Manuscripts by Subjects
Manuscripts -> ArtsTotal manuscripts: 81
Abbey (Joshua) papers
Coll #: MS-00820
Date: 1952-2017
Extent: 2 boxes, 1 shared box (1.69 Cubic Feet), 11 digital files (11 optical discs, 2.67 GB)
Collection is comprised primarily of files from approximately the early 1980s to 2017 detailing Joshua Abbey's theater and film career; his involvement with environmental efforts in Southern Nevada such as the Citizens Against Nuclear Waste in Nevada (CANWIN); and his involvement with the Jewish community in Las Vegas, including the Jewish Film Festival, the Jewish Federation, Temple Beth Sholom, and other organizations. The collection also includes information about the Jewish Community Center from the 1950s and a file on the film production of The Brave Cowboy, a novel written by his father, Ed Abbey.
Link to Collection Guide
Abbey (Rita Deanin) exhibition catalogs
Coll #: MS-01022
Date: 1975-1991
Extent: 1 box (0.19 cubic feet, 0.21 linear feet)
The Rita Deanin Abbey Exhibition Catalogs (1975-1991) are comprised primarily of exhibition catalogs featuring Abbey's art at various museums and international exhibitions including the Palm Springs Desert Museum, the University of New Mexico Art Museum, Biennale Internationale d’Email Laval, and the International Exhibition of Enamelling Art in Japan. The collection also contains invitations to Abbey's art shows at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas as well as a copy of Abbey's curriculum vitae. Also included are select issues of Leonardo, International Journal of the Contemporary Artist featuring artists' notes written by Abbey.
Link to Collection Guide
Abercrombie (Nancy) collection of audio recordings
Coll #: MS-00794
Date: 1960s-1970s
Extent: 4 linear feet (4 boxes)
The Nancy Abercrombie Audio Recordings (1960s-1970s) contain a variety of music from many different musical artists and groups. A portion of the collection has an alphabetical inventory of recordings from the 1960s. No further information on them is known.
Link to Collection Guide
Alvarez (Brian "Paco") professional papers
Coll #: MS-01013
Date: 1997-2014
Extent: 2 boxes (1.3 cubic feet, 1.08 linear feet)
The Brian "Paco" Álvarez Professional Papers (1997-2014) are comprised of the personal papers of Las Vegas, Nevada museum curator and arts advocate Brian "Paco" Álvarez. Cultural heritage institutions and events represented in this collection include the Neon Museum's relocated of the La Concha structure, the "Vegas VIP: Vegas Viewed in Postcards" exhibit and "Post Modern 2005" at the Mob Museum for the City of Las Vegas centennial celebration in 2005, and various photograph exhibits at the Liberace Museum. Also included in the collection are documents related to KUNV radio station "Gimme My KUNV" awareness event regarding the station's commitment to diverse radio shows.
Link to Collection Guide
Askew, Dennis Lee papers
Coll #: MS-00766
Date: 1966-2013 (bulk 1977-1985)
Extent: 1 box, 1 flat file (0.6 cubic feet, 2.09 linear feet)
The Dennis Lee Askew papers date from 1966 to 2013 and contain "Rock Talk" columns from the Las Vegas Sun newspaper, posters, photographs, correspondence, audio cassette tapes, one DVD of the "Rock Talk" television special, and newspaper clippings.
Link to Collection Guide
Atkinson (Connie) collection of Sheet Music and Music Scores
Coll #: MS-00560
Date: approximately 1949-2009
Extent: 36.0 linear feet, 8.0 cubic feet (36 boxes)
The Connie Atkinson Collection of Sheet Music and Music Scores is comprised of original music manuscript arrangements, both handwritten and printed, from composer and arranger Connie Atkinson dating from approximately 1949-2009.
Link to Collection Guide
Beckmann (Robert) Professional Papers
Coll #: MS-00606
Date: 1977-2013
Extent: 7 boxes and 1 flat file (4.96 linear feet, 5.88 cubic feet)
The Robert Beckmann Professional Papers (1977-2013) include photographs, sketches, plans, and proposals for murals and art installations that Beckmann designed or painted in the Las Vegas, Nevada area. The collection also includes correspondence, awards, and promotional materials for art exhibitions featuring Beckmann and other artists.
Link to Collection Guide
Beckmann (Robert) Professional Papers
Coll #: MS-00606
Date: 1977-2013
Extent: 7 boxes and 1 flat file (4.96 linear feet, 5.88 cubic feet)
The Robert Beckmann Professional Papers (1977-2013) include photographs, sketches, plans, and proposals for murals and art installations that Beckmann designed or painted in the Las Vegas, Nevada area. The collection also includes correspondence, awards, and promotional materials for art exhibitions featuring Beckmann and other artists.
Link to Collection Guide
Boman (Keith) Papers on the Smith Center for the Performing Arts
Coll #: MS-00951
Date: 2009-2010
Extent: 1 box (0.46 cubic feet, 0.42 linear feet)
The Keith Boman Papers on the Smith Center for the Performing Arts consist of materials documenting the construction of the Smith Center for the Performing Arts in Las Vegas, Nevada from approximately 2009 to 2010. The collection includes documents from the construction oversight committee, financial budgets, and board of directors meeting agendas.
Link to Collection Guide
Boranian, Hixon Music Scores
Coll #: MS-00610
Date: approximately 1950s-1980s
Extent: 0.83 linear feet, 0.92 cubic feet (2 boxes)
The Hixon Boranian collection (approx. 1950s-1980s) is comprised solely of music manuscripts and scores that he wrote, edited, and performed.
Link to Collection Guide
Cabat (Erni) art prints
Coll #: MS-00862
Date: 1981
Extent: 1 oversize folder (0.10 cubic feet, 2 linear feet)
The collection consists of seven numbered art prints, hand signed by Arizona artist, Erni Cabat, with accompanying certificates of authenticity. The prints were created from original gouache paintings of scenes from casino life, and distributed by Nevada Magazine to mark the 50th anniversary of gambling in Nevada in 1981.
Link to Collection Guide
Canadian Film Centre Worldwide Short Film Festival Submissions
Coll #: MS-00615
Date: 2002-2006
Extent: 187 boxes (202.58 Linear Feet, 240.04 Cubic Feet)
The Canadian Film Centre Worldwide Short Film Festival Submissions Collection is comprised of films submitted to the Canadian Film Centre Worldwide Short Film Festival during the festival years 2002 to 2006. The collection is comprised exclusively of audiovisual materials (VHS and DVD formats). NOTE: Materials are stored in the Lied Automated Storage and Retrieval Unit(LASR). Advanced notice may be required to access these materials.
Link to Collection Guide
Canadian Film Centre Worldwide Short Film Festival Submissions
Coll #: MS-00615
Date: 2002-2006
Extent: 187 boxes (202.58 Linear Feet, 240.04 Cubic Feet)
The Canadian Film Centre Worldwide Short Film Festival Submissions Collection is comprised of films submitted to the Canadian Film Centre Worldwide Short Film Festival during the festival years 2002 to 2006. The collection is comprised exclusively of audiovisual materials (VHS and DVD formats). NOTE: Materials are stored in the Lied Automated Storage and Retrieval Unit(LASR). Advanced notice may be required to access these materials.
Link to Collection Guide
Carsony (Karl) papers
Coll #: MS-00807
Date: 1918-2011 (bulk 1950-1970)
Extent: 9 boxes (5.88 cubic feet, 8.94 linear feet)
The Karl Carsony Papers (1918-2011) are comprised of photographs, newspaper clippings, ephemera, and artifacts representing Karl (Schrom) Carsony's acrobatic career and personal life. The bulk of the materials in this collection date from approximately the early 1950s through the late 1970s. The materials also include vacation photographs of Karl (Schrom) Carsony and his wife, Margot Meyers. The materials also include promotional photographs, posters, and fliers for the Carsony Brothers, which was an acrobatic show consisting of Karl Carsony and his twin brothers, Joe and Bert Schrom.
Link to Collection Guide
Cartier (Walter) Papers
Coll #: MS-01074
Date: 1962-1998
Extent: 1 box, 1 flat file, 3 oversized boxes (1.90 cubic feet, 6.63 linear feet)
The Walter Cartier Papers (1962-1998) primarily contain materials collected by Walter Cartier during his time working as company manager of Bal du Moulin Rouge at the Las Vegas Hilton in Las Vegas, Nevada. Materials include posters, show programs, and costume drawings as well as photographs, and slides of the show's opening night performance. Other images in the collection include reference photographs of performers in costumes. Other materials in this collection include show costumes designed by French costume designer, Edward Piekny, various costume designs created by Cartier, and a copy of his curriculum vitae from 1987. Programs for shows performed in 1962 at Casa Mañana Theatre in Fort Worth, Texas are also included in the collection.
Link to Collection Guide
Center Stage, Inc. Records
Coll #: MS-00551
Date: 1994-2008
Extent: 1.5 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
The Center Stage, Inc. Records (1994 to 2008) are comprised of photographs, bylaws, correspondence, meeting minutes, publicity, scripts, programs, cast lists, and video cassettes of a number of the productions. Center Stage Theater Inc. was the first LGBT theater company in Las Vegas, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
CineVegas Promotional Materials
Coll #: MS-01046
Date: 1999-2009
Extent: 11 boxes (6.49 cubic feet, 5.41 linear feet), 20 digital files (1.34 GB), 11 Betacam SP Videotapes
The CineVegas International Film Festival Records (1999-2009) include promotional guides, press kits, and press clippings about the film festival which was held in Las Vegas, Nevada from 1999 to 2009. The materials in the collection include "clip books" which are comprised of media and newspaper clippings that mention the film festival. The collection also includes issues of magazines such as the Las Vegas Weekly, Premiere, and the Hollywood Reporter that feature stories about the film festival. Also included are audiovisual materials that include DVD and BetaCam SP B-roll footage and news segments from local news channels about the festival.
Link to Collection Guide
Clark County Museum Guild Records
Coll #: MS-00462
Date: 1983-1996
Extent: 0.25 Linear Feet (1 box)
The Southern Nevada, Clark County Museum Guild records consist of news clippings, meeting minutes, programs and other historical materials from 1983-1996.
Link to Collection Guide
Desert Sculptors Association Records
Coll #: MS-00779
Date: 1913-2015
Extent: 1.5 linear feet (2 boxes)
The Desert Sculptors Association Records (1913-2015, bulk dates 2000-2015) contain agendas, minutes, reports, financial records, photographs of sculptures, and descriptions of community service projects. There is also a scrapbook that chronicals the organization's activities, members, and various sculptures.
Link to Collection Guide
Edythe and Lloyd Katz Papers
Coll #: MS-00376
Date: 1934-2002
Extent: 5.50 Linear Feet (5 boxes, 2 oversize boxes, and one flat file)
The Edythe and Lloyd Katz papers (1934-2002) provide a glimpse of the social, religious, and educational contributions that they made to the community of Las Vegas, Nevada. Materials include photographs, correspondence, newspaper clippings, and awards dating from 1934 to 2002.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online
Fallman Family Papers
Coll #: MS-00908
Date: 1950-2005
Extent: 13 boxes and 1 flat file (7.2 cubic feet, 13.52 linear feet)
The Fallman Family Papers (approximately 1950-2005) consist of correspondence, newspaper clippings, photographic prints and slides, scrapbooks, and pamphlets from James and Ima Fallman and their daughter, Janice. The correspondence primarily relates to James and Ima Fallman and chronicles Ima's involvement with the Francisco Garces chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR), James's work as a bartender in Las Vegas, Nevada, and awards he received during World War II. The newspaper clippings mention either James Fallman or his daughter, Janice, and her involvement with the Las Vegas High School Rhythmettes dance team. The majority of materials from Janice describe her school days at Las Vegas High School and events participated in as a child and young adult.
Link to Collection Guide
Fercos Family Publicity Collection
Coll #: MS-00919
Date: 1978-1989
Extent: 1 oversize folder (0.06 cubic feet, 2.00 linear feet)
The Fercos Family Publicity Collection (approximately 1978-1989) contains newspaper articles, advertisements, and a poster promoting the Flying Fercos, a family of juggling and acrobatic performers who performed in Las Vegas, Nevada at the Dunes Hotel during the 1970s and 1980s. The materials document the Fercos family's act as part of producer Frederic Apcar's shows such as Casino de Paris and Hot Shock.
Link to Collection Guide
Freeman (Russ) Television Music Manuscripts
Coll #: MS-00976
Date: 1969-1977
Extent: 2 boxes (0.88 cubic feet, 0.75 linear feet)
The Russ Freeman Television Music Manuscripts contains music manuscripts and production materials from Russ Freeman's work on various television specials, dating from 1969 to 1977. The collection includes music scores for television soundtracks including Feliciano! Very Special which aired on the television network NBC and Shirley MacLaine Show which aired on CBS. Russ Freeman is featured in this collection as composer and arranger for many of the soundtracks and was featured as a pianist on soundtracks for The Clifton Davis Special, Flip Wilson Specials, and The Don Rickles Show. Freeman's compositions and arrangements for the television shows were recorded in Las Vegas, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Friends of Southern Nevada Libraries Records
Coll #: MS-00550
Date: 1974-2013
Extent: 23 boxes, 1 oversized box, 1 flat file (15.39 cubic feet, 15.48 linear feet)
The Friends of Southern Nevada Libraries Records (1974-2013) is comprised of the organizational records of the Las Vegas, Nevada based non-profit, Friends of Southern Nevada Libraries (FOSNL). Materials include volunteer information, book sale receipts, funding proposals, thank-you cards, board meeting minutes, correspondence, photographs, newsletters, court proceedings, and promotional materials.
Link to Collection Guide
Hancock, Doris
Coll #: MS-00282
Date: 1915 - 1987
Extent: 1.84 cubic feet, 3.34 linear feet (4 boxes, 1 oversize folder in shared box)
Related Materials: 0003
The Doris Hancock Papers (1895-1987) consist of school memorabilia, correspondence, sketches, two scrapbooks, and material from her involvement in the Las Vegas Art League. Also included are materials about Southern Nevada and surrounding areas, particularly mining towns, Colorado River, Boulder Dam, Red Rock Canyon, early Las Vegas, and Death Valley.
Link to Collection Guide
Hanlon (Ken) Jazz Music Manuscripts
Coll #: MS-00977
Date: 1975-1985
Extent: 2 oversized boxes (0.73 cubic feet, 2.17 linear feet)
The Ken Hanlon Jazz Music Manuscripts (approximately 1975-1985) is comprised of jazz music compositions that were gathered by the Arnold Shaw Popular Music Research Center at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) in Las Vegas, Nevada. The collection includes several scores and arrangements from Hanlon's ensembles, including: the UNLV Jazz Band, Seventy-Six Trombones Ensemble, and the Si Zentner Ensemble.
Link to Collection Guide
Harrell (Beryl) Papers
Coll #: MS-00872
Date: 1940s-1970s
Extent: 3 boxes (0.98 cubic feet, 2.42 linear feet); 5 digital files (0.195 GB)
The collection (approximately 1940s-1970s) is comprised primarily of personal and professional photographs, ephemera, and scrapbooks of steel guitar player Beryl Harrell who performed with different musical acts in California and Nevada throughout the 1940s to the 1960s. There are a number of personal photographs of Beryl's family, namely her son, Don Triolo. The collection includes an optical disc with five recordings of Harrell playing the steel guitar for different musical acts. The collection also contains clippings and magazine articles about Harrell's life and career.
Link to Collection Guide
Henderson, Betty Professional Papers
Coll #: MS-00253
Date: 1963-1985
Extent: 3 boxes (3.14 cubic feet, 2.59 linear feet)
The Betty Henderson Professional Papers (1963-1985) are comprised of materials produced by Betty Henderson in her capacity as a private music teacher in Las Vegas, Nevada and as a member of the Nevada Music Teachers Association (NMTA). The collection includes scrapbooks of concert programs and NMTA events, materials from Henderson's experiences in Europe as a People-to-People ambassador with the Music Teachers National Association, and recordings on reel-to-reel tapes of concerts Henderson performed in or judged.
Link to Collection Guide
Houssels, Nancy Collection on the Nevada Dance Theatre
Coll #: MS-00392
Date: 1972-1997
Extent: 1 box, 1 flat file (0.67 cubic feet, 2.42 linear feet)
The Nancy Houssels Collection on the Nevada Dance Theatre (1972-1997) consists of programs, posters, photographs, newsletters, magazine articles, and newspaper clippings related to the Nevada Dance Theatre (now Nevada Ballet Theatre) in Las Vegas, Nevada. Nancy Houssels co-founded the Nevada Dance Theatre in 1972 with Vassili Sulich.
Link to Collection Guide
Janish, Jeanne Russell Papers
Coll #: MS-00355
Date: 1833-1994 (bulk 1894-1994)
Extent: 15 boxes, 3 oversized boxes, 1 flat file (11.45 cubic feet, 15.54 linear feet)
Related Materials: 0296
The Jeanne Russell Janish Papers span the years 1833 through 1994 with an emphasis on 1894 to 1994. The materials of the illustrator and watercolorist include her school records, research papers, diaries, and personal correspondence. There are two original book manuscripts, dried flowers, hand-woven rugs, a variety of art supplies and tools, and approximately 140 watercolor paintings and pencil sketches of various scenes and subjects, created in China, Florida, and the American Southwest.
Link to Collection Guide
Jazz on the Strip Scrapbooks
Coll #: MS-00980
Date: 1991-1999
Extent: 4 boxes (2.59 cubic feet, 2.17 linear feet)
The Jazz on the Strip Scrapbooks (1991-1999) consist of six scrapbooks containing photographs, event programs, newspaper clippings, and ephemera for the "Jazz on the Strip" weekly performance series put on by the Las Vegas Jazz Society (LVJS). Photographs depict the weekly shows at the Riviera Hotel's Le Bistro Lounge in Las Vegas, Nevada, and include performers such as Chick Corea, Russ Freeman, Bill Watrous, and other well-known performers. The scrapbooks also document other events put on by the Jazz Artists of Nevada, including annual picnics, memorial performances, "Jazz in the Park" outdoor concerts, and fundraising events. Included throughout the scrapbooks are the LVJS Jazz Notes, a monthly newsletter.
Link to Collection Guide
Jewish Repertory Theater of Nevada Records
Coll #: MS-00850
Date: 2011-2016
Extent: 1 box (0.58 linear feet, 0.64 cubic feet)
The Jewish Repertory Theater of Nevada (JRTN) Records are comprised of playbills, advertising, and magazine and newspaper clippings gathered by Norma Marrow Zuckerman, founder and artistic director of the JRTN, dating from 2011 to 2016. The records include information about the types of plays produced by the JRTN. The records also include information about fundraising events held to benefit the JRTN.
Link to Collection Guide
Joan Snyder Meadows Playhouse Collection
Coll #: MS-00219
Date: 1968-1981
Extent: 6 boxes (2.95 cubic feet, 2.83 linear feet)
The Joan Snyder Meadows Playhouse Collection (1968-1981) consists of materials from the Meadows Playhouse, a University of Nevada, Las Vegas playhouse that was located on Maryland Parkway, south of the university campus. It includes architectural plans, interdepartmental and external correspondence and memos about designing a theater major program, examples of other university theater major requirements, press releases, copies of plays with set design and director’s notes, notes on student actors, photographs, production playbills, and newspaper clippings regarding various productions.
Link to Collection Guide
Johnny Eshow Haig Papers
Coll #: MS-00546
Date: 1970-1990
Extent: 2.29 Linear Feet (6 boxes)
The Johnny Eshow Haig Papers (1970-1990) are comprised of contracts, agreements, and correspondence of musician Johnny Haig, who worked as a trombone player and conductor at various hotels in Las Vegas, Nevada from 1955 until 2000. Additionally, the papers house extensive original music scores written by Haig. The papers primarily cover Haig's later career in the 1970s and 1980s.
Link to Collection Guide
Kelly (Margaret) Collection on the Bluebell Girls
Coll #: MS-00604
Date: 1935-1997
Extent: 2 boxes and 21 oversized boxes (9.37 cubic feet, 22.94 linear feet)
The Margaret Kelly Collection on the Bluebell Girls (1935-1997) includes personal scrapbooks created by Margaret Kelly, programs from international shows featuring the Bluebell Girls dance troupe, and photographs of the Bluebell Girls. The scrapbooks include newspaper clippings covering Kelly's work at the Folies-Bergère and Lido de Paris, Paris, France, and her long career as creator and manager of the world famous Bluebell Girls. Also included are materials from 1958 about the Bluebell Girls shows in Las Vegas, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Las Vegas Art League Scrapbooks
Coll #: MS-00185
Date: 1966-1967
Extent: 1.8 Linear Feet (1 oversize box)
The Las Vegas Art League Scrapbooks are comprised of two scrapbooks, housed in a binder and a pressbook, that were presented as an annual report to the American Artists Professional League in 1967 by the Las Vegas Art League in Las Vegas, Nevada. The collection includes newspaper clippings, photographs, and information about the activities of the Las Vegas Art League during 1966.
Link to Collection Guide
Las Vegas Art Museum Records
Coll #: MS-00549
Date: 1950-2009 (inclusive); 1997-2009 (bulk)
Extent: 4 linear feet (4 boxes)
The Las Vegas Art Museum Records span the history of the Las Vegas Art Museum (LVAM) in Las Vegas, Nevada from its start as the Las Vegas Art League in the 1950s until it closed in 2009. The collection contains materials related to its business functions and museum publicity. Materials include annual reports, income statements, board meeting agendas and minutes, postcards, event invititations, press releases, an extensive series of local newspapers and magazines, photographs, recorded radio interviews on CD, and VHS tapes.
Link to Collection Guide
Las Vegas Contemporary Arts Center Records
Coll #: MS-00643
Date: 1985-2012
Extent: 20 boxes, 2 oversized boxes, and 1 flat file (25.53 cubic feet, 25.21 linear feet)
The Las Vegas Contemporary Arts Center Records (1985-2012) are comprised of the organizational records of the Las Vegas Contemporary Arts Center (CAC), located in Las Vegas, Nevada. Materials include administrative files, records of exhibits hosted by the CAC, newspaper clippings, awards, and promotional materials. The records also include photographic prints, slides, and digital images of artwork.
Link to Collection Guide
Las Vegas Hard Core Collection of Flyers and Photographs
Coll #: MS-00605
Date: 1981-2013
Extent: 0.83 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
The "Las Vegas Hard Core" Collection of Punk Rock Fliers and Photographs (1981-2013) includes fliers and photographs documenting the Las Vegas, Nevada punk rock scene in the 1980s. It includes photocopied fliers from bands such as The Ramones, The Germs, Misfits, Meat Puppets, Wasted Youth, Black Flag, FSP, TSOL, Circle Jerks, Shattered Faith, Agent Orange, Self Abuse, Bad Attitude, and many others. The majority of items are from the 1980s.
Link to Collection Guide
Las Vegas Hard Core Collection of Flyers and Photographs
Coll #: MS-00605
Date: 1981-2013
Extent: 0.83 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
The "Las Vegas Hard Core" Collection of Punk Rock Fliers and Photographs (1981-2013) includes fliers and photographs documenting the Las Vegas, Nevada punk rock scene in the 1980s. It includes photocopied fliers from bands such as The Ramones, The Germs, Misfits, Meat Puppets, Wasted Youth, Black Flag, FSP, TSOL, Circle Jerks, Shattered Faith, Agent Orange, Self Abuse, Bad Attitude, and many others. The majority of items are from the 1980s.
Link to Collection Guide
Las Vegas Jazz Society Records
Coll #: MS-01039
Date: approximately 1975-2003
Extent: 3 boxes (1.76 cubic feet, 1.50 linear feet)
The Las Vegas Jazz Society Records (approximately 1975-2003) are comprised of organizational records including meeting agendas, minutes, and membership statistics of the Las Vegas Jazz Society (LVJS). Included in the collection are issues of the LVJS's newsletter Jazz Notes, promotional materials, blank membership applications, correspondence, information on other regional jazz societies, and photographic prints depicting various events and festivals. A portion of this collection documents LVJS's involvement in saving the KUNV 91.5 FM radio station.
Link to Collection Guide
Las Vegas Literary Club Records
Coll #: MS-00566
Date: 1937-1997
Extent: 2 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
The Las Vegas Literary Club records contain materials documenting various club events ranging from the years 1937 to 1997, with the bulk of the material dating from 1973 to 1994. The materials include scrapbooks that provide insight into the club's activities, events, and celebrations. There are two record books that include financial records with meeting minutes, and a book commemorating the club's history.
Link to Collection Guide
Las Vegas Literary Club Records
Coll #: MS-00566
Date: 1937-1997
Extent: 2 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
The Las Vegas Literary Club records contain materials documenting various club events ranging from the years 1937 to 1997, with the bulk of the material dating from 1973 to 1994. The materials include scrapbooks that provide insight into the club's activities, events, and celebrations. There are two record books that include financial records with meeting minutes, and a book commemorating the club's history.
Link to Collection Guide
Las Vegas Philharmonic Orchestra Publications
Coll #: MS-00534
Date: 1998-2013
Extent: 2 boxes (0.56 cubic feet, 0.63 linear feet)
The Las Vegas Philharmonic Orchestra Publications (1998-2013) primarily includes programs from the orchestra's seasons as well as for special concerts like the 4th of July, Soiree, and other one-time special events. Also included in this collection are copies of the orchestra's newsletter, Con Brio.
Link to Collection Guide
Las Vegas Variety Club Records
Coll #: MS-00590
Date: 1950-1996
Extent: 6 boxes (6.25 Cubic Feet, 8.78 Linear Feet)
The Las Vegas Variety Club Records (1950-1996) consist of clippings and photographs of the Las Vegas Variety Club, which focused on providing services to special needs children. The collection also contains several scrapbooks documenting the organization's major activities in the 1950s and 1960s.
Link to Collection Guide
LeBoutillier (O.C. "Boots") Paintings
Coll #: MS-00771
Date: 1970-1979
Extent: 1 flat file (0.21 cubic feet, 1.92 linear feet)
The collection consists of two watercolor paintings donated and autographed by Las Vegas resident O.C. “Boots” LeBoutillier. The materials were painted and signed by Robert Carlin depicting the crash of Baron Manfred Von Richthofen's (the "Red Baron") airplane on April 21, 1918. LeBoutillier is also depicted in the paintings flying above as the "Red Baron" crashes after being shot down. The paintings were created approximately between 1970 to 1979.
Link to Collection Guide
LeCoque, (Ffolliott "Fluff") Papers
Coll #: MS-00826
Date: 1879-2015 (bulk 1930-2015)
Extent: 4 oversized boxes, 3 boxes, 1 flat file (2.56 cubic feet, 8.77 linear feet)
Collection is comprised of Ffolliott "Fluff" LeCoque's professional and personal papers (1879-2015), documenting her life and career working as a dancer and later as company manager for Las Vegas entertainment productions; most notably the long-running Jubilee! show produced by Donn Arden for the MGM Grand and Bally's Hotel-Casinos. Materials include personal letters, drawings, professional papers, newspaper clippings, photographs, magazines, commericially produced sheet music, and related ephemera.
Link to Collection Guide
Lieberman (Liz Elliot) Papers
Coll #: MS-00827
Date: 1970-1989
Extent: 1 oversized box (0.28 cubic feet, 1.67 linear feet)
The Liz Elliott Lieberman Papers are comprised of materials from approximately 1970 to 1989 documenting Lieberman's career as a dancer in Reno and Las Vegas, Nevada performing in shows such as Hello, Hollywood, Hello at the MGM Grand Reno, Zing at Harrah's Reno, and EFX at the MGM Grand Las Vegas. The collection includes a scrapbook, newspaper clippings, and ephemera documenting her work in Hello, Hollywood Hello. Other materials include newspaper clippings, ephemera, and photographs from Zing and EFX.
Link to Collection Guide
Mann (Mildred) papers
Coll #: MS-00369
Date: 1915-1995
Extent: 12 boxes (4.45 cubic feet, 5 linear feet))
The Mildred Mann Papers (1915-1995) contain documents related to her involvement in teaching ceramics and her work with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. Included are correspondence, newspaper clippings, magazines, certificates, childhood school materials, manuals, photographs, a scrapbook, and newsletters. There are also Clark County Community College (CCCC) class schedules, real estate papers, and membership lists.
Link to Collection Guide
Marchese (Lamar and Patricia) papers
Coll #: MS-00884
Date: 1959-2015
Extent: 10 boxes (5.48 cubic feet, 4.88 linear feet)
The Lamar and Patricia Marchese papers (1959-2015) contain awards, correspondence (both professional and personal), a Clark County Services and Facilities Directory, newspaper and magazine clippings, pamphlets, Parks and Recreation information, KNPR events and newsletters, art exhibits brochures, and musical performances brochures. The collection chronicles the contributions of the long-time Las Vegas community leaders through photographs, speeches, an interview done with Lamar Marchese, professional papers, audiovisual materials, Las Vegas Centennial Board (LVCB) end of year report, and a LVCB book.
Link to Collection Guide
