Manuscripts by Subjects
Manuscripts -> WomenTotal manuscripts: 229
Mortensen, Verna Papers
Coll #: MS-00163
Date: 1966-1979
Extent: 0.2 linear feet (1 box)
Related Materials: Verna Mortensen Photograph Collection, PH-00089.
The Verna Mortensen Papers date from 1966 to 1979 and document the work of the Daughters of the Utah Pioneers Clark County chapter to preserve and restore the Las Vegas, Nevada Mormon Fort. The collection contains newspaper clippings, notes, and a grant application for the Mormon Fort. It also includes an undated article about the history of the Las Vegas area and two eulogies given for Verna Mortensen.
Link to Collection Guide
National League of American Pen Women (Las Vegas Branch)
Coll #: MS-00413
Date: 1950-1990
Extent: 2.3 linear feet (2 boxes)
The National League of American Pen Women Las Vegas (Nevada) Branch Records contain eight scrapbooks documenting the club’s activities between 1950 and 1990. The National League of American Pen Women (NLAPW) brings women interested in the arts together for professional development, networking, and social activities. In 1951, Lucile Spire Bruner led efforts for the founding of the Las Vegas branch. The scrapbooks include meeting minutes, newspaper clippings, correspondence, and photographs.
Link to Collection Guide
National Organization for Women, Las Vegas Chapter Records
Coll #: MS-00354
Date: 1966-2009
Extent: 4.65 Linear Feet (9 boxes)
The National Organization for Women, Las Vegas Chapter Records document the philosophy, activities, and politics of the National Organization for Women (NOW) from 1966 to 2005 with most materials covering the period of 1971 to 1974. The records demonstrate the activities and political positions of NOW and they include correspondence, policies, memoranda, files, publications, and ephemera from the Las Vegas, Nevada chapter.
Link to Collection Guide
Navy Mother's Club, Las Vegas Nevada Records
Coll #: MS-00285
Date: 1946-1979
Extent: 0.56 Cubic Feet (2 boxes)
Navy Mother's Club, Las Vegas, Nevada Records (1946-1979) contain scrapbooks, photographs, artifacts, by-laws, newspaper clippings, directories, and song books.
Link to Collection Guide
Neonis, Delores papers
Coll #: MS-00182
Date: 1941-1975
Extent: 3.8 cubic feet (5 boxes and one flat file)
Collection is comprised of the Dolores Neonis Papers dating from 1941-1975. The collection contains bank records, payroll information, recipes, and sales slips for the Original Steak House on 1st Street, Las Vegas, Nevada. Also included are the Las Vegas Monorail System evaluations and financial feasibility reports, proposals, and correspondence. The Neonis real estate papers contain appraisals, property sales, lease and purchase agreements, promotional materials, maps, and correspondence. There are personal items that consist of a Helldorado button, poker chips, photographs, plays, and voting information.
Link to Collection Guide
Nevada Campaign for Choice
Coll #: MS-00347
Date: 1987-1990
Extent: 1.2 linear feet (2 boxes)
The Nevada Campaign for Choice Records (1987-1990) address the 1989-1990 pro-choice campaign regarding the legality of abortion and codifying Roe v. Wade in Nevada. Records include material on the campaign structure, finances, steering committee, minutes, campaign literature, correspondence, campaign buttons and stickers, mailing lists, clippings, two video tapes, and one audio tape.
Link to Collection Guide
Nevada Democrat Newsletter
Coll #: MS-00293
Date: 1957-1976
Extent: 2 boxes (0.63 Cubic Feet, 0.65 Linear Feet)
Nevada Democrat Collection of Newsletters (1957-1976) contains newsletters of the Nevada Democrat and the Clark County Democrat. In addition, there are copies of "This is the Dope Sheet," highlighting candidates running for office in Nevada. There are also two small flags and a donkey die cut.
Link to Collection Guide
Nevada Empowered Women's Project Records
Coll #: MS-00517
Date: 1996-2001
Extent: 1.25 Linear Feet (3 boxes)
The Nevada Empowered Women's Project (NEW Project) Collection (1996-2001) consists of brochures, newsclippings, federal and state agency reports, and manuals about poverty and welfare rights pertaining to the activism of NEW Project, headquartered in Reno, Nevada. The material chronicles the battles over welfare reform in the 1990s and also includes the full agenda and report for the 1999 Welfare Reform Conference held in Washington, D.C.
Link to Collection Guide
Nevada EPSCoR Women in Science and Engineering Records
Coll #: MS-00450
Date: 1992-1998
Extent: 5 boxes (2.3 cubic feet, 2.08 linear feet)
The Nevada EPSCoR Women in Science and Engineering Records (1992-1998) consist primarily of budgets, staff resumes, program reviews and information, and correspondence pertaining to the Nevada Established Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR) Women in Science and Engineering (WISE) Las Vegas chapter located at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas. The records also contain newsletters, conference materials, and graduate assistant information.
Link to Collection Guide
Nevada Federation of Women's Clubs Collection
Coll #: MS-00266
Date: 1907-1999
Extent: 5.1 linear feet (9 boxes, 1 oversize box)
The Nevada Federation of Women's Clubs (NFWC) Records date from 1907 until 1999 and document the administration, activities, and publications of the NFWC. During the twentieth century, the NFWC included member clubs from throughout the state of Nevada including the Mesquite Club in Las Vegas, the Reno Women's Civic Club, and the Lamoille Women's Club. The collection includes meeting minutes and agendas, correspondence, publications, reports, and newspaper clippings.
Link to Collection Guide
Nevada Nurses Association
Coll #: MS-00240
Date: 1945-1995
Extent: 24.75 Linear Feet (24 boxes)
Collection is comprised of the organizational records of the Nevada Nurses Association dating from 1945 through 1995. Topics addressed by the material include Planned Parenthood, state legislature on health care, the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA), and League of Women Voters. Types of material in the collection include clippings, association history, membership information, receipts, correspondence, convention notes and programs, alumni directory, newsletters, pamphlets, meeting minutes, and scrapbooks.
Link to Collection Guide
Nevada Poetry Society Records
Coll #: MS-00172
Date: 1961-1973
Extent: 1 Linear Feet (1 box)
The Nevada Poetry Society Records are comprised of the society's records dating from 1961 to 1973. Society organizer and president, Mildred Breedlove is featured prominently in the collection. Materials include: Silver Strings: Nevada Poetry Society Anthology, a collection of poems commemorating Nevada's centennial year, individual poems, bank records, correspondence, and newsletters.
Link to Collection Guide
Nevada Women's History Project Records
Coll #: MS-00406
Date: 1995-2008
Extent: 6 boxes (2.53 cubic feet, 2.29 linear feet)
The Nevada Women's History Project Records (1995-2008) contain the early organizational records of the Nevada Women's History Project (NWHP), which was created to collect and disseminate information about women throughout Nevada's history. The collection reflects the early organization of the Nevada Women's History Project's (NWHP) Southern region and the variety of events and projects with which the organization was involved with across the state of Nevada. Materials include membership lists, meeting minutes, press releases, project files, and NWHP newsletters.
Link to Collection Guide
Nita Londo Rieger Collection on Gold Star Mothers
Coll #: MS-00408
Date: 1947-1995
Extent: 1.34 linear feet (1 oversize box)
Related Materials: 0315
The Nita Longo Rieger Collection on the Desert Chapter of Gold Star Mothers consists of materials dated from 1947 until 1995 from the Desert Chapter of Gold Star Mothers Inc. located in Las Vegas, Nevada. It includes newspaper clippings about the group, a history of the chapter, photographs of meetings and member events, and programs from the dedication and rededication of a monument erected by the group.
Link to Collection Guide
Nita Londo Rieger Collection on Gold Star Mothers
Coll #: MS-00408
Date: 1947-1995
Extent: 1.34 linear feet (1 oversize box)
Related Materials: 0315
The Nita Longo Rieger Collection on the Desert Chapter of Gold Star Mothers consists of materials dated from 1947 until 1995 from the Desert Chapter of Gold Star Mothers Inc. located in Las Vegas, Nevada. It includes newspaper clippings about the group, a history of the chapter, photographs of meetings and member events, and programs from the dedication and rededication of a monument erected by the group.
Link to Collection Guide
Olen (Jean) papers
Coll #: MS-01052
Date: 1994-2008
Extent: 1 box (0.19 cubic feet, 0.21 linear feet)
The Jean Olen Papers (1994-2008) document Olen's career as a taxicab driver in Las Vegas, Nevada. Materials include Olen's personal taxicab driver's permit, medical examiner certificate, and other placards found in taxicabs regarding common questions, such as tipping, no smoking, and airport fees. Also included are newspaper clippings about taxicab drivers in Las Vegas, Nevada and four issues of Trip Sheet, a local magazine for taxicab, limousine, trolley, and shuttle drivers, which features letters to the editor written by Olen.
Link to Collection Guide
Olen (Jean) papers
Coll #: MS-01052
Date: 1994-2008
Extent: 1 box (0.19 cubic feet, 0.21 linear feet)
The Jean Olen Papers (1994-2008) document Olen's career as a taxicab driver in Las Vegas, Nevada. Materials include Olen's personal taxicab driver's permit, medical examiner certificate, and other placards found in taxicabs regarding common questions, such as tipping, no smoking, and airport fees. Also included are newspaper clippings about taxicab drivers in Las Vegas, Nevada and four issues of Trip Sheet, a local magazine for taxicab, limousine, trolley, and shuttle drivers, which features letters to the editor written by Olen.
Link to Collection Guide
Pearson, Alice papers
Coll #: MS-00465
Date: 1956-2000
Extent: 3 boxes (1.66 linear feet, 1.94 cubic feet)
The Alice Pearson Papers (1956-2000) contain the personal papers of Alice Pearson and the administrative records of the Mesquite Club, the first service organization founded in Las Vegas, Nevada. The collection includes the club’s administrative records, service projects and social events, as well as its membership in the General Federation of Women's Clubs (GFWC). Materials within the collection include meeting minutes, correspondence, committee reports, newsletters, notebooks, and scrapbooks.
Link to Collection Guide
Phillips, Peggy Hyde Papers
Coll #: MS-00401
Date: 1929-1998
Extent: 3.3 Linear Feet (3 boxes)
The Peggy Hyde Phillips Papers (1929-1998) document the lives of Peggy Hyde Phillips, her first husband Charles, and her son Michael. Materials include family photographs, correspondence, newspaper clippings, and documents from Michael Hyde’s time as a student at the United States Air Force Academy. The collection also includes a near-complete run of issues from February 1, 1963 through May 8, 1964 of the Paradise Press weekly newspaper from Paradise, an unincorporated township in Clark County, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Pida (Valerie) Records
Coll #: MS-00890
Date: 1987-1993
Extent: 1 box (1.28 cubic feet, 1.08 linear feet)
The Valerie Pida Trust Records (1987-1993) is comprised of records documenting efforts by Edward "Ted" Quirk, an attorney and a board member of the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) Foundation, to establish a trust for Valerie Pida, a UNLV student who had been battling Hodgkin's disease since the age of 13. Pida was a student at UNLV from 1985 to 1991 and was a cheerleader for the Runnin' Rebels basketball team. Quirk set up the Valerie Pida Trust in order to raise funds to provide financial support for Pida's medical expenses and for her family. The records include correspondence, newspaper clippings, financial statements, and receipts that document the establishment and activities of the foundation which was operational until 1993. Contents in this collection are closed for seventy-five years from the latest date found on an individual record to protect privacy and confidentiality. Access is restricted under provisions of state or federal law. This collection will be open for research use on January 1, 2068.
Link to Collection Guide
Pittman, Ida Brewington Papers
Coll #: MS-00243
Date: 1906-1977
Extent: 0.63 linear feet (2 boxes and 1 leather portfolio)
The Ida Brewington Pittman Papers date from 1906 to 1977 and are comprised of news clippings documenting the life of her husband, former Nevada Governor Vail Pittman. Most of the clippings are undated. Other subjects covered in the news clippings range from articles on oil wells to the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) in Nevada. The collection also contains some ephemera from Pittman's gubernatorial inauguration as well as letters, speeches and copies of various legislative resolutions.
Link to Collection Guide
Planned Parenthood of Southern Nevada Records
Coll #: MS-00364
Date: 1980-1995 (bulk 1990-1992)
Extent: 7.82 cubic feet (17 boxes)
The Planned Parenthood of Southern Nevada Records (1980-1995) contain materials related to the internal administration and structure of the organization such as reports, strategic plans, and statistics. In addition, the collection contains materials pertaining to fund-raising activities such as fund-raising guides, ideas, and resources. Also included are brochures, articles, fact sheets, and clippings regarding various subjects including abortion, birth control, family planning, sexual education, sexually transmitted diseases, and teen pregnancy.
Link to Collection Guide
Pratt (Elizabeth and Charles) personal papers
Coll #: MS-01063
Date: 1895-1953
Extent: 3 boxes (1.15 cubic feet, 1.04 linear feet)
The Elizabeth and Charles Pratt Personal Papers consist of correspondence, travel information, and photographs from the Pratt family dating from 1895 to 1953. The majority of correspondence in the collection is between Charles Pratt and his wife, Alice Elizabeth Margaret "Diane" Pratt. The collection also contains correspondence between Elizabeth Pratt's parents and her literary journals from her time attending Swarthmore College, in Swarthmore, Pennsylvania.
Link to Collection Guide
Professional Black Women's Alliance Records
Coll #: MS-00498
Date: 1997-2003
Extent: 1.88 linear feet, 0.23 cubic feet (1 box)
The Professional Black Women’s Alliance Records (1997-2003) consist of correspondence, photographs, and programs from the Professional Black Women’s Alliance. Most programs pertain to the organization’s annual Rose Awards, which celebrate black female role models from the Las Vegas, Nevada community. The collection also contains a large poster from the 1999 Rose Awards ceremony.
Link to Collection Guide
Quinn (Kathy) Papers on the Paiute Indians
Coll #: MS-00088
Date: 1969-1971
Extent: 1 folder (shared box); 0.02 cubic/linear feet, 2 digital files (0.092 GB)
The Kathy Quinn Papers on the Paiute Indians (1969-1971) consists of photograph negatives, a kinship chart, an audio tape of Paiute vocabulary, family history, a paper listing Paiute words and their meanings. Also included are the uses of various herbs and plants and a brief autobiography of Stella Smith of the Las Vegas Indian Village.
Link to Collection Guide
Raben, Barbara Collection on the Las Vegas Jewish Community
Coll #: MS-00655
Date: 1976-2015
Extent: 2 boxes and 2 oversized boxes (2.45 cubic feet, 3.89 linear feet)
Related Materials: MS-00386, MS-00426, OH-02278
The Barbara Raben Collection on the Las Vegas Jewish Community (1976-2015) is comprised of materials collected by Barbara Raben that document her personal life and her involvement with the Las Vegas, Nevada Jewish community, specifically Hadassah Southern Nevada Chapter and the Jewish Family Service Agency (JFSA) of Clark County, Nevada. Hadassah and JFSA records consist of photographs and programs from events held by the organizations. Materials also document Raben's business, The Candy Factory, and her connections to the Florence Melton School of Adult Jewish Learning.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online
Raben, Barbara Collection on the Las Vegas Jewish Community
Coll #: MS-00655
Date: 1976-2015
Extent: 2 boxes and 2 oversized boxes (2.45 cubic feet, 3.89 linear feet)
Related Materials: MS-00386, MS-00426, OH-02278
The Barbara Raben Collection on the Las Vegas Jewish Community (1976-2015) is comprised of materials collected by Barbara Raben that document her personal life and her involvement with the Las Vegas, Nevada Jewish community, specifically Hadassah Southern Nevada Chapter and the Jewish Family Service Agency (JFSA) of Clark County, Nevada. Hadassah and JFSA records consist of photographs and programs from events held by the organizations. Materials also document Raben's business, The Candy Factory, and her connections to the Florence Melton School of Adult Jewish Learning.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online
Ranney (Robert) Collection on the Children's Service Guild of Southern Nevada
Coll #: MS-00334
Date: 1947-1990, 1971-1975 (bulk)
Extent: 2.67 Cubic Feet (5 boxes)
The Robert Ranney Collection on the Children's Service Guild of Southern Nevada (1947-1990) contain primarily newspaper clippings pertaining to juvenile crime, and other juvenile-related issues in Las Vegas, Nevada. Also included are materials chronicling the operation of the Clark County Juvenile Court Services, including photographs, and two scrapbooks.
Link to Collection Guide
Real to Reel Documentary Series Records
Coll #: MS-00928
Date: 1981-1991
Extent: 1 box (1.28 cubic feet, 1.08 linear feet); 5 digital files (19.20 GB)
The Real to Reel Documentary Series Records (approximately 1981-1991) consists mainly of production files used for the Real to Reel documentary series which aired on KLVX which was Las Vegas, Nevada's local PBS station in the 1980s. The documentary series was written and produced by journalist Claudia Collins. Episodes focused on local issues and general interest stories relevant to the Las Vegas community such as the National Finals Rodeo, Red Rock Canyon, women stationed at Nellis Air Force Base, and the Clark County Wetlands Park. The collection includes production files for episodes including scripts, research notes, correspondence, and newspaper clippings. Also included are digital copies of select Real to Reel episodes.
Link to Collection Guide
Reiter (Mary Jane Griffith) papers
Coll #: MS-00262
Date: 1919-1964
Extent: 0.22 Cubic Feet, 1.88 Linear Feet (1 box, 1 flat file)
The Mary Jane Griffith Reiter Papers date from 1919 to 1964. The papers document Nevada history and her family’s business and civic work; they contains her grandmother's will, a ledger detailing the costs and expenses for rental properties, and reports and minutes from the Colorado River Commission. It also includes a 1964 bibliography of materials on Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Renee Lee Papers
Coll #: MS-00587
Date: 1950s-2012
Extent: 3.2 Linear Feet (8 boxes)
The Renee Lee Papers span from the 1950s to 2012 and document the life of singer and actress Renee Lee through photographs, her original music scores, newspaper clippings, and a mid-career resume. The collection also includes an alphabetized card catalog of the private performances Lee booked from 1998-2012.
Link to Collection Guide
Republican Women of Las Vegas, Nevada Records
Coll #: MS-00371
Date: 1953-1992
Extent: 2 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
The collection is comprised of the records of the Republican Women of Las Vegas, Nevada dating from 1953 to 1992. The collection includes scrapbooks, photographs, invitations, fliers, magazines, and awards.
Link to Collection Guide
Rickman (Carmella) papers
Coll #: MS-00541
Date: 1955-1999
Extent: 4 boxes, 1 flat file, 2 oversized items (3.94 cubic feet, 11.04 linear feet)
The Carmella Rickman Papers (1955-1999) document Rickman’s career as a burlesque dancer as well as her later life in Las Vegas, Nevada. She performed primarily in Washington, D.C. and along the east coast of the United States in the 1950s and 1960s. Materials include promotional photographs of Rickman and newspaper and magazine clippings about her performances, as well as photographs and promotional material for other burlesque dancers. The collection includes one beaded costume worn by Rickman. It also includes photographs of Rickman’s life in the 1990s in Las Vegas, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Rochelle Hornsby Papers
Coll #: MS-00835
Date: 1970-1986
Extent: 0.21 Cubic Feet (1 box)
Papers are comprised of newspaper clippings, photographs, and ephemera collected by Rochelle Hornsby about her life in Las Vegas, Nevada during the 1970s and 1980s and her involvement with Temple Beth Sholom. The papers include information about Temple Beth Sholom productions and plays as well as Hornsby's involvement with local sport leagues.
Link to Collection Guide
Rockwell, Earl Papers
Coll #: MS-00145
Date: 1852-1978
Extent: 1 box and 1 flat file (0.68 cubic feet, 2.62 linear feet)
The Earl Rockwell Papers (1852-1978) consists of newspaper clippings, diaries, books, correspondence, and ephemera related to Las Vegas, Nevada pioneer Earl Rockwell. The collection documents Rockwell’s life in Las Vegas and Elmira, New York and also contains seven nineteenth-century diaries that belonged to Rockwell’s grandmother, Amanda Brees.
Link to Collection Guide
Rodgers, Kerin Scianna papers
Coll #: MS-00390
Date: 1974 - 1986
Extent: 2.25 linear feet (2 boxes)
The Kerin Scianna Rodgers Papers (1974-1986) consist of article clippings, memorandums, Democratic voting advertisements, election plans, 1986 list of primary candidates, and personal notes. Also included are district court cases, correspondence, and election day instructions.
Link to Collection Guide
Ronzone Family Papers
Coll #: MS-00509
Date: 1900-1991
Extent: 1.75 Cubic Feet (3 boxes)
Ronzone Family Papers (1900-1991) include newspaper clippings, business documents, correspondence, certificates, yearbooks, publications, artifacts, and photographs. The papers document their lives in Nevada, their department store, and Dick Ronzone's involvement in local politics.
Link to Collection Guide
Royer (Kay) Red Cross Scrapbook
Coll #: MS-00962
Date: 1945-1948
Extent: 1 box (0.36 cubic feet, 1.08 linear feet)
The Kay Royer Red Cross Scrapbook contains black-and-white photographic prints, newspaper clippings, and personal correspondence collected by Sarah "Kay" Royer while stationed at the 248th General Hospital and 4th General Hospital in the Philippines from 1945 to 1948. The scrapbook contains newspaper clippings with commentary written by Royer documenting her training at the American University in Washington, D.C., the journey to Manila, and her time spent there working in various hospitals. Included in the scrapbook are letters from soldiers thanking the nurses for their care, dance cards, menus from holidays and special occasions, and hand-drawn sketches given to Royer.
Link to Collection Guide
Ruthadele Stearns Doyal Lathrop Personal Papers
Coll #: MS-00854
Date: 1900s-1991 (bulk 1949-1991)
Extent: 2 boxes and 1 oversized box (1.57 cubic feet, 3.29 linear feet)
The Ruthadele Stearns Doyal Lathrop Personal Papers (1900s-1991) contains scrapbooks, slides, and matted competition photographs created by Ruthadele Stearns Doyal Lathrop, a photographer and ballroom dancer. The scrapbooks include photographs of Ruthadele’s family, travels, and ballroom dance competitions, as well as newspaper clippings and other ephemera. The slides and matted photographs consist mostly of Western landscape scenes, including California and Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Service League [Las Vegas]
Coll #: MS-00631
Date: 1948-1970
Extent: 4 oversize boxes, 4 double oversize boxes (6.68 linear feet)
Collection consists of the Las Vegas Service League scrapbooks containing newspaper articles about the members, various charitable acts performed by the league and league gatherings. (see also Junior League of Las Vegas collection 97-12 and the Junior Service League of Las Vegas on the roller shelf)
Shade Tree Shelter Records
Coll #: MS-00365
Date: 1990-1996
Extent: 3 boxes (2.76 cubic feet, 2.38 linear feet)
The Shade Tree Shelter Records date from 1990 to 1996 and consist primarily of logbooks and journals compiled by the staff of the Shade Tree, a shelter for homeless and abused women and children in Las Vegas, Nevada, documenting daily activities, incidents, and residents at the shelter. The collection also includes summaries of the staff's telephone conversations, a newspaper article about Shade Tree, and fliers and brochures about social services available in Southern Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Shepp (Helen M.) Papers
Coll #: MS-00394
Date: 1953-1962
Extent: 1 document box (.37 cubic feet)
The Helen M. Shepp Papers (1953-1962) contain financial records, meeting minutes, correspondence, and a policy statement relating to her involvement in the American Association for the United Nations (AAUN). Shepp was a founding member of the Nevada Chapter. Also included are copies of the "Navy Mothers' News" from 1953, to which Shepp belonged.
Link to Collection Guide
Sin Sity Sisters of Perpetual Indulgence Records
Coll #: MS-00873
Date: 2005-2018
Extent: 2 boxes, 1 flat file (shared box) (0.78 cubic feet, 2.50 linear feet)
The Sin Sity Sisters of Perpetual Indulgence Records (2005-2018) contain organizational records of the Sin Sity Sisters of Perpetual Indulgence, an LGBTQIA+ charity and advocacy organization in Las Vegas, Nevada. The records include agendas and meeting minutes, financial records, press material, awards, and certificates of appreciation for the organization. Also included are financial records for the organization's annual Red Dress charity fundraiser and the Sisters AIDS Drug Assistance Program (SADAP), the grant fund that provides financial assistance to AIDS/HIV patients.
Link to Collection Guide
Smith, Arlene Mathews Papers
Coll #: MS-00069
Date: 1910-1978
Extent: 0.5 Linear Feet (1 box)
Related Materials: 0129
The Arlene Mathews Smith Papers are comprised of materials pertaining to the area around Panaca, Nevada, dating from 1910 to 1978, with a bulk of the items from the 1920s. The papers were collected while she lived in Panaca and consist of records and booklets from the 4-H Boys and Girls Club, two copies of the "Lincoln Lantern" dated 1927, a photo album, and memorabilia.
Link to Collection Guide
Soroptimist International of Henderson/Green Valley Chapter Records
Coll #: MS-00359
Date: 1980-2004
Extent: 1.25 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
Soroptimist International Henderson / Green Valley Chapter Records from 1980 to 2004 include meeting minutes, programs, photographs, conference materials, promotional material for various fund raisers, awards, and a gavel.
Link to Collection Guide
Soroptimist International Sierra Nevada Region Records
Coll #: MS-00848
Date: 1975-1998
Extent: 2 boxes (0.83 cubic feet, 0.92 linear feet)
The Soroptimist International Sierra Nevada Region Records are comprised of memoranda, newspaper clippings, brochures, and communications from 1975 to 1998. The collection includes information about the Soroptimist International Sierra Nevada Region chapter's involvement with women's rights issues, primarily the Equal Rights Amendment ratification campaign in Nevada and California, as well as national efforts.
Link to Collection Guide
Soroptomists International of Greater Las Vegas
Coll #: MS-00443
Date: 1968-2000
Extent: 20.6 Linear Feet (19 boxes and 2 oversize boxes)
The Soroptimist International of Greater Las Vegas and Paradise Valley Records document the activity of two Las Vegas, Nevada chapters of the women's advocacy group Soroptimist International from 1968 to 2000. The records contain membership information, by-laws, correspondence, scrapbooks, publications, memoranda, and ephemera about women's issues, environmental concerns, and the club's activities in the Greater Las Vegas and Paradise Valley chapters. The records also contain information from conferences held by Soroptimist International, including audio cassette recordings of speeches and presentations.
Link to Collection Guide
Southern Nevada Antique Bottle Club Records
Coll #: MS-00217
Date: 1967-1975
Extent: 0.46 cubic feet (1 box)
The Southern Nevada Antique Bottle Club Records (1967-1975) contain the constitution, byLaws, membership lists, and copies of the club's newsletter, Punkin Seed.
Link to Collection Guide
Southern Nevada Association of Women Attorneys Records
Coll #: MS-00808
Date: 1979-2016
Extent: 5 boxes (5.2 Linear Feet, 5.7 Cubic Feet), 929 Digital Files (4 DVDs, 0.823 GB) PDF/A
Collection is comprised of records (approximately 1979 to 2016) created by the Southern Nevada Association of Women Attorneys (SNAWA). The collection contains administrative files from past SNAWA board members including past SNAWA presidents, secretaries, and treasures. The collection also includes records such as attendee lists, registration forms, and seminar evaluation forms from continuing legal education (CLE) events organized by SNAWA for attorneys in Southern Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Southern Nevada Chapter of the American War Mothers Organization Records
Coll #: MS-00396
Date: 1947-1995 (bulk 1950-1980)
Extent: 2.4 cubic feet (3 boxes and 1 flat folder)
The Southern Nevada Chapter of the American War Mothers Organization Records (1947-1995) are comprised primarily of scrapbooks containing correspondence and minutes, numerous newspaper clippings, and photographs. Also included are pamphlets on American War Mothers organizational rituals, bylaws, history, ceremonial ephemera, flags, and a Henderson Chapter Charter. The materials also contain items relating to the North Las Vegas Chapter, the Rose Garden Chapter, and the State Chapter.
Link to Collection Guide
