Manuscripts by Subjects
Manuscripts -> GLBT.Total manuscripts: 50
"LGBTQ Las Vegas" Records
Coll #: MS-00965
Date: 2016-2017
Extent: 1 box (0.23 cubic feet, 0.21 linear feet)
The "LGBTQ Las Vegas" records are comprised of Dennis McBride's official papers and correspondence from 2016 to 2017 about his pictorial history book, "LGBTQ Las Vegas", on the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) community in Las Vegas, Nevada. The records consist of correspondence on the acceptance of McBride's book proposal as well as a memorandum agreement. The records also contain printed copies of electronic correspondence between McBride and Arcadia Publishing as well as correspondence from McBride requesting photographer's permission to include their work in his book. The records also include a proof copy of the book with McBride's annotations.
Link to Collection Guide
"Out of the Neon Closet: Queer Community in the Silver State" records
Coll #: MS-00875
Date: 2007-2017
Extent: 2 boxes (1.3 cubic feet, 1.08 linear feet); 427 digital files (0.474 GB)
Out of the Neon Closet: Queer Community in the Silver State records (2007-2017) are comprised of Dennis McBride's research and working files for his book on the history of the LGBTQ (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer) community in Nevada. The records include correspondence from Dennis McBride to different publishers detailing his research. The collection also includes copies of his book proposal, peer reviews, manuscript drafts, and proofs.
Link to Collection Guide
Anderson (Eddie) papers
Coll #: MS-00457
Date: 1965-2000
Extent: 4 boxes (3.64 cubic feet, 3.25 linear feet)
The Eddie Anderson Papers date from 1965 to 2000. The collection contains material from Eddie Anderson’s work as a political and social activist, as well as his radio career in Reno, Nevada. Included are newspaper articles, research notes, correspondence, speeches on political activism and gay rights, video recordings, audio recordings, memorabilia, black-and-white photographs, and color photographs. There is a photograph of Eddie Anderson with President Richard Nixon from 1969.
Link to Collection Guide
Carol Corbett Papers
Coll #: MS-00521
Date: 1981-2006
Extent: 8.5 Linear Feet (14 boxes)
The Carol Corbett Papers, 1981-2006, contain papers from Nevada organizations, Clark County offices, and general biographical and geographical information. Included are Corbett Recorder Scholarship and Hoggard Memorial Scholarship data, files for the Clark County Recorder's Office, Clark County Credit Union, Records Management Policies and Procedures, a District Attorney Opinion Project, Nevada Women's History Project, Nevada History Archives, and the State Historical Records Advisory Board (SHRAB) files. There is also information on gay issues. Materials also include slides and photographs.
Link to Collection Guide
Carratelli Family Collection on Gay Rights in Nevada
Coll #: MS-00536
Date: 1992-2002
Extent: 3.4 Linear Feet (2 boxes, 1 oversize folder)
The Carratelli Family Collection on Gay Rights in Nevada (1992-2002) consists of documents and ephemera from various gay rights organizations and events in Las Vegas, Nevada. In addition to documents, fliers, and meeting minutes, the collection houses a box of t-shirts from various gay events and campaigns. The collection is especially focused on issues of Gay Pride organizing.
Link to Collection Guide
Cave Nightclub Records
Coll #: MS-00519
Date: 1992-1994
Extent: 1 Linear Feet (1 box)
The Cave Nightclub Records (1992-1994) are comprised of materials generated during the planning and construction of the Cave Nightclub in Las Vegas, Nevada. It opened in 1992 as a straight nightclub. It changed ownership in 1993, and reopened on September 3, 1993 as a gay nightclub and closed early in 1995. The collection contains policy documents, building plans, and promotional and publicity materials, as well as artifacts, including waiter uniforms from the nightclub.
Link to Collection Guide
Center Stage, Inc. Records
Coll #: MS-00551
Date: 1994-2008
Extent: 1.5 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
The Center Stage, Inc. Records (1994 to 2008) are comprised of photographs, bylaws, correspondence, meeting minutes, publicity, scripts, programs, cast lists, and video cassettes of a number of the productions. Center Stage Theater Inc. was the first LGBT theater company in Las Vegas, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Collection on Repeal of Nevada's Anti-Sodomy Law
Coll #: MS-00726
Date: 1899-1993
Extent: 1 box (0.64 cubic feet. 0.58 linear feet)
The collection on Repeal of Nevada's Anti-Sodomy Law (1899-1993), was compiled during the Nevada State Legislature's debate on whether to repeal Nevada's anti-sodomy law in 1993. The bulk of the records are photocopied, Nevada State Prison Records for the twenty-five individuals prosecuted for sodomy between 1899 and 1953. Incuded with these records is an inventory. Other photocopied records include: Senate Bill 466 Legislative History Sodomy Law Repeal, 1993; LH-93-1 S.B. 466 of the 67th Session of the Nevada Legislation SEXUAL CONDUCT, 1993 and a number of affidavits from medical practitioners and religious leaders. Included with the affidavits is an inventory.
Link to Collection Guide
Cummings (Paul Lavern) papers
Coll #: MS-00971
Date: 1927-2018
Extent: 9 boxes (4.54 cubic feet, 5.92 linear feet), 220 digital files (2.156 GB)
The Paul Lavern Cummings Papers are comprised of Cummings' personal papers, photographs, and audiovisual materials dating from 1927 to 2018. Cummings worked as an actor and performed as a female impersonator under the name Lavern Cummings. The majority of the collection documents his career working at Finnochio’s, a nightclub in San Francisco, California. Materials in this collection includes correspondence, newspaper clippings, sheet music arrangements, photographs, digital audio files, and ephemera. The collection also includes interviews and biographical research material about Cummings and other female and male impersonators.
Link to Collection Guide
Daly v Daly Collection
Coll #: MS-00502
Date: 1980 - 2003
Extent: 0.6 Linear Feet (1 box)
The Daly v Daly Collection documents materials produced for and as a result of the lawsuits between Suzanne Daly (formerly Tim Daly), a male-to-female transgender woman, and Nancy Toews Daly from 1980 to 2003. The collection primarily focuses on the motions filed with the Nevada District Courts and Nevada Supreme Court and transcripts of the divorce, the battle for parental rights, and an allegation of civil rights violations.
Link to Collection Guide
Equal Rights Nevada
Coll #: MS-00607
Date: 2000-2002
Extent: 2 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
The Equal Rights Nevada (2000-2002) collection is comprised of organizational records documenting the group's unsuccessful fight against Question 2, a referendum voted upon in 2000 and 2002 to amend Nevada's state constitution to forbid same-sex marriage. It includes campaign files, financial records, publicity, correspondence, ephemera, and other supporting documentation from national and regional marriage equality organizations.
Link to Collection Guide
Fun One Bowling League Records
Coll #: MS-00592
Date: 1987-1997
Extent: 3 boxes (1.33 cubic feet, 1.21 linear feet)
The Fun One Bowling League Records (1987-1997) contain league schedules, membership documents, standing sheets, and other organizational records from the Fun One bowling league, an LGBTQ bowling league that was established in Las Vegas, Nevada in 1985. Fun One was the Las Vegas LGTBQ community's second bowling league.
Link to Collection Guide
Gay and Lesbian Community Center of Southern Nevada
Coll #: MS-00537
Date: 1992-2002
Extent: 1.2 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
The Gay & Lesbian Community Center of Southern Nevada [GLCCSN], a 501(c)3 organization, was founded in the fall of 1992 through efforts inspired by the Friday Night Men's Rap Group at the Community Counseling Center. The collection is comprised of material that documents the GLCCSN and includes news articles; institutional records such as bylaws, agendas, and meeting minutes; ephemera; and programs for the Center's annual Honorarium fundraiser.
Link to Collection Guide
Get Booked financial records
Coll #: MS-00473
Date: 1993-1998
Extent: 5 boxes (3.24 cubic feet, 2.71 linear feet)
The Get Booked Financial Records (1993-1998) comprise the early business records of Get Booked, a lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender (LGBT) bookstore located in Las Vegas, Nevada. The collection documents the initial purchase of the business as well as monthly financial records and promotional coupons.
Link to Collection Guide
Hinkley (Daniel) Papers
Coll #: MS-00525
Date: 1999-2016
Extent: 5 boxes, 1 flat file (3.04 cubic feet, 4.26 linear feet)
The Daniel Hinkley papers are comprised of material documenting Hinkley's work on behalf of the gay community in Las Vegas, Nevada between the years of 1991 to 2016. It includes Hinkley's files on the Progressive Leadership Alliance of Nevada, the campaign against Question 2, and various subjects related to the gay community in Las Vegas.
Link to Collection Guide
Imperial Royal Sovereign Court of the Desert Empire Records
Coll #: MS-00556
Date: 1997-2003
Extent: 2 boxes (2.57 cubic feet, 2.17 linear feet)
The material is comprised of the organizational records of the Imperial Royal Sovereign Court of the Desert Empire and its predecessor, the Royal Barony of the Desert Empire, from 1997 to 2003. The records contain administrative and financial records such as charters, bylaws, financial reports, meeting minutes, correspondence, and publicity documenting the club’s activities in Southern Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Jacques, Marge Papers
Coll #: MS-00438
Date: 1960-1990
Extent: 1.2 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
The Marge Jacques Papers (1960-1990) comprise the personal papers of Marge Jacques, a prominent member of the Las Vegas, Nevada gay and lesbian community, and owner of the gay bar, Le Cafe. The papers contain correspondence, licensing records, financial statements, and artifacts from clubs that Jacques owned or managed. Also included are photographs, videotapes, audiotapes, newspaper clippings, and Gipsy Nightclub promotional material.
Link to Collection Guide
Kerr (Kenny) Papers
Coll #: MS-01051
Date: approximately 1977-2013
Extent: 3 boxes, 1 oversized box, 1 digital file (2.56 cubic feet, 2.93 linear feet, 0.4930 GB)
The Kenny Kerr Papers (approximately 1977-2013) contain audiovisual materials, photographs, newspaper clippings, and ephemera that document the career of Las Vegas, Nevada female impersonator Kenny Kerr. The majority of the collection includes recordings of Kerr's performances, including his impersonation revue show This is Boy-Lesque. Audiovisual materials in this collection represent Kerr's performances in Las Vegas as well as around the United States, music used for Boy-Lesque, and an audiocassette recording of Kerr's song, "Uncle Sam Wants You." Other materials in this collection include Kerr's professional headshots and Boy-Lesque show ephemera such as performance tickets and show programs. Also included are professional and candid photographs of Kerr's performances and with other performers. The collection also includes a 2012 digital video recording of UnBOYlievable starring female impersonator Jimmy Emerson at the Riverside Resort in Laughlin, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Las Vegas , Nevada LGBTQ Collection
Coll #: MS-00251
Date: 1955-2016 (bulk 1980-2012)
Extent: 14 boxes and 2 oversized boxes (11.78 cubic feet, 11.42 linear feet)
The Las Vegas, Nevada Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer/Questioning (LGBTQ) Collection documents the social and political activities of Las Vegas, Nevada's LGBTQ community from 1955 to 2016. The collection includes hundreds of newspaper articles about LGBTQ issues, ranging from AIDS to Nevada legislation. The collection also documents the presence of the LGBTQ community in Las Vegas, including material from gay bars, nightclubs, social clubs, advocacy and political organizations, entertainers, and student groups. Previously known as the Las Vegas Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Collection.
Link to Collection Guide
Las Vegas Bugle Collection on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History
Coll #: MS-00476
Date: 1984-2002
Extent: 3 boxes (1.59 cubic feet, 1.66 linear feet)
The Las Vegas Bugle Collection on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender (LGBT) History (1984-2002) consists of correspondence, newspaper clippings, photographs, and ephemera chronicling issues of the LGBT communities in Nevada. In addition to records of the newspaper, the Las Vegas Bugle, the collection also contains documents pertaining to the founding of the Gay Community Service Center of Las Vegas, Nevada; Parents, Families, and Friends of Lesbians and Gays (PFLAG); local political campaigns; and photographs documenting LGBT life and culture in Las Vegas, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Las Vegas Professional Men's Club Records
Coll #: MS-00557
Date: 1984-1997 (bulk 1991-1997)
Extent: 4 boxes, 1 flat files (2.28 cubic feet, 3.59 linear feet)
The Las Vegas Professional Men’s Club Records (1984-1997) consist of the constitution, meeting minutes, and organizational documents of the Las Vegas Professional Men’s Club, later known as the Las Vegas Men’s Club (LVMC). The LVMC provided a social outlet for gay men in Southern Nevada. The bulk of the materials date from the 1990s and include membership lists, event fliers, promotional materials, financial documents, and information documenting the club’s fundraising activities.
Link to Collection Guide
Las Vegas' Gay Yellow Pages Telephone Directories
Coll #: MS-00735
Date: 1997-2018
Extent: 1 box (0.37 cubic feet, 0.42 linear feet)
Las Vegas' Gay Yellow Pages Telephone Directories (1997-2018) consists of telephone directories published by the Lambda Business Association, the LGBTQIA+ Chamber of Commerce for Southern Nevada. Las Vegas' Gay Yellow Pages lists business and services in the Las Vegas Valley specifically geared towards serving LGBTQIA+ community in the Las Vegas Valley and Southern Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Las Vegas, Nevada Anti-Gay Counter-Protest Collection
Coll #: MS-01083
Date: 2001
Extent: 1 folder (shared box), (0.10 cubic feet, 0.10 linear feet)
The Las Vegas, Nevada Anti-Gay Counter-Protest Collection (2001) documents the counter-protests against supporters of Reverend Fred Phelps of the Westboro Baptist Church at their anti-homosexual demonstrations. The counter-protests were held at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas campus and the Liberace Museum on March 10, 2001. Materials in this collection included a typed excerpt from the journal of Dennis McBride recounting his experiences on the day of the protest. Also included are photographic prints of counter-protestor Joshua Dart at the demonstration, a poster from the demonstration, correspondence between McBride and Dart, and an issue of the Rebel Yell featuring a front page article about the demonstration.
Link to Collection Guide
Lee Plotkin Papers
Coll #: MS-00518
Date: 1955-2006
Extent: 1 Linear Feet (1 box)
The Lee Plotkin papers document Plotkin's political work and associations as an LGBT activist and spokesman for the Las Vegas gay community, and include correspondence, press releases, copies of his columns, institutional and legislative documents, brochures, fliers and other ephemera from 1955 to 2006.
Link to Collection Guide
Lenhart (Ted) Collection on the LGBT Community
Coll #: MS-00484
Date: 1990-2001
Extent: 1 box (0.19 cubic feet, 0.21 linear feet)
The Ted Lenhart LGBTQ Community Collection (1990-2001) is comprised of correspondence, newspaper clippings, and organizational material detailing LGBTQ community issues in Nevada throughout the 1990s. The collection includes materials from organizations including: Aid for AIDS of Nevada, the Clark County Coalition of HIV/AIDS Service Providers, the Nevada chapter of the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power (ACT-UP), efforts to organize an HIV-Negative Men’s support group in Nevada, and Nevada Outdoors, an LGBTQ hiking club.
Link to Collection Guide
Mackey, Maureen Papers
Coll #: MS-00806
Date: 1922-2014
Extent: 3.75 Linear Feet (3 boxes)
This collection is comprised of personal papers and photographs of Reverend Maureen E. Mackey, M.D., physiatrist and co-founder of Rainbow Praise Church in Las Vegas, Nevada. The collection contents span the dates of 1922 to 2014 and details Dr. Mackey's life, including her educational accomplishments, personal life, and religious life. This collection also contains personal papers and photographs of Dr. Mackey's twin brother, Thomas Mackey, III, who passed away from AIDS in 1992. This collection also contains various photographs of Dr. Mackey's parents and family.
Link to Collection Guide
May, Rick L
Coll #: MS-00446
Date: 1982-1995
Extent: 0.64 Cubic Feet (1 box)
The Rick L. May Papers document some of the social and political activities of Las Vegas, Nevada's lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) community from 1982 to 1995. The papers include records from the Gay Academic Union of the University of Nevada, Las Vegas; various gay pride celebrations in Los Angeles, California and Las Vegas; the Metropolitan Community Church's outreach to the LGBT community; as well as Rick L. May's own notes and collections about LGBT-supportive stores like R and R Assordid Sundries. The collection also includes several t-shirts that commemorate the pride celebrations. The papers demonstrate how the pride celebrations that began in 1984 were the result of efforts from several sectors of Las Vegas' LGBT community.
Link to Collection Guide
McBride (Dennis) Collection of Gay Erotica
Coll #: MS-00624
Date: 1960-2006
Extent: 5 boxes (3.24 cubic feet, 2.71 linear feet)
The Dennis McBride Collection of Gay Erotica (1960-2006) contains a selection of pornographic publications, three VHS tapes of erotic films, and photographic prints mail ordered from gay erotica or physique photography studios. The three studios represented in this collection are Alexander Studio, Sierra Domino Studio, and Third World Studio.
Link to Collection Guide
McBride (Dennis) Erotica Collection
Coll #: MS-00552
Date: 1950-1989
Extent: 2 boxes (0.88 cubic feet, 0.79 linear feet)
The Dennis McBride Erotica Collection (approximately 1950s-1980s) consists of heterosexual and homosexual erotic photograph, drawings, and magazines. The collection also contains reproductions of early pornographic materials from the 1930s and 1940s and a stereoscope viewer with image inserts depicting nude females. This collection provides insight into erotica and pornography dating from the mid- to late- twentieth century.
Link to Collection Guide
McBride (Dennis) LGBTQ Poster and Sign Collection
Coll #: MS-00842
Date: 1977-2017
Extent: 1 oversized box, 4 flat files, 4 rolls, 11 unboxed items (4.92 cubic feet, 15.48 linear feet)
The Dennis McBride LGBTQ Poster and Sign Collection (1977-2017) consists of posters and signs created by the Las Vegas, Nevada Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer/Questioning (LGBTQ) community, collected by historian Dennis McBride. These handmade and commercially printed signs cover events of particular interest to the Las Vegas, Nevada LGBTQ community, including social events, entertainment venues, political rallies, and Gay Pride events.
Link to Collection Guide
McBride, Dennis Collection on LGBTQ Las Vegas, Nevada
Coll #: MS-00802
Date: approximately 1980-020
Extent: 34 boxes (40.72 cubic feet, 34.45 linear feet)
This collection is comprised of research files dating from approximately 1980 to 2020 created by Boulder City Nevadan, Dennis McBride, primarily in support of his book, Out of the Neon Closet: A History of Gay Las Vegas on the history of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, gay, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) community in Southern Nevada. Materials in this collection also include ephemera and clippings documenting LGBTQ establishments and organizations in Las Vegas, biographies of individuals, and other issues pertinent to the LGBTQ community. This collection also includes some materials about the LGBTQ community and their issues in Northern Nevada. The collection represents McBride's overall efforts to document and preserve the history of the LGBTQ community in Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
McBride, Dennis Collection on LGBTQ Las Vegas, Nevada
Coll #: MS-00802
Date: approximately 1980-020
Extent: 34 boxes (40.72 cubic feet, 34.45 linear feet)
This collection is comprised of research files dating from approximately 1980 to 2020 created by Boulder City Nevadan, Dennis McBride, primarily in support of his book, Out of the Neon Closet: A History of Gay Las Vegas on the history of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, gay, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) community in Southern Nevada. Materials in this collection also include ephemera and clippings documenting LGBTQ establishments and organizations in Las Vegas, biographies of individuals, and other issues pertinent to the LGBTQ community. This collection also includes some materials about the LGBTQ community and their issues in Northern Nevada. The collection represents McBride's overall efforts to document and preserve the history of the LGBTQ community in Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Memorial for Queer Rhyolite Papers
Coll #: MS-01067
Date: 2019-2020
Extent: 2 folders (shared box, 0.10 cubic feet, 0.10 linear feet), 23 digital files (0.047 GB)
Memorial for Queer Rhyolite Papers (2019-2020) contains documentation about the temporary monument installed for the inaugural Bullfrog Biennial at the Goldwell Open Air Museum in Rhyolite, Nevada in 2019. Materials include an information pamphlet about the exhibit as well as a small aluminum-cast monument with an inscribed dedication. Digital files in this collection include photographs of the monument during and after installation, images of Budd's sketchbook, and documents about the monument including exhibit proposals and articles written by Budd.
Link to Collection Guide
Michael Loewy Papers
Coll #: MS-00412
Date: 1985-1991
Extent: 1 box (0.21 cubic feet, 0.23 linear feet)
The Michael Loewy Papers (1985-1991) contain bylaws, correspondence, conference programs, suggestions and evaluation forms, agendas, and minutes for the Desert Mountain States Lesbian and Gay Conference. Also included are correspondence from the Lesbian and Gay Academic Union (LGAU) at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas, fliers, and an Empower Each Other directory.
Link to Collection Guide
Nevada State Protection of Marriage Initiative Collection
Coll #: MS-00527
Date: 2000
Extent: 0.42 Linear Feet (1 box)
The Nevada State Protection of Marriage Initiative Collection (2000) consists of Clark County, Nevada petition signatures in favor of the initiative to exclude gay and lesbian Nevadans from marriage. The "Protection of Marriage Initiative" was also known as Question Two on the ballot. Much of this material is photocopied from the Nevada State Archives and contains pages from Clark County, including Boulder City, as well as notable Southern Nevada signatures.
Link to Collection Guide
Pacifica Hotel Collection
Coll #: MS-01066
Date: 1981-1985
Extent: 1 folder (shared box), 1 digital file (0.10 cubic feet, 0.10 linear feet, 0.417 GB)
The Pacifica Hotel Collection (1981-1985) contains newspaper clippings, correspondence, and contracts on the Pacifica Hotel, the first resort geared specifically towards the LGBTQIA+ community in Las Vegas, Nevada. The collection also includes one optical disc with a compilation of Las Vegas television news stories from the summer of 1985 about the Pacifica Hotel project.
Link to Collection Guide
Parks (David R.) papers
Coll #: MS-00418
Date: 1981-1994
Extent: 1 box (0.23 Cubic Feet, 0.21 Linear Feet)
The David R. Parks Papers (1981-1994) contain a house appraisal, memorial card, copy of a plaque, a certificate of appreciation, and brochures, a surety bond, and correspondence involving the Camp David Men's Health Club. There is also a copy of a law suit and sales papers for the JTJ Corporation.
Link to Collection Guide
Pickett, Tamara Papers
Coll #: MS-00467
Date: 1978-1998
Extent: 0.4 Linear Feet (1 box)
The Tamara Pickett Papers (1977-1998) are comprised of materials related to the experiences of transgendered individuals in America. The collection includes transgender publications, scientific articles about sex reassignment surgery, and informational material provided to Pickett from various doctors as she planned her own sexual reassignment surgery.
Link to Collection Guide
Progressive Leadership Alliance of Nevada Records
Coll #: MS-00526
Date: 1994-2002
Extent: 0.2 linear (1 box)
The Progressive Leadership Alliance of Nevada (PLAN) records span the years 1994 to 2002 and are comprised of material documenting the organization's involvment in gay issues in Las Vegas, Nevada. PLAN was founded in 1994 as the umbrella organization for Nevada's progressive groups and institutions. This collection is comprised of material documenting the Minority Status and Child Protection Act of 1994 and the Coalition for Unity and Equal Rights Nevada, and contains a number of files from that effort, including opinion surveys, meeting agendas and campaign plans.
Link to Collection Guide
Reno Gay Rodeo
Coll #: MS-00503
Date: 1977-1988
Extent: 0.21 Linear Feet (1 box)
The Reno Gay Rodeo Collection comprises organizational records collected by Dennis McBride that document the National Reno Gay Rodeo from 1977 to 1988. It includes newspaper clippings, notes, and ephemera, as well as legal documentation from two lawsuits fought unsuccessfully in 1988 to retain the Reno rodeo. The two lawsuits were the Silver State Gay Rodeo Association vs Lawlor Events Center (1988), and the Lantry, et. al. vs Third Judicial District Court, NV (Nevada Supreme Court dismissal, 1988).
Link to Collection Guide
Rodgers, Kerin Scianna papers
Coll #: MS-00390
Date: 1974 - 1986
Extent: 2.25 linear feet (2 boxes)
The Kerin Scianna Rodgers Papers (1974-1986) consist of article clippings, memorandums, Democratic voting advertisements, election plans, 1986 list of primary candidates, and personal notes. Also included are district court cases, correspondence, and election day instructions.
Link to Collection Guide
Schafer (Bill) papers
Coll #: MS-00874
Date: 1980-2018
Extent: 1 box, 1 oversized box, 23,679 digital files (0.62 cubic feet, 1.42 linear feet, 34.077 GB)
The Bill Schafer Papers (1980-2018) contain personal and professional papers of Las Vegas, Nevada journalist and publisher, Bill Schafer, and photographs from various LGBTQIA+ related events in Las Vegas. The materials include files related to Schafer's work managing the Las Vegas Night Beat and Las Vegas Bugle publications. The collection contains copies of various LGBTQIA+ directories and photographs from events such as the Las Vegas Pride parade and the Gay and Lesbian Community Center of Southern Nevada's annual Honorarium. Also included are photographs and papers from Schafer's involvement with the Imperial Royal Sovereign Court of the Desert Empire, Inc.
Link to Collection Guide
Stagg, Kendall
Coll #: MS-00447
Date: 1998-2000
Extent: 0.21 Linear Feet (1 box)
The Kendall Stagg Collection (1998-2000) consists of material documenting Kendall Stagg’s political races in northern Nevada and also details gay activism in Reno. The collection consists of Stagg campaign materials, a t-shirt from one of his campaigns, and documents pertaining to the Gay, Lesbian, and Bisexual Student Union at the University of Nevada, Reno and Gay Pride parade organizing in Reno.
Link to Collection Guide
Stand OUT for Equality Records
Coll #: MS-00585
Date: 2008-2011
Extent: 3 boxes, 1 shared box (0.95 cubic feet, 2.71 linear feet)
The Stand OUT for Equality Records (2008-2011) contain correspondence, lobbying materials, press kits, promotional materials, expense reports, meeting agendas and minutes, certificates, and notes pertaining to the 2009 and 2011 lobbying efforts by Stand OUT for Equality for gay and straight domestic partnership benefits and transgender rights held in Carson City, Nevada. The collection also contains photographic prints of the 2009 and 2011 Equality Days in Carson City, copies of legislation related to domestic partnerships in Nevada, event invitations, newspaper clippings, and CDs with digital copies of fliers, posters, logos, manuals, training videos, and photographs, as well as templates and budgeting information.
Link to Collection Guide
Stonewall Park Collection
Coll #: MS-00501
Date: 1983-1987
Extent: 0.42 Linear Feet (1 box)
The Stonewall Park Collection (1983-1987) documents the Stonewall Park project, an unrealized gay community in Nevada. Material includes news clippings and ephemera, as well as financial records and ancillary documents detailing bankruptcies and litigation associated with the Stonewall Park project. Much of this material is photocopied from MS 1990-15 (Fred Schoonmaker Papers), held at the Museum of GLBT History in San Francisco, CA.
Link to Collection Guide
Strutt Hurley Collection on the Southern Nevada Association of Pride, Inc. (SNAPI) and Las Vegas Gay Pride
Coll #: MS-00466
Date: 1989-2000
Extent: 1 box, 2 oversize flat boxes, 1 flat file (2.4 cubic feet, 5 linear feet)
The Strutt Hurley Collection on the Southern Nevada Pride Association, Inc. (SNAPI) and Las Vegas Pride (1989-2000) contains materials collected and produced by Strutt Hurley during her tenure as Director of Entertainment of SNAPI. Materials include meeting minutes, advertising contracts, Las Vegas Pride programs, and ephemera collected from Pride celebrations in Las Vegas, Nevada and other parts of the United States and the world.
Link to Collection Guide
Sumpter (Rodney) Papers on Doe v. Bryan
Coll #: MS-00411
Date: 1985-1986
Extent: 1 box and 1 folder in shared box (0.46 cubic feet, 0.42 linear feet)
The Rodney Sumpter Papers on Doe v. Bryan contain the legal files of the lawyer Rodney Sumpter, who represented the appellants in the Nevada District Court case Doe v. Bryan (1985) and subsequent appeal in the Nevada State Supreme Court in 1986. Doe v. Bryan challenged one of Nevada's sodomy laws (NRS 201.190), and the collection contains affidavits, motion requests, correspondence, newspaper clippings, and memoranda regarding the case.
Link to Collection Guide
Valentino (Anthony M.) Erotica Collection
Coll #: MS-00568
Date: 1950s-1990s
Extent: 1 box (0.46 cubic feet, 0.42 linear feet)
The Anthony M. Valentino Erotica Collection (1950s-1990s) contains homoerotic drawings, stories, photographs, ephemera, and magazine articles collected and created by Valentino. This collection provides insight into gay erotica and pornography dating from the mid- to late- twentieth century.
Link to Collection Guide
Wilsey (Terry) Papers on the Las Vegas, Nevada LGBT Community
Coll #: MS-00472
Date: 1979-2002 (1983-1985)
Extent: 1 box (0.23 cubic feet, 0.21 linear feet)
The Terry Wilsey Papers on the Las Vegas, Nevada LGBT Community (1979-2002) are comprised of records from the Las Vegas Gay Switchboard, the Nevadans for Human Rights, and other LGBT community groups based on Las Vegas, Nevada. The collection contains newsletters, meeting minutes, informational pamphlets, and agendas from group meetings, as well as photographs, programs, and a VHS recording of local theatre productions.
Link to Collection Guide
Young, Christie
Coll #: MS-00350
Date: 1982-1985
Extent: 0.4 linear feet (1 box)
The Christie Young Papers are comprised of the personal journals of Christie Young between 1982 and 1995. These journals document Young's arrival in Las Vegas, Nevada and her involvement in several nascent Las Vegas lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) organizations from 1982 to 1985 as well as her life in San Diego from 1985 to 1995. The collection also includes typed transcripts of all journal entries that relate to the Las Vegas LGBT community.
Link to Collection Guide
