Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections & Archives
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts Record


Royer (Gary W.) Collection on Gaming
Coll #: MS-00658
Date: 1950-2009 (bulk 1970-1995)
Extent: 217 boxes, 2 flat files (155.83 Cubic Feet, 131.11 Linear Feet)
The Gary W. Royer Collection on Gaming (dating from 1950 to 2009, with the bulk of the materials dating from 1970 to 1995) contains research files, legal files, reports, and manuals about gaming written and collected by Gary W. Royer. The collection includes research and regulatory files collected by Royer while he worked at the Nevada Gaming Control Board. These files primarily document the legislation and regulation of gaming in Nevada, but include information on other states in the US and some international locations. Regulatory files include statutes, codes, regulations, revenue reports, Nevada Gaming Control Board and Nevada Gaming Commission meeting minutes, and tribal-state gaming compacts. Also included are research files about casino, racetrack, and sports betting facilities that include data on organizations, monthly revenue reports, occupancy rates, management and operational control manuals, annual reports, policy and procedure manuals, and profile sheets collected for consulting purposes in Royer’s role as President of Casino Control Corporation (CCC), a private gaming consulting firm. Also included are subject and research files, vendor advertisements, catalogs, and reports; gaming industry publications; conference materials; audit guides; and a comprehensive collection of newspaper articles that document the US gaming industry in the second half of the twentieth century.
Link to Collection Guide