Manuscripts by Subjects
Manuscripts -> xTotal manuscripts: 6
Beth Daniels-Henderson Collection
Coll #: MS-00336
Date: 1977-1991
Extent: 5 boxes (6.42 cubic feet, 5.42 linear feet)
The Beth Daniels-Henderson Collection (1977-1991) is comprised of manuscript drafts and master copies, editor’s notes and notes from fellow authors, research notes, outlines, and book proposals. Beth Daniels-Henderson writes romance novels under the names Beth Daniels, Beth Henderson and Lisa Dane.
Link to Collection Guide
Cunningham (Cynthia) Papers
Coll #: MS-00277
Date: 1970-1979
Extent: 1.48 cubic feet (4 boxes)
The Cynthia Cunningham Papers date from 1970 to 1979 and document Cunningham's career as an English instructor at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) and as a member of the Nevada State of Board of Education. Included are Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) materials, audio tapes, posters, newspaper clippings, survey results, and reports that explore the issue of gender bias in schools. Materials on the Health Systems Agency contain organization by-laws, memberships, agendas, minutes, correspondence, and publications.
Link to Collection Guide
Houghton (Fred) papers
Coll #: MS-00204
Date: 1908-1998 (bulk 1950-1975)
Extent: 15 boxes (9.72 cubic feet, 8.13 linear feet)
The Fred Houghton Papers (1909-1998) consist of Houghton’s legal and personal files on his Blue Chip Ranch property in Las Vegas, Nevada. The materials include legal cases, maps, reports, and correspondence concerning water access on the property, and his work with the Las Vegas Well Users Association, which primarily contains correspondence in conjunction with Las Vegas's water politics. The collection also contains court cases during the 1930s when Houghton worked as a lawyer in Chicago, Illinois, as well as legal files for his time as a public defender for the State of California. The personal files in the collection primarily consist of correspondence, banking records, diaries, and notebooks.
Link to Collection Guide
Jackie Brett Collection on Las Vegas, Nevada Entertainment
Coll #: MS-00384
Date: 1977-1996 (bulk 1985-1994)
Extent: 2 boxes and 1 oversize box (2.22 cubic feet, 2.58 linear feet)
The Jackie Brett Collection on Las Vegas, Nevada Entertainment (1977-1996) consists of writings by Jackie Brett and publications and clippings about Las Vegas, Nevada entertainment and tourism. Brett worked for the Nevada Commission on Tourism and promoted southern Nevada through her column "Brett's Vegas View." She wrote about production shows, concerts, special performances, and events as well as the overall development of Las Vegas tourist industry in the 1980s and 1990s.
Link to Collection Guide
Las Vegas (Nev.) Board of Commissioners Records
Coll #: MS-00245
Date: 1921-1946
Extent: 0.25 Linear Feet (1 box)
The City of Las Vegas, Nevada Board of Commissioners Records comprises documents produced by the City of Las Vegas Board of Commissioners from 1921 to 1946. The records document the transition of the Las Vegas municipal government from a commission form of government (1911-1944) to a council-manager form of government (1944-present). Materials include meeting minutes,resolutions, budgets, petitions, leases, reports, and correspondence. Subjects include the Las Vegas Land and Water Company, a World War One Memorial Building, city elections, the Las Vegas drainage channel, the Las Vegas city library, and the Department of Recreation.
Link to Collection Guide
Ryan (George Kelly) papers
Coll #: MS-00120
Date: 1929-1971
Extent: 0.01 cubic/linear feet (1 folder in shared box)
The George Kelly Ryan papers (1921-1971) contain correspondence inquiring about Octavius Decatur "O. D." Gass, newspaper clippings from 1929, handwritten recollections of the Gold Ranch by Laura Royce, and a San Pedro, Los Angeles and Salt Lake Railroad Company information, including information on wash-outs in Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
