You are here

 


Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

0302
Clark, Wilbur

(To access this collection, contact Special Collections or use this feedback form.)


Early Life

0001    Wilbur Clark (left) with his sister Merle, and brother Harold.
0002    Wilbur Clark (center) with sister Merle, brother Harold.
0003    Wilbur Clark (right) with a friend.
0004    Wilbur Clark (right) with Bobby Gordon. (1930s)
0005    Wilbur Clark (right) in Keyesport, Illinois. (early 1920s)
0006    Wilbur Clark when he worked as a bellman, late 1920s, Knickerbocker Hotel, San Diego, Calif.
0007    Wilbur Clark and a friend, Keyesport, Illinois, 1925.
0008    Wilbur Clark (left) and his Best Cleaners uniform, Keyesport, IL, 1924.
0009    Wilbur Clark (left) in Palm Springs, Calif.
0010    Unidentified.
0011    Wilbur Clark
0012    Wilbur Clark, front row, far right.
0013    Wilbur Clark (top row, right) with group of people in the snow. Location was Springfield, Illinois.
0014    Wilbur Clark

Las Vegas - Wilbur Clark

0015    Wilbur Clark (front row, wearing suspenders).
0016    Wilbur Clark (right)
0017    Wilbur Clark (left) outside El Rancho Vegas Hotel & Casino. Hank Greenburg (center)
0018    Silver dollars with Wilbur Clark's likeness on one side and the El Rancho Vegas on the other. Clark had thousands of these made up to pass among his friends after he struck it rich.
0019    Mrs. Wilbur Clark (Toni), right, is hostess with her husband Wilbur a party at the El rancho Vegas honoring the Regent HRH Abdul Ilah of Iraq. The Regent is seated (center) and Mrs. Ted Charleston is at left. (June 27, 1945)
0020    Wilbur Clark
0021    Wilbur Clark holding a glass of beer.
0022    Wilbur Clark involved in woodworking.
0023    Wilbur Clark
0024    Wilbur Clark (left) (photo by Bill Young)
0025    Wilbur Clark in sailing attire
0026    Wilbur Clark in sailing attire. (close-up of #0025)
0027    Wilbur Clark
0028    Wilbur Clark working on modifications to the gambling tables. He used his own designs. (photo by Buck & Swift, Las Vegas)
0029    Wilbur Clark (right)
0030    Wilbur Clark (right)

0302    WILBUR CLARK COLLECTION

Las Vegas - Wilbur Clark (cont'd)

0031    Wilbur Clark posing. He is seated on the diving board at the Desert inn pool. (Desert Sea News Bureau)
0032    Wilbur Clark standing in front of the sign at the Desert Inn.
0033    Wilbur Clark (left) with his wife Toni (partially obscured to left of him) dining at Don the Beachcomber's on Waikiki Beach. Blonde lady is Mrs. Boyd, man at right is her husband William (Hopalong Cassidy) Boyd.
0034    Toni (2nd from left) and Wilbur Clark (rt.), Don the Beachcomber's, Waikiki Beach. William (Hopalong Cassidy) Boyd (left) and his wife Mrs. Boyd (movie star name Gracy Bradley).
0035    Wilbur Clark studies rendering for the Colonial House.
0036    Wilbur Clark in western attire.
0037    Toni Clark (right foreground). L-R: clockwise: Fern Kosloff, (?), Louise Gibson, Mrs. Stocking, Jessie Neary, Evelyn Roen, Toni,(?) foreground.
0038    L-R: Wilbur Clark, Cliff Jones, tutor Scherer, Morris Kleinman, Jack Petitti.
0039    "Gisella Kleinnons Birthday dinner Feb. '52'" Wilbur Clark (foreground, left of table) and Toni Clark (right of table, 3rd back.)
0040    Wilbur Clark (left)
0041    Toni Clark (2nd from right.)
0042    Toni and Wilbur Clark (center). Bishop James Dwyer (Reno - LV Diocese 1953-1966) at left and Cardinal James Francis McIntyre of Los Angeles at right.
0043    Wilbur Clark relaxes. (Daily Mirror photograph)
0044    Wilbur Clark (standing, 2nd from left); Toni Clark (standing, right). Seated, L-R: Jane Keen, Betty Keen, Mrs. Tucker; standing, left: Sam Tucker.
0045    Wilbur Clark with poodle. (Desert. Seas News Bureau photo)
0046    Wilbur Clark (center); Ben Goffstein (far left); Archie Loveland (2nd from left).



Wilbur Clark's Desert Inn Hotel and Casino

0047    Model of the planned Desert Inn Hotel and Casino.
0048    Wilbur Clark in his office at the Desert Inn. From his window he has a view of the pool.
0049    Wilbur Clark standing beside a car, poolside, at the Desert Inn.
0050    Color postcard of Wilbur Clark's Desert Inn - shows entrance and sign. (postcard is from Jack Dempsey - handwritten insc. on back.)



Desert Inn - First Anniversary Party

0051    Huge cake built in front of the Desert Inn to celebrate the first anniversary of the hotel. Cake was 30 feet high. April 1951.
0052    Giant cake with one candle. Built in front of Wilbur Clark's Desert Inn to celebrate its one year anniversary. Showgirl standing on cake with giant knife.
0053    Birthday cake - anniversary of Wilbur Clark's Desert Inn.
0054    Wilbur and Toni Clark at party for first anniversary of the Desert Inn.
0055    Wilbur Clark standing next to an ice sculpture bust of himself - DI's first anniversary party. (April 1951) (Barstow Studio, LV)
0056    Woman poses in front of birthday cake - DI's first. (April 1951)
0057    Wilbur Clark touches ice sculpture bust of himself. (see photo #0055)
0058    Wilbur Clark (rt.) - Fist anniversary party for Desert Inn. (Apr. 1951) left is Bob Stocking, Desert Inn Hotel Manager.
0059    Wilbur Clark (left) - taken during Desert Inn's First Anniversary Party - Apr. 1951.
0060    Wilbur Clark (rt.) at DI's First Anniversary party. (April 1951) Joe Bock (left.)
0061    Wilbur Clark and guest Monique Van Doren at DI's Fist Anniversary Party.
0062    Wilbur Clark (rt.) with guest - DI's First Anniversary Party - Apr. 1951. The woman was a showgirl at the Desert Inn.
0063    Wilbur Clark and his wife Toni - Fist Anniversary Party for the Desert Inn. (April 1951)
0064    Wilbur Clark cuts a piece of cake for his wife Toni. Desert Inn's First Anniversary Party. (April 1951)
0065    Wilbur and Toni Clark eating cake. (see #0064) - April 1951.
0066    Toni & Wilbur Clark eating cake at DI's anniversary party. (April 1951)
0067    Wilbur Clark (4th from left) and some of his guests at the DI's first anniversary party. (April 1951) Liberace is 4th from right.
0068    Wilbur Clark (rt.) at DI First Anniversary Party, April 1951. Joe bock (left), DI showgirl next to him.
0069    Wilbur Clark and guests outside the Desert Inn - April 1951. Was First Anniversary Party for DI. Guests for Tommy McGinty and his wife.
0070    Guests at Desert Inn First Anniversary Party - April 1951. Back in corner is Liberace.
0071    Guests enjoy themselves at DI First Anniversary Party. (April 1951)
0072    Guests celebrating the First Anniversary of the Desert Inn. (April 1951) Liberace (back, center)
0073    Guests at celebration of Desert Inn's first anniversary. (April 1951)
0074    Guests,including Liberace (left), at DI 1st Anniversary Party. (Apr. 1951) Other man is Tommy McGinty.
0075    Guests enjoy the 1st Anniversary Party for the Desert Inn. (Apr. 1941) Liberace is second from right. Man at far left is Tommy McGinty.
0076    Wilbur Clark (rt.) outside Desert Inn Hotel the night of the First Anniversary party. (Apr. 1951) Tommy McGinty (left)
0077    Chef and hotel staff by buffet table set up for the DI First Anniversary Party. (Apr. 1951) Note ice sculpture of Wilbur Clark. (Barstow Studio, LV)
0078    Guests mingle at Desert Inn 1st Anniversary Party. (Apr. 1951)
0079    Wilbur Clark (rt.) at DI Anniversary party. (Apr. 1951) Note cake in background bearing his likeness.
0080    Wilbur Clark and guests - DI First Anniversary Party - Apr. 1951.
0081    Desert Inn waitresses survey "ruins" of the cake at the DI First Anniversary Party - Apr. 1951. (Barstow Studio, LV)
0082    Desert Inn chefs standing by buffet table - party for Desert Inn First Anniversary. (Apr. 1951)
0083    Desert Inn First Anniversary - Apr. 1951. Guests and waitresses surround the cake, which bears the likeness of Wilbur Clark.
0084    Wilbur and Toni Clark prepare to serve the cake at the Desert Inn First Anniversary Party. (Apr. 1951) (Barstow Studio, LV)
0085    Chefs and other Desert Inn staff by buffet table - DI First Anniversary Party. (Apr. 1951)
0086    Buffet table at Desert Inn First Anniversary Party (Apr. 1951). (Barstow Studio)
0087    Wilbur Clark serves wife Toni a piece of DI "birthday cake." (Apr. 1951) (Barstow Studio)
0088    Wilbur and Toni Clark at the Desert Inn First Anniversary Party, Apr. 1951.
0089    Wilbur and Toni Clark at the Desert Inn First Anniversary Party, Apr. 1951.
0090    Wilbur Clark (rt.) with guests. Desert Inn First Anniversary Party - Apr. 1951. Joe Bock (left) and Desert Inn showgirl. (Barstow Studio - LV)
0091    Guests clown around at the Desert Inn's First Anniversary party (Apr. 1951)
0092    Desert Inn chef (left) and Pancho Alliati, Head Maitre d' of the Painted Desert Showroom in the DI, Apr. 1951.
0093    Wilbur Clark (center) surrounded by guests at DI First Anniversary party - Apr. 1951. Man seated is Ted Mossman.
0094    Security guards flank the cake at the DI First Anniversary Party - Apr. 1951. (note likeness of Wilbur Clark on the cake.)
0095    Waitresses and guests stand near the DI's First Anniversary birthday cake. (Barstow Studio, LV)
0096    Wilbur Clark (rt.) at DI First Anniversary Party - Apr. 1951. He is shaking hands with his brother Harold Clark.
0097    Band in front of giant birthday cake on grounds of the Desert Inn. Standing in front of them is Wilbur Clark (dark suit). It is the
DI's First Anniversary Party - Apr. 1951.
0098    Wilbur Clark being serenaded on CBS Radio by two lovely ladies. He is to the right of the microphone. Occasion is the Desert Inn's First Anniversary Party, Apr. 1951. A song titled "I've Got a Date With Wilbur" was written and dedicated to Wilbur Clark on the Occasion of the first anniversary of the Desert Inn. (words & music by Ted Mossman) Note sheet music in photo - the ladies are singing "his song!"

0302    WILBUR CLARK COLLECTION

Desert Inn - First Anniversary Party (cont'd)

0099    Wilbur Clark (2nd from right.) at DI First Anniversary party. (Apr. 1951) (Barstow Studio, LV) Arnold Porter (2nd from left); Bill Willard (behind Clark in hat); Tommy Neary (far right.)
0100    Wilbur Clark (center) at Desert Inn's First Anniversary - Apr. 1951. Tommy McDonald (rt.)
0101    Guests at Desert Inn First Anniversary celebration. (Apr. 1951) Tommy McGinty (front left) and friends. Bill Ross (far right) and Mrs. McGinty (behind Bill Ross)
0102    Guests of Wilbur Clark - Desert Inn First Anniversary party. (Apr. 1951)
0103    Guests at DI First Anniversary party - Apr. 1951. Joe Bock (left.)
0104    Guests of Wilbur Clark at the Desert Inn First Anniversary party. (Apr. 1941) Tommy McGinty (2nd from left); Mrs. McGinty (right)
0105    Toni Clark (center) at social event. (Apr. 1951) (Barstow Studio, LV) Second from right is Bill Ross.
0106    Liberace (left), Wilbur Clark (2nd from left). (Apr. 1951) Bea Baron (right.)
0107    Wilbur Clark (2nd from left) and his wife Toni (5th from left) seated at piano with friends. (Apr. 1951) Man is Ted Mossman.
0108    Wilbur Clark (2nd from left) and Toni Clark (right) with friends. (Apr. 1951)
0109    Wilbur Clark (rt.) with friends. (Apr. 1951)
0110    Wilbur Clark (2nd from right) with friends. (Apr. 1951)
0111    Wilbur Clark (seated, 5th from right) at dinner with friends. (Apr. 1951) Liberace is seated at Clark's right.
0112    Formal dinner table at Wilbur Clark's Desert Inn. (Apr. 1951)
0113    Formal dining table at Wilbur Clark's Desert Inn. Two staff members in formal attire stand at head of table. (Apr. 1951)
0114    Portrait of Wilbur Clark.
0115    Portrait of Wilbur Clark.
0116    Portrait of Wilbur Clark.
0117    Portrait of Wilbur Clark.




Wilbur Clark's Birthday Party - Dec. 27, 1956

0118    Wilbur Clark (rt.) greets members of his Desert Inn staff at his birthday party. (Dec. 27, 1956)
0119    Buffet table at Wilbur Clark's birthday party at the Desert Inn - Dec. 27, 1956. Pictured are chefs and staff member (?).
0120    Guests at Wilbur Clark's birthday party - Dec. 27, 1956
0121    Wilbur Clark (left) at his birthday party at the Desert Inn, Dec. 27, 1956. He is shaking hands with Pancho Alliati, Maitre d' in the Painted Desert showroom.
0122    Wilbur Clark (left) shakes hands with a guest at his birthday party - Dec. 27, 1956. Guest is Bill Radkovich.

0302    WILBUR CLARK COLLECTION

Wilbur Clark's Birthday Party - Dec. 27, 1956 (cont'd)

0123    Wilbur Clark (left) and his wife Toni (center), standing by his birthday cake. (Dec. 27, 1956) Guest Roland Hill stands at right.
0124    Wilbur Clark (rt.) at his birthday party (Dec. 27, 1956). Cake in background.
0125    Guests at Wilbur Clark's birthday party - Dec. 27, 1956. Patty Tueller (left), Laura Coniglio (facing camera, center)
0126    Guests chatting at Wilbur Clark's birthday party. (Dec. 27, 1956)
0127    Wilbur Clark's birthday cake. (Dec. 27, 1956)
0128    Wilbur Clark (left) with guests at his birthday party. (Dec. 27, 1956) Sid Bliss (center) and Merv Adelson (right).
0129    Wilbur Clark's birthday party, Dec. 27, 1956. L-R: Bob Notti, Dr. Elliott Corday, Chic Ross, Toni Clark, (?).
0130    Evelyn and Max Goot, guests at Wilbur Clark's birthday party. (Dec. 27, 1956)
0131    Guests enjoying the buffet at Wilbur Clark's birthday party. (Dec. 27, 1956) L-R: (?), Joyce Mack, Lori Adelson, Jerry Mack.
0132    Guests at Wilbur Clark's birthday party. (Dec. 27, 1956) Ladies, L-R: Helen Doyle, (?), Patsy Goldwater, Betty Boyle.
0133    Guests at Wilbur Clark's birthday party. (Dec. 27, 1956) L-R: Maury Soss, Olga Soss, and Fran Moore.
0134    Guests at Wilbur Clark's birthday party. (Dec. 27, 1956) L-R: Joe E. Lewis, Zsa Zsa Gabor, Beldon Katleman.
0135    Guests at Wilbur Clark's birthday party. (Dec. 27, 1956) Moe Dalitz (left)
0136    Guests at Wilbur Clark's birthday party. (Dec. 27, 1956) L-R: Lori Adelson, Joyce Mack, Millie Greenspun.
0137    Wilbur Clark (left) greets guests at his birthday party (Dec. 27, 1956) The guests are Mr. and Mrs. Sweeney from Best Western.
0138    Bernie and Muriel Rothkopf, party at the Clarks' home. (Wilbur's birthday?)
0139    Guests Allard Roen (right) and his father at Wilbur Clark's birthday party. (Dec. 27, 1956) Allard Roen was general manager of the Desert Inn.
0140    L-R: Joan Bommarito, Pete Bommarito, Dottie Goffstein, Chic Ross, Lou Ross, Toni Clark; Margaret Blankenship (front). Dec. 27, 1956, Clark's home.
0141    Toni Clark (back to camera) chats with a guest at her husband Wilbur's birthday party. (Dec. 27, 1956)
0142    Wilbur Clark (rt.) shows off his electronic equipment to a guest, Joe Bock. It was the closed circuit TV system in the Clarks' home at 331 E. Desert Inn Road.
0143    Guests at Wilbur Clark's birthday party - Dec. 27, 1956. L-R: Mark Swain, Jackie (last name ?), (?), Betty Boyle, Joanne Swain, Bob Notti.
0144    Guests at Wilbur Clark's birthday party - Dec. 27, 1956. Bob Notti (right)
0145    Wilbur Clark shakes hands with a guest at his birthday party. (Dec. 27, 1956)
0146    Wilbur Clark and guest Joe Bock - Clark's birthday party (Dec. 27, 1956)
0147    Wilbur Clark shakes hands with the chef - Clark's birthday party. (Dec. 27, 1956)
0148    Lavish buffet table - Wilbur Clark's birthday party. (Dec. 27, 1956)

0302    WILBUR CLARK COLLECTION




Wilbur and Celebrities

0149    L-R: Toni and Wilbur Clark, Edward G. Robinson, (?). (Pls credit: Bill Mark, Park Sheraton Hotel, NYC)
0150    L-R: Bennett Cerf, and Wilbur Clark.
0151    L-R: Bobby Baker, Toni and Wilbur Clark
0152    Wilbur Clark and John F. Kennedy.
0153    L-R: Tony Curtis, Wilbur Clark, and Janet Leigh. (El Mirador Photo, by Conrad Hug)
0154    Front, L-R: Bob Hope and Walter Winchell. Kneeling, back right, is Wilbur Clark. Golf tournament at the Desert Inn Golf Course.
0155    L-R: Wilbur Clark, Jack Benny, Tony Martin, Marty Allen.
0156    L-R: Moe Dalitz, Elvis Presley, Juliet Prowse, Wilbur and Toni Clark, Cecil Simmons, Joe Franks (standing behind W. Clark)
0157    Wilbur Clark (left), "John Daley, Harry Wismer"
0158    Wilbur Clark (left) shakes hands with Lyndon B. Johnson.




The Wilbur Clark Home

0159    Living room in the Clarks home adjacent to the Desert Inn golf course; 331 E. Desert Inn Road.
0160    Another view of the living room in the Wilbur Clark home.
0161    The Wilbur Clark's living room - note wall of Arizona stone behind the 40-foot sofa quilted in a Moorish motif. Room also has circular fireplace.
0162    Master bedroom in the Wilbur Clark home.
0163    Master bedroom in the Wilbur Clark home.
0164    The Wilbur Clark's master bedroom.
0165    Wilbur Clark's dressing room in the Clark home, 331 E. Desert Inn Rd. (1955)
0166    Master bedroom in the Wilbur Clark home. (Oct. 1955)
0167    The dining room in the Wilbur Clark home at 331 E. Desert Inn Rd, Las Vegas. (Oct. 1955)
0168    View of the fireplace in the Clarks' living room. (Wilbur Clark in chair?)
0169    View of fireplace and closed circuit television system in the Clarks' living room.
0170    Close-up of closed-circuit television in the Clarks' living room
0171    The living room in the Wilbur Clark home.
0172    Swimming pool [Wilbur Clark home?]
0173    CBS Television trucks outside the Wilbur Clark home.
0174    CBS Television crew outside the Wilbur Clark home.
0175    Wilbur Clark's private swimming pool at his home adjacent to the Desert Inn golf course.
0175a    Wilbur Clark's private swimming pool at his home adjacent to the Desert Inn Golf course. Close-up of the wall mural next to the pool. The pool was located off the master bedroom at their home at 331 E. Desert Inn Road. (Oct. 1955)


0302    WILBUR CLARK COLLECTION

The Wilbur Clark Home (cont'd)

0176    CBS Television crew setting up equipment outside the Wilbur Clark home. They filmed the "Person to Person" TV program with Edward R. Murrow at the Clark home, 331 #. Desert Inn Rd., featuring the Clarks and their home. (May 15, 1957)
0177    Same.
0178    Same.
0179    Same.
0180    Same.
0181    CBS TV crew members set up equipment outside the Wilbur Clark home.
0182    Same.
0183    Same.
0184    Same.
0185    Wilbur Clark (left) chats with man as CBS crew sets up at the Clark home.
0186    Wilbur Clark (left) with CBS Television crew at his home.
0187    Wilbur Clark sitting on his lawn reading a newspaper. (1957)
0188    Wilbur Clark with his pet poodle. (CBS TV crew in background, at his home.)
0189    CBS television crew preparing to shoot in the Wilbur Clark home.
0190    Same.
0191    Same.
0192    Same.
0193    Same.
0194    Same.
0195    Same.
0196    Same.
0197    Same.
0198    Same.
0199    Toni Clark takes a peek into CBS TV camera as crew member watches. (Outside the Clark home, 1957)
0200    CBS TV crew member "hooks up" Wilbur Clark (left) in preparation for filming the show.
0201    Wilbur Clark stands outside entrance to his home.
0202    Toni Clark, standing outside her front door, is being filmed by CBS TV crew. (1957)
0203    Wilbur Clark in front of his closed-circuit television in his home.
0204    Toni Clark displays a centerpiece in her home.
0205    Wilbur Clark answering the telephone. He is being filmed in his home by CBS TV. (1957)
0206    CBS people at the Wilbur Clark home. They are drinking a toast.
0207    Toni and Wilbur Clark (2nd and 3rd from left). Preparing to drink a toast with CBS-TV people. (1957)
0208    Wilbur and Toni Clark.

0302    WILBUR CLARK COLLECTION

The Wilbur Clark Home (cont'd)

0209    Toni and Wilbur Clark on CBS-TV show. Show was filmed at the Clark home in Las Vegas, 331 E. Desert Inn Rd. (May 15, 1957) The show was "Person to Person" with Edward R. Murrow.
0210    Toni and Wilbur Clark on CBS-TV - show was filmed at their home in Las Vegas. (1957)
0211    Wilbur Clark on CBS-Television show filmed at his home in Las Vegas. (1957)
0212    Wilbur Clark on CBS-TV. The show was filmed at his home in Las Vegas. (1957)



Toni Clark - Early

0213    Salvatore Gaglionese (Toni Clark's father), born in Naples, Italy. He is surrounded by his children, L-R: Rose, Josephine (Toni's half-sisters), Don (her brother), Lena (Toni), Frank (Toni's half-brother).
0214    Coleman Grammar School, Seattle, WA (January 1930). Toni Gaglionese Clark (3rd from left.)



Celebrities and Friends

0215    L-R: Wilbur and Toni Clark, Nevada Governor E.P. Carville, Larry Allen (AP war correspondent). Photo taken in Governor's office in Reno, Aug. 2, 1944, on the Clarks' wedding day.
0216    Party at the Stardust, 1960s. Back row, standing, L-R: Jay Sarno, Toni Clark, Hank Greenspun, and Kirk Kerkorian. Front row, L-R: Jean Kerkorian, Charlie Harrison, Mrs. [Jay] Sarno, Theda Harrison, Harold Ambler, Barbara Greenspun.
0217    Wilbur Clark's 50th birthday party. L-R: Harold Clark (Wilbur's brother), Betty & Bill Good, Evelyn Partridge, Wilbur & Toni Clark, (?), (?), Ted Partridge.
0218    Back, L-R: Laurie Adelson, Toni Clark, Avril Dalitz, Shirley Fructhman, Katherine Simmons, Betty Grable, Evelyn Roen. Front, L-R: Muriel Rothkopf, Bo Weinerger, Mrs. Weinerger.
0219    L-R: Toni Clark, Barbara Greenspun, (unidentified), Steve Wynn, Elaine Wynn. (1970s at Golden Nugget)
0220    Opening of the Desert Inn Hotel and Casino - April 23, 1950. L-R: Mayor E.W. Cragin, Governor Vail Pittman, "Charlie McCarthy", Edgar Bergen, Wilbur Clark
0221    Carmen Miranda performing in the Painted Desert Room at the Desert Inn Hotel and Casino.
0222    Toni Clark - named Best Dressed Hostess by Fashion Foundation of America, 1958.
0223    Toni Clark (left) and Chet Lauck (of the Lum and Abner Radio Show). At one time he owned Spring Mountain ranch and later sold it to Vera Krupp.
0224    Toni and Wilbur Clark. (Pls. Credit: bill Mark, Park Sheraton Hotel, NYC)

0302    WILBUR CLARK COLLECTION

Celebrities and Friends (cont'd)

0225    L-R: Wilbur Clark; Floyd Lamb; Roger Foley; Sen. Alan Bible; Sen. Howard Cannon; Mike Hines; Grant Sawyer. They are standing behind a Texas steer with the initials "LBJ"
0226    Wilbur Clark (back of table, facing to side) and his wife Toni (far right, same table) at a formal dinner at the Hotel Astor, New York City. (Pls. Credit: Bill Mark, Park Sheraton Hotel, NYC)
0227    Wilbur Clark (facing camera at round table, center0 at a formal dinner at the Astor Hotel, New York City, (credit: Bill Mark, Park Sheraton Hotel, NYC)
0228    Wilbur Clark (round table in tux, facing camera) and his wife Toni (next to priest, far right) at a formal dinner at the Hotel Astor in NYC. (Credit: Bill Mark, Park Sheraton Hotel, NYC)
0229    Formal dinner at the Hotel Astor in NYC. Wilbur Clark (center of picture, leaning his elbow on the table to the right. (Credit: Bill Mark, Park Sheraton Hotel, NYC.)
0230    Japanese dancers arrive in the states enroute to their first American engagement in Las Vegas. (Oct. 1957) Wilbur Clark, Las Vegas innkeeper, receives a bouquet from Fuji Tauabe, head of the chorus line. They will appear in "Japanese Review" at the Desert Inn Hotel. (Credit: V.M. Hanks, Jr., St. Francis Hotel, San Francisco.)
0231    Fuji Tauabe, head of Japanese chorus line, presents bouquet to Wilbur Clark. (Oct. 1957) (see photo #0230) (credit: V.M. Hanks, Jr.) The chorus line appeared in "Japanese Review" at the Desert Inn Hotel.
0232    Wilbur Clark surrounded by Japanese dancers. (Oct. 1957) (see photo #0230)
0233    Wilbur Clark surrounded by Japanese dancers. (Oct. 1957) (see photo #0230) (credit: V.M. Hanks, Jr.)
0234    Wilbur Clark with a foreign visitor from Nepal. (shown at the Clark home.)
0235    Wilbur Clark talking on over-sized old-fashioned telephone. (credit: Mark Swain)
0236    Wilbur Clark (left) and Toni Clark, his wife (right). (Las Vegas News Bureau photo) Center: Mrs. Alice Pierce and Jan Pierce.
0237    Wilbur Clark (left) with Noel Coward. (ERA photos)
0238    Wilbur Clark (left) and Jimmy Durante. (Nov. 13, 1951) (Barstow Studio, LV)
0239    Zsa Zsa Gabor and Wilbur Clark. (photo by Allen A. Arthur, the Flamingo Hotel)
0240    William (Hopalong Cassidy) Boyd and Wilbur Clark (right)
0241    Walter Winchell on motorcycle, Bob Hope, and Wilbur Clark. (man at left not identified.)
0242    L-R, front: Eartha Kitt, Gloria Dehaven, Walter Winchell, Bob Hope; Bill Kozloff (behind Hope), Wilbur Clark, Walter Winchell's son (front, right), Joe E. Lewis (back, far right). (Credit: Bill Mark, Park Sheraton Hotel.)
0243    Wilbur Clark (left) and Rudy Vallee (rt.) At center is Vallee's wife.
0244    Wilbur Clark (left) with Eddie Fisher.

0302    WILBUR CLARK COLLECTION

Celebrities and Friends (cont'd)

0245    Wilbur Clark (left) watches Donald O'Connor play a slot machine. (Art Weissman photo)
0246    L-R: Wilbur Clark, Gwen O'Connor, Donald O'Connor, Janet Leigh, Marie MacDonald (?). (photo by Hyman Fink)
0247    Opening night, Nationale Casino in Cuba (first casino in hotel in Cuba). L-R: Tommy McGinty, Terry Moore, Wilbur Clark.
0248    Wilbur Clark (left) and Elvis Presley.
0249    Wilbur Clark (2nd from right) and Edward G. Robinson (far right). (credit: Bill Mark, Park Sheraton Hotel) At left is Sid Caesar.
0250    Wilbur Clark (directly behind the cake) with the Ritz Brothers. (Barstow Studio) L-R: Joe Bock, Al Ritz, Harry Ritz, Clark, Jimmy Ritz, Pancho Alliati.
0251    Wilbur Clark (rt.)
0252    Wilbur Clark (left). Actor Errol Flynn (seated). Ralph Stone (right)
0253    Wilbur Clark and Gracie Allen.
0254    Toni and Wilbur Clark (center). (see #0302 for id's.)
0255    Wilbur Clark (left). (credit: Randazzo and Morrison, Inc.)
0256    Sir Winston Churchill (left) and Wilbur Clark.
0257    Harry F. Truman (left) and Wilbur Clark.
0258    Wilbur Clark (left) shakes hands with Eleanor Roosevelt.
0259    Wilbur Clark (rt.). Sam Rayburn, Speaker of the House of Representatives (left)
0260    Wilbur Clark (left). George Allen (rt.) (credit: Buck & Swift Photography, L.V.)
0261    Wilbur Clark (left) and Governor Frank Clement of Tennessee. Picture autographed by Clement for Wilbur and his wife Toni. (July 1957)
0262    Wilbur Clark swings a bat for his Desert Inn team.
0263    Wilbur Clark (back 2nd from left) and his wife Toni (front, seated, 2nd from left) entertain foreign visitors. (see photo #0234) The visitors from Neal are pictured in the Clark home. Man standing at far right is Bob Notti.
0264    Wilbur Clark (center) with Nevada Governor Charles Russell and Mrs. Russell. (8-13-53)
0265    Wilbur Clark (left) with Governor Vail Pittman.
0266    Wilbur Clark (left) with Chief Justice Earl Warren.
0267    Wilbur Clark (left) with Adlai S. Stevenson.
0268    Wilbur Clark shakes hands with Adlai Stevenson (rt.) (photo taken by Mark Swain, Desert Inn)
0269    Walter Winchell (left) with Wilbur Clark. Winchell is accepting a check from Clark for the Damon Runyan Memorial Fund for Cancer Research Inc.
0270    Wilbur Clark (rt.). At left is Kenshaw Landis, commissioner of baseball.
0271    Wilbur Clark, kneeling behind. He was involved in charity work such as helping these handicapped children. Woman is Connie Boswell. (photo by Eric George Enterprise, Las Vegas)

0302    WILBUR CLARK COLLECTION

Celebrities and Friends (cont'd)

0272    Wilbur Clark (left) and group looking at Clark's famous race horse Dumpty Humpty. His horse set a world record for six furlongs in 1:08 flat. (Nov. 2, 1957) William Radkovich is co-owner of Dumpty Humpty. He is standing next to Clark. Standing next to horse is Don Early. Pete Moreno (Sp?) is the jockey.
0273    Photograph of $35,000 check donated by the Desert Inn to the Damon Runyan Memorial Fund for Cancer Research Inc. (see photo #0269) (credit: Bill Mark, Park Sheraton Hotel, NYC)
0274    Dumpty Humpty, race horse owned by Wilbur Clark and William Radkovich, leads in the race. (see photo #0272)
0275    Top: Dumpty Humpty setting world record six furlongs in 1:08, Golden Gate Field, Nov. 2, 1957. Peter Moreno, is jockey. Wilbur Clark and William Radkovich are owners.
0276    Wilbur Clark (rt.) in baseball uniform. At left is Leo Durocher.
0277    Jockey Peter Moreno rides Dumpty Humpty (left), world famous race horse owned by Wilbur Clark and William Radkovich.
0278    L-R: Wilbur Clark, waiter, Frank Sennes, Allard Roen. In Rome at Alfredo's Restaurant.
0279    Wilbur Clark (left) on the ski slopes at Sun Valley, Idaho. His wife Toni is 5th from right. Others in group are L-R: (Toni), Bill and Betty Good, Evelyn and Ted Partridge.
0280    Wilbur and Toni Clark (left) take a skiing lesson with others. L-R: Bill Good, Betty Good, Evelyn Partridge, Ted Partridge. Sun Valley, Idaho.
0281    Wilbur Clark on skis.
0282    Wilbur and Toni Clark (left) on skis with group at Sun Valley. Others, L-R: Bill and Betty Good, Evelyn and Ted Partridge.
0283    Wilbur Clark (2nd from left), trying to box. L-R: Jack Dempsey, Clark, George Carpentier, Luis Firpo. (Las Vegas News Bureau)
0284    Wilbur Clark (3rd from left) with group of men outside the Rocky Marciano Training Camp. L-R: Eugene Murphy, Max Houston, Clark, Harold Clark (Wilbur's brother), Chic Ross. (photo credit: Bill Mark)
0285    Wilbur Clark (left) shakes the hand of Rocky Marciano, boxing champ.
0286    Wilbur Clark (left) and Rocky Marciano.
0287    Wilbur Clark (left) spars with Rocky Marciano.
0288    Wilbur Clark (left) and Rocky Marciano.
0289    Rocky Marciano (left) and Wilbur Clark.
0290    Wilbur Clark (center)
0291    Wilbur Clark receiving a massage. (David Sutton photography)
0292    Wilbur Clark (right) with friend in a golf cart.
0293    Wilbur Clark golfing. Friend stands in background.
0294    Wilbur Clark (in golf cart). Desert Inn Golf Course.
0295    Wilbur Clark (right) swinging a golf club.

0302    WILBUR CLARK COLLECTION

Celebrities and Friends (cont'd)

0296    Russian Premier Nikita Khrushchev and his wife at a reception. (He is the big bald man; she is the plump lady wearing a corsage.) (photo property of Life Magazine.)
0297    Same
0298    Same
0299    Same
0300    Same
0301    Same
0302    Same
0303    Same
0304    Same
0305    Same
0306    L-R: Wilbur Clark, Wiley Buchanan, chief of protocol for Nixon. (Life Magazine)
0307    Wilbur Clark (2nd from right) at a reception for Soviet Premier Nikita Khrushchev. (photo property of Life Magazine.)




Miscellaneous

0308    Stardust Hotel and Casino, Las Vegas, NV. (1950s-60s)
0309    Blair House (Motel and Apartments), Las Vegas, NV. (1950s-60s)




Additions to Collection

0310    "Tournament of Champions" held at the Desert Inn Golf Course December 1962. L-R: Walter Winchell, (?), Wilbur Clark, Muriel Rothkopf, Toni Clark.
0311    "Party at Clark Residence 1975 - 'Classy Ladies'" L-R: Katherine Simmons, Charlene Scott, Toni Clark, Ramona Gustin (on floor)
0312    Variety Club event in Mexico City honoring Las Vegas charity people. L-R: Ira Goldring (builder), wife Lucille, unknown, Fern Kozloff (wife of Frontier owner, Jake Kozloff), Art Ham (attorney), his wife Doris, Benny Goldstein (partner of Davie Berman at the Flamingo and the Riviera), Mary Murphy, Toni Clark, Wilbur Clark, Jake Kozloff, Davie Berman. (1950s-1960s)
0313    Hank Greenspun dancing with his wife Barbara. (no date)
0314    L-R: (?), Sam and Fay Diamond, Art and Ellie Lurie, Evelyn Good, Max Goot.
0315    Harley Harmon (left) and Wilbur Clark
0316    Wilbur and Toni Clark (1958)
0317    Standing, L-R: Lori Adelson, Toni Clark, Avril Dalitz, Shirley Fructhman, Katherine Simmons, actress Betty Grable, Evelyn Roen. Front, L-R: Muriel Rothkopf, Bo Weinerger, Nita Weinerger.
0318    Lou Larrimore (left), Wilbur Clark driving - Desert Inn Golf Course. Guardian Angel Shrine in right background. Woman not identified.


0302    WILBUR CLARK COLLECTION

Additions to Collection (cont'd)

0319    Debbie Reynolds' parents, Toni Clark, (?), Debbie Reynolds.
0320    L-R: Wilbur Clark, Eddie Fisher, Toni Clark, Duke Zeibert.
0321    L-R: Steve Rossi, Ed Sullivan, Toni Clark, Mrs. Rossi, Sylvia Sullivan, Frenchie, Marty Allen. (near Versailles Room, Riviera Hotel.)
0322    Wilbur Clark (far left); Eddie Fisher (seated 2nd from right) Toni Clark (far right)
0323    Wilbur Clark (far left); Eddie Fisher (seated, 2nd from right); Toni Clark. (far right)
0324    L-R: Joe Bock, Jimmy Durante, Wilbur Clark.
0325    "Sky Room, Desert Inn Hotel". L-R: Keeley Smith, Nita Weinerger, Betty Grable, Bo Weinerger, Toni Clark.
0326    Wilbur Clark in his office. Behind him is a collage made up of photographs of him with celebrities.
0327    Desert Inn private airplane with contestants for Miss Universe Beauty Pageant. (1956)
0328    Toni & Wilbur Clark standing next to the Desert Inn yacht cruise boat (1952) (May have been when boat was christened)
0329    Wilbur Clark by the Roman Pool at his Desert Inn residence. (1955)
0330    Wilbur Clark by the Roman pool at his residence on Desert Inn. (1955)
0331    Wilbur Clark standing by the columns near the Roman pool at his residence. (1955)
0332    The Roman pool at the Wilbur Clark residence on Desert Inn Rd. (1955)
0333    Looking towards the sky from the pool at the Wilbur Clark residence.(1955)
0334    The Roman pool off the master bedroom of the Wilbur Clark residence. (1955)
0335    Wilbur Clark displays the family coat of arms while standing by a Roman statue at his pool, at his residence on Desert Inn Rd. (1955)
0336    Wilbur Clark serving drinks to an unidentified guest at his home. The indoor-outdoor bar has a sliding glass door.
0337    Front door of the Wilbur Clark residence at 331 Desert Inn Rd. Closed circuit TV monitor is to the left of the front door. (1955)
0338    The living room in the Clark residence, 331 Desert Inn Rd. (1955)
0339    Clark living room at 331 E. Desert Inn Rd. (1955)
0340    A view of the hanging fireplace in the living room of the Clark residence. (1955)
0341    View of new golf course (Desert Inn) from living room of Clark home. (1955)
0342    Master bedroom in the Clark home. The TV set automatically retracted into ceiling. (1955)
0343    The master bedroom in the Clark residence, 331 E. Desert Inn Rd. (1955)



Updated: Wed, Jan-16-2013 07:24:51
Content Provider: Department of Special Collections