Manuscripts by Subjects
Manuscripts -> Local HistoryTotal manuscripts: 162
UNLV University Libraries Collection of Clark County, Nevada Secured Assessment Publications
Coll #: MS-00957
Date: 1992-2000
Extent: 2 oversized boxes (0.72 cubic feet, 2.17 linear feet)
The UNLV University Libraries Collection of Clark County, Nevada Secured Assessment Publications (1992-2000) includes newspaper prints of Clark County, Nevada public records detailing land property information for the upcoming tax year. The Clark County, Nevada secured assessment rolls were created by the Clark County Assessor’s Office and published by the local newspaper of a designated area on or before the beginning of each year.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV University Libraries Collection of Posters
Coll #: MS-00852
Date: 1891-2002 (bulk 1940-2002)
Extent: 47 flat files, 1 unboxed items (10.58 cubic feet, 27.83 linear feet)
The UNLV University Libraries Collection of Posters is comprised of posters featuring Southern Nevada with a focus on Las Vegas, Nevada, collected by the University Libraries Special Collections and Archives. The material dates between 1891 and 2002, with the bulk of the material dating between 1940 and 2002. The collection includes posters of movies filmed in Las Vegas, casino marketing and advertisement posters, newspaper clippings, political rallies and campaign advertisement posters, and event promotions.
Link to Collection Guide
Warren (Elizabeth von Till and Claude N.) Papers
Coll #: MS-00906
Date: 1940-2017
Extent: 169 boxes (217.64 cubic feet, 195.76 linear feet); approximately 200 maps and drawings; 6,809 digital files (18.0 GB, DOC, DOCX, GIF, JPG, PDF, TIF, WPD)
The Elizabeth von Till and Claude N. Warren Papers (approximately 1940-2017) are comprised of the personal and professional papers of anthropologist Claude N. Warren and historical preservationist Elizabth von Till Warren. The materials in this collection primarily consist of research files, maps, and drawings on various archaeological and historical preservation projects in southern Nevada of which they both were involved. This collection includes field notes and surveys from archaeological projects such as the Old Las Vegas Mormon Fort and the Las Vegas Springs. Records on von Till Warren's involvement with the Old Spanish Trail Association, Southern Nevada Historical Society, and historic preservation work around southern Nevada are represented. Also included are Robert H. Crabtree's archaeological research files, a colleague of Claude Warren and bequeathed his professional files to him upon his death.
Link to Collection Guide
Web Archive on the October 1, 2017 Shooting in Las Vegas, Nevada
Coll #: MS-00866
Date: 2017-2018
Extent: 171 GB; 226 websites
The collection is comprised of captured websites and Twitter data related to the mass shooting that occured at the Route 91 Harvest Festival in Las Vegas, Nevada on October 1, 2017. Captured websites are primarily comprised of articles and news stories from local, national, and international news media outlets. Websites were captured periodically from 2017 to 2018. The collection also includes Twitter data associated with the October 1 shooting that were captured via concurrent queries to the Twitter API for all Tweets containing the term “vegas” occuring September 29, 2017 to October 7, 2017.
Link to Collection Guide
Whitmore (Sidney R.) Collection
Coll #: MS-00068
Date: 1885-1970
Extent: 1 shared box, 1 flat file, 2 oversized boxes, and 6 unboxed items (9.14 cubic feet, 6.51 linear feet)
Related Materials: 0219
The Sidney R. Whitmore Collection (approximately 1885-1970) contains land deeds and other documents about Mount Diablo, Nevada; documents detailing parts of his family history; and eight framed paintings of landscapes and portraits.
Link to Collection Guide
Whitmore (Sidney R.) Collection
Coll #: MS-00068
Date: 1885-1970
Extent: 1 shared box, 1 flat file, 2 oversized boxes, and 6 unboxed items (9.14 cubic feet, 6.51 linear feet)
Related Materials: 0219
The Sidney R. Whitmore Collection (approximately 1885-1970) contains land deeds and other documents about Mount Diablo, Nevada; documents detailing parts of his family history; and eight framed paintings of landscapes and portraits.
Link to Collection Guide
Wile, Albert E. Papers
Coll #: MS-00146
Date: 1941-1973
Extent: 0.2 linear feet, 0.23 cubic feet (1 box)
The Albert E. Wile Papers (1941-1973) contain the papers of Albert Wile, who served as a police captain in Las Vegas, Nevada in the 1940s. Wile oversaw the city jail; his papers include correspondence from and about inmates and inventories and records of the Las Vegas City Jail. It also includes personal correspondence of Wile and some newspaper clippings about law enforcement in Las Vegas and North Las Vegas, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Williams (Amie) video footage for "Stripped and Teased: Tales from Las Vegas Women"
Coll #: MS-00879
Date: 1995-1998
Extent: 3 boxes (2.8 cubic feet, 2.38 linear feet)
The collection is comprised of shooting logs and raw video footage created for the documentary, Stripped and Teased: Tales from Las Vegas Women (1998). The collection includes video interviews and transcripts from approximately 1995 to 1998 of women working in Las Vegas, Nevada from a variety of backgrounds. Subjects include individuals such as Mayor Jan Jones, Representative Shelley Berkeley, Claudine Williams, Thalia Dondero, Joyce Marshall, Hattie Canty, Sister Rosemary, Fluff LeCoque, and others. The collection includes footage of Las Vegas events and street scenes from a variety of periods.
Link to Collection Guide
Wilson (Fred and Maurine) papers
Coll #: MS-00012
Date: 1881-1991 inclusive (1916 - 1980 bulk)
Extent: 7 boxes, 1 oversized box, 2 flat files, and 3 unboxed items (5.47 cubic feet, 9.97 linear feet)
Related Materials: 0014
The Maurine and Fred Wilson Papers (1888-1991) contain family papers and the historical research of Fred Wilson. It includes correspondence between Maurine and Fred Wilson, as well as Maurine Wilson’s diaries, calendars, and materials related to her career as a music teacher. The collection also contains Fred Wilson’s research files about the history of Southern Nevada as well as the First Methodist Church in Las Vegas, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Wilson (Maurine and Fred) and Park (William S.) audiovisual collection
Coll #: MS-00927
Date: 1900-1979 (bulk 1900-1939)
Extent: 2 boxes, 3 oversized boxes, 6 unboxed items (7.75 cubic feet, 8.93 linear feet)
The Maurine and Fred Wilson and Dr. William S. Park Audiovisual Collection (approximately 1900s-1970s) consist of audiovisual material created by the Wilson and Park families. The materials depict the Park homes in Las Vegas, Nevada; Park and Wilson family members; outdoor activities and vacation trips to California, Colorado, and Mexico. The collection also documents early views of the Kiel Ranch in Las Vegas, Nevada, community parades and events, and early views of Las Vegas in the 1920s.
Link to Collection Guide
Wittwer (John) Collection on Agriculture in Nevada
Coll #: MS-00181
Date: 1898-1972 (bulk 1929-1955)
Extent: 7 boxes and 1 flat file (4.71 cubic feet, 4 linear feet)
The collection contains the professional papers and records of John Wittwer in his capacity as an Agricultural Extension agent for the University of Nevada from 1921 to 1954. The records are primarily annual reports containing text, photographs, newspaper clippings, and charts that provide a rich chronicle of the conditions of agriculture and ranching in southern Nevada from 1898 to 1972, the bulk of the material dating from 1929 to 1955. These conditions span water issues, such as flood control and irrigation, to the general difficulties of sustaining agriculture and viable food production in a desert environment. The reports come from the Agricultural Experiment Stations in Clark and Lincoln counties and most contain both a statistical report and a narrative summary. There is also documentation regarding Wittwer's work as a Clark County agent and that of other Nevada County Agents. Other material in the collection includes correspondence on various agricultural programs administered by Wittwer, and project files detailing progress made on rural farming concerns and developments such as nutrition, home health and sanitation, home gardening, home improvement, community activities and the 4-H club.
Link to Collection Guide
Woods, Vivian
Coll #: MS-00351
Date: 1960-1989
Extent: 1 box (0.64 Cubic Feet, 0.58 Linear Feet)
Vivian Woods Papers (1960-1989) document the activities of Nevada artist Vivian Woods. The papers contain scrapbooks, correspondence, Las Vegas Artists' Co-Op history and rosters, a poem, and photographs. There are also three watercolors painted by Vivian Woods.
Link to Collection Guide
