Manuscripts by Subjects
Manuscripts -> EnvironmentTotal manuscripts: 54
Warren (Elizabeth von Till and Claude N.) Papers
Coll #: MS-00906
Date: 1940-2017
Extent: 169 boxes (217.64 cubic feet, 195.76 linear feet); approximately 200 maps and drawings; 6,809 digital files (18.0 GB, DOC, DOCX, GIF, JPG, PDF, TIF, WPD)
The Elizabeth von Till and Claude N. Warren Papers (approximately 1940-2017) are comprised of the personal and professional papers of anthropologist Claude N. Warren and historical preservationist Elizabth von Till Warren. The materials in this collection primarily consist of research files, maps, and drawings on various archaeological and historical preservation projects in southern Nevada of which they both were involved. This collection includes field notes and surveys from archaeological projects such as the Old Las Vegas Mormon Fort and the Las Vegas Springs. Records on von Till Warren's involvement with the Old Spanish Trail Association, Southern Nevada Historical Society, and historic preservation work around southern Nevada are represented. Also included are Robert H. Crabtree's archaeological research files, a colleague of Claude Warren and bequeathed his professional files to him upon his death.
Link to Collection Guide
Wittwer (John) Collection on Agriculture in Nevada
Coll #: MS-00181
Date: 1898-1972 (bulk 1929-1955)
Extent: 7 boxes and 1 flat file (4.71 cubic feet, 4 linear feet)
The collection contains the professional papers and records of John Wittwer in his capacity as an Agricultural Extension agent for the University of Nevada from 1921 to 1954. The records are primarily annual reports containing text, photographs, newspaper clippings, and charts that provide a rich chronicle of the conditions of agriculture and ranching in southern Nevada from 1898 to 1972, the bulk of the material dating from 1929 to 1955. These conditions span water issues, such as flood control and irrigation, to the general difficulties of sustaining agriculture and viable food production in a desert environment. The reports come from the Agricultural Experiment Stations in Clark and Lincoln counties and most contain both a statistical report and a narrative summary. There is also documentation regarding Wittwer's work as a Clark County agent and that of other Nevada County Agents. Other material in the collection includes correspondence on various agricultural programs administered by Wittwer, and project files detailing progress made on rural farming concerns and developments such as nutrition, home health and sanitation, home gardening, home improvement, community activities and the 4-H club.
Link to Collection Guide
Yucca Mountain Environmental Safety Reports Collection
Coll #: MS-00786
Date: 1970-2011 (inclusive); 1985-2011 (bulk)
Extent: 44 boxes (26.8 cubic feet, 25.9 linear feet)
The Yucca Mountain Environmental Safety Collection (1970-2011) consists of reports and impact studies collected by Clark County's Nuclear Waste Division library for documenting Yucca Mountain's potential health and safety risks to Southern Nevada. The reports contain documents pertaining to potential environmental, health, financial, and safety risks from the Yucca Mountain Nuclear Waste Repository, which is located in Nye County, Nevada. The collection contains scientific and social studies in support of and opposition to the site. The bulk of the collection includes licensing reports, site selection studies, and impact studies from transporting, storing, and handling radioactive waste and spent nuclear fuel.
Link to Collection Guide
Yucca Mountain Site Characterization Office Collection
Coll #: MS-00091
Date: 1958-2001 (bulk 1970-1996)
Extent: 109 boxes, 2 flat files, 1 oversized box (140.17 cubic feet, 121.33 linear feet)
The Yucca Mountain Site Characterization Office collection (1958-2001) was assembled through a joint effort between the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) and the James R. Dickinson Library, University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) to provide public access to documentation and correspondence about the proposed high-level radioactive waste geologic repository site near Yucca Mountain, Nevada. Materials include technical reports, contractor reports, public hearing transcripts, safety evaluation reports, environmental impact statements, emergency plans, inspection reports, licensee event reports, and general communications. The collection includes documents from several other government entities such as the Yucca Mountain Site Characterization Office, Department of Energy, Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management (OCRWM), Nevada Nuclear Waste Storage Investigations (NNWSI), United States Geological Survey (USGS), Sandia National Laboratories, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, and Los Alamos National Laboratory.
Link to Collection Guide
