Manuscripts by Subjects
Manuscripts -> Clubs/OrganizationsTotal manuscripts: 165
Midbar Kodesh Records
Coll #: MS-00714
Date: 1986, 2005-2017
Extent: 1 box, 1 folder (shared box), 1777 Digital Files (0.25 cubic feet, 0.71 linear feet, 2.43 GB)
Link to Collection Guide
National League of American Pen Women (Las Vegas Branch)
Coll #: MS-00413
Date: 1950-1990
Extent: 2.3 linear feet (2 boxes)
The National League of American Pen Women Las Vegas (Nevada) Branch Records contain eight scrapbooks documenting the club’s activities between 1950 and 1990. The National League of American Pen Women (NLAPW) brings women interested in the arts together for professional development, networking, and social activities. In 1951, Lucile Spire Bruner led efforts for the founding of the Las Vegas branch. The scrapbooks include meeting minutes, newspaper clippings, correspondence, and photographs.
Link to Collection Guide
National Organization for Women, Las Vegas Chapter Records
Coll #: MS-00354
Date: 1966-2009
Extent: 4.65 Linear Feet (9 boxes)
The National Organization for Women, Las Vegas Chapter Records document the philosophy, activities, and politics of the National Organization for Women (NOW) from 1966 to 2005 with most materials covering the period of 1971 to 1974. The records demonstrate the activities and political positions of NOW and they include correspondence, policies, memoranda, files, publications, and ephemera from the Las Vegas, Nevada chapter.
Link to Collection Guide
Navy Mother's Club, Las Vegas Nevada Records
Coll #: MS-00285
Date: 1946-1979
Extent: 0.56 Cubic Feet (2 boxes)
Navy Mother's Club, Las Vegas, Nevada Records (1946-1979) contain scrapbooks, photographs, artifacts, by-laws, newspaper clippings, directories, and song books.
Link to Collection Guide
Nelson (Lorelle) Collection on Atomic Testing
Coll #: MS-00998
Date: 1980-2009
Extent: 3 boxes (1.38 Cubic Feet, 1.25 Linear Feet)
The Lorelle Nelson Collection on Atomic Testing is comprised of newspaper clippings, magazine and journal articles, correspondence, press releases, fact sheets, fliers, informational handouts and booklets, and newsletters from approximately 1980 to 2009 concerning nuclear weapons testing at the Nevada Test Site, throughout the United States, and internationally. The collection includes information about anti-nuclear groups, committees, and associations, as well as information on the effects of radiation, nuclear fallout, lawsuits and court cases, events and protests, conferences, and local news coverage.
Link to Collection Guide
Nevada Association of Psychiatric Physicians Records
Coll #: MS-00428
Date: 1984-2000
Extent: 1 Linear Feet (1 box)
The records of the Nevada Association of Psychiatric Physicians (NAPP) document the professional association's membership, activities, and advocacy from 1984 to 2000. The records indicate how NAPP organized the professional psychiatric community in Southern Nevada, held meetings on various public health initiatives, networked with other professional organizations like the American Medical Association and the American Psychological Association, and published articles and newsletters on a variety of psychiatric topics.
Link to Collection Guide
Nevada Chili Boosters and Nevada Association for the Handicapped Chili Cookoff Records
Coll #: MS-00834
Date: 1988-1998
Extent: 2 boxes (0.87 Cubic Feet, 0.79 Linear Feet)
Records are comprised of meeting minutes, newsletters, and event planning communication produced by the Nevada Chili Boosters in connection with the Nevada Association for the Handicapped between 1988 and 1998. The records provide information about the Chili Boosters "Hot Pot Chili Cookoff" benefiting the Nevada Association for the Handicapped and other charities.
Link to Collection Guide
Nevada Desert Experience Records
Coll #: MS-00524
Date: 1951-2009 (bulk 1982-2006)
Extent: 28 boxes, 2 oversized boxes (29.66 cubic feet, 27.30 linear feet)
The Nevada Desert Experience Records (1951-2009) are comprised of files from the anti-nuclear organization, the Nevada Desert Experience (NDE), as well as its predecessor, the Sagebrush Alliance, and those of earlier unincorporated protests at the Nevada Test Site (NTS). Materials include board of directors meeting minutes, financial records, scrapbooks, personnel records, event speeches, correspondence, newspaper clippings, cartoons and other artwork, newsletters, brochures, fliers, research files on nuclear issues and other anti-nuclear organizations, and congressional testimony. The records also contain audiovisual materials, photographic prints and slides, screenplays, manuscripts, and newspapers related to the NDE's media efforts.
Link to Collection Guide
Nevada EPSCoR Women in Science and Engineering Records
Coll #: MS-00450
Date: 1992-1998
Extent: 5 boxes (2.3 cubic feet, 2.08 linear feet)
The Nevada EPSCoR Women in Science and Engineering Records (1992-1998) consist primarily of budgets, staff resumes, program reviews and information, and correspondence pertaining to the Nevada Established Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR) Women in Science and Engineering (WISE) Las Vegas chapter located at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas. The records also contain newsletters, conference materials, and graduate assistant information.
Link to Collection Guide
Nevada Federation of Women's Clubs Collection
Coll #: MS-00266
Date: 1907-1999
Extent: 5.1 linear feet (9 boxes, 1 oversize box)
The Nevada Federation of Women's Clubs (NFWC) Records date from 1907 until 1999 and document the administration, activities, and publications of the NFWC. During the twentieth century, the NFWC included member clubs from throughout the state of Nevada including the Mesquite Club in Las Vegas, the Reno Women's Civic Club, and the Lamoille Women's Club. The collection includes meeting minutes and agendas, correspondence, publications, reports, and newspaper clippings.
Link to Collection Guide
Nevada Library Directories, Statistics, and Handbook
Coll #: MS-00706
Date: 1954-1992
The Nevada Library directories and statistics date from 1954 to 1992. The Library Association Handbook is dated December 31, 1987. Records were created by the Nevada State Library and Archives and its predecessor the Nevada State Library.
Link to Collection Guide
Nevada Nurses Association
Coll #: MS-00240
Date: 1945-1995
Extent: 24.75 Linear Feet (24 boxes)
Collection is comprised of the organizational records of the Nevada Nurses Association dating from 1945 through 1995. Topics addressed by the material include Planned Parenthood, state legislature on health care, the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA), and League of Women Voters. Types of material in the collection include clippings, association history, membership information, receipts, correspondence, convention notes and programs, alumni directory, newsletters, pamphlets, meeting minutes, and scrapbooks.
Link to Collection Guide
Nevada Poetry Society Records
Coll #: MS-00172
Date: 1961-1973
Extent: 1 Linear Feet (1 box)
The Nevada Poetry Society Records are comprised of the society's records dating from 1961 to 1973. Society organizer and president, Mildred Breedlove is featured prominently in the collection. Materials include: Silver Strings: Nevada Poetry Society Anthology, a collection of poems commemorating Nevada's centennial year, individual poems, bank records, correspondence, and newsletters.
Link to Collection Guide
Nevada State Museum
Coll #: MS-00280
Date: 1970 -1990
Extent: 3 boxes (combined)
Collection contains the inventory forms for all properties nominated and listed (during the above time period) on the National Register of Historic Places throughout Nevada. The inventory forms state the owners name, location of the property and a description of the property's historical significance. Also included in this collection are the Museum's financial statements, by-laws, meeting minutes, news clippings about general museum business and correspondence and memos regarding museum objectives, exhibit schedules and other similar topics. COLLECTION GUIDE AVAILABLE.
Link to Collection Guide
Nevada Watercolor Society Records
Coll #: MS-00510
Date: 1969-2009
Extent: 7 boxes, 2 oversize boxes, and 1 flat file (7.61 cubic feet, 11.27 linear feet)
The Nevada Watercolor Society Records contain watercolor paintings and organizational records pertaining to the Nevada Watercolor Society (1969-2009), a non-profit organization that aims to promote watermedia painting and art appreciation. Organizational records contain materials including by-laws, articles of incorporation, newsletters, exhibit information, tax and financial records, receipts, photographs, negatives, and newspaper clippings. The collection also includes paintings by society members.
Link to Collection Guide
Nevada Wildlife Federation records
Coll #: MS-00400
Date: 1989-1997
Extent: 1 box (0.19 cubic feet, 0.21 linear ft.)
The Nevada Wildlife Federation Records (1989-1997) consist of pamphlets, newsletters, periodic meeting minutes, and a copy of the bylaws of the Nevada Wildlife Federation.
Link to Collection Guide
Nevada Women's History Project Records
Coll #: MS-00406
Date: 1995-2008
Extent: 6 boxes (2.53 cubic feet, 2.29 linear feet)
The Nevada Women's History Project Records (1995-2008) contain the early organizational records of the Nevada Women's History Project (NWHP), which was created to collect and disseminate information about women throughout Nevada's history. The collection reflects the early organization of the Nevada Women's History Project's (NWHP) Southern region and the variety of events and projects with which the organization was involved with across the state of Nevada. Materials include membership lists, meeting minutes, press releases, project files, and NWHP newsletters.
Link to Collection Guide
Newton, Wayne Fan Club Records
Coll #: MS-00300
Date: 1969-1988
Extent: 1.85 linear feet (3 boxes)
The Wayne Newton Fan Club Records contain photographs, newspaper clippings, and magazine articles from 1969 to 1988. In addition to the documents that follow Wayne Newton's career, there are also video cassettes, vinyl records, picture books, and programs that provide insight to this time in the entertainment industry.
Link to Collection Guide
Nita Londo Rieger Collection on Gold Star Mothers
Coll #: MS-00408
Date: 1947-1995
Extent: 1.34 linear feet (1 oversize box)
Related Materials: 0315
The Nita Longo Rieger Collection on the Desert Chapter of Gold Star Mothers consists of materials dated from 1947 until 1995 from the Desert Chapter of Gold Star Mothers Inc. located in Las Vegas, Nevada. It includes newspaper clippings about the group, a history of the chapter, photographs of meetings and member events, and programs from the dedication and rededication of a monument erected by the group.
Link to Collection Guide
North Las Vegas Chamber of Commerce Records
Coll #: MS-00938
Date: approximately 1970-2007
Extent: 5 boxes (2.67 cubic feet, 3.25 linear feet)
The North Las Vegas Chamber of Commerce Records documents the activities of the North Las Vegas Chamber of Commerce in southern Nevada from approximately 1970 to 2007. The majority of this collection is comprised of photographs and scrapbooks documenting the North Las Vegas Chamber of Commerce member events. The collection also includes business guides, event invitations, and issues of the organization’s monthly newsletters.
Link to Collection Guide
Order of the Eastern Star Grand Chapter of Nevada Records
Coll #: MS-00702
Date: 1937-1968
Extent: 0.4 Linear Feet (1 box)
The Order of the Eastern Star Grand Chapter of Nevada Records contain proceedings of yearly meetings of this charitable organization for the years of 1937, 1946, 1948-1956, 1958, 1960-1968.
Link to Collection Guide
Ortiz Family Collection on the Las Vegas 51s Baseball Team
Coll #: MS-00267
Date: 1983-2010 (bulk 1983-2000)
Extent: 2.65 Linear Feet (8 boxes and 1 flat file)
In 1983 a Pacific Coast Minor League franchise moved to Las Vegas, Nevada and became the Las Vegas Stars. The team was an affiliate of the San Diego Padres from 1983 to 2000. In 2001 the name was changed to the "Las Vegas 51s" and it was affiliated with the Los Angeles Dodgers (2001-2008). The team became an affiliate of the Toronto Blue Jays (2009-2012), and later the New York Mets (2013- present). The collection consists of programs, baseball cards, posters, news clippings, and seasonal media guides from 1983 to 2010. The bulk of material is from 1983-2000 when the Las Vegas Stars franchise was affiliated with the San Diego Padres.
Link to Collection Guide
Pearson, Alice papers
Coll #: MS-00465
Date: 1956-2000
Extent: 3 boxes (1.66 linear feet, 1.94 cubic feet)
The Alice Pearson Papers (1956-2000) contain the personal papers of Alice Pearson and the administrative records of the Mesquite Club, the first service organization founded in Las Vegas, Nevada. The collection includes the club’s administrative records, service projects and social events, as well as its membership in the General Federation of Women's Clubs (GFWC). Materials within the collection include meeting minutes, correspondence, committee reports, newsletters, notebooks, and scrapbooks.
Link to Collection Guide
Planned Parenthood of Southern Nevada Records
Coll #: MS-00364
Date: 1980-1995 (bulk 1990-1992)
Extent: 7.82 cubic feet (17 boxes)
The Planned Parenthood of Southern Nevada Records (1980-1995) contain materials related to the internal administration and structure of the organization such as reports, strategic plans, and statistics. In addition, the collection contains materials pertaining to fund-raising activities such as fund-raising guides, ideas, and resources. Also included are brochures, articles, fact sheets, and clippings regarding various subjects including abortion, birth control, family planning, sexual education, sexually transmitted diseases, and teen pregnancy.
Link to Collection Guide
Professional Black Women's Alliance Records
Coll #: MS-00498
Date: 1997-2003
Extent: 1.88 linear feet, 0.23 cubic feet (1 box)
The Professional Black Women’s Alliance Records (1997-2003) consist of correspondence, photographs, and programs from the Professional Black Women’s Alliance. Most programs pertain to the organization’s annual Rose Awards, which celebrate black female role models from the Las Vegas, Nevada community. The collection also contains a large poster from the 1999 Rose Awards ceremony.
Link to Collection Guide
Progressive Leadership Alliance of Nevada Records
Coll #: MS-00526
Date: 1994-2002
Extent: 0.2 linear (1 box)
The Progressive Leadership Alliance of Nevada (PLAN) records span the years 1994 to 2002 and are comprised of material documenting the organization's involvment in gay issues in Las Vegas, Nevada. PLAN was founded in 1994 as the umbrella organization for Nevada's progressive groups and institutions. This collection is comprised of material documenting the Minority Status and Child Protection Act of 1994 and the Coalition for Unity and Equal Rights Nevada, and contains a number of files from that effort, including opinion surveys, meeting agendas and campaign plans.
Link to Collection Guide
Raben, Barbara Collection on the Las Vegas Jewish Community
Coll #: MS-00655
Date: 1976-2015
Extent: 2 boxes and 2 oversized boxes (2.45 cubic feet, 3.89 linear feet)
Related Materials: MS-00386, MS-00426, OH-02278
The Barbara Raben Collection on the Las Vegas Jewish Community (1976-2015) is comprised of materials collected by Barbara Raben that document her personal life and her involvement with the Las Vegas, Nevada Jewish community, specifically Hadassah Southern Nevada Chapter and the Jewish Family Service Agency (JFSA) of Clark County, Nevada. Hadassah and JFSA records consist of photographs and programs from events held by the organizations. Materials also document Raben's business, The Candy Factory, and her connections to the Florence Melton School of Adult Jewish Learning.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online
Red Rock Audubon Society
Coll #: MS-00393
Date: 1983-1996
Extent: 0.21 linear feet, 0.23 cubic feet (1 box)
Red Rock Audubon Society Records (1981-1996) contain correspondence, field trip notifications, newspaper clippings, fliers, and copies of the Society's newsletter, The Rock Wren.
Link to Collection Guide
Republican Women of Las Vegas, Nevada Records
Coll #: MS-00371
Date: 1953-1992
Extent: 2 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
The collection is comprised of the records of the Republican Women of Las Vegas, Nevada dating from 1953 to 1992. The collection includes scrapbooks, photographs, invitations, fliers, magazines, and awards.
Link to Collection Guide
River Mountains Trail Partnership Records
Coll #: MS-00796
Date: 1995-2015
Extent: 8 boxes, 1 oversized box, 1 flat file (5.66 cubic feet, 8.96 linear feet)
The River Mountains Trail Partnership Records date from 1995 to 2015 and document the planning and construction of the River Mountains Loop Trail in Clark County, Nevada. The collection contains meeting agendas and minutes, correspondence, project notes, trail maps, land surveys, grant applications, photographic slides of the trail and Lake Mead, environmental assessments, ephemera from National Trails Day, trail guides, interpretive plans, and development reports.
Link to Collection Guide
Schafer (Bill) papers
Coll #: MS-00874
Date: 1980-2018
Extent: 1 box, 1 oversized box, 23,679 digital files (0.62 cubic feet, 1.42 linear feet, 34.077 GB)
The Bill Schafer Papers (1980-2018) contain personal and professional papers of Las Vegas, Nevada journalist and publisher, Bill Schafer, and photographs from various LGBTQIA+ related events in Las Vegas. The materials include files related to Schafer's work managing the Las Vegas Night Beat and Las Vegas Bugle publications. The collection contains copies of various LGBTQIA+ directories and photographs from events such as the Las Vegas Pride parade and the Gay and Lesbian Community Center of Southern Nevada's annual Honorarium. Also included are photographs and papers from Schafer's involvement with the Imperial Royal Sovereign Court of the Desert Empire, Inc.
Link to Collection Guide
Schwartz (Gilbert) papers
Coll #: MS-00861
Date: 1960s-2008
Extent: 2 boxes, 1 oversized folder (shared box), and 1 unboxed item (1.21 cubic feet, 4.25 linear feet)
The collection documents Gilbert Shwartz's early involvement with the Clark County Sheriff's Mounted Posse and the Elks Club in the early 1960s as well as the growth of his real estate company, Sahara Realty, from 1963 to 2008. The collection includes photographs and programs of the Clark County Sheriff's Mounted Posse Rodeo and programs for the Elks Club Helldorado Days Rodeo from the early 1960s. The collection also includes photographs of Schwartz and his home, slides of Sahara Realty/Realtors advertising around Las Vegas, and autographed team photographs of the Central Little League teams sponsored by Sahara Realty. Also included is a program for the National Association of Real Estate Brokers annual conference held in Las Vegas in 1974.
Link to Collection Guide
Service League [Las Vegas]
Coll #: MS-00631
Date: 1948-1970
Extent: 4 oversize boxes, 4 double oversize boxes (6.68 linear feet)
Collection consists of the Las Vegas Service League scrapbooks containing newspaper articles about the members, various charitable acts performed by the league and league gatherings. (see also Junior League of Las Vegas collection 97-12 and the Junior Service League of Las Vegas on the roller shelf)
Shade Tree Shelter Records
Coll #: MS-00365
Date: 1990-1996
Extent: 3 boxes (2.76 cubic feet, 2.38 linear feet)
The Shade Tree Shelter Records date from 1990 to 1996 and consist primarily of logbooks and journals compiled by the staff of the Shade Tree, a shelter for homeless and abused women and children in Las Vegas, Nevada, documenting daily activities, incidents, and residents at the shelter. The collection also includes summaries of the staff's telephone conversations, a newspaper article about Shade Tree, and fliers and brochures about social services available in Southern Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Shepp (Helen M.) Papers
Coll #: MS-00394
Date: 1953-1962
Extent: 1 document box (.37 cubic feet)
The Helen M. Shepp Papers (1953-1962) contain financial records, meeting minutes, correspondence, and a policy statement relating to her involvement in the American Association for the United Nations (AAUN). Shepp was a founding member of the Nevada Chapter. Also included are copies of the "Navy Mothers' News" from 1953, to which Shepp belonged.
Link to Collection Guide
Sierra Club Toiyabe Chapter Records
Coll #: MS-00289
Date: 1951-2012
Extent: 20 linear feet (21 boxes)
The Sierra Club Toiyabe Chapter Records (1951 to 2012) are composed of files from Sierra Club officers and activists in the Southern Nevada (formerly Las Vegas) Group of the Toiyabe Chapter. The collection documents the involvement of the Southern Nevada group in a variety of environmental concerns, such as air quality, uranization, and nuclear issues, in which the chapter has expressed interest. The records are comprised of correspondence, memoranda, meeting minutes and agendas, newspapers, magazines, newsletters, pamphlets, press releases, legislation, recommendations, resolutions, and general information. Due to the group’s location in the heart of the Mojave Desert, the collection provides excellent case studies of significant changes in the post-World War II American environmental movement, notably the increased recognition of the worth of desert lands.
Link to Collection Guide
Soroptimist International of Henderson/Green Valley Chapter Records
Coll #: MS-00359
Date: 1980-2004
Extent: 1.25 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
Soroptimist International Henderson / Green Valley Chapter Records from 1980 to 2004 include meeting minutes, programs, photographs, conference materials, promotional material for various fund raisers, awards, and a gavel.
Link to Collection Guide
Soroptimist International Sierra Nevada Region Records
Coll #: MS-00848
Date: 1975-1998
Extent: 2 boxes (0.83 cubic feet, 0.92 linear feet)
The Soroptimist International Sierra Nevada Region Records are comprised of memoranda, newspaper clippings, brochures, and communications from 1975 to 1998. The collection includes information about the Soroptimist International Sierra Nevada Region chapter's involvement with women's rights issues, primarily the Equal Rights Amendment ratification campaign in Nevada and California, as well as national efforts.
Link to Collection Guide
Southern Nevada Antique Bottle Club Records
Coll #: MS-00217
Date: 1967-1975
Extent: 0.46 cubic feet (1 box)
The Southern Nevada Antique Bottle Club Records (1967-1975) contain the constitution, byLaws, membership lists, and copies of the club's newsletter, Punkin Seed.
Link to Collection Guide
Southern Nevada Association of Women Attorneys Records
Coll #: MS-00808
Date: 1979-2016
Extent: 5 boxes (5.2 Linear Feet, 5.7 Cubic Feet), 929 Digital Files (4 DVDs, 0.823 GB) PDF/A
Collection is comprised of records (approximately 1979 to 2016) created by the Southern Nevada Association of Women Attorneys (SNAWA). The collection contains administrative files from past SNAWA board members including past SNAWA presidents, secretaries, and treasures. The collection also includes records such as attendee lists, registration forms, and seminar evaluation forms from continuing legal education (CLE) events organized by SNAWA for attorneys in Southern Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Southern Nevada Chapter of the American War Mothers Organization Records
Coll #: MS-00396
Date: 1947-1995 (bulk 1950-1980)
Extent: 2.4 cubic feet (3 boxes and 1 flat folder)
The Southern Nevada Chapter of the American War Mothers Organization Records (1947-1995) are comprised primarily of scrapbooks containing correspondence and minutes, numerous newspaper clippings, and photographs. Also included are pamphlets on American War Mothers organizational rituals, bylaws, history, ceremonial ephemera, flags, and a Henderson Chapter Charter. The materials also contain items relating to the North Las Vegas Chapter, the Rose Garden Chapter, and the State Chapter.
Link to Collection Guide
Southern Nevada Coalition of Concerned Women, Inc. Records
Coll #: MS-00859
Date: 1996-2018
Extent: 3 boxes, 1 oversized box, 992 digital files (1.54 cubic feet, 2.54 linear feet, 0.99 GB)
The Southern Nevada Coalition of Concerned Women, Inc. Records (1996-2018) contains photographs, charity event programs, operational records, correspondence, and newspaper clippings. The majority of the collection consists of photographs and other materials documenting SNCCW's annual fundraising luncheons. Also included are the SNCCW's Articles of Incorporation, a brochure, awards, and certificates.
Link to Collection Guide
Southern Nevada Community Concerts Association Records
Coll #: MS-00543
Date: 1939-2004 (bulk 1986-2004)
Extent: 11 boxes and 3 oversized boxes (7.3 cubic feet, 9.07 linear feet)
The Linda Miller Papers date from 2008 to 2018 and document Dr. Linda Miller's chatauqua work portraying Las Vegas pioneer Helen Stewart at historical events in Southern Nevada. The collection also documents Miller's efforts to erect a statue of Helen Stewart at the Las Vegas, Nevada Old Mormon Fort. The collection consists of a scrapbook documenting Miller's appearances as Helen Stewart, video recordings on optical discs, and unbound scrapbook pages. Photographs and newspaper clippings are included in the scrapbook.
Link to Collection Guide
Southern Nevada Daughters of the American Revolution Records
Coll #: MS-00292
Date: 1950-2019
Extent: 19 boxes, 8 oversize boxes (24.34 cubic feet, 27.27 linear feet)
The Southern Nevada Daughters of the American Revolution Records primarily document the activities of three Southern Nevada chapters of the National Society Daughters of the American Revolution from 1950 to 2019. The materials center around the records of three chapters from Southern Nevada: Old Spanish Trail, Francisco Garces, and Valley of Fire. Materials include administrative records, scrapbooks, photographs, news clippings, and correspondence about the activities of the Daughters of the American Revolution chapters. Mateirals also include some records and scrapbooks from the Nevada State Society of DAR.
Link to Collection Guide
Southern Nevada Historical Society
Coll #: MS-00205
Date: 1948-1983
Extent: 2.10 Linear Feet (5 boxes)
The Southern Nevada Historical Society Records document the management and development of the Southern Nevada Historical Society (SNHS) as well as various historical projects in Las Vegas and Southern Nevada that the society sponsored from 1948 to 1983. The records include SNHS correspondence (1951-1978), meeting minutes(1958-1983), and accounting information (1959-1980). It also contains copies of the SNHS Backtrails Newsletter, promotional material for events, membership lists, and research materials for various projects related to the history of southern Nevada and Las Vegas.
Link to Collection Guide
Southern Nevada Jewish Heritage Project Community Collection
Coll #: MS-00790
Date: 1941-2017
Extent: 2 boxes and 1 oversize box (1.28 cubic feet, 1.87 linear feet); 192 digital files (12.74 GB)
The collection is comprised of organizational records, photographs, event programs, and ephemera donated by members of the Southern Nevada Jewish community as part of the University of Nevada, Las Vegas University Libraries’ Southern Nevada Jewish Heritage Project. Materials document the history of the Jewish community and Southern Nevada from 1941 to 2017. The collection provides information about family life, religious rituals, community events, and local businesses and organizations.
Link to Collection Guide
Southern Nevada Jewish Heritage Project Web Archive
Coll #: MS-01045
Date: 2016-2018
Extent: 30 websites (119.700 GB)
The Southern Nevada Jewish Heritage Project Web Archive contains archived websites that were captured between 2016 to 2018 that are related to UNLV University Libraries community documentation project, the Southern Nevada Jewish Heritage Project. Archived websites of religious institutions and community organizations are primarily represented. The collection also includes archived websites of organizations such as Jewish Nevada, Jewish Family Service Agency, the Las Vegas Jewish Film Festival, and David Magazine. Archived websites for religious institutions include synagogues such as Temple Beth Sholom, Congregation Ner Tamid, Temple Bet Knesset Bamidbar, and Pnai Tikvah.
Link to Collection Guide
Southern Nevada Women's Political Caucus
Coll #: MS-00344
Date: 1983 - 1984
Extent: 0.92 cubic feet, 0.83 linear feet (2 boxes)
The Southern Nevada Women's Political Caucus Records (1981-1992) document a chapter of the National Women's Political Caucus. It was active in child care issues and in aiding women who aspired to be elected to public office. Included are chapter bylaws, minutes, newsletters, and information on local child care and the Act for Better Child Care Services of 1987. Also included are records of forums, conferences, dinners, newspaper advertisements, financial records, and membership information. There is national information, including a bumper sticker, and a poster.
Link to Collection Guide
Southwest Oral History Association Records
Coll #: MS-00559
Date: 1981-2019
Extent: 19 boxes (8.68 cubic feet, 8.22 linear feet)
The Southwest Oral History Association Records contains records of the Southwest Oral History Association (SOHA) from 1981 to 2019. Records include agendas and minutes from the executive board committee, financial records, correspondence, photographs, and planning documents for SOHA's annual conference.
Link to Collection Guide
Stand OUT for Equality Records
Coll #: MS-00585
Date: 2008-2011
Extent: 3 boxes, 1 shared box (0.95 cubic feet, 2.71 linear feet)
The Stand OUT for Equality Records (2008-2011) contain correspondence, lobbying materials, press kits, promotional materials, expense reports, meeting agendas and minutes, certificates, and notes pertaining to the 2009 and 2011 lobbying efforts by Stand OUT for Equality for gay and straight domestic partnership benefits and transgender rights held in Carson City, Nevada. The collection also contains photographic prints of the 2009 and 2011 Equality Days in Carson City, copies of legislation related to domestic partnerships in Nevada, event invitations, newspaper clippings, and CDs with digital copies of fliers, posters, logos, manuals, training videos, and photographs, as well as templates and budgeting information.
Link to Collection Guide
