Manuscripts by Subjects
Manuscripts -> EngineeringTotal manuscripts: 12
Baker, C.D. Engineering Field Notebooks
Coll #: MS-00272
Date: 1909-1966
Extent: 4 boxes, 1 flat file (2.19 cubic feet, 5.25 linear feet)
The C. D. Baker Engineering Field Notebooks are comprised of the notebooks and informational texts Charles Duncan "C. D." Baker created and used between 1909 and 1966 while he served as the County Surveyor for Clark County, Nevada and the City Engineer for Las Vegas, Nevada. The field notebooks contain survey coordinates and elevation data for much of early Las Vegas and provide important information on early property boundaries, historical elevations, and lengths of streets from the 1920s to the 1960s. There are also oversized right of way maps for Clark County, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Brown, Harlan Papers
Coll #: MS-00107
Date: 1943-1956
Extent: 0.25 linear feet (1 box)
The Harlan Brown Papers (1943-1956) contain a mimeographed copy of the index to the Las Vegas City Charter (1943), a Chicago Tribune newspaper (1952 August 12) focusing on engineers and their achievements, and official drawings of lots and additions in the Greater Las Vegas housing development. The drawings were approved with Harlan Brown's signature of approval as a registered professional engineer in Las Vegas, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide
Campbell, John F. papers
Coll #: MS-00532
Date: 1964-2004
Extent: 3 Linear Feet (4 boxes, 1 flat file)
The John F. Campbell Papers (1964-2004) are comprised of material from his 27 years working at the Nevada Test Site (NTS) as an engineer and mine supervisor. Included is information about the various tunnels used for nuclear testing that Campbell worked on, completion schedules, maps, and photographs. Also included are newspaper clippings, newsletters, bulletins, and pamphlets connected with or relating to the Test Site. There are awards, correspondence, and medical papers that reference illnesses of Test Site workers.
Link to Collection Guide
Clary (Ernest) Papers on Basic Magnesium, Inc. Engineering Plans
Coll #: MS-00044
Date: 1941-1944
Extent: 1 flat file (0.20 cubic feet, 1.67 linear feet)
The Ernest Clary Papers on Basic Magnesium, Inc. Engineering Plans (1941-1944) contain an essay written by Clary formalizing the engineering process in building Basic Magnesium, Inc. (BMI). Also included are maps of the area around the plant and site maps of the main BMI structures.
Link to Collection Guide
Fayle Family Papers
Coll #: 98-18, 2009-18
Date: 1895-1998 (bulk 1920-1982)
Extent: 25 boxes and 3 flat files (16.04 cubic feet; 17.06 linear feet)
The Fayle Family Papers (1895-1998) document the family's personal and business interests in Goodsprings, Nevada and Las Vegas, Nevada. The collection contains mining documents, business records, and photographs from Leonard Fayle’s work with the Las Vegas Valley Water District, where he documented reservoirs, dams, and both abandoned and functioning mines. The photographs also include family members, vacations, and Southern Nevada fraternal organization pictures.
Link to Collection Guide
Ives, Joseph C. Personal Correspondence
Coll #: MS-00079
Date: 1857-1858
Extent: 0.2 linear feet (1 folder, shared box)
The Joseph C. Ives Personal Correspondence consists of 17 letters (photocopies) between United States Army Corps of Topographic Engineers Lt. Joseph C. Ives and his wife, Cora Semmes Ives, between September 1857 and June 1858. Ives was in command of a U.S. Army expedition whose mission was to explore the region of the Colorado River and the Grand Canyon, and to establish the limit of navigation of the Colorado River. The correspondence is largely personal in nature, however, it is a useful supplement to the official report documenting the voyage, "Report upon the Colorado River of the West; Explored in 1857-1858."
Link to Collection Guide
Light (Edward C.) schematic drawings of the Hughes H-4 Hercules Spruce Goose Seaplane
Coll #: MS-00920
Date: 1941-1950
Extent: 2 rolls (0.89 cubic feet, 0.67 linear feet)
The Edward C. Light Schematic Drawings of the Hughes H-4 Hercules "Spruce Goose" Seaplane consists of blueline print reproductions of sheets created between 1941 and 1950 containing schematic engineering design drawings pertaining to the aircraft's rudder and flight control system assembly and installation. Types of drawings include full body perspective diagrams, structural sections, elevations, and plans.
Link to Collection Guide
Malone (George W.) papers
Coll #: MS-00057
Date: 1928 -1933
Extent: 1 folder (1 shared box); 0.02 cubic/linear feet
The George W. Malone Papers (1928-1933) consist of one bound volume of letters, documents, speeches, reports, and maps pertaining to Malone's positions as: Nevada State Engineer; National Executive Committeeman for the American Legion; President, Association of Western Engineers; Secretary, Colorado River Commission; member, Nevada State Range Commission.
Link to Collection Guide
McWilliams (John Thomas and Iona) Family Papers
Coll #: MS-00153
Date: approximately 1900-1968
Extent: 4 boxes (1.25 cubic feet, 3.17 linear feet)
Related Materials: 025
The collection consists of letters, greeting cards, survey maps, newspaper clippings, legal papers, photographs, collected recipes, land sales and expense journals, and survey reference books. The material was created or collected by pioneering Nevada surveyor, engineer, and real estate entrepreneur J. T. (John Thomas) McWilliams and his wife, Iona, between 1900 and 1968.
Link to Collection Guide
Nevada EPSCoR Women in Science and Engineering Records
Coll #: MS-00450
Date: 1992-1998
Extent: 5 boxes (2.3 cubic feet, 2.08 linear feet)
The Nevada EPSCoR Women in Science and Engineering Records (1992-1998) consist primarily of budgets, staff resumes, program reviews and information, and correspondence pertaining to the Nevada Established Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR) Women in Science and Engineering (WISE) Las Vegas chapter located at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas. The records also contain newsletters, conference materials, and graduate assistant information.
Link to Collection Guide
Sligar (J.W. ) Land Surveying Notebooks
Coll #: MS-00782
Date: 1973-2002
Extent: 9 boxes (11.55 cubic feet, 9,75 linear feet)
The J.W. Sligar Land Surveying Notebooks (1973-2002) consist of notebooks with measurements, boundaries, construction calculations, and mapping for land surveys of Southern Nevada, principally the Las Vegas Valley. Projects concern both public and private entities. The notebooks were created as a part of J.W. Sligar's work with ALCA Engineering and and Surveying, Inc, as well as for his own company, J.W. Sligar Surveying.
Link to Collection Guide
Wieking, Henry C.
Coll #: MS-00117
Date: 1932-1935
Extent: 0.01 linear feet (1 folder in shared box)
Related Materials: 0009
The Henry Wieking Papers (1932-1935) contain personal recollections, daily journal pages, newspaper clippings, and a Bureau of Land Management (BLM) memorandum.
Link to Collection Guide
