Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

0071
Bureau of Reclamation

(To access this collection, contact Special Collections or use this feedback form.)


Boulder Canyon Project

0001    Sign at entrance to Boulder Canyon Project Federal Reservation in Nevada; December 1, 1931
0002    Same as above; May 8, 1932
0003    Same as above; May 8, 1932


0017    Same as above; May 7, 1932
0018    Six Companies five-room residences; Ash Street, Boulder City; view to the north; December 1, 1931
0019    Employees were paid on the 10th & 25th of each month. This view shows the swing shift lined up at the Paymaster's window; January 25, 1932
0020    Prior to the Advent of cold weather, the canyon workers were transported to the jobs from Boulder City in buses. This view shows the swing shift ready to leave from dorm #2; November 7, 1931


0071 BUREAU OF RECLAMATION COLLECTION


Construction phase-Boulder Canyon Project

0021    Nine "cover wagons" , each having a capacity of 48 men, were used to transport workmen from Boulder City to the canyon. Buses are canvas-covered, side curtains can be raised during hot weather; January 7, 1932
0022    One of the several barges used in transferring truck and heavy material across the river. This one is equipped with a double drum hoist; January 10, 1932.
0023    Several boats were used to transport men, powder, and supplies up and down the canyon; January 10, 1932
0024    Six Companies, Inc. employees aligning and oiling 6 miles of road down Hemenway Wash, toward the upper portals; November 19, 1931
0025    Mixing the oil finish for the Hemenway Wash Road; November 19, 1931
0026    Team outfit on Boulder City branch of Los Angeles & Salt Lake Railroad; October 25, 1930.
0027    Drilling the first round in enlarging upper portal of diversion tunnel no. 2. The welded steel "Jumbo" mounted on the truck has 25 air drills on it. The swing shift crew is waiting to go to work; November 18, 1931
0028    Excavation for Hoover Dam construction substation, Nevada- California Power Company ; March 27, 1931
0029    Secretary of the Interior Ray Lyman Wilbur at ceremony which inaugurated construction on Boulder City branch of Los Angeles & Salt Lake Railroad. L-R: Senator Key Pittman of Nevada; Governor Fred Balzar of Nevada; Carl Gray, president of Union Pacific Railroad system; Secretary Wilbur holding Nevada silver spike and Senator Tasker L. Oddie of Nevada. February 13, 1932


Bureau of Reclamation - Las Vegas Gravel Testing Laboratory

0030    Completed repairs, Las Vegas Laboratory
0031    Completed Gravels Testing Laboratory; figure may be O.G. Patch
0032    Las Vegas Laboratory, September 20, 1929; O.G. Patch in foreground.
0033    Interior of Las Vegas Laboratory; September 20, 1929; O.G. Patch
0034    Las Vegas Laboratory, September 20, 1929
0035    Las Vegas Laboratory, September 20, 1929
0036    Las Vegas Laboratory, September 20, 1929, Henry Wieking in center of photograph. Setting of window and door casements preparatory to rebuilding adobe walls
0037    Setting of door casement and foundation forms preparatory to rebuilding adobe walls. Pictured: G.G. Walter, Henry Wieking; September 20, 1929
0038    Interior of Las Vegas Gravel Testing Laboratory


0071    BUREAU OF RECLAMATION COLLECTION


Excavation Willow Beach site, 1950

0039    Excavation Willow Beach site, 1950?
0040    Excavation Willow Beach site, 1950?
0041    Excavation Willow Beach site, 1950?
0042    Excavation Willow Beach site, 1950?
0043    Excavation Willow Beach site, 1950?
0044    Excavation Willow Beach site, 1950?
0045    Excavation Willow Beach site, 1950?
0046    Excavation Willow Beach site, 1950?
0047    Excavation; L-R: Bob Webb, Ann Helms, Barbara Russell and H.O. Watts Young Presidents Organization's party at Hoover Dam ; March 9, 1971
0048    Young Presidents Organization arranged a party for nearly 1000 people, held on the powerhouse roof of Hoover Dam. The visitors, all wearing hardhats, were the first to use this setting. Tables, chairs, barbeque pits, a bandstand and dance floor are shown on the power house roof
0049    Same as above
0050    Same as above
0051    Same as above
0052    Same as above
0053    Same as above
0054    Same as above
0055    Same as above
0056    Dick Woodward (L). Young Presidents Organization Convention Chairman and Frank Lord Hoover Dam Project Manager are shown greeting Bureau of Reclamation Commissioner Ellis L. Armstrong o his arrival at the Dam: 3/9/71.
0057    Commissioner of Bureau of Reclamation Ellis L. Armstrong ( R ) greets Art Linkletter, upon arrival at dam.
0058    L-R: Art Linkletter, Dick Woodward, Ellis Armstrong
0059    Group photo includes Ellis L. Armstrong, Dick Woodward and Frank Lord March 9, 1971.
0060    Dick Woodward and Ellis Armstrong; March 9, 1971
0061    Hotel at ST. Thomas, Nevada 5-13-34
0062    Abandoned School Building at St. Thomas, Nevada. 5-13-34
0063    Abandoned homestead , St. Thomas, Nevada. 5-13-34
0064    Two cars abandoned by their owners. St. Thomas, Nevada 4-11-45
0065    Looking toward the Mormon Mesa. St. Thomas, Nevada, 4-11.45
0066    View of a portion of the townsite of St. Thomas.
0067    St. Thomas, Nevada 3-25-64
0068    St. Thomas, Nevada 3-25-64
0069    St. Thomas, Nevada 3-25-64


0071    BUREAU OF RECLAMATION COLLECTION



***The following 16 photos were taken from the same camera view-point looking upstream during the construction of the Hoover Dam. These photos cover the entire construction phase of the Dam from beginning to completion, 10-12-31 thru 9-11-36



0070    Hoover Dam site at Black Canyon, 10-12-31
0071    Construction phase of Hoover Dam 12-01-32
0072    Construction phase of Hoover Dam 1-18-33
0073    Construction phase of Hoover Dam 2-10-33
0074    Construction phase of Hoover Dam 4-01-33
0075    Construction phase of Hoover Dam 4-30-33
0076    Construction phase of Hoover Dam 6-27-33
0077    Construction phase of Hoover Dam 12-15-33
0078    Construction phase of Hoover Dam 3-28-34
0079    Construction phase of Hoover Dam 4-27-34
0080    Construction phase of Hoover Dam 5-29-34
0081    Construction phase of Hoover Dam 8-25-34
0082    Construction phase of Hoover Dam 1-02-35
0083    Construction phase of Hoover Dam 3-26-35
0084    Construction phase of Hoover Dam 11-26-35
0085    Completed Hoover Dam, water spilling through the Arizona penstock outlets,    9-11-36
0086    President Franklin D. Roosevelt delivering the dedication address of Hoover Dam, 9-30-35
0087    "Pickers" at work harvesting celery plants on the IKI ranch near Logandale, Nevada. 6/4/47
0088    A 38- foot water wheel lifts water 30 feet from the muddy river to irrigate a farm near Glendale, Nevada 1/21/47


Additions to Collection



0089    Airplane motor propelled boat used in photographic survey of Colorado River between dam and Jumbo Wash. 3/16/35
0090    View of Lake Mead, boat docks and bathing beach, showing development by National Park Service of area for bathing and picnicking. 6/29/37
0091    J.C. Page, Mrs. Ickes, Sen. Ickes and I. C. Harris, in the Nevada wing of the Hoover Dam power plant. 2/23/39
0092    Boulder Canyon, Mr. And Mrs. Tyrone Power visit Boulder Dam. With them are Mr. M. McKeen (Thompson Trophy Pilot)
0093    Visit of Secretary Wilbur and party to Black Canyon Dam site. Party at ST. Thomas, Nevada. 6/23/39
0094    Interior view of the Uptown Hardware Store in Boulder City. 8/28/39
0095    View of downtown Las Vegas, Nevada, looking east from the corner of Fremont and Main Streets. 7/17/45.


0071    BUREAU OF RECLAMATION COLLECTION


Additions to Collection (cont.)

0096    Aerial view, looking west, of downtown Las Vegas, Nevada. 1/20/47
0097    An abandoned steam tractor. According to the story told, this was one of the first three tractors ever built. One was shipped here to Eldorado Canyon to move ore and one was shipped to Death Valley for the Borax works (it is still in Death Valley). The other one was sent to South America to a mine. The one in Death Valley supposedly worked out fairly well being used mostly in sand. This one, it is told, was not too successful. The drive mechanism was by way of teeth on the inside of the big black wheels, driven by a pinion gear at the top. Small stones fell into the wheel and stuck in the grease necessitating frequent stops to remove the stones. The driver stood on a platform at the rear. May 1947.
0098    Jay Porter, Boulder City, in his Express Cruiser escorts the Neville Expedition into Pierce Perry, Arizona, at the head waters of Lake Mead. L-R: in the "Joan" are: Mrs. Otis Marston, Berkeley, CA; Joe Desloge, Jr., St. Louis, MO, at the oars; and Dr. Otis Marston, Berkeley, CA. In the "Sandra" are: Anne Desloge, ST. Louis, MO; Garth Marston, Berkeley, CA, at the oars; and Zoe Desloge, ST. Louis, MO. In the "Mexican Hat" are: Joe Desloge, ST. Louis, MO; Kent Frost, boatman; and Marie Salnsfrank, ST. Louis, MO. In the "Wen" are: Randall Henderson, editor of Desert Magazine, El Centro, CA; Norman Nellville at the oars; and A. Milotte Wait , Disney Productions, Burbank, CA. 8/1/47
0099    View showing Senator Wm. F. Knowland, left, Mrs. R.A. Taft and Senator Robert A. Taft during a recent visit to world famous Hoover Dam. 9/18/47
0100    The late afternoon sun highlights the transmission lines from Hoover Dam. 9/18/47
0101    Ancient Indian petroglyphs at Atlatl Rock, Valley of Fire near ST. Thomas, Nevada. 4/20/35
0102    Restored kiva or underground ceremonial chamber at Lost City (Pueblo Escondido), near ST. Thomas, Nevada 5/13/34
0103    Site of archaeological excavation near the Colorado River, 14 miles below Hoover Dam, where National Park and Service has recently uncovered valuable specimens of prehistoric civilization of Patayan Indians. 12/10/47
0104    Site of Old Mormon Canal which was in use about 1865 near Overton, Nevada. 2/20/48
0105    "Big Snow" in Boulder City, Nevada. Photograph shows transmission lines crossing snow covered Eldorado Canyon. January 1949
0106    General Dwight D. Eisenhower on Nevada Powerhouse ramp talks with Director of Power, L to R: Douglass. 6/22/52
0107    Lake Mead's swimming beach. 8/28/55
0108    Looking down the loading docks is seen at the left of the strip. 8/28/55



0071    BUREAU OF RECLAMATION COLLECTION


Additions to Collection (cont.)



0109    Shown are the members of Boulder City, Nevada, Charter Committee, seated L-R: Thomas S. White , M.D. , Morgan J. Sweeney, Clarence Arp, Andrew J. Mitchell, Robert N. Broadbent, Richard Ham, Joe Manix, Jane Cooke, Teresa Denning, & Eloise Blue; standing are Elbert B. Edwards, Byron L. Miller, Albert Franklin, A. B. West & Thomas Clapper. Dec.1958
0110    Signing official contracts and deeds from the U.S. Bureau of Reclamation to Boulder City are: standing L-R, Joe Manix, Thomas White, M.D., Albert Franklin, and Morgan Sweeney; seat Lorraine Kautz, A.B. West , Robert Broadbent, and Milton N. Nathanson. 1/4/60
0111    Ragtown homes.
0112    "Big Bertha", the Six Companies, Inc. motor transport between Boulder City and the dam. This double decked truck hauls 154 men.
0113    "Big Bertha", the Six Companies, Inc. motor transport between Boulder City and the dam. This double decked truck hauls 154 men.
0114    Boulder City
0115    Boulder City. Single Family residences erected in Boulder City.
0116    A view of a Big Horn Mountain Sheep. Date and photographer unknown.
0117    John Wesley Powell -winter of 1869.
0118    Major John Wesley Powell, 2nd director of Geological Survey (March 28, 1881 to    June 7, 1894)
0119    The deserted town of old Callville looking downstream. Shows largest building approximately 30' X 120' and built of masonry. 2/2/21
0120    View looking toward river in proposed Black Canyon Reservoir near boat landing. Fortification Mountain in background. 6/24/29
0121    Black Canyon Reservoir site from Monument Pass on Nevada side of river. Photo taken at 6:25 a.m. 7/23/29
0122    L-R: W.A. Bechtel, First Vice President Six Companies, Inc.; Walker R. Young, Construction Engineer, Bureau of Reclamation; Elwood Mead, Commissioner, Bureau of Reclamation, F.T. Crowe, General Superintendent, Six Companies, Inc; R. F. Walter, Chief Engineer, Bureau of Reclamation. July 1931. H.A. Brown, Photographer.
0123    L-R: Hannah Houn, Stenographer; Cecile M. Dotson, Mails and File Clerk; Rose V. Cripps, Stenographer. 12/15/31
0124    Government fire fighting equipment, Boulder City. The driver of the truck is Robert Hewes in charge of fire detail. 12/28/31
0125    3 high scalers at work in location for Arizona intake towers. 8/15/32


0071    BUREAU OF RECLAMATION COLLECTION


Additions to Collection (cont.)

0126    President Herbert Hoover and official party in tunnel No.2 during inspection tour of Boulder Canyon Project. L-R: Construction Engineer W.R. Young , Bureau of Reclamation: Mr. Ritchey , Secretary to W.R. Young, Bureau of Reclamation; Mr. Ritchey, Secretary to the President; Chief Engineer R.F. Walter, Bureau of Reclamation; Mrs. Hoover; President Hoover; Mrs. Wilbur; Secretary of Interior R.L. Wilbur; E.O. Wattis, First Vice-President, Six Companies, Inc. F.T. Crowe, Gen. Supt., Six Companies , Inc. 11/12/32
0128    Group who witnessed the pouring of the first concrete in Hoover Dam proper. L-R: H.J. Lawler, Director of Six Companies, Inc.; Walker R. Young, Construction Engineer, U.S. Bureau of Reclamation; Frank T. Crowe, General Superintendent, Six Companies, Inc.; C.A. Shea, Director of Construction, Six Companies, Inc. W.A. Bethel, President, Six Companies, Inc.; R.F. Walter, Chief Engineer, U.S. Bureau of Reclamation; Theodore A.Walters, First Assistant Secretary of the Interior ; Ed Clark & C.P. Squires, members of the original Colorado River Commission. June 6, 1933.
0129    Boulder Canyon Dam "C" Dam site.
0130    Fortification Hill as seen from the Nevada shore of Black Canyon Reservoir. 2/26/35
0131    View showing extension work on Nevada Spillway Tunnel #2 at Hoover Dam. Work performed by Guy F. Atkinson Company of San Francisco, California. 4/26/46
0132    Looking upstream through Nevada spillway overflow weir under construction at right, completed section of channel lining and parapet at left. 8/29/33.
0133    First 8 cubic yard batch of concrete being placed in Boulder Dam proper. 6/6/33
0134    Thirty foot diameter steel penstock pipe set up fro joint assembly at the Babcock and Wilcox Co. Plant. 12/10/33
0135    Placing concrete in block at mid-section of Dam. Eight cubic yard bucket handled by cableway is in use. July 18, 1933
0136    Evaporation Tower for dam pre-cooling system located on downstream cofferdam. View from Nevada outlet house bench. 6/26/33.
0137    Upstream face of the dam as seen from portal of construction tunnel on Nevada side of Black Canyon. 2/27/35.
0138    View looking upstream in the Nevada Turbine Gallery. The runner for turbine N-2 has been placed and the wicket gates are about to be set. 7/10/36.
0139    View of Memorial Day crowds waiting to visit the power plant. Note persons holding tickets ready for guide to collect. Roof of cashiers booth may be seen beyond awning. 5/30/37
0140    Rotating field for the generator for unit N5 under erection. Field poles installed ready for testing. 6/24/37
0141    View of the 50 foot diameter tunnel below Arizona Tunnel Plug outlet works with Stoney Gate at the end of the tunnel lowered. 12/27/38.


0071    BUREAU OF RECLAMATION COLLECTION

Additions to Collection (cont.)


0142    View of bank 287.5 KVV transformers along the ramp of the Arizona powerhouse. April 1941.
0143    Boulder Dam-statue.
0144    Boat dock on Nevada side of Colorado River operated by permittees. 3/14/35.


Flood at Nelson's Landing, Nevada


0145    Aerial view of Nelson's Landing prior to the Sept. 14, 1974 flood.

0146    Aerial view of Nelson's Landing after the Sept. 14, 1974 flood.
0146    Nelson's Landing after the September 14, 1974 flood; Salvage/recovery operations.
0147    Nelson's Landing after the September 14, 1974 flood: salvage and recovery operations.
0148    Eldorado Canyon and Nelson's Landing after the September 14, 1974 flood: recovery/salvage operations nearly complete.
0149    Aerial view of Nelson's Landing after the September 14, 1974: salvage / recovery operations nearly completed. (Debris being burned)
0150    Path of the flood into Eldorado Canyon and Nelson's Landing, September 14, 1974.: Colorado River in background.
0151    Path of the flood into Eldorado Canyon and Nelson's Landing, September 14, 1974.
0152    Damage to the road above Eldorado Canyon from flood of September 14, 1974
0153    Damage to a mobile home at Nelson's Landing after the flood, September 14, 1974.
0154    Scuba operations at Nelson's Landing the day after the flood, September 16, 1974
0155    Clean-up operations at Nelson's Landing two days after the flood, September 16, 1974.


Additions to collection - Boulder City

0156    Aerial view of Boulder City Junior-Senior High School. (1949).
0157    Aerial view of Boulder City. Bureau of Reclamation Administration Building, center foreground. Junior-Senior High School. (1949)
0158    Administration building Boulder City Junior -Senior High School. (1949)
0159    Library, Boulder City Junior-Seminar 1949
0160    Boulder City Library in its new quarters on the top floor of the Municipal Building Adult reading room. (1958)
0161    Boulder City Library Children's Collection- in its new home on the top floor of the Municipal Building.



0071        BUREAU OF RECLAMATION COLLECTION


Additions to collection - Boulder City (cont.)

0162    Boulder City Library in its new quarters on the top floor of the Municipal Building-Librarian's Office (1958)
0163    Municipal Building, Boulder City, Nevada. (ca. 1955-58)
0164    Boulder City Library in the basement of the Municipal Building. "Let's Play Indians".
0165    Boulder City Library summer recreation program -"Let's Play Indians". (8-31-51)
0166    Boulder City Library summer reading program. (ca. 1950s)
0167    Vacation Reading Club at the Boulder City Library (then housed in the basement of the Municipal Building.) August 1950.
0168    Boulder City Library patrons. (Library was housed in the basement of the Municipal Building) 11/10/50.
0169    Book display at the Boulder City Library (then in basement of the Municipal Building) 11/10/50
0170    Boulder City Library-Reference shelve3s and children's display. (Library then located in the Municipal Building) 1950.
0171    Boulder City Library -basement of the Municipal Building (Nov. 1949)

Additions

172    "Guests on Lake Mead: members of the [Nevada] State Board of Control are guests on the Thunderbird [Hotel's] new cruiser with Lt. Governor Cliff Jones at the controls. From left: Dan Franks, State Treasurer; Cliff Jones , Ralph Thomas, Secretary to Governor [Charles H. ]Russell; Peter Merialso, State Controller; and John Koontz, Secretary of State." July 18, 1851. Cliff Segerblom, Photographer.
173    Black workers on the Hoover Dam construction project mucking out a diversion tunnel invert, ca. 1932-1933. (several views) Taken from video: TC 557.5 H6 H65x "Hoover Dam and Boulder City"



0071    BUREAU OF RECLAMATION COLLECTION



***All of the following photos (except #0181) taken from : A Study of the Boulder City Schools, Boulder City, Nevada, by George William Lang, Jr. [UNLV Spec. Coll. #LA 327 B6 L3]



0174    Secretary of the Interior , DR. Ray Lyman Wilbur, under whose supervision the Boulder Canyon Project work commenced, in a tour of inspection, September 23, 1932. A view of the concrete form used in lining the 50 ft. diversion tunnels at outlet portal of Diversion Tunnel No. 2.

0175    A caravan of over 500 automobiles entering Boulder City for purpose of visiting Boulder Canyon Project. November 1932. [Perhaps to see the diversion of the Colorado River, November 14, 1932.]
0176    A view of the completed construction of Diversion Tunnel No. 4 one of four 50 ft. diversion tunnels. October 26, 1932
0177    Nevada spillway, Boulder Canyon project. May 1933.
0178    Secretary of Interior , Ray Lyman Wilbur, naming Hoover Dam (later changed to Boulder Dam) at a ceremony celebrating the beginning of work on Boulder Canyon Project and beginning of the construction of U.P. Railroad from Boulder Junction [Bracken Junction] to dam site. September 17, 1930
0179    Looking upstream into Black Canyon from dam site-Fortification Hill in distance, tunnel lining forms near inlet portals of Nevada diversion tunnels. August 1. 1932.
0180    Deep-sea divers, U.S. Navy, Lake Mead Sedimentation Survey. (1948/49)**
0181    A view of Black Canyon during construction of Boulder Dam including cableway elevator which transports Boulder Dam fathers to and from work. Pilot house on Nevada side. May 1933.
0182    Excavation activities at the bed of Boulder Dam, with high scalers displaying clinging skill on the walls of the Black Canyon. (1932/33)
0183    Blasts being fired simultaneously in Arizona (left) and Nevada (right) intake towers locations. October 18, 1932.
0184    Looking downstream toward Boulder dam site from lower slope of upper coffer dam. Base of Nevada intake towers excavation seen in upper right. December 31, 1932


**See photo board for source of photo.

0185    A portion of the incessant stream of tourists visiting Boulder Canyon Project. (1932/33)
0186    A night view of excavation work on Boulder Dam Construction. Boulder Dam fathers work three eight hour shifts. (1932/33)
0187    An entrance view of the Boulder City School during its period of construction. August 1932.



0071    BUREAU OF RECLAMATION COLLECTION


***All of the following photos (except #0181) taken from : A Study of the Boulder City Schools, Boulder City, Nevada, by George William Lang, Jr. [UNLV Spec. Coll. #LA 327 B6 L3] - (CONT.)


0188    The first eighth grade class of the Boulder City School. Principal, Miss Leila Tilley, in the rear. Note the glaring white walls of the classroom. 10/5/32
0189    400 school children of an early 550 pupil enrollment in front of the Boulder City School.    October 5, 1932
0190    A typical privy used by the school children of Boulder City in their first residential schools, later replaced by a Federal sewage disposal system. (1932/33)
0191    View of one of the three residences used as Boulder City's first school. (1932) ["This was a Six Companies house at the intersection of Avenue B and what was then Cherry Street, now New Mexico Street; Also, this wasn't quite the first school: there were schools for rail yard, a school at Railroad Pass, and a school in McKeeversville/Lakeview" Bethe's inscription]
0192    A movable, adjustable pupil desk and seat used in the Boulder City School. (1932/33)
0193    A view of a portion of Boulder City from Water Tank Hill. March 3, 1933. [Bethe: "This photo is significant because it shows the Babcock & Wilcox Company housed under construction in the middle distance.]


Miscellaneous

0194    At right: Walker R. Young, chief construction engineer on the Boulder Canyon Project for the Bureau of Reclamation. (1932/33)
0195    Aerial view of Hoover Dam and Power plant with Lake Mead in background. Hoover Dam was completed in 1935.
0196    Looking upstream through Black Canyon from a point of rock on Nevada side one-half mile below Hoover dam site. Lower dam site is at prominent point on right. (4-12-22)
0197    Eight cubic yards capacity bucket discharging load into dam forms at upstream face of dam. (10-2-34 B.D. Glaha, photographer.)
0198    Hoover Dam as seen from the reservoir immediately upstream. Reservoir surface at elevation 709. (2-28-35) Bureau of Rec. photo by B.D. Glaha.
0199    Hoover Dam as seen from the cont5rol tower of the 150 ton cableway on the Nevada rim of Black Canyon. 12-20-33.
0200a    Boulder Canyon . Mr. And Mrs. Tyrone Powers visit Boulder Dam. With them are Mr. M. McKeen (Thompson Trophy Pilot) who flew the Powers to Boulder City and R.R. Spearman who conducted the party through the powerhouse. 5/26/39. Cliff Segerblom photographer.
0200    Boulder Canyon. Interior view of the Uptown Hardware Store in Boulder City. 8/23/39, Cliff Segerblom photographer.


0071    BUREAU OF RECLAMATION COLLECTION


Miscellaneous (cont.)

0201    Dedication of Hoover Dam. President Franklin D. Roosevelt delivering the dedicatory address.
0202    Boulder Canyon AZ-NV. Series of 16 photographs , from the same view point, looking upstream during the construction of Hoover Dam.
0203    Airplane motor propelled boat used in photographic survey of Colorado River between dam and jumbo wash. 3///16/35
0204    Boulder Canyon Project, Nevada Region 3. Ancient Indian petroglyphs at Atiatl Rock, Valley of Fire, near St. Thomas, Nevada.
0205    Boulder Canyon Project, Nevada Region 3. J.C. Page, Mrs. Ickes, Sen. Ickes and I.C. Harris, in the Nevada wing of the Hoover Dam power plant. 2/23/39
0206    Boulder Canyon Project, Nevada Region 3. Mud deposit at mile 257.0. A member of the survey crew displays a representative sample of one of the mud cubes formed to show the depth of the crevices. 3/14/39
0207    Placing concrete in the column H-5 between Elev. 630 and Elev. 635, during the test pour made before the Hoover Dam Board of Consulting Engineers, 8/31/33.
0208    Boulder Canyon Project, Nevada Hoover Dam site Region 3. Evaporation tower for dam precoding system located on downstream cofferdam. View from Nevada outlet house bench. 6/26/33
0209    Looking upstream through Nevada spillway. At the left are seen two panels of the overflow weir under construction. 6/10/33
0210    Boulder Canyon Project, Nevada Hoover Dam site. Region 3. Cat-walk spanning canyon over upstream cofferdam. The span is swing approximately between Triangulation points C07 and C-8. Elevation at middle of span is approximately 1005. 8/29/33.
0211    Boulder Canyon Project, Nevada Hoover Dam site Region 3. Night view of the downstream face of the dam and power plant from the point on lower portal road. 4/12/38


Additions to Collection

Hoover Dam

0212    Boulder Canyon Project, Nevada Hoover Damsite Region 3. View of Memorial Day crowds waiting to visit the power plant. Note persons holding tickets ready for guide to collect. Roof of cashier's booth may be seen beyond awning. 5/30/37
0213    Boulder Canyon Project, Nevada Hoover Damsite Region 3. View of Arizona generator room from balcony at elevation 75 in the upstream end. The 40, 000 kilowatt ampere generator installed in unit 48 may be seen in background. 6/24/37

0071    BUREAU OF RECLAMATION COLLECTION

Additions to Collection

Hoover Dam (cont.)

0214    Boulder Canyon Project, Nevada Hoover Damsite Region 3. View of Arizona generator room from balcony at elevation 705 in the upstream end. The 40, 000 kilowatt ampere generator installed in unit 48 may be seen in background. 6/24/37
0215    Boulder Canyon Project, Nevada Hoover Damsite Region 3. View of Lake Mead, boat docks and bathing beach, showing development by National Park Service of area for bathing and picnicking. 6/29/37
0216    Motor transport carrying 150 men used in transporting workmen from Boulder City to the dam. 4/12/34
0217    Boulder City Project, Nevada Hoover Damsite Region 3. Looking downward at upstream face and top of dam structure from Railway trestle seen in lower right. Top forms at elevation 825. 8/22/34
0218    Boulder Canyon Project, Nevada Hoover Dam Region 3. Looking down into upper cofferdam area from rim of Arizona side of Black Canyon. Temporary earth diversion dam is shown. Note steel sheet piling extending out from Nevada abutment and marking upstream toe of cofferdam proper. 11/18/32
0219    Series of 16 photographs, taken from the same camera view point, looking upstream during construction of Hoover Dam.
0220    Boulder Canyon Project, Nevada-Arizona Region 3. A view of the Six Companies, Inc. office building, left, and dormitory is right center. 6/1/31
0221    View of Hoover Dam and power plant. Hoover Dam was completed in 1935. The dam is 726 feet high. (1984) (Bur. Of Rec. photo by John E. Kinsely)
0222    Hoover Dam Nevada spillway. This view shows the spillway running at peak capacity of 13, 944 cubic feet per second and 4.5 feet above spillways gates. (Bur. Of Rec. photo by J.E. Kinsley) 1983
0223    Aerial view looking downstream to Hoover Dam showing the Colorado River below, and Lake Mead in the foreground. (1975) (Bur .of Rec. photo by E.E. Hertzog)
0224    Hoover Dam Nev.-Arizona (Bur. Of Rec. photo by E.E. Hertzog) (1967)
0225    Aerial view looking upstream to Hoover Dam and lake Mead showing white water in the Colorado River below the spillway tunnel outlets. (Bur. Of Rec. photo by J.E. Kinsley) 1983
0226    Hoover Dam at night. Seventy-eight floodlights on top of the central section of the power plant project 93, 500 watts on the face of the dam. (Bur. Of Rec. photo by E.E. Hertzog)1966
0227    View of top of Hoover Dam's Nevada powerhouse (in foreground). A total of 17 generators have a nameplate capacity of 1,344, 800 Kilowatts. (Bur. Of Rec. photo by E.E. Hertzog 1982)

0071    BUREAU OF RECLAMATION COLLECTION


Additions to Collection

Hoover Dam (cont.)

0228    Inside the power plant Hoover Dam and Lake Mead (no date) (COLOR PRINT)
0229    Aerial view of Hoover Dam and Lake Mead (no date) (COLOR PRINT)
0230    Looking upstream to Hoover Dam; showing white water in the Colorado River below the spillway tunnel outlets. (no date) (COLOR PRINT)
0231    Aerial view looking upstream to Hoover Dam and Lake Mead. The Colorado River is below the dam. (no date) (COLOR PRINT)