Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections & Archives
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Nevada Test Site/Yucca Mountain/Nuclear Waste


Total manuscripts: 18

"Baneberry" Nuclear Test, Trial Records
Coll #: MS-00019
Date: 1969-1989
Extent: 5.72 cubic feet, 5.25 linear feet. (13 boxes)
Location: MS 1:5:5-1:6:1
The "Baneberry" Nuclear Test, Trial Records (1969-1989) contain documents of a federal court case regarding a 1970 Nevada Test Site nuclear test and the resultant radioactive cloud which may have exposed and subsequently injured the test site workers. The consolidated suits, William Nunamaker vs. the United States and Harley Roberts vs. the United States, came to trial January 1979, in Federal District Court, Las Vegas, U.S. District Judge Roger Foley presiding. The materials in the collection consist of court documents, such as transcripts of the trial, briefs, findings and statements, an appeal, orders, defense and plaintiff exhibits, and indices to the exhibits and witnesses as well as a glossary of terms.
Link to Collection Guide

Alice P. Broudy Papers on Broudy v United States
Coll #: MS-00097
Date: 1940-2018
Extent: 105 boxes, 3 oversize boxes, and 2 flat files (54.02 cubic feet, 54.41 linear feet)
Location: A 1.1.2 - A 1.3.3, RS 2.1.5, MS MC 11:D
The Alice P. Broudy Papers on Broudy v United States (1940-2018) comprise materials collected and created by the wife of Charles A. Broudy during her effort to obtain compensation for his death in 1977, which she believed to be a result of repeated radiation exposure. Materials include government documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), correspondence, memos, litigation papers, scholarly reports and articles on radiation exposure and its effects, congressional testimony, speeches, newspaper clippings, books and audiovisual materials. Also included are photographs, slides, and one box of Alice "Pat" Broudy's personal papers. There are two boxes of papers that remain unprocessed.
Link to Collection Guide

Beam, Bill Papers
Coll #: MS-00531
Date: 1955-2004
Extent: 1.05 Linear Feet (1 box), 1.15 Cubic Feet
Location: 12:12:6
The Bill Beam Papers document the career of miner and poetry enthusiast Bill (William) Beam from 1955 to 2004. The papers contain mining materials, photographs, and poetry from mines Beam worked in around the Southwestern United States. Also included are two albums of photographs from the Nevada Test Site.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online

Campbell, John F. papers
Coll #: MS-00532
Date: 1964-2004
Extent: 3 Linear Feet (4 boxes, 1 flat file)
Location: MS 11.9.5, Map Case 11:C
The John F. Campbell Papers (1964-2004) are comprised of material from his 27 years working at the Nevada Test Site (NTS) as an engineer and mine supervisor. Included is information about the various tunnels used for nuclear testing that Campbell worked on, completion schedules, maps, and photographs. Also included are newspaper clippings, newsletters, bulletins, and pamphlets connected with or relating to the Test Site. There are awards, correspondence, and medical papers that reference illnesses of Test Site workers.
Link to Collection Guide

Citizen Alert Records
Coll #: MS-00415
Date: 1971-1999 (bulk 1988-1996)
Extent: 8 boxes (7.19 cubic feet, 6.67 linear feet)
Location: MS 8.12.1 - 8.12.3
Citizen Alert is a Nevada-based environmental organization established in 1975 in response to Yucca Mountain being considered as the repository for the nation's nuclear waste. The records in the collection date from 1971-1999, with the bulk of the records from 1988-1996 and focused on issues of concern to Southern Nevada. The collection includes a large subject and administration file containing the organization’s mailings, fliers and newsletters regarding environmental issues and events, newsletters of other environmental organizations, press releases and brochures from a number of government agencies, and newspaper clippings on specific environmental topics. The collection also contains a number of environmental reports from federal, state, and local agencies as well as a number of conference and activist packets.
Link to Collection Guide

Environmental Radiation Protection Standards for Yucca Mountain, Nevada
Coll #: MS-00603
Date: 1957-2010
Extent: 59 boxes (75.73 cubic feet, 63.02 linear feet)
Location: LASR
The Environmental Radiation Protection Standards for Yucca Mountain, Nevada collection (1957-2010) is an information docket established by the U. S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). The collection contains documents supporting the development of regulatory decisions by the EPA on radiation protection standards for Yucca Mountain, Nevada, evaluating it as a potential site for a radioactive waste storage repository. The collection includes regulatory notices, technical documents, environmental reports, letters, minutes of meetings, public comments, and other materials.
Link to Collection Guide

Halligan, Edward
Coll #: MS-00168
Date: 1962-1966
Extent: 0.19 Cubic Feet (1 box)
Location: 1:12:4
The Edward Halligan Papers (1962-1966) contain instructions and booklets on atomic testing, newspaper clippings, and newsletters. There is information on the underground detonations of "Project Long Shot," and "Project Rover" that took place at the Nevada Test Site. Also included is a speech, given by Halligan, titled "Technical Operations on Project Long Shot."
Link to Collection Guide

Human Radiation Experiments
Coll #: MS-00776
Date: 1949-1955
Extent: 3 boxes (1.53 cubic feet, 1.29 linear feet)
Location: A 1.03.3
The Human Radiation Experiments Records (1949-1995) contain reports from the National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA), the Advisory Committee on Human Radiation Experiments (ACHRE), and the U. S. Department of Energy (DOE). Also included are newspaper clippings, a court case brought by the National Association of Radiation Surveys (NARS), and cancer research papers. With the goal of building an atomic bomb using plutonium extracted from uranium, the material also examines the outcomes of radiation exposure done on humans during the late 1940s and early 1950s at the Oak Ridge Nuclear Facility in Tennessee.
Link to Collection Guide

Kauffman, Gay Nevada Test Site Papers
Coll #: MS-00535
Date: 1955-1967
Extent: 1 box, 1 flat file (0.44 cubic feet, 2.21 linear feet)
Location: MS 13:5:1, MS Map Case 11:N
The collection includes materials from the Nevada Test Site (1955-1967) including newsletters published by the Reynolds Electrical & Engineering Co., Inc. and photographs of Southern Nevada flora, fauna, and archaeology. It also includes photographs of test explosions at the Nevada Test Site, as well as photographs documenting a visit from North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) officials and a visit from John F. Kennedy to the Nevada Test Site. The collection also contains an oversized poster of an atomic explosion and one of a nuclear rocket development station.
Link to Collection Guide

McMillan, Marie
Coll #: MS-00482
Date: 1928-2010
Extent: 10.5 Linear Feet (25 boxes)
Location: MS 10:3:3 - 10:3:6, RS 2.5.1
The Marie McMillan Papers include Marie McMillan, Elisha "Duke" Daly, and Dr. James B. McMillan's papers about their families and careers from 1928-2010. Included are photographs, biographical materials, newspaper clippings, award certificates, programs, obituaries, scrapbooks, trophies, legal and military documents, and political campaign documents.
Link to Collection Guide

Mountain West's Yucca Mountain Socioeconomic Project Records
Coll #: MS-00756
Date: 1970-1994
Extent: 2.17 linear feet, 2.57 cubic feet (2 boxes)
Location: MS 12.04.6
The Mountain West's Yucca Mountain Socioeconomic Project Records (1987-1994) contain Reports on the effects to indigenous peoples, flora and fauna, and transportation relating to the deposits of nuclear waste in Yucca Mountain, Nevada. Nevada counties studied were Nye, Lincoln, Esmeralda, and Clark. Also included are analysis and impact assessments, and an oral history of Ed Slavin, a Tonopah, Nevada resident.
Link to Collection Guide

Nevada Desert Experience Records
Coll #: MS-00524
Date: 1957-2007
Extent: 21.3 Linear Feet (24 boxes)
Location: MS 11.12.5 - 11.12.6; MS 12.12.1 - 12.12.6; A 1.8.3 - 1.8.6
The Nevada Desert Experience Records (1957-2007) comprise the files of the anti-nuclear organization called the Nevada Desert Experience (NDE) and the NDE's predecessors, the unincorporated Nevada Test Site protests and the Sagebrush Alliance. Materials document the NDE's anti-nuclear activism, including protests such as the August Desert Witness (1985-2005), the Lenten Desert Experience (1982-2006), and the Millennium 2000 protests (1999-2000). The records date from 1957 to 2007 and include administrative files, publications, photographs, conference notes, government reports, speeches, audio and video recordings of NDE events and interviews, and files on organizations related to the NDE.
Link to Collection Guide

Nevada Test Site Roadrunners Special Projects Collection on Reconnaissance Aircraft
Coll #: MS-00761
Date: 1965-1998 (bulk 1965-1971)
Extent: 3 boxes (0.93 cubic feet, 1.04 linear feet)
Location: 13.05.2
The Nevada Test Site Roadrunners Special Projects Collection on Reconnaissance Aircraft dates from 1965 to 1998 and contains flight manuals, technical manuals, pilot information, and photographs pertaining to reconnaissance aircraft and programs. The collection includes four A-12 technical manuals, National Air and Space Intelligence Center publications, and a list of pilots who flew the U-2 (Dragon Lady) aircraft from 1955 to 1993. Twenty of the twenty-eight photographs are color prints and include cockpit and flight images.
Link to Collection Guide

Olsen (Cliff) Professional Papers
Coll #: MS-00529
Date: 1949-2006
Extent: 7 boxes (6.99 cubic feet, 6.34 linear feet)
Location: MS 12:10:1 - 12:10:3
The collection, 1949 to 2006, was compiled by Clifford Olsen, a containment physicist at the Nevada Test Site (NTS). It consists of research notes and working papers written by Olsen and other scientists, publications, epoxy aggregate samples, work-related correspondence, nuclear-test-event data, and interviews conducted by Olsen with work colleagues involved with the NTS.
Link to Collection Guide

Roth, George Knox collection
Coll #: MS-00238
Date: 1959-1980
Extent: 20 boxes, 1 oversized box (10.92 cubic feet, 10.98 linear feet)
Location: MS 2.2.6, MS 2.2.1, B 1.8.1 - 1.8.3
The George Knox Roth Collection (1959-1980) consists of newspaper clippings (including photocopies), magazine articles, newsletters, technical reports and publications, correspondence, notes, and photographs relating to the Atomic Energy Commission, the environmental impact of nuclear testing in Nevada, Nevada mining, Airwest and the Hughes Airport, and other aspects of Howard Hughes’ Nevada operations. The George Knox Roth Collection also includes correspondence and expense reports related to his own company, General Research Consultants.
Link to Collection Guide

Smith (Jack Livingston and Jacquelynn) Papers
Coll #: MS-00863
Date: 1942-2002
Extent: 3 boxes and 1 flat file (1.3 cubic feet, 4.13 linear feet)
Location: MS 2.8.3 - 2.8.4, MS RS 2.3.4; MS MC 11:G
The collection is comprise of correspondence, magazines, photographs, and brochures relating to the Nevada Test Site outside of Las Vegas, Nevada and the Los Alamos Scientific Laboratory in New Mexico dating from 1942 to 2002. The collection was compiled by Jack Livingston and Jacquelynn Smith during their time working at various defense industry locations.

William Geagley Collection on Nuclear Safety
Coll #: MS-00792
Date: 1951-1960
Extent: 1 box (0.6 linear feet, 0.58 linear feet)
Location: MS 12:2:3
The William Geagley Collection on Nuclear Safety contains government publications, memoranda, and pamphlets about counteracting nuclear contamination of food supplies from 1951 to 1960. The materials primarily document Geagley’s oversight of the development of food safety contingency plans for the Michigan Department of Agriculture. The materials also contain information relating to the Nevada Test Site’s plans for Operation Plumbbob, atmospheric and underground nuclear tests held in 1957 in Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

Yucca Mountain Environmental Safety Reports Collection
Coll #: MS-00786
Date: 1970-2011 (inclusive); 1985-2011 (bulk)
Extent: 35 boxes (22.7 cubic feet, 20.59 linear feet)
Location: A 3.1.1 - A 3.1.7, A 3.2.7
The Yucca Mountain Environmental Safety Collection consists of reports and impact studies collected by Clark County's Nuclear Waste Division library for documenting Yucca Mountain's potential health and safety risks to Southern Nevada. The reports contain documents pertaining to potential environmental, health, financial, and safety risks from the Yucca Mountain Nuclear Waste Repository, which is located in Nye County, Nevada. The collection contains scientific and social studies in support of and opposition to the site. The bulk of the collection includes licensing reports, site selection studies, and impact studies from transporting, storing, and handling radioactive waste and spent nuclear fuel.
Link to Collection Guide