Manuscripts by Subjects
Manuscripts -> Business/IndustryTotal manuscripts: 163
UNLV University Libraries Collection on Nevada Mining
Coll #: MS-00011
Date: 1842-1966 (bulk 1900-1928)
Extent: 26 boxes, 10 oversized boxes, 1 flat file, 1 unboxed item (15.88 cubic feet, 26.04 linear feet)
The Nevada Mining Collection is comprised of records that document mining and mines in Nevada from 1842 to 1966. The majority of the collection includes records of various mines and mining companies located in the Esmeralda, Lincoln, Clark, White Pine, and Nye counties, dating from 1900 to 1928. The collection includes financial, administrative, and business related records; photographs of miners, mining camps, and towns; correspondence; maps; newspaper clippings, pamphlets, newsletters, and booklets.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV University Libraries Menu Collection
Coll #: MS-00436
Date: 1852-2010
Extent: 104 boxes, 83 oversized boxes, 1 flat file (121.14 cubic feet, 172.62 linear feet)
The University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) University Libraries Menu Collection consists of menus from restaurants, events, and travel excursions dating from 1852 to 2010. It includes menus from throughout the United States, with the majority of menus coming from Las Vegas, Nevada and Southern California. It also contains materials from many countries as well as travel menus from passenger rail travel, cruise liners and ships, and airlines. The collection also includes dining ephemera consisting of dining guides, food service trade information, and other materials related to restaurants.
Link to Collection Guide
Urban Chamber of Commerce of Las Vegas, Nevada Records
Coll #: MS-00791
Date: 1980-2009
Extent: 8 boxes and 1 flat file (3.68 cubic feet, 5.47 linear feet)
The Urban Chamber of Commerce of Las Vegas, Nevada Records date from approximately 1980 to 2009 and contains the organizational records of the Urban Chamber of Commerce of Las Vegas, Nevada (UCC), one of the many chambers of commerce in the Las Vegas, Nevada area. The mission of the Urban Chamber of Commerce is to create and foster an environment that promotes development of members and Black-owned businesses. The collection is comprised of publications, financial and administrative records, various event information, and photographs of events and membership.
Link to Collection Guide
Vervilos (Aikaterine) Collection on Public Policy and Gaming Markets
Coll #: MS-00554
Date: 1962-2001
Extent: 6 boxes (2.76 cubic feet, 2.5 linear feet)
The Aikaterine Vervilos Collection on Public Policy and Gaming (1962-2001) consists of materials collected by Aikaterine Vervilos, an Arizona attorney, for her University of Nevada, Reno master's thesis, "Public Policy and the New Casino Gaming Markets." The collection contains reports on gambling law and horse racing, legal proceedings, and studies related to horse racing, simulcast and off-track betting, peri-mutual gaming, Native American gaming in the United States.
Link to Collection Guide
Von Tobel Family Papers
Coll #: MS-00589
Date: 1905-1997
Extent: 9 boxes, 1 flat file, 1 roll (7.06 cubic feet, 9.86 linear feet)
The Von Tobel Family Papers (1905-1997) consist of photographs, correspondence, and financial reports pertaining to the early Las Vegas Von Tobel family and their businesses, which they operated in Las Vegas, Nevada. The collection also contains newspaper clippings covering the life of Edward Von Tobel Sr. and some of the operational business records of the Von Tobel Hardware Store No. 301.
Link to Collection Guide
Weiswasser (Marc) Papers
Coll #: MS-00816
Date: 1976-2002 inclusive (1986-1998 bulk)
Extent: 7 boxes, 1 folder (shared box) 2.54 cubic feet, 4.75 linear feet), 24 digital files (0.0012 GB)
The collection is comprised of materials from approximately 1976 to 2002 documenting Marc Weiswasser's career in the Las Vegas, Nevada gaming industry. The collection includes instructional guides and handbooks for table game dealers, employee handbooks and newsletters from the Flamingo Hilton and MGM Grand Las Vegas materials, as well as interviews and articles about Marc Weiswasser. The collection also includes newspaper clippings about the gaming industry and video recordings from the Institute for the Study of Gambling and Commercial Gaming. There are also reports from the Nevada Gaming Control Board regarding Regulation 6A, which deals with cash transactions prohibitions, reporting, and record keeping. The collection also includes a variety materials about the Casino Management Association (CMA) including a promotional video, conference fliers, invitations, photographs from various CMA events, and educational materials related to casino operations.
Link to Collection Guide
White Cross Drug Store
Coll #: MS-00628
Date: 1950-1964
Extent: 1.56 cubic feet (1 box)
The White Cross Drug Store Scrapbook (1950-1964) contains photographs, employee training materials, newspaper clippings, advertisements, displays, and some historical narrative and press release material on the history and mission of the White Cross Drug Store. It also includes advertising ephemera and brochures on cosmetic products and perfumes of the early 1950s.
Link to Collection Guide
Williams (Claudine) Papers
Coll #: MS-00094
Date: 1956-2009 (bulk 1970-2007)
Extent: 25 boxes, 3 oversized boxes, 1 flat file, and 1 shared box (15.2 cubic feet, 19.09 linear feet)
The Claudine Williams Papers (1956-2009) contain awards, contracts, personal and business correspondence, newspaper clippings, and photographs pertaining to Las Vegas, Nevada businesswoman and philanthropist, Claudine Williams. The collection also includes extensive information on her hotel and gaming properties, including the Silver Slipper Gambling Hall, Holiday Casino, and Harrah's Hotel and Casino, as well as her honorary doctoral degree, medals, and audiovisual materials of interviews, news reports, and events.
Link to Collection Guide
Wingfield, George Records on the Tonopah Divide Mining Company and Other Holdings
Coll #: MS-00787
Date: 1916-1945
Extent: 9.35 Linear Feet (12 boxes)
The George Wingfield Records on the Tonopah Divide Mining Company and Other Holdings (1916-1945) document some Wingfield's business interests and holdings, including the Goldfield News and Weekly Tribune, the Tonopah Banking Company, the Tonopah Divide Mining Company, and other mining operations. Materials include invoices, receipts, voucher records, correspondence, assay certificates, meeting minutes, legal papers, and ledgers of stocks and accounts.
Link to Collection Guide
Wynn Las Vegas Scrapbook
Coll #: MS-00690
Date: 1940-2008
Extent: 1.6 Linear Feet (1 box)
The collection consists of one scrapbook (2008) of postcards and photographs tracing the history of the Las Vegas property upon which the Wynn Las Vegas resort was built and four magazines featuring articles about Las Vegas (1940, 1947, 1955, and 1959). The scrapbook begins with several pages of historic postcards of the hotel originally built on the property, the Desert Inn, and continues with the establishment of the Wynn and the vision of its associated resort, the Encore. While the images primarily focus on the Desert Inn and the Wynn, there are also several pages of images of various other Las Vegas Strip properties accompanied by a brief timeline. The scrapbook contains approximately 76 images, dating from 1950 to 2008.
Link to Collection Guide
Wynn Las Vegas Scrapbook
Coll #: MS-00690
Date: 1940-2008
Extent: 1.6 Linear Feet (1 box)
The collection consists of one scrapbook (2008) of postcards and photographs tracing the history of the Las Vegas property upon which the Wynn Las Vegas resort was built and four magazines featuring articles about Las Vegas (1940, 1947, 1955, and 1959). The scrapbook begins with several pages of historic postcards of the hotel originally built on the property, the Desert Inn, and continues with the establishment of the Wynn and the vision of its associated resort, the Encore. While the images primarily focus on the Desert Inn and the Wynn, there are also several pages of images of various other Las Vegas Strip properties accompanied by a brief timeline. The scrapbook contains approximately 76 images, dating from 1950 to 2008.
Link to Collection Guide
Yerike (Kenneth) papers
Coll #: MS-00900
Date: 1970s-2000
Extent: 17 boxes and 1 flat file (12.81 cubic feet, 16.19 linear feet)
The Kenneth Yerike Papers are comprised of video tapes, instructional manuals, casino operational instructions, playing cards, dice, and brochures from the 1970s to 2000 that document Yerike's involvement with establishing the Hyatt Regency and Regency Casino on Jeju Island, South Korea. The papers include information about how the Hyatt Regency Casino was established and how staff were trained, particularly as it relates to operating table games. The instructional manuals detail how to play table games such as craps, roulette, blackjack, and baccarat. The manuals are written in both Korean and English, with the majority of the manuals written in Korean.
Link to Collection Guide
Young Electric Sign Company Corporate Records
Coll #: MS-00403
Date: 1914-2000
Extent: 18 boxes, 2 oversize boxes (9.72 cubic feet, 11 linear feet); 10,866 Digital Files (7.68 GB)
The collection (1914-2000) documents the history of the Young Electric Sign Company (YESCO) and is comprised of photographs of sign production and finished signs, negatives, slides, transparencies, anniversary scrapbooks, and videotapes. The collection also contains meeting minutes, correspondence, price books, drawings, calculations, newspaper and trade magazine articles on YESCO, advertising materials, and oral history interviews and audio recordings of YESCO designers and executives. YESCO is responsible for many of the neon signs in and around Las Vegas, Nevada and Reno, Nevada, as well as other Western states.
Link to Collection Guide
