Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

0171
Single Item Accession

Table of Contents:

SLIDES of MX Missile Project for Air Force presentation

Boulder City and Hoover Dam

Gambling, Las Vegas

Downtown Las Vegas

Strip

State Line, Nevada and Calif.

Strip Hotels, Las Vegas

Miscellaneous 1

Hotels

Red Rock National Park

Hoover Dam (Oversize prints)

0171
SINGLE ITEM ACCESSIONS

0171
SINGLE ITEM ACCESSIONS

0001 One photo of Gue Gim Wah and Tom Wah.
0002 Lorenzi Park.
0003 Moving a house in Hurricane for Grant Sanders, 1932.
0004 Luning School in Luning, Nevada.
0005 In 1931, the Class of 1935, in front of the Las Vegas High School.
0006 The Nevada wagon that participated in the Bicentennial celebration at
the Valley Forge celebration, 1976.
0007 Monte Carlo, France Salle de Jeu. (postcard)
0008 Public lobby, first floor, looking east. Rosen and Fishel contractors.
F.M. Boudreau, engineer.
0009 Fremont Street, probably late 1920s or the early 1930s.
0010 Nig, Boulder Dam mascot. 0011 Las Vegas kindergarten, 1917.
0012 Group of children, 1950s?
0013 The Boulder Cluba theater advertisement.
0014 Checker Cab Co. a theater advertisement.
0015 Lucky Cab Co. a theater advertisement.
0016 Railroad Pass Casinoa theater advertisement.
0017 Depiction of Fremont Street, late 1930s-194os.
0018 Clark Townsite map.
0019 Moving day for Beckley House.
0020 Moving day for Beckley House.
0021 Moving day for Beckley House.
0022 Moving day for Beckley House.
0023 Main street, Las Vegas, Nevada in 1920s.
0024 Clark County Jail.
0025 Lubertha Johnson, civil rights leader, portrait.
0026 Lilly Fong, January 1983 portrait.
0027 Jean Ford, portrait.
0028 Las Vegas Nevada 1929.
0029 Fifth National Conference on Gambling and Risk. Wong, Thorp and
Griffin.
0030 Judge James B. Kelly, 1985.
0031 Thomas N. Wiesner, former Clark County Commissioner, 1985.
0032 Ken Gragson, native Las Vegas, member of Nevada Gaming Commission,
1985.
0033 Berkeley Bunker, native Southern Nevadan; ca. 1980.
0034 Charles Thompson, Clark County District judge; 1982.
0035 Theron Goynes, North Las Vegas councilman, 1985.
0036 Found in the old mining camp of Wahmonie by Marion Johnson in 1930.
0037 Las Vegas land auction celebration, in honor of the 73rd anniversary of the
birth of downtown Las Vegas, May 15, 1978.


0171
SINGLE ITEM ACCESSIONS COLLECTION

0038 Heliograph demonstration at Fort Bowie, near Apache Pass, May 1, 1976.
0039 Bertha Muzzy Bower(s) Sinclair Cowan
0040 Henry Lee donating memoirs to the library.
0041 Diamond Jims Club (postcard)
0042 The Can House, Tonopah, Nevada. (postcard)
0043 Las Vegas, Nevada, December 21, 1928.
0044 Salt lake Depot, Las Vegas, Nevada, 1905.
0045 Jack Heaton.
0046 Las Vegas Courthouse.
0047 Bruce Kelly, Elizabeth Freedman, LVHS drama play circa 1937.
0048 Convention Center, 1960.
0049 Griffith building, post office, Cheney Bros. Drug Store & Majestic
Theater. Crowd waiting for mail to be sorted.
0050 Goodsprings, Nevada, Yellow pine Mine. (neg. only)
0051 Las Vegas School class picture, 1910.
0052 Goodsprings, NV. (neg.only)
0053 Mark Mielke, Stan Paher, John Cahlan.
0054 Keith Ashworth, Stan Paher, Don Ashworth, Bob Bugbee, Bob
Robinson.
0055 42 Billboard reads: Overland Hotel (neg. only)
0056 43 Billboard reads: Car need anything? Lets Bet Associated.
(neg. only)
0057 44 Appears to be Boulder City. (neg. only)
0058 45 Appears to be Boulder City. (neg. only)
0059 Delamar, Nevada.
0060 Tonopah & Tidewater No. 1, American Railroad Ditcher.
0061 Sunrise Hospital, 1977, Las Vegas, Nevada.
0062 L-R: Dora Lee Brown (daughter of Phi Lee)
0063 Frank Williams and his wife, Edith C. Williams, taken about 1915
0064 L-R: 1. ? 2. ? 3. Beda Cornwall (neg. only)
0065 map of Lincoln County before Clark County was created.
0066 Map of Clark County. (neg. only)
0067 Arnold Shaw (neg. only)
0068 Arnold Shaw. (neg. only)
0070 A.L. Fitzgerald, Nye County Judge, 1887-1900.
0071 Club Bingo postcard.
0072 Dunes Hotel postcard.
0073 El Cortez Hotel postcard.
0074 Pioneer Club, Fremont Street, Vegas Vic -- postcard
0075 Golden Nugget Gambling Hall (interior)--postcard
0076 Hotel Last Frontier, (interior), Las Vegas, Nevada postcard.
0077 Last Frontier Village, Silver Slipper Gambling Hallpostcard.
0078 Jai Alai MGM Grand Hotel, Las Vegas, Nevada postcard.
0171
SINGLE ITEM ACCESSIONS COLLECTION

0079 Las Vegas International Hotel postcard.
0080 Sands Hotel, Las Vegas, Nevadapostcard.
0081 Sands Hotel, Las Vegas, Nevada postcard.
0082 Virginia and Truckee train, Carson City, Nevada postcard.
0083 Boulder Dam Hotel (neg. only)
0084 Lorenzi Park (neg. only)
0085 Lorenzi Park (neg. only)
0086 Lorenzi Park (neg. only)
0087 Beatty Community Library, 1977, Beatty, Nevada.
0088 Cotton gin process, Pahrump, Nevada. The mill is no longer in existence.
0089 Lee Hotel, Panaca, Nevada 1870-72.
0090 Last Frontier Hotel (?)
0091 Last Frontier Hotel (?)
0092 On the stick Big Bill Bement
0093 Nevada Bar, Las Vegas, Nevada, 1937.
0094 Girls of the chorus line (1946) Last Frontier Hotel, Las Vegas, Nevada,
Johnny Dixon at the bar, and Tim Holean, dealers Whitey Shugart watching
(shift manager).
0095 Wengert residence, exterior.
0096 Wengert residence, exterior.
0097 Wengert residence, interior, with Frank Shreck seated at desk.
0098 Wengert residence, interior.
0099 Fremont Street.
0100 Plat showing country tributary to San Pedro, Los Angeles, and Salt Lake
Railroad in southern Nevada.
0101 Gate to Twin lakes Lodge & private road off Tonopah Highway, now part of
Washington Blvd.
0102 Riding group at Twin lakes Stables.
0103 Ready for desert ride on Twin lakes stable stage line.
0104 Twin Lakes was originator of Little Britches Rodeo for youngsters.
0105 Bronco busting at Twin Lakes Rodeos was conducted every week.
0106 Junior gymkhana contest, weekly rodeo.
0107 Mutual of Omaha barbeque held at Twin Lakes Lodge & Stables.
0108 Original band master and local band on stage in Island Band Stand, c. 1956.
0109 Aerial of Twin Lakes, ca. 1953, before subdivisions built around the property.
0110 Slide of Bill Nellis.
0111 16 slides of the Elks Helldorado ParadeLas Vegas, 1954.
0112 14 slides of the Elks Helldorado Parade Las Vegas, 1954.
0113 16 slides of the Elks Helldorado Parade Las Vegas, 1953.
0114 Mark Twain
0115 Mark Twain
0116 Pai Gow (neg. only)
0117 Sic Bo (neg. only)
0171
SINGLE ITEM ACCESSIONS COLLECTION

0118 Sic Bo (Neg. only)
0119 Showgirl in costume and headdress, 1978. (neg. only)
0120 Fred Doumanie standing at roulette wheel. (neg. only)
0121 Joe Kelly, president of the showboat stands in front of $ slot machines.
            (neg. only)
0122 David Funk at Las Vegas Downs interior (neg. only)
0123 David Funk at Las Vegas Downs interior (neg. only)
0124 David Funk standing at betting windows inside Las Vegas Downs. (neg.
only)
0125 David Funk standing next to track at Las Vegas Downs. (neg. only)
0126 David Funk standing in front of dog kennel at Las Vegas Downs. (neg.
only)
0127 David Funk standing in front of Las Vegas Downs entrance. (neg. only)
0128 Interior of Treasury Hotel (an example of interior decoration of hotel/
casino). (neg. only)
0129 L-R: Mr. & Mrs. James Cashman II, State Senator & Mrs. Keith Ashworth.
(neg. only)
0130 State Supreme Court Judge Cameron Batjer. (neg. only)
0131 Groundbreaking of First Western Savings. L-R: Frank Scott, U.S. Senator
Alan Bible, ?, General Zack Taylor. (neg. only)
0132 Benny Binion standing in front of $1,000,000 horseshoe. (neg. only)
0133 Federal Judge Harry Claiborne, Sept., 1980.
0134 Federal Judge Roger Foley, June 1981 (neg. only)
0135 Moe Dalitz, July 1980. (neg. only)
0136 Dedication of new wing of So. Nevada Memorial Hospital, Dec. 1979.
L-R: Myron Leavitt, Thalia Dondero, Jack Pettiti, James Gibson. (neg. only)
0137 District Judge Keith Hayes, 1979. (neg. only)
0138 L-R: State Senator Floyd Lamb, Kenny Guinn, U.S. Senator Paul Laxalt,
Sept. 1980. (neg. only)
0139 Sheriff Ralph Lamb, 1977. (neg. only)
0140 U.S. Senator Paul Laxalt, 1977. (neg. only)
0141 Governor Robert List, October 1979. (Negative only)
0142 L-R: Police commission: Ron Lurie, Paul Christensen, Al Levy,
February 1980. (Negative only)
0143 Sheriff John McCarthy, January 1980. (Negative only)
0144 State Supreme Court Justice Noel Manoukian, September 1980.
(Negative only)
0145 Bob Rose for Governor in 78, (4/7/78). (Neg. only)
0146 Congressman Jim Santini, 7/10/80. (Negative only)
0147 State Senator Jack Schofield, 1977. (neg. only)
0148 State Assemblyman Jan Stewart, 1977. (Neg. only)
0149 State Assemblyman John Vergiels, August 1979. (Neg. only)
0150 Clark County Commissioner Bruce Woodbury, February 1981. (Negative only)
0171
SINGLE ITEM ACCESSIONS COLLECTION

0151 Downtown Las Vegas, aerial, September 1981. (Neg. only)
0152 Downtown Las Vegas, aerial, September 1981.
0153 Fremont Street, Las Vegas, late 1970s or early 1980s.
0154 Las Vegas Strip looking north: Caesars Palace, Flamingo Hilton,
Imperial Palace, 1979-80.
0155 Aladdin Hotel, October 1980.
0156 Aladdin Theatre for the Performing Arts, 1979-80.
0157 Barbary Coast, 1979-80.
0158 Big Als Speakeasy Casino, October 1980. (Neg. only)
0159 Bingo Palace, 1977. (Negative only)
0160 Boulder Dam Hotel, exterior, July 1980. (neg. only)
0161 Boulder Dam Hotel, interior, July 1980. (neg. only)
0162 Cliff McCorkle (L), Paul Wolfram stand in front of
historic Boulder Dam Hotel plaque, July 1980. (neg. only)
0163 Sam Boyd stands in front of California Club, April 1979.
(neg. only)
0164 Caesars Palace, front view, July 1980.
0165 Circus monorail, May 1981.
0166 Hotel Continental, October 1980.
0167 Hotel Continental, October 1980. (Negative only)
0168 Howard Anderson stands in front of the Desert Inn & Country
Club. (neg. only)
0169 Dunes Hotel, July 1980.
0170 Flamingo Hilton, 1979-80.
0171 Golden Nugget. (c. 1979-80?)
0172 Tom Magner stands in front of Granada Inn & Casino marquee,
February 1980. (neg. only)
0173 Ronald Radcliff stands in front of Hacienda Hotel marquee,
November 1979. (Neg. only)
0174 Holiday Inn & Casino, 1977. (neg. only)
0175 Imperial Palace, January 1980.
0176 Jerrys Nugget, 1979-80. (Neg. only)
0177 Jolly Trolley, May 1979. (neg. only)
0178 Lady Luck Casino, August 1980. (neg. only)
0179 Landmark Hotel, 1976.
0180 Las Vegas Club, December 1979. (neg. only)
0181 Las Vegas Inn & Casino, April 1980s. (neg. only)
0182 Lotus Inn Motor Hotel & Casino, 1977. (neg. only)
0183 MGM Hotel, 1979-80.
0184 MGM Hotel, interior, computerized fire detection system,
July 1980s. (neg. only)
0185 Mardi Gras Inn & Casino, 1977. (neg. only)
0186 Maxim Hotel, 1977. (neg. only)
0171
SINGLE ITEM ACCESSIONS COLLECTION

0187 Mint Hotel, May 1979. (neg. only)
0188 Nevada Hotel & Casino, 1980. (downtown Las Vegas.)
(neg. only)
0189 L-R: Gene & Pat Lucas stand in front of Nevada Palace, June 1979.
(neg. only)
0190 John Parker stands in front of the Opry House Saloon, April 1980.
(neg. only)
0191 Rainbow Club & Eldorado Club, July 1980. (neg. only)
0192 Royal Americana Hotel & Casino, December 1980. (neg. only)
0193 Jack Eglash stands in front of Sahara sign, December 1979.
(neg. only)
0194 Sam Boyd, Dale Evans, Roy Rogers stand in front of stagecoach
at Sams Town. (neg. only)
0195 Joe Viscuglia stands in front of Sams Town marquee, February 1980.
(neg. only)
0196 Norman Kaye stands in front of Shenandoah Hotel, May 1980.
(neg. only)
0197 Showboat Hotel, May 1980.
0198 Silverbird Hotel & Casino, 1977.
0199 Jack Schofield stands in front of Silver Saddle Casino, June 1981.
(neg. only)
0200 Stardust Hotel marquee, 1977.
0201 Sundance Hotel-Casino marquee, July 1980. (neg. only)
0202 Sid Stoller stands in front of the Treasury Hotel-Casino marquee,
July 1980. (neg. only)
0203 Tropicana Hotel, 1978.
0204 Tropicana Hotel, 1980.
0205 10th Century Hotel & Casino, 1977. (neg. only)
0206 Vegas World Casino, March, 1980. (neg. only)
0207 Western Hotel, August, 1980.
0208 Nevada Test SiteOperations Control Center.
0209 Nevada Test SiteMercury.
0210 Nevada Test SiteHeavy equipment transporter.
0211 Aerial of Las Vegas Convention Center, 4-27-80.
0212 U.S. Post Office & Courthouse, 3-18-83.
0213 Guild Theatre, downtown Las Vegas, 6-11-76.
0214 Showgirls in costume from Stardust Lido Show, 1980. (?)
0215 Showgirls in costume from MGM Jubilee show, 1978-80.
0216 Clark County Commissioner Karen Hayes, 1-28-79.
0217 Clark County Commissioner Bruce Woodbury, 5-23-84.
0218 Nevada State Assemblyman Roger Bremner, 1984.
0219 Nevada State Assemblyman Jan Ham, 6-17-84.
0220 Governor Mike OCallaghan.
0171
SINGLE ITEM ACCESSIONS COLLECTION

0221 U.S. Senator Howard Cannon.
0222 L-R: Congressman Walter Baring, U.S. Senators Alan Bible and
Howard Cannon jestingly point 6-shooters at Governor Grant Sawyer.
0223 L-R: Ted Marshall, John Mendoza, Howard Cannon, Alan Bible, George
Foley, Bill Flangas, 1964.
0224 L-R: Grant Sawyer, Howard Cannon, Earl Warren Jr., Walter Baring,
Harley Harmon, Alan Bible, 9-13-65.
0225 Congressman Walter Baring.
0226 Von Tobel family, November 1966. L-R: Ed (Sr.), Jake, Ed (Jr.),
Betty Von Tobel Zahn, George.
0227 Bugsy Siegel
0228 Wilbur Clark stands in front of Desert Inn.
0229 L-R: Gus Greenbaum, Moe Sedway, ?.
0230 Inaugural flight of Western Air Express contract mail service to
Las Vegas, April 17, 1926.
0231 Bob Hope on horseback. Probably Helldorado Parade.
0232 Harry Reid, 1986.
0233 Vegas Vic.
0234 ConventFront of house before any additions were made. (For
additional photos and information on this, see Building Surveys:
Sisters of the Holy Family Convent.)
0235 ConventHouse while it was still being built. Corner of 7th and
Mesquite. (For additional photos and information on this, see
Building Surveys: Sisters of the Holy Family Convent.)
0236 Walter Bracken, 1923 (neg. only)
0237 Downtown Logandale, ca. 1932-34.
0238 Sluice at Logandale, Nevada, 1933.
0239 CCC Project at Lost City Overton, Nevada, 1933.
0240 CCC Project at Lost City Overton, Nevada, 1933.
0241 CCC Project at Lost City Overton, Nevada, 1933.
0242 Mt. Charleston CCC Camp
0243 Mt. Charleston CCC Camp, 1933.
0244 Cabins at Mt. Charleston, 1933.
0245 Cabin at foot of Cathedral Rock, Mt. Charleston, 1933.
0246 CCC Camp fire trail crew on trail from Charleston to Deer CreekMt.
Charleston, Nevada, 1933
0247 Mummys Mt. Toe at Mt. Charleston
0248 Trail to top of Mt. Charleston 1933.
0249 Mt. Charleston Mummy Mt. at center is Cathedral Rock
0250 Dunes Hotel exterior, nite
0251 4 Queens Hotel
0252 Fremont Hotel exterior, nite
0253 Frontier Hotel pool area
0171
SINGLE ITEM ACCESSIONS COLLECTION

0254 Holiday Inn Center Strip (drawing)
0255 Landmark Hotel and pool area
0256 Las Vegas Club Hotel and Casino exterior, nite
0257 Mint Hotel -- Casino
0258 Stardust Hotel pool area
0259 Looking westward toward the Valley of Fire. April 11, 1945.
0260 General view of resurrected town of St. Thomas. April 11, 1945.
0261 Hedges planted by prosperous residents of St. Thomas. April 11, 1945.
0262 Left to right, Mr. John F. Perkins daughter, Mrs. Whitmore; his son Jack;
and Mr. John F. Perkins, looking at the foundation of the former schoolhouse
of St. Thomas. April 16, 1945.
0263 A wash tup left to its fate in front of the former home of Moses Gibson,
prominent farmer in St. Thomas before Lake Mead took over.
April 11, 1945.
0264 As the waters of Lake Mead recede a few fish were trapped in what used to be
the basements of homes in St. Thomas. April 11, 1945.
0265 This is one of the oldest trees in this section and was covered by nearly
70 feet of water (Lake Mead) for about seven years. April 16, 1945.
0266 Remains of a swanky (once) car with a right-handed drive. April 11, 1945.
0267 AerialLas VegasCharleston and Commerce area in the late 1950s. Shows
Opaco Lumber Co. now (1987) the Carpet Barn. (Oversize)
0268 Hotel Last Frontier (artists rendering) (1942) (neg. only)
0269 Color photo of Little Church of the West Wedding Chapel. Snow, late 1960s
early 1970s.
0270 Sebastian Mikulich standing beside his first delivery truck, a Model T Ford,
after 1920 (for additional information, see: Nevadan, April 10, 1977,
pp4-5)
0271 Paiute Indian village in the Virgin River area (now in southern Nevada),
ca. 1870.
0272 Southern Paiute wickiups, 1877.
0273 John Wesley Powell and Jacob Hamblin (right center) conferring with members of Kaibab Paiute band, near Kanab, Utah. (J.K. Hiller photograph, 1873)
0274 Indians in dancing costumes, July 4, 1889.
0275 Paiute Indians. (J.K. Hillers photo, 1873) Chuarumpeak, leader of Kaibab Paiute, and family in native dress. Near Kanab, Utah.
0276 Paiute Indian dancers. (J.K. Hillers photograph, 1983) Ta-vo-koki circle dance, winter costume, Kaibab Paiute. John W. Powell standing at left.
0277 Paiute Indians visiting. NOTE: One Indian in U.S. Army hat and
jacket, third from left. Indian agent is on far right. No date.
0278 Paiute Indian woman and child, no date.
0279 Russ Saunders, stuntman, on Hoot Gibsons horse. El Rancho in
background, 1941. (Mounted, autographed dup. Photo on roller shelves)
0280 Aerial of Paradise and Desert Inn Roads, 1961.
0171
SINGLE ITEM ACCESSIONS COLLECTION

0281 Aerial of Las Vegas Stripfrom Sands Hotel looking north, 1962.
0282 Aerial of downtown Las Vegas, 1965.
0283 Aerial of downtown Las Vegas, 1978.
0284 Aerial of McCarran Airport, 1962.
0285 Aerial of McCarran Airport, 1978.
0286 Aerial of Las Vegas StripHoliday Inn and Casino looking north, 1978.
0287 Aerial of Paradise and Desert Inn Roads, 1978.
0288 Kiel Ranch Fruit wagon with unidentified young man standing in front of
wagon (slide only).
0289 Painting of John C. Fremont in Las Vegas, May 3, 1844. Red Rock Canyon
in background. (taken from Pahers Las Vegas: As It Began, As It Grew, p.17)
0290 Pictured is the first LDA (Mormon) chapel in Las Vegas. Construction was
begun in 1924 & completed in 1925. The chapel was located on the northwest
corner of 6th & Carson streets. It is presently located on Eastern near
Washington (in L.V.) at which place this photo was taken.
0291 Canoe on Colorado River before the Hoover Dam was built. Seated in canoe
L-R are: Snooks, Ed Schroeder, Art Schroeder, Mrs. Wright (mining
Engineer?), Wrights son. Mr. Wright and his family lived on the Colorado
River.
0292 Pictured seated at the Schroeders camp at Willow Beach in the 1950s are
L-R: Kurt Fremstad & Ed Schroeder. Fremstad (now 88 years old as of 1987)
was a sailor from the age of 14. He was employed during WWII in New York
Harbor. After the war, toured the west & settled at Willow Beach. Ed
Schroeder was formerly a school teacher in Wisconsin. Gave up his career
For health reasons. Died in June 1973.
0293 Pictured at the Schroeders camp at Willow Beach are L-R: Art & Ed
Schroeder. Art Schroeder was a metallurgist at Titanium Metal, dealt with
The development of titanium. He was a consultant. For info on Ed see
#0171-0292. The Schroeders finally had to abandon their camp at Willow
Beach when the Parks Dept. chased them out in 1957-8.
0294 Ed Schroeder (L) and Art Schroeder (R). See 0171-0292 & 0171-0293
for additional information.
0295 Ed Schroeder is in foreground. Art Schroeder is at left in photo; see
0171-0292 & 0171-0293 for additional information.
0296 Clark County Courthouse (neg only).
0297 Kiel Ranch, 1985 (neg only)
0298 Kiel Ranch, 1985 (neg only)
0299 Kiel Ranch, 1985 (neg only)
0300 Kiel Ranch, 1985 (neg only)
0301 Kiel Ranch, 1985 (neg only)
0302 Kiel Ranch, 1985 (neg only)
0303 Kiel Ranch, 1985 (neg only)
0304 Kiel Ranch, 1985 (neg only)
0171
SINGLE ITEM ACCESSIONS COLLECTION

0305 John S. Park residence, 1985 (neg only)
0306 Foley Federal Building, 1985 (neg only)
0307 Las Vegas Fort, cornerstone (neg only)
0308 Paiute Smoke Shop on No. Main St., 1985 (neg only)
0310 Union Pacific Depot at Caliente, Nevada, 1979.
0311 Tonopah & Goldfield (T & G) Depot, Tonopah, Nevada, 1912.
0312 Union Pacific Depot, Moapa, Nevada, 1978.
0313 Union Pacific Depot, Henderson, Nevada, 1979.
0314 Tonopah & Goldfield (T&G) Depot, Goldfield, Nevada, 1948.
0315 Harrahs Hotel 50th Anniversary photo assemblage (oversize)
0316 Hotel Nevada, Las Vegas, Nevada, 1908. (Permission to copy must
be obtained from Nevada Historical Society.)
0317 Downtown Las Vegas, Nevada 1912. (Permission to copy must be
obtained from Nevada Historical Society.)
0318 First telephone switchboard, Las Vegas, Nevada. (Permission to copy
be obtained from Nevada Historical Society)
0319 First State Bank, Las Vegas, Nevada. (Permission to copy must be
obtained from UNR Library, Special Collections.)
0320 Downtown Las Vegas, Nevada, ca. 1920s. Photo courtesy: Tona Cashman
Seifert.
0321 U.W. Beckley Mens Furnishings & Shoes. (permission to copy must be
obtained from UNR Library, Special Collections.)
0322 Las Vegas Land & Water Co. (Permission to copy must be obtained from
UNR Library, Special Collections.)
0323 Catholic Chapel, Las Vegas, Nevada. (Permission to copy must be
obtained from Nevada Historical Society.)
0324 Las Vegas High School, ca. 1930.
0325 Twin Lakes Resort, Las Vegas, Nevada, 1964. Building #17old dance
hall. (Permission to copy must be obtained from Nev. Hist. Society.)
0326 Twin Lakes Resort, Las Vegas, Nevada, 1964barn & stable area.
0327 Ed W. Clark Forwarding Co., General Merchandise. Located on Main St.,
1905. (neg only)
0328 Residence of Booker and Kimball. Aurora, Nevada.
0329 Clark County Courthouse, Las Vegas, Nevada. (postcard)
0330 Fremont street, Las Vegas including Smith and Chandler store, the Boulder
Club and the Apache Bar. (postcard)
0331 Promotional postcard on the frontier Club, Las Vegas, Nevada. (postcard)
0332 5th street Grammar School, Las Vegas, Nevada. (postcard)
0333 Las Vegas High School, Las Vegas, Nevada. (postcard)
0334 A painting of Will Rogers on horseback in the Pioneer Lobby at the Last
Frontier, Las Vegas, Nevada. (postcard)
0335 U.S. senator Pat McCarran handling mail to Pony Express rider, during
dedication ceremony of McCarran Air Field, Las Vegas, Nevada. (postcard)
0171
SINGLE ITEM ACCESSIONS COLLECTION

0336 Post Office and Federal Building, Las Vegas, Nevada. (postcard)
0337 Exterior view of the Golden Hotel, 200 S. 1st Street, Las Vegas, Nevada.
Also shown is an interior view of the hotel lobby and hotel room. (postcard)
0338 Frank Waite, Sheriff of Clark County. (neg. only)
0339 Kennedy for President campaign headquarters,. Mike OCallaghan on right,
1960.
0340 Kennedy for President Campaign Headquarters, Henderson, Nev., 1960.
0341 Air Force Thunderbirds precision demonstration team are pictured lifting off
in the vicinity of Nellis Air Force Base.
0342 The Tory. II-C reactor is pictured during final inspection before being moved to the test pad at the Nevada Test Site. 6/64
0343 The Nuclear Furnace (NF-1) fuel test reactor on its test cart. The reactor is
covered by a special shield and is plugged into the face of the test facility at the
Nuclear Rocket Development Station, Jackass Flats, Nev. 1972
0344 Cathedral Rock at Mt. Charleston, Nev. 5/64
0345 Blackjack machines. 1965-66.
0346 Blackjack machines. 1965-66.
0347 U.S. Post Office facility at Nellis A.F.B., Nevada. 1969-70.
0348 Interior of the U.S. Post Office at Nellis A.F.B., Nevada. 1969-70.
0349 The Ward Charcoal Ovens located in Eastern Nevada near Ely are
remnants of Nevadas silver and lead booms in the 1870s. The ovens
are 30 feet high.
0350 Stalactites and stalagmites of the Lehman Caves National Monument are
pictured. Lehman Caves is located in eastern Nevada, 65 miles from Ely.
0351 Welcome to Fabulous Las Vegas sign is pictured. The sign is located on
the Las Vegas Strip. 1969-70.
0352 Las Vegas Convention Center rotunda is shown. 1969-70.
0353 Gambling at a craps table. 1969-70.
0354 Clark County Courthouse, Las Vegas, Nev. 1960.
0355 Flooding in the Las Vegas area, ca. 1950s.
0356 Similar to above.
0357 Filming of the Electric Horseman in Las Vegas, 1978. Robert
Redford is riding a horse thru Caesar Palace Casino.
0358 The MGM Grand Hotel in Las Vegas on fire, Nov. 20, 1980.

The following are SLIDES of MX Missile Project for Air Force presentation

0359 The proposed MX missile System.    
0360 USAF objective: Maintain a credible deterrent force.
0361 The U.S.s strategic Triad comprised of land based inter-continental
ballistic missiles, the aging B-53 bombers, and the submarine force.
0362 The evolution of the Triad ford.
0363 Comparison of ICBM forces presently 1970s.
0171
SINGLE ITEM ACCESSIONS COLLECTION

The following are SLIDES of MX Missile Project for Air Force presentation (cont.)

0364 Comparison of ICBM forces early 1980s.
0365 U.S. and Soviet defense activities.
0366 U.S. and Soviet research and development, test and evaluation programs.
0367 U.S./U.S.S.R. Intercontinental ballistic missiles.
0368 Soviet ICBM improvements.
0369 Unique features of ICBMs.
0370 Alternative responses.
0371 The M-X missile and its features.
0372 The layout of the possible basing mode: a series of closed loop roadways.
0373 Artists conception of the horizontal multiple protective shelter (MPS), or
garage, that the missile and its transporter will move into.
0374 The layout of the closed loop system road network for the multiple protective
structure system.
0375 This is the missile transporter launcher which will go into each shelter.
0376 The crane which would open the cement port on top of the shelters for
Soviet viewing by National technical means---satellites.
0377 A summarization of the various environmental concerns.
0378 MPS suitable siting areas.
0379 A summarization of some of the features of the M-X system.

Prints (unless otherwise noted)

0380 U.S.O. Westside, date uncertain, 1942-47. From Louise Leggioan-Dorsey
(neg. only)
0381 Powerhouse and downstream face of Boulder Dam. U.S. Bureau of
Reclamation photo.
0382 I worked as a teller in the Bank of Nevada for a year, 1930-
1st and Fremont. Lesley W. Edwards
0383 Aurora, Nevada. Ca. 1930s.
0384 Joseph E. Stevens (1988) author, Hoover Dam: An American Adventure.
(TC 557.5 H6 S74 1988)
0385 Sahara Hotel pool area, ca. 1955.
0386 L-R: Judge Hermann Fisher, William Elwell, Sam Taylor, and Art Olsen.
[ca. 1960s]
0387 London-Nevada Gold Group of Mining Claims located in western foothills of
the Palmetto Range of mountains, Palmetto Mining District, Esmeralda County, Nevada, three miles east of the town of Palmetto. (1906)
See: Judson, G. Frank. Report of the London-Nevada Gold Group of Mining
Claims. (This and following five photos are prints of originals in this report.)
Photos #0387-0392.


0171
SINGLE ITEM ACCESSIONS COLLECTION

0388 London-Nevada Gold Group of Mining Claims located in western foothills of
the Palmetto Range of mountains, Palmetto Mining District, Esmeralda County, Nevada, three miles east of the town of Palmetto. (1906)
See: Judson, G. Frank. Report of the London-Nevada Gold Group of Mining
Claims. (This and following five photos are prints of originals in this report.)
Photos #0387-0392.
0389 London-Nevada Gold Group of Mining Claims located in western foothills of
the Palmetto Range of mountains, Palmetto Mining District, Esmeralda County, Nevada, three miles east of the town of Palmetto. (1906)
See: Judson, G. Frank. Report of the London-Nevada Gold Group of Mining
Claims. (This and following five photos are prints of originals in this report.)
Photos #0387-0392.
0390 London-Nevada Gold Group of Mining Claims located in western foothills of
the Palmetto Range of mountains, Palmetto Mining District, Esmeralda County, Nevada, three miles east of the town of Palmetto. (1906)
See: Judson, G. Frank. Report of the London-Nevada Gold Group of Mining
Claims. (This and following five photos are prints of originals in this report.)
Photos #0387-0392.
0391 London-Nevada Gold Group of Mining Claims located in western foothills of
the Palmetto Range of mountains, Palmetto Mining District, Esmeralda County, Nevada, three miles east of the town of Palmetto. (1906)
See: Judson, G. Frank. Report of the London-Nevada Gold Group of Mining
Claims. (This and following five photos are prints of originals in this report.)
Photos #0387-0392.
0392 London-Nevada Gold Group of Mining Claims located in western foothills of
the Palmetto Range of mountains, Palmetto Mining District, Esmeralda County, Nevada, three miles east of the town of Palmetto. (1906)
See: Judson, G. Frank. Report of the London-Nevada Gold Group of Mining
Claims. (This and following five photos are prints of originals in this report.)
Photos #0387-0392.
0393 Nevada Educational TV Control Room, 12-19-66. (From MS Collection #89-20
KLVX-TV: The Legacy of Project Innovate. See also UNLV thesis, same title,
By Ira Kimball, Spring 1988.)
0394 Arizona Clubinterior (NEG ONLY).
0395 Night scene, Fremont Street looking east, Las Vegas, Nevada.
[c. 1930s-1940s] (colored postcard)
0396 Main Street, Round Mountain, Nevada, c. 1915. (additional information
on back of the photo)
0397 Men building Hoover Dam. (August 1932) (Includes several black workers)
0398 Bighorn sheepBoulder City, Nevada.
0399 Harolds ClubReno, Nevada 1984/5. (photo credit Harolds Club)
0400 Lindsey Haskell Holman. (c. 1920s)
0171
SINGLE ITEM ACCESSIONS COLLECTION

0401 Black Canyon, Hoover Dam, 1932. On left: Lindsey Haskell Holman.
0402 Horse/rider statue and buckboard on display at Old Nevada, located
on Boulder Highway between Henderson and Boulder Highway.
0403 Saloon in Tonopah, Nevada. (c. late 1800s)
0404 Monte-Carlo Casino (principality of Monaco). Two scenes: one interior,
one exterior.
0405 Interior of the Monte-Carlo Casino. (Monaco) Photo purchased from
Sundance Books, 1990. (La salle du trente et quarante.)
0406 (NEG ONLY) Birth of a Universitypage gives brief history of Nevada
Southern University. (Taken from Epilogue 1959the university yearbook.)
0407 (NEG ONLY) Building under construction at Nevada Southern University
(1959) photo taken from Epilogue 1959university yearbookpp. 24 & 25.)
0408 Biology student holding fish. (Taken from Epilogue 1959NSSU yearbook.)
(NEG ONLY)
0409 Page from Epilogue 61 (Nevada Southern Univ. yearbook). Lettering:
Nevada Southern, Home of the Rebels. Includes three university buildings.
(NEG ONLY)
0410 William Glen Bradley, instructor in Biology. (c. 1961) (NEG ONLY)
0411 (NEG ONLY) James E. Deacon. 9c. 1961)
0412 (NEG ONLY) Two llamas.
0413 (NEG ONLY) Fred A. Ryser (Biology faculty member). (c. 1957)
0414 (NEG ONLY) William Glen Bradley. (faculty member in Biology department-
NSU.) c. 1962
0415 (NEG ONLY) Lucy Bassett (faculty member in Biology Dept., NSU)c.1958.
0416 (NEG ONLY) Ben Chichester, Botany Dept. faculty member, NSU. (c. 1958)
0417 (NEG ONLY) James Deacon (Biology Dept. faculty member, NSU), c. 1962.
0418 Vacated
0419 Photo of mapSouthern Nevada Geography and Landmark of Armijos Trace.
Taken from map collection.)
0420 Breakfast time for Maud, Rhyolites famous petroglyph burro, at the restaurant.
(Newton Grill)1907. (postcard)
0421 Paul Anka.
0422 Thirty-five years of Western progress (1926-1961). From biplane to fanjet, 22
aircraft types have carried the colors of Western Airlines, Americas pioneer
airline. (Shows pictures of all of these aircraft types, with dates.)
0423 Julius Jensen family (taken in Denmark). Front row, left to right: son, Julius
Jensen (later a prominent Las Vegas doctor); Julius Jensen, father; Hanne
Jensen, mother. (The two men in the back row must have been sons as well but
They are not identified.) c. 1920s.
0424 Goodsprings School, Goodsprings, Nevada (1934). (NEG ONLY)
0425 Hotel Las Vegas, located on the west side of North Main Street near Stewart
Avenue. Charles pop Squires (later editor of the Las Vegas Age) was the
Proprietor. Built in May 1905, it was torn down in March 1906.
0171
SINGLE ITEM ACCESSIONS COLLECTION

0426 Left, Miss Nevada 1978.
0427 Miss Nevada 1978 at Bicentennial Gazebo, Boulder City, Nevada.
0428 Miss Nevada 1978 and Jeanne Clark; at Bicentennial Gazebo, Boulder
City, Nevada. (11-4-78)
0429 Miss Nevada 1978 at Hoover Dam. (11-4-78)
0430 Miss Nevada 1978 at Hoover Dam. (11-4-78)
0431 Miss Nevada 1978at Hoover Dam. (11-4-78)
0432 Miss Nevada 1978, photographed at Hoover Dam. (11-4-78)
0433 Miss Nevada 1978 at Hoover Dam. (11-4-78)
0434 Miss Nevada 1978 photographed at Hoover Dam. (11-4-78)
0435 Officials present for Boulder Citys incorporation ceremony on
January 4, 1960: L-R: unidentified; Art Olson, Clark County Commissioner;
Harold Corbin, U.S. Bureau of Reclamation and Boulder City Manager;
Dr. Henry J. Reining, Dean of the College of Administration, USC at Los
Angeles; Albert Franklin, Boulder City Councilman; Bob Broadbent,
Boulder City Mayor; Dr. Thomas S. White, Boulder City Councilman; Grant Sawyer, Governor of Nevada; William Byrne, Henderson, Nevada mayor; Morgan J. Sweeney, Boulder City Councilman; Arleigh West, Acting Regional Director, Bureau of Reclamation at Boulder City; Joe Manix, Boulder City Councilman; N.E. Broadbent, Mayor of Ely, Nevada; B. Mahlon Brown, Nevada state senator; Harley Harmon, Clark County Commission Chairman; Jake Dieleman, Nevada state assemblyman.
0436 East approach of the new Charleston underpass. (1949-50) Las Vegas, NV.
0437 Maryland Parkways new street lightinglooking south from Charleston
Boulevard. (Las Vegas, Nevada) (1949-50(
0438 Bill Robinson gives William Boswell, director of Jefferson Center, his famous
shoes as a token for the center. (Recreation Center on Westside?)1949.
0439 Hillside Terrace Home sitesone of the new subdivisions built in Las Vegas,
1949-50.
0440 Howard W. CannonCity Attorney, Las Vegas, Nevada. (1949)
0441 Flamingo Hotel, Las Vegas, Nevadaview of pool. (postcard) The famous
Olympic pool was the setting for many film and TV productions. (c. 1940s)
0442 View of the Las Vegas Strip, including the Mirage Hotel. (1990) (postcard)
0443 Hacienda Hotelaerial. [c. late 1950s]
0444 Casino scene in Hacienda Hotel. Tall man in rear is Bob Timm, slot
department manager. (postcard)
0445 Olympic-size swimming pool at Hacienda Hotel, Las Vegas. [c. late 1950s]
(Postcard)
0446 Las Vegas Haciendaalso shows guests golfing on Hacienda golf course.
[c. late 1950s] (postcard)



0171
SINGLE ITEM ACCESSIONS COLLECTION

0447 Ground-breaking for new room addition to Hacienda Hotel. Left to right:
Bob Seideman, casino; Lois Cooper, reservation and front desk manager;
Robb Johnson, general contractor; Joan Scann, secretary to general manager;
Dick Taylor, general manager (hotel).
0448 Richard B. Taylor, General Manager, hacienda Hotel, Las Vegas, NV.
0449 Hacienda Hotel tour group, February 1962. In red circle: Dick and Charlene
Taylor. (He was general manager of the hacienda.) There were weekly package tour flights from Honolulu to Las Vegas and return.
0450 Night scene of Hacienda Hotel, Las Vegas (July 4, 1956) The car at
the left is R.B. Taylors T-Bird. (He was general manager.)
0451 Largest resort hotel pool in NevadaHacienda Hotel. (July 4, 1956)
0452 Hacienda HotelLas Vegas, Nevada. (c. late 1950s)
0453 Lady riding in go-cart on grounds of Hacienda Hotel. (Hacienda sign in
background.) (c. late 1950s)
0454 Showroom at Hacienda Hotel. (c. 1950slate)
0455 Olympic-size pool at Hacienda Hotel, Las Vegas. (c. late 1950s)
0456 Guest room at the hacienda Hotel. (c. late 1950s)
0457 Albert E. Bert Wile. He is standing outside the Blue Room, key in hand.
0458 Police officers Bert (Albert E.) Wile is second from right.
0459 A.E. Bert Wile, sixth from left.
0460 Bert Wile, second row, #5.
0461 Police officers and others in front of City Jail. Bert Wile is fourth from left.
0462 Police officers and others. (1938)
0463 Bert Wile. (Jan. 1942?)
0464 Hotel San CarlosYuma, A. (Summer 1983)
0465 Catholic Church [Nevada]. (NEGATIVE ONLY)
0466 Kimberly, Nevada. (1907) -- postcard
0467 Chester R. Longwell, geologist. (Pictured on horseback in desert locale.)
0468 L-R: Rex Bell and Glenn E. Bud Bodell at the Walking Box Ranch.
(c. 1932-33)
0469 L-R: Clara Bow, Rex Bell, Glenn E. Bud Bodell at the Walking Box Ranch,
c. 1932-33.
0470 Postcard with gambling theme: captionSend Carlo and Fido at once!
Met man who got $1,000.00 because he held a big dog, and a little dog last
Night. (copyright 1905) Artist by name of Lederer.
0471 Postcard with gambling theme: captionVery little drunkenness here, yet
regret to state that I saw a king full last night. (copyright 1905) Artist by
name of Lederer.
0472 Front page of Boulder City Journal, March 11, 1932; commemorates the first
birthday of BC. (NEG ONLY)



0171
SINGLE ITEM ACCESSIONS COLLECTION

(THE FOLLOWING ARE SLIDES.)

Boulder City and Hoover Dam
0473 Hoover Dam during construction. (c. 1933)
0474 Six companies houses, Boulder City. Executives homes in front,
dormitories to rear. (1931)
0475 Ragtown Post Office, 1931. (Photo by Winthrop A. Davis)
0476 Six Companies StoreMens Clothing DepartmentBoulder City, Nevada.
(1931)
0477 New Mexico Construction Company grading the streets in Boulder City. (1931)
0478 Warning signs at dam site. (1931)
0479 Government homes in Boulder City.
0480 Children at Railroad Wye School. (1931)

Gambling, Las Vegas
0481 Craps table.
0482 Roulette.
0483 Keno.
0484 The Big Six Wheel.
0485 Slot machines

Downtown Las Vegas
0486 Glitter Gulch.
0487 Fremont Street from Union Plaza.
0488 Binions Horseshoe and the Mint.
0489 Four Queens.
0490 Four Queens.
0491 Fremont Hotel & Casino.
0492 Golden Nugget.
0493 Golden Nugget.
0494 The Mint. (night view)
0495 The Mint.
0496 Showboat Hotel (night view)
0497 The Showboat Hotel.
0498 Showboat Hotel, Las Vegas, swimming pool.
0499 Showboat Hotel, luxurious dining room.
0500 Showboat Hotel, childrens nursery.

Strip

0501 Domed Convention Center.
0502 AerialFrontier and Desert Inn.
0503 Night lights of the Strip.
0171
SINGLE ITEM ACCESSIONS COLLECTION

(THE FOLLOWING ARE SLIDES.)

State Line, Nevada and Calif.
0504 Show time at Harrahs.
0505 Slot machines.
0506 Roulette.
0507 Aerialcasinos and Lake Tahoe.
0508 Big Six Wheel.
0509 21Blackjack.
0510 Craps table.
0511 Highway 50 through the city.
0512 The Sahara at night.
0513 Harrahs marquee.

Strip Hotels, Las Vegas
0514 Aladdin Hotel.
0515 Caesars Palace, pool and palace.
0516 Caesars palacemain fountain and palace.
0517 Rome Swings show.
0518 Caesars palacecolumns and Roman figures.
0519 Caesars Palaceentrance, fountains at night.
0520 Castaways Hotel (at night).
0521 Circus-Circus Hotel: electronic shooting gallery.
0522 Circus-Circus: overlooking fountains and casinos.
0523 Circus-Circus: water race pistols.
0524 Circus-Circus: fountains and casinos.
0525 Circus-Circus: fountains and carousel at night.
0526 Desert Inn Hotel: Crystal Room.
0527 Desert Inn Hotel: Showtime in Crystal Room.
0528 Desert Inn, Crystal Room.
0529 Dunes HotelCasino de Paris.
0530 Flamingo Hotelspiral staircase.
0531 Flamingo Hotelexotic dancing girls.
0532 Showgirls at Flamingo Hotel.
0533 Hilton Hotel.
0534 Hilton Hotelaglow at twilight.
0535 Hilton Hotelmarquee at night.
0536 Hilton Hotelmarquee and hotel.
0537 Hilton Hotelshuffleboard court.
0538 Hilton Hoteldinner show.
0539 Riviera Hotelthe casino.
0540 Riviera HotelStarlight Lounge.
0541 Riviera HotelStarlight Lounge.
0171
SINGLE ITEM ACCESSIONS COLLECTION

(THE FOLLOWING ARE SLIDES.)

Strip Hotels, Las Vegas
0542 Riviera HotelStarlight Lounge.
0543 Riviera Hotelhotel and fountain at night.
0544 Riviera Hotela fashionable suite.
0545 Riviera Hotel-overlooking pool.
0546 Riviera Hotelpool.
0547 Sahara Hotel.
0548 Stardust Hotelstage review.
0549 Stardust Hotel.
0550 Showtime at Stardust Hotel.
0551 Thunderbird Hotelstage production.
0552 Thunderbird Hotelspectacular choreography.
0553 Thunderbird Hotel.
0554 Tropicana Hotelstage extravaganza.
0555 Tropicana Hotelgolf course.
0556 Taken on board Bremen, November 11, 1937. L-R: Edith and
Carl von Bibra; Adele von Bibra, Harold Pulvermann (right).
0557 January 1938, taken in the yard of the von Bibra home, 1815 Benedict
Canyon Dr., Beverly Hills, CA. L-R: back row: Edith & Carl von Bibra,
Harold Pulvermann; front row: Conrad von Bibra, Edith Hulberta von
Bibra, Adele von Bibra
0558 Thunderbird Hotel marquee. (August 1949) (Two women not identified.)
0559 Thunderbird Hotel marqueeAugust 1949. (Man not identified.)
0560 Landmark Hotel, May 1967.
0561 4 Queens Hotel & Fremont at night1967.
0562 Landmark Hotel, May 1967.
0563 UNLV Library, May 1967.
0564 Las Vegas Convention Center, 1967.
0565 UNLV Library, May 1967.
0566 Sahara Hotel, May 1967.
0567 [View of UNLV Campus?] May 1967.
0568 Interior of building, no i.d.    May 1967.
0569 No identification. May 1967.
0570 Open stairwell in building, no i.d. (1967)
0571 Swanky Club, Henderson, NV. (color photo)
0572 Otto Ravenholt and family.
0573 Fremont Street, 1931.
0574 Vegas World Hotel, Las Vegas, NV., May 1991. (Sign damaged by
windstorm.) Photo by Dana Salter.
0575 (SLIDE) Fremont Hotel, looking west, 3rd and Fremont. [c.1961-62]
0576 (SLIDE) Royal Nevada Hotel. [c. 1961-62]
0171
SINGLE ITEM ACCESSIONS COLLECTION

(THE FOLLOWING ARE SLIDES.)

0577 (SLIDE) The Westerner Club. [c. 1961-62]
0578 (SLIDE) Riviera Hotel. [c. 1961-62]
0579 Crew of Anderson Brothers Mess Hall (Sic Companies)1932Boulder
City, Nevada. (See paper on back for i.d.s)
0580 Last Frontier Village at Las Frontier Hotel, (c. 1950s)
0581 Scene at Las Frontier Village. (c. 1950s)

(The following are prints unless otherwise noted)
0582 Caesars palace Hotel and Casino, Las Vegas, Nevada. (color postcard)
0583 Caesars Palace, Las Vegas, Nevada. (night scene1990color postcard).
0584 Cyd Charisse [1956] Publicity still for movie, Meet Me in Las Vegas.
0585 Tropicana HotelLas Vegas, Nevada. (1984)
0586 Miners Club (Working Mens Caf), Las Vegas, Nevada. [c. 1920s]
0587 (NEG.ONLY) Desert Research InstituteUniversity of Nevada System
Southern Nevada Science Center.
0588 ( NEG. ONLY) Nevada State Archives and Records Building in Carson City,
Nevada. (c. late 1980s)
0589 (SLIDE) Riverside Hotel and Casino Resort, Laughlin, NV. (c. 1991)
0590 (NEG. ONLY) Proposed Nevada State Library and Archives Building, Carson
City, Nevada.
0591 Las Vegas Mayor C.C. Baker (seated) presents J.R. Dickinson a check for
$250 for the Nevada Southern Campus Fund. (April 29, 1955)
0592 Lee Pavornik.
0593 Airplane on the street in front of Matzdorfs Caf and the Las Vegas Age
officesLas Vegas1920s.
0594 Aerial view of Las Vegas1920s. Railroad and station at left in photo.
(looking north)
0595 Aerial view of Las Vegas1920s.
0596 Silver Slipper Gambling Hall, Las Vegas. (postcard) c. 1960s-70s.
0597 Several shots of Silver Slipper Gambling Hall marquee. (1978)
0598 (NEGS. ONLY) panorama of El Rancho Vegas in the snow, c. early 1940s.
0599 Southeast portion of Nevada (vicinity of Las Vegas), from a map. Map is of
The state of Nevada in 1866. (NEGATIVE ONLY)
0600 Blueprint of Concrete Testing Lab at Las Vegas, Nevada. (July 5, 1929)
Blueprint is numbered L75-15L op. (in UNLV Spec. Coll.) (NEG. ONLY)
0601 Plat of original Las Vegas townsite, May 5, 1905. Plat is #75-54-1.
(NEG. ONLY)
0602 Southeast portion of map by Wheeler in 1869. (NEG. ONLY)
0603 Map of southern and southeastern Nevada (1870) by Lieut. Geo. M. Wheeler.
(NEG. ONLY) Cataloged in Special Collections; F841 U53 1869.
0604 El Cortez Hotel, Las Vegas, Nevada. (postcard)
0171
SINGLE ITEM ACCESSIONS COLLECTION

0605 Gambling clubs on Fremont Street, Las Vegas, Nevada. (Eldorado Club and
Golden Nugget) (postcard)
0606 Schoolhouse in Pahrump, Nevada.
0607 Cheryl Lau, Secretary of State for Nevada.
0608 L-R: Fred Albrecht and Richard Tam
0609 Thunderbird Hotel, Las Vegas, Nevada, c. 1948. (color postcard)
0610 Congo Room in the Hotel Sahara, Las Vegas, Nevada, c. 1950s. (color
postcard)
0611 Fifth annual Southern Nevada Youth Fair, Las Vegas Convention Center,
1973. First on left: Tom Weisner; third from left: Myron Leavitt; fifth
From left: Oran Gragson; sixth from left: Hank Thornely. (others not
Identified.
0612 The Players Club, 1945. (from Nevada Life, Sept. 1945, p.5.)
0613 Red Rooster Night Club, 1946. (from Nevada Life, Jan. 1946, p.13)
0614 Club Bon Aire, Las Vegas, Nevada, 1946. (from Nevada Life, Jan. 1946)
0615 Nevadas last short line railroad. Nevada Northern Railroads old No. 40, last serviceable steam locomotive in the region. (color postcard)
0616 The prospectors last camp. (Postcard with drawing of old prospector and poem.)
0617 Las Vegas, Nevada scenes including Sal Sagev Hotel, Hoover Dam, a gambling scene, and the El Trovatore Autel and Challenger Auto Court (east of Kingman, Arizona). (postcard)
0618 Clark County Court House, Las Vegas, Nevada. (postcard)
0619 Silver Slipper Gambling Hall and Saloon, Las Vegas, Nevada. (Interior view of Old West Gambling hall and Saloon in Silver Slipper.) (postcard)
0620 Union pacific Depot, Las Vegas, Nevada. (postcard)
0621 Playing roulette, Las Vegas, Nevada. (postcard)
0622 Night view of the Last Frontier Village and Silver Slipper, Las Vegas, Nevada. (postcard)
0623 Plat showing country tributary to S.P.L.A. and S.L. Railroad in southern Nevada. Compiled by J.T. McWilliams, 1906.
0624 Yellow Jacket Mine fire in Goldhill, Nevada, April 7, 1869. Fr. Patrick Manogue comforts wives and children. (Photograph of a painting or illustration.)
0625 Rawhide, Nevada. (ghost town)
0626 MGM Hotel, aerial view. (SLIDE)
0627 Nevada City, August 15, 1905. (2418 miles above the sea) (Historic postcardpublished 1905)
0628 Unidentified woman standing in a garden or a park, c. 1911. (Historic postcardpublished ca. 1911).
0629 (NEGATIVE ONLY) Harrahs Club, Reno, Nevada, ca. 1960.
0630 Floyd Lamb.
0631 Peggy Chesson (wife of Ray Chesson) in the backyard of her Chloride, AZ home. (1990)
0171
SINGLE ITEM ACCESSIONS COLLECTION

0632 Bunny Stevenson, friend, and Death Valley Scotty pictured at Scottys Castle Death Valley, Ca. (c. early 1950s?)
0633 State Building in Reno, NV. (c. 1950) (Please credit: Nevada Historical Society)
0634 Artists rendering of the Debbie Reynolds Motion Picture Museum and Premiere Theatre, Las Vegas.
0635 Early Court House in Mina, Nevada. Sign reads: J.F.Moody, Justice of the Peace.
0636 Map of Texas, Oregon, and California. (1846) Published by S. Augustus Mitchell, Philadelphia.
0637 The Magic 300-Mile Circle. A map showing Las Vegas as the hub of a 300-mile circle containing the most significant tourist attractions in the southwestern United States.
0638 Grand Canyon.
0639 Grand Canyon.
0640 Flamingo Hotel, Las Vegas, Nevada. (ca. 1950)
0641 Robert A. Cashell, former Lieutenant Governor, State of Nevada.
0642 Amargosa Valley Mine (1982). (Photo by Ken Bouton)
0643 Amargosa Valley [mining operation], 1982. (Photo by Ken Bouton)
0644 Part of the mining operation in Amargosa Valley (in the distance), 1982. (Photo by Ken Bouton)
0645 Artificial watering device for desert bighorn sheep in the Muddy Mountains of Clark County. This was constructed by the Fraternity of the Desert Bighorn, a Las Vegas based conservation and sportsmans club.
0646 L-R: Cecile Dotson Crowe, Hannah Houn, and Rose Crippe, U.S. Bureau of Reclamation secretaries, 1932. (This photo came in with MS 23, John Chatfield Page Diaries.)
0647 Personnel of the Las Vegas office of the Bureau of Reclamation, 1932. These employees worked on the Hoover Dam project. (See back of photo for identification of many of these people.)
0648 Above-ground nuclear test. (Courtesy of Edgerton, Germeshausen & Grier, Inc.)
0649 (NEG. ONLY) Southern portion of map. Map is Automobile Road Map of the State of Nevada, published by the Automobile Club of Southern California, ca. 1930s-40s. Shows Las Vegas and the surrounding areas.
0650 Victory Hotel, 307 S/. Main st., Las Vegas, NV. Also known by the name Lincoln Hotel, it was built sometime between 1906 and 1910. (photo ca. 1972)
0651 Victory Hotel, Las Vegas, NV., ca. 1982. (See photo #0171 0650).
0652 Ed and Flo Mlynarczyk greet Jim McPhee (rt.) , James R. Dickinson Library staff member. (1-25-85) All three are charter members of the University Library Society.
0653 Jim McPhee and Mary Harrison, J.R. Dickinson Library staff members, talk with Susan Graves (rt.).
0654 Gilbert Denton Buck (of Gil Buck Realty), n.d.
0655 (NEG.ONLY) A Map of the Boulder Dam Area showing the Principal Points of Scenic and Historic Interest by Ben Glaha. (map in Special Collections)
0171
SINGLE ITEM ACCESSIONS COLLECTION

0656 Callville Bay, Nevada.
0657 Callville Bay, Nevada.
0658 Callville Bay, Nevada.
0659 Callville Bay, Nevada. View of vehicles and boats.
0660 Boats docked at Callville Bay, Nevada.
0661 A building and landscapingCallville Bay, Nevada.
0662 Mobile homes and recreational vehicles at Callville Bay, Nevada.
0663 Old West Motor Hotel, Las Vegas, Nevada. (postcard)
0664 Navajo Motel, 1322 E. Fremont, Las Vegas, Nevada. (postcard)
0665 El Mirador Motel, 2200 South Fifth Street, Las Vegas, Nevada. (postcard)
0666 Old West Motel Court, 801-803 So. Fifth Street, Las Vegas, Nevada. (postcard)
0667 Macayo Vegas Restaurant, 1741 East Charleston Blvd., Las Vegas, NV. (postcard)
0668 Hotel Flamingo, Las Vegas, Nevada. (postcard)
0669 Hotel Last Frontier21 Club Casino. (postcard)
0670 Coreys Fine Foods (restaurant), 4th and Fremont Streets, Las Vegas, NV. (postcard)
0671 Boulder Dam Park Museum.
0672 Gas here 14 centsLas Vegas 21 cents-- (billboard)
0673 Bottle House, Rhyolite, Nev.
0674 Lost City, NV. (painting)
0675 Lost City, NV.
0676 Lost City, NV.
0677 Lost City, NV.
0678 Club Bingo. (7-24-47)
0679 Car towing boat down Fremont Streetin front of Oasis Caf and Frontier Club. (photo by Ullom) Ca. 1930s?
0680 Portrait of Flora Dungan. (n.d.)
0681 Flora Dungan (front row, left); Oran Gragson (back row, 4th from left); Paul May (back row, right). (possibly a group of Nevada state legislators. Rest not identified.)
0682 Campaigning for political office are: (L-R): Alan Bible, Flora Dungan, Myron Leavitt, and Grant Sawyer. (c. 1960s)
0683 L-R: Phyllis Kleiger, Flora Dungan, Gov. Grant Sawyer, Eileen Alvarez, John Foley, Myrna Williams, Lela Petarde, Esty Valadez. 10-28-66 (Some of the names may be misspelled because writing on back of photo not clear.)
0684 UNLV plaque honoring Leon H. Rockwell, Sr. (1888-1968) (NEGATIVE ONLY)
0685 UNLV PLAQUE HONORING Bessie Banfield Rockwell (Mrs. Leon Rockwell, Sr.) (1877-1962) (NEGATIVE ONLY)
0686 Cypress Gardens Water Ski Show was one of the special events scheduled for the 50th Anniversary of Hoover Dam (July 31-Aug. 4, 1985.) (Show presented by Las Vegas Events, Inc.)
0171
SINGLE ITEM ACCESSIONS COLLECTION

0687 Water storage reservoir, Charleston Boulevard Las Vegas, Nevada.
            (Nov. 1992) (More information on photo board.)
0688 The Flashlightsculpture on UNLV campus. (1991) (color postcard)
0689 Charter members of the Daughters of Union Veterans of the Civil War.
(May 2, 1954) (Please credit: Gales Studio, Las Vegas, Nevada.) Front row, from left: Mrs. C.P. Squires; Doris Heustis and Rebecca Dunbar of Calif.; Artemessia Brewer; Cora Jones and Leona Fields of Calif.; Mrs. George Beard and Mrs. James Jones. Second row, from left: Mrs. William Mealoi; Mrs. John Katsaros; Mrs. Louis Prichard; Mrs. Orval Solomon; Mrs. Frederick J. Sheeler; Florida M. Horion; Mrs. Louis Blann and Inez Holcomb. Third row, from left: Mrs. Eunice Wagner; Mrs. Harley E. Harmon; the Misses Marilyn Brewer and Phyllis Katsaros; Mrs. Virgil Denny and Mrs. James Osmun.
0690 Fremont Street, Las Vegas, Nev. (ca. 1940s)
0691 Carmen Miranda (1951) (Taken from Fabulous Las Vegas, Dec. 22, 1951)
0692 Desi Arnaz (1951). (Taken from Fabulous Las Vegas, June 9, 1951)
0693 Snow in Las Vegas, Jan. 1979. (Complete identification on reverse of photo board.)
0694 Jimmy Durante (2nd from right) and others gambling at the Stardust Hotel. (1950?) (Photo by Jack Winer, Las Vegas Review Journal)
0695 Probably the Hacienda Hotel and Casino, Las Vegas, Nev. (ca 1957)
0696 Hacienda Hotel and Casino. (1990) NEGATIVE ONLY
0697 Prehistoric skull found on Colorado River by Captain LeBaron. (Copyright by B.M. Bower).
0698 Union Pacific Depot, Las Vegas, Nevada. Shows UP train and partial view of the depot. (n.d.)
0699 Union Pacific train. (n.d.)
0700 Union Pacific Railroad Depot, Las Vegas, Nevada. (n.d.)
0701 Union Pacific Railroad depot, Las Vegas, Nevada. (n.d.)
0702 Construction workers using heavy equipment. Union Pacific Railroad Depot, Las Vegas, Nev., in background (n.d.)
0703 Postcard advertising Club Bingo --Las Vegas NVpostmarked 1949. Picture shows framed illustration of youngsters playing craps on the sidewalk with the caption: Playing Craps As You Like It at Club Bingo, Las Vegas, NV.
0704 First tent in Las Vegas NV. 1904. Railroad hospital. Dr. Hewetson in charge.
0705 View of Las Vegas from the Ice Plant. (c. early 1990s)
0706 Freight item.
0707 Loading ice on trainsLas Vegas. (c. early 1900s)
0708 Making cement blocks for bank, Park, Brown & Squires houses. (c. early 1900s)





0171
SINGLE ITEM ACCESSIONS COLLECTION

Hotels
0709 Riviera Hotel and sign (slide only)
0710 El Morocco Hotel (slide only)
0711 Circus Circus sign (slide only)
0712 Fountains at Circus Circus (slide only)
0713 An entrance to stardust Hotel (slide only)
0714 Stardust Hotelentrance and marquee (slide only)
0715 El Morocco sign (slide only)

Red Rock National Park
0716 Red Rock National Park, NV (slide only)
0717 Red Rock National Park, NV (slide only)
0718 Red Rock National Park, NV (slide only)
0719 Red Rock National Park, NV(slide only)
0720 Red Rock National Park, NV (slide only)
0721 Red Rock National Park, NV (slide only)
0722 Red Rock National Park, NV (slide only)
0723 Red Rock National Park, NV (slide only)
0724 Red Rock National Park, NV (slide only)
0725 Red Rock National Park, NV (slide only)

0726 Ships Coffee Shop, Las Vegas, NV. (ArchitectMartin Stern)
0727 Fremont Street in downtown Las Vegas as it appeared in the late 1940s. In the foreground stands the Union Pacific Depot where the Union Plaza stands today.

Hoover Dam (Oversize prints)
0728 Hoover Dam 1931-1935. (Property of Walker R. Young, Construction Engineer; see documentation in Walker biography file.)
0729 Colorado River in Black Canyon, prior to construction of Hoover Dam.
0730 Looking upstream at the low-level mixing plant, c. 1932 -- during construction of Hoover Dam.
0731 Low-level mixing plant c. 1932 during Hoover Dam construction.
0732 Low-level mixing plant c. 1932 during construction of Hoover Dam.
0733 Trucks hauling two 2-cubic-yeard buckets, bringing concrete from the mixing plant. (4-11-32) (duplicate of #0120 0033)
0734 Construction in progress. (5-31-34)
0735 Spillway, showing gates in position. (108035)
0736 Dust from explosions in canyon walls. (5-10-33)
0737 Work progresses on concrete portion of dam. (1-15-34)
0738 Construction progresses on dam. (6-2-33)
0739 View of Colorado River in Black Canyon early phase of construction.
(3-12-32)
0171
SINGLE ITEM ACCESSIONS COLLECTION

Hoover Dam (Oversize prints)
0740 Men on huge piece of equipment inside a tunnel. (12-1-33)
0741 Men on truck-mounted giant drilling rig used to cut the diversion tunnels in Black Canyon during building of the dam. (c. 1932-34)
0742 Gigantic equipment in the [diversion tunnel] at dam site.
0743 View inside Nevada spillway tunnel Oct. 7, 1933.
0744 Construction equipment scene at or near dam site. (Dec. 1, 1933)
0745 Construction sceneHoover Dam. (7-22-33)
0746 Construction scene Hoover Dam. (no date)
0747 Nearing completion construction of Hoover Dam.
0748 Nearing completion construction of Hoover Dam.
0749 Work progresses on Hoover Dam n.d.
0750 Construction of Hoover Dam early phase of concrete work.
0751 Construction of Hoover Dam n.d.
0752 Construction of Hoover Dam nearing completion. (10-15-34)
0753 Concrete work progresses on Hoover Dam. (11-15-33)
0754 Hoover Dam nearing completion. (c. 1934)
0755 Hoover Dam at night. (n.d.) (Photo by Tucker)
0756 Black Canyon and the Colorado Riverpreliminary stages of dam construction (building of roads, bridges, etc.). (3-14-32)
0757 View of tunnel (exterior) Hoover Dam construction. (4-24-33)
0758 Construction equipment inside tunnel -- Hoover Dam site. (n.d.)
0759 Construction work at Hoover Dam.
0760 View of top of Hoover Dam. (n.d.)

Miscellaneous
0761 Photograph of a painting titled The Navajo Gamblers, by E.A. Burbank. For fifteen years he lived among 125 different tribes of North American Indians, painting their pictures and studying them at close range. This shows a group of Navajo men playing Koon Can, a favorite pastime of the Navajo. Painted sometime between 1897 and 1911.
0762 Gambling cartoon (postcard): Dif You Ever Hold a Straight Open at One End in Poker? Copyright, 1910. Cardinell-Vincent Co.
0763 Gambling cartoon (postcard): A Royal Flush Cant Be Beat in Poker. Copyright, 1910, Cardinell-Vincent Co.
0764 Gambling cartoon (postcard): Did You Ever Get Cold Feet at Poker? Copyright, 1910, Cardinell-Vincent Co.
0765 Gambling cartoon (postcard): Three of a Kind, That Cant Be Beat.
0766 First water in Tonopah, Oct. 24, 1902. Gentlemen standing around a spout of water from a pipe apparently in the northern section of Main Street, Tonopah. (photo by E.W. Smith)
0767 Robbins Cahill. (c. 1981?)
0768 Desert Inn Hotel and Casino. (c. 1960s-70s)
0171
SINGLE ITEM ACCESSIONS COLLECTION

0769 Wilbur Clarks Desert Inn. (c. 1950s)
0770 Charlotte Putnam Crandall, Queen of Railroad Days in Goldfield, Nevada. (Sept. 1905)
0771 Youth Conservation Corps building, about 4.5 miles from Tonopah Highway at the Corn Creek Field Station. (c. 1972) This photo shows the front of the building. (Photo by Dave E. Morelli) (Photos 0171 0071 through 0171 0779 taken from Historic Building Survey Project of the YCC Hut done by Dave Morelli for Dr. Ralph Roskes Nevada History ClassCall # F849 L35 M69.)
0772 Youth Conservation Corpsright side of the building. (c. 1972) Located at the Corn Creek Field Station. (Photo by Dave E. Morelli)
0773 Youth Conservation Corpsview shows the back of the building. (c. 1972)
(Credit: Dave E. Morelli)
0774 Youth Conservation Corpsthe left side of the building. (c. 1972) (Credit: Dave E. Morelli)
0775 Youth Conservation Corpsinterior of the building. There were just two rooms. (c. 1972) (Credit: Dave E. Morelli)
0776 Another interior view of the Youth Conservation Corps building at Corn Creek Field Station. (c. 1972) (Credit: Dave E. Morelli)
0777 View out the doorYouth Conservation Corps hut near Corn Creek Field Station. (c. 1972) (Credit: Dave E. Morelli)
0778 InteriorYouth Conservation Corps building, c. 1972. (Credit: Dave Morelli)
0779 Building made of railroad tiesprobably located at the Corn Creek Field
Stationc. 1972. (Credit: Dave E. Morelli)
0780 Las Vegas aerial view (6-19-83).
0781 Aerial view of the Las Vegas Convention Center and racetrack (racetrack at
bottom right corner), soon after the LVCC was built. (c. early 1960s)
(OVERSIZE)
0782 Panoramic view of Las Vegas, circa 1910. (1st panel, looking left to right).
Shows residences in the south part of town.
0783 Panoramic view of Las Vegas, c. 1910. (2nd panel) Residential part of town.
0784 Panoramic view of Las Vegas, c. 1910. (3rd panel) The church in the
background is the Methodist Church at Third and Bridger Streets.
0785 Panoramic view of Las Vegas, c. 1910. (4th panel) Shows some of the
downtown structures.
0786 Panoramic view of Las Vegas, c. 1910. (5th panel) Fremont Street.
0787 Panoramic view of Las Vegas, c. 1910. (6th panel) At back can be seen the
two-story Ice Plant operated by the Las Vegas Ice and Manufacturing Company.
0788 Panoramic view of Las Vegas, c. 1910. (7th panel) In background is the
mission-style railroad depot. The steel columns and skeletal structure to its left
mark the partly constructed machine shops of the SP, LA & SL Railroad.



0171
SINGLE ITEM ACCESSIONS COLLECTION

0789 E.O. Ed Underhill opened the Las Vegas Coca-Cola Bottling Co. at
125 N. Main in 1927. The new offices shown here opened in May 1934 at
424 N. Main. L-R: Jimmy Dean, Mac Lancaster, Clarence Underhill (Eds
brother), Ed Underhill, Red Kerr, Bert Kempton, Byron Underhill (Eds son).
(These are the men standing in front of the 3 vehicles at the right.) Three men
at left not identified.
0790 G. Lawrence Ullom, photographer, about 75 years of age. (portrait)
0791 Far below, in Black Canyon on the Colorado River, is the Cashman-Swartz
ferry. Run by Jim Cashman and Walter Swartz. (c. late 1920s-early 1930s)
0792 Ferry boat pilots who worked on Lake Mead. (c. 1937)
Jack Miller, Pop Emery, Fred Hilty, Murl Emery, Dick Swartz,
George Davis, Horace Emery.
0793 Aerial photo of Las Vegas Strip. (1962)
0794 Aerial photo of the Sands Hotel and adjacent property (photocopy).
(c. 1970s or later)
0795 Union Pacific Railroad depot, Las Vegas, Nevada. (c. 1940s)
` (Pls credit: Union Pacific Railroad)
0796 Hoover Dam under construction. (c. 1930s)
0797 M. Milius, a construction worker on Hoover Dam, poses near huge pipe used
in construction. (c. 1930s)
0798 Round-Up Drive-In Restaurant, Las Vegas, NV. (postcard) (c. 1940s-50s)
0799 Rat Pack posed in front of the Sands marquee. (postcard)
L-R: Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin, Sammy Davis Jr., Peter Lawford,
        Joey Bishop. (c. 1950s)
0800 Interior view of Las Vegas Coca Cola Bottling Company at 424 N. Main St. (1934) Shows the production line. (See photo #0171-0789related)
0801 Color postcard of the sign at the Thunderbird Hotel. (c. 1950s) Featured on the marquee were Gordon MacRae, Marilyn Michaels, and The Golddiggers.
0802 Past presidents of Temple Beth Sholom, Las Vegas, Nevada. (c. 1978) Standing, L-R: Mel Moss, Jack Entratter, Harry Wallenstein, Al Goot, David Zenoff, Jerry Mack.
Seated, L-R: Nate Mack (Jerrys father), Mike Gordon, Lloyd Katz.
0803 Payroll guards, Six Companies Inc., (builders of Hoover Dam) (c. 1931-35)
Group portrait.
0804 Sahara Hotel entrance, Las Vegas, c. 1954.
0805 Flamingo Hotel, Las Vegas Nevada. (c. 1954)
0806 Sands Hotel, Las Vegas, Nevada. Dean Martin is on the marquee. (c. 1954)
0807 Riviera Hotel, Las Vegas, Nevada. Harry Belafonte on the marquee.
(c. 1954)
0808 Sal Sagev Hotel, Golden Gate CasinoLas Vegas. (1972)
0809 Bus terminal, downtown Las Vegas, 1972.
0810 Union Plaza Hotel in downtown Las Vegas 1972.
0811 Entrance to Union Plaza Hotel, Las Vegas, NV. (1972)
0171
SINGLE ITEM ACCESSIONS COLLECTION

0812 Downtown Las Vegas (?) (1972)
0813 Union Plaza Hoteldowntown Las Vegas. (1972)
0814 Goldfield Consolidated Mines Companymine officec. late l800s.
0815 University of Nevada Regents Brenda Mason, John Buchanan, Lily Fong, being sworn in by Justice Gordon Thompson (left) of the Nevada Supreme Court,on Jan. 24, 1975, in the Center of Religious Life in Reno, Nevada.
0815a Brenda Mason (holding phone) with Teacher Corps. (1974) She was the Community Coordinator for the Teacher Corps.
0816 University of Nevada Board of Regents (1979)
Back row, L-R: John Tom Ross, Louis Lombardi, Molly Knudtsen, Lily Fong, James Bucky Buchanan.
Front row, L-R: Robert Cashell, Brenda Mason, John McBride, Chris Karamanos.
0817 Aladdin Hotel at right, Dunes Hotel on the left, looking north on Las Vegas
Boulevard. (c. 1960s-70s)
0818 Donald Moyer, former Chancellor of the University of Nevada System. (1967)
(NEGATIVE ONLY)
0819 J. Kell Houssels, Jr. (color photo)
0820 Wittwer Motel and Caf, Las Vegas, NV. (color postcard)
(c. 1940s?)
0821 Joe W. Browns one million dollar horseshoe. Was on display at Joe W. Browns Horseshoe Club in downtown Las Vegas. (color postcard)
0822 Transcontinental highway near Boulder Dam. (color linen postcard)
0823 Pioneer Club, Las Vegas, NV. (c. 1930s-40s) -- color postcard.
0824 LobbyHotel Sahara in Las Vegas. (color postcard)
0825 Lowering loaded boxcar of power house machinery by 150 ton cableway at Hoover Dam during construction. (c. 1930s) (color linen postcard)
0826 Horseshoe Club on Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV. (color linen postcard)
--c. 1930s-40s.
0827 Hoover Dam, Lake Mead in background. (color postcard)
0828 Sahara Hotel, Las Vegas, NV. (c. 1950s) (color linen postcard)
0829 Wee Kirk O the Heather Wedding Chapel, Las Vegas, Nevada. (color postcarddrawing)
0830 Clark County Court House, Las Vegas, Nevada. (color linen postcard)
0831 PostcardGreeting from Las Vegas, Nevadawith pictures of various scenes in and around Las Vegas.
0832 Fremont Street looking east, Las Vegas, Nev. (color linen postcard)
0833 Kiddie ParadeHelldorado Celebration in Las Vegas. (1956) El Cortez in background. Sunrise Acres School float. Nurse is a teacher; bride is Helen Leonard; boy with top hat is Richard Leonard. (they are siblings) Scout leader is Richard Hadland.
0834 First big movie premiere in Las Vegas. (1952) At Fremont TheatreThe Las Vegas Story starring Jane Russell and Victor Mature.
0835 The outside of the Sahara Hotel and Casino Las Vegas c. 1950s/1960s
0171
SINGLE ITEM ACCESSIONS COLLECTION

0836 The outside of the Sahara Hotel and Casino Las Vegas c. 1950s/1960s
0837 The outside of the Sahara Hotel and Casino Las Vegas c. 1950s/1960s
0838 The outside of the Sahara Hotel and Casino Las Vegas c. 1950s/1960s
0839 The Silver Slipper Casino, Las Vegas, Nevada C. 1950s, 1960s
0840 The Tropicana Hotel and Casino, Las Vegas, Nevada C. 1950s, 1960s
0841 Nevada Test Site Picnic Area 1957
0842 Nevada Test Site Picnic Area 1957
0843 A horse and carriage in an unknown parade n.d. (color slide only)
0844 An unknown parade n.d. (color slide only)
0845 An unknown parade n.d. (color slide only)
0846 Binions Horseshoe Hotel and Casino carriage n.d. (color slide only)
0847 Hotel Fremont Casino n.d. (color slide only)
0848 Showboat Hotel and Casino n.d. (color slide only)
0849 Showboat Hotel and Casino n.d. (color slide only)
0850 Binions Horseshoe Hotel and Casino n.d. (color slide only)
0851 4 Queens Hotel and Casino n.d. (color slide only)
0852 Red Carter Casino, Hotel Fremont in the background n.d. (color slide only)
0853 Playing cards face up showing four queens n.d. (color slide only)
0854 Entrance to the Horseshoe Hotel and Casino n.d. (color slide only)
0855 Hilton Flamingo n.d. (color slide only)
0856 Early construction of the Hoover Dam December 1, 1932. (OVERSIZE)
0857 Early construction of the Hoover Dam January 18, 1933. (OVERSIZE)
0858 Early construction of the Hoover Dam February 10, 1933. (OVERSIZE)
0859 Early construction of the Hoover Dam April 1, 1933. (OVERSIZE)
0860 Early construction of the Hoover Dam April 30, 1933. (OVERSIZE)
0861 Early construction of the Hoover Dam June 27, 1933. (OVERSIZE)
0862 Construction of the Hoover Dam March 28, 1934. (OVERSIZE)
0863 Construction of the Hoover Dam May 29, 1934. (OVERSIZE)
0864 Construction of the Hoover Dam August 25, 1934. (OVERSIZE)
0865 Construction of the Hoover Dam January 2, 1935. (OVERSIZE)
0866 Construction of the Hoover Dam March 26, 1935. (OVERSIZE)
0867 The aftermath of a flood in Caesars Palace parking lot July 1975.
0868 A postcard of the Candlelight Wedding Chapel located at 2855 Las Vegas Blvd Las Vegas, Nevada 89109 n.d.
0869    A panorama of Las Vegas, Nevada taken from the Salt Lake Depot that was under construction August 1905. (OVERSIZE)
0870 An event to gift land for the construction of the Guardian Angel 1962. From left to right: Elias Atol, Gus Greenbaum, Monsignor James Empey from the St. Joan of Arc parish (1957 - 10/26/1962 d.), Jake Keslof, Bishop Robert J. Dwyer the Bishop of Reno (8/5/1952 - 1966), Willy Alderman (Icepick Willy), Cardinal James F. McIntyre the Archbishop of Los Angeles (1948-1970), Bishop Thomas K. Gorman(?) or Monsignor Daniel Murphy(?), Benny Binion Horseshoe Club, Moe Dalitz (Desert Inn), and Ben Goffstein.
0171
SINGLE ITEM ACCESSIONS COLLECTION

Postcards
0871 A colored postcard of the Las Vegas Club in Las Vegas, Nevada.
0872 A colored postcard of The Last Frontier Village in Las Vegas, Nevada.
0873 A colored postcard of the Old West Motor Hotel in Las Vegas, Nevada.
0874 A colored postcard of the Monte Carlo Club in Las Vegas, Nevada.
0875 A colored postcard of a restaurant in The Nugget Club in Las Vegas, Nevada.
0876 A colored postcard of the one million dollar display in the Horseshoe Club in Las Vegas, Nevada.
0877 A colored postcard of the Sands Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada.
0878 A colored postcard of the paradise pool at the Sands Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada.
0879 A colored postcard of the Copa Room in the Sands Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada.
0880 A colored postcard of the Sands Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada.
0881 A colored postcard of the swimming pool at the Sahara Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada.
0882 A colored postcard of the swimming pool at the Dunes Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada.
0883 A colored postcard of the bingo room at the Golden Nugget Gambling Hall in Las Vegas, Nevada.
0884 A colored postcard of the Golden Nugget Gambling Hall Saloon and Restaurant in Las Vegas, Nevada.
0885 A colored postcard of the Golden Nugget Gambling Hall in Las Vegas, Nevada.
0886 A colored postcard of the Sparks Nugget in Nevada.

Helldorado Parade (Slides only)
0887 Budweiser cart and horses in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV July 1996
0888 Go karts in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV July 1996
0889 Women in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV July 1996
0890 A marching band in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV July 1996
0891 Meadow Gold cart pulled by horses in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV July 1996
0892 A horseman in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV July 1996
0893 Horses in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV July 1996
0894 A marching band in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV July 1996
0895 A man playing a guitar in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV July 1996
0896 Budweiser cart and horses in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV July 1996
0897 A float in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV July 1996
0898 A buggy pulled by horses in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV July 1996
0899 Horses in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV July 1996
0900 Knights fighting in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV July 1996
0901 Horses in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV July 1996
0902 Budweiser cart and horses in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV July 1996
0171
SINGLE ITEM ACCESSIONS COLLECTION

Helldorado Parade (continued) (Slides Only)
0903 Horses in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV July 1996
0904 A marching band in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV July 1996
0905 International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local Union 357 and 396 float in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV July 1996
0906 A marching band in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV July 1996
0907 People in costume in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV July 1996
0908 A carriage with people led by a horse in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV July 1996
0909 Budweiser cart and horses in in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV July 1996
0910 Antique cars in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV July 1996
0911 People in costumes on horseback in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV July 1996
0912 People in costumes on horseback in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV July
0913 Men in uniform on horseback in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV 1955
0914 A float in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV 1955
0915 People in costumes on horseback in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV 1955
0916 A patriotic float in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV 1955
0917 The high and the mighty (presumably an air force float) in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV 1955
0918 A float in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV 1955
0919 Laugh, clown, laugh float in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV 1955
0920 A float in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV 1955
0921 Pioneer club float in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV 1955
0922 Boulder club float in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV 1955
0923 A float in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV 1955
0924 Horsemen in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV 1955
0925 Horsemen in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV 1955
0926 California Club in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV 1955
0927 A float in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV 1955
0928 As Time Goes By: Nellis Air Force Base float in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV 1955
0929 A float in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV 1955
0930 A float in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV 1955
0931 Sahara float in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV 1955
0932 A train float in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV 1955
0933 A float in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV 1955
0934 A patriotic float in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV 1955
0935 A rocket float in the Helldorado Parade in Las Vegas, NV 1955


0171
SINGLE ITEM ACCESSIONS COLLECTION

Las Vegas skyline (negatives only)
0936 The Las Vegas skyline showing the Sahara, Stratosphere, Stardust, Circus Circus, and the Frontier Ca. 1990s/early 2000s
0937 The Las Vegas skyline showing the Luxor at the southernmost point and the Circus Circus at the northernmost point Ca. 1990s/early 2000s
0938 The Las Vegas skyline taken from the south showing the Strip casinos and the Rio Ca. 1990s/early 2000s
0939 The Las Vegas Strip looking south showing the Boardwalk Casino, Harrahs, Imperial Palace, The Mirage, Caesars Palace, Ballys, and MGM Ca. 1990s/early 2000s
0940 The Las Vegas skyline showing the area from Fremont Street south to the Rio Ca. 1990s/early 2000s

Hologram Las Vegas past and present postcards
0941 A hologram postcard showing The Flamingo in 1950 and 2011
0942 A hologram postcard showing Castaways in 1964 and The Mirage in 2011
0943 A hologram postcard showing Fremont Street in 1930 and 2011
0944 A hologram postcard showing The MGM in 1979 and Ballys in 2011
0945 A hologram postcard showing Las Vegas slot machines in 1960 and 2011
0946 A hologram postcard showing The Sands in 1953 and The Venetian in 2011
0947 A hologram postcard showing the Las Vegas welcome sign and aerials from 1964 and 2011
0948 A hologram postcard showing Wilbur Clarks Desert Inn in 1950 and The Wynn in 2011
0949 A hologram postcard showing The Dunes in 1965 and Bellagio in 2011
0950 A hologram postcard showing The Golden Nugget in 1970 and 2011
0951 A hologram postcard showing Caesars Palace in 1966 and 2011
0952 A hologram postcard showing The Dunes in 1955 and Bellagio in 2011

Las Vegas, Nevada
0953 A slot machine with a sign that reads, The Machine That Made Las Vegas Famous Ca. early 1900s
0954 An aerial of the Last Frontier in Las Vegas, Nevada Ca. 1940s
0955 The First State Bank in Las Vegas, Nevada Ca. early 1900s
0956 An aerial of the El Rancho in Las Vegas, Nevada Ca. late 1940s/early 1950s
0957 An aerial of downtown Las Vegas, Nevada Ca. 1910
0958 An aerial of Las Vegas, Nevada. The wide dirt road is Charleston Blvd. Stretching east to Sunrise Mountain. The subdivision in the center of the photograph is Carol Lombards Huntridge just after the last homes were built. Ca. mid 1900s
0959 The Excalibur Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada Ca. 1990s
0960 The exterior of the Bellagio in Las Vegas, Nevada Ca. early 2000s

0171
SINGLE ITEM ACCESSIONS COLLECTION

Las Vegas, Nevada (continued)
0961 The shopping area in the Bellagio in Las Vegas, Nevada Ca. early 2000s
0962 Moschino in the shopping area in the Bellagio in Las Vegas, Nevada Ca.
early 2000s
0963 A guestroom in the Bellagio in Las Vegas, Nevada Ca. early 2000s
0964 The pool at the Bellagio in Las Vegas, Nevada Ca. early 2000s
0965 The Gallery of Fine Arts at the Bellagio in Las Vegas, Nevada Ca. early 2000s
0966 An exterior view of the Bellagio in Las Vegas, Nevada at twilight, showing the exterior of the shops and water in the front of the casino Ca. early 2000s
0967 The registration lobby at the Bellagio in Las Vegas, Nevada Ca. early 2000s
0968 The El Rancho Casino on fire on June 17, 1960