Manuscripts by Subjects
Manuscripts -> AgricultureTotal manuscripts: 4
Kane Springs Ranch, Meadow Valley Wash, Nevada Records
Coll #: MS-00553
Date: 1930-2005
Extent: 1.25 linear feet (3 boxes)
The Kane Springs Ranch, Meadow Valley Wash, Nevada Records (1930-2005) contain records related to the Kane Springs Ranch outside of Moapa, Nevada. The collection primarily focuses on the property itself, but also contains a genealogy of the Huntsman family, the ranch's first owners. Records include deeds and materials from the sale of the Kane Springs Ranch to the Bureau of Land Management in 2005. The bulk of the collection documents how the Stuart family used its resources from 1952 to 2003. These materials are related to water usage on the property and a rock and sand mining operation, from which the Stuarts earned royalties.
Link to Collection Guide
Smith, Arlene Mathews Papers
Coll #: MS-00069
Date: 1910-1978
Extent: 0.5 Linear Feet (1 box)
Related Materials: 0129
The Arlene Mathews Smith Papers are comprised of materials pertaining to the area around Panaca, Nevada, dating from 1910 to 1978, with a bulk of the items from the 1920s. The papers were collected while she lived in Panaca and consist of records and booklets from the 4-H Boys and Girls Club, two copies of the "Lincoln Lantern" dated 1927, a photo album, and memorabilia.
Link to Collection Guide
Whitmore (Sidney R.) Collection
Coll #: MS-00068
Date: 1885-1970
Extent: 1 shared box, 1 flat file, 2 oversized boxes, and 6 unboxed items (9.14 cubic feet, 6.51 linear feet)
Related Materials: 0219
The Sidney R. Whitmore Collection (approximately 1885-1970) contains land deeds and other documents about Mount Diablo, Nevada; documents detailing parts of his family history; and eight framed paintings of landscapes and portraits.
Link to Collection Guide
Wittwer (John) Collection on Agriculture in Nevada
Coll #: MS-00181
Date: 1898-1972 (bulk 1929-1955)
Extent: 7 boxes and 1 flat file (4.71 cubic feet, 4 linear feet)
The collection contains the professional papers and records of John Wittwer in his capacity as an Agricultural Extension agent for the University of Nevada from 1921 to 1954. The records are primarily annual reports containing text, photographs, newspaper clippings, and charts that provide a rich chronicle of the conditions of agriculture and ranching in southern Nevada from 1898 to 1972, the bulk of the material dating from 1929 to 1955. These conditions span water issues, such as flood control and irrigation, to the general difficulties of sustaining agriculture and viable food production in a desert environment. The reports come from the Agricultural Experiment Stations in Clark and Lincoln counties and most contain both a statistical report and a narrative summary. There is also documentation regarding Wittwer's work as a Clark County agent and that of other Nevada County Agents. Other material in the collection includes correspondence on various agricultural programs administered by Wittwer, and project files detailing progress made on rural farming concerns and developments such as nutrition, home health and sanitation, home gardening, home improvement, community activities and the 4-H club.
Link to Collection Guide
