The UNLV Music Library contains approximately 29,000
scores, 8,000 sound recordings, and 1,200 videos. Books about music and music journals are located in
Lied Library, UNLV's main library.
Within the Music Library, Music Reference materials (over 550 volumes) are located in two areas: next to the
public service desk and against the south wall. Materials include dictionaries, encyclopedias,
thematic catalogs, discographies, and other similar materials to assist in finding basic
music-related information and serve as a basis for further study and research. Items in the
Music Reference collection display in the Library Catalog with a location of "UNLV Music Ref." The
Music Reference collection does not circulate.
Scores are located in the main stacks area of the Music Library. Scores display in the online
catalog with the location of "UNLV Music Bk Stks." Most of the score collection can be checked out
per the normal circulation policy. The exceptions are scores with the call numbers of M2 and M3
(
historical sets and collected editions),
and items with a yellow "Does not circulate" label on the spine.
Sound Recordings and Videos are located behind the service counter of the Music Library. Please ask
staff for assistance. The collection, consisting primarily of compact discs, LPs, and
videos, are displayed in the Library Catalog with the location of "UNLV Music Media." These materials do
not circulate outside the Music Library except to UNLV Faculty and Graduate Assistants. They are for
in-house viewing and listening only.
The Music Library's
Special Collections contains
rare and/or out-of-print items and facsimiles of manuscripts.
These materials do not circulate; however, you may use them in the Music Library. They are displayed in the
Library Catalog with a location of "UNLV Music Special"; ask for them at the Music Library service desk.
Books about music are located on the
4th floor of Lied Library.
They display in the Library Catalog with a location of "UNLV Book Stacks."
Journals and magazines are located
on the
2nd floor of Lied Library, and display in the Library Catalog
with a location of "UNLV Periodicals."
For more information on the Music Library or its collections, please contact any member of the
staff.