Search Special Collections & Archives
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Architecture/Urban Planning


Total manuscripts: 49

(Boman) Keith Papers on the Smith Center for the Performing Arts
Coll #: MS-00951
Date: 2009-2010
Extent: 1 box (0.46 cubic feet, 0.42 linear feet)
The Keith Boman Papers on the Smith Center for the Performing Arts consist of materials documenting the construction of the Smith Center for the Performing Arts in Las Vegas, Nevada from approximately 2009 to 2010. The collection includes documents from the construction oversight committee, financial budgets, and board of directors meeting agendas.
Link to Collection Guide

12 + 7: Artists and Architects of CityCenter Exhibit Panels from Bellagio Gallery of Fine Art
Coll #: MS-00844
Date: 2009
Extent: 5.38 linear feet, 0.47 cubic feet (12 items)

American Institute of Architects (AIA) Nevada Design & Service Awards Records
Coll #: MS-00897
Date: 2015-2016
Extent: 1,073 Digital Files (3.28 GB)
The American Institute of Architects (AIA) Nevada Design & Service Awards Records (2015-2016) is comprised entirely of digital files of forms and project submittals for one of its sub-programs: the AIA Nevada Excellence In Design Awards. These projects primarily pertain to Las Vegas, Nevada, but include other locations throughout Nevada, the United States, and internationally. Project types include residences, commercial buildings, public facilities, and educational buildings.
Link to Collection Guide

Bergman Walls & Associates Architectural Drawings
Coll #: MS-00910
Date: 1997-2017
Extent: 11 oversized flat files (5.46 cubic feet, 32.77 linear feet); 2,185 digital files (86.4 GB)
The Bergman Walls & Associates architectural drawings are comprised of architectural and interior drawings created between 1997 and 2017. The drawings primarily focus on Las Vegas, Nevada properties, but also include drawings for projects around the United States and international locations. Typical drawing types include initial design sketches, exterior and interior perspective renderings, site plans, floor plans, sections, elevations, and detail drawings and diagrams of specific building components. The material is available in the form of physical drawings, digital scans of original content, and computer generated renderings, with some material in the collection unique to either physical or digital formats.
Link to Collection Guide

Bruner (Elmo) Architectural and Real Estate Appraisal Records
Coll #: MS-00177
Date: 1937-1996
Extent: 91 boxes, 5 flat files (56.69 cubic feet, 60.81 linear feet)
The Elmo C. Bruner Architectural and Real Estate Appraisal Records date from 1937 to 1996 and contain architectural and appraisal records from Las Vegas, Nevada. Bruner joined A.L. Worswick’s office in 1947, taking it over following Worswick’s retirement in 1954. In 1958, Bruner formed the Las Vegas Appraisal and Finance Corporation. The bulk of the collection consists of appraisal records for residential and commercial properties in Las Vegas, Henderson, and North Las Vegas. These records provide a detailed look at the urban development of the region as well as building design, style, and neighborhood characteristics. The architectural drawings highlight the work of Worswick and Bruner, including Frazier Hall at Las Vegas High School and the original adobe administration building at McCarran Airport.
Link to Collection Guide

Cambeiro (Dominique) Corporation Architectural Records
Coll #: MS-00864
Date: 1979-2010
Extent: 14 rolls, 22 boxes (17.18 cubic feet, 47.58 linear feet)
The Domingo Cambeiro Corporation Architectural Records contain renderings and presentation boards depicting schools, commercial properties, public facilities, and government buildings throughout Las Vegas, Nevada between 1979 to 2010. The collection also includes architectural drawings of the Thomas & Mack Center on the campus of the University of Nevada, Las Vegas.
Link to Collection Guide

Childers, Kenneth H. Architectural Drawings
Coll #: MS-00851
Date: 1968, approximately 1981-1995
Extent: 121 boxes/rolls (27.99 cubic feet, 31.21 linear feet)
The Kenneth H. Childers Architectural Drawings (1968, 1981-1995) contain the work of Childers and his Las Vegas, Nevada architectural firm, Kenneth H. Childers Architect. The drawings depict both residential and commercial structures built primarily in Las Vegas.
Link to Collection Guide

Coletti (Cindy) papers
Coll #: MS-00845
Date: 1978-2017
Extent: 1 box, 1 oversize folder (0.56 cubic feet, 3.4 linear feet); 2 digital files (0.045 GB)
The Cindy Coletti Papers are comprised primarily of magazine and newspaper articles, and promotional brochures from approximately 1978 to 2017 about custom home designer Cindy Coletti and her company, Sun West Custom Homes, that was established in Las Vegas, Nevada in 1989. The collection also includes commendations for Coletti from the governor of Nevada and the Nevada congressional delegation for her accomplishments as a small business owner. Also included are some promotional brochures and a digitized scrapbook portfolio of custom homes designed by Coletti's previous design company, El Rancho West.
Link to Collection Guide

Cummings-Schmidt, Nancy
Coll #: MS-00822
Date: 1975-1981
Extent: 0.23 cubic feet, 0.21 linear feet (1 box)
The collection is comprised of records that document Nancy Cummings-Schmidt's career as a librarian for the Clark County Library District from 1975 to 1981. Collection includes biographical information, photographs of the Sunrise Branch Library renovation, photographs and brochures about summer reading programs at the Clark County Library in 1975-1980, and documentation about the 1980 Energy Expo.
Link to Collection Guide

Dave Melton Graphic Design Papers
Coll #: MS-00896
Date: 1972-1990
Extent: 3 boxes (1.25 cubic feet, 1.85 linear feet)
The Dave Melton Graphic Design Papers is comprised of Las Vegas, Nevada graphic designer David Melton's papers relating to his graphic design work from 1972 to 1990. The papers include mock-ups and finalized projects from Las Vegas hotels and casinos as well as local businesses. The casino material is primarily from the Dunes Hotel and Country Club and the MGM Grand Hotel.
Link to Collection Guide

First Good Shepard Lutheran Church records
Coll #: MS-00042
Date: 1934-1976
Extent: 1 folder (1 shared box); 0.02 cubic/linear feet
The First Good Shepherd Lutheran Church Records (1934-1976) contain photographic copies of correspondence, sermons, newspaper clippings, and photographs relating to the establishment and early years of the church.
Link to Collection Guide

Hazard (H.E.) Real Estate Maps and Photographs
Coll #: MS-00876
Date: 1960-1980
Extent: 2 flat files, loose materials (5.68 cubic feet, 6.42 linear feet)
H.E. Hazard Real Estate Maps and Photographs date from 1960 to 1980 and contain maps and aerial photographs, primarily of Las Vegas and Clark County, Nevada. Compiled by former Nevada legislator and realtor Harry Edward "Hap" Hazard (1894-1971), the collection includes more than sixty plat, topographic, engineering, sales, utility, zoning, and real estate maps, as well as twenty-two black-and-white aerial photographs.
Link to Collection Guide

Historic Building Survey Collection
Coll #: MS-00762
Date: 1930-2001 (bulk 1973-1984)
Extent: 14 boxes (6.44 cubic feet, 5.83 linear feet)
The Historic Building Survey Collection (1930-2001) contains materials on the preservation of historic buildings in Southern Nevada, Arizona, and Utah from Dr. Ralph Roske's History 117 course taught at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV). The collection is comprised of surveys which include descriptions, photographs, blueprints, newspaper clippings, pamphlets, and fliers related to historic houses, businesses, and public sites.
Link to Collection Guide

Irwin and Susan Molasky Papers
Coll #: MS-00661
Date: early 1900s - 2012
Extent: 1.9 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
The Irwin and Susan Molasky Papers (early 1900s-2012, bulk 1970-2012) primarily contain materials related to real estate development work by Irwin Molasky with his company, the Molasky Group of Companies, in Las Vegas, Nevada. In addition, the collection includes personal photographs (early 1900s-2011, bulk 1970-2011) of family members, friends, and events, as well as a Proclamation from Clark County, Nevada to establish the Molasky Family Park.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online

Jensen (Alton Dean) Architectural Records
Coll #: MS-00843
Date: 1943-2009
Extent: 299 rolls, 10 boxes (81.93 cubic feet)
The collection is comprised of architectural records (1943-2009) completed by American architect, Alton Dean Jensen and/or his architectural firm, Alton Dean Jensen Architect, AIA, and contains 263 sets of drawings and 95 sets of project records from over 200 different projects. Primarily focusing on the Nevada area and Utah area with some projects also located in Arizona, California, Wyoming, Colorado, South Dakota, Montana, and Idaho, the materials feature hand-drawn architectural drawings, ranging from preliminary sketches to construction documents, and project records, like structural calculations and project specifications. The drawings also contain work from consultants, engineers, and other architects who collaborated on the development of the various projects. The drawings include: commercial, industrial, professional, civic, residential, and religious buildings of varying scales, such as convenience stores, hotels, casinos, shopping centers, warehouses, office developments, schools, military buildings, churches, and custom single-family homes located throughout the Southwest (United States). The drawings also include a number of additions, remodels, and renovations. The drawings contain work from the Miles E. Miller Architecture firm, where Alton Dean Jensen first worked in Salt Lake City, Utah in the 1950s. The records include: structural calculations and drawings, project manuals and specifications, bid documents, and professional correspondence.
Link to Collection Guide

JMA Architecture Studio Records
Coll #: MS-00783
Date: 1953-2002
Extent: 12 boxes and 83 rolls (34.23 Cubic Feet, 30.75 Linear Feet)
The JMA Architecture Studio Records are comprised of architectural records (1953-2002) created by the American architect Jack Miller and/or his architectural firm, known as both Jack Miller & Associates, Architects, & Engineers, Inc and JMA Architects, Inc. This collection includes 30.25 linear feet of materials documenting work on over 250 projects. The collection focuses on Las Vegas and Reno, Nevada. The materials feature photographs of the firm’s projects and hand-drawn architectural drawings, ranging from pencil and ink on tracing paper preliminary sketches to ink on Mylar (TM) construction documents. The drawings also contain work from a number of consultants, engineers, and other architects who collaborated on the development of the various projects. The collection includes architectural drawings for hotels, casinos, integrated casino resorts, office towers, multi-family residential developments, and custom single-family homes.
Link to Collection Guide

JMA Architecture Studio Records
Coll #: MS-00783
Date: 1953-2002
Extent: 12 boxes and 83 rolls (34.23 Cubic Feet, 30.75 Linear Feet)
The JMA Architecture Studio Records are comprised of architectural records (1953-2002) created by the American architect Jack Miller and/or his architectural firm, known as both Jack Miller & Associates, Architects, & Engineers, Inc and JMA Architects, Inc. This collection includes 30.25 linear feet of materials documenting work on over 250 projects. The collection focuses on Las Vegas and Reno, Nevada. The materials feature photographs of the firm’s projects and hand-drawn architectural drawings, ranging from pencil and ink on tracing paper preliminary sketches to ink on Mylar (TM) construction documents. The drawings also contain work from a number of consultants, engineers, and other architects who collaborated on the development of the various projects. The collection includes architectural drawings for hotels, casinos, integrated casino resorts, office towers, multi-family residential developments, and custom single-family homes.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas Board of City Commissioners Records Regarding Water Supply
Coll #: MS-00055
Date: 1927 -1940
Extent: 1 folder (shared box); (0.2 cubic feet, 0.1 linear feet)
The Las Vegas Board of City Commissioners Records Regarding Water Supply (1927-1940) include correspondence, resolutions, petitions, application for a permit, and newspaper clippings. The records concern water shortages in the City of Las Vegas, Nevada due in part to wasteful water usage and many of the documents refer to City Ordinance No. 247. Several items are signed by Walter R. Bracken, Vice President and Agent of the Company, and A. M. Folger, Assistant Agent.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas High School Architectural Drawings
Coll #: MS-00925
Date: 1929-1972
Extent: 6 oversized flat files (0.6 cubic feet, 17,88 linear feet)
The Las Vegas High School architectural drawings include blueprints for various improvements, expansions, additions, and renovations performed for the Las Vegas, Nevada high school between 1929 and 1972. The architectural drawing sets include site plans, floor plans, elevations, sections, building component details, and structural drawings.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas Housing Developments and Apartment Complex Brochures
Coll #: MS-00337
Date: 1980-1999
Extent: 2 boxes and 1 oversize folder (1.85 cubic feet, 3.17 linear feet)
The Las Vegas Housing Developments and Apartment Complex collection contains sales brochures for Las Vegas, Nevada housing developments and apartment complexes from 1980 to 1999. Most of the brochures include prices, floor plans, and artistic renderings of the various models being offered, as well as a map showing the location of the complex within the greater Las Vegas area.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas Land and Water Company Records from the Las Vegas Valley Water District
Coll #: MS-00912
Date: 1945-1959, 1978, 1989
Extent: 4 boxes, 13 rolls (6.31 cubic feet, 5.8 linear feet)
The Las Vegas Land & Water Company Records from the Las Vegas Valley Water District (1945-1959, 1978, 1989) are primarily comprised of contracts, correspondence, and maps that document the establishment of a water distribution system in Las Vegas, Nevada that would provide water using the state's Colorado River allocation. The records include water main extension agreements, correspondence, and bills of sale for water main construction, as well as articles and correspondence documenting the groundwater shortage in Las Vegas. The collection also includes maps for water distribution systems and pipelines throughout the Las Vegas Valley.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas Real Estate Brochures Collection
Coll #: MS-00574
Date: 1990-2010
Extent: 8 boxes and 1 oversized box (10.11 cubic feet, 9.35 linear feet)
The Las Vegas Real Estate Brochures Collection (1990-2010) is comprised of real estate brochures, pamphlets, folders, and fliers on housing developments in Las Vegas, Nevada. Materials include price sheets, photographs, and newspaper clippings related to the development of communities throughout the city.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas, Nevada Personal Rapid Transit System Project Records
Coll #: MS-00676
Date: 1972-1975
Extent: 0.8 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
The Las Vegas, Nevada Personal Rapid Transit System Project Records (1972-1975) contain monorail proposals compiled by A.J. Kavanaugh and Associates, Inc. for the City of Las Vegas and the County Commission of Clark County. Material includes Specifications for Design and Construction, technical evaluations, feasibility studies, contractor agreements, proposals/plans, publicity, financing plans, executive summaries, and patronage studies.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas-Clark County Library District Records
Coll #: MS-00817
Date: 1971-1996
Extent: 3.02 cubic feet, 3.27 linear feet
Collection is comprised of materials dating from approximately 1971 to 1996 about the Las Vegas Clark County Library District. Collection materials also include Charles Hunsberger's subject files from when he was library director of LVCCLD. The collection includes annual financial reports, clippings about the library district, photographs, master plan documents for Nevada libraries, and staff newsletters. In addition, the collection also includes materials documenting Hunsberger's efforts to secure a $22.2 million library bond in 1985.
Link to Collection Guide

Levy (John) Lighting Productions, Inc. Records
Coll #: MS-00832
Date: 1992-2017
Extent: 17 rolls, 17 boxes, 1 flat file (17.9 cubic feet, 17.81 linear feet); 2452 digital files (1.96 GB)
The John Levy Lighting Productions, Inc. Records contain correspondence, invoices, contracts, expense reports, newspaper and magazine clippings, photos, slides, floppy disks, compact discs, and digital files detailing the development of various projects between 1992 and 2017 primarily in Las Vegas, Nevada. The records also contain architectural lighting drawings, electrical schematics and design details, conceptual sketches, and artist renderings of projects in Las Vegas, throughout United States, and various international locations.
Link to Collection Guide

MacDonald Ranch Architectural Records
Coll #: MS-00892
Date: 1972-2007
Extent: 45 rolls (11.71 cubic feet, 12.5 linear feet)
The MacDonald Ranch Architectural Records contain master plans, architectural drawings, civil drawings, and landscape drawings primarily detailing the community development process of MacDonald Ranch, one of the oldest and most affluent master-planned communities in Clark County, Nevada between 1972 to 2007. Included are also drawings for MacDonald Highlands and Green Valley Ranch.
Link to Collection Guide

Mark L. Fine Papers
Coll #: MS-00696
Date: 1920-2014
Extent: 7.5 linear feet (7 boxes) ; 813 digital files
The collection dates from 1920 to 2014 and is primarily comprised of business and organizational records, press, photographs, scrapbooks, audiovisual materials, awards, and ephemera documenting Mark L. Fine’s career as a real estate developer in Southern Nevada and his work with various government and community organizations. The bulk of the material dates from 1980 to 2005.
Link to Collection Guide

Mark L. Fine Papers
Coll #: MS-00696
Date: 1920-2014
Extent: 7.5 linear feet (7 boxes) ; 813 digital files
The collection dates from 1920 to 2014 and is primarily comprised of business and organizational records, press, photographs, scrapbooks, audiovisual materials, awards, and ephemera documenting Mark L. Fine’s career as a real estate developer in Southern Nevada and his work with various government and community organizations. The bulk of the material dates from 1980 to 2005.
Link to Collection Guide

McDaniel (James B.) Architectural Records
Coll #: MS-00203
Date: 1960-1978
Extent: 171 rolls, 45 flat files, 11 boxes (98. 43 cubic feet, 213.54 linear feet)
The James B. McDaniel Records (1960-1978) comprise the plans and drawings created by Las Vegas, Nevada architect James McDaniel who worked independently as James Brooks McDaniel Architect (from 1960-1978) and with a partner as Moffitt and McDaniel Architects, Limited (during the 1970s). This collection includes 207.04 linear feet of materials including 233 items from over 115 projects. Records include oversized architectural drawings, and files of architectural projects. McDaniel designed many University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) buildings, residential, commercial, and landscape designs for Las Vegas clients. Also included are business files of construction estimates, specifications, invoices, change orders, and correspondence.
Link to Collection Guide

MGM Grand Hotel fire litigation collection
Coll #: MS-00225
Date: 1970-1982
Extent: 2 boxes (1.74cubic feet, 1.56 linear feet)
The MGM Grand Hotel Fire Litigation Collection dates from 1970 to 1982. The collection is comprised of litigation documentation stemming from the November 21, 1980 MGM Grand Hotel fire that killed 85 people and injured 700. Included in the documentation are descriptions of construction materials and furnishings, abstracts of transcribed depositions, a list of companies that were involved with the construction of the MGM Grand, a list of MGM Grand employees, and a list of attorneys involved with the litigation. Also included in this collection is a transcript from a Nova television broadcast "Why America Burns" and copies of the 1970 Building Code and Mechanical Code. Seven rolls of microfilm contain MGM Grand blueprints.
Link to Collection Guide

Moser, John R. Real Estate Appraisal Records
Coll #: MS-00803
Date: 1957-1972
Extent: 2 boxes (0.65 cubic feet, 0.88linear feet)
Collection contains nineteen real estate appraisal reports created by John R. Moser from Las Vegas and rural Southern Nevada (Lincoln and Nye counties) from approximately 1957 to 1972. The reports contain information on the market values of the properties and contextual information explaining the appraisals. This collection also contains photographs and photographic negatives depicting properties, and photographic slides of desert flora and landscapes around Nevada and Idaho such as Groom Mountain Range, White Bird Canyon, Salmon River Valley, Clover Valley, and Ruby Mountains.
Link to Collection Guide

Moser, John R. Real Estate Appraisal Records
Coll #: MS-00803
Date: 1957-1972
Extent: 2 boxes (0.65 cubic feet, 0.88linear feet)
Collection contains nineteen real estate appraisal reports created by John R. Moser from Las Vegas and rural Southern Nevada (Lincoln and Nye counties) from approximately 1957 to 1972. The reports contain information on the market values of the properties and contextual information explaining the appraisals. This collection also contains photographs and photographic negatives depicting properties, and photographic slides of desert flora and landscapes around Nevada and Idaho such as Groom Mountain Range, White Bird Canyon, Salmon River Valley, Clover Valley, and Ruby Mountains.
Link to Collection Guide

North Las Vegas Library District Collection on Nevada
Coll #: MS-00651
Date: 1940-2008
Extent: 13 boxes (7.71 cubic feet, 6.77 linear feet)
The North Las Vegas Library District Collection on Nevada (1940-2008) is comprised of subject files created and collected by the North Las Vegas Library to provide patrons with public reference and research materials on North Las Vegas and Nevada. The collection also includes black-and-white photographs, color photographs, photographic slides, and video reels.
Link to Collection Guide

Patrick Egger Southern Nevada Real Estate Records
Coll #: MS-00878
Date: 1969-2012
Extent: 35 boxes and 1 flat file (22.68 cubic feet, 20.96 linear feet)
The Patrick Egger Las Vegas Real Estate Records (1969-2012) contain new housing development brochures, proposed and preliminary plans for housing, apartment, and mobile home developments, and building companies market studies. Also included are bulletins, maps, reports of property and home price increases, surveys of commercial space availability, and analyses of general growth patterns in the Southern Nevada area.
Link to Collection Guide

Pichot, Mary Kozlowski
Coll #: MS-00375
Date: 1969-1991
Extent: 1.3 Linear Feet (3 boxes)
The Mary Kozlowski Pichot Papers document the environmental activism of Mary Kozlowski Pichot from 1969 to 1991. The collection focuses on the environmental groups and planning committees that Pichot belonged to, including Aquavision, the Citizens' Advisory Committee, and Las Vegas 2000 and Beyond. The materials address water conservation plans, pollution alleviation efforts, and strategies to clean the Las Vegas Wash and Las Vegas Bay in Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

Regional Transportation Commission of Southern Nevada Records
Coll #: MS-00991
Date: 1995-2004
Extent: 3 boxes, 1 oversized box (1.78 cubic feet, 2.21 linear feet)
The Regional Transportation Commission of Southern Nevada Records (1995-2004) contain specifications, reports, publications, and studies pertaining to the development, planning, and usage of public transit systems in the Las Vegas Valley, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

Reynolds (Frank) Professional Papers
Coll #: MS-00926
Date: 1946-2012 (bulk 1964-2008)
Extent: 20 boxes, 19 rolls, and 3 oversized boxes (18.82 cubic feet, 21.11 linear feet)
The Frank Reynolds Professional Papers contain architectural drawings, photographic slides, and corporate records detailing the work and travels of American architect Frank Reynolds between 1946 and 2012, with a focus between 1964 and 2008. The collection includes records from Reynolds' doctoral studies at the University of Michigan and of his firm Frank Reynolds Architects. Also included are lecture materials from his time as a professor of architectural history, computer graphic design, and urban planning at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV). Photographs in the collection were collected by Reynolds during his travels throughout the United States, Europe, Asia, the Middle East, and South America.
Link to Collection Guide

Rissman (Homer) Architectural Records
Coll #: MS-00452
Date: 1957-2001
Extent: 110.64 Cubic Feet (240 flat files, 48 boxes)
The collection is comprised of architectural records (1947-2001) of American architect, Homer Rissman and the architectural firm, Rissman and Rissman Associates Ltd, a partnership of Homer Rissman and his brother Marshall. The collection includes 825 items from over 40 major projects and over 110 minor projects. The Rissmans' work represented in the collection focused on Las Vegas, Reno, and Lake Tahoe, Nevada, Los Angeles, Southern California, and Arizona, with Homer's early career design work in Chicago, Illinois. The materials feature hand-drawn architectural drawings, ranging from pencil and ink on tracing paper preliminary sketches to ink on Mylar (TM) construction documents, and a number of artist’s renderings, used for presentations and promotional materials. The drawings also contain work from a number of consultants, engineers, and other architects who collaborated on the development of the various projects. The collection includes architectural drawings for: hotels, casinos, integrated casino resorts, office towers, multi-family residential developments, and custom single-family homes.
Link to Collection Guide

Riviera Hotel and Casino Publicity Collection and Architectural Records
Coll #: MS-00647
Date: 1950s-2015 (bulk 1980s-1990s)
Extent: 79 boxes, 6 oversized boxes, 21 rolls, 2 oversized flat files, and 1 unboxed item (62.16 cubic feet, 60.96 linear feet)
The Riviera Hotel and Casino Publicity Collection and Architectural Records (1950s-2015) are comprised of entertainment, publicity and marketing files, and architectural drawings from the Riviera Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada. The records include publicity photographs and videotapes, press kits, and information about various entertainers who appeared at the Riviera,publicity, promotional material, and newspaper clippings about events, and publicity photographs of restaurant and club venues within the hotel. Also included is information about the Riviera's longest running shows, Splash, La Cage, and Crazy Girls.
Link to Collection Guide

Scheideman (Dale) Architectural Records
Coll #: MS-00984
Date: 1955-1956
Extent: 2 oversized boxes (2.66 cubic feet, 4.13 linear feet)
The Dale Scheideman Architectural Records (1955-1956) contain student work created by architect Elton Dale Scheideman during his time at the University of Kansas School of Architecture. These drawings, mounted on mat boards, were submitted for architectural classes and student design competitions.
Link to Collection Guide

Southern Nevada Homebuilders Association Records
Coll #: MS-00894
Date: 1974-2015
Extent: 16 boxes (6.58 cubic feet, 7.16 linear feet); 16,735 digital files (5.83 GB)
The Southern Nevada Home Builders Association (SNHBA) records represent the residential construction industry organization's activities from 1974 to 2015. The collection is primarily comprised of copies of SNHBA's newsletter, The Silver Spike, member directories, and event working files and photographs. The collection also includes working files for the awards presented by SNHBA to local home builders on excellence and design in home building: the Homer Awards and Silver Nugget Awards. Working files of SNHBA staff are also found in this collection for committee work, event planning, legislative issues, correspondence, and membership files.
Link to Collection Guide

Stern, Martin
Coll #: MS-00382
Date: 1950-1990
Extent: 349.65 cubic feet, 591.77 linear feet (605 rolls, 204 flat files, 35 boxes)
The collection is comprised of drawings (1950-1990) completed by American architect Martin Stern and/or his architectural firm, Martin Stern Jr., AIA Architect and Associates, and contains 592 linear feet of materials including 710 drawings from over 300 different projects involving over 100 buildings. Stern’s work focused on the resort centers of Las Vegas, Nevada; Reno, Nevada; Lake Tahoe, Stateline, Nevada; and Atlantic City, New Jersey. The materials feature hand-drawn architectural drawings, ranging from pencil and ink on tracing paper preliminary sketches to ink on Mylar (TM) construction documents, and a number of artist’s renderings, used for presentations and promotional materials. The drawings also contain work from a number of consultants, engineers, and other architects who collaborated on the development of the various projects. The collection includes architectural drawings for: hotels, casinos, integrated casino resorts, office towers, multi-family residential developments, and custom single-family homes.
Link to Collection Guide

Tutor Perini Corporation Promotional Materials
Coll #: MS-00865
Date: 2015
Extent: 1 shared box (0.35 cubic feet, 1.71 linear feet)
This collection is comprised of promotional and marketing materials from approximately 2015 highlighting Tutor Perini Corporation as a company and the construction projects they have developed in Las Vegas, Nevada. Included in this collection are promotional brochures, a map showcasing Tutor Perini construction projects in the Las Vegas Valley, and the Spring and Fall 2015 issues of Construction Las Vegas magazine.
Link to Collection Guide

Underground House of Las Vegas Collection
Coll #: MS-00594
Date: 1964-2004
Extent: 2 boxes (1.3 cubic feet, 1.08 linear feet); 4 digital files (0.00103 GB)
The Underground House of Las Vegas Collection (1964-2004) consists of newspaper clippings, magazine articles, books, photographic prints, and digital images detailing the construction and history of Girard "Jerry" B. Henderson’s "Underground House," a Las Vegas underground dwelling completed in 1978.
Link to Collection Guide

Whiteley, Harry Hayden Architectural Records
Coll #: MS-00134
Date: 1931-1970
Extent: 10 flat files, 1 box (30.21 Linear Feet)
The Harry Hayden Whiteley Architectural Records are comprised of architectural records (1931-1970) created and/or maintained by the American architect Harry Hayden Whiteley and/or his architectural firm, known as Harry Hayden Whiteley and Associates. This collection includes 30.21 linear feet of materials including 45 items from over 30 projects. The collection focuses on his work in the Las Vegas and Reno, Nevada areas. The materials feature both architectural drawings and project files. Architectural drawings include pencil and ink on tracing paper preliminary sketches and mounted artist's renderings used for presentations and promotional materials. Project files include project correspondence, photographs, and structural calculations. The drawings also contain work from the architect Paul Revere Williams. The collection includes architectural drawings for hotels, shopping plazas, residential developments, and office buildings.
Link to Collection Guide

Wilner Family Collection
Coll #: MS-00810
Date: 1983-2008
Extent: 1 box (1.0 Linear Feet, 1.1 Cubic Feet), 2 Digital Files (2.61 GB)
The Wilner Family Collection is comprised of audiovisual material on real estate in Las Vegas, Nevada collected by Las Vegas real estate agent, Linda C. Wilner. The collection includes informational videos for real estate agents and promotional showcase materials on various real estate developments around Las Vegas including Summerlin, Lake Las Vegas, Turnberry Place, Park Towers, Sun City Anthem, Sun City MacDonald Ranch, and Christopher Homes. This collection also contains a digital surrogate of a scrapbook commemorating Linda Wilner's uncle, Leo Wilner, and his retirement as executive director of Temple Beth Sholom in 1984.
Link to Collection Guide

Wilson, Gary Guy
Coll #: MS-00439
Date: 1965-1996
Extent: 153.67 Linear Feet, 145.39 Cubic Feet (613 rolls)
The collection is comprised of drawings (1965-1996) completed by American architect Gary Guy Wilson and/or his architectural firm, Gary Guy Wilson, AIA, Architect Studios and contains 613 sets of drawings from over 250 different projects. Primarily focused on the Las Vegas, Nevada area, the materials feature hand-drawn architectural drawings, ranging from preliminary sketches to construction documents, and a number of printed computer aided drawings. The drawings also contain work from a number of consultants, engineers, and other architects who collaborated on the development of the various projects. The drawings include: commercial and professional buildings of varying scales, such as convenience stores, hotels, casinos, shopping centers, and office developments; schools; military buildings at both Nellis and Indian Springs Air Force Bases; multi-family residential developments; and custom single-family homes located throughout the Southwest (United States).
Link to Collection Guide

Wilson, Gary Guy
Coll #: MS-00439
Date: 1965-1996
Extent: 153.67 Linear Feet, 145.39 Cubic Feet (613 rolls)
The collection is comprised of drawings (1965-1996) completed by American architect Gary Guy Wilson and/or his architectural firm, Gary Guy Wilson, AIA, Architect Studios and contains 613 sets of drawings from over 250 different projects. Primarily focused on the Las Vegas, Nevada area, the materials feature hand-drawn architectural drawings, ranging from preliminary sketches to construction documents, and a number of printed computer aided drawings. The drawings also contain work from a number of consultants, engineers, and other architects who collaborated on the development of the various projects. The drawings include: commercial and professional buildings of varying scales, such as convenience stores, hotels, casinos, shopping centers, and office developments; schools; military buildings at both Nellis and Indian Springs Air Force Bases; multi-family residential developments; and custom single-family homes located throughout the Southwest (United States).
Link to Collection Guide

Zunino (JW) Landscape Architecture Records
Coll #: MS-00891
Date: 1986-2003
Extent: 39 rolls (10.87 cubic feet, 12.42 linear feet)
The JW Zunino Landscape Architectural Records contain landscape and architectural drawings depicting work performed in Las Vegas, Nevada between 1986 to 2003. Casino work includes The Mirage Resort Hotel and Casino, the Monte Carlo Hotel and Casino, Tropicana Hotel and Casino, Suncoast Hotel and Casino, Caesars Palace, and Desert Inn Hotel and Casino. The records also include work performed for parks, residential properties, public and civil buildings, and commercial facilities.
Link to Collection Guide


Ask Us