Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections & Archives
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> BMI


Total manuscripts: 5

Basic Magnesium, Inc. (BMI) Records
Coll #: MS-00126
Date: 1933-1965
Extent: 3.5 Linear Feet (8 boxes)
The Basic Magnesium Inc. (BMI) Records document the planning, constructing, and managing of the BMI magnesium manufacturing plants near Las Vegas (now Henderson) in Clark County and a magnesium mining operation in Gabbs, Nye County, Nevada from 1933 to 1965. It contains chronological reports, official statements, photographs, telegrams, budgets, and building diagrams. The records document employee housing and infrastructure projects, magnesium production statistics, and employee data.
Link to Collection Guide

Clark County Central Labor Council Records
Coll #: MS-00027
Date: 1938-1968
Extent: 1 folder (in shared box); (0.10 cubic feet, 0.10 linear feet)
The Clark County Central Labor Council Records date from 1938 to 1968 and represent Ragnald Fyhen's written account of how the Clark County Central Labor Council union was formed. The work includes the activities and meetings of the labor union and Fyhen's work (1933-1947) while Secretary-Treasurer of the Central Labor Council. This work is entitled "Labor Notes." Additionally the collection contains a resolution submitted to the Central Labor Council in 1938 in regards to proposing new legislation to regulate the Clark County hospital.
Link to Collection Guide

Clary (Ernest) Papers on Basic Magnesium, Inc. Engineering Plans
Coll #: MS-00044
Date: 1941-1944
Extent: 1 flat file (0.20 cubic feet, 1.67 linear feet)
The Ernest Clary Papers on Basic Magnesium, Inc. Engineering Plans (1941-1944) contain an essay written by Clary formalizing the engineering process in building Basic Magnesium, Inc. (BMI). Also included are maps of the area around the plant and site maps of the main BMI structures.
Link to Collection Guide

Dow Metals - BMI
Coll #: MS-00242
Date: 1940s-1950s
Extent: 1 linear foot (1 record storage box)
Related Materials: 0260
The Dow Metals, Incorporated Records on Basic Magnesium, Incorporated (1940-1951) contains reports and photographs pertaining to the Colorado River Commission of the Nevada Basic Magnesium Project, Las Vegas, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

Malcolm, David G. Papers
Coll #: MS-00252
Date: 1942-1971
Extent: 2 boxes (1.11 cubic feet, 0.96 linear feet)
The David G. Malcolm Papers (1942-1971) contains information on Basic Magnesium, Incorporated (BMI), Nevada Gaming laws and regulations, and a motor home organization titled Vegas Vagabonds. Included are correspondence, original papers for the purchase of land for BMI, newspaper clippings, BMI newsletters, statistical data from the Chamber of Commerce, and miscellaneous gaming information.
Link to Collection Guide