Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections & Archives
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts Record


Wittwer (John) Collection on Agriculture in Nevada
Coll #: MS-00181
Date: 1898-1972 (bulk 1929-1955)
Extent: 7 boxes and 1 flat file (4.71 cubic feet, 4 linear feet)
The collection contains the professional papers and records of John Wittwer in his capacity as an Agricultural Extension agent for the University of Nevada from 1921 to 1954. The records are primarily annual reports containing text, photographs, newspaper clippings, and charts that provide a rich chronicle of the conditions of agriculture and ranching in southern Nevada from 1898 to 1972, the bulk of the material dating from 1929 to 1955. These conditions span water issues, such as flood control and irrigation, to the general difficulties of sustaining agriculture and viable food production in a desert environment. The reports come from the Agricultural Experiment Stations in Clark and Lincoln counties and most contain both a statistical report and a narrative summary. There is also documentation regarding Wittwer's work as a Clark County agent and that of other Nevada County Agents. Other material in the collection includes correspondence on various agricultural programs administered by Wittwer, and project files detailing progress made on rural farming concerns and developments such as nutrition, home health and sanitation, home gardening, home improvement, community activities and the 4-H club.
Link to Collection Guide