Manuscripts by Subjects
Manuscripts -> TransportationTotal manuscripts: 15
Clark (J. Ross) Scrapbook
Coll #: MS-00637
Date: 1897-1972
Extent: 1 oversized box (0.37 cubic feet, 1.10 linear feet)
Related Materials: 0144
The J. Ross Clark Scrapbook dates from approximately 1897 to 1972 and consists of newspaper clippings collected by his wife, Miriam Evans Clark. The clippings relate to professional events in the lives of J. Ross Clark and his brother, Senator William A. Clark. A small number of the clippings refer to births, marriages, and deaths in Miriam Evans and J. Ross Clark's families. Also included are documents written by J. Ross Clark's grand-niece, Dorothy Murdock Dunkley, that offer additional information about the Clark and associated families.
Link to Collection Guide
Ives, Joseph C. Personal Correspondence
Coll #: MS-00079
Date: 1857-1858
Extent: 0.2 linear feet (1 folder, shared box)
The Joseph C. Ives Personal Correspondence consists of 17 letters (photocopies) between United States Army Corps of Topographic Engineers Lt. Joseph C. Ives and his wife, Cora Semmes Ives, between September 1857 and June 1858. Ives was in command of a U.S. Army expedition whose mission was to explore the region of the Colorado River and the Grand Canyon, and to establish the limit of navigation of the Colorado River. The correspondence is largely personal in nature, however, it is a useful supplement to the official report documenting the voyage, "Report upon the Colorado River of the West; Explored in 1857-1858."
Link to Collection Guide
Las Vegas Airfield (Robert B. Griffith)
Coll #: MS-00028
Date: 1941
Extent: 0.1 linear feet (1 shared box)
The Robert B. Griffith papers date to 1941 and contain the escrow holder papers of Robert B. Griffith and A. Corradetti recording their purchase of 40 acres of federal land located in Southern Nevada. The collection also contains receipts from the United States Department of War confirming the cost and deposit of the fee for the land. The land eventually became Nellis Air Force Base Airfield.
Link to Collection Guide
Las Vegas City, Engineering and Planning Department
Coll #: MS-00270
Date: 1949 - 1981
Extent: 2.30 cubic feet, 2.10 linear feet (2 boxes)
The Las Vegas City Engineering and Planning Department Collection (1949-1981) consists of urban planning reports, transportation and parking studies, and environmental impact assessments concerning the greater Las Vegas, Nevada metropolitan area. In addition to general issues of urban planning, the collection contains items regarding the expansion of Interstate 15 in the 1970s and 1980s.
Link to Collection Guide
Leland, Elma
Coll #: MS-00070
Date: 1948 - 1978
Extent: 0.1 Linear Feet (5 Folders (shared box))
The Elma G. Leland Papers contain items related to the aviation industry in Las Vegas, Nevada from 1948 to 1978. The papers include several aviation publications, articles about Fred W. Kelly, Western Airlines International's first pilot, and newspaper clippings about aviation in Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Neonis, Delores papers
Coll #: MS-00182
Date: 1941-1975
Extent: 3.8 cubic feet (5 boxes and one flat file)
Collection is comprised of the Dolores Neonis Papers dating from 1941-1975. The collection contains bank records, payroll information, recipes, and sales slips for the Original Steak House on 1st Street, Las Vegas, Nevada. Also included are the Las Vegas Monorail System evaluations and financial feasibility reports, proposals, and correspondence. The Neonis real estate papers contain appraisals, property sales, lease and purchase agreements, promotional materials, maps, and correspondence. There are personal items that consist of a Helldorado button, poker chips, photographs, plays, and voting information.
Link to Collection Guide
Olen (Jean) papers
Coll #: MS-01052
Date: 1994-2008
Extent: 1 box (0.19 cubic feet, 0.21 linear feet)
The Jean Olen Papers (1994-2008) document Olen's career as a taxicab driver in Las Vegas, Nevada. Materials include Olen's personal taxicab driver's permit, medical examiner certificate, and other placards found in taxicabs regarding common questions, such as tipping, no smoking, and airport fees. Also included are newspaper clippings about taxicab drivers in Las Vegas, Nevada and four issues of Trip Sheet, a local magazine for taxicab, limousine, trolley, and shuttle drivers, which features letters to the editor written by Olen.
Link to Collection Guide
Regional Transportation Commission of Southern Nevada Records
Coll #: MS-00991
Date: 1995-2004
Extent: 3 boxes, 1 oversized box (1.78 cubic feet, 2.21 linear feet)
The Regional Transportation Commission of Southern Nevada Records (1995-2004) contain specifications, reports, publications, and studies pertaining to the development, planning, and usage of public transit systems in the Las Vegas Valley, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Roth, George Knox collection
Coll #: MS-00238
Date: 1959-1980
Extent: 20 boxes, 1 oversized box (10.92 cubic feet, 10.98 linear feet)
The George Knox Roth Collection (1959-1980) consists of newspaper clippings (including photocopies), magazine articles, newsletters, technical reports and publications, correspondence, notes, and photographs relating to the Atomic Energy Commission, the environmental impact of nuclear testing in Nevada, Nevada mining, Airwest and the Hughes Airport, and other aspects of Howard Hughes’ Nevada operations. The George Knox Roth Collection also includes correspondence and expense reports related to his own company, General Research Consultants.
Link to Collection Guide
Ryan (George Kelly) papers
Coll #: MS-00120
Date: 1929-1971
Extent: 0.01 cubic/linear feet (1 folder in shared box)
The George Kelly Ryan papers (1921-1971) contain correspondence inquiring about Octavius Decatur "O. D." Gass, newspaper clippings from 1929, handwritten recollections of the Gold Ranch by Laura Royce, and a San Pedro, Los Angeles and Salt Lake Railroad Company information, including information on wash-outs in Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Smith (Willis B.) Collection on Western Airlines
Coll #: MS-00123
Date: 1958, undated
Extent: 2 folders (shared box) and 1 flat file (0.2 cubic feet, 0.2 linear feet)
The Willis B. Smith Collection (1958) on Western Airlines consists of two news releases from Western Airlines about the company's history and two letters to Willis B. Smith. The collection describes the founding of Western Airlines and its early flights from Salt Lake City, Utah to Los Angeles, California. It also contains a color photograph of a Western Air DC-10 airliner in flight.
Link to Collection Guide
Steamboats on the Colorado River
Coll #: MS-00201
Date: 1852-1976, bulk 1974-1976
Extent: 1.17 linear feet (2 boxes)
The KLVX Steamboats on the Colorado Records consist of documents related to the production of Las Vegas' Channel 10's KLVX) Steamboats on the Colorado documentary between 1974 and 1976. The collection is comprised of correspondence, promotional materials, scripts, a treatment, a grant application, maps of the Colorado River from 1852 and other materials used as research for the documentary.
Link to Collection Guide
Taylor, Erle A. Collection on Aviation
Coll #: MS-00186
Date: 1951-1976
Extent: 2 boxes, 1 oversize flat file (.078 cubic feet, 3.77 linear feet)
The Erle A. Taylor Collection on Aviation (1951-1976) is comprised of materials collected by Erle A. Taylor, former director of aviation for Clark County, Nevada, relating to airports and aviation. It includes many slides of McCarran Airport and airshows held at Nellis Air Force Base in Las Vegas, Nevada. Other materials include publications on airports and aircraft, information on the dedication of the Riverside, California airport, and promotional materials for the United States Air Force Thunderbirds.
Link to Collection Guide
Turner, Bruce Collection on Transportation and Water in Southern Nevada
Coll #: MS-00648
Date: 1980-2014
Extent: 33 boxes and 1 oversized flat file (15.94 cubic feet, 19.98 linear feet); 1177 digital files (6.190 GB)
The Bruce Turner Collection on Transportation and Water in Southern Nevada contains reports, publications, legal files, project proposals, journal articles, financial reports, photographs, and maps concerning transportation policy and water usage in Southern Nevada from 1980 to 2014. The collection contains documents from organizations including the Regional Transportation Commissions of Clark County and Southern Nevada, the Clark County Department of Air Quality and Environmental Management, Clark County Comprehensive Planning, the Urban Land Institute, the City of Las Vegas Neighborhood Services Department, the Southern Nevada Water Authority, and the Las Vegas Valley Water District.
Link to Collection Guide
Union Pacific Railroad Collection
Coll #: MS-00397
Date: 1828-1995
Extent: 163 boxes, 55 flat files, 61 unboxed volumes (190.38 cubic feet, 196.53 linear feet)
The Union Pacific Railroad Collection (1828-1986) is comprised of the original corporate records of the Union Pacific Railroad's operations in Southern Nevada, Utah, and Southern California, particularly focusing on Las Vegas and Los Angeles. The collection documents the purchase of Stewart ranch and the construction of the original depot and town which became modern Las Vegas. The collection also contains the records of the Las Vegas Land & Water Company (LVL&W), a subsidiary of the railroad formed in 1905 to handle the railroad's land transactions. The collection contains office files, correspondence, reports, leases, various legal, governmental and financial document, the collection contains large and small format maps, architectural and engineering drawings, published technical reports, railroad operational manuals, bound legal briefs, ledgers, and payroll and receipt books. The collection also includes the personal files of Walter Bracken, the Union Pacific's special representative in Nevada and vice president of the Las Vegas Land and Water Company, and a paper index of the collection materials.
Link to Collection Guide
