Manuscripts by Subjects
Manuscripts -> Local HistoryTotal manuscripts: 162
Huntridge Family Entertainment Center and Huntridge Theater
Coll #: MS-00656
Date: 1980-1981
Extent: 1 Linear Feet (1 box)
The Huntridge Family Entertainment Center and Huntridge Theater Records (1980-1981) consist of a photographic album documenting the construction and opening of the Huntridge Family Entertainment Center in 1980 as well as some photographs of the historic Huntridge Theater.
Link to Collection Guide
J. R. Lane Illuminating, Lubricating, and Fuel Oil Company Receipt Book
Coll #: MS-00147
Date: 1908
Extent: 0.23 cubic feet (1 box)
The J. R. Lane Illuminating, Lubricating, and Fuel Oil Company Receipt Book (1908) consists of one receipt book listing the names of customers and purchases made in Rhyolite, Nevada in 1908. This material was formerly known as the Nell Laird Collection.
Link to Collection Guide
Jewish Nevada Records
Coll #: MS-00602
Date: 1978-2012 (bulk 1999-2004)
Extent: 82 boxes and 10 flat files (93.5 cubic feet, 101.34 linear feet)
The Jewish Nevada Records document the organization's philanthropic activities from 1978 to 2012. The collection includes administrative files, annual reports, marketing materials, donation records, video recordings of interviews and events, and audio recordings of board meetings. The collection also includes photographic prints and negatives of the Jewish Federation of Las Vegas.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online
Jim Mathis scrapbook on Nevada Southern University football
Coll #: MS-00922
Date: approximately 1964-1967
Extent: 1 box (0.40 cubic feet, 1.42 linear feet)
This collection is unprocessed. The Jim Mathis scrapbook on Nevada Southern University (NSU) football includes newspaper clippings about football at NSU in the 1960s. Mathis was a student at NSU and a football player.
Link to Collection Guide
Kaufman, Perry Papers
Coll #: MS-00414
Date: 1930-1974
Extent: 2.0 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
The Perry Kaufman Papers (1930-1974) are comprised of research material gathered by Kaufman for his doctoral dissertation, "The Best City of Them All: A History of Las Vegas, 1930-1960." Kaufman's research focused on the Las Vegas, Nevada Chamber of Commerce's role in promoting Las Vegas as a tourist destination. The collection primarily consists of newspaper clippings from the Las Vegas Review-Journal and the Las Vegas Sun. It also includes Las Vegas Chamber of Commerce minutes and publications, research on the history of Las Vegas, and Kaufman's notes and writings.
Link to Collection Guide
Kepper (Anna Dean) papers
Coll #: MS-00279
Date: 1903, 1965-1983 (bulk 1965-1983)
Extent: 6 boxes (4.52 cubic feet, 3.79 linear feet)
The Anna Dean Kepper Papers (1903-1924, 1965-1983) contain records, correspondence, photographic slides, research notes, newspaper clippings, and audiovisual tapes, as well as Kepper's research notes, drafts, and transcribed oral history interviews that she used for her thesis on the Fusileers in Ostego County, New York. She was the Curator of the Special Collections and Archives Department in the University of Nevada, Las Vegas Library from 1973 to 1983.
Link to Collection Guide
Kiel Family Photographs
Coll #: MS-00838
Date: 1893-1904
Extent: 1 box and 2 hanging files (0.45 cubic feet, 0.5 linear feet)
The Kiel Family Photographs (1893-1904) consists of 45 glass plate negatives and 43 black-and-white photographic prints of members of the Kiel and George families, as well as neighbors from the Stewart and Wilson ranches and ranch workers. The majority of the photographs were taken at the Kiel Ranch site in North Las Vegas, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Ladd (George) Papers
Coll #: MS-01073
Date: 1903-1906
Extent: 1 box (0.19 cubic feet, 0.21 linear feet)
The George Ladd Papers are comprised of a scrapbook dating from 1903 to 1906 that documents the final years of George Ladd, who was involved with the Bullfrog Mine in Rhyolite, Nevada. The scrapbook contents include personal correspondence, certificates of assays, telegrams, mining purchases, bank deposit slips, and correspondence between Ladd and the Bullfrog Mining Company.
Link to Collection Guide
Lake - Eglington Family Papers
Coll #: MS-00142
Date: 1905-1983
Extent: 0.19 Cubic Feet (1 box, 1 flat file)
Related Materials: 0010
The Lake - Eglington Family Papers (1905-1983) consist of correspondence, school records, newsclippings, and ephemera collected by Olive Lake - Eglington, a resident of Las Vegas, Nevada from 1904 until the early 1980s. Materials document the early pioneer history of southern Nevada. Items of unique interest in the collection include a 1907 temperance pledge and World War II ration books from 1943.
Link to Collection Guide
Las Vegas Black Historical Society Records
Coll #: MS-00101
Date: 2005-2009
Extent: 0.37 cubic feet (1 box)
The Las Vegas Black Historical Society Records (2005-2009) document the organization's history including correspondence, meeting agendas and minutes, bylaws, articles, a corporate charter, and use agreements. Also included is a Proclamation from Nevada State Senator Steven Horsford regarding the Second Annual Gathering of the Las Vegas Black Historical Society on January 27, 2007.
Link to Collection Guide
Las Vegas City Commission Records
Coll #: MS-00237
Date: 1911-1960
Extent: 18 Oversize Volumes, 1 box (14.61 cubic feet, 2.11 linear feet)
The Las Vegas City Commission Records (1911-1960) is comprised of bound and unbound materials from the original Las Vegas City Commission. Twelve of the bound volumes are minutes that served as the official record of the proceedings of all Las Vegas City Commission meetings from 1911-1960. There are also three volumes of City of Las Vegas ordinances dating from 1911 to 1958, one volume of legal documents from 1944-1945 and two large volumes containing an alphabetical subject index to the topics covered in the minutes. Unbound materials cover the period 1921 to 1946 and include minutes, resolutions, ordinances, correspondence, financial records, proclamations and other documents related to city business. They provide a valuable historical record of a wide variety of business and community activities in Las Vegas in the first fifty years of its incorporation.
Link to Collection Guide
Las Vegas Downtown Project Marketing Materials
Coll #: MS-00654
Date: 2013-2014
Extent: 0.4 Linear Feet (1 box)
The Las Vegas Downtown Project Marketing Materials (2013-2014) are comprised of publications pertaining to the Downtown Project in Las Vegas, Nevada. The collection includes issues of the weekly publication Downtown Project and press kits promoting the variety of events, restaurants and meeting places in the Downtown Project area.
Link to Collection Guide
Las Vegas Founders Club records
Coll #: MS-00789
Date: 1983-2013
Extent: 40 boxes, 5 oversized boxes (19.75 cubic feet, 27.25 linear feet); 145 GB (Optical discs and 3-1/2" floppy disks)
The Las Vegas Founders Club Records (1983-2013) consist mainly of photographic prints of players, general operations, and events surrounding golf tournaments in Las Vegas, Nevada. The tournaments include the Invensys Classic, Las Vegas Senior Classic, men's and women's Collegiate Championships, and the Las Vegas Invitational. Materials also include media press reports, newspaper and press clippings, and scrapbooks created by the Founders Club. The collection also contains digital photographs from various tournaments in Las Vegas.
Link to Collection Guide
Las Vegas Hard Core Collection of Flyers and Photographs
Coll #: MS-00605
Date: 1981-2013
Extent: 0.83 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
The "Las Vegas Hard Core" Collection of Punk Rock Fliers and Photographs (1981-2013) includes fliers and photographs documenting the Las Vegas, Nevada punk rock scene in the 1980s. It includes photocopied fliers from bands such as The Ramones, The Germs, Misfits, Meat Puppets, Wasted Youth, Black Flag, FSP, TSOL, Circle Jerks, Shattered Faith, Agent Orange, Self Abuse, Bad Attitude, and many others. The majority of items are from the 1980s.
Link to Collection Guide
Las Vegas High School Architectural Drawings
Coll #: MS-00925
Date: 1929-1972
Extent: 6 oversized flat files (0.6 cubic feet, 17,88 linear feet)
The Las Vegas High School architectural drawings include blueprints for various improvements, expansions, additions, and renovations performed for the Las Vegas, Nevada high school between 1929 and 1972. The architectural drawing sets include site plans, floor plans, elevations, sections, building component details, and structural drawings.
Link to Collection Guide
Las Vegas High School Reunion Biography Collection
Coll #: MS-01021
Date: 1983
Extent: 1 box (0.19 cubic feet, 0.21 linear feet)
The Las Vegas High School Reunion Biography Collection (1983) consists of class rosters, biographies of graduates, and photocopies of original programs from the four graduating classes of 1933 to 1936. The information specific to each year is compiled into its own handmade scrapbook. The materials were created for the 50th reunion of the class of 1933, and the event also included the classes of 1934, 1935, and 1936.
Link to Collection Guide
Las Vegas Library Regional History Files Collection
Coll #: MS-00809
Date: 1909-2007
Extent: 33.37 cubic feet, 28.17 linear feet (24 boxes)
Collection is comprised primarily of newspaper clippings on various topics related to Las Vegas, Nevada and Southern Nevada spanning from 1909 to 2007. The files were gathered and organized by the Las Vegas Library and include topics such as ghost towns in the Southwest and Western region of the United States, politics and government, education, gaming, and religious life in Las Vegas and Nevada. The files document topics of interest to the residents of Nevada. The files also contain biographical information on prominent individuals associated with Las Vegas and Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Las Vegas Rotary Club Records
Coll #: MS-00710
Date: 1981-2018
Extent: 2 boxes and 2 unboxed objects (10.19 cubic feet, 7.54 linear feet)
The Las Vegas Rotary Club Records (1981-2018) contain award certificates, club directories and rosters, Las Vegas Rotary publications, commemorative material including a 20' by 34' velvet curtain. The collection also contains plastic and metal Rotary Club signs, as well as material from a Rotary Club in Africa.
Link to Collection Guide
Las Vegas Senior Tripsters Records
Coll #: MS-01037
Date: 1984-2020
Extent: 12,782 digital files (8.46 GB)
The Las Vegas Senior Tripsters Records (1984-2020) are comprised of organizational records for the Las Vegas Senior Tripsters, an organization based in Las Vegas, Nevada that sponsored leisure travel for senior citizens. The collection includes articles of incorporation, bylaws, and board meeting agendas and minutes. The majority of the collection documents the Las Vegas Senior Tripsters working files used for trip planning, managing memberships, budgets, and the board president's records. The files in this collection are entirely digital.
Link to Collection Guide
Las Vegas Valley Land Ownership Collection
Coll #: MS-00755
Date: 1962-1965
Extent: 12 boxes (7.36 cubic feet, 6.17 linear feet)
The Las Vegas Valley Land Ownership Collection contains lists of property owners in the Las Vegas Valley from 1962 to 1965. Materials are organized by Section and Township, all located in Ranges 60 to 63. Some files also contain plat maps.
Link to Collection Guide
Las Vegas-Clark County Library District Records
Coll #: MS-00817
Date: 1971-1996
Extent: 3.02 cubic feet, 3.27 linear feet
Collection is comprised of materials dating from approximately 1971 to 1996 about the Las Vegas Clark County Library District. Collection materials also include Charles Hunsberger's subject files from when he was library director of LVCCLD. The collection includes annual financial reports, clippings about the library district, photographs, master plan documents for Nevada libraries, and staff newsletters. In addition, the collection also includes materials documenting Hunsberger's efforts to secure a $22.2 million library bond in 1985.
Link to Collection Guide
Latinx Voices of Southern Nevada Community Collection
Coll #: MS-00935
Date: 1973-2019 inclusive (2018-2019 bulk)
Extent: 2 boxes, 1 flat file (0.55 cubic feet, 2.73 linear feet); 1 digital file (0.386 GB)
The Latinx Voices of Southern Nevada Community Collection (approximately 1973 to 2019) consists of memorabilia, ephemera, event fliers, and event photographs donated by members of the Latinx community in Las Vegas, Nevada and collected by staff members of the Oral History Research Center at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV). Materials were donated and collected as part of the Latinx Voices of Southern Nevada oral history and community engagement project hosted by UNLV University Libraries. Some of the materials in this collection are related to oral history interviews for Lidia Bonilla, Horatio Lopez, and Gustavo Ramos. This collection also includes fliers and posters advertising events in the Latinx community, campaign signs for Latinx candidates running for office, and Spanish language campaign signs.
Link to Collection Guide
Laub Jr. (Bill) papers
Coll #: MS-00697
Date: 1966-2003
Extent: 6 boxes and 1 oversize box (3.34 cubic feet, 4.36 linear feet)
The Bill Laub Jr. Papers (1966-2003) contain materials that highlight Laub’s involvement with KNPR Radio in Las Vegas, Nevada, the Republican Party in Nevada, and Southwest Gas Company. Materials include a variety of Republican Party publications, including GOPaper and New Republican Times, as well as Southwest Gas Company advertisements, publications, and photographs. The collection also contains the grant written to establish KNPR Las Vegas, agendas and meeting minutes, correspondence, and financial reports for KNPR Radio.
Link to Collection Guide
LaVoie (Joseph T.) Papers
Coll #: MS-00902
Date: 1930-1984
Extent: 4 boxes (1.52 cubic feet, 1.96 linear feet)
The collection is comprised of professional communication, memoranda, newspaper clippings, membership cards, and manuals from 1930 to 1984 that belonged to Las Vegas, Nevada police officer, Joseph T. LaVoie. The collection contains material about LaVoie's police work, his involvement with various labor organizations, and his work with childrens groups such as the Friends of Youth. The material about LaVoie's work as a police officer dates from 1946 to 1966, when the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department was known as the City of Las Vegas Police Department.
Link to Collection Guide
Lee, Henry Hudson
Coll #: MS-00139
Date: 1903-1965
Extent: 0.37 cubic feet, 0.42 linear feet (1 box)
Collection is comprised of manuscript copies of Henry Hudson Lee's memoirs entitled "My Memoirs" and his biography of his father entitled "A Brief Sketch of the Life and Family of Milton LaFayette Lee." Henry Hudson Lee worked as the County Recorder and Auditor of Lincoln County in the early 1900s. He was also involved in cattle ranching most of his life.
Link to Collection Guide
Levinson (Bonnie and Al) Papers on Bonnie Springs Ranch
Coll #: MS-00936
Date: 1960-2014
Extent: 4 boxes (1.81 cubic feet, 2.64 linear feet); 159 digital files (0.368 GB)
The Bonnie and Al Levinson Papers on Bonnie Springs Ranch contains visual and promotional materials from the 1960s to 2014 about Bonnie Springs Ranch located in Las Vegas, Nevada. The materials depict events and shows that occurred at the ranch; its guests, employees, petting zoo animals; and document the buildings on the property as well as the surrounding areas, including Red Rock Canyon. Also in the collection are photographs from other locations in Nevada, such as Belmont, Goodsprings, and Las Vegas. The collection also includes digital photographs of Bonnie Springs Ranch from 2008 depicting trail rides as well as the snow storm that fell on the Las Vegas Valley on December 17, 2008. The collection contains a significant amount of promotional materials about Old Nevada, a recreation of an 1880s mining town, as well as press releases and magazines and newspaper articles featuring the ranch.
Link to Collection Guide
Levy Family Papers
Coll #: MS-00814
Date: 1928-1989
Extent: 6 boxes, 2 flat files (9.3 Linear Feet, 3.8 Cubic Feet)
Collection is comprised of scrapbooks, photographs, awards and certificates, and ephemera mainly dating from approximately the 1950s to 1970s gathered by the Levy family of Las Vegas, Nevada. This collection documents the personal and professional lives of three generations in the Levy family: Harry C. Levy, Al Levy, and Andrew “Drew” Levy. Materials in this collection also include photographs and clippings about the Levy Realty Company and about the various public positions held by Harry C. Levy, such as Las Vegas city commissioner.
Link to Collection Guide
Liberty Engine Company No. 1 Records
Coll #: MS-00128
Date: 1876-1927
Extent: 1 box (0.23 cubic feet, 0.21 linear feet); 472 digital files (0.496 GB)
The Liberty Engine Company No. 1 Records (1876-1927) consist of two accounting ledgers belonging to the Liberty Engine Company No. 1, the fifth volunteer fire company formed in Gold Hill, Nevada in 1868. One ledger is signed by a the wife of J. H. (John H.) Witte, who was listed in an 1880 edition of the Gold Hill Daily News as a member of the Liberty Engine Company No. 1. The collection also contains banking transactions dating from 1926 to 1927 and a handwritten account of various payments made to the heirs of a Mrs. S. K. Witte in 1906. Some items in this collection are digital surrogates.
Link to Collection Guide
Liddle (Samuel) General Store records
Coll #: MS-00051
Date: 1885 -1887 (bulk 1887)
Extent: 7 folders (0.46 cubic feet, 0.42 linear feet)
The Samuel Liddle General Store Records (1885-1887) are comprised of order forms, inventories, and customer ledgers for Liddle's General Store in Leadville, Nevada. The store was created to provide services to residents and prospectors during a mining boom in White Pine County that lasted from 1887 to approximately 1890. The materials also consist of Liddle's General Store accounts, business correspondence, and transactions, such as wholesale purchases of general merchandise and mining supplies from vendors in Eureka, Nevada, San Francisco, California, and smaller nearby locations. An undated hand-drawn map of the townsite is also included.
Link to Collection Guide
Lisle Family Collection on Education in Beatty, Nevada
Coll #: MS-00212
Date: 1950
Extent: 1 box (0.23 cubic feet, 0.21 linear feet)
The Lisle Family Collection on Education in Beatty, Nevada, is comprised of photocopies of school records and correspondence from 1933 to 1948. It also includes an official voting register from the 1914 Beatty primary election. The photocopies were created approximately 1950.
Link to Collection Guide
Logan, Jackie Boor
Coll #: MS-00582
Date: 1833-2011
Extent: 0.21 linear feet, 0.19 (1 box)
The Jackie Boor Logan Papers (1833-2011) contain articles, correspondence, copies of photographs, newspaper clippings, and other genealogical information on the Logan family. The bulk of the material begins with the shooting death of Tonopah, Nevada Sheriff Tom Logan in 1906.
Link to Collection Guide
Lowe, Celesta
Coll #: MS-00360
Date: 1943-1995
Extent: 1.5 linear feet (1 box, 1 oversize box)
Celesta Lowe Papers (1943-1995) consist of clippings, published writings ("Echoes from the Archives" and "Southwestern Bookshelf" columns), correspondence, and photographs related to local history. Also included are National League of American Pen Women and Pen Hens material.
Link to Collection Guide
Lyman (Marguerite Rice) Papers on Southern Nevada History
Coll #: MS-00081
Date: 1960-1969
Extent: 1 folder (shared box), (0.01 cubic feet, 0.1 linear feet)
The Marguerite Rice Lyman Papers on Southern Nevada History (1960-1969) consists of six typescripts concerning the history of Nevada. The collection includes information about the Muddy Mission, the history of Spring Valley, Mads Jorgensen, and profiles of Rice family pioneers. It also includes information about Mormon church activities within Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Mack, Joyce Papers
Coll #: MS-00732
Date: 1970s - 2014
Extent: 21 Digital Files transferred electronically; no physical carrier
The Joyce Mack Papers are mainly comprised of photographs and ephemera documenting Joyce Mack and her family from the 1970s to 2014. Photographs in the collection depict political and community events, the Mack family, and their interaction with politicians. An invitation, newspaper clipping, and transcript of a speech by Joyce Mack document various honors that were bestowed upon Joyce Mack and her husband, Jerome D. "Jerry" Mack.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online
Mack, Michael S. Papers
Coll #: MS-00736
Date: approximately 1940s-1950s and undated
Extent: 0.1 linear feet (2 folders, shared box)
The Michael S. Mack papers (approximately 1940s-1950s and undated) consist of photographs and documents related to the early Jewish community of Las Vegas, Nevada. Photographs of identified individuals depict the Las Vegas Jewish community around the 1940s and 1950s, and undated documents written by Michael Mack provide information about the Jewish community, Jewish individuals businesses in Las Vegas, and Nathan, Louis, and Harry Mack.
Link to Collection Guide
Mackey, Maureen Papers
Coll #: MS-00806
Date: 1922-2014
Extent: 3.75 Linear Feet (3 boxes)
This collection is comprised of personal papers and photographs of Reverend Maureen E. Mackey, M.D., physiatrist and co-founder of Rainbow Praise Church in Las Vegas, Nevada. The collection contents span the dates of 1922 to 2014 and details Dr. Mackey's life, including her educational accomplishments, personal life, and religious life. This collection also contains personal papers and photographs of Dr. Mackey's twin brother, Thomas Mackey, III, who passed away from AIDS in 1992. This collection also contains various photographs of Dr. Mackey's parents and family.
Link to Collection Guide
Marchese (Lamar and Patricia) papers
Coll #: MS-00884
Date: 1959-2015
Extent: 10 boxes (5.48 cubic feet, 4.88 linear feet)
The Lamar and Patricia Marchese papers (1959-2015) contain awards, correspondence (both professional and personal), a Clark County Services and Facilities Directory, newspaper and magazine clippings, pamphlets, Parks and Recreation information, KNPR events and newsletters, art exhibits brochures, and musical performances brochures. The collection chronicles the contributions of the long-time Las Vegas community leaders through photographs, speeches, an interview done with Lamar Marchese, professional papers, audiovisual materials, Las Vegas Centennial Board (LVCB) end of year report, and a LVCB book.
Link to Collection Guide
Marsh (Gary) scrapbook on Nevada history
Coll #: MS-01024
Date: 1963 – 1964
Extent: 1 oversized box (0.66 cubic feet, 1.35 linear feet)
The Gary Marsh Scrapbook on Nevada History consists of one scrapbook with newspaper clippings from the Las Vegas Review-Journal (LVRJ) and the LVRJ Sunday supplement, the Nevadan dating from 1963 to 1964. Topics include information on Nevada history, industry, natural resources, society, and culture. The scrapbook likely represents a school project completed by Marsh.
Link to Collection Guide
Marshall, Gladys Boggs Papers
Coll #: MS-00149
Date: 1907-1974
Extent: 1 box, 1 oversize box (0.85 cubic feet, 1.56 linear feet)
The Gladys Boggs Marshall Papers consist of various artistic works created by Gladys Boggs Marshall, written from 1907 to 1974. The papers include several of her poems, a manuscript draft of an unfinished paper "History and Story of Las Vegas," a scrapbook of family photographs, sheet music, and newspaper clippings.
Link to Collection Guide
Martin (Phyllis) Papers
Coll #: MS-00749
Date: 1988-1999
Extent: 2 boxes (1.56 cubic feet, 2.27 linear feet)
The Phyllis Martin Papers (1988-1999) is comprised of North Las Vegas, Nevada reports and marketing materials, Nevada Women's History Project event invitations and pamphlets, a Kiel Ranch historical site building survey and Friends of Kiel Ranch newsletter, and newsletters, event programs, and photographs related to women's political involvement in Nevada. The collection includes materials relating to Martin's career in the Office of Economic Development, her involvement as a historian in the preservation of Kiel Ranch, and roles on planning committees for various local events.
Link to Collection Guide
Mason, Flora and Stuart Photographs and Event Programs
Coll #: MS-00694
Date: approximately 1965-2010
Extent: 78 Digital Files transferred electronically; no physical carrier
Collection is comprised of photographs of Las Vegas, Nevada community leaders Flora and Stuart Mason and three event programs from Temple Beth Sholom (Las Vegas, Nevada). Materials date from approximately 1965 to 2010.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online
McBride, Dennis Collection on LGBTQ Las Vegas, Nevada
Coll #: MS-00802
Date: approximately 1980-020
Extent: 34 boxes (40.72 cubic feet, 34.45 linear feet)
This collection is comprised of research files dating from approximately 1980 to 2020 created by Boulder City Nevadan, Dennis McBride, primarily in support of his book, Out of the Neon Closet: A History of Gay Las Vegas on the history of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, gay, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) community in Southern Nevada. Materials in this collection also include ephemera and clippings documenting LGBTQ establishments and organizations in Las Vegas, biographies of individuals, and other issues pertinent to the LGBTQ community. This collection also includes some materials about the LGBTQ community and their issues in Northern Nevada. The collection represents McBride's overall efforts to document and preserve the history of the LGBTQ community in Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
McCuistion, Florine
Coll #: MS-00174
Date: 1940 -1973
Extent: 0.25 Linear Feet (1 box)
The Florine McCuistion Papers (1944-1973) contain drafts of her newspaper column on interior design, certificates and recognitions, a small amount of information about her husband Ted McCuistion, newspaper clippings, and photographs.
Link to Collection Guide
Moore (Joyce) Papers
Coll #: MS-01040
Date: 1958-2019
Extent: 1 box (0.66 cubic feet, 0.54 linear feet)
The Joyce Moore Papers (1958-2019) contain documents relevant to the life and career of Joyce Moore, a longtime resident of Las Vegas, Nevada. The collection contains Rancho High School yearbooks, and awards and grants from when Moore was a student at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas in the early 1990s. Materials include research papers, event posters, photographs, and business cards related to Moore's work as an archivist in the University of Nevada, Las Vegas Special Collections and Archives. The collection also contains photocopied newspapers and handwritten notes related to research done on the Las Vegas sewage system and local hospitals for Moore's academic papers.
Link to Collection Guide
Mountain West's Yucca Mountain Socioeconomic Project Records
Coll #: MS-00756
Date: 1970-1994
Extent: 2.17 linear feet, 2.57 cubic feet (2 boxes)
The Mountain West's Yucca Mountain Socioeconomic Project Records (1987-1994) contain Reports on the effects to indigenous peoples, flora and fauna, and transportation relating to the deposits of nuclear waste in Yucca Mountain, Nevada. Nevada counties studied were Nye, Lincoln, Esmeralda, and Clark. Also included are analysis and impact assessments, and an oral history of Ed Slavin, a Tonopah, Nevada resident.
Link to Collection Guide
Nasser (Stephen) Papers
Coll #: MS-00898
Date: 1992-2018
Extent: 5 boxes, 1 flat file, 1 roll, 1 folder (shared box) (3.66 cubic feet, 6 linear feet); 1 digital file (3.59 GB)
The Stephen Nasser Papers (1992-2018) mainly contain letters written from school children to Nasser who travels to schools, churches, and organizations around Las Vegas, Nevada to share his story of surviving the Holocaust during World War II. Materials in this collection document his captivity in various prison camps and includes photographs, awards, and newspaper clippings. Also included are speeches given by Nasser and book reviews and a teacher's guide of his book My Brother's Voice written by students of Dixie College, St. George, Utah. This collection includes a copy of Pista, a documentary film profiling Nasser's life. The collection also includes a script, flyer, and newspaper clippings about the stageplay (Not Yet Pista) adaptation of the documentary.
Link to Collection Guide
Neely (William) letter
Coll #: MS-00114
Date: 1864 December 04
Extent: 1 folder (shared box); 0.02 cubic/linear feet
The William Neely Letter consists of one typescript letter (photocopied) transcribed from an original dated December 4, 1864 from William Neely in Virginia City, Nevada to his nephew. The letter discusses Nevada's impending statehood and the mining business and financial situation at the time.
Link to Collection Guide
Nevada Banking History Collection
Coll #: MS-00257
Date: 1870-1976
Extent: 2 boxes (0.76 cubic feet, 0.75 linear feet)
The Nevada Banking History Collection (1870-1976), compiled by the First National Bank of Nevada, contains correspondence, checks, deposit slips and other documents related to early bank operations in Nevada. There are also newspaper articles, published materials and photographs relating to the history of banks in Nevada from 1870 to 1976.
Link to Collection Guide
Nevada Chili Boosters and Nevada Association for the Handicapped Chili Cookoff Records
Coll #: MS-00834
Date: 1988-1998
Extent: 2 boxes (0.87 Cubic Feet, 0.79 Linear Feet)
Records are comprised of meeting minutes, newsletters, and event planning communication produced by the Nevada Chili Boosters in connection with the Nevada Association for the Handicapped between 1988 and 1998. The records provide information about the Chili Boosters "Hot Pot Chili Cookoff" benefiting the Nevada Association for the Handicapped and other charities.
Link to Collection Guide
Nevada CURE Records
Coll #: MS-00799
Date: 1998-2009
Extent: 19.0 Linear Feet, 16.0 Cubic Feet (29 boxes)
NOTE: Contents in this collection are closed for seventy-two years from the latest date found on an individual record to protect privacy and confidentiality. Access is restricted under provisions of state or federal law. This collection is open for research use in 2081. The Nevada CURE Records are comprised of correspondence, administrative records, case files, and research files created and collected by Mercedes Maharis from 1998 to 2009. Maharis was the founding director of Nevada CURE and co-author of the Spartacus Project Report. The collection also includes correspondence from inmates to Maharis expressing their grievances with prison personnel and the Nevada Department of Corrections as well as correspondence between Maharis and attorneys representing inmates in legal cases. This collection also contains copies of articles from Las Vegas Tribune that describe issues surrounding the treatment of inmates within the Nevada prison system.
Link to Collection Guide
