nanelia S. Doughty about life in Tonopah.
Link to Collection Guide

McWilliams (John Thomas and Iona) Family Papers
Coll #: MS-00153
Date: approximately 1900-1968
Extent: 4 boxes (1.25 cubic feet, 3.17 linear feet)
Related Materials: 025
The collection consists of letters, greeting cards, survey maps, newspaper clippings, legal papers, photographs, collected recipes, land sales and expense journals, and survey reference books. The material was created or collected by pioneering Nevada surveyor, engineer, and real estate entrepreneur J. T. (John Thomas) McWilliams and his wife, Iona, between 1900 and 1968.
Link to Collection Guide

Miller (Linda) Papers
Coll #: MS-00591
Date: 2008-2018
Extent: 2 boxes (0.83 cubic feet, 0.92 linear feet)
The Linda Miller Papers date from 2008 to 2018 and document Dr. Linda Miller's chatauqua work portraying Las Vegas pioneer Helen Stewart at historical events in Southern Nevada. The collection also documents Miller's efforts to erect a statue of Helen Stewart at the Las Vegas, Nevada Old Mormon Fort. The collection consists of a scrapbook documenting Miller's appearances as Helen Stewart, video recordings on optical discs, and unbound scrapbook pages. Photographs and newspaper clippings are included in the scrapbook.
Link to Collection Guide

Monson (Fred A. and Clara G.) papers
Coll #: MS-00207
Date: 1860s-1977 (bulk 1929-1969)
Extent: 2 boxes and 1 flat file (1.35 cubic feet, 2.75 linear feet)
The Fred A. and Clara G. Monson Papers (1860s-1976) consist of photographs, postcards, scrapbooks, greeting and sympathy cards, and documents related to Fred Monson's employment and the Monson's Las Vegas "Rock House" residence.
Link to Collection Guide

Mortensen, Verna Papers
Coll #: MS-00163
Date: 1966-1979
Extent: 0.2 linear feet (1 box)
Related Materials: Verna Mortensen Photograph Collection, PH-00089.
The Verna Mortensen Papers date from 1966 to 1979 and document the work of the Daughters of the Utah Pioneers Clark County chapter to preserve and restore the Las Vegas, Nevada Mormon Fort. The collection contains newspaper clippings, notes, and a grant application for the Mormon Fort. It also includes an undated article about the history of the Las Vegas area and two eulogies given for Verna Mortensen.
Link to Collection Guide

Nevada Burial Records of Stewart Ranch
Coll #: MS-00031
Date: 1905 -1913
Extent: 0.1 linear feet (shared box)
The Nevada Burial Records of Stewart Ranch date from 1905 to 1913 and consist of a ledger recording those buried at Stewart Ranch, an area that eventually became Las Vegas, Nevada. The entries in the ledger document the names of the deceased and where they died. Some entries have additional information explaining how the person died and their height and weight.
Link to Collection Guide

Rockwell (Leon) Papers
Coll #: MS-00013
Date: 1829-1986 (bulk 1906-1968)
Extent: 13 boxes (6.85 Cubic Feet, 7.71 Linear Feet)
The Leon Rockwell Papers, 1829-1986 (bulk dates 1906-1968), consist of materials that document Leon Rockwell's life in Las Vegas, Nevada from 1906 until his death in 1968. Included are diaries, correspondence, photographs, postcards, Las Vegas community event programs, ledger sheets, business cards, and scrapbooks. There are a number of books, information on organizations and businesses that Rockwell owned, real estate documents, and early records of the Las Vegas Volunteer Fire Department, of which Rockwell was an original member.
Link to Collection Guide

Rockwell, Earl Papers
Coll #: MS-00145
Date: 1852-1978
Extent: 1 box and 1 flat file (0.68 cubic feet, 2.62 linear feet)
The Earl Rockwell Papers (1852-1978) consists of newspaper clippings, diaries, books, correspondence, and ephemera related to Las Vegas, Nevada pioneer Earl Rockwell. The collection documents Rockwell’s life in Las Vegas and Elmira, New York and also contains seven nineteenth-century diaries that belonged to Rockwell’s grandmother, Amanda Brees.
Link to Collection Guide

Romans (Lorenzo) Papers
Coll #: MS-00173
Date: 1875-1965 (bulk 1890-1950)
Extent: 1 oversized box, 1 oversized folder (0.80 cubic feet, 3.27 linear feet)
The Lorenzo Romans Papers (1875-1965) are comprised of photographs, newspaper clippings, a family photograph album, a diary, a diploma, and related ephemera. The materials were owned by Lorenzo Romans, a California real estate developer who moved to Las Vegas late in life after a short visit to Helen Stewart's Las Vegas Rancho in 1894.
Link to Collection Guide

Ronzone Family Papers
Coll #: MS-00509
Date: 1900-1991
Extent: 1.75 Cubic Feet (3 boxes)
Ronzone Family Papers (1900-1991) include newspaper clippings, business documents, correspondence, certificates, yearbooks, publications, artifacts, and photographs. The papers document their lives in Nevada, their department store, and Dick Ronzone's involvement in local politics.
Link to Collection Guide

San Pedro, Los Angeles and Salt Lake City Railroad
Coll #: MS-00007
Date: 1901-1976 (bulk 1907-1917)
Extent: 24 boxes and 8 oversized boxes (15.67 cubic feet, 20.63 linear feet)
The collection is comprised of records of the San Pedro, Los Angeles & Salt Lake Railroad Company (1901-1976). The construction of this railroad led to the founding of Las Vegas, Nevada and the creation of the Empire Construction Company and Las Vegas Land and Water Company. The records document the company's operations and include correspondence and contracts relating to lots in the Las Vegas townsite, payments and accounts, invoices and other audit materials from 1905 to 1923. The collection also includes the records of the railroad agent at Arden Station, located ten miles south of the Las Vegas Station, which contain correspondence, ledgers, freight and way bills, shipping orders, and telegrams.
Link to Collection Guide

Sandstone Ranch Collection
Coll #: MS-00871
Date: 1907-1941
Extent: 1 box (0.46 cubic feet, 0.42 linear feet)
The collection is comprised of bank statements, letters, miscellaneous papers, and photographs relating to the Wilson family from 1907 to 1941. The collection includes information about the financial aspect of the Wilson Ranch, later renamed the Sandstone Ranch, located outside of Las Vegas, Nevada. The collection includes information about the personal lives of those working on the including contracts about grazing cattle, selling cattle, and appropriation of water.
Link to Collection Guide

Slavin Family Papers
Coll #: MS-00362
Date: 1905 - 1965
Extent: 2 boxes (2.81 linear feet, 1.73 cubic feet)
The Slavin Family Papers (1905-1965) are materials related to Hale B. Slavin, a doctor who practiced in Las Vegas, Nevada from 1933 until his death in 1965, his wife Ruth Slavin, and his children, Thomas and Sarah Slavin. The collection includes memorabilia of events and commemorations, Hale B. Slavin's schoolwork from elementary through college, Thomas and Sarah Slavin's elementary school work, photographs, family correspondence, postcards, a diploma, and newspaper clippings.
Link to Collection Guide

Squires (Charles P. and Delphine) Collection
Coll #: MS-00009
Date: 1882-1964 (bulk 1905-1964)
Extent: 4 boxes, 1 flat file (3.67 linear feet, 1.84 cubic feet)
Related Materials: 0002
The Charles P. and Delphine Squires Papers from 1882 to 1964, with bulk dates from 1905 to 1964, contain book and short story manuscripts, articles, press releases, newspaper clippings, and radio scripts written by Squires and his wife, all relating to their early life in Las Vegas. Also included are report cards, certificates, Parent Teacher Association material, Mesquite Club records and church activity materials.
Link to Collection Guide

Stewart (George) personal papers
Coll #: MS-00828
Date: 1914-2003 (bulk 1930-1959)
Extent: 1.22 cubic feet, 1.98 linear feet (2 boxes, 1 oversized box)
The George Stewart Personal Papers (1914-2003) are comprised of military records and personal papers of George Stewart, a fifty-year Las Vegas, Nevada resident. The collection includes information about the Clark County Republican Party, Stewart's service in the United States Army Air Forces, and documents and photographs from Stewart's childhood in the Boy Scouts of America during the 1930s and 1940s. The collection also contains a personal scrapbook containing photographs, fliers, and memorabilia from his early education and military training. Stewart also collected menus and keychainsrings from local Las Vegas, Nevada country clubs and casinos.
Link to Collection Guide

Stewart, Helen J.
Coll #: MS-00171
Date: 1869-1978
Extent: 4 boxes, 1 oversized folder (1.84 cubic feet, 2.67 linear feet)
Related Materials: 0104
The Helen J. Stewart Papers (1869-1978) document the life of Las Vegas, Nevada pioneer, Helen J. Stewart. It includes correspondence between Stewart and her children as well as various family legal papers and certificates. The collection also contains Helen J. Stewart's 70th birthday scrapbook, a ledger, and a day book from 1904-1919, as well as several photo albums and information related to the family burial plot.
Link to Collection Guide

Stewart, William M.
Coll #: MS-00071
Date: 1854 - 1872
Extent: 0.1 Linear Feet (1 folder), (shared box)
William M. Stewart Correspondence is primarily comprised of handwritten letters addressed to U.S. Senator William Morris Stewart, between 1854 and 1872. Many of the letters were written during his first term in office. Also included is one document about the reappointment of a postmaster of Sutro, Nevada, and a manuscript telegram from Frances P. Hayes about the territorial organization and judicate district in Indian Territory.
Link to Collection Guide

Syphus-Bunker Papers
Coll #: MS-00169
Date: 1891 -1994 (bulk 1891-1895)
Extent: 2 boxes (1.65 cubic feet, 1.5 linear feet)
The Syphus-Bunker Papers date from 1891 to 1994, with the majority of the collection consisting of correspondence between Mary Etta Syphus and John Mathieson Bunker from 1891 to 1895. The collection also contains correspondence from friends and relatives, and documentation related to Mary Etta Syphus' attendance at Brigham Young Academy Church Normal Training School. Other materials include family history information and two color photographs of family homes. The collection also includes typed transcripts of the correspondence.
Link to Collection Guide

Ullom - Brockman Family Papers
Coll #: MS-00211
Date: 1889 -1943
Extent: 0.46 cubic feet, 0.42 linear feet (1 box)
Ullom - Brockman Family Papers (1889-1943) contain correspondence, newspaper clippings, cards, announcements, invitations, and a photographic copy of a family album. There are also employment records for George Brockman from the Las Vegas and Tonopah Railroad Company and a copy of "The Desert Breeze" newspaper.
Link to Collection Guide

Page 1 of 2

1  2  Next  

Ask Us