Manuscripts by Subjects
Manuscripts -> ManuscriptsTotal manuscripts: 84
O'Brien (Matthew) papers
Coll #: MS-00849
Date: 2001-2011
Extent: 5 boxes, 1 flat folder (2.96 cubic feet, 6.27 linear feet); 560 digital files (0.71 GB)
The collection is comprised of records from approximately 2001 to 2011 that document writer Matthew O'Brien's work for two of his Las Vegas, Nevada based non-fiction novels: Beneath the Neon: Life and Death in the Tunnels of Las Vegas and My Week at the Blue Angel: and Other Stories From the Storm Drains, Strip Clubs, and Trailer Parks of Las Vegas. Collection materials include research files, chapter drafts, photographs, and correspondence. The collection materials document O'Brien's process in researching the homeless community in Las Vegas, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
O'Callaghan (Mike) professional papers
Coll #: MS-01055
Date: 1943, 1968-2004
Extent: 37 boxes (23.97 cubic feet, 20.04 linear feet)
The Mike O'Callaghan Professional Papers (1943, 1968-2004) mainly consist of research files gathered by Mike O'Callaghan in his post-political capacity as executive editor of the Las Vegas Sun as well as owner and publisher of the Henderson Home News, Boulder City News, and Green Valley News. The papers also contain handwritten and typewritten drafts of O'Callaghan's "Where I Stand" article for the Las Vegas Sun, along with his reporter's notebooks, monthly planners, and photographic prints. The research files cover a wide variety of topics, including but not limited to environmental issues; nuclear waste; state and local politics; military and veterans affairs; foreign relations including Israel, Iraq, and Korea; and education. The collection also contains copies of speeches given by O'Callaghan as the 23rd Governor of Nevada between 1971 and 1979, some of which contain handwritten notations.
Link to Collection Guide
Paine (Alan) papers
Coll #: MS-00461
Date: 1975-2002
Extent: 0.6 Linear Feet (1 box)
The Alan Paine Papers are largely comprised of the works written by poet and screenwriter Alan Paine, including his screenplays, a manuscript for an unpublished book, and Ode to Madonna, a collection of poems published in 1992. The collection also includes correspondence, personal ephemera, and photographs from 1975 to 2002.
Link to Collection Guide
Patrick W. Carlton Papers on the Oral History of the Public School Principalship Project
Coll #: MS-00829
Date: 1982-2011
Extent: 13 boxes (5.36 Cubic Feet, 5.96 Linear Feet)
The collection is comprised of University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) professor, Dr. Patrick W. Carlton's, research files dating from 1982 to 2011 in the "Oral History of the Public School Principalship" Project. The papers include research files about principals in Las Vegas, Nevada and Superintendents on the Clark County School District.
Link to Collection Guide
Porter Family Papers
Coll #: MS-01080
Date: 1857-1927
Extent: 1 box (0.52 cubic feet, 0.92 linear feet)
The Porter Family Papers (1857-1927) contain a New Testament Bible and assorted papers relating to the Porter family and their related merchandise business which operated between Southern California, Rhyolite, Nevada, and Chicago, Illinois. Hiram D. and Louis D. Porter owned and operated a general store in Rhyolite, Nevada in the early 20th century during the mining boom. Materials include telegrams, correspondence and money orders for H. D. & L. D. Porter General Merchandise and Porter family history documents. The Bible contains tintypes and photographs of Porter family members from Illinois.
Link to Collection Guide
Powell (Stephen) Bibliography of Gaming Books Held by UNLV
Coll #: MS-00060
Date: 1972
Extent: 0.1 linear feet (1 shared box)
The Stephen Powell Bibliography of Gaming Books Held by UNLV, 1972 consists of Powell's manuscript cataloging the gambling related books of the University of Nevada, Las Vegas library system at that time. The manuscript accounts for all the gambling books held by UNLV and categorizes each under its corresponding type of gambling. A bound published version of his book can be found in UNLV Special Collections.
Link to Collection Guide
Pratt (Elizabeth and Charles) personal papers
Coll #: MS-01063
Date: 1895-1953
Extent: 3 boxes (1.15 cubic feet, 1.04 linear feet)
The Elizabeth and Charles Pratt Personal Papers consist of correspondence, travel information, and photographs from the Pratt family dating from 1895 to 1953. The majority of correspondence in the collection is between Charles Pratt and his wife, Alice Elizabeth Margaret "Diane" Pratt. The collection also contains correspondence between Elizabeth Pratt's parents and her literary journals from her time attending Swarthmore College, in Swarthmore, Pennsylvania.
Link to Collection Guide
Prince Stanislaus J. Bielski Papers
Coll #: MS-00758
Date: 1908-1979 (bulk 1939-1977)
Extent: 1 box (1.3 cubic feet, 1.08 linear feet)
The Prince Stanislaus J. Bielski Papers, 1908-1979, are comprised of legal and personal documents, including letters and genealogical records, primarily referencing litigation between Prince Stanislaus J. Bielski and his wife, Jeannine Bielski De Ayala. Also included are photographs of Bielski, his family, and friends. Contents in this collection are closed for seventy-five years from the latest date found on an individual record to protect privacy and confidentiality. Access is restricted under provisions of state or federal law. This collection will be open for research use on January 1, 2054.
Link to Collection Guide
Ron Saccavino Papers
Coll #: MS-00780
Date: 1999-2005
Extent: 0.25 linear feet (1 box)
The Ron Saccavino Papers (1999-2005) contain a book written by Saccavino in 1999 titled Everything You Want to Know About Las Vegas Dealers, a Dealer of the Year information packet, and three copies of "The Dealers News" newsletters.
Link to Collection Guide
Roske, Ralph Papers
Coll #: MS-00313
Date: 1957-1989
Extent: 10 boxes, 1 flat file (3.93 cubic feet, 6.99 linear feet)
The Ralph Roske Papers (1957-1989) consist of Ralph Roske's book manuscripts, lecture notes, and correspondence. The collection includes extensive lecture notes on the United States Civil War, United States history, and Nevada history. It also includes Roske's research and manuscripts on Nevada, California, and the United States Civil War, as well as student papers. Ralph Roske was a professor of history at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV).
Link to Collection Guide
Sawyer (Byrd Wall) papers
Coll #: MS-00316
Date: 1893-1997 (inclusive), 1930-1970 (bulk)
Extent: 12 boxes (6.44 cubic feet, 6.51 linear feet)
Related Materials: 0256
The Byrd Wall Sawyer Collection primarily consists of Byrd's research files on Nevada from 1930 to 1970. The materials concentrate on her monograph, "Nevada Nomads," as well as her co-authored textbook, "Here is Nevada." The collection also includes speeches, journal articles, memos, research note cards and papers, correspondence, informational booklets and pamphlets, maps, photographs, audiovisual materials, and newspaper articles and clippings.
Link to Collection Guide
Searchlight, Nevada City Council Meeting Minutes and Articles of Incorporation
Coll #: MS-00869
Date: 1907-1918
Extent: 1 box (0.25 cubic feet, 0.83 linear feet)
The collection is comprised of city council meeting minutes, articles of incorporation, and other materials spanning 1907 to 1918 that document the incorporation of the city of Searchlight, Nevada. Included in this collection is a bound ledger containing city council meeting minutes from January 1908 to December 1911; the Articles of Incorporation for Searchlight and the Official Act of Incorporation for Searchlight, Nevada; and correspondence and other records documenting the establishment of Searchlight as an incorporated city, establishment of a municipal election to elect public officials, and the separation of Searchlight from Lincoln County and the establishment of Clark County, which was made official in 1909 by act of the Nevada Legislature.
Link to Collection Guide
Shoofey, Alex papers
Coll #: MS-00858
Date: 1967-1972, 2010
Extent: 20 boxes (11.23 cubic feet, 9.92 linear feet)
The Alex Shoofey Papers are comprised of records spanning 1967 to 1972 that primarily pertain to financial operations and policies for the International Hotel and Casino-Las Vegas Hilton and the Flamingo Hotel in Las Vegas, Nevada. The collection includes daily profit and loss reports, interdepartmental correspondence, staffing and operational policies and procedures, production reports, and Shoofey's personal correspondence. Collection materials are representative of business and financial records from Shoofey's tenure as president of both the International and Flamingo hotels and casinos.
Link to Collection Guide
Silberstang (Edwin) Papers
Coll #: MS-00188
Date: 1963-2007
Extent: 19 boxes (8.73 cubic feet, 7.92 linear feet)
The Edwin Silberstang Papers (1963-2007) contain rough draft manuscripts, publicity, outlines, and galley notes for a number of the books that were authored by Silberstang. Also included are publisher agreements and correspondence, photographs of Silberstang, book covers, and newspaper clippings. Many of the books that Silberstang wrote were about gaming.
Link to Collection Guide
Sligar (J.W. ) Land Surveying Notebooks
Coll #: MS-00782
Date: 1973-2002
Extent: 9 boxes (11.55 cubic feet, 9,75 linear feet)
The J.W. Sligar Land Surveying Notebooks (1973-2002) consist of notebooks with measurements, boundaries, construction calculations, and mapping for land surveys of Southern Nevada, principally the Las Vegas Valley. Projects concern both public and private entities. The notebooks were created as a part of J.W. Sligar's work with ALCA Engineering and and Surveying, Inc, as well as for his own company, J.W. Sligar Surveying.
Link to Collection Guide
Smith (Benjamin F.) papers
Coll #: MS-00080
Date: 1960-1969
Extent: 1 folder (shared box); 0.10 cubic/linear feet
The Benjamin F. Smith Papers, dated from 1960 to 1969, contains a photocopy of a typed manuscript written by Benjamin F. Smith titled "Lady Luck and I." The manuscript details Smith's life, and focuses mainly on his time in Las Vegas, Nevada and his gambling strategies. The manuscript also contains gambling plays, figures, and charts. The collection also contains photocopied newspaper clippings and a brief biography of Smith written by Larry Evans.
Link to Collection Guide
Smith, J.D. Papers
Coll #: MS-00722
Date: 1922-1972
Extent: 1.7 Linear Feet (3 boxes)
The collection is comprised of various account and appointment books dating from approximately 1922 to 1972 kept by Las Vegas, Nevadan dentist, Dr. Jay Dayton "J. D." Smith, who operated a dental practice near 1st and Fremont streets. Also included in this collection are sympathy cards to Dr. Smith's family upon his passing, copies of his obituary from the Las Vegas Sun, copies of the Las Vegas Age with a front page article on Dr. Smith's appointment as U.S. Marshal, and a copy of the book K.O. Knudson: His Life by James Monroe Harvey.
Link to Collection Guide
Sperling Kronberg Mack Holocaust Resource Center Records
Coll #: MS-00733
Date: 1971-2016
Extent: 18.51 linear feet, 8.36 cubic feet (10 boxes, 2 oversized boxes, 1 shared box, and 2 flat files)
The Sperling Kronberg Mack Holocaust Resource Center Records (1971-2016) mainly consists of correspondence, event planning documents, financial records, subject files, and newspaper clippings created by or related to the Sperling Kronberg Mack Holocaust Resource Center and the Nevada Governor’s Advisory Council on Education Relating to the Holocaust. Materials document educational conferences, remembrance events, and student field trips; curriculum planning, involvement with the Clark County School District, and educational materials about the Holocaust and other related historical events; and grant and fundraising activities. The collection also includes photographs and proclamations.
Link to Collection Guide
Steve Round Memorial Book of the 1 October Shooting in Las Vegas
Coll #: MS-00853
Date: 2017
Extent: 1 box (0.10 cubic feet, 0.58 linear feet)
This collection is comprised of a memorial book filled with handwritten condolences, memorials, and prayers for the victims of the mass shooting that occurred on October 1, 2017 at the Route 91 Harvest music festival in Las Vegas, Nevada. From October 2-10, 2017, Steve Round watched over a memorial that spontaneously developed in the median of Las Vegas Boulevard near the site of the shooting. Round invited visitors at the memorial, including families and friends of the victims, community members, first responders, and tourists, to sign the book.
Link to Collection Guide
Stewart (George) personal papers
Coll #: MS-00828
Date: 1914-2014 (bulk 1930-1959)
Extent: 1.22 cubic feet, 1.98 linear feet (2 boxes, 1 oversized box)
The George Stewart Personal Papers (1914-2014) are comprised of military records and personal papers of George Stewart, a fifty-year Las Vegas, Nevada resident. The collection includes information about the Clark County Republican Party, Stewart's service in the United States Army Air Corps, and documents and photographs from Stewart's childhood in the Boy Scouts of America during the 1930s and 1940s. The collection also contains a personal scrapbook containing photographs, fliers, and memorabilia from his early education and military training. Stewart also collected menus and keychains from local Las Vegas, Nevada country clubs and casinos.
Link to Collection Guide
The Wolf of Pace e Bene Newsletters
Coll #: MS-00562
Date: 1991-2004
Extent: 0.42 linear feet, 0.37 cubic feet (1 box)
This collection is comprised of newsletters of The Wolf of Pace e Bene from 1991 to 2004. Published in Las Vegas, Nevada by Franciscan Friars, the newsletter is dedicated to the service of nonviolence.
Link to Collection Guide
University of Nevada, Las Vegas Collection of Transcripts and Journal Articles about Gambling
Coll #: MS-00730
Date: 1987-1992
Extent: 0.25 Linear Feet (1 box)
Collection contains transcripts from various American television news programs and journal articles about gambling from 1987 to 1992. The topics are broad and include various forms of gambling, problem gambling, and gaming venues.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV Libraries Collection of 18th Century Sheet Music
Coll #: MS-01059
Date: 1745-1799
Extent: 1 oversized box (0.28 cubic feet, 0.85 linear feet)
The UNLV Libraries Collection of 18th Century Sheet Music (1745-1799) contains handwritten sheet music for popular English songs in the 18th century published in London, England and Dublin, Ireland.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV Libraries Collection of Biographical Files
Coll #: MS-01049
Date: approximately 1837-2018
Extent: 8 boxes (30.87 cubic feet, 3.00 linear feet)
The UNLV Libraries Collection of Biographical Files (approximately 1837-2018) contains newspaper clippings, ephemera, correspondence, and other relevant biographical information on prominent figures in Southern Nevada history and many individuals and families found in UNLV Special Collections and Archives archival collections.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV Libraries Collection of Prints, Lithographs, and Illustrations
Coll #: MS-01058
Date: approximately 1840-1950
Extent: 3 oversized box (2.65 cubic feet, 4.77 linear feet)
The UNLV Libraries Collection of Prints, Lithographs, and Illustrations (approximately 1840-1950) contains visual artwork depicting Native Americans, white settlers, and various railroad and mining activities in the American West during the 19th century. The collection also contains artwork depicting various games, the act of gambling, and advertisements. Materials include prints, illustrations, lithographs, and newspaper clippings.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV Libraries Collection of Travel Postcards
Coll #: MS-01018
Date: 1915-1979
Extent: 1 box (0.65 cubic feet, 0.54 linear feet)
The UNLV Libraries Collection of Travel Postcards (approximately 1915 to 1979) is comprised of black-and-white and color commercial postcards from thirty-six locations within the United States, Europe, and Asia.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV Libraries Collection on the Las Vegas Paiute Tribe
Coll #: MS-00961
Date: 1974-1990
Extent: 1 box (0.65 cubic feet, 0.54 linear feet)
The UNLV Libraries Collection on the Las Vegas Paiute Tribe (approximately 1974-1990) contain oral history transcripts of Paiute community members from approximately 1974 to 1977 and reproductions of Bureau of Indian Affairs correspondence, legal documents, annual reports, and census information regarding the area formerly known as the Las Vegas Indian Colony located in Las Vegas, Nevada. The documents contain information about the original transfer of property ownership from Helen J. Stewart to the United States, who acted on behalf of the Paiute people in 1911, the establishment of the original site location, and annual reports which include a narrative about the community, census information, and health reports of the population living in the area. The collection contains no original documents.
Link to Collection Guide
Waite, Lu Jones
Coll #: MS-00132
Date: 1968
Extent: 2 manuscripts in 1 doc box
Collection consists of the manuscript for Lu Jones Waite's novel -- Out of the West. Waite wrote a number of fictional works which were centered around Mormon families and the Mormon faith.
Link to Collection Guide
Walter Gibson Typescripts of Books on Gambling
Coll #: MS-00370
Date: 1940s
Extent: 0.2 Linear Feet (1 box)
The Walter Gibson Typescripts of Books on Gambling consist of manuscripts written by Walter Gibson for Sidney Radner in the 1940s. The collection includes three typescript copies of manuscripts titled, So you Want to be a Crapshooter? Or All Craps are Crooked; Poker and How to Play It; and How Gamblers Win at Cards. There are handwritten notes on the typescripts.
Link to Collection Guide
Walter Gibson Typescripts of Books on Gambling
Coll #: MS-00370
Date: 1940s
Extent: 0.2 Linear Feet (1 box)
The Walter Gibson Typescripts of Books on Gambling consist of manuscripts written by Walter Gibson for Sidney Radner in the 1940s. The collection includes three typescript copies of manuscripts titled, So you Want to be a Crapshooter? Or All Craps are Crooked; Poker and How to Play It; and How Gamblers Win at Cards. There are handwritten notes on the typescripts.
Link to Collection Guide
Weiswasser (Marc) Papers
Coll #: MS-00816
Date: 1976-2002 inclusive (1986-1998 bulk)
Extent: 7 boxes, 1 folder (shared box) 2.54 cubic feet, 4.75 linear feet), 24 digital files (0.0012 GB)
The collection is comprised of materials from approximately 1976 to 2002 documenting Marc Weiswasser's career in the Las Vegas, Nevada gaming industry. The collection includes instructional guides and handbooks for table game dealers, employee handbooks and newsletters from the Flamingo Hilton and MGM Grand Las Vegas materials, as well as interviews and articles about Marc Weiswasser. The collection also includes newspaper clippings about the gaming industry and video recordings from the Institute for the Study of Gambling and Commercial Gaming. There are also reports from the Nevada Gaming Control Board regarding Regulation 6A, which deals with cash transactions prohibitions, reporting, and record keeping. The collection also includes a variety materials about the Casino Management Association (CMA) including a promotional video, conference fliers, invitations, photographs from various CMA events, and educational materials related to casino operations.
Link to Collection Guide
Whitmore (Sidney R.) Collection
Coll #: MS-00068
Date: 1885-1970
Extent: 1 shared box, 1 flat file, 2 oversized boxes, and 6 unboxed items (9.14 cubic feet, 6.51 linear feet)
Related Materials: 0219
The Sidney R. Whitmore Collection (approximately 1885-1970) contains land deeds and other documents about Mount Diablo, Nevada; documents detailing parts of his family history; and eight framed paintings of landscapes and portraits.
Link to Collection Guide
Wiley, Richard Papers
Coll #: MS-00077
Date: 1976-2007
Extent: 3 linear feet (3 boxes)
The Richard Wiley Papers contains drafts and final versions of nine published and three unpublished novel manuscripts written by Richard Wiley from 1976 to 2007.
Link to Collection Guide
Williams (Joe) Music Scores
Coll #: MS-00608
Date: 1940-1991
Extent: 1.63 linear feet, 1.97 cubic feet (3 boxes)
The Joe Williams Music Scores date from 1940 to 1991 and comprise the handwritten musical scores of American jazz musician Joe Williams, born Joseph Goreed. Many of the musical scores are Williams' original arrangements.
Link to Collection Guide
