Manuscripts by Subjects
Manuscripts -> ArtsTotal manuscripts: 81
McKechnie (Pat) collection on Casino de Paris
Coll #: MS-00889
Date: 1963-1979
Extent: 1 oversized box (0.28 cubic feet, 1.67 linear feet)
The Pat McKechnie Collection on Casino de Paris (approximately 1963-1979) contains show programs, photographs, newspaper clippings, and ephemera on the Casino de Paris show at the Dunes Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada from 1963 to 1981. The materials were collected by Pat McKechnie who was the ballet mistress for the show.
Link to Collection Guide
Memorial for Queer Rhyolite Papers
Coll #: MS-01067
Date: 2019-2020
Extent: 2 folders (shared box, 0.10 cubic feet, 0.10 linear feet), 23 digital files (0.047 GB)
Memorial for Queer Rhyolite Papers (2019-2020) contains documentation about the temporary monument installed for the inaugural Bullfrog Biennial at the Goldwell Open Air Museum in Rhyolite, Nevada in 2019. Materials include an information pamphlet about the exhibit as well as a small aluminum-cast monument with an inscribed dedication. Digital files in this collection include photographs of the monument during and after installation, images of Budd's sketchbook, and documents about the monument including exhibit proposals and articles written by Budd.
Link to Collection Guide
Mercer, L. Paul papers
Coll #: MS-00066
Date: 1939-1979
Extent: 0.9 linear feet (6 folders)
Related Materials: 0062
The L. Paul Mercer Papers date from 1939-1970 and consist of personal correspondence, newspaper clippings, photographs, and textile samples dyed in the Native American tradition.
Link to Collection Guide
Mike Miller Papers
Coll #: MS-00715
Date: 1971-2014
Extent: 8.1 linear feet (6 boxes, 1 oversize folder, and 3 portfolios)
Related Materials: Mike Miller's sketches of UNLV mascot "Hey Reb" are available in UNLV Special Collections.
The Mike Miller Papers (1971-2014) include advertisements, books, and paintings by Las Vegas, Nevada-based artist and graphic designer Mike Miller. Materials include photographs, art prints, advertisements, newspaper clippings featuring Miller's advertisements, casino advertisements, and books designed, written, or illustrated by Miller.
Link to Collection Guide
Miller (Linda) Papers
Coll #: MS-00591
Date: 2008-2020
Extent: 3 boxes (2.11 cubic feet, 2.00 linear feet); 37 digital files (1.712 GB)
The Linda Miller Papers date from 2008 to 2020 and document Dr. Linda Miller's historic preservation work in Las Vegas, Nevada including her work portraying Las Vegas pioneer Helen J. Stewart at historical events across Southern Nevada. The collection documents Miller's efforts to erect a statue of Helen Stewart at the Las Vegas, Nevada Old Mormon Fort, as well as her contributions to the programming for Sarah Winnemucca Day in 2018. The collection documents Miller's appearances as Helen J. Stewart through photographs, pamphlets, video recordings, and curriculum used for her outreach work. The collection also documents Dr. Miller's activities as chair for the Nevada State Society chapter of the National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution (NSDAR).
Link to Collection Guide
Morelli, Antonio papers
Coll #: MS-00558
Date: 1910s-1970s
Extent: 2.5 Linear Feet (5 boxes)
The Antonio Morelli Papers include materials spanning from the 1910s to the 1970s that chronicle the professional and private life of longtime Sands Hotel and Casino orchestra conductor and musical director, Antonio Morelli and his wife Helen. The collection includes snapshots from Morelli's early life, three scrapbooks, one box of sound recording tapes, and a box of slides from Thailand. The collection also documents Morelli’s efforts to provide classical music concerts for the Las Vegas, Nevada community and his involvement with the Guardian Angel Church on the Las Vegas Strip.
Link to Collection Guide
Nevada Poetry Society Records
Coll #: MS-00172
Date: 1961-1973
Extent: 1 Linear Feet (1 box)
The Nevada Poetry Society Records are comprised of the society's records dating from 1961 to 1973. Society organizer and president, Mildred Breedlove is featured prominently in the collection. Materials include: Silver Strings: Nevada Poetry Society Anthology, a collection of poems commemorating Nevada's centennial year, individual poems, bank records, correspondence, and newsletters.
Link to Collection Guide
Nevada Watercolor Society Records
Coll #: MS-00510
Date: 1969-2009
Extent: 7 boxes, 2 oversize boxes, and 1 flat file (7.61 cubic feet, 11.27 linear feet)
The Nevada Watercolor Society Records contain watercolor paintings and organizational records pertaining to the Nevada Watercolor Society (1969-2009), a non-profit organization that aims to promote watermedia painting and art appreciation. Organizational records contain materials including by-laws, articles of incorporation, newsletters, exhibit information, tax and financial records, receipts, photographs, negatives, and newspaper clippings. The collection also includes paintings by society members.
Link to Collection Guide
Pratt (Michael McKensie)
Coll #: MS-01068
Date: approximately 1963-2021
Extent: 1 box, 1 flat file, 2 digital files, 1 website (0.74 cubic feet, 4.54 linear feet, 0.699 GB)
The Michael McKensie Pratt Papers (approximately 1963 to 2021) primarily contain souvenir show programs for various cabaret shows performed in Paris, France and Las Vegas, Nevada, including Lido de Paris, Casino de Paris, Bal du Moulin Rouge, and Folies Bergere. Materials also include copies of Pratt's curriculum vita and swing bible used by Pratt when he was the co-company manager for Jubilee!. The swing bible is a reference manual that tracks technical steps, components, and choreography for each musical number and performer. Also included are video recordings of shows Pratt choreographed as well as a recording of "Ebony Guys, Dolls & Techs" documentary produced by PBS. This collection also includes an archived version of Pratt's personal website.
Link to Collection Guide
Ritter, Terry collection
Coll #: MS-00773
Date: approximately 1955-2012
Extent: 1.25 linear feet (1 box)
The Terry Ritter Collection, dating from approximately 1995-2012, contains six prints of Ritter's artwork depicting Las Vegas, Nevada showgirls. There is also one convention flier advertising her artwork.
Link to Collection Guide
Ritter, Terry collection
Coll #: MS-00773
Date: approximately 1955-2012
Extent: 1.25 linear feet (1 box)
The Terry Ritter Collection, dating from approximately 1995-2012, contains six prints of Ritter's artwork depicting Las Vegas, Nevada showgirls. There is also one convention flier advertising her artwork.
Link to Collection Guide
Robin Holabird Film Press Kit Collection
Coll #: MS-00583
Date: 1938-2006
Extent: 9 Linear Feet (9 boxes)
The Robin Holabird Film Press Kit Collection is comprised of press kits for commercial Hollywood films dating from 1986 through the first decade of the 2000s that were compiled by Robin Holabird in her capacity as Deputy Director of the Nevada Film Commission. The kits contain press releases, photograph stills and other filming information.
Link to Collection Guide
Ruthadele Stearns Doyal Lathrop Personal Papers
Coll #: MS-00854
Date: 1900s-1991 (bulk 1949-1991)
Extent: 2 boxes and 1 oversized box (1.57 cubic feet, 3.29 linear feet)
The Ruthadele Stearns Doyal Lathrop Personal Papers (1900s-1991) contains scrapbooks, slides, and matted competition photographs created by Ruthadele Stearns Doyal Lathrop, a photographer and ballroom dancer. The scrapbooks include photographs of Ruthadele’s family, travels, and ballroom dance competitions, as well as newspaper clippings and other ephemera. The slides and matted photographs consist mostly of Western landscape scenes, including California and Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Segerblom (Cliff) Artwork
Coll #: MS-01029
Date: 1940, 1969
Extent: 1 shared box (0.01 cubic feet, 1.0 linear feet)
The Cliff Segerblom Artwork contains one painting of a desert home in Nelson, Nevada titled "Afternoon in Nelson" from 1940 and one drawing of the USS Hornet from 1969. The First Annual Southern Nevada Art Exhibit originally displayed "Afternoon in Nelson" in Las Vegas, Nevada between January 27 and 28 in 1940. The USS Hornet drawing was created November 1969, depicting a fighter aircraft aboard the USS Hornet at Apollo 12's splashdown.
Link to Collection Guide
Shaw, Arnold Papers
Coll #: MS-00432
Date: 1927-2006
Extent: 28.8 Linear Feet (71 boxes)
The collection is comprised of the Arnold Shaw papers from 1927 to 2006 and contains correspondence, newspaper articles, journal entries, promotional materials, photographs, and scrapbooks. Also included are articles, short stories, plays and biographies written by Shaw. There are proofreaders notes, research material and scratch copies for each of his 14 books. Also included are papers from the various vocal groups and companies under contract to Shaw's company, Mansion Music. Sheet music, some of which was written or produced by Shaw, assorted printed materials and one box of sound reels complete the collection.
Link to Collection Guide
Southern Nevada Community Concerts Association Records
Coll #: MS-00543
Date: 1939-2004 (bulk 1986-2004)
Extent: 11 boxes and 3 oversized boxes (7.3 cubic feet, 9.07 linear feet)
The Linda Miller Papers date from 2008 to 2018 and document Dr. Linda Miller's chatauqua work portraying Las Vegas pioneer Helen Stewart at historical events in Southern Nevada. The collection also documents Miller's efforts to erect a statue of Helen Stewart at the Las Vegas, Nevada Old Mormon Fort. The collection consists of a scrapbook documenting Miller's appearances as Helen Stewart, video recordings on optical discs, and unbound scrapbook pages. Photographs and newspaper clippings are included in the scrapbook.
Link to Collection Guide
St. Denis (Ruth) collection
Coll #: MS-00249
Date: 1916-1986
Extent: 1 box and 3 oversized boxes (3.78 cubic feet, 5.9 linear feet)
The Ruth St. Denis Collection (1916-1986) contains materials relating to the St. Denis School of Dance in Los Angeles, California. Included are scrapbooks containing magazine cutouts from early 20th century performers and celebrities and programs featuring St. Denis or performances honoring her memory.
Link to Collection Guide
Stabile (Richard "Dick") Music Scores
Coll #: MS-00625
Date: 1899-1986 (bulk 1941-1980)
Extent: 22 boxes, 15 oversized flat boxes (22.4 cubic feet, 30.61 linear feet)
The Richard "Dick" Stabile Music Scores (1899-1986) is comprised primarily of musical scores arranged, composed, and performed by big-band leader and musician Dick Stabile. The scores, dating between 1941 and 1980, include popular music arrangements and original compositions, including original orchestra music for the documentary film Born to Buck. Also included in the collection are commercially produced popular music sheets published between 1899 and 1986.
Link to Collection Guide
Sulich, Vassili
Coll #: MS-00469
Date: 1951 - 2005
Extent: 11 boxes, 4 oversized boxes, and 2 flat files (8.26 cubic feet, 13.67 linear feet)
The Vassili Sulich Papers (1951-2005) are comprised of materials documenting the life of Vassili Sulich: ballet dancer, choreographer, and co-founder of the Nevada Dance Theatre, the first professional dance company in Nevada. The papers include correspondence, newspaper clippings, newsletters, photographs, posters, scrapbooks, and other ephemera. The papers also document his work as principal dancer with the Lido de Paris in Paris, France, the Folies Begere in New York, and at the Tropicana Hotel in Las Vegas, and as a choreographer for the San Francisco and Seattle opera companies.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV Libraries Collection of 18th Century Sheet Music
Coll #: MS-01059
Date: 1745-1799
Extent: 1 oversized box (0.28 cubic feet, 0.85 linear feet)
The UNLV Libraries Collection of 18th Century Sheet Music (1745-1799) contains handwritten sheet music for popular English songs in the 18th century published in London, England and Dublin, Ireland.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV Libraries Collection on Claes Oldenburg's Flashlight Sculpture
Coll #: MS-00970
Date: 1972-1981, 2011
Extent: 1 bo (0.46 cubic feet, 0.42 linear feet)
The UNLV Libraries Collection on Claes Oldenburg's Flashlight sculpture is comprised primarily of correspondence, photographs, and information dating from approximately 1972 to 1981, and 2011 about the planning and installation of the Flashlight at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) campus. The materials include correspondence between Brock Dixon, Dean of Administration, and the sculpture grant committee, the National Endowment for the Arts, and sculptors considered for the job such as Richard Serra and Claes Oldenburg. The collection also includes photographs of Flashlight maquettes and installation on campus and postcards depicting the Flashlight on the UNLV campus. Also included is a written history of the commissioned sculpture, a UNLV News Center article about the sculpture from 2011, and an autographed copy of Claes Oldenburg: Large Scale Projects, 1977 to 1980.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV University Libraries Collection of Graphic Art
Coll #: MS-00431
Date: 1930-2012
Extent: 6 flat files, 7 boxes (5.51 cubic feet, 17.19 linear feet)
The UNLV University Libraries Collection of Graphic Art (1930-2012) contains original paintings and print reproductions, engravings, photographs, landscape drawings, trade publications, design annuals, and color and typography guides. The collection also includes posters and advertisements for art exhibits hosted throughout Southern Nevada and the Southwest United States.
Link to Collection Guide
Van (Garwood and Joan) family papers
Coll #: MS-00825
Date: 1920-2003 (bulk 1930s-1970s)
Extent: 15 boxes (7.27 cubic feet, 14.88 linear feet)
The Garwood and Joan Van Family Papers (1920-2003) contain scrapbooks, photographs, newsletters, correspondence, and newspaper clippings collected by Garwood Van and his wife Joan Van.The collection includes material on Garwood's music career as a popular band leader in New York, California, and Las Vegas, Nevada as well as material about Joan's early life as a model and dancing career.
Link to Collection Guide
Vanda, Charles Collection
Coll #: MS-00299
Date: 1955 -1987
Extent: 1 box and 3 oversized boxes (1.65 cubic feet, 5.10 linear feet)
The Charles Vanda Collection (1955-1987) is comprised of achievement awards, plaques, and certificates that were presented to Charles Vanda throughout his career as a television and radio writer, director, and producer. Also included are newspaper clippings and articles about Charles Vanda, the performing arts, and the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV), a doctoral hood and a UNLV Runnin' Rebels jacket.
Link to Collection Guide
Washington University, School of Fine Arts Collection of Student Calendars
Coll #: MS-00996
Date: 1983
Extent: 1 flat file (0.03 cubic feet, 1.67 linear feet)
The Washington University, School of Fine Arts Collection of Calendars consists of thirty-three calendars created by students in the Washington University, School of Fine Arts created in 1983.
Link to Collection Guide
Willard (Bill) papers
Coll #: MS-00435
Date: 1887-1999 (inclusive)
Extent: 20.45 linear feet, 22.20 cubic feet (52 boxes)
Related Materials: 0333
This collection is comprised of the personal papers of noted Las Vegas entertainment writer, producer, and critic Bill Willard, which date from 1887 to 1999. It contains material on his father's theater and political involvements as well as Willard's early childhood and high school years. His time in the United States Army is chronicled by the editorials and correspondence he wrote. His papers trace his continued involvement in writing, entertainment, and art which culminated in his direction of the Arnold Shaw Popular Music Research Center. The collection also includes pictures of his artwork, articles he wrote for various newspapers and magazines, scripts, skits, jokes, awards, over 700 interviews done for the "Rap with the Artist" series, and personal memorabilia.
Link to Collection Guide
Williams (Joe) Music Scores
Coll #: MS-00608
Date: 1940-1991
Extent: 1.63 linear feet, 1.97 cubic feet (3 boxes)
The Joe Williams Music Scores date from 1940 to 1991 and comprise the handwritten musical scores of American jazz musician Joe Williams, born Joseph Goreed. Many of the musical scores are Williams' original arrangements.
Link to Collection Guide
Woods, Vivian
Coll #: MS-00351
Date: 1960-1989
Extent: 1 box (0.64 Cubic Feet, 0.58 Linear Feet)
Vivian Woods Papers (1960-1989) document the activities of Nevada artist Vivian Woods. The papers contain scrapbooks, correspondence, Las Vegas Artists' Co-Op history and rosters, a poem, and photographs. There are also three watercolors painted by Vivian Woods.
Link to Collection Guide
Young Audiences New York, Nevada Humanities Collection
Coll #: MS-00227
Date: 1960-1982
Extent: 6 boxes (6.88 cubic feet, 5.84 linear feet)
The Young Audiences New York, Nevada Humanities Collection dates from 1960 to 1982 and chronicles the chapter’s efforts to bring music education to students from kindergarden through high school of the Clark County School District in Nevada. The collection contains accounting records, performance reviews, grant applications, correspondence, and employee information. The collection also contains performance announcements, newspaper clippings, and students’ thank-you letters.
Link to Collection Guide
Young Electric Sign Company Corporate Records
Coll #: MS-00403
Date: 1914-2000
Extent: 18 boxes, 2 oversize boxes (9.72 cubic feet, 11 linear feet); 10,866 Digital Files (7.68 GB)
The collection (1914-2000) documents the history of the Young Electric Sign Company (YESCO) and is comprised of photographs of sign production and finished signs, negatives, slides, transparencies, anniversary scrapbooks, and videotapes. The collection also contains meeting minutes, correspondence, price books, drawings, calculations, newspaper and trade magazine articles on YESCO, advertising materials, and oral history interviews and audio recordings of YESCO designers and executives. YESCO is responsible for many of the neon signs in and around Las Vegas, Nevada and Reno, Nevada, as well as other Western states.
Link to Collection Guide
Zellhoefer (Dr. Howard) Collection of Artwork
Coll #: MS-01030
Date: 1949, 1962
Extent: 1 oversized box (0.30 cubic feet, 1.40 linear feet)
The Dr. Howard Zellhoefer Collection of Artwork contains three paintings collected by Dr. Howard William Zellhoefer. Two paintings are by K. Nakamine of landscapes in Okinawa, Japan from 1949, and the third painting is a 1962 Ferdinand Burgdorffof a desert landscape, possibly Mojave Desert, California.
Link to Collection Guide
