Manuscripts by Subjects
Manuscripts -> Casinos/HotelsTotal manuscripts: 187
Harvey's Lake Tahoe Hotel and Casino Collection
Coll #: MS-00475
Date: 1830-1995 (bulk 1950-1995)
Extent: 33 boxes and 4 oversized boxes (26.11 cubic feet, 26.67 linear feet)
Collection is comprised of materials, dating roughly 1830-1995, from Harvey's Lake Tahoe Hotel and Casino Resort and the associated Harvey J. Fuller notes on casinos in Nevada. The bulk of the collection consists of paper inventories, Fuller's original notes, casino marketing materials, and casino and gambling merchandise. Also included are a number of artifacts and nineteenth and early twentieth century gambling machines.
Link to Collection Guide
Hayes, Grace Papers
Coll #: MS-00271
Date: 1900-1989
Extent: 5 boxes and 1 oversized box (2.62 cubic feet, 3.91 linear feet)
Related Materials: 0292
The Grace Hayes Papers (1957-1962) include the personal and financial papers of actress and singer Grace Hayes, who owned the Red Rooster, a nightclub on the Las Vegas Strip. The papers include financial documents, newspaper clippings about Grace Hayes and her family, personal correspondence, career mementos, legal documents, and photo albums.
Link to Collection Guide
Heffner, Van V.
Coll #: MS-00335
Date: 1980s-1990s
Extent: 2 linear feet (2 record storage boxes)
Collection contains the convention programs for Nevada Lodgings (for the Nevada Hotel and Motel Association) annual meetings and the Chef of the Year convention, and the Food Executive Newsletter, Nevada Hospitality, Nevada Lodging, International Food Service Executive Association Magazine and other culinary and lodging/management publications.
Link to Collection Guide
Hertzman (Jean) Menu Collection
Coll #: MS-00797
Date: 1970s-2000s
Extent: 5 boxes (3.31 cubic feet, 3.84 linear feet)
The Jean Hertzman Menu Collection (1970s-2000s) consists primarily of menus from Las Vegas, Nevada restaurants including several from casinos that are no longer in operation such as the Silver Slipper, the Thunderbird, and the Sahara. The collection also includes international menus, catering information for various Las Vegas casinos, a Los Angeles, California menu guidebook, and a corporate information packet for MGM Resorts International.
Link to Collection Guide
Hirsch (Charles J.) Papers
Coll #: MS-00291
Date: 1952 - 1987
Extent: 6 boxes (2.53 cubic feet, 2.29 linear feet)
The Charles J. Hirsch Papers (1952-1987) contain gaming reports and net-recovery percentages from the Golden Nugget Casino from 1952 to 1967, the Sands Hotel and Casino in 1965 and 1975, the Landmark Hotel and Casino in 1975 to 1976, and the New Frontier Hotel and Casino in 1973 to 1975. Also included are American Society for Quality Control (ASQC) conference materials, speeches given by Hirsch, correspondence, photographs, newspaper clippings, and surveys.
Link to Collection Guide
Hotel Nevada Guest Register
Coll #: MS-00634
Date: 1910-1911
Extent: 1 box (0.66 Linear Feet)
The Hotel Nevada Guest Register (1910-1911) consists of one register from the Hotel Nevada, which opened on the southeast corner of Main Street and Fremont Street in Las Vegas, Nevada in 1906. This particular volume lists guest names and their home cities located on the corner of Fremont and Main Streets.
Link to Collection Guide
Howard Hughes Public Relations Reference Files
Coll #: MS-00380
Date: 1931-1997 (bulk 1946-1976)
Extent: 116 boxes (120.08 cubic feet, 106.89 linear feet)
The Howard Hughes Public Relations Reference Files (1931-1997) were compiled by Richard "Dick" Hannah, vice-president of the Los Angeles public relations firm Carl Byoir & Associates, which was hired to direct public relations for Hughes’ companies. The collection is primarily composed of newspaper clippings organized into reference files. A significant number of the files contain articles about Howard Hughes’ personal life, the operations of his companies, and legal and political disputes involving Hughes and his companies. The files also document a range of other subjects related to his business ventures, including aviation, aerospace, defense industries, motion picture studios, film stars, communism in Hollywood, and the House on Un-American Activities Committee (HUAC). Later in life Hughes became obsessed with how he was being portrayed in the media. In addition to collecting magazine articles, newspaper clippings, transcripts, screenplays, and books that referenced him. He also collected newspaper clippings about the activities of print media outlets, columnists, radio-television stations, current and former employees, and competitors. The collection also contains newspaper clippings about Watergate, organized crime, gambling, and Las Vegas and contains press releases, correspondence and records generated by Carl Byoir & Associates as well as Rosemont Enterprise, Inc.
Link to Collection Guide
International Association of Gaming Attorneys
Coll #: MS-00250
Date: 1977-1986
Extent: 2.2 Linear Feet (3 boxes)
The International Association of Gaming Attorneys (IAGA) collection is comprised of materials collected from various corporations and casinos in Nevada and New Jersey, ranging from 1977 to 1986. There are a wide array of documents including: gaming license applications from corporations in Nevada and New Jersey, copies of casino control acts from New Jersey, gaming publications, gaming conference proceedings, gaming commission reports, newsletters and correspondence of the National Association of Gaming Attorneys (NAGA).
Link to Collection Guide
Jackson (Jerry) Papers
Coll #: MS-00573
Date: 1953-2009 (bulk 1975-2009)
Extent: 9 boxes, 12 oversize boxes, and 10 flat files (12.64 cubic feet, 50.76 linear feet)
The Jerry Jackson Papers, 1953 to 2009, contain materials related to Jackson's career in entertainment as a director, producer, choreographer, writer, lyricist, and costume designer. Jackson's work on Folies-Bergère at the Tropicana Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada is the most extensive show represented. Materials also include documentation of Jackson's other stage, film, and television productions. The papers include general production information, correspondence, costume design drawings, wardrobe notes, choreography notes, sheet music, music scores, lyrics, budgetary information, production photographs, show outlines and rundowns, set designs, scripts and publicity materials.
Link to Collection Guide
Jackson (Jerry) Papers
Coll #: MS-00573
Date: 1953-2009 (bulk 1975-2009)
Extent: 9 boxes, 12 oversize boxes, and 10 flat files (12.64 cubic feet, 50.76 linear feet)
The Jerry Jackson Papers, 1953 to 2009, contain materials related to Jackson's career in entertainment as a director, producer, choreographer, writer, lyricist, and costume designer. Jackson's work on Folies-Bergère at the Tropicana Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada is the most extensive show represented. Materials also include documentation of Jackson's other stage, film, and television productions. The papers include general production information, correspondence, costume design drawings, wardrobe notes, choreography notes, sheet music, music scores, lyrics, budgetary information, production photographs, show outlines and rundowns, set designs, scripts and publicity materials.
Link to Collection Guide
Jeju Hyatt Regency Casino Records
Coll #: MS-00692
Date: 1985
Extent: 1 box (0.4 linear feet)
The Jeju Hyatt Regency Casino Records date to 1985 and contain information about the Korean casino and its operation guidelines for various games, the conduct of their employees, and business reports for the casino. This information is provided in both English and Korean.
Link to Collection Guide
Jerde Partnership Records
Coll #: MS-00974
Date: 1992
Extent: 1 folder (shared box)
The Jerde Partnership Records (1992) is comprised of architectural planning documents used for designing the Fremont Street Experience and Treasure Island Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada. Design records for the Fremont Street Experience include concept proposals, sketches, notes, brochures, and a presentation book. Also included are copies of handwritten design notes and sketches and a drawing schedule for the Treasure Island Hotel and Casino.
Link to Collection Guide
JMA Architecture Studio Records
Coll #: MS-00783
Date: 1953-2002
Extent: 12 boxes and 83 rolls (34.23 Cubic Feet, 30.75 Linear Feet)
The JMA Architecture Studio Records are comprised of architectural records (1953-2002) created by the American architect Jack Miller and/or his architectural firm, known as both Jack Miller & Associates, Architects, & Engineers, Inc and JMA Architects, Inc. This collection includes 30.25 linear feet of materials documenting work on over 250 projects. The collection focuses on Las Vegas and Reno, Nevada. The materials feature photographs of the firm’s projects and hand-drawn architectural drawings, ranging from pencil and ink on tracing paper preliminary sketches to ink on Mylar (TM) construction documents. The drawings also contain work from a number of consultants, engineers, and other architects who collaborated on the development of the various projects. The collection includes architectural drawings for hotels, casinos, integrated casino resorts, office towers, multi-family residential developments, and custom single-family homes.
Link to Collection Guide
Jones (Clifford) family papers
Coll #: MS-00596
Date: 1900-2005
Extent: 13 boxes (5.27 cubic feet, 7.5 linear feet)
The Clifford Jones Family Papers (1900-2005) consist of awards for community service, newspaper clippings, correspondence sent to family members by Cliff Jones when he was in the military, and photograph albums of the Jones family. Clifford Jones was the 20th Lieutenant Governor for Nevada from 1947 to 1954.
Link to Collection Guide
Katherine A. Spilde Papers on Native American Gaming
Coll #: MS-00092
Date: 1789, 1793, 1823-1832, 1851, 1859, 1883, 1886, 1903, 1908-1909, 1970-2015, (bulk 1990-2015)
Extent: 59.64 cubic feet (77 boxes, 8 oversize boxes, 3 flat files, 1 item)
The Katherine A. Spilde Papers on Native American Gaming include materials collected by anthropologist Katherine Spilde about Native American gaming and the greater gaming industry. The materials date from 1789 to 2015, with the bulk of materials dating from 1995 to 2010. Materials dating from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries are reproductions of key court opinions and treaties concerning Native American rights and sovereignty. The majority of the materials document Native American gaming following the passage of the 1988 Indian Gaming Regulatory Act (IGRA). The papers detail Native American gaming enterprises both on and off reservations, the socioeconomic impact of gaming, and the legislative history of Native American gaming in the United States. The papers include research and subject files created by Dr. Spilde during her employment with the National Gambling Impact Study Commission (NGISC), the National Indian Gaming Association (NIGA), and the Harvard Project on American Indian Economic Development (HPAIED). The collection includes socioeconomic reports; testimonies; correspondence; memos; press releases; photographs; audiovisual materials; promotional materials from casinos and tourist attractions; brochures; fact sheets; summaries; booklets; pamphlets; advertisements; tourism materials; journal articles; legal briefs; legislative documents; court opinions; Dr. Spilde’s notes; presentations; packets, agenda, schedules, and itineraries from conferences; magazines; Native American and community newspapers; and newspaper articles. The collection includes materials about over one hundred federally recognized Native American nations. Also included are materials that document the socioeconomic impact of gaming, the international gaming industry, criminal activities related to gaming, advertising about gaming and casinos, lotteries, internet gaming, compulsive gaming, and bankruptcy as a result of gaming.
Link to Collection Guide
Kelly (Margaret) Collection on the Bluebell Girls
Coll #: MS-00604
Date: 1935-1997
Extent: 2 boxes and 21 oversized boxes (9.37 cubic feet, 22.94 linear feet)
The Margaret Kelly Collection on the Bluebell Girls (1935-1997) includes personal scrapbooks created by Margaret Kelly, programs from international shows featuring the Bluebell Girls dance troupe, and photographs of the Bluebell Girls. The scrapbooks include newspaper clippings covering Kelly's work at the Folies-Bergère and Lido de Paris, Paris, France, and her long career as creator and manager of the world famous Bluebell Girls. Also included are materials from 1958 about the Bluebell Girls shows in Las Vegas, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Key, Alice papers
Coll #: MS-00095
Date: 1936-2004
Extent: 1 box (0.46 cubic feet, 0.42 linear feet)
The Alice Key Papers (1936-2004) consist of documents detailing Alice Key’s life and work in the African American community, historic preservation, and labor relations in Las Vegas, Nevada. Included in the collection are awards and certificates documenting Key’s achievements, invitations and programs to events, political and civic correspondence, and magazine and newspaper articles both about Key and written by her. The collection also contains photographs.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online
Klai Juba Wald Architectural Records
Coll #: MS-01033
Date: 2000-2020
Extent: 161 digital files (2.07 GB)
The Klai Juba Wald Architectural Records (2000-2020) are comprised primarily of digital architectural renderings for projects completed by Las Vegas, Nevada architecture and interior design firm Klai Juba Wald Architecture + Interiors. The collection is comprised of renderings for the firm's projects conducted mainly around Las Vegas, but also includes projects around the United States such as the Seminole Hard Rock Hotel and Casino in Florida and Rivers Casino in Illinois. Also included are master plans and presentation slides for projects like the Choctaw Casino in Oklahoma and Live! Casino & Hotel in Maryland. Master plans for projects in Las Vegas include the LINQ, Silverton Casino Hotel, and Hard Rock Las Vegas.
Link to Collection Guide
Kovell, Hank Papers
Coll #: MS-00105
Date: 1945-2012
Extent: 0.23 Cubic Feet, 0.21 Linear Feet (1 box)
The Hank Kovell Papers document his life as a publicity agent in Las Vegas, Nevada from 1945 to 2012. The collection includes photographs, correspondence, newspaper clippings, a script entitled, "The Visitor," publications, and the newsletter entitled, "The Frontiersman."
Link to Collection Guide
Kovell, Hank Papers
Coll #: MS-00105
Date: 1945-2012
Extent: 0.23 Cubic Feet, 0.21 Linear Feet (1 box)
The Hank Kovell Papers document his life as a publicity agent in Las Vegas, Nevada from 1945 to 2012. The collection includes photographs, correspondence, newspaper clippings, a script entitled, "The Visitor," publications, and the newsletter entitled, "The Frontiersman."
Link to Collection Guide
Las Vegas Hilton Hotel Race and Sportsbook Records
Coll #: MS-00764
Date: 2005-2006
Extent: 1 box (0.19 cubic feet, 0.21 linear feet)
The Las Vegas Hilton Race and Sportsbook Records consist of a packet and other training materials given to new employees (2005-2006).
Link to Collection Guide
Las Vegas Numismatic Society
Coll #: MS-00278
Date: 1963-1974
Extent: 0.42 Linear Feet (1 box)
The Las Vegas Numismatic Society Collection (1963-1974) consists of material pertaining to the Las Vegas, Nevada Numismatic Society such as receipts, membership lists, deposit slips, correspondence, news clippings, photographs, newsletters, and memos. The collection details the first Las Vegas Numismatic Society Coin Show of 1963.
Link to Collection Guide
Las Vegas, Nevada Strip Hotel Labor Relations Collection
Coll #: MS-00659
Date: 1963-2008
Extent: 5 boxes (3.12 cubic feet, 2.75 linear feet)
The Las Vegas, Nevada Strip Hotel Labor Relations Collection comprises legal documents, correspondence, and human resources manuals and pamphlets related to labor in the hospitality industry on the Las Vegas Strip in Nevada from 1963 to 2008. The majority of documents involve the Culinary Union, the Bartenders Union, the Teamsters Union, MGM Mirage affiliated hotel casinos, the Dunes Hotel, and the Sands Hotel and Casino.
Link to Collection Guide
LaVoie (Johnny) Papers on the Culinary Workers Union Local 226
Coll #: MS-00895
Date: 1958-1993
Extent: 13 boxes (8.17 cubic feet, 7.49 linear feet)
The Johnny LaVoie Papers on the Culinary Workers Union 226 (1958-1993) contain photographs of Culinary Union meetings; Culinary Union strikes at the MGM Hotel, Frontier Hotel, and other Las Vegas, Nevada hotels; agreements; by-laws; and Culinary Union collective bargaining booklets. Also included are negatives that correspond to the photographs, audiovisual material, newsletters from the Culinary Union and Catering Industry Employees, pins, buttons, and postcards.
Link to Collection Guide
LeCoque, (Ffolliott "Fluff") Papers
Coll #: MS-00826
Date: 1879-2015 (bulk 1930-2015)
Extent: 4 oversized boxes, 3 boxes, 1 flat file (2.56 cubic feet, 8.77 linear feet)
Collection is comprised of Ffolliott "Fluff" LeCoque's professional and personal papers (1879-2015), documenting her life and career working as a dancer and later as company manager for Las Vegas entertainment productions; most notably the long-running Jubilee! show produced by Donn Arden for the MGM Grand and Bally's Hotel-Casinos. Materials include personal letters, drawings, professional papers, newspaper clippings, photographs, magazines, commericially produced sheet music, and related ephemera.
Link to Collection Guide
Levy (John) Lighting Productions, Inc. Records
Coll #: MS-00832
Date: 1992-2017
Extent: 17 rolls, 17 boxes, 1 flat file (17.9 cubic feet, 17.81 linear feet); 2452 digital files (1.96 GB)
The John Levy Lighting Productions, Inc. Records contain correspondence, invoices, contracts, expense reports, newspaper and magazine clippings, photos, slides, floppy disks, compact discs, and digital files detailing the development of various projects between 1992 and 2017 primarily in Las Vegas, Nevada. The records also contain architectural lighting drawings, electrical schematics and design details, conceptual sketches, and artist renderings of projects in Las Vegas, throughout United States, and various international locations.
Link to Collection Guide
Lieberman (Liz Elliot) Papers
Coll #: MS-00827
Date: 1970-1989
Extent: 1 oversized box (0.28 cubic feet, 1.67 linear feet)
The Liz Elliott Lieberman Papers are comprised of materials from approximately 1970 to 1989 documenting Lieberman's career as a dancer in Reno and Las Vegas, Nevada performing in shows such as Hello, Hollywood, Hello at the MGM Grand Reno, Zing at Harrah's Reno, and EFX at the MGM Grand Las Vegas. The collection includes a scrapbook, newspaper clippings, and ephemera documenting her work in Hello, Hollywood Hello. Other materials include newspaper clippings, ephemera, and photographs from Zing and EFX.
Link to Collection Guide
Malcolm, David G. Papers
Coll #: MS-00252
Date: 1942-1971
Extent: 2 boxes (1.11 cubic feet, 0.96 linear feet)
The David G. Malcolm Papers (1942-1971) contains information on Basic Magnesium, Incorporated (BMI), Nevada Gaming laws and regulations, and a motor home organization titled Vegas Vagabonds. Included are correspondence, original papers for the purchase of land for BMI, newspaper clippings, BMI newsletters, statistical data from the Chamber of Commerce, and miscellaneous gaming information.
Link to Collection Guide
Mancuso (Maggie) collection of film locations
Coll #: MS-00504
Date: 1994-2001
Extent: 17 boxes (7.82 cubic feet, 7.08 linear feet)
The Maggie Mancuso Collection of Film Locations dates from 1994 to 2001 and consists primarily of color photographs of locations throughout Las Vegas, Nevada for the film Casino (1995) as well as other productions. Several photographs were taped together to form a panoramic image. The collection also includes some production materials from the filming of Casino, as well as other films and projects.
Link to Collection Guide
McKechnie (Pat) collection on Casino de Paris
Coll #: MS-00889
Date: 1963-1979
Extent: 1 oversized box (0.28 cubic feet, 1.67 linear feet)
The Pat McKechnie Collection on Casino de Paris (approximately 1963-1979) contains show programs, photographs, newspaper clippings, and ephemera on the Casino de Paris show at the Dunes Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada from 1963 to 1981. The materials were collected by Pat McKechnie who was the ballet mistress for the show.
Link to Collection Guide
Meehan, Louise Collection of Memorabilia
Coll #: MS-00309
Date: 1953-1984
Extent: 1.08 linear feet, 1.28 cubic feet (1 box)
The Louise Meehan Collection contains memorabilia from both the University of Nevada, Las Vegas and various Las Vegas, Nevada hotel and casinos from 1953 to 1984. Materials were collected by Meehan, who was a "change girl" at the Boulder Club.
Link to Collection Guide
Meiklejohn (Patrick) Collection of Nevada Hotel and Casino Ephemera
Coll #: MS-00343
Date: 1970s-1994
Extent: 3 boxes (1.94 cubic feet, 1.63 linear feet)
The Patrick Meiklejohn Collection of Nevada Hotel and Casino Ephemera (1970s-1994) consists of 117 decks of casino and airline playing cards and casino marketing material and ephemera, including hats, keychains, bags, pens, napkins, and hotel room courtesy items.
Link to Collection Guide
Merriam (Carolyn) Collection on the Sands Hotel
Coll #: MS-00673
Date: 1972-1998 (bulk 1980s-1998)
Extent: 3 boxes (1.96 cubic feet, 1.4 linear feet)
The Carolyn Merriam Collection on the Sands Hotel (1972-1998) consists primarily of Sands Hotel merchandise and ephemera, including mugs, glassware, playing cards, dice, an ashtray, and a tote bag. The collection also contains several framed photograph reproductions depicting Las Vegas, Nevada in the 1950s and 1960s. The Sands Hotel operated in Las Vegas, Nevada from 1952 to 1996.
Link to Collection Guide
MGM Grand Hotel fire litigation collection
Coll #: MS-00225
Date: 1970-1982
Extent: 2 boxes (1.74cubic feet, 1.56 linear feet)
The MGM Grand Hotel Fire Litigation Collection dates from 1970 to 1982. The collection is comprised of litigation documentation stemming from the November 21, 1980 MGM Grand Hotel fire that killed 85 people and injured 700. Included in the documentation are descriptions of construction materials and furnishings, abstracts of transcribed depositions, a list of companies that were involved with the construction of the MGM Grand, a list of MGM Grand employees, and a list of attorneys involved with the litigation. Also included in this collection is a transcript from a Nova television broadcast "Why America Burns" and copies of the 1970 Building Code and Mechanical Code. Seven rolls of microfilm contain MGM Grand blueprints.
Link to Collection Guide
MGM Mirage Corporation Records
Coll #: MS-00096
Date: 1970-2009 (bulk 1989-2003)
Extent: 40 boxes, 3 oversized boxes (25.90 cubic feet, 25.35 linear feet)
The MGM Mirage Corporation Records date from 1970 to 2009 and consist of the records of the Las Vegas, Nevada based global entertainment company. The collection contains organizational records, employee newsletters, files about the MGM Mirage diversity and inclusion initiative, correspondence, reports on gambling addiction, gambling statistics, press clippings, and audiovisual materials. There are also photographs, photographic slides, and photographic negatives of performers, corporate executives, and MGM Mirage properties.
Link to Collection Guide
MGM Mirage Records on Mandalay Resort Group
Coll #: MS-00511
Date: 1968-2005 (bulk 1995-2005)
Extent: 73 boxes, 1 object (85.49 cubic feet, 66.10 linear feet)
The MGM Mirage Records on Mandalay Resort Group consists of materials from Mandalay Resort Group’s office of public relations and community affairs records, which was closed after Mandalay’s corporate merger with MGM Mirage in 2005. The files, dating from 1968 to 2005, provide documentation of Mandalay Resort Group’s external affairs and internal operations. They contain subject files, photographs, negatives, slides, correspondence, VHS tapes, corporate publications, press releases, press kits, wholesale room agreements, hotel ephemera, employee newsletters, and press clippings. Of particular interest are files and photographs documenting the planning, development, construction, and opening of the Mandalay Resort Group properties.
Link to Collection Guide
Minsky's Burlesque Records
Coll #: MS-00290
Date: 1922 - 1978
Extent: 27 boxes (11.95 cubic feet, 10.84 linear feet)
Related Materials: 0075
Minsky's Burlesque Records (1922-1978) contain scripts, publicity, photographs, financial records, payroll records, sheet music, newspaper clippings, contracts, and correspondence. Also included are the personal papers of noted burlesque producer Harold Minsky, who was known for creating the "family burlesque" style of entertainment and for introducing the topless showgirl to Las Vegas, Nevada at the Dunes Hotel in 1957.
Link to Collection Guide
Monte Carlo Club
Coll #: MS-00160
Date: 1944-1957
Extent: 0.2 Linear Feet (1 box)
The Monte Carlo Club Records (1944-1957) are comprised of records of the Monte Carlo Club located at 15 Fremont Street in Las Vegas, Nevada. Materials include founding documents, corporate records, and letterhead.
Link to Collection Guide
Moore (Bill) Professional Papers
Coll #: MS-00597
Date: 1950-2010
Extent: 26.14 cubic feet/28.89 linear feet (24 boxes, 4 oversized boxes, 2 flat files); 14 digital files (3.08 GB)
The Bill Moore Professional Papers are comprised of documents, designs, and promotional materials of show producer Bill Moore from 1950 to 2010. From the 1960s until the late 2000s, Moore and his partner George Arnold produced a variety of stage shows, from musicals and revues to his famous "on ice" productions like Nudes on Ice and Playgirls on Ice. Materials include three-dimensional set designs, photographic prints, financial records, promotional posters, and audio and video recordings of shows at casinos in Las Vegas, Laughlin, and Reno, Nevada, and Atlantic City, New Jersey.
Link to Collection Guide
Moore (William J.) Mining and Real Estate Papers
Coll #: MS-00224
Date: 1925-1974
Extent: 2.3 cubic feet (5 boxes)
The William J. Moore Jr. papers (1925-1974) consist of mining publications, maps of mine locations, production reports, agreements, sales contracts of various ores, property claims, and correspondence. Also included are housing plans, maps, agreements, and financial papers for Westchester Gardens housing tract in Las Vegas, Nevada, estimates and analysis for a 500 room Las Vegas resort hotel.
Link to Collection Guide
Morelli, Antonio papers
Coll #: MS-00558
Date: 1910s-1970s
Extent: 2.5 Linear Feet (5 boxes)
The Antonio Morelli Papers include materials spanning from the 1910s to the 1970s that chronicle the professional and private life of longtime Sands Hotel and Casino orchestra conductor and musical director, Antonio Morelli and his wife Helen. The collection includes snapshots from Morelli's early life, three scrapbooks, one box of sound recording tapes, and a box of slides from Thailand. The collection also documents Morelli’s efforts to provide classical music concerts for the Las Vegas, Nevada community and his involvement with the Guardian Angel Church on the Las Vegas Strip.
Link to Collection Guide
Nevada Biltmore Hotel Collection
Coll #: MS-00479
Date: 1942-1986
Extent: 1 oversize box (0.66 cubic feet, 1.35 linear feet)
The collection dates from 1942 to 1986 and contains a scrapbook and other materials related to the Nevada Biltmore built by Robert Brooks in Las Vegas, Nevada. The scrapbook includes photographs of the resort and newspaper clippings. It also contains some materials from the Seven Seas restaurant owned by Brooks in Hollywood, California. The collection includes newspaper clippings related to Las Vegas gaming and politics, some photographs of Bob Brooks and his wife Jewel at social events in Las Vegas, and a Biltmore menu and stationary.
Link to Collection Guide
Nevada Resort Association
Coll #: MS-00815
Date: 1990s-2000s
Extent: 13 boxes (14.1 cubic feet, 13.5 linear feet), 4 digital files
The records are comprised of subject files and reports from approximately the 1990s to the 2000s related to data gathering and lobbying activities of the Nevada Resort Association. Materials include drafts of legislation related to gaming, tax reports, health and safety regulations, labor and employment matters, and zoning issues.
Link to Collection Guide
New York - New York Hotel-Casino 9-11 Heroes Tribute Collection
Coll #: MS-00459
Date: 2001-2012
Extent: 823.64 linear feet (491 boxes, 4 rolls)
The New York - New York Hotel and Casino 9-11 Heroes Tribute Collection consists of materials from the "Heroes of 9-11" display that was at the New York - New York Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada from 2001 to 2012. The materials primarily consist of more than 5,000 t-shirts left at the memorial by visitors to Las Vegas, mostly from fire departments and law enforcement agencies from around the United States. Visitors left shirts and other items at the memorial as a sign of respect for the men and women who died during the terrorist attacks in New York City and Washington, D.C. on September 11, 2001 (9-11; 9/11). The collection also houses memorabilia and other items left at the memorial, including flags, hats, pins, buttons, flowers, and embroidered emblems and insignias. The materials also contain documentation of the memorial, including promotional and press materials, video recordings from the news media, photographs, and newspaper articles.
Link to Collection Guide
Pacifica Hotel Collection
Coll #: MS-01066
Date: 1981-1985
Extent: 1 folder (shared box), 1 digital file (0.10 cubic feet, 0.10 linear feet, 0.417 GB)
The Pacifica Hotel Collection (1981-1985) contains newspaper clippings, correspondence, and contracts on the Pacifica Hotel, the first resort geared specifically towards the LGBTQIA+ community in Las Vegas, Nevada. The collection also includes one optical disc with a compilation of Las Vegas television news stories from the summer of 1985 about the Pacifica Hotel project.
Link to Collection Guide
Rissman (Homer) Architectural Records
Coll #: MS-00452
Date: 1957-2001
Extent: 110.64 Cubic Feet (240 flat files, 48 boxes)
The collection is comprised of architectural records (1947-2001) of American architect, Homer Rissman and the architectural firm, Rissman and Rissman Associates Ltd, a partnership of Homer Rissman and his brother Marshall. The collection includes 825 items from over 40 major projects and over 110 minor projects. The Rissmans' work represented in the collection focused on Las Vegas, Reno, and Lake Tahoe, Nevada, Los Angeles, Southern California, and Arizona, with Homer's early career design work in Chicago, Illinois. The materials feature hand-drawn architectural drawings, ranging from pencil and ink on tracing paper preliminary sketches to ink on Mylar (TM) construction documents, and a number of artist’s renderings, used for presentations and promotional materials. The drawings also contain work from a number of consultants, engineers, and other architects who collaborated on the development of the various projects. The collection includes architectural drawings for: hotels, casinos, integrated casino resorts, office towers, multi-family residential developments, and custom single-family homes.
Link to Collection Guide
Riviera Hotel and Casino Publicity Collection and Architectural Records
Coll #: MS-00647
Date: 1950s-2015 (bulk 1980s-1990s)
Extent: 79 boxes, 6 oversized boxes, 21 rolls, 2 oversized flat files, and 1 unboxed item (62.16 cubic feet, 60.96 linear feet)
The Riviera Hotel and Casino Publicity Collection and Architectural Records (1950s-2015) are comprised of entertainment, publicity and marketing files, and architectural drawings from the Riviera Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada. The records include publicity photographs and videotapes, press kits, and information about various entertainers who appeared at the Riviera,publicity, promotional material, and newspaper clippings about events, and publicity photographs of restaurant and club venues within the hotel. Also included is information about the Riviera's longest running shows, Splash, La Cage, and Crazy Girls.
Link to Collection Guide
Royer (Gary W.) Collection on Gaming
Coll #: MS-00658
Date: 1950-2009 (bulk 1970-1995)
Extent: 217 boxes, 2 flat files (155.83 Cubic Feet, 131.11 Linear Feet)
The Gary W. Royer Collection on Gaming (dating from 1950 to 2009, with the bulk of the materials dating from 1970 to 1995) contains research files, legal files, reports, and manuals about gaming written and collected by Gary W. Royer. The collection includes research and regulatory files collected by Royer while he worked at the Nevada Gaming Control Board. These files primarily document the legislation and regulation of gaming in Nevada, but include information on other states in the US and some international locations. Regulatory files include statutes, codes, regulations, revenue reports, Nevada Gaming Control Board and Nevada Gaming Commission meeting minutes, and tribal-state gaming compacts. Also included are research files about casino, racetrack, and sports betting facilities that include data on organizations, monthly revenue reports, occupancy rates, management and operational control manuals, annual reports, policy and procedure manuals, and profile sheets collected for consulting purposes in Royer’s role as President of Casino Control Corporation (CCC), a private gaming consulting firm. Also included are subject and research files, vendor advertisements, catalogs, and reports; gaming industry publications; conference materials; audit guides; and a comprehensive collection of newspaper articles that document the US gaming industry in the second half of the twentieth century.
Link to Collection Guide
Saiger (Morton "Mort") Portraits and News Articles
Coll #: MS-00769
Date: 1960-1987
Extent: 1 flat file (0.14 cubic feet, 1.67 linear feet)
The Morton "Mort" Saiger Portraits and News Articles (1960-1987) consists of four newspaper and journal articles about Saiger and the Last Frontier Hotel Casino, two professional photographic portraits of Saiger, and a presentation plaque from the International Golf Club.
Link to Collection Guide
Sands Hotel Public Relations Records
Coll #: MS-00417
Date: 1952 - 1977 (bulk 1952-1972)
Extent: 40 boxes, 12 oversize boxes, 1 flat folder (33.52 cubic feet, 39.59 linear feet)
The Sands Hotel Public Relations Records document the history of the Las Vegas casino hotel resort from 1952 to 1977. It is comprised primarily of photographs, mostly 8x10 black-and- white prints, color prints, and transparencies. Most were produced by the Las Vegas News Bureau. Also included are newspaper clippings, brochures, press releases, and inter-office memos relating to the advertising and promotion department. Materials also include reels of 16mm film of the Sands opening, various shows and events including Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin's "Summit Meeting" performances with the Rat Pack, and footage from various television productions featuring the Sands.
Link to Collection Guide
