Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections & Archives
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts Record


Hughes Electronics Corporation Records
Coll #: MS-00485
Date: 1935-2003 (bulk 1984-2003)
Extent: 23 boxes (25.3 cubic feet, 24.02 linear feet)
Related Materials: See also Photo Collection #0321.
The Hughes Electronics Corporation Records (1935-2003) contain the files and publications of the corporate communications department and records donated by Robert K. Roney, a leading engineer at Hughes. These records document the growth of the company in Southern California, from building experimental aircraft for Howard Hughes, to developing and manufacturing radar and guided missile systems for the United States military and NATO forces, to developing and manufacturing communication satellites and space probes for NASA, and becoming the largest manufacturer of communication satellites and provider of satellite TV. The collection contains press releases, executive biographies, executive speeches, annual reports, corporate directories, organizational charts, correspondence files, technical reports and notes, promotional materials, as well as articles and publications detailing the history of the company. The collection also includes audiovisual materials and photographs. The audiovisual series details the history of the company through news footage and documentaries about Howard Hughes, aviation, corporate mergers, interviews with executives and promotional videos.
Link to Collection Guide