Manuscripts by Subjects
Manuscripts -> Health Services/HospitalsTotal manuscripts: 15
American Red Cross Southern Nevada Chapter Records
Coll #: MS-00600
Date: 1917-2015
Extent: 10 boxes (4.94 cubic feet, 9.75 Linear Feet), 433 Digital Files (4.96 Gigabytes)
The American Red Cross Southern Nevada Chapter Records (1917-2015) include business records, legal and property documents, scrapbooks, photographs, awards and event programs. Also included is documentation of training events in Southern Nevada and disaster relief efforts throughout the country.
Link to Collection Guide
Arnie and Sheila Wexler Professional Papers
Coll #: MS-00579
Date: 1976-2006
Extent: 5 Linear Feet (5 boxes)
The Arnie and Sheila Wexler Professional Papers consist of the professional materials dating from 1976 to 2006 of Arnie and Sheila Wexler, compulsive gambling counselors from New Jersey. The papers include documents, articles, videotapes, and audiocassettes on various aspects of problem, compulsive, and pathological gambling.
Link to Collection Guide
Charter Hospital of Las Vegas, Nevada Records on Problem Gambling
Coll #: MS-00320
Date: 1968 - 1987
Extent: 0.4 Linear Feet (1 Box)
The Charter Hospital of Las Vegas, Nevada Records on Problem Gambling are comprised of various professional papers, reports, articles, and documents related to compulsive gambling and pathological gambling dating from 1968 to 1987. The focus of the records are on compulsive gambling, therapy and treatments, and Gambler's Anonymous. Many of the papers included are copies of articles and conference papers about problem gaming.
Link to Collection Guide
History of Nursing in Southern Nevada Oral History Project Records
Coll #: MS-00784
Date: 1965-2014
Extent: 3 boxes (1.3 Linear Feet, 0.985 Cubic Feet), 674 Digital Files (4.14 GB)
The History of Nursing in Southern Nevada Oral History Project Records (1965-2014) are comprised of material related to a volunteer project initiative at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas School of Nursing to conduct oral history interviews with nurses who have practiced in Southern Nevada. The collection contains subject files related to the project, as well as audio, video, and transcript files for the interviews. The collection also includes general information on nursing in Southern Nevada such as research papers and documents from the Nevada Nurses Association.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online
Julian Taber and Lori Rugle Collection on Gambling Addiction
Coll #: MS-00578
Date: 1977-1988
Extent: 3 boxes (1.51 cubic feet, 1.48 linear feet)
The Julian Taber Collection on Gambling Addiction (1977-1988) includes papers, proposals, internal reports, memoranda, and newspaper articles chronicling the work of Julian Taber, an early specialist in the field of gambling addiction. The majority of the collection relates to Taber’s work and pilot programs at the Brecksville Veterans Administration (VA) Hospital in Brecksville, Ohio, with select materials pertaining to an alcohol dependency treatment program he coordinated at the VA hospital in Reno, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Malone (George W.) papers
Coll #: MS-00057
Date: 1928 -1933
Extent: 1 folder (1 shared box); 0.02 cubic/linear feet
The George W. Malone Papers (1928-1933) consist of one bound volume of letters, documents, speeches, reports, and maps pertaining to Malone's positions as: Nevada State Engineer; National Executive Committeeman for the American Legion; President, Association of Western Engineers; Secretary, Colorado River Commission; member, Nevada State Range Commission.
Link to Collection Guide
Nathan Adelson Hospice Records
Coll #: MS-00318
Date: 1978-1992
Extent: 0.5 Linear Feet (1 box)
Collection consists of administrative records of the Nathan Adelson Hospice from its founding in 1978 to 1992. It includes board meeting minutes, by-laws, promotional materials, issues of the hospice newsletter, and some press clippings. A small amount of material is related to the Nathan Adelson Memorial Hospice Book Collection.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online
Nevada Association of Psychiatric Physicians Records
Coll #: MS-00428
Date: 1984-2000
Extent: 1 Linear Feet (1 box)
The records of the Nevada Association of Psychiatric Physicians (NAPP) document the professional association's membership, activities, and advocacy from 1984 to 2000. The records indicate how NAPP organized the professional psychiatric community in Southern Nevada, held meetings on various public health initiatives, networked with other professional organizations like the American Medical Association and the American Psychological Association, and published articles and newsletters on a variety of psychiatric topics.
Link to Collection Guide
Nevada Nurses Association
Coll #: MS-00240
Date: 1945-1995
Extent: 24.75 Linear Feet (24 boxes)
Collection is comprised of the organizational records of the Nevada Nurses Association dating from 1945 through 1995. Topics addressed by the material include Planned Parenthood, state legislature on health care, the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA), and League of Women Voters. Types of material in the collection include clippings, association history, membership information, receipts, correspondence, convention notes and programs, alumni directory, newsletters, pamphlets, meeting minutes, and scrapbooks.
Link to Collection Guide
Rena Nora Papers on Gambling Addiction
Coll #: MS-00584
Date: 1978-2009
Extent: 0.4 Linear Feet (1 box)
The Rena Nora Papers on Gambling Addiction (1978-2009) consist of the personal correspondence, research notes, and publications of psychiatrist Rena Nora. In addition to positions in New Jersey and New York, Dr. Nora was the Chief of Psychiatric Services at Nellis Air Force Base in Las Vegas, Nevada, where she focused on issues of compulsive gambling. The papers also house several compact disks which contain presentations that Dr. Nora gave at various conferences on problem gambling in the United States.
Link to Collection Guide
Slavin Family Papers
Coll #: MS-00362
Date: 1905 - 1965
Extent: 2 boxes (2.81 linear feet, 1.73 cubic feet)
The Slavin Family Papers (1905-1965) are materials related to Hale B. Slavin, a doctor who practiced in Las Vegas, Nevada from 1933 until his death in 1965, his wife Ruth Slavin, and his children, Thomas and Sarah Slavin. The collection includes memorabilia of events and commemorations, Hale B. Slavin's schoolwork from elementary through college, Thomas and Sarah Slavin's elementary school work, photographs, family correspondence, postcards, a diploma, and newspaper clippings.
Link to Collection Guide
Smith, J.D. Papers
Coll #: MS-00722
Date: 1922-1972
Extent: 1.7 Linear Feet (3 boxes)
The collection is comprised of various account and appointment books dating from approximately 1922 to 1972 kept by Las Vegas, Nevadan dentist, Dr. Jay Dayton "J. D." Smith, who operated a dental practice near 1st and Fremont streets. Also included in this collection are sympathy cards to Dr. Smith's family upon his passing, copies of his obituary from the Las Vegas Sun, copies of the Las Vegas Age with a front page article on Dr. Smith's appointment as U.S. Marshal, and a copy of the book K.O. Knudson: His Life by James Monroe Harvey.
Link to Collection Guide
Southern Nevada Memorial Hospital Records
Coll #: MS-00063
Date: 1955-1956
Extent: 5 folders (shared box); 0.08 cubic/linear feet
The Southern Nevada Memorial Hospital Records (1955-1956) consist of Southern Nevada Memorial Hospital (SNMH) records including minutes of Board of Trustees meetings, Grand Jury accusations against the Board regarding the poor operation of the hospital, the Board's responses, and newspaper clippings from the Las Vegas Review-Journal regarding this controversy.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV Libraries Collection of Digital Communication about COVID-19 in Las Vegas
Coll #: MS-01031
Date: 2021
Extent: 141 digital files, 61 websites (751.103 GB)
UNLV Libraries Collection of Digital Communication about COVID-19 in Las Vegas (2020-2021) contain digital materials documenting the COVID-19 pandemic at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) and in Las Vegas, Nevada. The collection materials include archived websites, Twitter data, and official emails sent to the UNLV campus community.
Link to Collection Guide
Van Betten, Patricia Healthcare and Nursing Papers
Coll #: MS-00098
Date: 1985-2009
Extent: 2.65 Linear Feet (4 boxes)
The Patricia van Betten Healthcare and Nursing Papers (1985-2009) are comprised of personal correspondence, memoranda, newsletters, and reports of Patricia van Betten, who worked with the League of Women Voters and the Nevada Nurses Association from 1985 to 2011. The collection details several Nevada organizations including the Nevada Chapter of the Health Care Reform Project (HCRP), the League of Women Voters, and the Nevada Nurses Association. Also of interest, the collection contains written material, video recordings, and compact discs pertaining to health curriculum for the Clark County School District.
Link to Collection Guide
