Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

0281
Dunes Hotel Collection

(To access this collection, contact Special Collections or use this feedback form.)


0281
DUNES HOTEL COLLECTION

Dunes Hotel
0001 Artists rendering of the Dunes Hotel, front entrance.
0002 Artists rendering of the Dunes Hotel complex.
0003 View of the Dunes Hotel from above, showing construction in progress.
(c. 1955)
0004 Construction of the Arabian Room, the theatre in the Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas.
(Jan. 24, 1955) (proof sheet)
0005 Construction of Dunes Hotelearly 1955. (proof sheet)
0006 Construction photosDunes Hotel, Las Vegas, January, 1955. (proof sheet)
0007 Construction of Dunes Hotel, January, 1955. (proof sheet)
0008 Dunes Hotel entrance. (c. 1955) (Photo by Cliff Freemyer0
0009 Dunes Hotel entrance, Las Vegas. (c. 1950s) (Desert Sea News Bureau)
0010 Front entrance to Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas, c. 1950s. (Please credit: Union
Pacific Railroad)
0011 Front entrance to Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas, c. 1950s. (Please credit: Union
Pacific Railroad)
0012 Pool area at Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas, c. 1950s. (please credit: UPRR)

Entertainers-Dunes Hotel
0013 Members of their act watch Esther Williams (second from right) and Ben Gage
rehearse. Included are dancers Linda Peters, Brian peters, Jerry Rush, Con
Carson and Hal Bell. (c. 1950s)
0014 Esther Williams with unidentified man. (c. 1950s)
0015 Mickey Rooney, who appeared at the Dunes Hotel (1955).
0016 Malagon Sisters, headline attraction in the Sinbad Bar of the Dunes Hotel, Las
Vegas, 1955.
0017 Malagon Sistersthey performed at the Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas, 1955.
0018 The Malagon Sisters performed in the Sinbad Bar, Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas.
(c. 1955)
0019 Hugh OBrien and Marla English at the Dunes pool in Las Vegas, c. 1950s.
(Credit: Globe Photos)
0020 Joseph Cotton shakes hands with Dick Haymes, right, c. 1950s.
0021 Dick Haymes, crooner who appeared at the Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas. (1955)
0022 Dick Haymeshe performed at the Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas. (1955)
(Photo: Las Vegas News Bureau)
0023 Dick Haymes appearing at the Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas, 1955. (Photo: Las
Vegas News Bureau)
0024 Dick Haymes on horseback in front of the Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas. (c. 1955)
(Desert Sea News Bureau Photo)
0025 Dick Haymes dressed in Arabic garb and riding a horse in a promotional photo
in front of the Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas, c. 1955.
0026 Dick Haymes publicity shot. He is pictured in Arabic costume, riding a horse,
in front of the Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas, c. 1955.

0027 Dick Haymes (center) and Jack Benny (right) in the stars dressing room (probably the Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas ), c. 1955.
0028 L-R: Joseph Cotton, Rita Hayworth, Dick Haymes. Dick, who was appearing at the Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas, was married to Miss Hayworth. (c. 1955)
(Desert Sea News Bureau photo)
0029 Rita Hayworth and Dick Haymes, at right. (c. 1955)
0030 L-R: Wally Cox, singer Eileen Barton, and Marlon Brando, [Dunes Hotel,
Las Vegas]. (c. 1955)
0031 Eileen Barton and Wally Cox performing on the Dunes Hotel showroom stage,
c. 1955.
0032 Wally Coxpublicity photo. (c. 1955)
0033 Publicity photo of Wally Cox. He appeared at the Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas.
(c. 1955)
0034 (NEGATIVE ONLY) Wally Cox performing at the Dunes Hotel, 1955.
0035 Robert Lamouret, French ventriloquist, appeared at the Dunes Hotel in Las Vegas with his dummy duck, Dudule. (1955)
0036 Photograph of a page of newspaper articles about the French ventriloquist
Robert Lamouret. He appeared at the Dunes Hotel in 1955.
0037 Publicity photo of Jack De Leon, a comedian who appeared at the Dunes
Hotel. (c. 1955)
0038 Jack De Leon, comedian who performed at the Dunes Hotel. (c. 1955)
(publicity photo)
0039 Liberace (right) with two unidentified women. (c. 1950s) They are probably
showgirls at the Dunes Hotel, where Liberace performed.
0040 Mr. And Mrs. Reginald Gardiner. (c. 1955)
0041 Tab Hunter and Lori Nelson relax at the pool at the Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas,
c. 1955.
0042 Debbie Reynolds and Eddie Fisher (seated), greet Mickey Rooney in the Dunes
Hotel showroom, c. 1955.
0043 Tab Hunter and Lori Nelson relax at the Dunes Hotel pool, c. 1955.
0044 Robert Lamouret (ventriloquist) and Dudule, the Grand Opera Duck, appeared at the Dunes Hotel in 1955. (Publicity photo)

0045 Robert Lamouret, French ventriloquist, appeared at the Dunes Hotel with his dummy Dudule, the Grand Opera Duck. (c. 1955)
0046 Celebrities relax by the Dunes Hotel pool (c. 1955). Front row, second from left: Tab Hunter; second from right: Lori Nelson; far right; Hugh OBrien. Second row, left: Marla English. Back row, right: Jeff Hunter.
0047 Caesar Romero and unidentified companion at Dunes Hotel pool. (c. 1955)
0048 Marla English poses at Dunes Hotel pool (c. 1955).
0049 Jeff Hunter and unidentified companion at Dunes Hotel pool, 1955.
0050 Mickey Rooney (left) and lady companions, Dunes showroom. (c. 1955)
0051 Jeff Hunter and unidentified lady, Dunes Hotel, poolside, c. 1955.
0052 [Virginia Field and Willard Parker at the Dunes Hotel pool, 1955] (Credit:
Globe Photos)
0053 Marion Marlowe. She performed in a revue at the Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas, 1955. (photo credit: Bernard of Hollywood)
0054 Publicity photo of Marion Marlowe, c. 1955.
0055 Publicity photo of Eileen Barton who performed at the Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas,
1955.
0056 Eileen Barton (1955).

Executives & Miscellaneous people
0057 Joe Sullivan, president of the Dunes Hotel (center), and Noel Coward (left). (c. 1955)
0058    Guests gambling at the Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas, NV. (c. 1955)
0059 Alfred Gottesman (left), vice president of the Dunes Hotel, at poolside, (c. 1955) Lady not identified. (Photo by Desert Sea News Bureau)
0060 Al Gottesman, right, vice president of the Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas. (c. 1955)
0061 Group of cocktail waitresses at the Dunes Hotel (c. 1955).
0062 Linda Lawson (left) and another showgirl clown around backstage at the Dunes Hotel. (c. 1955) Man is not identified.
0063 Studying construction plans for the Dunes Hotel are: Al Gottesman, vice president of the Dunes (left); Bruce McNeil of McNeil Construction Company (second from left); John Replogle, architect (fourth from left); Bob Dorr, designer (in striped shirt). (1954)
0064 Signing of the construction contract for the Dunes Hotel. L-R; Bruce McNeil of the McNeil Construction Co.; Alfred Gottesman, vice president of the Dunes; Ted Anderson, manager of McNeil Construction Co.; Harry Zaret, owners representative; Bob Dorr, designer of the Dunes; Cliff Jones, attorney for the corporation. Seated are Milton Gettinger, New York financier and attorney, and Joseph Sullivan, president of the Dunes. (1954)
0065 Joe Sullivan, president of the Dunes Hotel (second from right), studies hotel blueprints. (1954) Also pictured are Bruce McNeil of McNeil Construction Company (left); John Replogle, architect for the Dunes (second from left); and Bob Dorr, designer of the Dunes (right).

Dunes HotelFacilities
0066 Neon sign at Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas, c. 1955.
0067 The Crown Jewel Room, part of the convention facilities at the Dunes Hotel & Country Club, Las Vegas, NB. (c. 1950s)
0068 Sapphire Room, part of the convention facilities at the Dunes Hotel & Country Club, Las Vegas, Nevada, c. 1950s.
0069 Exhibits in the Crown Jewel Room, Dunes Hotel Convention facilities, c. 1950s.

Dunes HotelFacilities
0070 Exhibits in the Crown Jewel Room, part of the convention facilities at the Dunes Hotel & Country Club, c. 1950s.
0071 Jade Room (part of convention facilities), Dunes Hotel & Country Club, Las Vegas, NV. (c. 1950s)
0072 Exhibits in the Crown Jewel Room, grand ballroom of the Dunes Hotel. (c. 1950s)
0073 Convention facilities, Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas, Nevada (c. 1950s).
0074 Part of the convention facilities at the Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas, c. 1950s. (Meeting room)
0075 Exterior view of Alice in Wonderland Nursery in the Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas, NV. (c. 1950s)
0076 Children playing in the Alice in Wonderland Nursery in the Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas, NV. (c. 1950s)
0077 Sultans Table Restaurant, Dunes Hotel & Country Club, Las Vegas, NV. (c.1950s)
0078 Group dining in the Sultans Table, Dunes Hotel, La Vegas, Nev. (c. 1950s) L-R: Mimi Hines, Phil Ford, Leon Freeman, and Jo Ann Georgens.
0079 Dining at the Sultans Table Restaurant (Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas), 1950s. R-L: Jay and Patricia Novello, Martha and Keith McKinley.
0080 Group dining at the Sultans Table Restaurant, Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas, Nev.,
(c. 1950s)    People not identified.
0081 Unidentified party dining at the Sultans Table Restaurant, Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas. (1950s)
0082 Health Club and Solaria, Dunes Hotel & Country Club, Las Vegas, Nevada.
(1950s)
0083 View of the casino in the Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas, Nev. (c. 1950s)
0084 people playing craps, Dunes Hotel Casino, Las Vegas. 9c. 1950s)
0085 The Monaco Room, Dunes Hotel & Country Club, Las Vegas, Nev. (c. 1950s)
0086 Twin bedroom on the 22nd floor of the Dunes Hotel (c. 1950s).
0087 View of a suite in the Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas, Nevada, c. 1950s.
0088 Gambling scene, Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas. (c. 1950s) Credit: Time, Inc.
0089 Room in the Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas (c. 1950s).
0090 A guest suite in the Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas, NV. (c. 1950s)
0091 A guest room in the Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas. 9c. 1950s)
0092 A guest room in the Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas, Nevada. (c. 1950s)
0093 Guest room in the Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas, NV. (c. 1950s)
0094 A guest suite in the Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas, NV. (c. 1950s)
0095 Lavish buffet at the Dunes Hotel for the Douguet party (May 1966)
0096 Birthday cake and dessert table, Douguet party at the Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas.
(May 1966)
0097 Lavish buffet set up for Douguet party, Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas. (May 1966)

Dunes Hotel Annual Golf Tournament
0098 Displaying trophies from the Dunes Hotel annual golf tournament. Far left:
Harry Reid; far right, Sammy Davis, Jr. (1971)
0099 Displaying trophies from the Dunes annual golf tournament. Harry Reid, third from left. Joe Delaney (fourth from left) and Gus Giuffre 9second from fight), local TV personalities. Las Vegas, 1971.
0100 Billboard advertising Dunes Hotel and Country Club, Las Vegas, 1973.
0101 Displaying trophies, Dunes golf tournament, 1971. Harry Reid (far left) and Sammy Davis, Jr., (far right).
0102 Sammy Davis, Jr., is pictured playing golf in the Dunes golf tournament, 1971. (He is at far right.)
0103 Some of the participants in the Dunes 5th annual golf tournament display their trophies. Tom Wiesner (5th from right) and Sammy Davis, Jr., (4th from right). November 1971.

Aerials, new Dunes Tower, etc.
0104 Aerial shot of Las Vegas Strip, looking north from the Dunes Hotel. (c. 1970s?)
0105 Groundbreaking ceremony for the Dunes Hotel tower, Oct. 20, 1962.
0105a (NEGS. ONLY) Eighteen 918) miscellaneous views of groundbreaking ceremony for the Dunes Hotel tower. (Oct. 20, 1962)
0106 Dunes Hotel and Country Club after addition of tower. (after 1962)
0107 Dunes Hotel after tower addition. (after 1962)
0108 Aerial view of the Dunes Hotel and Country Club. (c. 1960s)
0109 Aerial view of the Dunes Hotel & Country Club, Las Vegas, Nevada, c. 1960s. (NEG. ONLY)
0110 Seven showgirls from the Dunes Hotel pose by the hotels swimming pool soon
after its opening in 1955. L-R: Penny Davidson, Billie Nelson, Sherry Klarke, Pat Gautier, Gloria Curtis, Pat OConner, Irene Rainwater.
0111 An aerial view of the Dunes Hotel and Casino Ca. mid-late 1950s. (OVERSIZE)

People
0112 Morris Shenker shaking hands with a man in front of an architectural drawing for the Dunes Hotel and Casino Ca. 1950s.
0113 Morris Shenker with a group of people Ca. 1950s.