You are here

 


Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

0049
Las Vegas News Bureau

(To access this collection, contact Special Collections or use this feedback form.)


Table of Contents:

Nevada

    Las Vegas
    People
    Las Vegas Convention Center
    Cashman Field
    Railroad
    Casino Openings
    Strip

Additions to Collection

Miscellaneous

Entertainers

    Steve Allen
    Ann-Margret

Entertainers – Miscellaneous

Las Vegas Shows

Flamingo Hotel

Miscellaneous-Las Vegas Area



Nevada


Las Vegas

0001    Fremont Street

0002    Clark County Jail

0003    McCarran Air Field, c. 1948

0004    McCarran Air Field, c. 1948

0005    McCarran Air Field, c. 1948

0006    McCarran Air Field, c. 1948

0007    Caesars Palace, front view

0008    Caesars Palace, front view

0009    Caesars Palace, front view, fountains at entrance

0010    Caesars Palace, pool and rear view

0011    Caesar’s Palace lobby and front desk area

0012    Caesars Palace, casino floor

0013    Caesars Palace, Bacchanal Restaurant

0014    Caesars Palace, Noshorium Coffee Shop

0015    Caesars Palace, Shopping Corridor

0016    Caesars Palace , suite

0017    Caesars Palace, twin bedroom

0018    Flamingo Hotel, aerial view, November, 1952

0019    Flamingo Hotel, front view, c. early 1950’s

0020    Flamingo Hotel, front view, December 1952

0021    Flamingo Hotel, marquee “Joe E. Lewis/Della Reese/Sarah Vaughn”

0022    Flamingo Hotel, front view at night, June 1973

0023    Vacant

0024    Flamingo Hotel, pool area

0025    Bugsy Siegel’s photo and floor safe after its discovery in Flamingo Hotel, November 1972

0026    Bugsy Siegel’s rose garden marker at Flamingo Hotel, March 1977

0027    Fremont Hotel, gambling scene-craps, c.1950s

0028    Gambling scene-roulette ,c. 1950’s.

0029    Flamingo Hotel, gambling scene—craps

0030    Flamingo Hotel, gambling scene—roulette.



People

0031    Russ Black, Betty Grable, unidentified Elks member at unknown location

0032    Tom Jones, Priscilla Presley, Elvis Presley at unknown location

0033    Joe E. Lewis, unidentified man at Flamingo Hotel restaurant

0034    Zsa Zsa Gabor, Nicky Hilton (?) at Flamingo Hotel restaurant

0035    Gary Cooper, Abe Schiller with big mouth bass, 1955/56

0036    Mitzi Gaynor and male dancers onstage, unknown location

0037    Flamingo Hilton Hotel , men exchanging slot jackpot check.

0038    Celebrating New Year’s Eve, group photo, unknown location



Las Vegas Convention Center

0039    Interior shell construction

0040    Exterior view

0041    Exterior view

0042    Exterior view

0043    Exterior view

0044    Exterior view

0045    Artist’s rendering of completed Convention Center

0046    Artist’s rendering of completed Convention Center

0047    Artist’s rendering of interior circular arena.

0048    Artist’s rendering of outer lobby



Cashman Field

0049    Construction of Cashman Field Center 1981

0050    Construction of Cashman Field Center 1981

0051    Construction of Cashman Field Center 1981

0052    Construction of Cashman Field Center 1982

0053    Construction of Cashman Field Center 1982

0054    Construction of Cashman Field Center 1982

0055    Construction of Cashman Field Center 1982

0056    Construction of Cashman Field Center 1982

0057    Construction of Cashman Field Center 1983

0058    Construction of Cashman Field Center 1983

0059    Construction of Cashman Field Center 1983

0060    Construction of Cashman Field Center 1983

0061    Construction of Cashman Field, 1947



Railroad

0062    SPLA & SL gas car #1.



Casino Openings

0063    Desert Inn Opening, April 1950

0064    Desert Inn opening, April 1950

0065    Dunes opening, May 1955

0066    Dunes opening, May 1955

0067    Flamingo opening, March 1947

0068    Flamingo opening, March 1947

0069    Flamingo opening, March 1947

0070    Riviera opening April 1955

0071    Riviera opening April 1955

0072    Riviera opening April 1955, Starlite Lounge.

0073    Sands Casino, December 1952

0074    Sands Casino, December 1952, Sands Garden Room.

0075    Sands opening, December 1952

0076    Stardust opening, July 1958.

0077    Stardust opening, July 1958. Stardust Convention Hall.

0078    Thunderbird opening, Labor Day, 1948.

0079    Thunderbird opening, Labor Day, 1948.

0080    Tropicana opening, April 1957

0081    Tropicana opening , April 1957. Tropicana Room interior with models.



Strip

0082    View of the Las Vegas Strip, late 1970’s. The MGM , the Dunes, and the Flamingo are pictured.

0083    View of the Las Vegas strip, ca. 1960s. The Thunderbird is pictured. (neg only)

0084    View of downtown Las Vegas Strip, late 1970’s. Hotel Sal Sagev, the Overland Hotel, and the Fremont are pictured. (neg. only)

0085    View of the Las Vegas Strip, late 1970’s. The Riviera , the Stardust, and the Frontier Hotel are pictured. (neg. only)



Return to Top
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Additions to Collection

0086    Major Riddle

0087    Eleanor Powell (Mrs.Ford) and Glen Ford poolside at the Hotel Flamingo, late 1940’s.

0088    Rex Bell sitting on horse.

0089    Nancy and Ronald Reagan at Lake Mead, 1954

0090    Milton Prell—Aladdin

0091    Performers: Berle, Skelton, Storm, Jones, Alberghetti, Damone, Shriner, standingin middle of Fremont Street; this shot for Look Magazine in 1953. All performing in Las Vegas at this time.


_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Miscellaneous

0092    Richard Nixon and William Haldeman at Fremont Hotel with reporters, 1961.

0093    Mr. & Mrs. Hoot Gibson

0094    Frederic Apcar (Casino de Paris at Dunes) with Russian composer Aram Khatchaturian (Sabre Danse) in 1972

0095    Noel Coward at Flamingo Hotel, poolside.

0096    Jack Benny and Abe Shiller in front of Flamingo sign.

0097    President Dwight Eisenhower at Hoover Dam.

0098    Opening of new terminal at McCarran Field, 1948.

0099    Las Vegas Strip late 1940’s. Shows Sahara Hotel and El Rancho Vegas sign. A portion of the El Rancho Vegas property is visible, left side of photo.

0100    Aerial of Las Vegas Strip, 1952. Flamingo Hotel looking north.

0101    Little Church of the West being moved, 1954.

0102    Trader Bill’s souvenir shop on Fremont Street, 1950’s.

0103    California Casino on Fremont Street, late 1940s. Bank of Nevada, at left.

0104    Ribbon cutting at Showboat Hotel, 1954. Delphine “Mom” and C.P. “Pop” Squires officiating.

0105    World Premiere of MGM’s “Meet Me in Las Vegas” at El Portal Theatre, 1955.

0106    Elwell Hotel located at 1st St. and Bridger, 1950s.

0107    El Cortez Hotel, 1950s.

0108    Moulin Rouge Club, 1956

0109    Outdoor sign which reads, “Welcome Home Howard!” to Howard Hughes, 1972.

0110    Aladdin neon sign which reads: “UNLV Presents Sinatra & Martin and friends. Fundraiser at Aladdin Hotel, 1977.

0111    Harry Truman and Jimmy Durante, 10/10/62.

0112    Scene at El Rancho fire, 6/17/60. Beldon Katleman (owner) in white shirt.

0113    Scene at El Rancho fire, 6/17/60.

0114    Scene at El Rancho fire, 6/17/60.

0115    Scene at El Rancho fire, 6/17/60.

0116    Las Vegas Hilton (International Hotel) under construction 1/6/69. Convention Center in background.

0117    Howard Hughes, ca. 1950’s probably taken in Los Angeles County Courthouse.

0118    James Cashman, Sr. (1) & Liberace at opening of Riviera Hotel 1955.

0119    Kirk Kerkorian standing in front of construction site of International (Now Las Vegas Hilton) Hotel, 1969.

0120    The Westward Ho at the time of its opening , 1973

0121    Aerial of Conexpo, the largest convention to date held at the Las Vegas Convention Center. It was held in 1987, with 135,000 delegates in attendance.

Return to Top
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Entertainers


Steve Allen

0122    Steve Allen appearing at the Thunderbird

0123    Publicity shot of Steve Allen



Ann-Margret

0124    Ann-Margret starring in Las Vegas [ca. early 1970s]

0125    Ann-Margret starring in Las Vegas [ca. early 1970s]

0126    Similar shot

0127    Ann-Margret starring in Las Vegas [ca. early 1970s]

0128    Ann-Margret in a publicity shot for a show she was starring in.

0129    Publicity shot of Ann-Margret (Harry Langdon, Jr., photographer)

0130    Ann-Margret appearing in Las Vegas.

0131    Publicity shot of Ann-Margret returning to Las Vegas

0132    Ann-Margret appearing in Las Vegas show.

0133    Ann-Margret starring in Las Vegas production

0134    Ann-Margret in a unusual publicity shot for a show.

0135    Ann-Margret in Las Vegas publicity shot prior to closing of her show.

0136    Ann-Margret appearing in Las Vegas show.

0137    Ann-Margret’s show returns to Las Vegas.

0138    Ann-Margret appearing in Las Vegas show

0139    Ann-Margret stars in Strip production

0140    Ann-Margret stars in Las Vegas show.

0141    Publicity photo of Ann-Margret starring in show at Las Vegas Hilton.

0142    Ann-Margret in a publicity shot for a Las Vegas Hilton show.

0143    Ann-Margret starring in Las Vegas show.

0144    Ann-Margret in a Las Vegas publicity shot

0145    Ann-Margret in a publicity shot for her Las Vegas show (1977)

0146    Ann-Margret in publicity shot.

0147    Ann-Margret in publicity photo. (1977)

0148    Ann-Margret: Headliner at Caesar’s Palace. 1978

0149    Ann-Margret in Las Vegas publicity photo (1978)

0150    Ann-Margret in publicity shot. (1978)

0151    Ann-Margret in publicity shot for a show at Caesar’s Palace (1978)

0152    Publicity shot of Ann-Margret’s opening for at Caesar’s Palace

0153    Ann-Margret in a publicity shot for an opening at Caesar’s Palace.

Return to Top
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Entertainers – Miscellaneous

0154    Morey Amsterdam appears in Las Vegas.

0155    Morey Amsterdam appearing in Las Vegas show.

0156    Morey Amsterdam in Las Vegas publicity photo.

0157    Eddy Arnold in publicity photo for his appearance at the Sahara Hotel (1977)

0158    Eddy Arnold performing in Las Vegas.

0159    Eddy Arnold in publicity photo –appearing at Sahara Hotel.

0160    Eddy Arnold in publicity photo announcing his appearance at Sahara Hotel.

0161    Eddy Arnold, Las Vegas entertainer (1977)

0162    Edie Adams in Las Vegas publicity photo.

0163    Edie Adams entertaining in Las Vegas.

0164    Entertainer Edie Adams in Las Vegas.

0165    Starring Edie Adams!

0166    Publicity photo of Edie Adams (for her appearance in Las Vegas)

0167    Jack Albertson in publicity photo for his appearance

0168    Publicity shot of Jack Albertson when he appeared at the MGM Hotel-Las Vegas.

0169    Paul Anka, Alan King, and Mitzi Gaynor at awards ceremony.

0170    Paul Anka performing!

0171    Paul Anka in a publicity photo promoting his show at Caesar’s Palace.

0172    Paul Anka rehearsing (1977)

0173    Paul Anka in a publicity photo used to promote his show in Las Vegas

0174    Paul Anka stars at Caesar’s Palace (1977)

0175    Publicity photo of Paul Anka, appearing at Caesars Palace, 1978.

0176    Paul Anka performing (1977)

0177    Paul Anka and Dionne Warwick in LV showroom (1978)

0178    Paul Anka in publicity shot to promote his show at Caesar’s Palace (1978)


0179    Alan performs a tribute to Elvis.

0180    Alan performing in Las Vegas as Elvis (1977)-(Photo by David Lee Waite, LV).

0181    Dick Clark with Alan (Elvis impersonator)

0182    John Byner performing on stage (ca. 1977)

0183    John Byner, comedian, in publicity shot for Las Vegas appearance [ca. 1977].

0184    John Byner, performing in Las Vegas (ca. 1977)

0185    Red Buttons in publicity photo. [ca. mid-late 1970’s]

0186    Red Buttons appearing at Fremont Hotel, Las Vegas (1977)

0187    Red Buttons performing [Fremont Hotel, 1977]

0188    Blood, Sweat & Tears performing at Aladdin Hotel, Las Vegas [ca. late 1970’s]

0189    Blood, Sweat & Tears in publicity photo for Aladdin appearance [ca. mid to late 1970’s]

0190    Blood, Sweat & Tears in publicity shot [ca. 1979]

0191    Teresa Brewer-Singer. [ca. late 1970’s]

0192    Teresa Brewer in publicity photo for her appearance at Sahara Hotel, Las Vegas [ca. late 1970’s]

0193    Teresa Brewer-Entertainer

0194    Jack Benny in publicity photo for his show in the Congo Room, Sahara Hotel, LV.

0195    Bellamy Brothers-Musical duo appearing at the Golden Nugget (1977)

0196    David Brenner in publicity shot for his Caesar’s Palace appearance [ca. 1970’s]

0197    David Brenner comedian-appearing at MGM Hotel, Las Vegas, [ca. 1970’s]

0198    David Brenner comedian-[ca. 1970’s]

0199    Burt Bacharach appears at Riviera Hotel [ca. late 1970’s]

0200    Burt Bacharach and Alice Cooper rehearsing.

0201    Publicity photo of Pete Barbutti (musician) for his appearance at Union Plaza Hotel. [ca. late 1970’s]

0202    Pete Barbutti dining in Las Vegas restaurant (1978)

0203    Sam Butera appeared at Aladdin Hotel (Jan. 1976)

0204    Sam Butera-publicity photo for Casbah gig [ca. mid 1970’s]

0205    Tony Bennett performing at Sahara Hotel [ca. late 1970’s]

0206    Tony Bennett and Lena Horne at Sahara Hotel [ca. late 1970’s]

0207    Harry Belafonte performing onstage [ca. late 1970’s]

0208    Publicity photo of Harry Belafonte for his Las Vegas appearance [ca.late 1970’s]

0209    Joey Bishop in Las Vegas (late 1970’s)

0210    Joey Bishop onstage (1977)

0211    Count Basie-publicity shot for his appearance at Sahara Hotel (1977)

0212    Ruth Buzzi appears in Las Vegas-publicity photo.

0213    Jim Bailey-Las Vegas entertainer (1978)

0214    Jim Bailey as Peggy Lee. (ca.1978)

0215    Publicity photo: Jim Bailey as Judy Garland.

0216    Jim Bailey performs as Barbra Streisand. (ca 1977-78)

0217    Dave Barry-Las Vegas entertainer. [ca. 1977-78]

0218    Foster Brooks, comedian, appearing at Frontier Hotel (1977)

0219    Foster Brooks, Robert Goulet, and John Davidson performing together in Las Vegas.[ca.1978]

0220    Glen Campbell onstage in Las Vegas. [ca.1977-78]

0221    Glen Campbell performing in Las Vegas [ca. 1977]

0222    Charlie Callas in his comedy routine at the Hilton Hotel [ca. late 70’s]

0223    Myron Cohen performs at Flamingo Hotel, Las Vegas [ca. 1977-78]

0224    Publicity photo of Charo (1977)

0225    Charo and Jim Nabors appearing together in Las Vegas

0226    Publicity photo for Johnny Cash-opening in Las Vegas. [ca. 1977-78]

0227    “Prof.” Irwin Corey—publicity photo for his comedy routine in Las Vegas.(1978)

0228    Bill Cosby appearing in Las Vegas, 1977-78.

0229    Bill Cosby appearing in Las Vegas, 1977-78.

0230    Bill Cosby appearing in Las Vegas, 1977-78.

0231    Bill Cosby appearing in Las Vegas, 1977-78.

0232    Bill Cosby publicity photo. [ca. early 1970’s]

0233    The Carpenters-Karen and Richard-appearing in Las Vegas [ca. 1977-78]

0234    Richard & Karen Carpenter-publicity photo (photo by Harry Langdon, Los Angeles)

0235    Petula Clark performing in Las Vegas. [ca 1977-78]

0236    Petula Clark onstage in Las Vegas [ca 1977-78]

0237    Vicki Carr in publicity shot for Las Vegas appearance (1978)

0238    Publicity photo of Norm Crosby for his appearance in LV show—1978

0239    Johnny Carson in publicity shot –1978-to promote his LV appearance.

0240    George Carlin, comedian, in publicity photo for LV appearance. (1978)

0241    Captain and Tennille—publicity photo for MGM show—1978.

0242    Dick Clark performing at Thunderbird Hotel, Las Vegas.[ca. 1977-78]

0243    Publicity shot of Diahann Carroll for her show at Dunes Hotel [1978]

0244    Diahann Carroll in publicity photo (1978)

0245    Publicity photo of Dom Deluise –comedian-for his LV appearance.

0246    Dion performing in Las Vegas. [ca.1977-78]

0247    Phyllis Diller performs at Caesar’s Palace 1978

0248    Rodney Dangerfield (comedian) onstage (1977)

0249    John Davidson performing (1978)

0250    Mac Davis in publicity shot for his MGM Grand Hotel, Las Vegas, appearance (1977).

0251    Lola Falana onstage in Las Vegas [ca. 1977-78]

0252    Lola Falana in Las Vegas (1978)

0253    Redd Foxx (comedian) and friends in Las Vegas (1978)

0254    Frank Gorshin onstage (1978)

0255    Publicity photo for Frank Gorshin’s Las Vegas appearance. [ca. 1977-78]

0256    Eydie Gorme & Steve Lawrence with sons, David & Michael, onstage in Las Vegas (1977)

0257    Bobbie Gentry performing in Las Vegas [ca. 1977-78]

0258    Bobbie Gentry performing in Las Vegas show. [ca. 1977-78]

0259    Publicity photo of George Gobel when he appeared at Sahara Hotel [ca. 1977-78]

0260    Jackie Gayle (comedian ) performing in Las Vegas-1978

0261    Buddy Greco sings in Las Vegas(1977)

0262    Shecky Greene with his wife Nalani (1977)

0263    Shecky Greene performing at MGM Hotel-Las Vegas in 1978

0264    Johnny Harra performs his “Elvis” onstage in Las Vegas (1978)

0265    Pat Henry, comedian, performs in Las Vegas, (in Frank Sinatra’s show)

0266    Publicity photo of the Imperials-for their 1977 appearance at the Aladdin.

0267    Florence Henderson performs onstage. [ca. 1977-78]

0268    Don Ho performs in Las Vegas (1977)

0269    Buddy Hackett in publicity shot for his show at Sahara Hotel 91978)

0270    Sammy Cohn and Buddy Hackett in Las Vegas [ca. 1977-78]

0271    Publicity shot for Joey Heatherton’s LV appearance in 1978.

0272    Joey Heatherton in publicity photo for her Strip appearance (1977)

0273    Publicity photo of Lena Horne [ca. 1977-78]

0274    Englebert Humperdinck sings on Las Vegas stage.

00275    Englebert Humperdinck onstage in Las Vegas (1978)

0276    (Left to right) Rock Hudson, unidentified woman, and Engelbert Humperdinck.[ca. late 1970’s]

0277    Tom Jones performs at Caesar’s Palace (1978).

0278    Publicity photo of Tom Jones. Caesar’s super star 1978

0279    Publicity photo of Tom Jones.(1978 appearance in Las Vegas)

0280    Liberace headlines at the Hilton. [ca. mid to late 1970’s]

0281    Liberace stars at Hilton Hotel. [ca. mid to late 1970’s]

0282    Liberace onstage in Las Vegas.

0283    Liberace (Mr. Showmanship) in Las Vegas show. [Hilton Hotel, ca. mid to late 1970’s]

0284    Liberace starring at Hilton Hotel, Las Vegas.

0285    Liberace , Mr. Showmanship [ca. 1970’]

0286    Little Anthony and the Imperials in publicity photo [appeared at Aladdin, ca. 1970’s] (Little Anthony is on the left)

0287    The many faces of Rich Little.

0288    Publicity photo of Rich Little for his Las Vegas show. [ca. 1970]

0289    Jack E. Leonard—popular Las Vegas entertainer. [ca. 1970]

0290    Publicity photo of Lennon Sisters [ca. 1970’s]

0291    Publicity photo of Frankie Laine who appeared at the Landmark Hotel.

0292    The Lettermen appearing in Las Vegas, [ca. 1977-78]

0293    Jerry Lee Lewis appearing in Las Vegas (1977)

0294    Peggy Lee performing in Las Vegas. [ca. mid to late 1970’s]

0295    Jerry Lewis appearing at the Sahara Hotel. (1977)

0296    Jerry Lewis onstage. [ca. mid to late 1970’s]

0297    Jerry Lewis onstage in Las Vegas [1977-78]

0298    Publicity photo of Lorna Luft (performing at Sands Hotel)

0299    Publicity photo of Abbe Lane (performing at Sahara , 1977)

0300    Carol Lawrence in publicity photo. [ca. 1977-78]

0301    The Limeliters (Glen Yarbrough, center) in 1960.

0302    The Limeliters [ca. mid to late 1970s]

0303    Loretta Lynn performs in Las Vegas. [ca. 1977-78]

0304    Judy Lynn publicity photo for her show at the Golden Nugget Hotel.

0305    Corbett Monica, comedian, performing in Las Vegas, [ca.1977-78]

0306    Bill Medley (singer) in publicity photo. (1977)

0307    Roger Miller entertains in Las Vegas [ca 1977-78)

0308    Dean Martin starring at the MGM Hotel 1978

0309    Dean Martin starring at the MGM Hotel 1978

0310    Publicity photo of Shirley MacLaine [ca. 1977-78]

0311    Shirley MacLaine performing at Caesar’s Palace 1978

0312    Jan Murray appearing at Caesar’s Palace 1978

0313    Tony Martin & Cyd Charisse in publicity photo for their appearance at the Thunderbird Hotel. (ca. mid 1970’s)

0314    Anne Murray performs in Las Vegas. (1978 photo)

0315    Publicity photo of Barry Manilow for his appearance at MGM Grand Hotel in 1977.

0316    The Mills Brothers entertaining. [51 years in show biz] [photo ca. 1978]

0317    Ed McMahon in publicity photo to announce his Caesar’s opening [ca. 1977-78]

0318    Nelie Adams McQueen (l) and Lillian D’Horau (rt) in ‘can-can’ (1978)

0319    Liza Minnelli [ca. 1977-78]

0320    Juliet Prowse performing in Las Vegas. [ca. late 1970’s]

0321    Juliet Prowse appearing in Las Vegas 1977

0322    Louis Prima onstage [1977-78]

0323    Publicity photo of Louis Prima [1977-78]

0324    Wilson Pickett performing in Las Vegas [1977-78]

0325    Publicity photo of Bob Newhart [1977-78]

0326    Bob Newhart onstage [1977-78]

0327    Publicity photo for Jim Nabor’s opening at Sahara Hotel [1977-78]

0328    Anthony Newley appearing at the Riviera Hotel [1977-78]

0329    Wayne Newton performing at Sands Hotel [1977-78]

0330    Wayne Newton onstage in Las Vegas

0331    Publicity photo of Freddie Prinze who performed at Caesar’s Palace [1977-78]

0332    Tony Sandler and Ralph Young performing at Thunderbird Hotel [ca. 1977-78]

0333    Tony Sandler and Ralph Young in publicity photo [ca. 1977-78]

0334    Dan Rowan and Dick Martin in publicity shot for Sahara Hotel performance. [ca.1977-78]

0335    Kenny Rogers & The First Edition –publicity shot for Hilton Hotel. [1977-78]

0336    Publicity photo for Low Rawls’ show at MGM Grand. [1977-78]

0337    Don Rickles at the Riviera Hotel. [ca. 1977-78]

0338    Debbie Reynolds performing at the Desert Inn Hotel. [1977-78]

0339    Debbie Reynolds onstage in Las Vegas. [ca. 1977-78]

0340    Publicity shot of Ray Stevens for his appearance at Frontier Hotel. [ca.1977-78]

0341    Connie Stevens performing in Las Vegas. . [ca.1977-78]

0342    Helen Reddy onstage. . [ca.1977-78]

0343    The Righteous Brothers performing in Las Vegas. . [ca.1977-78]

0344    Publicity photo of Charlie Rich for His Hilton appearance (Las Vegas) . [ca.1977-78]

0345    The Smothers Brothers onstage . [ca.1977-78]

0346    Publicity shot of the Smothers Brothers for their LV show. . [ca.1977-78]

0347    Doc Severinson performing . [ca.1977-78]

0348    Neil Sedaka performing at the Riviera Hotel. . [ca.1977-78]

0349    Publicity photo of Keely Smith for her performance at Caesar’s Palace. (1977)

0350    Mort Sahl appearing in Las Vegas. . [ca.1977-78]

0351    Frank Sinatra onstage (1977)

0352    Publicity shot of Johnny Tillotson.

0353    Danny Thomas performing at the Sands Hotel . [ca.1977-78]

0354    Publicity shot of Mel Torme.

0355    Publicity photo of The Treniers—for their appearance at the Las Vegas Hilton. . [ca.1977-78]

0356    Publicity shot of Tina Turner

0357    Publicity shot of Ben Vereen appearing at Caesar’s Palace.

0358    Bobby Vinton performing at Flamingo Hilton. . [ca.1977-78]

0359    Bobby Vinton performing in Las Vegas . [ca.1977-78]

0360    Publicity shot of Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons.

0361    Publicity photo of Kenny Vernon, performing at the Golden Nugget . [ca.1977-78]

0362    Publicity shot of Leslie Uggams. [ca.1977-78]

0363    Leslie Uggams on stage.

0364    Dionne Warwick in publicity photo for Vegas opening. [ca.1977-78]

0365    Dionne Warwick performing in Las Vegas. [1978]

0366    Flip Wilson onstage [1978]

0367    Andy Williams onstage at Caesars    Palace . [ca.1977-78]

0368    Paul Williams onstage [1978]

0369    Slappy White onstage at Flamingo Hilton [1977-1978]

0370    Demond Wilson onstage. [ca.1977-78]

0371    Lovelace Watkins performing at Flamingo Hilton [ca.1978]

0372    Publicity photo Jimmie Walker for his Las Vegas opening (1977)

0373    Publicity shot of Roger Williams for his LV appearance [ca. 1978]

0374    Publicity shot of Pia Zadora for her LV opening.

Return to Top
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Las Vegas Shows


0375    Scene from Hallelujah Hollywood (extravaganza at MGM Grand Hotel (1978)

0376    Scene from Hallelujah Hollywood (extravaganza at MGM Grand Hotel (1978)

0377    “Lido de Paris” at Stardust Hotel. . [ca.1977-78]

0378    “Lido de Paris ‘77 at Stardust Hotel

0379    One of the showgirls in “Lido de Paris” (Stardust Hotel 1978)

0380    Scene from Stardust Hotel extravaganza at Hacienda Hotel. (1977)

0381    Cast members of “Ice Fantasy” extravaganza at Hacienda Hotel (1977)

0382    Scene from “Playgirls on Ice” Flamingo Hotel . [ca.1977-78]

0383    Cast members of Flamingo Hotel show “Playgirls on Ice” (1977)

0384    Scene from “Folies Bergere” Tropicana Hotel . [ca.1977-78]

0385    Scene from Tropicana Hotel extravaganza “Folies Bergere.” (1977)

0386    “Folies Bergere” Tropicana Hotel. [ca.1977-78]

0387    Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas, NV. [ca. 1970’s]

0388    Scene from Dunes Hotel show “Casino de Paris” (1977)

0389    Showgirl (Sue Johansson) from “Casino de Paris” (1977)

0390    Scene from “Casino de Paris”, Dunes Hotel extravaganza. [ca 1978]

0391    Peggy Kubena with Caesar (the lion) in “Casino de Paris”, Dunes Hotel, 1978

0392    Scene from “Casino de Paris”, Dunes Hotel. [ca 1978]

0393    Scene from Dunes Hotel extravaganza, “Casino de Paris”. [ca. 1978]

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Flamingo Hotel

0394    Flamingo Hotel, Las Vegas, Nevada. [ca.late 1940’s] (photo by Las Vegas News Bureau)

0395    Flamingo Hotel, Las Vegas, Nevada. [ca.late 1940’s] (photo by Las Vegas News Bureau)

0396    Flamingo Hotel, Las Vegas, Nevada. [ca .late 1940’s] (photo by Las Vegas News Bureau)

0397    Marquee at the Sands Hotel. Frank Sinatra , Dean Martin, Sammy Davis Jr., Peter Lawford, Joey Bishop were headliners (ca. 1960) (COLOR TRANSPARENCY ONLY)
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Miscellaneous-Las Vegas Area

0398    Las Vegas Convention Center. (c.1970)

0399    Map showing tourists sights and major points of interest in the Las Vegas area. Includes Strip hotels and casinos. (c.1970s)

0400    “Welcome to Fabulous Las Vegas Nevada” sign on Las Vegas Boulevard South, south of the Hacienda Hotel. (c.1970s)

0401    Casino Center-Fremont street (c.1970s)

0402    Las Vegas Strip looking north. Downtown Las Vegas and Fremont Street in distant background. (c.1970’s)

0403    Las Vegas Strip at sunset, looking north. Downtown and Fremont Street in distant background. (c.1970s)

0404    Golf course in Las Vegas. (c.1970s)

0405    Gamblers at the roulette wheel, Las Vegas (ca. 1970)

0406    Gamblers at a baccarat table in a Las Vegas casino (c. 1970s)

0407    Modern-day visitors stand beside an abandoned gun emplacement overlooking Hoover Dam near Las Vegas. (c.1970s)

0408    Campsites at the Valley of Fire State park. The park is named for its spectacular red sandstone formations. (c. 1970)

0409    Trail riders amid the desert landscape near Las Vegas, Nevada.

0410    People enjoying Lake Mead-boating, water skiing, etc. (c.1970s)

0411    Showgirls in a Las Vegas extravaganza. (c.1970)

0412    Las Vegas showgirls in a big production number. (c. 1970)

0413    Couple dine in a Las Vegas restaurant-Dunes Hotel marquee in background. (c.1970’s)

0414    Atomic bomb test—mushroom cloud with Fremont Street in foreground. April 18, 1953.



Updated: Wed, Jan-16-2013 07:24:51
Content Provider: Department of Special Collections