Manuscripts by Subjects
Manuscripts -> Casinos/HotelsTotal manuscripts: 187
UNLV Libraries Collection of Mandalay Bay Resort and Casino Promotional Materials and Reports
Coll #: MS-00994
Date: 1996-2006
Extent: 1 box (0.65 cubic feet, 0.54 linear feet)
UNLV Libraries Collection of Mandalay Bay Resort and Casino Promotional Materials and Reports includes annual reports, equity research reports, Securities and Exchange Commission Form 10-K, Securities and Exchange Commission Form 10-Q, press kits, press releases, and promotional materials for Mandalay Bay Resort and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada, dating from 1996 to 2006.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV Libraries Collection of Merrill Lynch Equity Reports
Coll #: MS-01060
Date: 2002-2007
Extent: 7 boxes (2.41 cubic feet, 2.71 linear feet)
The UNLV Libraries Collection of Merrill Lynch Equity Reports (2002-2007) contain gaming, lodging, and estimate change reports reports for the United States and Singapore created by Merrill Lynch. The collection also contains a number of Bear, Stearns, & Co. annual reports.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV Libraries Collection of MGM Mirage Corporation Promotional Materials and Reports
Coll #: MS-00972
Date: 1973-2007
Extent: 8 boxes (5.18 cubic feet, 4.33 linear feet)
The UNLV Libraries Collection of MGM Mirage Corporation Promotional Materials and Reports includes promotional materials, newspaper and magazine clippings, financial reports, annual reports, diversity reports, press releases, and press kits for the MGM Mirage Corporation in Las Vegas, Nevada, dating from 1973 to 2007.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV Libraries Collection of Peppermill Promotional and Press Materials
Coll #: MS-00941
Date: 1984-2007
Extent: 1 box (0.19 cubic feet, 0.21 linear feet)
UNLV Libraries Collection of Peppermill Casinos Incorporated Promotional and Press Materials includes clippings and promotional materials for Peppermill Casinos Incorporated properties in Reno, Nevada, Las Vegas, Nevada, and Mesquite, Nevada, dating from 1984 to 2007.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV Libraries Collection of Primadonna Resorts, Inc. Promotional Materials and Reports
Coll #: MS-00981
Date: 1970-1998
Extent: 1 box (0.46 cubic feet, 0.42 linear feet)
The UNLV Libraries Collection of Primadonna Resorts, Inc. Promotional Materials and Reports includes annual reports, financial reports, a press kit, press releases, promotional materials, and newspaper and magazine clippings for Primadonna Resorts, Inc. in Primm and Las Vegas, Nevada dating from 1970 to 1998.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV Libraries Collection of Rio Hotel & Casino Promotional Materials, Reports, and Manuals
Coll #: MS-00929
Date: 1990-2000
Extent: 2 boxes (1.3 cubic feet, 1.08 linear feet)
The UNLV Libraries Collection of Rio Hotel & Casino Promotional Materials, Reports, and Manuals includes procedure manuals, annual reports, press kits, financial reports, press clippings, press releases, and promotional materials for the Rio Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada dating from 1990 to 2000.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV Libraries Collection of Riviera Hotel and Casino Promotional and Press Materials
Coll #: MS-00943
Date: 1956-2005
Extent: 6 boxes (2.49 cubic feet, 2.5 linear feet)
The UNLV Libraries Collection of Riviera Hotel and Casino Promotional and Press Materials dates from 1956 to 2005 and consists primarily of press releases from the Riviera Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada during the 1990s. The collection also contains promotional brochures, press kits, event programs, and news clippings.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV Libraries Collection of Sahara Resorts Press Releases and Reports
Coll #: MS-00986
Date: 1965-2002
Extent: 4 boxes (2.03 cubic feet, 1.79 linear feet)
The UNLV Libraries Collection of Sahara Resorts Press Releases and Reports includes annual reports, financial reports, press releases, and promotional materials for the Sahara Resort in Las Vegas, Nevada, dating from 1965 to 2002.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV Libraries Collection of Sam’s Town Promotional and Publicity Materials
Coll #: MS-01011
Date: 1979-2006
Extent: 1 box (0.19 cubic feet, 0.21 linear feet)
The UNLV Libraries Collection of Sam’s Town Promotional and Publicity Materials includes press kits, press releases, promotional materials, and newspaper and magazine clippings for Sam’s Town Hotel and Gambling Hall in Las Vegas, Nevada, and Tunica, Mississippi, and Sam’s Town Gold River in Laughlin, Nevada, dating from 1979 to 2006.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV Libraries Collection of Sands Hotel and Casino Promotional Materials and Reports
Coll #: MS-00934
Date: 1958-2014
Extent: 1 box (0.65 cubic feet, 0.54 linear feet)
The UNLV Libraries Collection of Sands Hotel and Casino Promotional Materials and Reports includes equity research, clippings, press releases, press kits, and promotional materials for Sands Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada, dating from 1958 to 2014.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV Libraries Collection of Showboat, Inc. Promotional Materials and Financial Reports
Coll #: MS-00983
Date: 1968-2002
Extent: 2 boxes (1.3 cubic feet, 1.08 linear feet)
The UNLV Libraries Collection of Showboat, Inc. Promotional Materials and Financial Reports includes annual reports, quarterly financial reports, equity research reports, Securities and Exchange Commission Form 10-Q, Securities and Exchange Commission Form 10-K, prospectus, press kit, press releases, promotional materials, and newspaper and magazine clippings for Showboat, Inc. based in Las Vegas, Nevada, and Atlantic City, New Jersey, dating from 1968 to 2002.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV Libraries Collection of Station Casinos Promotional Materials and Reports
Coll #: MS-00924
Date: 1989-2008
Extent: 3 boxes (1.94 cubic feet, 1.63 linear feet)
The UNLV Libraries Collection of Station Casinos Promotional Materials and Reports includes annual reports, press kits, financial reports, newspaper clippings, publicity photographs and press releases for properties held by Station Casinos in Las Vegas, Nevada dating from 1989 to 2008.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV Libraries Collection of Sun International Hotels Limited Promotional Materials and Reports
Coll #: MS-00982
Date: 1996-2001
Extent: 1 box (0.23 cubic feet, 0.21 linear feet)
The UNLV Libraries Collection of Sun International Hotels Limited Promotional Materials and Reports includes quarterly reports, annual reports, equity reports and press releases for Sun International Hotels Limited in South Africa, dating from 1996 to 2001.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV Libraries Collection of the Claridge Hotel Promotional and Press Materials
Coll #: MS-01009
Date: 1981-2002
Extent: 1 box (0.46 cubic feet, 0.42 linear feet)
The UNLV Libraries Collection of the Claridge Hotel Promotional and Press Materials includes press releases, promotional materials, an employee manual, and newspaper and magazine clippings for the Claridge Hotel in Atlantic City, New Jersey, dating from 1981 to 2002.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV Libraries Collection of Treasure Island Hotel and Casino Promotional and Publicity Materials
Coll #: MS-00959
Date: 1991-2006
Extent: 1 box (0.46 cubic feet, 0.42 linear feet)
The UNLV Libraries Collection of Treasure Island Hotel and Casino Promotional and Publicity Materials includes press kits, press releases, promotional materials, and newspaper and magazine clippings for Treasure Island Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada, dating from 1991 to 2006.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV Libraries Collection of Tropicana Resorts Publicity and Press Materials
Coll #: MS-01006
Date: 1958-2010
Extent: 17 boxes (6.39 cubic feet, 7.09 linear feet); 29 digital files (0.08 GB)
The UNLV Libraries Collection of Tropicana Resorts Publicity and Press Materials includes equity research reports, press kits, press releases, promotional materials, and newspaper and magazine clippings for Tropicana Las Vegas in Las Vegas, Nevada, and Tropicana Atlantic City in Atlantic City, New Jersey, dating from 1958 to 2010.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV Libraries Collection of Trump Entertainment Resorts, Inc. Promotional Materials and Reports
Coll #: MS-00992
Date: 1987-2007
Extent: 1 box (0.65 cubic feet, 0.54 linear feet)
The UNLV Libraries Collection of Trump Entertainment Resorts, Inc. Promotional Materials and Reports includes financial reports, press releases, press kits, promotional materials, a security handbook, and newspaper and magazine clippings for Trump Entertainment Resorts, Inc. in New York City, New York dating from 1987 to 2007.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV Libraries Collection on Casino Game Management
Coll #: MS-00847
Date: 1982-1999
Extent: 2 boxes (0.87 cubic feet, 0.79 linear feet)
The UNLV Libraries Collection on Casino Game Management is comprised of management training guides and manuals used in casino management and operations dating from 1982 to 1999 from different hotel casinos primarily from Las Vegas, Nevada. Guides and manuals cover topics such as casino floor supervision and dealer/staff training for table games. The collection includes published guides as well as internal casino procedural manuals and employee handbooks from hotels such as Circus Circus, Mandalay Bay, the Monte Carlo, the Rio, and Harrah's (Laughlin, NV).
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV Libraries Collection on Casino Game Protection
Coll #: MS-00846
Date: 1975-2004
Extent: 5 boxes (2.4 Cubic Feet, 2.13 Linear Feet)
The UNLV Libraries Collection on Casino Game Protection includes resources on casino security dating from 1975 to 2004 compiled by the University of Nevada, Las Vegas Special Collections and Archives. Materials include published reports related to casino security, gaming legislation, and gaming controls. It also contains information from surveillance information network reports, including the Griffin Book by Griffin Investigations, and other sources that document persons who committed offenses in casinos. The reports were designed to assist casino operators in spotting cheaters, advantage players, and scam artists.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV Libraries Collection on Tribal Gaming
Coll #: MS-00971
Date: 1980-2005
Extent: 2 boxes (1.30 cubic feet, 1.08 linear feet)
The UNLV Libraries Collection on Tribal Gaming (approximately 1980-2005) contains newspaper clippings, website printouts, government reports, and brochures about tribal gaming policies and regulations across the United States, particularly in Nevada, New York, and Minnesota.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV University Libraries Collection on Las Vegas Show Costume Design
Coll #: MS-00422
Date: 1940s-1970s
Extent: 1 box, 4 oversized boxes (3.41 cubic feet, 6.37 linear feet)
The UNLV University Libraries Collection on Las Vegas Show Costume Design is comprised of work from several desginers who created costumes for various Las Vegas, Nevada shows. The designs are undated but appear to date from the 1940s to 1970s. The collection includes works from the following designers: Jean Devlyn, Anne Guertin, Larry Merritt, Ladd, Josephine Spinedi, Corrado Colabucci, and also includes unsigned designs from unknown artists. The collection also designs for Matt Gregory Productions. Most of the designs do not include show information.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV University Libraries Collection on Las Vegas, Nevada Show Programs
Coll #: MS-00333
Date: 1950 - 2012
Extent: 2 boxes and 1 flat file (1.17 cubic feet, 2.13 linear feet)
The UNLV University Libraries Collection on Las Vegas, Nevada Show Programs consists of show programs, ticket stubs, fliers, and other ephemera from shows that played in Las Vegas, Nevada between 1950 and 2012. It contains materials about lounge performances, revue shows, Broadway shows, and other entertainment in Las Vegas.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV University Libraries Menu Collection
Coll #: MS-00436
Date: 1852-2010
Extent: 104 boxes, 83 oversized boxes, 1 flat file (121.14 cubic feet, 172.62 linear feet)
The University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) University Libraries Menu Collection consists of menus from restaurants, events, and travel excursions dating from 1852 to 2010. It includes menus from throughout the United States, with the majority of menus coming from Las Vegas, Nevada and Southern California. It also contains materials from many countries as well as travel menus from passenger rail travel, cruise liners and ships, and airlines. The collection also includes dining ephemera consisting of dining guides, food service trade information, and other materials related to restaurants.
Link to Collection Guide
Van (Garwood and Joan) family papers
Coll #: MS-00825
Date: 1920-2003 (bulk 1930s-1970s)
Extent: 15 boxes (7.27 cubic feet, 14.88 linear feet)
The Garwood and Joan Van Family Papers (1920-2003) contain scrapbooks, photographs, newsletters, correspondence, and newspaper clippings collected by Garwood Van and his wife Joan Van.The collection includes material on Garwood's music career as a popular band leader in New York, California, and Las Vegas, Nevada as well as material about Joan's early life as a model and dancing career.
Link to Collection Guide
Viñas, José Luis papers
Coll #: MS-00468
Date: 1960-2000
Extent: 1 box and 1 flat file (0.63 cubic feet, 2.09 linear feet)
Collection consists of the costume designs, news clippings, and photographs of noted Las Vegas costume designer, Jose Luis Vinas, who designed for producer Frederic Apcar in shows such as Vive Les Girls and Casino de Paris. Includes original costume designs done for Vive Les Girls, Casino de Paris and Siegfried and Roy.
Link to Collection Guide
Warren (Edmund P.) Papers
Coll #: MS-00987
Date: 1940-2005 (bulk 1970-1985)
Extent: 1 boxes, 2 oversized boxes (1.87 cubic feet, 2.38 linear feet)
The Edmund P. Warren Papers (1940-2005) consist of Warren’s personal collection of travel documentation, newspaper clippings, promotional materials from casinos and shows, and dining ephemera primarily from Las Vegas, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Weatherford, Mike Entertainment Research Papers
Coll #: MS-00725
Date: 1980-1995
Extent: 1 Linear Feet (1 box)
The Mike Weatherford entertainment research papers date from approximently 1980 through 1995 and consist of entertainers' biographies and entertainment critiques for shows in the various hotels in Las Vegas, Nevada. There are also a few news clippings.
Link to Collection Guide
Weiswasser (Marc) Papers
Coll #: MS-00816
Date: 1976-2002 inclusive (1986-1998 bulk)
Extent: 7 boxes, 1 folder (shared box) 2.54 cubic feet, 4.75 linear feet), 24 digital files (0.0012 GB)
The collection is comprised of materials from approximately 1976 to 2002 documenting Marc Weiswasser's career in the Las Vegas, Nevada gaming industry. The collection includes instructional guides and handbooks for table game dealers, employee handbooks and newsletters from the Flamingo Hilton and MGM Grand Las Vegas materials, as well as interviews and articles about Marc Weiswasser. The collection also includes newspaper clippings about the gaming industry and video recordings from the Institute for the Study of Gambling and Commercial Gaming. There are also reports from the Nevada Gaming Control Board regarding Regulation 6A, which deals with cash transactions prohibitions, reporting, and record keeping. The collection also includes a variety materials about the Casino Management Association (CMA) including a promotional video, conference fliers, invitations, photographs from various CMA events, and educational materials related to casino operations.
Link to Collection Guide
Willard (Bill) papers
Coll #: MS-00435
Date: 1887-1999 (inclusive)
Extent: 20.45 linear feet, 22.20 cubic feet (52 boxes)
Related Materials: 0333
This collection is comprised of the personal papers of noted Las Vegas entertainment writer, producer, and critic Bill Willard, which date from 1887 to 1999. It contains material on his father's theater and political involvements as well as Willard's early childhood and high school years. His time in the United States Army is chronicled by the editorials and correspondence he wrote. His papers trace his continued involvement in writing, entertainment, and art which culminated in his direction of the Arnold Shaw Popular Music Research Center. The collection also includes pictures of his artwork, articles he wrote for various newspapers and magazines, scripts, skits, jokes, awards, over 700 interviews done for the "Rap with the Artist" series, and personal memorabilia.
Link to Collection Guide
Williams (Claudine) Papers
Coll #: MS-00094
Date: 1956-2009 (bulk 1970-2007)
Extent: 25 boxes, 3 oversized boxes, 1 flat file, and 1 shared box (15.2 cubic feet, 19.09 linear feet)
The Claudine Williams Papers (1956-2009) contain awards, contracts, personal and business correspondence, newspaper clippings, and photographs pertaining to Las Vegas, Nevada businesswoman and philanthropist, Claudine Williams. The collection also includes extensive information on her hotel and gaming properties, including the Silver Slipper Gambling Hall, Holiday Casino, and Harrah's Hotel and Casino, as well as her honorary doctoral degree, medals, and audiovisual materials of interviews, news reports, and events.
Link to Collection Guide
World Series of Poker 2006 Collection
Coll #: MS-00691
Date: 2006
Extent: 1 box (0.2 linear feet, 0.19 cubic feet)
The World Series of Poker 2006 Collection dates to 2006 and contains promotional material for the 37th World Series of Poker tournament at Harrah's Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada. The collection also contains results and information from the various levels of the tournament.
Link to Collection Guide
Wright (Marshall L.) collection on the Riviera Hotel
Coll #: MS-00394
Date: 1944-1956 (bulk 1955-1956)
Extent: 1 box (0.41 cubic feet, 1.08 linear feet)
The Marshall L. Wright Collection on the Riviera Hotel (1944-1956) consists of a disassembled scrapbook, a small amount of newspaper clippings, and correspondence from Marshall L. Wright. He served as the general manager of the Riviera Hotel in Las Vegas, Nevada beginning in 1954 and remained in the role through the hotel’s opening on April 20, 1955. By late 1955, he moved to a similar role at the Flamingo Las Vegas. Materials document the opening of the Riviera including black-and-white photographs of the construction of the hotel, press kits, brochures, and other promotional material. The collection includes a small amount of promotional material from the Flamingo.
Link to Collection Guide
Wynn Las Vegas Scrapbook
Coll #: MS-00690
Date: 1940-2008
Extent: 1.6 Linear Feet (1 box)
The collection consists of one scrapbook (2008) of postcards and photographs tracing the history of the Las Vegas property upon which the Wynn Las Vegas resort was built and four magazines featuring articles about Las Vegas (1940, 1947, 1955, and 1959). The scrapbook begins with several pages of historic postcards of the hotel originally built on the property, the Desert Inn, and continues with the establishment of the Wynn and the vision of its associated resort, the Encore. While the images primarily focus on the Desert Inn and the Wynn, there are also several pages of images of various other Las Vegas Strip properties accompanied by a brief timeline. The scrapbook contains approximately 76 images, dating from 1950 to 2008.
Link to Collection Guide
Wynn Las Vegas Scrapbook
Coll #: MS-00690
Date: 1940-2008
Extent: 1.6 Linear Feet (1 box)
The collection consists of one scrapbook (2008) of postcards and photographs tracing the history of the Las Vegas property upon which the Wynn Las Vegas resort was built and four magazines featuring articles about Las Vegas (1940, 1947, 1955, and 1959). The scrapbook begins with several pages of historic postcards of the hotel originally built on the property, the Desert Inn, and continues with the establishment of the Wynn and the vision of its associated resort, the Encore. While the images primarily focus on the Desert Inn and the Wynn, there are also several pages of images of various other Las Vegas Strip properties accompanied by a brief timeline. The scrapbook contains approximately 76 images, dating from 1950 to 2008.
Link to Collection Guide
Yerike (Kenneth) papers
Coll #: MS-00900
Date: 1970s-2000
Extent: 17 boxes and 1 flat file (12.81 cubic feet, 16.19 linear feet)
The Kenneth Yerike Papers are comprised of video tapes, instructional manuals, casino operational instructions, playing cards, dice, and brochures from the 1970s to 2000 that document Yerike's involvement with establishing the Hyatt Regency and Regency Casino on Jeju Island, South Korea. The papers include information about how the Hyatt Regency Casino was established and how staff were trained, particularly as it relates to operating table games. The instructional manuals detail how to play table games such as craps, roulette, blackjack, and baccarat. The manuals are written in both Korean and English, with the majority of the manuals written in Korean.
Link to Collection Guide
Young Electric Sign Company Corporate Records
Coll #: MS-00403
Date: 1914-2000
Extent: 18 boxes, 2 oversize boxes (9.72 cubic feet, 11 linear feet); 10,866 Digital Files (7.68 GB)
The collection (1914-2000) documents the history of the Young Electric Sign Company (YESCO) and is comprised of photographs of sign production and finished signs, negatives, slides, transparencies, anniversary scrapbooks, and videotapes. The collection also contains meeting minutes, correspondence, price books, drawings, calculations, newspaper and trade magazine articles on YESCO, advertising materials, and oral history interviews and audio recordings of YESCO designers and executives. YESCO is responsible for many of the neon signs in and around Las Vegas, Nevada and Reno, Nevada, as well as other Western states.
Link to Collection Guide
Zunino (JW) Landscape Architecture Records
Coll #: MS-00891
Date: 1986-2003
Extent: 39 rolls (10.87 cubic feet, 12.42 linear feet)
The JW Zunino Landscape Architectural Records contain landscape and architectural drawings depicting work performed in Las Vegas, Nevada between 1986 to 2003. Casino work includes The Mirage Resort Hotel and Casino, the Monte Carlo Hotel and Casino, Tropicana Hotel and Casino, Suncoast Hotel and Casino, Caesars Palace, and Desert Inn Hotel and Casino. The records also include work performed for parks, residential properties, public and civil buildings, and commercial facilities.
Link to Collection Guide
