Manuscripts by Subjects
Manuscripts -> EnvironmentTotal manuscripts: 54
Archaeo-Nevada Society Records
Coll #: MS-00728
Date: 1939-2016 (bulk 1966-2005)
Extent: 9 boxes, 1 oversized box (6.52 cubic feet, 6.55 linear feet), 186 digital files (0.270 GB)
The Archaeo-Nevada Society Records (1939-2016) consist of archaeological and conservation articles, correspondence, brochures, newsletters, programs, maps, articles about prehistoric Native Americans, and information about the flora and fauna of Nevada. Materials also include scrapbooks and photograph albums detailing the activities of the society between 1966 and 1998.
Link to Collection Guide
Baker, C.D. Engineering Field Notebooks
Coll #: MS-00272
Date: 1909-1966
Extent: 4 boxes, 1 flat file (2.19 cubic feet, 5.25 linear feet)
The C. D. Baker Engineering Field Notebooks are comprised of the notebooks and informational texts Charles Duncan "C. D." Baker created and used between 1909 and 1966 while he served as the County Surveyor for Clark County, Nevada and the City Engineer for Las Vegas, Nevada. The field notebooks contain survey coordinates and elevation data for much of early Las Vegas and provide important information on early property boundaries, historical elevations, and lengths of streets from the 1920s to the 1960s. There are also oversized right of way maps for Clark County, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Blue Diamond Mine Corporation Records
Coll #: MS-00505
Date: 1918-2005 (bulk 1950-1990)
Extent: 17 boxes (19.14 cubic feet, 17.05 linear feet)
The Blue Diamond Mine Corporate Records (1918, 1941-2005) consist of operational and organization records of the gypsum mining and milling operations located in southwest Clark County, Nevada. Materials include operational records related to individual boring sites at the mine; milling operations and statistics; and equipment operations and statistics, including maps, field notebooks, and photographs. There are also daily, weekly, and monthly organizational records related to employee work schedules and safety reports for the mining operations, including accident reports and a safety education training program.
Link to Collection Guide
Citizen Alert Records
Coll #: MS-00415
Date: 1971-1999 (bulk 1988-1996)
Extent: 8 boxes (7.19 cubic feet, 6.67 linear feet)
Citizen Alert is a Nevada-based environmental organization established in 1975 in response to Yucca Mountain being considered as the repository for the nation's nuclear waste. The records in the collection date from 1971-1999, with the bulk of the records from 1988-1996 and focused on issues of concern to Southern Nevada. The collection includes a large subject and administration file containing the organization’s mailings, fliers and newsletters regarding environmental issues and events, newsletters of other environmental organizations, press releases and brochures from a number of government agencies, and newspaper clippings on specific environmental topics. The collection also contains a number of environmental reports from federal, state, and local agencies as well as a number of conference and activist packets.
Link to Collection Guide
Clark County 208 Water Quality Management Plan Records
Coll #: MS-00985
Date: 1960-1990
Extent: 1 box (0.37 cubic feet, 0.42 linear feet)
The Clark County 208 Water Quality Management Plan Records contain reports produced by consultants and agencies for the Clark County Board of County Commissioners to create the Clark County, Nevada 208 Water Quality Management Plan (1960-1990). The collection also includes amendments and studies about the implementation of the plan.
Link to Collection Guide
Clark County Department of Air Quality and Environmental Management
Coll #: MS-00777
Date: 1988-2006 (bulk 1999-2004)
Extent: 9 boxes (4.88 linear feet, 5.83 cubic feet)
The Clark County Department of Air Quality and Environmental Management Records (1988-2006) contain materials related to Southern Nevada resource management, air quality, and community planning, particularly related to population growth in Clark County, Nevada. Materials include federal regulations and acts, reports, and land sales, as well as local agency reports, memorandums, workshop pamphlets, maps, and plans.
Link to Collection Guide
Clark County Planning Commission Research Library Collection
Coll #: MS-01027
Date: 1911-2004 inclusive (1970-1979 bulk)
Extent: 92 boxes, 1 oversized box (60.27 cubic feet, 51.18 linear feet)
The Clark County Planning Commission Research Library Collection (1911-2004) consists of reports, publications, and proposals gathered by the Clark County Planning Commission that focus on the environmental impact of proposed developments, construction, or infrastructure improvements around the county. The collection contains materials related to various local, state, federal, and inter-agency workshops, committees, and agencies. Documents include activity reports, impact statements, annual budgets and reports, and detailed studies. The majority of the collection dates from 1970 to 1999.
Link to Collection Guide
Desert Fishes Council Collection
Coll #: MS-00572
Date: 1969-1988
Extent: 8 boxes (5.4 cubic feet, 4.54 linear feet)
The Desert Fishes Council Records (1969-1988) consists of resolutions, meeting minutes, symposia programs, agenda, and press releases of the Desert Fishes Council (DFC), an organization devoted to the study and preservation of desert fishes, notably the desert pupfish. The DFC records reflect efforts to bring the plight of desert fishes to the attention of the academy and the public as well as highlight the worth of desert lands within the American environmental movement.
Link to Collection Guide
Donovan (David) Hydrology and Geology Collection
Coll #: MS-00813
Date: 1911-2011 (bulk 1954-2000)
Extent: 63 boxes (40.4 cubic feet, 33.79 linear feet)
The David Donovan Collection on Hydrology and Geology (1911-2011) is comprised of the research collected by former Las Vegas Valley Water District employee, David Donovan, about groundwater, hydrology, minerals, and geology in Nevada, as well as the surrounding areas of California, Arizona, and Utah. Included are reports, professional papers, maps, and books.
Link to Collection Guide
Environmental Radiation Protection Standards for Yucca Mountain, Nevada
Coll #: MS-00603
Date: 1957-2010
Extent: 59 boxes (75.73 cubic feet, 63.02 linear feet)
The Environmental Radiation Protection Standards for Yucca Mountain, Nevada collection (1957-2010) is an information docket established by the U. S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). The collection contains documents supporting the development of regulatory decisions by the EPA on radiation protection standards for Yucca Mountain, Nevada, evaluating it as a potential site for a radioactive waste storage repository. The collection includes regulatory notices, technical documents, environmental reports, letters, minutes of meetings, public comments, and other materials.
Link to Collection Guide
Essays on the Nevada MX Missile Project
Coll #: MS-00040
Date: 1980
Extent: 0.1 linear feet (1 shared box)
The Essays on the Nevada MX Missile Project collection is dated to 1980 and is comprised of essays by various artists predicting the damage an MX missile system could do to Nevada. The majority of the essays were published in the book MX in Nevada: A humanistic perspective. The collection also includes an annotated draft essay by James W. Hulse.
Link to Collection Guide
Foley, Roger D. Papers on United States v. Cappaert
Coll #: MS-00020
Date: 1972-1992 (bulk 1972-1996)
Extent: 4 boxes (1.8 cubic feet, 1.6 linear feet)
The Roger D. Foley Papers on United States v. Cappaert are comprised of materials collected by District Judge Roger D. Foley while performing his duties as judge in United States v. Francis Leo Cappaert, et al. from 1972 to 1976. The collection includes transcripts of the case, exhibits, and copies of motions filed with the Court in regards to this case, which centered on the protection of the Devils Hole pupfish in Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Greenpeace Pacific Southwest Records
Coll #: MS-00363
Date: 1962-1994
Extent: 5 linear feet (5 record storage boxes)
The Greenpeace Pacific Southwest Records are comprised of files and documents pertaining to environmental activism in Southern Nevada from 1962 to 1994, primarily addressing the organization of protests at the Nevada Test Site. The collection contains newspaper articles, newsletters, publications, financial records, protest information, correspondence, meeting minutes, articles of incorporation, Freedom of Information Act requests, and Nevada Test Site information. Also contained in the collection are maps and documents related to various environmental issues such as nuclear waste, land use, wildlife protection, and international environmental activism.
Link to Collection Guide
Griffith (Robert B.) collection
Coll #: MS-00315
Date: 1928-1975
Extent: 4 boxes (2.4 cubic feet, 2.05 linear feet)
Related Materials: 0106
The Robert B. Griffith Collection (1928-1975) documents the work of Robert B. Griffith, an instrumental figure in the development of water resources in Las Vegas, Nevada, as well as the creation of McCarran International Airport and Nellis Air Force Base. The collection consists of Colorado River Commission papers, 1928 International Air Race documents, general correspondence, a feasibility study, an airport guide, American Legion papers, the memoirs of Alfred Merritt Smith, and death and burial records belonging to his father. The collection also includes slides from various countries, including the United States, Canada, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East.
Link to Collection Guide
Harry Reid Center for Environmental Studies Records
Coll #: MS-00712
Date: 1989-2012
Extent: 0.6 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
The Harry Reid Center for Environmental Studies Records (1989-2012) contain reports, research articles, correspondence, and proposals. The Harry Reid Center is located on the grounds of University of Nevada, Las Vegas.
Link to Collection Guide
Hertzog (Gene) Professional Papers
Coll #: MS-01015
Date: 1930-2014 (bulk 1970-1999)
Extent: 23 boxes, 2 oversized box (14.72 cubic feet, 15.12 linear feet); 5,372 digital files (55.500 GB)
The Gene Hertzog Professional Papers (approximately 1930-2014) are comprised of photographs, slides, transparencies, publications, video cassettes, correspondence, and digital files spanning Gene Hertzog’s working years with the United States Army, the Bureau of Reclamation, and as a freelance photographer and videographer based in Southern Nevada. The collection documents the complicated infrastructure required to supply water to the Las Vegas Valley and includes still and moving images of the Springs Preserve, Lake Mead National Recreation Area, and the Colorado River. The majority of the collection comes from Hertzog’s time as a regional photographer for the Bureau of Reclamation and offers a unique glimpse into the Bureau’s work in Southern Nevada and the southwest from the mid-1960s to the mid-1990s.
Link to Collection Guide
Hertzog (Gene) Professional Papers
Coll #: MS-01015
Date: 1930-2014 (bulk 1970-1999)
Extent: 23 boxes, 2 oversized box (14.72 cubic feet, 15.12 linear feet); 5,372 digital files (55.500 GB)
The Gene Hertzog Professional Papers (approximately 1930-2014) are comprised of photographs, slides, transparencies, publications, video cassettes, correspondence, and digital files spanning Gene Hertzog’s working years with the United States Army, the Bureau of Reclamation, and as a freelance photographer and videographer based in Southern Nevada. The collection documents the complicated infrastructure required to supply water to the Las Vegas Valley and includes still and moving images of the Springs Preserve, Lake Mead National Recreation Area, and the Colorado River. The majority of the collection comes from Hertzog’s time as a regional photographer for the Bureau of Reclamation and offers a unique glimpse into the Bureau’s work in Southern Nevada and the southwest from the mid-1960s to the mid-1990s.
Link to Collection Guide
Hock, Raymond
Coll #: MS-00310
Date: 1946-1991
Extent: 0.66 cubic feet, 1.35 linear feet (1 box)
Raymond Hock Papers (1946-1991) contain a scrapbook of photos (setting traps for radio tagged birds in Alaska, at the Arctic Research Lab at Point Barrow) and programs chronicling the life of the late Dr. Raymond Hock of the Desert Research Institute and University of Nevada, Las Vegas zoology department.
Link to Collection Guide
Howard Booth Papers
Coll #: MS-00868
Date: 1964-2017
Extent: 7 boxes (2.59 cubic feet, 3.72 linear feet)
The collection is comprised of the personal papers of environmental activist, Howard Booth from 1964 to 2017. The collection includes information about Booth's efforts to help turn Red Rock Canyon into a National Conservation Area. The collection also includes multiple slides that Booth took of Red Rock and the surrounding areas during the 1980s and early 1990s.
Link to Collection Guide
Janish, Jeanne Russell Papers
Coll #: MS-00355
Date: 1833-1994 (bulk 1894-1994)
Extent: 15 boxes, 3 oversized boxes, 1 flat file (11.45 cubic feet, 15.54 linear feet)
Related Materials: 0296
The Jeanne Russell Janish Papers span the years 1833 through 1994 with an emphasis on 1894 to 1994. The materials of the illustrator and watercolorist include her school records, research papers, diaries, and personal correspondence. There are two original book manuscripts, dried flowers, hand-woven rugs, a variety of art supplies and tools, and approximately 140 watercolor paintings and pencil sketches of various scenes and subjects, created in China, Florida, and the American Southwest.
Link to Collection Guide
Kane Springs Ranch, Meadow Valley Wash, Nevada Records
Coll #: MS-00553
Date: 1930-2005
Extent: 1.25 linear feet (3 boxes)
The Kane Springs Ranch, Meadow Valley Wash, Nevada Records (1930-2005) contain records related to the Kane Springs Ranch outside of Moapa, Nevada. The collection primarily focuses on the property itself, but also contains a genealogy of the Huntsman family, the ranch's first owners. Records include deeds and materials from the sale of the Kane Springs Ranch to the Bureau of Land Management in 2005. The bulk of the collection documents how the Stuart family used its resources from 1952 to 2003. These materials are related to water usage on the property and a rock and sand mining operation, from which the Stuarts earned royalties.
Link to Collection Guide
Las Vegas Land & Water Company Records from the Las Vegas Valley Water District
Coll #: MS-00912
Date: 1945-1959, 1978, 1989
Extent: 4 boxes, 13 rolls (6.31 cubic feet)
The Las Vegas Land & Water Company Records from the Las Vegas Valley Water District (1945-1959, 1978, 1989) is primarily comprised of contracts, correspondence, and maps that document the establishment of a water distribution system in Las Vegas, Nevada that would provide water using the state's Colorado River allocation. The records include water main extension agreements, correspondence, and bills of sale for water main construction, as well as articles and correspondence documenting the groundwater shortage in Las Vegas. The collection also includes maps for water distribution systems and pipelines throughout the Las Vegas Valley.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online
Las Vegas Monorail Collection
Coll #: MS-00539
Date: 1971-1979
Extent: 0.23 linear feet, 0.21 cubic feet (1 box)
The Las Vegas Monorail Records (1971-1980) consist of articles, newspaper clippings, agency reports, and correspondence concerning the 1970s effort to construct a Las Vegas, Nevada mass-transit monorail system. Materials document the project conception, development, and ultimate failure throughout the 1970s.
Link to Collection Guide
Lois Sagel Papers on Nevada Wilderness Preservation
Coll #: MS-00571
Date: 1989-1995
Extent: 0.4 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
The Lois Sagel Papers on Nevada Wilderness Preservation (1989-1995) consist of the papers of Lois Sagel, an environmentalist and advocate for the preservation of Nevada's wilderness. The collection primarily documents the campaigns surrounding the efforts to expand Red Rock Canyon National Conservation Area (1994) as well as to designate the Spring Mountains National Recreation Area (1993). Additionally, it contains information on minor land exchanges and the Question 5/S.B. 189 bond issue to fund state parks (considered in 1989 and 1990). Most of the collection is comprised of newspaper clippings, correspondence, memoranda, photographs, and photo slides.
Link to Collection Guide
Longwell (Chester R.) Professional Papers
Coll #: MS-00017
Date: 1886-1974 (bulk 1920-1960)
Extent: 32 boxes and 25 flat files (27.19 cubic feet, 67.81 linear feet)
The Chester R. Longwell Professional Papers (1886-1974) document Longwell's professional career as a geologist and his pioneering field work in Clark County, Nevada. Included are Longwell's field notes; manuscripts, articles and speeches related to geology; personal and business correspondence; professional publications; subject and name files; specimen tags; photographic prints, negatives, and slides; and geological and topographical maps, primarily of Nevada, California, Arizona, and Utah.
Link to Collection Guide
Mojave, Kern River, and El Dorado Natural Gas Pipeline Project
Coll #: MS-00671
Date: 1987-1988
Extent: 1.5 Linear Feet (4 boxes)
The Mojave, Kern River, and El Dorado Natural Gas Pipeline Project Reports (1987-1988) include both the draft and final report published by the California State Lands Commission on the environmental impact of an interstate natural gas route. Potential routes in Southern Nevada are proposed in the project.
Link to Collection Guide
Mountain West's Yucca Mountain Socioeconomic Project Records
Coll #: MS-00756
Date: 1970-1994
Extent: 2.17 linear feet, 2.57 cubic feet (2 boxes)
The Mountain West's Yucca Mountain Socioeconomic Project Records (1987-1994) contain Reports on the effects to indigenous peoples, flora and fauna, and transportation relating to the deposits of nuclear waste in Yucca Mountain, Nevada. Nevada counties studied were Nye, Lincoln, Esmeralda, and Clark. Also included are analysis and impact assessments, and an oral history of Ed Slavin, a Tonopah, Nevada resident.
Link to Collection Guide
MX Missile eXperimental Reviews and Reports
Coll #: MS-00215
Date: 1980-1981
Extent: 0.25 linear feet (1 box)
The MX Missile eXperimental Reviews and Reports (1980-1981) contain impact study reports and committee reports from various Southern Nevada agencies. There are also correspondence and newspaper clippings from the Shoshoni Sacred Land Association.
Link to Collection Guide
Nelson (Lorelle) Collection on Atomic Testing
Coll #: MS-00998
Date: 1980-2009
Extent: 3 boxes (1.38 Cubic Feet, 1.25 Linear Feet)
The Lorelle Nelson Collection on Atomic Testing is comprised of newspaper clippings, magazine and journal articles, correspondence, press releases, fact sheets, fliers, informational handouts and booklets, and newsletters from approximately 1980 to 2009 concerning nuclear weapons testing at the Nevada Test Site, throughout the United States, and internationally. The collection includes information about anti-nuclear groups, committees, and associations, as well as information on the effects of radiation, nuclear fallout, lawsuits and court cases, events and protests, conferences, and local news coverage.
Link to Collection Guide
Nevada State Park System Records
Coll #: MS-00136
Date: 1863-1981
Extent: 1.2 Linear Feet (3 boxes)
The Nevada State Park System Records consist of materials produced or collected by the Nevada State Park System between 1863 and 1981. The collection includes records produced by the Park System while performing their interpretive mission as well as historic documents regarding properties owned by the organization.
Link to Collection Guide
Nevada Wildlife Bulletin Collection
Coll #: MS-00729
Date: 1960-1965
Extent: 1 box (0.19 cubic feet, 0.21 linear feet)
The Nevada Wildlife Bulletin Collection contains an incomplete run of bulletins that were published monthly in Reno, Nevada by the Nevada Fish and Game Commission from 1960 to 1965. The Nevada Wildlife Bulletin covered activities of fishing and hunting throughout the state of Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Nevada Wildlife Federation records
Coll #: MS-00400
Date: 1989-1997
Extent: 1 box (0.19 cubic feet, 0.21 linear ft.)
The Nevada Wildlife Federation Records (1989-1997) consist of pamphlets, newsletters, periodic meeting minutes, and a copy of the bylaws of the Nevada Wildlife Federation.
Link to Collection Guide
O'Farrell (Thomas P.) Papers
Coll #: MS-00639
Date: 1900-1999 (bulk 1950-1999)
Extent: 46 boxes (29.80 Cubic Feet, 24.92 Linear Feet)
The Thomas P. O'Farrell Papers (1900-1999) are comprised of scientific reports collected by Thomas O’Farrell over the course of his career studying wildlife ecology, particularly its connection to nuclear radiation. Materials include original, reprinted, and photocopied editions of scientific reports on animal and plant life around the world, focusing primarily on the Mojave and Great Basin Deserts, Alaska, Washington, and the Pacific Ocean. Reports come from institutions including the Desert Research Institute (DRI), Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL), the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), the Energy Research and Development Administration (ERDA), and the United States Department of Energy (DOE), as well as affiliated universities.
Link to Collection Guide
Pacific Engineering and Production Company of Nevada (PEPCON) Records
Coll #: MS-00004
Date: 1986-1989
Extent: 0.42 linear feet, 0.30 cubic feet (1 box)
The Pacific Engineering and Production Company of Nevada Records (1986-1989) are comprised of magazine articles, newspaper clippings, official reports, a profile of Jim Gibson, and a prospectus for a park named after Gibbons.
Link to Collection Guide
Pacific Engineering and Production Company of Nevada PEPCON Disaster Collection of News Articles
Coll #: MS-00760
Date: 1988-1992
Extent: 1.15 cubic feet (3 boxes)
The Pacific Engineering and Production Company of Nevada (PEPCON) Disaster Collection of News Articles (1988-1992) consists of articles from Las Vegas and other state and regional newspapers about the PEPCON plant explosion that took place in May of 1988. Also included are United Press International press releases from October to December, 1988.
Link to Collection Guide
Perkins, R.F. "Chick" papers
Coll #: MS-00402
Date: 1900-1990 (bulk 1930-1990)
Extent: 4 boxes (3.31 cubic feet, 3 linear feet)
The R.F. “Chick” Perkins Papers date from 1900 to 1990, with the bulk from 1930 to 1990, and document the history of Native Americans and the archaeology of Southern Nevada. The collection contains photographs, correspondence, professional papers, official documents, and publications belonging to Richard Fay "Chick" Perkins, who served as curator of the Lost City Museum in Overton, Nevada, from 1956 to 1980.
Link to Collection Guide
Pichot, Mary Kozlowski
Coll #: MS-00375
Date: 1969-1991
Extent: 1.3 Linear Feet (3 boxes)
The Mary Kozlowski Pichot Papers document the environmental activism of Mary Kozlowski Pichot from 1969 to 1991. The collection focuses on the environmental groups and planning committees that Pichot belonged to, including Aquavision, the Citizens' Advisory Committee, and Las Vegas 2000 and Beyond. The materials address water conservation plans, pollution alleviation efforts, and strategies to clean the Las Vegas Wash and Las Vegas Bay in Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Pueblo Grande de Nevada Manuscript Collection
Coll #: MS-00208
Date: 1924-1983 (bulk 1936-1980)
Extent: 2 boxes (1.3 cubic feet, 1.08 linear feet)
Related Materials: 0143
The Pueblo Grande de Nevada Manuscript Collection (1924-1983) contains journal articles, photocopies of artifact inventories, reports, correspondence, and field notes related to the Pueblo Grande de Nevada archaeological site located in the Overton Valley of Southern Nevada. The bulk of the materials are related to Mark R. Harrington's archaeological reports, journal articles, and data from sites throughout the Overton and Moapa valleys. The collection also includes materials related to the Boulder Dam Park Museum (Lost City Museum of Archaeology) located in Overton, Nevada, which housed many of the artifacts and photographs from Harrington's archaeological sites.
Link to Collection Guide
Rathbun (Frank D.) Archaeology Papers
Coll #: MS-00209
Date: 1918 - 1983 (bulk 1931-1941)
Extent: 3 boxes and 1 oversize box and 1 flat file (1.29 cubic feet, 4.89 linear feet); 17 digital files (0.136 GB)
The Frank D. Rathbun Archaeology Papers (1918-1983) consist of photographs, field note books and sketchbooks reflecting Rathbun's interest in petroglyphs throughout Nevada, Arizona, and California. The materials also include high school yearbooks, school term papers, scrapbooks, postcards, and memos pertaining to Native American history, water projects, and engineering topics. Additionally included is an unpublished report of an archaeological survey of the petroglyph sites identified by Rathbun, conducted in 1968 by Michael Moen.
Link to Collection Guide
Red Rock Audubon Society
Coll #: MS-00393
Date: 1983-1996
Extent: 0.21 linear feet, 0.23 cubic feet (1 box)
Red Rock Audubon Society Records (1981-1996) contain correspondence, field trip notifications, newspaper clippings, fliers, and copies of the Society's newsletter, The Rock Wren.
Link to Collection Guide
Red Rock Canyon National Recreation Area
Coll #: MS-00399
Date: 1965-1998
Extent: 1 Linear Feet (1 box)
The Red Rock Canyon National Conservation records (1965-1998) contain information about the Red Rock Canyon National Conservation Area (previously the Red Rock Canyon Recreation Lands). It largely consists of newspaper clippings on a variety of events related to Red Rock Canyon from 1965 to 1998 with the bulk from the 1980s and 1990s. The records also include Bureau of Land Management documents pertaining to interpretive efforts, visitation statistics, and law enforcement reports. Also included are the newsletters (1990-1998) and volunteer training manual of the Friends of Red Rock Canyon, a non-profit volunteer organization.
Link to Collection Guide
River Mountains Trail Partnership Records
Coll #: MS-00796
Date: 1995-2015
Extent: 8 boxes, 1 oversized box, 1 flat file (5.66 cubic feet, 8.96 linear feet)
The River Mountains Trail Partnership Records date from 1995 to 2015 and document the planning and construction of the River Mountains Loop Trail in Clark County, Nevada. The collection contains meeting agendas and minutes, correspondence, project notes, trail maps, land surveys, grant applications, photographic slides of the trail and Lake Mead, environmental assessments, ephemera from National Trails Day, trail guides, interpretive plans, and development reports.
Link to Collection Guide
Scenic Southwest Travel Guide
Coll #: MS-00709
Date: 1950-1955
Extent: 0.25 Linear Feet (1 box)
The Scenic Southwest Travel Guide was a monthly publication produced in Williams, Arizona from 1950 through 1955.
Link to Collection Guide
Sierra Club Toiyabe Chapter Records
Coll #: MS-00289
Date: 1951-2012
Extent: 20 linear feet (21 boxes)
The Sierra Club Toiyabe Chapter Records (1951 to 2012) are composed of files from Sierra Club officers and activists in the Southern Nevada (formerly Las Vegas) Group of the Toiyabe Chapter. The collection documents the involvement of the Southern Nevada group in a variety of environmental concerns, such as air quality, uranization, and nuclear issues, in which the chapter has expressed interest. The records are comprised of correspondence, memoranda, meeting minutes and agendas, newspapers, magazines, newsletters, pamphlets, press releases, legislation, recommendations, resolutions, and general information. Due to the group’s location in the heart of the Mojave Desert, the collection provides excellent case studies of significant changes in the post-World War II American environmental movement, notably the increased recognition of the worth of desert lands.
Link to Collection Guide
State of Arizona vs. State of California Proceedings Concerning the Colorado River Usage Dispute
Coll #: MS-00677
Date: 1957-1961
Extent: 2 boxes (0.92 cubic feet, 0.83 linear feet)
The State of Arizona vs. State of California Proceedings Concerning the Colorado River Usage Dispute collection (1957-1961) contains supplemental documents from the Arizona v. California Supreme Court case that began in 1931 and ended in 2000, including briefs, objections, requests for admissions of facts, rebuttal outlines, witness outlines, comments, and requested findings of facts.
Link to Collection Guide
State of Nevada-Water Resources Reconnaissance Records
Coll #: MS-00699
Date: 1935-1968
Extent: 0.85 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
The State of Nevada Water-Resources Reconnaissance Records (1935-1968) contain studies and appraisals of ground water resources in the lakes and valleys of various Nevada counties. The documents were created by the Nevada Division of Water Resources.
Link to Collection Guide
Toiyabe National Forest Land and Resource Management Plan
Coll #: MS-00672
Date: 1982-1986
Extent: 0.9 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
The Toiyabe National Forest Land and Resource Management Plan (1982-1986) contains the proposed and final draft of the forest management plan and the environmental impact statement for Toiyabe National Forest, published by the United Stated Department of Agriculture. The Forest is part of the Humbolt-Toiyabe National Forest, encompassing over six million acres in Nevada and Eastern California. The records also contain maps of individual ranger districts in the forest.
Link to Collection Guide
UNLV University Libraries Collection of Lake Mead Government Documents
Coll #: MS-00947
Date: 1971-1994
Extent: 2 boxes (0.69 cubic feet, 0.63 linear feet)
The UNLV University Libraries Collection of Lake Mead Government Documents contains reports and studies pertaining to Lake Mead’s water quality, microbe ecology, wildlife, fish, plant life, pollution, soil, and sediment dating between 1971 and 1994. Reports include studies on microbe population growth, water composition, chemical treatment, salinity, temperature monitoring, and hand-written field notes on water and soil conditions. Lake Mead is located in Clark County, Nevada and Mohave County, Arizona.
Link to Collection Guide
Van Ee (Jeff) papers
Coll #: MS-00470
Date: 1974-2012 (bulk 1982-2005)
Extent: 24 boxes, 2 flat files (26.1 cubic feet, 22.25 linear feet)
The Jeff Van Ee Papers consist of the papers of environmentalist John Jeffrey Van Ee from 1974 to 2012 that document a portion of Van Ee’s environmental activity, notably his participation on environmental committees in the Las Vegas, Nevada area for water conservation and wildlife protection. The papers are comprised of correspondence, memoranda, reports, studies, newspaper clippings and meeting agendas and minutes.
Link to Collection Guide
Walking Box Ranch Collection
Coll #: MS-00657
Date: 1917-2011
Extent: 1 box, 1 framed item, 1 flat file (6.1 Linear Feet, 2.33 cubic feet)
The Walking Box Ranch Collection (1917-2011) includes material collected by the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) Public Lands Institute on the Searchlight, Nevada ranch. Materials include a map from the Rock and Springs Land and Cattle Company, a pair of chaps owned by Rex Bell, Jr., and color slides of the ranch. Also included are photographic prints of Rex Bell and Rex Bell, Jr., and newsclippings related to the film and political career of Rex Bell.
Link to Collection Guide
